(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Hi Serena. I think it's not advisable for A to dip into the hotspring tho I think the Japanese kids start quite young but that's different because they take ofuro at home.

Actually it takes some getting used to even for adults due to the scorching temperature. You really must brace yourself to immerse yourself into the hot pool and then you must not stay too long when it gets too comfortable as well. I remember I once stayed too long and felt like I was going to black out when I got out and could feel my heat beating extremely fast. I heard there have also been ambulance cases for the uninitiated. And by the way, please remember to shower yourself throughly before you step in to keep the public pool clean and rinse again when you get out to adjust to the temperature change.

K's mom, thanks for more sharing. And the scrap book is a neat idea. I hardly have access to the laptop and printer so whatever materials I need are always handwritten and done on the spot eg writing the capital and small letters on A4 papers to pin up on the wall. It also explains why I don't have many creative ideas as I have limited time to access the internet and as a result, also quite unmotivated to teach the kids stuff. So I must really thank the moms here for sharing your ideas generously.

Serenade .. u r too modest

oh regarding the recipes (think only one at the moment leh) .. those are not mine anyway (oops, also din give the owner credit, but really dun noe where i got it liao).. i got them from the internet.

I cant say baking is really easy, but if an amatuer like me can do it, am sure u can too. Anyway i failed alot of other times too. Pris can vouch for that cos i am still bugging her on problems i faced and asking for alot of tips. So she is the real master here

Am glad to help anyway i can ...

p/s : am putting UNO in my shopping list too hehe

Thanks again to k's mom and serenade .. really interesting to learn things here. Feel like a primary sch kid again hehe .. now i hv to find time to google and understand more abt rimes and onset :)

Kristin's mum: thanks for sharing, I must say you and Serenade has very good method of teaching... must learn from you two!

Well, sorry for missing in action for quite a while, am very busy without a helper. I was just sharing with Serenade, the pros and cons of having a helper at home. I can see a big change in C ever since our helper left us about 3 weeks ago, she becomes more independent and more attached to daddy!

I am going to talk to my boss to cut down my working hours, think I will prefer to stay home more with my C. Now tat Krisin's mum has shared with us some many useful teaching tips, the more I should stay home to teach my girl.. haha...

oh yes re Sat 29 Sept, I was going to come but unfortunately i just received a card from my church to attend an appreciation dinner for all the Sunday school counsellors ( I started to help out in my church two years ago ) on tat evening as well. So will have to give the party a miss,.. so sorry.. dunno when can meet everyone.. sigh..

anyway, I was going to suggest to cater kids dinner from Mc Donald, think cost 7.50 per kid for the happy meal and they will come and entertain the kids for two hours! Not sure if they will do it if this is only a gathering, because for birthday party, that's how much they charge.

for adults, think can cater from Qiji, the nasi lemak, mee siam, popiah, or laksa . They will deliver free once order above 120 dollars, the food is very good. Think nasi lemak set is about 4.50. If that's the case for one adult and one kid, only cost $12. That's only my suggestion...

Thank you again K's mom. Infact i love emails gog into my gmail account.

The info and cards are great. Will understand more on rime before coaching my kids hehe.

hmm gog to be more busy.

MIA for the time being. Trying to get Kai to adjust to his new routine and also ferrying him around is tiring too.

Lots of good sharing here.

For maths, addition or subtraction can do it using story sum. It is easier for the children to understand and also can count in 2, 3 by going up and down stairs. (Use to count forward or back ward).

I am going to look for more books for Kai, I am in the library now.

Hi 4chongchong. I guess how much a difference the helper makes to your child really depends on how much you allow her to. You mentioned that she was with C since birth right? For our case, hubby and I keep in mind that the helper's main responsibility is housework and cooking, not childcare which we continue as much as we can. We also insist that the kids not be reliant on the helper, eg, self-feed with minimal help from the helper, bringing their soiled laundry to the bathroom etc. So naturally the kids continue to learn being independent and remain very attached to us though the downside is we could not free up more time like others could.Then of course, I guess we won't feel as handicapped when we decide to do without a helper one day.

It's good that you have a chance to "start afresh" with C while the helper is gone.

