(2004/04) April Mummy

236753.gif

Happy New Year,Mummies!New Year begins in a wet way,raining every day.Sigh,wanna go out also very difficult.

Angel,surprised that Ryan can be so 'decisive'.I should msg Li_May.Wonder how's Reon?

Toony,$10 is cheap for a trial.I've a coupon for Gymboree's trial for $25.I was thinking of bringing Cherish to go.Heard that Growing Up Gifted is not bad too.Have u heard of Little Jumper Gym at Katong Mall?My SIL brought her son there and commented that their method very 'rojak'.Got Glenn Doman's flashcards,a little Shichida (sorry,wrong spelling) and gym activities.The trial used to be free,now $20.

Maple,is ur girl better now?Did she cried out loud?Cherish wants to sayang meimei leh.Dun blame urself.Be careful next time lor.Old ppl always say,bb falls more,then will learn mah.

Cherish enjoyed her supermarket trip at Carrefour Suntec alot yest.Although it's very crowded and noisy.I was carrying her while looking for her daddy.When I asked her,where's Daddy?She will like look ard to look for daddy like tat,just that she dunno how to say.hehe...

Raindrops,

So is Li_may agreeable to the gathering date and venue?

Raindrops, you can tahan carrying your girl with your barehand and shop around ah? If I don't use either the stroller or the sling, think my arm will break.

Toony,

Can you pm me your email addy and contact number so I can send you along with the rest my address.

So mommies, is it confirm that the gathering will be at my place on the 15th Jan 2005?

Btw, any idea when can we start to introduce food like mee sua, macaroni, cheese, water melon to baby? Thinking of letting Ryan try some of these as I am getting sick of feeding him the same old food.

cutecute,

How you cook the mee sua huh? Sorry hor, me never cook b4. Hehehe. Won't it be a bit salty coz' my MIL says mee sua salty leh but I thought of trying coz' Ryan dun seems to like porridge still.

Angel, I just put 1 mee sua in the pot of boiling water to cook, & then put veg if I want. I use chop stick to stir. That's all. I suggest you put more water cos mee sua will "eat" the water very fast.
I dun know mee sua is salty leh. My mil started it.
Fyi, I use his spoon to cut it & then feed him.

cutecute,

Thanks. I also didn't know mee sua salty but my MIL say so then ask me try macaroni or bee hoon first but I scared he choke on those leh coz' mee sua seems to be able to break more easily. Did you add meat or fish for taste?

Raindrops,
Cherish can sayang meimei next Sat.

Angel,
Could Ryans porridge be too dry or too watery? Some bbs like it to be more watery while others prefer it more solid.

Have not tried those food that u mentioned. Mil said macaroni too hard, cannot give bb yet. I have the same question abt cheese. Can any mummies enlighten us?

Ive informed joy_apr of our gathering. She cant confirm her attendance yet.

Maple,

Tried both dry and watery. He simply dun like them. Tried mixing with his cereal as advised by pd, he dun seems to liek it but ate more than usual. Think I'll give up on porridge and skip to rice next time.

If most can't make it for this gathering, wanna postpone again? Let me know soon so I can keep that date free.

Ryan keep biting me these 2 days and a bit cranky plus poo more watery than usual. Could he be teething?

Angel,

from what i understand from my colleague, his pd advised him to give cheese to his boy only after he reach 1. He explained that cheese is fermented food ,so not suitable for baby below 1. Ryan dun like porridge huh, is it because the rice was not soft enough? I remembered the first time I cooked Austin's porridge, I did not cook long enough and end up he refused to eat it. So from that time onward, I cooked his porridge using slow cooker for about 4 hours before giving to him. With the symptoms u described, quite possible he is teething. I read from books that why baby's poo becomes watery during teething is because when they are teething, they have a high tendency to put their hands in the mouth and most of time, hands are not very clean and that's why resulting in 'LS'. To avoid that, try to clean their hands more often.

Austin also cranky today, think his another teeth popping out, very noisy.

toony,

I also tried using slow cooker to cook the porridge for a very long time. He still dun like it. Think he dun like the rice taste. He prefer things like cereal, pumpkin, sweet potato etc...

