(2004/04) April Mummy

Aloe,
I sent my maid away becos she's very scheming. She liked to interpret words to her benefit, creating conflicts between me and my PIL. I finally found out her wrong doings after meeting by FIL for a heart to heart talk. With this bad experience, I don't want to have maid anymore. Anyway, now I'm coping and happy w/o maid although tiring at times.

Maple,
I also prepare the ikan bilis powder myself. First, select the better grade ikan bilis, then remove the head and stomach, wash several times, stir-fried in the frying pan until dry before grind into powder. Like what Raindrop mentioned, ikan bilis is a good source of calcium so is good for the baby.

Raindrop,
Yup, Austin went to Sparkletots near your new place.

Austin is already crawling around in the house. He don't crawl using his stomach but using his palms and knees. He's moving around the house freely nowsday. I also brought Austin to polyclinic for 9 months assessment. I waited for almost 3 hours for teh check-up. Initially, I also thought that the assessment is free but who's know, last week we received Austin's first letter. It is a $4 bill for the check-up and is already a 1st time reminder letter for payment. We walked out of the polyclinics without paying and nobody actually told us that we have to pay. What a good start for Austin....kekeke.

Wish all of you have a HAPPY AND PROSPEROUS NEW YEAR!!!

Wish all babies 'Kuai Gao Zhang Da'.

My gal got bitten by insects yday. I got a shock when I saw her last night. Her face now got a few red swollen patches, one of them is on the eye lip and the eye looks swollen. I feel so heart pain. My sil teased her and said she now looks like zhong wu yan.

Toony,
Huh?? Have to pay for assessment? I never pay anything leh thot its free.

Angel,great!Then Cherish n Ryan can 'stroll' together.So romantic ah.........heehee...

Cutecute,I got what u mean.My way of palying catching is the funny way.She fall,I catch instead of chasing her.heehee...

Toony,u visited the bedok one above NTUC rite?Can vomit blood one.$4 will be chargable if got doc's consultation otherwise shouldn't charge u.

Any mummies buying or bought insurance for ur darlings?I intend to get soon,dunno if the premium will be more expensive if I buy for Cherish when she turns one.Any advice?

Wishing all mummies 'qing chun yong zhu' (youth forever) and babies 'kuai gao zhang da' and most importantly muz guai guai.Happy Chinese New Year!

maple,Cherish is using this Combiderm cream for her mosquito marks.After applying,the marks are less visible.See if u can get from phamacies.As it contains tiny traces of steriods,use it sparingly.

Maple,

Maybe you should buy some insect repellent. My house got all types of insect repellent. Stick on, spray on and those electronic one. Coz' me very hiao. Scared Ryan kena bitten.

Raindrops,

Yah loh, so romantic. When I told my hubby he also laugh says no problem. But think more of a romantic "run" on the walker.

If you want, I can recommend my hubby sec sch frd to u for insurance. No obligation. He is from prudential.

Hi there, All Mummies

GONG XI FA CAI
WAN SHI RU YI

Finally, I have a long break, I will be free on this sat and sun, wanna plan for any gathering? After this sun, I will be extremely busy, as my mil 5th shop opening at holland village on the 21st of this month.

Juz wanna update all of you, Reon is 8.4kg, 70cm. She is crawling rite now and she can actually sit without any help. She has 3 teeth, knows how to wave bye bye and show "gong xi gong xi", all depends on her mood.

Here are some of her photos:

248494.jpg

248495.jpg

248496.jpg

Hi Li may,

Gong xi fa cai to you too! Reon look so cute and friendly. So smart know how to wave goodbye and shows gong xi gong xi also.

As for gathering. Need to check with other mommies whether they free and where is available too.

I'm so happy! Ryan knows how to call me "ma ma" already! Floating on cloud nine! He knows how to say 'cat' too and I wasn't hearing things or imagining it coz' others have heard and told me. Paiseh. Just too happy and wanna share with all of you. Still floating ard now. Hee.

Hi Angel,
Glad to know that yr baby ryan able to call u !! Is absolutely OK to be floating ... Hahaha

Hi Li May,
Sorry that we miss out yr posting, think most of us are busying visiting during CNY period. Hope that we can arrange another one on yr free days

Hi Raindrops,
i bought him insurance once i got him his birth cert. i think it is vy impt to have insurance especially those can cover hospitalization. I got his from INCOME as one of my hubby's cousin

Hi Toony,
I paid total $5.40 for his assessment & seeing dr there ... oh i checked on his receipt and $4 for seeing dr & 1.4 is for medicine.

now is my turn to float liao as Ryan can crawl liao .. wow he manage a tour around his home ... he started from master bedroom and crawl to the dinning room area to have a good look around ... and finally he reach the destination - the sofa in our living room to look for his daddy ... haha
but he some skin from his little feet got rub off ... but the funny thing is he did not feel the pain ... maybe he also too happy that he can crawl around the house

one more thing is ... i think he can manage to sleep through the nite now .. hahaha ...

