(2004/04) April Mummy

Toony,
Happy 1st Birthday to Austin!

Angel,
Nice pix of Ryan. He's a handsome boy.

Aloe,
Is there a 1 year checkup? Thot there isn't.

Cutecute,
Ya, pics very small leh... can't see clearly.

Have any of u changed to Step 3 FM already? Can share which FM they taking now? Thinking of letting my gal try the sample FM next week.

273347.jpg
273348.jpg

Hi Aloe,

Thanks for the compliment. Yah I think all our baby change alot in the terms of looks.

Maple,

Thanks. I've changed to mamil step 3 for Ryan already and he seems to be taking it quite well. Think you can try giving your girl step 3 now.

Cutecute,

Thats a very nice looking cake you have. Your boy look very guai and happy. Must have enjoyed himself that day.

Toony,

Happy birthday to Austine.

Maple, Raindrops, and Li_MAY,

Can post a updated pic of your girl? Very long never see them. Wanna see how much more prettier they are now.

Hi Angel
This is only part 1.
We do not have a chance to sing birthday song cos he was crying wanting mil to carry him. Trying very long to make him to "action" to cut cake, but he dun want. Because he cannot stay still, made most photos turned out blur.

MIA for quite a while. Very busy with works and chores since I sent my maid away. Anyway, things are more or less under control liao except that my workloads in the office is currently on the peak, that's why dun really have much time to log on.

Anyway, thanks for all the well wishings. Austin is 1 year old today. We have 2 celebrations for him. One took place during last Saturday with my family. We bought him a hoo choo'train cake from coffee bean. That cake really looked very nice. Aloe, thanks for the recommendation. Another cake is from Swensen, it's a baby mickey ice cream cake. As for present, we did not buy anything for him. We went to Toy'R'Us last Sunday, shopped for almost the whole morning, did'nt see anything suitable. Poor Austin ..first year old no present from mummy and daddy

Hopefully, can meet up with all mummies and babies in the next gathering...

Wish all the April babies 'Happy 1st Birthday'...

Thanks for your well wishes. My gal had her bd celebration last weekend and she enjoyed herself very much. She was so happy/excited that she refused to sleep even though it is way past her bedtime. She finally managed to sleep at 12+ that night.

My gal is boycotting my porridge again. This time, it is not due to teething, but rather my porridge is not as tasty as mils. (If u recall, my mil has been adding soya sauce to her porridge since dun noe when, whereas I refused to do likewise.) Now that she is 1YO already, I considering if I should start adding some soya sauce to her food. Any comments?

Any mummies started giving outside food to your babies?

maple... how's yr birthday celebration with Gwyneth. do share with us the b'day pictures...

brought Ryan for his 1yr checkup last Sat .. PD said Ryan is a bit light .. he is only 8.02 kg. but his height is OK .. now must force him to drink more milk (now mixing PediaSure with Enfrapo)

Still need to go back 1 month later to have to Chickenpox injection ...Any babies have this injection ???

Hi Maple
I think your gal like salty food hor. Sorry I have no idea whether 1 year old can eat soya sauce or not..
I have not start giving outside food to my baby.

Hi Aloe
I start to mix gain-IQ & Similex liao
My baby did not have this injection. I dun think I want to give him.

Went to meet an insurance agent whom I dun know abt her. Dun feel comfortable cos she also ask me to buy insurance from her although I only want to buy for my baby.
Dun know what to do cos the product not bad but not the agent.

hi maple,
i dun think i will add soya sauce for him so soon.
For outside food, last sunday, we went hawker centre for dinner & i ordered "fish porridge". I feed Ryan with the fish and he LOVE eating that. Last night i give him steam fish also.

hi cutecute,
for insurance, i got it from my relative. She is quite good lor, won't push us to buy any insurance. She is from income. if you want i can introduce to you.

I have not add soy sauce to Ryan's food as was told its bad for their kidney. Their kidney might not be strong enough to take too much of it. What I do is try to add more taste by adding tomato or gou qi zi to his porridge ( dun feed them that though). Ryan seems to like fish alot. So far I have given him silver fish, white bait, cod fish, salmon, ngor fish etc....

As for outside food, never really let him try except plain rice and a few sip of our drinks. But was told that my inlaws fed him nuggets. Not really please but try to close one eye as long as it dun happen too often.

He is taking yogurt and cheese stcks for kids quite well too.