Serenade, I really like the way you train B to be handle his own problems, be it a conflict with another kid or his sister. I can imagine that initially he must have come crying or complaining to you. Can you share how you do that?

Mommies with 2 kids or more, can you also share whether you tend to step in during a sibling rivalry or watch on the side? Hubby commented that I tend to make JK give way too much to JC just because she's younger and not as easy to explain to. But I can't stand the disturbance caused by 2 small people screaming at the top of their voices esp when they would both come crying for me to carry them!

Jpooh,
Just my two cents worth:
"We saw Mr Koh walk out of the office",

When u see this pattern of N, V, N, V, the basic form of the verb (walk) follows the object (Mr Koh).
N - Noun, V -Verb

Hi K's mom
Thanks for UNO idea, let me figure out how to play it first ;)
Letterland, would u be keen to take over some of the workbooks I have?
-First Handwriting activity book, for age 3+
-First reading activity book, for age 3+
Both in almost new condition.

There's a letterland supplier in Sg, and u can get the books direct from them. Will send u details if u are keen.

Hi Star
Party's held at Sarah's place, it's near Expo, send her a PM so she can email the addy.
What's your daughter's name? Mine is Melody.
Care to share some party games?

Hi 4chongchong
Getting the party people from Mac's a great idea, we can consider doing it the next round, waiting for u to join us;) and K's mom! when will u be back for massage and mommies nite?

Hi K's mom, tx for sharing on Angie's homeschooling journey. yes, she's a very dedicated mother and when I asked her abt homeschooling bf, she modestly said she merely spend 3 hrs reading everything and anything for her kids ... homeschooling mothers are very committed, yah? And they are wonderfully sharing their experiences ... Hence I don't ever think I'm ever considered being one. btw, you thinking of getting any books from her? I'm warned not to visit her house coz you'll be "brainwashed" into getting a lot more books ... she's clearing bookspace btw, so might be a good time to take a look

4ChongChong, yes, there are plenty of pros and cons to having a helper right? For me, I wanted to groom mine to offload some of the childcare responsibilities, and thank goodness for bfg, my kids are close to me, but think of it positively, the kids have 3 person to love them... if u can afford to be a SAHM, then why not? Or take timeoff completely from work for these few years

ML, I'm trying to cope with sibling rivalry too. K's too strong-will as compared to B and most of the time, B would be looking for an apology which K doesn't know how to offer yet. I try not to side with K so much and will just let him cry off if that's what I feel that he has to

.ky.

Angie's homeschool library, my neighbour who homeschools her boys quite a bit, swears by the stuff she got from Angie. i think she's 'brainwashed' too ;)

Please advise.. is there a way for us to save those photos stored in your blog? Actually wanted to save some of our gathering photos.

KY, especially on those BBQ and NDP under collage..

worry_mum, right-click on mouse to save. If you want to save the enlarged photo, click on the photo to enlarge it first, then do the right-click

.ky.

worry_mum, it would be 1 photo, because the collage is done on the pc from many photos and then upload to blog as 1 photo.... that's the beauty of collage, save work.

which photo do u want from mine? I'll email u

.ky.

KY,
oh oh oh.. i see.. hmm.. I am very greedy.. hehe. cos just found out my space can upload 500 pics a mth and rather fast.. hehe..
If this is the case, then is ok then, save u the trouble.. cos will be very wasting time for u to upload... thanks anyway.

I just got the Scholastic book order form from the sch, let me know if u are looking for any particular genre.
I am keen in "How much can a bare bear bear?"
by Brian P Cleary.
"Learn abt homonyms and homophones in playful rhymes with comical cartoons"
Paperback, $8.

K's mom, does this sound like the book for B who likes to rhyme, a B book written by a B author?;) lemme know if u want a copy.

Mommies, if u are keen, let me know too ;)

Oh, books on siblings rivalry too
-Buzz Bumble to the rescue (Buss Bumble gets jealous when Baby Bumble steals all the attention), $9, 32 pages.

-Goldie is Mad
Goldie is mad mad at her baby brother. when she is sent to the corner she has to think about how she really feels abt him. paperback, $6.