Happy Valentines Day to all

Aloe,

Thanks and congrats. My Ryan only crawling on the mattress coz' his head hit the floor once when he tried crawling onto the floor and till now only dare to crawl till edge of the mattress. Maybe you can buy those knee protector for your boy when he is crawling around. Think safety first has it.

Hi all my bb too start crawling but like Ryan oso on the mattress..She jus don like to be on the floor.. Wishing All Mummies Gong Xi Fa Cai..Dis is my bb pic on CNY

249354.jpg

Hi Ann,

Your baby is cute. Still can pose somemore. Ryan refused to crawl on floor after his bad experience but that day, thing he wakes up and couldn't find me and crawl out of the mattress, crying after me. So poor thing.

Have any of you mommies thought of how to celebrate you bao bei's first birthday? How about we organising a joint one?

Hi Ann,yr baby very cute.. so much hair ..

Hi Angel, still have 2 months ... then is our bao bei's 1st birthday. .. oh actually I dun intend to celebrate for his .. hee hee as he might not understand why the adults need to blow candles.. hee hee ... but I am ok to have one to celebrate together...

hi Raindrop, maple, toony, cutecute ...
how's yr CNY ?? still celebrating ??

Hi angel..i tink my gal don like to b place on the floor cause the rubbing on the floor when crawling is painful..she onli crawl on my bed or mattress...

i haf not actually tink abt bb 1st birthday celebration..but mayb a buffet at a restaurant inviting some friends & family members..or just a simply 1..3 of us..

This afew pic of her

aloe

Hi aloe my baby actually haf so little hair tat pple c her will say so botak..onli recently her hair start growing faster:p cause i everyday wash..

Aloe,

Actually wanted to celebrate my boy's birthday but if want to invite relative, think I'll go broke. So thinking either a quiet celebration with hubby only or maybe have a joint one with all the April babies.

Ann,

My son's hair grow very fast and quite alot so nowadays weather so hot, see he keep perspiring.

All the mommies busy with work or still celebrating CNY. All MIA>

..but donno wat happen bb refuse solid dis few days..try veri hard eveyday to prepare diff food but donno izzit because teething..(still haven haf a single teeth)keke.. my mum say is popping out soon can c under the light..

Need advise should i gif baby pacifier..my mum & MIL keep ask mi to gif bb pacifier..they say bb will b more calm..i realli donno should i listen to them..

Hi Ann,
I like your baby photo in pink, looks sweet.
If I were u, I choose not to give baby pacifier because if the baby get "addicted" diffcult to get rid.
Don't know why most old people like to give baby pacifier.

Hows everybody and all our April babies?

Ann,
Your gal so cute and chubby! Feel like hugging her.

Angel, Aloe,
Thanks for missing me am busy at work din celebrate CNY for so long lah. Finally managed to steal some time to log on and say hello. Will post again later (if I can).

i hate pacifier... but Ryan is addicted to it now. so sad. i am now help him to get rid of it. i.e. i stop giving him pacifier when he go to bed at nite. But it is really tough as he will keep making noise or keep moving (at least 15 to 30 mins) before he can really fall a sleep. Sometimes he will suck the pacifier for the whole nite.

My MIL keep saying is easy to get rid. but i really dun think so.

Oh we went for a birthday yesterday .. look .. Ryan really enjoy himself & he might think that party is his birthday party hee hee

251420.jpg

251421.jpg

Hi Ann,
There is no right or wrong in giving the pacifier, it is all up to the individual. However I personally feels that since your gal is doing fine w/o the pacifier, it is not necessary to introduce it to her. If not, you would hv another problem of weaning her off. I am still trying to wean my gal off her pacifier.

Aloe,
My gal sama sama. Keep making noise and moving if w/o pacifier and sometimes will suck the whole night. Will Ryan wake up in the middle of the night and look for it? My gal does.

hi maple .

yes . he will look for his pacifier during mid-of the nite .. so troublesome ..

last night dunno what wrong with him la .. with his pacifier in his month & he still make noise .. sometimes i think he is vy hungry .. but whenever i give him the milk bottle .. he will scream and scream .. but i offer him BM .. he will more than happy to suck .. so sick ... my boss keep asking me why i look so tired everyday .. dunno when he will be able to sleep really well ..

brought him to see dr yesterday as he got ezcema on his big toe and it affect his toe nail .. so heart pain to see his toe. He got peeling skin and crack there at his toe. But lucky dr said at this age of baby have not really develop the sense of itchy or pain ... if not sure he will scream...

hi cutecute ... ammmm not sure .. but that's what the skin dr told my hubby ..

maybe i surf on internet to find out more on this ..

