(2004/04) April Mummy

Aloe,
Nice video of Ryan walking.
My gal was 8.7 kg 2 wks ago too.

Cutecute,
U r not alone. Me too. My gal did not have much toys and I also didnt spend much time teaching her things. Sometimes just let her play & explore herself.

same here .. cutecute .. dun worry too much la .. me also did not spend much time teaching him. He whole day also watch tv...

hi maple. ya finally can walk a bit more steadily at home...

Aloe,
ur boi v stable in walking liao. my En now jus started to walk holding to my hand
wow, i feel very warm and touch when i feel his small little hand against my hand!

Cutecute,
actually i stay at home with En whole day also din do much with him. firstly, his motor skills not develop yet, so difficult to teach him play stuff like art and craft. secondly, i feel much of the learning of 123 and abc, next time school will also teach. it's just a matter of time the kids pick them up loh. at the moment, i will concentrate more on learning thro' play and reading rather than drilling. next time when he can run, play do sports with him coz i'm a outdoor person
going to borders later to look for books on this

Hi Maple,Aloe,Home,
I usually play & read with him when got time.
Ya loh.. sch will teach them, if they know everything, then they will feel a bit bored.
He likes to watch advert. He so glue to it that he ignore me when I called him. haha..

Aloe, like to watch Ryan clip, but dun know why stop half-way.

Home, You bring En to borders too?

Thanks for the concern, Ryan is much better now. The new pd is really good. After 1 day of treatment can see result liao but he still on medication.

Cutecute,

I also never buy alot of toys and stuff for Ryan. All I did is play, read and sing to him. He watch alot of tv at home too. I think we shldnt stress the kid too much at this stage or they might develope phobia or dislike for bks later on.

As for wt, he is still 10.4kg. No wt gain for the pass few mths or so. He is refusing milk again. Sigh. Rather go hungry then take milk.

Home, I wanted to go borders since last wk but no time to do so. Let us know if there is anything nice ok.

Ann, thks for your e-card.

Ok, gtg. talk to u gals again!

Cutecute, Angel,
My hubby on leave today. so 3 of us go out to have fun

got 3 books on toddlers activities. dunno whether work on En or not. got to try them out slowly.

Home,

Borders any promotion? When I pass by this morning tot i saw they having the 3 for price of 2 offer again. Actually I wanted to get some Dr Seuss book for Ryan as he likes them alot and a few Jane Austen novels for myself and maybe some VCDs. Hmmnn.... but this month a bit broke coz of Ryan's medical bill. Sigh.

home,
can share what are the titles of the 3 books that u buy ?? just KPO ...

Angel,
got promotion .. wow . then must go and see
i just realised i stop buying book for him for a while. maybe i shd buy at least 1 book per month. Actually can also borrow books from library..

oh u mentioned u brought Ryan to Gleanagles to see PD, can i know which one ?? how is the charges ??
my boy not sick la . just want to have more PD contacts .. just in case ...

Hi mummies,sorry,me went missing again for some time.How's everyone?

Angel,I hope Ryan is feeling better.I suppose if he still takes his solids,should make up for his loss of interest in milk.

Maple,glad tat G is gaining weight well.Has she gone for the MMR jab?

Aloe,Ryan seems very confident in walking.The next thing u know,he'll be running and u'll be chasing liao.heehee....

cutecute,you dun have to feel bad.Instead of mummies hardworking,I feel tat mummies have high expectations of their children in order to make up for their losses when they're young.No offense,but I'm one of them to a certain degree.I have alot of story books and pass-down toys for Cherish but I just couldn't afford the time.

Home,tat feeling so heartwarming.Mayb u can buy a doodle pad for En,then encourage him to scribble.It'll be a masterpiece.

Ann,how's little Valerie?Miss her with cute little caps.

Toony,is Austin still at the Infant care?Yest,I visited my new flat with Cherish and we passed by the infantcare.Cherish looked into the window and even waved and blow flying kisses at the gor gors and jie jies inside.I wonder is Austin is there?Haven't seen him for some time.

Cherish took her MMR jab last Sat.Asked nurse abt the quantity of eggs to be taken,she replied tat so long bb tried egg and din develop allergy,it's fine.Fever might develop after 3 to 5 days.She's so far so good.

