(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Hi Sarah!

Yes, I do miss teaching. But I don't necessarily miss the stress back in school or in the classroom or the crazy exam period with the never-ending marking within 3 days and the computing of results!

It really zaps me off all energy... and right now, I'm taking a break from teaching B! Haha... again!
Truth be told : I take breaks more than I teach.

HI moshi2!

THere are UNO junior. Bigger cards, less complicated rules and less numbers so that the game won't be too long and diff for our 4-year-olds. Plus there are cute Pooh and gang pics. So leave your brother's cards alone, ok?!

Hmmm, domino is also fun! We've been doing that alot too. I bought a domino set when he's 2.5, hoping to get him to play. But he didn't understand game concept then. Ever since he crossed the 4 year mark, everything suddenly seems to be more fun.

hi k's mom

We played Uno Pooh too when R was younger now she has moved on to real decks. Basically, playing additions. he he he

Last mth dh was trying to teach the kids mahjong!! I don't even play it. Grandpa couldn't take it too and asked what kind of dad is he?!!

ky,

I think i also write in but i din get any reply so in the end i called cos i thot i want to see what they teach .. i like "the fact" that they say they try to build water confidence first ... blah blah blah .. cos i dun want the instructor to dunk my kids head into water ..

do you want to go for a trial class if i call to enquire ?

do you have any experience with other instructors that teaches in public pools to share with me?

Worry mum,

There will be only Meilan, me, u and CWT. It will be 5pm - 630 i think. I din specifically arrange a meeting place, but i m told to go direct to the gym.. so lets meet there ..

ky will be there?

Jan,

I cant remember which flr. Could be 2nd. I know the "entrance/exit" is besides Long beach (but pls be reminded that its the new long beach location, not the one at the main entrance liao.

Its an outdoor playground, both wet and dry section.

As for carpark, my last visit last weekend is still free.

Serena,

Thanks so much for the offer. I am not good at words, but I really would like you to enjoy your every bit of your japan trip, so nvm abt the cutters lah. :)

hi jpooh!

it will be some time before we switch to the real uno cards. In the meanwhile, I'm happy that he can deal out 3 sets of 5 each time and that he's playing the game confidently... maybe a tad too confident coz he isn't a sporty loser. We need to learn to let him come to terms with losing a game, sometimes.

mahjong? oh... you know what, my dad taught us mahjong and other stuff too when we were young. but his children never gamble in life. hee, lucky him!

I got a world map chart from popular. Its just a show of continents with the countries identify by their flags. A pity Hong Kong is not inside.

Now it faithfully sticks on the wall, with ds pointing to Japan (where disneyland is haha) and singapore and malaysia only.

I bought it so that i can tell him where daddy is flying to but he has stopped flying since his company is bought over by IBM (and he is waiting for his fate hehe) so the chart just collects dust.

I am glad that i can get pointers from k's mom, moshi and serenade on teaching the basics. So innovative. Can these be replicated into the shared blog for easier references (thou i aredi copy and save them) ?

Thank you to all of you. Muak muak

Hi Kristin's mom,

Hey, please don't make me malu leh. The real experts here are moshimoshi and Pris. I'm just sharing something very basic. But I believe in teaching concepts for Math. B's teacher commented that his Math concepts is very good. hehe, quite pleased with that :p

Oh yes, I'm putting a pack of UNO on my shopping list for the weekend

So there, you have nothing to worry abt Bryan's school and his progress. And with your games and coaching, Bryan shouldn't have problems at all.

Hi sherlyn,

Afraid don't have much to share... Rather, must thank you on sharing the recipes. hehe, makes me feel that baking is not that difficult. If one day I should decide to try, hehe, will have to call you on standby for help :p

Hi Kristin's mom,

Need some views from the language consultant :p

Do we use "sit in the chair" or "sit on the chair"? I'm getting confused over the two. Any difference in meanings?

Care to elaborate more on the dominoes game?

Hi Serenade!

Still up at this hour? I mean almost two in the morning in Sg mulling over the difference of "sit in the chair" and "sit on the chair".

Instinctively, I would go with "sit on the chair" coz you really can't get into the chair and sit inside it.

After looking up, I confirm "sit on the chair" is grammatically correct, whereas "sit in" is used to mean to substitute as in "sit in for someone", thus making it no sense to say "sit in the chair". hope this clarifies matters for you.

You mean using domino for language games or the domino game on its own?