Hi aloe, cutecute,
I saw my gal scratches her hands and ears too... thought they already have sense of itchy and pain. Aloe, do share with us any info you find on the internet.

How many of you have brought bb swimming b4? Need some advice as to what are the things to prepare or take note when bringing bb for a swimming. And how do u bathe the bb after the swim?

Hi Maple,
Extremely busy @ work, I did not have time to do research yet .. maybe I will surf around during weekend.

I brought Ryan to swim twice. these are the items I bring, when I bring him to swim
- swim suit
- swim diaper
- towel
- sunblock lotion
- float
- camera
- his sunglass
- warm water/ milk / biscuits

I bath him only when we reach home. ... as we went to either my BIL or friends' condo to swim . not so nice to use their home la .. so most of the time is once he finish swimming . I will dry him and change him near the pool & give him some warm water & biscuits. Then we will go back home to bath him.
normally i will let him swim around 4pm as the sun is not too hot. most of the time i wil not go into water as i find it different to change him if i am wet too ... so i suggest either father or mother to the swim then the other person will take picture and change him.

when u bring yr gal to swim ? Do enjoy ..

oh for the first swim, i only let him play for 10-15 mins .. for the second time, he play almost 30 mins .. Babies really enjoy water ..

this is one of the link i found on the "Your Infant's First Swim" http://www.swimwithus.co.uk/Articles/Swimming-art-infants-first-swim.htm

Hi Aloe,
Thanks for your note and the link.
Thinking of going next mth (provided daddy agrees). Agree that bb enjoy water. She is always so excited and can't wait to get into the bathtub as I undress her. And she enjoys playing with the water in the bathtub. Of course swimming pool and bathtub different lah, but hopefully she will not be scared and enjoy her swim.

Hi mummies,sorry for not being able to log as much as before.Pretty tied up at work.Cherish didn't go house-visiting much,so she gets to 'display' her NY clothes at home most of the time.hehee....

Ann,ur little darling looks very cute and chubby.Pretty in pink.Agree with Maple,if u give pacifier now,next time u'll have to help her kick the habit,very hard ah.If she cried in the middle of the nite,can try stroking her back for assurance,if not hug her close to you.Hope that helps.Cherish will also look for her pacifier in the middle of the nite,I just placed it near her.She'll reach out and feel w/o opening her eyes and stuff the pacifier into her mouth and sleep.

Wow,seems like Aloe's Ryan is having a great time at the party.He sure is brave,not afraid that the balloon will burst.Btw,bbs can have ezcema.My friend's girl is a victim.Very poor thing.I also have,luckily Cherish not affected coz can b 'yi chuan'.Did dr gave u any medicated cream?

Wanted to bring Cherish for her 'virgin swim' this aftn but the rain ruined our plans.Not the 1st time alady,sigh.....Maybe will bring her to swim next time.Cherish was sleeping but she had a fall again,this time the floor wasn't cushioned.Cried and cried but now okie liao.

I got my house keys alady.Hope to start renov soon.Then we can have a gathering at my place.

hi Maple, sure Gwyneth will enjoy her swim .... do take some photos for us to see...

hi Raindrop, hee hee you are wrong ... He is the only baby there cry out so loudly when one of the balloon burst..... For eczema, oh his toe is much better liao as we brought him down to see the skin specialist. I have eczema too .. so actually I am not surprise to see him having that. Really hope that his skin will get better when he grow older.
Good to know that you already got your house keys.... when is yr EDD for mei mei ?? Better start to do the reno, if not will be vy tiring for you to take care of so many things. Happy shopping for new furniture

Any mummies have decided what milk for 1 year old baby?

My baby went for a hair-cut yesterday. Cried loh. Went to my friend house-warming, also cried. He still not use to many people.

aloe,mei mei's shld be arriving late Apr (scali same bd as Ryan) or early May.We'll engage my eldest BIL to handle the renovation while another BIL to oversee with my hubby as I pantang leh.

cutecute,Cherish used to be like tat as well.U ned to bring him out more often to 'interact'.Now,Cherish can adapt after a little warm up.I very kiasu,already bought a small tin of Neslac 1+ (vanilla flavour) for her coz NTUC got offer,only $12.50.Besides,the 1.8kg tin is very much cheaper than Gain IQ.I hope Cherish will like it.

My baby have slight fever last night. PD said is due to weather change, so mummies, pls take care.
We went to the clinic 10 mins late (close at 9pm) That time the clinic still open as there's still baby patients in the q. We need to pay extra $ cos of after opening hrs. We paid $85

May I know any mummies came across that?

hi cutecute/raindrop,

it is a must to change milk powder ???
currently, Ryan is drinking ENFAPRO A+ and is for babies from 6 to 18mths old ...

is Neslac 1+ or Gain IQ good ??? under what kind of situation, you will consider change of milk powder ???