Me very stressed now coz old maid just left yest(even on strike on the day she left!) and my new maid just came.She's not familiar with things and need time to get used to.I took leave yest to look aft my girls and act as my MIL's interpruter.Celeste din sleep unless being carried and I carried her for the whole day without breakfast and lunch.Partly my maid on strike,din cook lunch and I got no time.Luckily my morning coffee is subtainable to last me thru dinner.Very bad tempered,started complaining and grumbled at Celeste even though it's not her fault.Felt very bad at tat.Supposed to be back at work today but MIL can't cope so took another day's leave on the expense of being sacked.(Coz my colleague stressed tat my boss said she only approved my one day leave.)I wonder if my colleagues are angry with me today coz I send them an apology sms and they din reply.Either they're too busy or too angry to reply.My colleague had advised me not to take too many leaves after being back from 3mths maternity leave coz it reflects badly on my records but I have no choice.My st**id maid just left coz she wanted to go home and I had to teach the new maid.Things could be easier but Celeste is a very wakeful bb and Cherish is very sticky and very yang or.I'm trying to pick myself up.Still busy with renov stuff and work stress.My boss is asking me to set a sales target for myself alady.If I set too low,she will expect me to do better.But if I set too high and can't attain,I'm dead meat!Arghhhhhh......God also cannot help me ah.......

Aloe,

We went to see Dr Ngiam from SBCC at Gleanagles. As Ryan was on the nebulizer charges are higer. Cost $200+. Think 1st consultation is $80. But he quite good and nice loh. He specialist in cough and asthma in kids. I dun like to borrow books from library coz lazy to return and if nice can't bear to return. Hee.

Raindrops,

Ryan much better but still on medication. Phelgm completely cleared and starting to drink milk. Sorry to hear abt your maid. Can't you get ur SIL to help out?

Aloe, erm....i left the address at my MIL place...its at the town ctr....u call the clinic n ask can? think he there at night only...

Angel,
not v sure abt promotion leh. coz i only zoom in to the section that i wan. din notice the rest. Rayn like Dr Seuss book, so good. mine will just look at it and try to tear the pages out

Aloe,
The Arts and Crafts Busy Book by Trish Kuffner
The Toddler's Busy Bk by Trish Kuffner
501 Activities for kids by Di Hodges
Actually not sure whether they useful or not coz i think most of them must wait till En a bit older then can play

I borrow books from the lib for En. find it cheaper this way and got more variety. can rotate and get new books every 3 wks.

Hi Rain_drops,
long time no see

ya, i paste a big piece of majong paper on the floor to like him scribble. his dad draws a happy face and he keep on laughing!

oh no... it must be a big stressful time for u. hope ur maid settle down fast and can be of help to u

Home,

I think Ryan likes Dr Seuss bk coz most of the words rhymes so he find it funny and interesting. The other few books that he also like is books on transportation and poems for babies. Ryan will not tear books or magazines coz' since he was 3 mth old I've been reading to him regulary and whenever he try to tear or chew, i will say "No" and if it fails, I'll remove the book. So now he knows if want to read book must sit still and cannot tear.

As for drawing, mine fail mega big time. Most of the time he will try to draw on his chair and table instead of the majong paper.
Lucky the crayon is washable one if not I sure make him scrub it off for me. Kekeke.

Angel,
i opposite fr u! when he's drawing, i make sure he sits on the majong paper and keep on reminding him not to draw outside the white area. if not i remove the crayons fr him. so far he's obeying

Aloe,
I know where AMK SBCC is but I do not have the address. It is near the temporary AMK bus interchange. There is a very big car park beside the interchange. If u park in that car park, u should be able to see it.
There is a Turf Club betting outlet beside SBCC.
Oh ya, AMK polyclinic is nearby. Youve been to AMK polyclinic right? Its around there.

Angel,
Good to hear that Ryan is getting better. Tell him must recover fast fast so that can come to my place the week after next.

Raindrops,
MMR not yet, have postponed it.
Hope things will be better for u real soon. Can sort of feel the stress that u are coping.

Seems like the response (re gathering) not very good leh. Other mummies not interested? Ann? Home? Raindrops? Toony?
Aloe, u coming right?

Toony,
Oh, u did?? Sorry, it must hv slipped off my mind.