Hi Sherlyn!

Since you've already compiled the ideas, why don't you go ahead and blog them?

Actually, I shared some with ideas with the Story of the Fat Cat already. ;)

Hi Meilan!

While I was doing some work with B tonight, it occured to me that you mentioned you didn't have time to prepare anything in advance for JK.

Nowadays, I use a scrapbook with B. I told him it's Our Workbook. And when the time comes for us to do some work together, I will write whatever I feel up to teaching him in the book, while he sits with me.

In a way, I thought he can also look at what I'm writing. Or like in the case today, I made him dictate to me the months from a calendar and then I pretended to write very slowly, asking him for advice. I think that's learning for him too.

I recall from my university days that we used to spend one whole session of our seminar talking about traditional methods of learning, e.g. copying, or transcribing. It's an important skill too. Imagine if your child can't copy what the teachers write on the board accurately, then he will be learning nonsense at home!

So don't despair when you don't have time to prepare. Just pick up a piece of paper and write/doodle/draw out your lesson on the spot. I used to do paper, but later I switched to a scrapbook coz some lessons are pretty valuable and can be referred to again, or revision can also be done. Plus, you've got some instant materials to start with too.

Hi serena, wow u are going japan again end of the year? I wouldn't have gone yet becoz planning for next year and during offpeak no school holidays. But from my hubby's tone, he prefer no konichiwa as too ex$$. ohhhh, hokkaido is dreamland....have fun!

Hi k's mom, we play Uno too. Actually, it's a children's day gift from my son's teacher. It's the 'real' cards, just that there's hello kitty pictures. Come to think of it, my girl plays alot of the 'older' games becoz of her korkor. We will start off with her watching and being my partner then she will join in as an independent player. She has grasped the rules of uno already. Now she's beginning to learn mastermind - the easier version though.

Thks, sherlyn. Will check out the playground. Think it's something like the one at vivocity? I like the huge equipment there becoz I can play also without risk of breaking it!!

hi Jpooh ... when R master mahjong, she's welcome to come to my place with daddy ... we lack 2 players here .... hahaha.

my dad was a mahjong player but he never taught me, but i love to watch. mahjong makes a mind alert i find ... oh, i miss playing mahjong!

.ky.

Hi K's mom
okie, will arrow Bro to get Kids Uno.
I dont habe a flag chart, we look at the flags from "The Usborne Little Atlas".

Here's the placemat which i got many years back from Popular.
board-post.cgi

I ve been not here for quite some time, now still in the midst of reading archives.

Hi Sherlyn,
Sorry to inform you that I m not be able to join for the gym trial. As last minute I have something on in this week...so sorry abt that.;(

Hi Worrymum,
Glad to know that you have received the PV form. You are always welcome.:p

Welcome all the new mommies here!

Children's Day Party:
Suggested Activities:

1. Lucky Draw, each to wrap up a prize for the lucky dip. Under $5 per gift. Mommies with 2 kids have to come with 2 prezies heehee
Sarah will officiate the lucky draw ;)

2. Telematch
Divide kids into 2 teams and let them battle out with hula hoops, bean bags, balls etc..

We need about 2 more games, ideas crazy or sane are welcome!

Worrymom, pleaseeeeee come, i can pick u from the MRT station.

Oh yes, the cake, u reckon we should have a cake too?

hi, just received my son's English paper. Please help me, don't understand leh...

'We saw Mr Koh walked out of his office.' is wrong. The correct ans is 'walk'.

My english is lousy, always tot once past tense means all are...

Paper marked by his 'Ang Moh' teacher from UK.

Hi jpooh!

I think my grammar teacher would say "walk" too.

If there had been two sentences, it would be "walked",i.e. "We saw Mr Koh. Mr Koh walked out of his office."

But in the case of
"We saw Mr Koh walk out of the office",

"Mr Koh walk out of the office" functions as an object of the verb "saw".

In an object clause (very important: a clause not a sentence), we either use the infinite or the continuing form of the verb.

So in other words, it would also have been correct to use:
"We saw Mr Koh walking out of the office."
That is if "walking" had been a choice.

Other examples are like:

I heard my mom talk on the phone.
I saw a car crash into the tree.

Whereas:

I heard my mom and she talked on phone.
These are two sentences (not clauses) linked by the conjunction "and".

I know this sounds really mind-boggling... but I think that's the actual grammar in it.

Hmmm... maybe Lena or Pris can help here coz I've never taught in primary schools.