Ryan has been ultra cranky these few days. Think I going crazy liao. So tiring tending to cranky baby and still have to do chores and cook.

Angel,
I thot the gathering on 15 Jan is confirmed?

Confirmed Attendance:
1. Aloe
2. Angel
3. Maple
4. Raindrops

KIV:
1. joy_apr
2. toony

Maple,

Paiseh. A bit more tired than usual so a bit blur. Anyone bringing hubby along? Are we having potluck? One of my frd might bring her daughter along. Her's is a May'04 baby girl.

Have sent out email to all with my address.

Ryan like mee sua alot. Finished liao still cry for more. Ate 1 bowl of mee sua with ikan bilis, carrot and caixin, 1 steam apple and 1 heniz biscuit for lunch while his poor mommy having cup noodles coz' too tired to cook or go out and buy lunch.

Cutecute,

how much mee sua you feed your baby per feed? I cooked 1/2 a bundle for him and he seems to want more. Am I under-feeding him? Look alot to me leh.

Angel, I cooked 1 bundle of mee sua, an hour later then feed him apple. This is because after eating mee sua he full already.
I'm also not sure whether u under-feed cos u got incl apple & biscuit.
U can try 1 bundle of mee sua & see how.
Biscuit I usually feed him between meals.

I should be able to join u all next week. Count me in.

Angel/cutecute,

what soup did u use to cook with mee sua? Thought of adding variety to Austin's meal during week end.

toony,

I used ikan bilis, caixin and carrot to cook together with the mee sua. Fed Ryan everything except the ikan bilis and he love it.

Glad you are joining us for the gathering. Your hubby and son joining us too?

Sorry Mummies,was too engrossed with the flat selection thingy this wk again.My appt is next Tue,very gan cheong.

I msg Li_May and she replied today.Angel,I guess you have to put her under KIV.okie a quick update.Reon is teething,and she has got 2 bottom teeth.She is learning to crawl now.As for her older girl,Feon is placed in the playgroup for all day.Li_May is currently helping out in one of her MIL's food store and works fm 10am-10pm.She'll be busy till aft CNY but she'll make time.I'll be expecting her confirmation next Wed.

Cherish has got flu but she'll get well by next week,coz she can't wait to see her boyfren Ryan.Besides,Aloe's Ryan and Toony's Austin will be there.She also want to sayang Maple's girl mah.Sure hope cutecute and Li_may can make it.Aiyo,Cherish also got diahorea again.This morning my MIL fail to realise she poo poo and when she found out it's too late.Cherish has got nappy rash.She'll cry non-stop everytime she weewee.And she's drooling like nobody's biz.Angel,Cherish is gonna wet ur flr and wipe it for u by crawling over it.heehee...

Raindrops,

Ryan's poo also more sticky and watery than usual and poo 3 times ty! Cherish can come and help me "wipe" my flr anytime as long as you don't find it too dirty for her to crawl on. Hee.. she still remember her bf ah?
Wish you goodluck on your flat selection. Must remember to invite us to your new place hor? Your hubby coming over? Ask him come lah if not my hubby will be so bored. Kekeke.

So cfm pple are :-

Angel13
Raindrops
Maple
Aloe
Toony

KIV :-

Li_may
Joy_apr
cutecute?

Btw, can someone update the contact list with toony's contact coz' haven't install office on my pc so can't update on the exsiting one on my pc. Paiseh.

I am back...MIA for quite some time. Have been very busy since I went back to my MIL business, selling wanton mee. Whenever I have my off day, is either attending driving lessons or handling my MIL stuff.

Toony,

Do send me ur contact at [email protected].
Will update the list and send to everyone.

Hi Li May,

Welcome back! DO try to join us for the gathering if you are able to.

To all the mommies here,

WHat kind of food should we have this Saturday? Any other things that I have to prepare for either the mommies or the babies?

Angel,thks!My ang wouldn't be joining us coz he has got work to do to meet deadlines.Actually I thot of giving everyone a surprise by bringing a cake to ur place,coz since our gathering is in the aftn.Since most of us will be having lunch before visiting ur place,maybe you like to prepare some refreshments.That shld be enuf alady,rite?