Gathering on 13 Aug 05, 2.30 pm
1. Angel, hb, Ryan
2. Aloe, Ryan
3. Cutecute, boi boi
4. Toony, Austin

Mummies who are coming to the gathering, plse add your nick to the above list (plse also indicate if your hb is coming). I apologise if Ive missed out your reply previously.

Mummies,NTUC has offers for Gain IQ.Selling at $23.30 each only but limited to 4 tins per person.Comes with a free flashcard puzzle.

Maple,pls KIV me n family.Coz still thinking if I shld bring my hubby and Celeste along.If I do,hahaha.....ur place sure very noisy.

Cherish took her MMR jab last Sat.To my surprise,she din cry!I guess she din even realised the jab been administered.She is 9.8kg and 78cm tall.

I suspect my gal is confused between mama for mother and mama for grandmother. The other day, I heard my gal call mil mama as in mother. There were also several other occasions whereby her pronunciation is not clear, sounds a bit like mama for mother and a bit like mama for grandmother. Sometimes she seems to use them interchangeably between mil and me.

Any of your tots having such problems? Btw, how do your tots address you and your mil?

Angel,
It is ok to mess up my hse BUT just make sure that u tidy up the place b4 u leave. kekeke

Hi Maple
U r not alone. Mine worse. Sometimes could be -
Mom Mom (want to eat or calling me?)
Ma...Ma... (call me or mil?)

My mil - Ah Ma
Myself - Mummy or MaMa.

Have been busy this few weeks.My mum needs to bring my Ah gong to hospital for checks and i have to take care of Val..

CuteCute
i don buy many toys for val only when see nice one or useful one than buy..Feel that they don really noe how to play now.
Books i've bought afew picture bks for her. But she likes my magazine more.

Home
So nice..very good idea for drawing on the majong paper on the floor.
i should try out.

Raindrops
Val still the same but she's becoming more and more cry baby..?? Could it be 'terrible 2' stage

Maple
My mum - Ah Ma
me - Mama

Val do sometime call wrong like my mum she too will call mama but the moment she call wrong my mum will tell her Ah ma not mama..

u can view her anyhow calling here..
http://www.youtube.com/?v=5p0hjFJ3ITY

Gathering on 13 Aug 05, 2.30 pm
1. Angel, hb, Ryan
2. Aloe, Ryan
3. Cutecute, boi boi
4. Toony, Austin
5. Ann, Valerie

Valerie have been climbing up sofa nowadays. Very Scary.. She giving me problem. Whenever we don let her do that she be crying and crying.

En still doesn't call any one of us yet. he does say papa though but i dun think he's referring to his dad..
En can finally walk liao! began his first steps on Wed. so happy. now go out dun have to carry him so often. can just put him on the floor and off he goes

Ann,
does Valerie know how to come down from sofa on her own? we used to teach and teach and teach En how to come down but he does't seem to register the skill. then 1 fine day he fell from the sofa and knock his head. ever since that fall, he learns how to come down properly liao. but to play safe, i sometimes put the mattress besides the sofa incase he gets so excited that he jumos down!

Home,
Val knows how to come down frm the bed but not the sofa. She will climb up and stand on the sofa or crawl(donno wat she doing). but she likes to look down(the head down and the body on the sofa) theres once she fell head down and cry but aft tat forget liao..

yesterday we remove all the sofa pillow..not so high now but she still njoy going up although it hard lor..

It has been a very long time since I last logged in.

I will try to make it to the gathering.

How have all the babies been doin?

Can see that most of the babies are learning to talk, Reon is not making any progress at all. She is not even attempting to follow wat we repeat to her. My hubby and I are so worried about her speech development.

Does any mummies know of any doctor that I can bring Reon to?

maple,cutecute,Cherish stop calling me 'mama'.I think she forgot liao.My MIL is known as 'po po' to her.

home,ann,at least I'm not alone.Cherish also enjoys jumping on the sofa and climbling onto beds.So dangerous.I think she must fall at least once before she realise it's dangerous.Now,I fear tat she'll climb window grilles.If she does,I faint liao.

Limay,no time no see.Dun worry abt Reon's speech development coz every bb is different.My nephew only start talking at the age of 2 and his pronounication was very gd.

My SIL has taught Cherish to do hand-signs for sorry n please,and she's doing pretty well.She noes how to associate speech-byebye with the handwave.Just realise she's learning to say the word,pls but not very accurate.She pronounces as Pleash....with alot of sh....She's learning alot from her cousin,Ethan from Dubai.She's always babbling...juice....juice....