Btw, have you girls started brushing your baby teeth? If so, did you use the toothpaste? I only brush with plain water.

ALoe,

What is the 1 yr old check-up for? I dun intend to take the chicken pox jab but thinking of letting him take flu jab ashe keep coming down with cough and cold recently. I think my boy is around 11kg now. Dunno is it a bit on the heavy side.

Angel,
i also dunno why as his PD told us to see him when he turn 1YO on his last 6-in-1 injection.

Then when we reach, he told me he wants give him Chickenpox injection and he said it could develop fever a week later. As next week we are going for photo shooting @ kidpictures, I choose to have the injection a month later. He mentioned if kids have eczema will likely to have chickpox (not vy sure why).

My Ryan is a bit light .. that why now i must ensure he drink sufficient milk. Hopefully by drinking PediaSure will help him to gain some weight ...

Aloe,

I think chicken pox vaccine is optional right and need to go for booster shot a few yrs later. As for weight wise, maybe you can give him more solid or bread, cheese ,yogurt as snacks in between feed so he will have more food in small amount. Cheese and yogurt is quite healty too. Maybe coz' I always feed my boy alot of stuff plus he is a big eater so he is a bit heavy. Now I got problem carrying him for long too.

Angel

which type of yogurt you giving him ?? PD said give him Cheese too ...

normally how much cheese can your boy eat each time ?? how about yogurt, how much should i give ??

Hi Angel
I used Pigeon toothpaste with orange fav
Which brand of cheese you giving him?
I feed him marcononi (spelled something like that) Thinking mix with cheese

For cheese, I bought those meant for kids. Think its Arla cheese sticks for kids. Its in a red box with a boy and a cow picture on it. Can buy from NTUC and cold storage. He can finish one whole stick but initially their face might cringe coz' of the new taste and coldness so just be patient and try to take a bite and show them its ok. As for yogurt. I also bought those meant for kids/babies one. Think its petite mian yogurts for kids. The size is much smaller compared to normal ones. Less sweet too. Can be bought at most major supermaeket too. COmes in a few flavour but Ryan prefers the strawberry one. Most of the time he wants more but I just give him one small tub per day.

Thanks Angel,
will go NTUC later .. must buy some new food for him to try ..

hi Cutecute,
you feed Jia Xu macaroni, wow .. i think i better look for more recipes to cook different type of food for him. As everyday, my mil will just cook FISH + VEGI + MEAT PORRIDGE for him to eat *sigh*

Aloe,

MAybe you can try those ABC pasta. Think easier to swollow than those normal marcaroni. I tried Giving my boy that and he is ok. If not can try mee sua. He likes it alot but I dun feed that often as MIL says its salty.

Hi Mummies,Happy Belated Birthday to Austin,cutecute's boy and Maple's girl.I suppose the next ones are two Ryans,joy_apr's boy and Reon.

Ann,when's Valarie's birthday?

Angel & cutecute,both ur boys look like big boys,can 'protect' the jiejies.

Aloe,Cherish had been taking cheese since 10 mths old.I started mixing Chesdale cheese into her cereal,as the cereal is hot,the cheese melted instantly.I notice the nutritious value of Chesdale is high in calcium but also pretty high in sodium(salty!),so switch to Kraft singles.By the way,Cherish started taking cod liver oil-orginal flavour.

cutecute,I tried making cheesy pasta with chopped egg for Cherish.I cooked the ABC pasta till very soft.(make sure you wash the pasta a couple of times under running tap before you put into boiling water to cook,too much wheat flour).Scoop the pasta into a glass bowl and add a little hot water.Tear a slice of cheese into small pieces on top of the pasta before putting into microwave to melt the cheese.viola,the texture will be just nice.I tried once without adding water.The mixture was so dry tat Cherish rejected it instantly,waste my effort.My friend suggested tomato puree but I dun intend to try coz high in sodium.If not,macaroni soup cooked with carrot and chicken very nice too.

Angel,Cherish loves yoghurt as well.So far she tried all the flavours.That brand you mentioned has four flavours-simply vanilla,tropical,strawberry and mixed berry.She can take almost all flavours mainly banana,strawberry,apricot except for rasberry.I think it's too sour for her.

Aloe,NTUC is selling at an offer price of $3.55 for a tray of 6.I normally give her a cup during weekends.One way to increase his weight signicantly is giving him potato and cheese every other day.Potato-high in carbohydrates while cheese is high in calcium.Hope Ryan have fun with the photoshoot.