Mummies,I was so mad yest.My ang and I went to view flats again.We were at one of the blks and my ang causually yet politely ask an auntie at the corridor if we can peek into her flat.She was so rude and replied no angrily.I thot of selecting the unit beside her as my 1st choice coz the unit no very nice but I changed my mind.I'll not choose the unit beside her as I do not wan her as a neighbour and definitely not a unit under her unit.If I were to consider,I'll definitely choose a unit above her!

Angel,
No need to prepare any food for us dont want it to be too much a hassle to you just some drinks would be sufficient. Most likely that hb might have to work this sat, so cant join. In the event that he is spared from work, will get him to come along as well.

Toony,
Great to hear that u r joining us. Looking forward to seeing you and Austin.

Raindrops,

Yah better dun select the unit next or below the woman or you might have to "suffer" under her.

What kinds of drinks and refreshments you girls want? Any special order? If nto I anyhow hantum ok?

Hee... incase you girls are interested to bring your baby to go swimming, safra pool is very near my place. About 5-10mins walk only.

Anyone bringing there hubby along if not my hubby will be the only odd one out. Kekeke.

Thks for all ur blessings.I've selected a unit despite something unexpected and unpleasant happened.I shall tell all of u this Sat.Nevertheless,since we've decided on this,too late for regrets now.

Angel,luckily I din select that unit but it's taken up by someone else.

Solly that I can't go for the gathering cos I am not sin (duty travel), flight only arrival in sin on Sunday.

Tonite I will fly out.

cutecute,so sad.But hope u can join us next time.Enjoy ur trip and have a safe journey.

Mummies,Cherish went for her 9th mth assessment this morning.She weighs 8.16kg and height is 69.8cm,a medium-size bb.

just brought Austin to see doctor today. He has been throwing out his milk and porridge since last night. The doctor said that it is due to indigestion. I think i overfeed him liao. Poor boy. He's ok now, can eat, can play. Thank good ness. The doctor also said that I may have given him too much orange food, his palms and foot a bit yellow. I told the doctor I put carrot in the porridge to add taste but did not feed him the carrot. She said it will have the same effect as eating the carrot. So mummies, please take note. Dun repeat my mistake.

Li May,

sorry for the late reply. I will let you have my contact asap so u can update the list.

Angel,
your hubby will not be the odd one out. My hubby most likely will be joining us this Sat. Thanks in advance for hosting this gathering. If u need any other things, just let me know.

Raindrops,
your Cherish is 8.16kg, my Austin weighs only 7.42kg. I think he still has a lot of catching up to do.

toony,

Glad to hear that Austin is much better now. Yah I do refrain from giving Ryan too much orange food. I am the super kiasi mom that always take alot of unnecessary precaution coz' I can't affod to have anything happen to him as noone is available to help me out. Glad your hubby will be joining us but warn you first, my hubby not those ultra frdly one but he is ok lah...just won't go out of his way to talk to pple coz' he "shy" hope you don't mind.

I dunno how heavy Ryan is now coz' yet brought him for assesment and his feeding habit keep flucuating. Sigh....

Toony,glad to hear that Austin is better now.Oops....I always feed Cherish with carrot.Dun worry,Austin will catch up very soon coz I believe bbs will spur in their growth at a certain time.

Toony,
Glad to know that Austin is better now. Sometimes my gal took a lot of orange food too, as in carrot or pumpkin. BTW, any idea how much is too much?

Cutecute,
Have a nice trip. Hope u can join us for the next gathering.

Angel,
Can take orders ah? Hmm... can we have XO, brandy and volka? Heehee... just joking lah...

My hb is able to join us for a while b4 he leaves for work.

Joy_apr would not be joining.

Maple,

XO can lah coz' I got 1 bottle stashed somewhere given to me during my confinement. The rest dun ve. Kena usurp by my dad when I moved house. Hee.

Any idea Li_may can join us anot?

I did a very sinful thing today. Went shopping spree at Robinson warehouse sale and did severe damage to my pocket. Think will be banned from shopping in near future. Better leave my cards at home next time when I go shopping without my hubby. :p

But hor alot of quite good buys leh and not crowded at all.