Ryan is also climbing up and down sofa and bed. He usually calls me "ma ma' or 'nai nai' ( milk I think) only once in a while will call me 'mummy'. He only call my MIL once and she almost choke on her food. So funny.

Maple,

Dun worry, I will make sure I instruct your helper to clean up the mess after our gathering.

Ryan is much better now. Eating and drinking very well and not so cranky but still as stubborn and hot-tempered as before.

Li_may,

Hope to see you at the gathering.

Rain_drops,
May i know how did ur SIL teach Cherish to sign? when En was young, i taught him but he just couldn't get it. duno is it i duno how to teach or wat. now i'm teaching him to say "Please" coz i find that he can be demanding at times. thot better teach him some manners

Home,

Ryan also can't say please. I find that he can't pronounce words ending with "s" sound very well. I try to teach him to say 'mommy bao bao (carry) please.' but he can only say 'ma, bao bao'. If he manage to say please, it will sound like 'plea' withouse the 'es'. Sigh.

My MIL ask me how come Ryan still cant speak in 2-3 words sentences now. I thought its quite normal or have any or your tots manage to speak in 2-3 words sentences already?

Angel,haha...I just read a bk abt bb's development.The bk states tat our bbs shld be able to say 5 or 6 single words by the time they turn 15mths.To string those words to sentence can take quite some time,maybe a few mths later.Ur MIL gan cheong ah.

Home,my SIL showed Cherish to do 'please' by patting her chest,(just like pa pa-scared).'Sorry' will be tapping her head lightly.I dunno the handsign for 'Thank you'.There was once when I asked Cherish if she wanted her milk,she signalled 'please' using both her hands.Well,she must be wanting her milk so badly tat she used both hands to express.

Raindrops,

That's wat I though too. Think my MIL got very high expectation from Ryan. I think Ryan is doing quite well already loh.

Btw, have anyone try feeding your tots rice as a meal yet? I have tried, Ryan is able to eat it with vegetables and a bit of soup or gravy poured on it but he dun take as much compared to porridge so I stop feeding him that for the time being.

Angel
Val can't speak 2-3words sentences now. i think its normal.she can only speak afew words but some also not accurate.

Raindrops
huh..window grilles very scary leh. i always saw this two kids(1boy,1girl) opp my blk climbling up the grilles but i guess they are around 4 to 6 yrs old ba. i always tell my mum(u see spider man and spider gal up again)

my mum teach Val patting her chest as(pa pa,scared).Everytime she see something she scare she will point say 'ka ka' than follow by saying & sign(pa pa).

A webpage to share on difference baby sign

http://www.babyhandsproductions.com/content/dictionary/dictionaryofsigns.aspx?letter=A

Hi Angel
I starts feed my boi rice with soup. Sometimes ABC soup or Lotus roots with chicken & honey dates soap. He usually eats half bowl. I think should be enough cos rice is much more fuller than porriage.

Angel

i feed Val rice with soup 2-3months back everytime feed is half bowl of rice.
But everytime i try, after she take it she'll be like indigest or stomach got wind.
i've stop giving her now

i guess all our tots are speaking in words that form sentences, but only they themselves know what they are talking about!

Angel,
i just started En on rice and veg soup this week. for lunch only. dinner still porridge. his molars out liao, so he can chew better now

Li May,
Looking forward to seeing you and your darlings next Sat.

Reading how well your darlings eat make me green with envy.
My gal is still on hunger strike. Dun wan to eat her meals. Getting her to eat a few mouthfuls is tough. Eating half a bowl is impossible! Everyday keep wasting food even mils cooking which is so nice and tasty also dun wan to eat. Mil feels so disheartened abt it.
Mummies, how? Any suggestions?
Mummies, can share with me some of your recipes for toddlers?

Gathering response is very good. Looking forward to it.