Aloe,
Based on my knowledge, the general guide for FM for babies are:
Step 1 : 0-6 mths
Step 2 : 6-12 mths
Step 3 : 1-3 yrs
Step 4 : 3 yrs & above

So most pp will change FM for bbs around/after 1 YO.
For Enfa series, there are some overlapping, as in 0-12 mths, 6-18 mths, 1-3 yrs, etc. so it is up to u whether u want to change or wait till 18 mths.

Cutecute, Raindrops,
Have been thinking abt which FM to use but hv not decided yet. Can share how u decide on which FM to use and why Gain IQ and Nestlac?

Cutecute,
Din know abt the extra charge after opening hrs cos never went to PD after opening hrs.

cutecute,Cherish did not visit a PD before.KKH's A&E doesn't cost tat much,but waiting time long lah.If the PD charges this price for his professionism,I find it justifiable but if it costs this much because of the operating hrs,not reasonable unless it's those open 24-hrs.

I suppose Gain IQ is gd,but the price quite steep.What I know,Pediasure is good also but underweight bbs.

Aloe,u may wish to continue giving Ryan the Enfapro since he's coping fine with it.But eventually after he reaches 18 mths' old,u may wish to change to Enfagrow (for 1-3yrs old).So far,I notice Enfa series still have original flavour and vanilla and honey whereas most brands have either vanilla or honey only.Some mummies will feel vanilla also consider sweet so prefer to give Enfagrow's original.

Maple,my main concern is the price.I was torn between choosing Neslac 1+ or Dumex 1+,but I reckon Neslac powder is manufacture in Australia so choose that.Still I'm worried tat Cherish might not like it.

Raindrops & other mummies,
Price is one of my concerns too. Have also been considering Dumex 1+. But Dumex 1+ does not hv those DHA, AA things. Do u think these are impt for bbs above 1?

Hi Maple, I'm think it is impt but these things can also be found in food.
I also think the more things inside the milk, the more expensive.

i think i am the most dun care mommy here.. thanks for all the info here regarding the milk powder..

oh Pediasure is good for underweight .. ammm i might consider giving Ryan this as well .as i want him to gain more weight ..

Any idea whether teething will affect appetite for solids? My gal isnt taking solids too well recently. To the contrary, she is taking milk better now.
And a good news to share my gal is no longer bo gay. Her teeth are coming out now.

Hi Maple
Teething do affect appetite solids & milk too. There are period that my baby eat more solids & drink less milk and then eat less solids & drink more milk.
I use pigeon toothbrush & toothpaste (orange fav) to brush his teeth morning & night on weekend. I use cool boiled water to raise his mouth.

Hi Maple..
Agree with cutecute it mayb cause by teething. My gal teeth pop out on the 5Feb & second lower teeth on 25Feb..She too haf problem taking her solid & can't slp well at nite..Onli take a few mouth of solid.

i did ask PD abt the pro he told me if my gal didn't take solid for few days its ok..but maybe i to "kan chiong" so kiasu ask 4 mutil-vit..he told mi once she start taking solid can stop liao.but till now even bb start eating normally but i still continue giving her to boast her imunitiy

Maybe u can gif her some bread or baby biscuit..or some food tat she likes..so at least got abit solid..can oso cook some soup for her..Hope dis can help.

Cutecute, u read my mind! I was abt to ask how u mummies clean/brush bb teeth and u answered me b4 asking! When should we start using the toothbrush? I heard that we only start brushing the teeth after they were erupted?? (dun noe correct or not?) So how should we clean their teeth and gum while the teeth are erupting? With the finger and cloth? Sorry, dun understand the part abt rinsing bb mouth. U mean bb will know that the water is for rinsing and will spit the water out?

Yah..now she's taking well..i intro her to quite some food tat she nv tried b4..like soft cook rice, mee sua, kway teow..all cook in soft type..

Mayb u apply some teething gel b4 she take solid..

Hi Maple, I also heard what u heard.
I only started last week-end.
I know there's a kind of baby tooth brush for erupting teeth, cost few $.
There's baby fair at Taka. I bought the pigeon toothpaste/brush there & there is a promotor teach me how to use.
When rinsing his mouth, I put him a bib, carry him up & near the basin, telling him that I'm going to brush his teeth. I slowly give him water & then bend him down so the water flow out.
Anyway, the cool boiled water & toothpaste is safe to swallow, so I not scared loh.

This morning, Milk company-Abbott's nurse called me that she is sending Gain IQ sample to my home.
She told me to mix Similx & Gain IQ for 1 week. She said can start now but I feel it is too early.