Meilan, Sarah
I got the calender of events for term 4.
No excursions this term as Ts are using the time to 'transform' the classroom into fantasy land, they are working on fairy tales and getting the kids to work on mini projects. BIG SOB, i like her to go on school trips

Yr-end concert, the N and K1 kids are not included, and they have to stay home when the graduating kids have their rehearsals, how unfair.

What's happening on your side?

How about kids attending PCF kindys? are the young ones included for yr-end concerts?

Hi moshi2!

Actually, I was looking for flip charts from Letterland. I think I shall look for agents here or wait for the book fair in October or order them online... wait and see... But I'm not thinking of getting workbooks though
Sorry.

But since you used letterland, what do you think about the method?

O yes, sounds like a book that B will love. The Scholastic Book Order is in too over here, what a coincidence!
Let me check if I can get a copy here...

Hmmm... wow, I like your easy explanation for that grammar question. It makes everything so simple. ;)

k's mom
bought letterland books because her sch uses the method but i think the characters are too fanciful and they take away the real focus, anyway, if B already knows the consonant sounds, letterland is probably not something that will benefit him a lot.

Hi ky!

Actually, I was just surfing her site on book reviews, and I happened to see her homeschool schedule.

Her commitment really impresses me. I definitely cannot do that for my children. Right now, maintaining the household and ensuring that my kids don't fall sick is more important than the academics. ANyway, my quasi-homeschool can be read on my blog! Haha!

Also, I won't be able to find the time, unless I can figure out the mystery of time and add another 10 hours to my day - which brings me to Dawn Meehan. Gee, I'm already whining here and I have only two kids. Wait till you read about how she copes with her 6 children.

btw ky, I was pretty impressed that B sat down to work with me for an hour last night. That's a record of concentration and seat work we have had so far.

i know everything is skewed towards the visuals right now. But mainly pure text. Coz B always concentrates more on the pics in a book than the words. I'm not sure what kind of learner he is. He's still developing and I intend to expose to more teaching/learning styles eventually for his benefit. I tend to go with aural and musical at the moment. Haha... for the immense amount of things he listens too, esp when it's a funny song in a car. He laughs.

HI moshi2!

At the moment, we're sort of doing analytical phonics using onsets & rimes to build on what he had already learned in class last year. I still haven't taught him the blending method as suggested in the Jolly Phonics. But we have lots of fun with the onsets and rimes here. Esp when I tell him that we can pretend to be the people on the show Electric Company! ;) That really gets him to work.

Ok mommies!

Am going back to my "hometown" in Germany this weekend. Meeting up with my old friends in my old university town.

So, before I go, I shall leave you ladies with these questions:

1) What do you do about character building for your child? In general, or specifics?
2) How does one teach respect?
3) How does one teach humility?

Just some questions, I've been pondering over the past couple of days.

And if someone could find the poem written on bringing up children, I'd be so grateful...
You know the one that goes, If you want your child to grow up secure, teach... blah, blah.... I can't remember now, really!

hi k's mom
whatever works for the child, every child is a unique individual? B seems a v audio person since he picks up rhymes so easily. Mel;s a very visual learner, she likes to look look look read read read so i stick all sorts of visuals on the walls, just dont peel them off if u have a chance to come to my place, beneath those pretty charts and posters are the ugliest stain marks and dents that drive my hub up the wall, haha.

hi k's mom
whatever works for the child, every child is a unique individual. B seems a v audio person since he picks up rhymes so easily. Mel;s a very visual learner, she likes to look look look read read read so i stick all sorts of visuals on the walls, just dont peel them off if u have a chance to come to my place, beneath those pretty charts and posters are the ugliest stain marks and dents that drive my hub up the wall, haha.

sorry double post.

Hey cindy
how lovely, reminiscing the good old days with buddies. so who's babysitting?

character building?
my sis used to conduct workshops on it, will ask for tips n books recommendation.
as for the poem request, i think Meilan should have a go at it, she pens well!