Hi moshi2!

Yeah... think I know what you meant by precious...

I bought a wall chart on animals for Bryan when he was 2.5. years. Rumour has it: It never got onto the wall! Sigh!

Hi Serena
U r going to Japan, which cities, F&E or guided tour? Your kids going with u?
I hv booked my tickets for next year, Will u be visiting Disneyland, Disney sea & Hello Kitty? Can share with me as I will going F&E. Have a good trip to Japan & Bangkok, both countries let u shop till u drop.

Hi moshimoshi
Ok, will join the Childrens Day Party, my dd will be happy to meet some new friends.
BTW, Where is the exact location for Upper Changi, it is a hse or park or TBA?
Food, r u catering and share the cost?

Children's Day Party
Date: Sat, 29 Sep
Time: 6pm
Venue: Upp Changi

1. sarah
2. moshi
3. serenade
4. apricot
5. serena
6. moo87
7. minnie
8. chloe?
9. sherlyn
10. worry mum?
11. Star

Hi Jpooh,
Some words are special, like saw. Any verb that comes after "saw" must be in present tense. For instance, I saw him go. Mary saw them take the dolls. Another word that I frequently come across is "made". Eg. He made Alice attend the concert last night.

Hi Kristin's mom,
Thanks for the explanation. That's what I thought too. But I have come across "sit in your chair" in several children's books and now beginning to doubt which is the right usage...

HI Serenade!

Thanks! I think it's easier to accept special verbs than to dwell on the actual grammar in them!

ok...gtg... think the server doesn't like overseas posts... am gonna stop trying...

actually wanted to share with you mommies on some rimes cards. but some other day, when the server allows me to, perhaps!

till later!

Hi jan
Wow ! did u bring your child to see how to make Roti Prata, 2weeks ago I went to United Square, saw this shop Jalan Kayu RP u can seat in front of the window and watch them making the Prata. Fyi, i spend almost 1/2hr cos my dd refuse to go. The prata man also laughed at my dd...

Hi Apricot
Yes, I stayed at Pugol.Any mummies also staying in this area. No, I didnt bot the Logico set from there but I manage to get another contact selling S$128 Chinese verision. Why u moved to Serangoon & rented out your hse. Yes, I will come to join the fun. Do you mean it held in Sarahs hse ? But I dont hv the address. For Chinese doc, last time, I went to Eu Yan Sang at South Bridge Rd, but its no cheap. Consulation S$16 medicine S$5 per day x 10 = S$ 50. But it worked on my dd who had phlegm.

HI Serenade!

Regarding the use of Letterland materials to incorporate onsets & rimes teachings? Any chance of that?

saw this flip chart from Letterland up for auction. The child gets to flip the onsets and look for the rimes to complete a word. Idea is like that of the Electric COmpany, as in one says "s" and the other says "way" and together it goes "sway".

Btw, this is called analytical phonics. Thought it a suitable way for B to learn reading. He loves it.

Here's an attached word list of rimes... there are more, 37 altogether. But this one about 30 odd of them... i think. <center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msword.gif

onset_rime.doc (31.7 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Hi kristin's mom
Envy u, living in Frankfurt, ur kids must hv good English. My dd speak Singlish like ok law, dont know leh don't know how to correct her when i told her not to say "leh" she even saying it out loudly and tell me off why i can say...haha

hi star!

actually, the people here speak German, which my kids don't understand. they attend an american preschool but they don't quite have an american accent yet. Hopefully not, else they'll be in trouble when they get back to Sg.

I seldom talk to my children with lah's and leh's. But when my husband and I converse, sometimes lah's and leh's do surface. And it's hilarious listening to B imitate our lah's.

Anyway, it's ok to speak Singlish, as long as the child differentiates between the standard version and Singlish. I speak Singlish too leh...

K's mom, Serenade,
Wowooo.. Thanks for sharing those english on verbs and grammars. Really "Chim" for me... and make me panic and shivering..

My English is all rojak.. and have return to my teacher long long ago..

Hi star, yes - my dd can be little expert liao. Flipping not succcessful though, just press till flat. Give her playdough, u know what's the result..

Hi Star,

We would have met earlier if you are in this forum one mth ago. So far yet so near.
Oh, I moved becos we need mil to take care my twins.
We will catch up more when I see you at Sarah's place. Sarah will provide her address very soon.

By the way, where is Punggol21 CC located ?