Maple,now if we want to dine outside,must adjustment to suit Cherish.I'll normally give her either porridge,beancurd,egg or Mac plain hotcakes.The only junk food that Cherish took once was sour cream potato chips(given by her grandpa much to my anger) and a sip of coke(her dad).I scolded him after tat.

Toony,I also din buy anything for Cherish's birthday.I think it's ok.We can take it that save the money to buy a bigger,better birthday gift in future.

276498.jpg

hi Rain_drop,
Cherish vy BIG gal already, she is very sweet.

hi Angel / Rain_drop,
I went NTUC last night and manage to get both Cheese and yogurt. We try the yogurt last night and he gave me the "vomit sound". so i just stop feeding him that.

This morning, i gave him cheese and he LOVES it. keep asking for more. think he like it becoz it is tasty compare to his FISH PORRIDGE.

Will ensure my MIL give him Cheese every other day.

Hi Rain_drops & Angel
Thanks for your clear advice. Have printed out the postings & will go to NTUC to buy.

Hi Rain_drops
May I know the ABC pasta is packed in the tin form?
I feed him macaroni with carrot or green peas. He can't take peas. He vomited (fed him too much) & shocked to see that he swallowed whole macaroni instead of bitting.
Looks Cherish was enjoying her birthday party & got a nice cake too.

Hi aloe,
Ryan cute..
Will he climb up the sofa? My boy always do that.

cutecute,
me going to prepare the ABC pasta this weekend too .. really look forwards to see how Ryan react to new taste ...

Every morning, first thing he will do is try to climb from his mattress (on the floor right next to my bed) to my bed. Haha so funny...

Raindrops,

Cherish look so differnt. Very big girl now. She must have enjoyed herself alot. Hubby and I did thought of making cheese pasta but just too lazy. Hee. Thanks for your instructions. Getting excited as its getting nearer to your EDD?

Aloe,

Glad your boy enjoys his cheese. Maybe you wait a while more before trying the yogurt again? Or try giving smaller spoonful? Your boy so smart... can climb up your bed. Mine is too high so he can't get up. Can only climb my MIL's bed which is lower.

Cutecute,

The ABC pasta is in those packet form. Must look quite hard coz' took me a few trips before I manage to locate it. Did you peal the green peas? Coz' I peal the green peas and only fed him those round round part.

Dunno why nowadays my boy always cry in the middle of the night and machiam like super glue to me. Dunno is it coz' he is spending more time at my MIL's place thus feels "insecure" sleeping alone in his room. Any baby sleeping alone now?

hi cutecute,

i think they are talking abt the abc pasta (dry one) , the ABC Can soup ... i think is too salty for baby ...

Thanks for your comments on soya sauce.

Yogurt My gal has not tried yogurt b4. Wanted to let her try but always keep forgetting to buy whenever Im at NTUC. Will try to get it this weekend. Hopefully she will like it. Is 1 small tub of yogurt filling enough to replace as a meal or do your babies take it as snack in between meals?

Cheese My gal is taking the cheese with a cow head in the packaging, in cube form, got her the blue package (original favour). Aloe, which type of cheese u got 4 Ryan? Angel, Ryan taking the cheese stick? He can finish 1 whole cheese stick per feeding?

Mee Sua I got the peacock bird brand mee sua for my gal. Seems that it is less salty than some of the other brands. Also, it is cholesterol free, sugar free, no preservatives, no artificial colouring etc.

ABC pasta Raindrops, thanks for your detailed instructions for cooking cheesy pasta. BTW, how long do u have to microwave it? Is it soft enough? No need to boil the pasta first?
Yes, Cutecute, u can let your boi try the ABC pasta, it is smaller than macaroni, so easier to eat. ABC pasta is in packet form, same packaging as those for macaroni, except smaller packet. 1 packet cost ard 60 or 70 cents.

Peas Cutecute, your boy dun like peas? Same as my girl. Gave her Heniz peas bottle food for the 1st time last Sun. She took not even 1 mouthful and she dun like it. When I tasted it, I too feels yucks. Or maybe she not used to bottle food cos tis is the 2nd time she took bottle food. The 1st time was applesauce which she took many months ago.

Brush Teeth I have difficulty brushing my gals teeth. It is all my fault cos I hv not been consistently washing her mouth for the past few months. Now that I want to clean her mouth & teeth, she refused to open her mouth. How frequent do u brush your babies teeth? Once every day, in the morning? Or twice a day, every morning & night?