Angel,Li_May haven replied,so tentatively still KIV.I'll msg her tmr.

Come on,u've a very gd reason to shop mah.CNY coming leh.(Excuses,excuses....)I suppose it'll not be crowded during weekdays.So any gd buys under bb section?

Raindrops,

Not much for baby boy loh I feel. Most of the pjs are more suitable for girls. I think some of the babychairs and toys are going quite cheap. Never pay much attention as I don't need them. But the bedsheets, toiletries and innerwear are really cheap loh. Men's stuff too. I not the patient type that will go through item by item loh. But hor still spend close to $300. Hubby eyes almost pop out when I showed him my loot. :p

Li May will not be able to join us tomorrow as she got noone to relieve her of her work. She suggested we have another one around CNY. What say you girls?

Raindrops, Maple, Toony,

Thanks for coming to my place. So sorry never warn you girls that my floor is very slippery. Caused your precious darling to slip and fall so many times. Thousand apologies.

Really enjoy myself. Paiseh, my boy seems a bit anti-social. Prolly coz' he is the only one that can't crawl so just stand one side and watch all the actions.
He knock out shortly after you all left.

Maple how is your girl? The knock better liao. My hubby saw you at Tiong Bahru plaza just now.

Raindrops, thanks for the cake and thank Cherish for sharing the mini bun with Ryan.

Toony, nice meeting you, Austin and your hubby.

Hope to meet you girls again and the rest of the mommies that couldn't make it today.

Angel,
Thanks for hosting the gathering. Like your house a lot, so neat and spacious and have such a good view.
Paiseh my gal ate so much of Ryans food, biscuits and cereal, and thanks for sharing. Think I will probably buy the Heinz biscuits for her, she seems to like that.
Thanks for your concern, her head is better liao.

Went to visit my aunt after I left your place. Then went to NTUC to get cereals for my gal b4 going home.
Was so surprise to see your hb.

Raindrops,
Thanks for sharing Cherishs xiao man tou with my girl.

Toony,
Nice to meet you, Austin and your hubby.

I'm back!!
Disappointed that I couldn't join the gathering. I have persuaded my husband my husband to join the gathering & hoped that he will not changed his mind next time.

Raindrops, your "man tou" is it can buy the frozen one which can buy from NTUC?

I'm back!!
Disappointed that I couldn't join the gathering. I have persuaded my husband to let me join the gathering & hoped that he will not changed his mind next time.

Raindrops, your "man tou" is it can buy the frozen one which can buy from NTUC?

Maple,

No problem. Think I over buy alot of baby food for Ryan liao. Hee. I also like the view at my place alot so if need to move oversea next time will she bu de loh. House spacious meh? Empty maybe. Coz' hubby dun like to clutter up the house. Neat coz' coz' just tidy up mah. You never see it in a messy state. Can faint. Hee.

Cutecute,

Hope to see you in the next gathering.

hi all ..

sorry that i can't join last Sat .. ..
think all babies and mummies must have lots of fun.. any gathering photos to share .??
will definitely join in the next gathering ...

Ryan is switching to almost 100% formula feeding now ..
i think he likes to eat solid food more than milk
he is only drinking 400ml of milk during weekend ...
he took 6 sessions to finish his one bottle of milk (e.g. 180 ml), as each time he only drink 30ml and he will stop ..

Angel, dun worry yr ryan is the odd one as my little one still dunno how to crawl yet .
sometime i see him trying very hard .. but still too bad can't crawl

oh .. yesterday he fall from my bed ... he was sleeping so me and hubby went to watch TV, out of suddenly he was making noise . and when hubby go inside the room he was on the floor.

surprisingly he was not crying, me and hubby still wondering how he manage to fall from bed and without hurting himself .

Angel,thks for hosting the gathering this time.Must really thank Ryan too for that 'special' hospitality.heehee...

Maple,I hope ur girl is better now.I was so apologetic.

cutecute,the xiao man tou that I brought is the dried pastry type for teething babies.Oh,u can buy the frozen man tou and stream for ur boy to try.But must remove the outer skin coz may b too dry.Cherish loves to eat buns(bao).I'll buy the charsiew buns for her to eat the outer,while I eat the filling of course.She likes it b'coz it is sweet mah.I think ur hubby will not object the next time round coz ur boy will be more mobile and easier to bring out.