Gathering on 13 Aug, 2.30 pm
1. Angel, hb, Ryan
2. Aloe, Ryan
3. Cutecute, boi boi
4. Toony, Austin
5. Ann, Valerie

KIV
1. Raindrop & family
2. Joy_apr, Jaden
3. Li May & family

Maple,

Basically I cook almost the same thing everyday just alternate here and here. Meat that I have tried are Pork, liver, chicken, frog legs and fish. Vegetables such as raddish, cabbages, long beans, freanch beans, carrot, mushroom, tomatos, celery, corns, caixin, spinach and some other weird stuff tat I dunno the name coz hubby buy one. I seldom feed him tofu as I notice he tends to develop wind when he consume that. His favourite will be ABC pasta or meesua. Sometimes I feed him quakers oats with milk too.

Have not been feeding him much fruits lately due to his phelgmy cough.

Hi Maple
It may due to teething...
Give her a toy to play while feeding. I usually do that to my boi.
My boi sometimes siao siao one.. sometimes eat, sometimes dun eat. I even change enviroment, carried him & bring his food downstairs. You can try it. I got this idea fm book. If he dun eat & when he's hungry, he will cry for milk milk.

His fav is ABC pasta with cheese.
I also feed him mee ta mak with cabbages & fish ball (cut into small pieces) soap.

Angel,
hee hee u very funny leh... ha ha.. laugh until roll over

Maple,
how long is it already? if only a few days should be ok. books always state tots know when they r hungry. if they r not and dun wanna eat, no point giving coz we will never win this battle of food. that time my boi also like that. dun wanna eat much. worried also. but when i see him so lively and happy, then when we r outside eating (he also eats then), i realise he is just easily distracted by things around him. he's also a playful boy. from then on, i feed as much as he wants. once he reject, i stop giving.

btw, i read in another thread that there's this activity we can try with our tots. get our tots to trace out alphabets with fingers running over alphabets cut out from sandpaper.

Home,

Hee..paiseh, I in a playful mood so disturb cutecute a bit loh. Hope she not angry.

Ask my boy to trace alphabets ah? Think will end up in a shouting match coz he like to do things on his own and don't like people to hold his hand and do it.

Bought a few chinese books with hanyupinyin for Ryan. Thinking of teaching him some chinese but a bit nervous. The last time I tried reading chinese books to Ryan and my niece, my hubby and inlaws laugh till pengz.

Maple,dun take it too hard.Actually my nephew,Ethan(from Dubai) also like tat.Each time we try to give him food,he'll say no.My SIL is not at least worried because she feels tat bb will not be starved,if they're hungry,they'll eat.But I notice something,whenever my MIL feeds my 4-yr old nephew and Cherish,he'll also join in and indicated tat he wants.Maybe he enjoys 'fighting' for food.U need a little help fm ur MIL or hubby.Next time,if she resist,you try 'feeding' ur hubby in front of her,she might be interested to see ur hubby enjoys her food.

cutecute,tried ur method,the toy gets all covered with cereal,very sticky.

home,montersorri (dunno how to spell) is adopting this method.My SIL teaches me to use cardboard to cut out shapes to teach Cherish.Me got the material but no time ah.....

Angel,u hor....very 'kiam pa' (bashed).naughty naughty....Hanyupinyin is good initially but when our child is older,say 7yrs old,he'll recongise the hanyupinyin alphabets instead of recongising the chinese character.somehow,defeat the purpose.Again my SIL share these thoughts with me.

acutally, i really dunno how to teach chinese. i dun even know where to start! whereas for English, roughly it's from ABC or phonics as the foundation. but for chinese, what's the foundation? the strokes? dun dare to teach in case i teach the wrong thing then next time difficult to undo. at the moment just read him storybooks.

Cutecute, Home, Raindrops
Yes, she is/was teething. Thats why I was not so concerned initially. But it has been going on for > 1mth, isnt that a bit too long?

Im taking it very easy now. If she does not wan to eat, I dun force her, just let her be, but will try again later, hoping that she will be more hungry by then. If she still dun wan, Ill give her milk instead. Occasionally shell eat a little bit. Btw, my gal will not cry for food or milk when she is hungry.

Raindrops
Try that method b4. Smtx, she will in chou (entertain) you by eating a few mouthful, smtx not at all.

Teething Plse advise whether this is still considered teething. Part of the tooth is out, abt 1/3 or of it, although not fully out yet. Is it still considered teething until the tooth is fully out?? Will this also affect her appetite?

(Sorry Mummies, I seem to be always complaining abt my gal not eating. Hope u wont be bored by me.)

Angel,
U very notti leh make fun of cutecute
But I like your sense of humor.
Cutecute, hope u dont mind.