Sleeping My gal is sleeping in the same room as us.

Chicken pox vaccine Any idea whether by taking the chicken pox vaccine, the bb would be immune from chicken pox for life? Or there is still a chance of getting it even though the bb has taken the vaccine? Aloe, can u ask Ryans PD when he goes for his injection?

Training pants Any idea whether there are such things as washable training pants besides the normal disposable ones?

(Pai sey for the long posting. Hope u dun feel lost)

Hi Maple
Me too.. at first my boy laughed when I brush his teeth. After that, he refused to open his mouth.
Last time very morning & night but now morning only.

As for chicken pox vaccine, I dun think it's immune for life.

Cutecute & maple,

Maybe you should consider adding a bit of peel peas into the porridge coz' I think those that are not peeled a bit hard for baby to chew. As for bottled one, I always refrain from giving except fruits coz' it looks yucky to me. Kekeke.

As for yogurt, I usually give as snacks in between meals as I think its not filling enough to substitue for a meal.

Maple,

Ryan can finish 1 whole stick of the cheese stick but initially I did take a few bites as I notice baby is more interested in our food so by "pretending" to eat, it makes him interested, so even if its sour or new taste, they will try to eat as daddy and mommy's food should be nicer to them. Hee. Thats how I usually manage to make him try new food. I usually give him the cheese stick shortly after his milk feed.

I brush Ryan's teeth twice a day. No problem so far but a bit apprehensive with using toothpaste. As for taining pants think most major shopping center got sell. Think seen it in mothercare too.

As for chicken pox vaccine. Its NOT immune for life. Think you have to take a booster shot after a few years.

Mummies, Happy Birthday To All April Babies!!

Rain_drops,
Valerie's bday is on the 27April..Cherish is very sweet..she must have enjoy her birthday.

Mummies, does anyone knows what to apply for baby ulcer or should let it heal by itself?? Blur me gave valerie a teether that is from the freezer..she bites it too deep and for a long period and cause a cut at the side of the mouth..making her pain to suck the milk and open her mouth..

Hi Ann,

Just found out that Aloe vera aids in healing mouth ulcer, bites and rashes so you might wanna give it a try since its a natural product. Hope your girl is better now.

To the rest of the mommies,

How abt a gathering sometime in May? If all is agreeable, can someone offer their home? ;p Or we can gatecrash Raindrops's place and visit her and her new addition. Kekeke. Just kidding. Any other suggestions?

Cutecute,

Then which weekend is better? Maple and I was thinking either Mother's day that week or Vesak day that weekend. How abt the rest of you?

Anyone willing to offer their place? * looks at Maple, cutecute, Toony, Raindrops, Aloe, Ann, Li_may, Joy_apr *.

Btw all, I'm so proud of my boy. He knows how to say alot of words now and ydy at my MIL's place when his chair and stroller was occupied and there was no place for me to strapped him down and feed him, I just place him on the flr and he finished 1 whole bowl of porridge without crawling anywhere. My niece kept tempting him to play with her and he was tempted to crawl away to play with toys but everytime I said "no" finish your porridge first, he will sit still and eat. He did whine but I'm so proud of him.
my MIL was so surprise and impress by him too. He's such a good boy.

Angel,
Happy 1st Birthday to Ryan!

Li May,
Happy 1st Birthday to Reon!

Aloe,
Happy 1st Birthday to Ryan!

277843.gif

(Advance wishes to the 3 'R's cos i would not be logging in during the weekends. Just realised that the names of the birthday babies this weekend all start with 'R' and end with 'N')

If u don mind my humble home, we can hv the gathering at my place. But can we set a date first? Any suggestions?

Nobody else has any comments on the training pants?

Ann,
Cant help on ulcer cos I also dun noe.

Angel,
Ryan is such a good boy, can resist temptation and listen to mummy.
Let's give him a big clap.

Hi Maple,

I dun mind your place. I would prefer Vesak day that weekend. Sat or Sun is fine with me. Thanks for the birthday wish.

hi Angel,thanks..will give it a try..Ermm. but i abit blur izzit the fresh aloe vera from the market?? or gel type from pharmarcy..