Moshi, was hoping to meet up with you and Sarah in one of these coming weeks cos JK has another month choked full of off days and early off -
28/9, 1/10, 2/11 and 5/11. And that's on top of the Nov sch holidays! I've decided not to send JC to the same sch though I would certainly apply to work in this sch if I were a pre-sch teacher.

Moshi, you over-flatter me. Writing is more a form of vent-out for me. It's my kids who inspire or rather drive me to express and record my thoughts lah. Pai seh, I am really weak at poems but I collect them when I come across heartwarming ones. Let me search what I have.

By the way, I might be interested buying over in your Letterland stuff. Can I have a look at your materials? JK knows zero phonics and I can't find time to ferry him for phonics classes.

Oh yes, JK will be participating in the concert at his sch. I don't know what to expect. Last yr at his cc, he just froze on stage
I think M's projects sound much more interesting than the concert. But JK has a fun outing on the last day of sch - a big picnic with students from all levels and sessions.

By the way, since everyone is talking abt getting uno cards, I saw some pirated Disney ones at only $2.90 from those pasar malam stalls. I bought a Cars set but there are many others - Doraemon, hello kitty, mickey mouse etc. Don't know if the playing method is the same or not?

Children's Day Party
Date: Sat, 29 Sep
Time: 6pm
Venue: Upp Changi

Games:
1. Lucky draw (gender free, <$5 gift)
2. Telematch
3. Uno?
4. still thinking..ideas, anyone?

Food: Pizza/KFC/MacDonald (Based on our past gatherings, alot of food wasted...this time round, a fuss free for mommies. Hehe, host is LAZY to coordinate. Thanks for your understanding.

1. sarah (1a1c)
2. moshi (1a1c)
3. serenade (2a2c)
4. apricot (2a1c)
5. serena (?a1c)
6. moo87 (?a1c)
7. minnie (1a1c)
8. sherlyn (?a2c)
9. star (?a1c)
10. worry mum?
11. chloe?

Pasar malam also sell disney monopoly and scrabble for $10 each only !!! I have them and I personally thinks the quality is good.

Hi Moshi,Meilan
No idea what's like for Term 4 yet. H missed school for 4 days. Her teacher prefers that she stays home to rest till recover.

Yeah, the nursery kids are not involved in the year-end concert, only K1 and K2. My dear girl would love to join in, she has been telling me that her older friends were dancing, singing etc. Actually, mommy too cant wait to see her performing on stage again.

just a suggestion for your children day's party. how abt a theme based on children based on different parts of the world since that was discussed earlier? dressed-up or play games from different parts of the world ... or simple games like pin the tail, panata, or what's that game called, the one which pole is lowered? pardon me for being so festive, just that b is now finally able to watch the segment in the preschool powers where a panata is being made out of a balloon, and I'll prob do that one day with him when he allows me to

K's mom, sorry, have no time these few days to read abt Dawn Meehan. been busy scrapping and supplementing. there are a couple of mothers I know having 5/6 kids ... too 'scared' to know them personally. they've really strong chars... know wat i mean?

.ky.

Hi Kristin mom, actually I personally prefer zoo-phonics. It is more interative and therefore enable younger kids to pick up phonics earlier. It is very suitable for Kristin for example. Each letter on the flash cards are big and shown with animals pictures. It gets more interesting when each letter card are accompanied with actions. The younger ones are intrigued by this and learns without knowing it, thinking it's some form of play.

My girl is also taught letterland phonics in her school which I find it's not that effective.

Kristin mom,how does one teach respect and humidity? I think they learn from the adults! How we treat our elders? Do we greet them when we see them? Do we bitch about them behind their back? I think they see all these and remember. Sometimes, I remind myself that my kid is watching. Also, I think how we treat our maid will also have an influence in them.

Moshi, my girl is involve in the year end concert but they hope that the parents can perform together on stage. Don't think it's possible for us.

Talking abt respect and humility. I am unsure if this example here with my son can be used for reference. Boys are naturally playful and I have to let him enjoy his childhood. He is a very playful and naughty boy & I allow him to be like that so long he do not hurt other kids, talk back, quarrels, and become disrespectful. I told him "you can be playful and naughty but you cannot be rude and hurt other children". I am monitoring if it works on him or too chim for him to understand.