Aloe,Ryan must be thinking he's 'grown up' now therefore enjoys his solids.Will he be able to sleep thru out the nite?I sure hope so,otherwise you'll be very tired and sleep-deprived.Cherish had fell fm bed for numerous times alady.Luckily Ryan is not hurt and ain't crying.usually when bbs flip and turn,they'll unknowingly fell.

Hi all..i'm new to this thread..i haf a april baby which she's going to be 9mths soon..Born on the 27 April..weighing 3kg at birth..can i join..am i too late?

Hi Ann
Welcome to this thread! U are never late.
My baby boy weight 2.68kg, the lightest in this thread I think.

My baby went to 9 mth assessment last week, the polyclinic nurse said that he must eat 4-5 egg yolks per week. If not his body will be nutrient eoungh to take the 15mth jab.
Any mummies have heard of this b4??

Hi Ann,welcome.It's never too late.I think my girl is the eldest among the April babies and urs is the youngest.We can share info here in future.

Cutecute,I've never heard of feeding so many egg yolks within a week.I strongly believe bb should start having a little first to test out in case it develops allergy,before introducing full egg yolk.Too much egg yolk can cause indigestion,u know.I just started intro soft-boiled eggyolk on Cherish,I'm glad she can take ard half the 1st time.But I dunno wat to look out for in case allergy develops.Any advice?

Hi Rain_drops,
I also not very familiar. Yes, the nurse said that start 1/2 egg yolk & then slowly increase. I think rashes (common) if allergy develops.

Aloe,

Hope you can join us next time round. The photos are out but have not scanned them yet. Forgot to take Austin pics as we were busy chit chatting. Hee. Glad your Ryan is not hurt in the fall. Btw, my pd says its ok to give more solid feed if the baby reject milk. Just make sure they take at least 2 milk feed per day.

Ann,

Welcome to this thread. Its never too late to join. Think your baby is the youngest here.

Cutecute,

I also didn't know "must" feed baby egg yolk so often though its ok for baby and toddler to eat egg that often.

Raindrops,

Yah was told to try a bit of egg yolk first then proceed to 1/2 a egg yolk before giving the whole egg yolk. Things to look out for in a allergy is rashes around the mouth, vomitting, n "adnormal stool" sorry never learn how to spell tat "d" word. kekeke.

That time When my boy develope allergies, he got slight rash around the mouth and neck region. Then I stop. Quite immediate loh the reactions. Read somewhere feeding kiwi can help rid the allergies away faster. Dunno true anot but I tried and seems to work leh.

Hi Ann,
Welcome to this thread.

Angel,Raindrop,Maple,
nice meeting all of you too. Thanks for the cake, refreshment and the milk powder sample. Nevermind if Austin is not in the picture, we can do it again when more babies turn up in the next gathering.

Aloe, cutecute, Li_may,
hope to meet up all of you and your babies in the next gathering.

seems like all of you have 9 month assessment for your baby. May I know, what do they check during the 9 month assessment? I have never try check-up for my boy in polyclinic. So what must I tell them when register. Can I go to my pd and tell them I want a 9 month assessment?

Hi Ann, Welcome to this thread

Hi Cutecute.. my little ryan only 2.54kg at birth... but ok la he is growing well

Hi Raindrop, he still can't sleep through the nite yet . think he still enjoy waking his mummy up every night....

Hi Toony, hope to meet up you and Austin too ..

Hi Angel, now my mil starts to feed him more solid liao .. he now eat porridge & 1/4 apple for lunch, 4plus he will eat cereal. I also gave him some bread for breakfast during weekend too. Have fun seeing him eat so such food.

kiwi can help rid the allergies away faster ??? OH REALLY ... i must try then as he is having allergies on and off on his face...

Hi mummies, why all babies here got 9mth assessment. His PD told us after his 6mth injection, Ryan only needs to see him on his 1 yrs old injection. Can i just bring him to polyclinic for the 9mth assessment ?? Want to know what is his weight and height too ...