May gathering will be alrite with me..anyday will do

Ann,

Its those that you get from pharmacy. It comes in a small bottle. Jorubi Aloe vera. You can ask the sales assistant for it if you can't find coz' its a very small bottle.

hi Angel,
wow he knows how to say alot of words.. that's vy good.. he can say it out vy clearly ?? wow he so good boy, sit on the floor also can finish his porridge. i think if i put my boy on the floor, he will sure eat half way and "crawl" away. hee hee..

hi Ann,
Cant help too as I also dunno. oh . just realise Angel suggest Aloe vera.. then try it .. it shd help.

Gathering, shd be fine on the Vesak day that long weekend... oh maybe Rain_drop won't be able to join as if i did not remember wrongly her EDD shd be end April....or early May.

Aloe,

Maybe coz' my boy always hangs ard adults and kids that talks and sings alot so he kind of pick out here and there. Some words are quite clear but some a bit off. He abit notty. Bully his grandpa, will say " gong da " ( wanna beat grandpa ) and " gong kia" ( ask grandpa bring him go playground ). I think coz' he scared I angry tats Y he sat still. I notice he always bully my inlaws. Only behave when hubby and I are ard.

Btw, have you girls introduce egg white? My MIL just inform me that they have been feeding Ryan 1 whole half boiled egg for sometime liao.

Thinking of making some tonic soup that clears phelgm and cough for Ryan as he has been coughing quite badly but the recipe requires honey to be added for sweetening purpose. A bit apprehensive abt giving him honey still. Any comments?

Any babies taking Gain IQ besides cutecute's boy?
Cutecute, how is your boy taking Gain IQ? Okay?
I've started mixing Gain IQ with Similac. Noted that sometimes she has loose bowels, as in more watery. Dun noe whether it is due to Gain IQ? Will monitor her for a few more day.

Angel,
I "introduce" egg white to my gal last weekend. I steamed the egg for her. She likes it.

Read somewhere that says not to give honey to bb < 1YO cos of some bacteria present in honey which is bad for the intestine. Since Ryan is 1YO already, its up to u lor.

Maple,

I know abt the bacteria thing, that is why I am hesistant abt giving it to him though he just turn one. As you prolly know, I am the super kiasi mommy, so dun really dare to try. Just wondering if its ok if I substitute with sugar....

Hi Angel
I gave half egg white to my boi, so far so good.
Your boi very guai, my boi very notti leh.
He eat while crawl away. After few spoons he shake his head and sometimes said "bu yao" no in mandrian. He sweat a lot. He asked him want to bath, he shaked his head &amp; crawl away. He can't eat much nowsaday, I think because of hot weather or maybe my food not nice to eat?
Got one time I so angry cos he always touch the salt for fish water. Told him many times cannot. I slap his butts. My husband got a shocked but my boi smiled at me.

Hi Maple
I am now giving him full Gain IQ after mixing for 1 week. So far no prob.

My boi will eat kaft cheese but not mixed with ABC pasta.

Hi Cutecute!

I think coz' I've been quite strict and "heartless" towards my boy since long ago so he knows if he make me really angry, I'll either hit his hand/thigh or I'll not carry/sayang him till he behave so he abit scared of me loh. Maybe you try letting you boy wear singlet and bath twice aday. Will help alot. Ryan loves to bath and sometimes will refuse to come out of the bathtub.

Hi Angel
I used to be like you, until he dun want me to carry him unless no one is in the house. Very sad hor... my husband told me to treat him better if not next time boi dun like me liao.
Dun know why these 2 week he is very sticky to people. His first choice to carry him is mil, husband &amp; lastly is me.
Yes, I have started give him singlet &amp; bath twice a day. No matter how he protest, must bath him twice. hahaha...

cutecute,

Maybe my son is more "manja", no matter how hard I hit him or how fierce I am, he still comes to me leh... kekeke.... even these few days he sick, force him eat medicine, he so angry but still come crawling to me after that. kekeke. Another reason cld be coz' your boy spends more time with your MIL so more attached/dependent on her loh while mine spends more time with me coz' I am the sole caregiver... he dun be in my good book he lugi...kekeke.... I very bad hor....

Btw, Ryan seems to be a bit cranky during mealtime too. Think maybe its coz' the weather really hot. 1/2 way thru his porridge he starts to get cranky....

Ann,

Is your girl's ulcer better? Did you manage to get the aloe vera?

Hi Angel
I agreed with you. Last time during the 2 mth plus when I haven't found a job yet, I am also take care of him alone. That's why he attached to me more. But now different liao. It's nature one loh.