(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Hi Chloe,
Thanks chatting to u too

Ya, the twins will continue the massage for health maintenance. The clinic is always crowded with children which I find it so interesting. They simply love the massage. Aston likes the massage too so we will bring 3 of them there on mthly basis. FYI, clinic name is Yu Guo, address 398 Changi Road Castle Court, #01-07/08/10/11/17 but will move to 8B Jalan Masjid #01-04 Kingston Terrace. It's located near to Kembangan MRT station.

Hi Kristin's mom,
Wow, your friend Lilian's son is really genius. Was he GD trained or Shichida trained ? The maths flashing program on dots & numerals for right brained training so that's why he know to solve the multiply qn. Ya, I really like tat for my sons too. I have many materials at home & must find time to teach them.

Hi Star,
I also have the chinese VCD Huo Xing Wa.
But then my son do not like the programs..sigh...he told me the VCD not nice. I think he watch too much English VCD so this Chinese ones is bored for him. I bot it for him cos it teaches strokes, words meaning and where it came from.

Hi Moshimoshi,
Maybe you can consider this for Mel.

I have King of the Chinese series ... basically A4 sized cards that shows how a chinese character is formed ... eg. "shan" - you'll see the mountain.

star, hope your girl is fine. perhaps it's just a bad infection? my #2 also had ZERO appetite for a week ... perhaps can ask your girl where hurts and what she wants to eat? I'll ask my son to go for nap earlier if he has an afternoon class that day, so far it's been only once a week that he needs to do this.

.ky.

Hi chloe,
Thanks for the compliment too! Heehee, Cheryl has got compliments from strangers too. Once, when we were at the hawker centre, 2 stall owners were debating if she looks more jap or korean :p Charlene certainly has her own charm. She's such a smiley and sweet toddler! Remembered she was smiling all the way during our lunch.

Hi Joanne,
Glad that everything is over. Now, just waiting for Benny's speedy recovery!

Hi star,
Heehee, your gal is telling you to work harder to make babies :p

Hi Kristin's mom,
Yup, read Lilian's blog. What can I say? She's one hardworking and knowledgeable mom! Wish I have knowledge like her to teach my kids... Very impressed by the way she's teaching her 9 years old son on Ocean.

Btw, you might find similar progress with Kristin if you allow her to stay near while you teach Bryan. I am seeing some of that in Cheryl now

Interested to buy these cookie cutters? S$13.80 each, excluding postage. I'm getting it. Let me know. Thanks.

961162.jpg

961163.jpg

961164.jpg

Hi Ky,
Me too ! I have King of Chinese too ! Hope the big words will create interest in Aston.

Hi Sarah,
You know me. I am a pooh fan !! $13.80 each is for one pack of two, right ? My order is one pack of Pooh&Piglet and one pack of Pooh&Tigger. Thanks ya !

Hi Mommies 'Duck',
Hannah and I had lots of fun too. For those who do not know, the duck tour idea came out from chat with Moshi, I just do the coordinating.

There's another set of cookie cutters with Mickey, Minnie and Donald, ie, 3 in a pack. But file is too large to post, and I'm lazy to shrink it. Let me know if you want to see it, I'll email you.

Orders for cookie cutters:
1. Apricot - pooh&piglet(x1), pooh&tigger(x1)
2. Sarah - pooh&piglet(x1), mickey&minnie(x1)

Hi Chloe,
No worries. Haha, u know who and where she learnt that from.

Talking about Brandon, I heard him telling Cheryl that 'Meimei, come here. You do not belong to the family.' LOL

Wow, Serena,
Needlework? My, you sure dont look like one.
I remember having to beg my mom for help during school days. The only sewing I do is cross stitch, and that's years ago.

Hey Sarah,
Yu Guo is moving to Kingston Terrace on Oct15 and they are closed for 4 days from 11Oct to 14Oct in preparation for the move. Did you bring Hannah there before ? Does she like the massage ? Aston simply loves it !

Sarah
can u also buy the cat ones??? pleaseeeeeeeee
(kidding la)

apricot
where;s kingston terrace? near u?

ky
did the chek jawa thing come from today's papers? seems interesting.

worry mom
now i know Ben's a math genius! have u challenged him with mental calculations? eg. add.subtract without using fingers? or give him simple story sums like "Ben has 10 choc, he ate 6 of them, how many are left?" It's fun!

sarah ... I bought the pooh set at $7 each last yr from this forum leh ... this is from locally?

apricot, how much does yu guo charge per tuina session and how long? is it mainly on the palm, chest and back? for the back, is it a kneading spine type of massage? i've not been to yu guo cos it's simply too far for me.

I got the the chek jawa info send to me via a nature's group.

.ky.

hi apricot!

L's sons are really geniuses.
The older one spent like about 3 years in Sg. So he went for some enrichment classes but can't remember if L mentioned any GD or Shichida method. But she did say that alphabet recognition mainly came from the the big yellow bird from Sesame street that babysat her sons for long hours... haha! She did mention that her younger one doesn't like to sit down and work and hates any form of drilling exercises... thus it's impossible for her to teach him the multiplication table by having him memorised it.

Her sons are really into science and mathematics.

Ky,
Did you get the cutters through BP? I came across it at M4M. My, that's half price, alot of difference! And yes, its locally. Not sure where, how this mommy got these tools.

Hey Lena,
Kingston Terrace is located near to Kembangan MRT station.

Hey Kristin's mom and Lena,
Thanks for your votes..Thanks Aunties..love from Charlton & Royston
Muacks!

Hi Ky,
The tuina is mainly on palm, back and chest. They massage longer on palm cos that's where the blood vessles are connected. Yes, they use kneading massage on the back. I did not notice how much time is spent but I roughly estimate between 15-20mins. I will time it next week when I go. The massage is $17 without medication.

hi serenade!

the ocean topic was one piece of homework L's son was tasked to do. And apparently, mommy had fun doing it with him too. I think her children are now in an American school... gotta check with her. But i've been since asking my son after school everyday, if he's asked a good question. ;)

btw, L's younger son just turned 5. And he's already doing addition with negative values! ooooohhh... no kumon lessons, and he hates kumon worksheets.his mommy did try some old worksheets from the brother on him.

i've actually been sending K to bed earlier in the evening so that I can have more time with B for learning or playing cards. Not becos we're excluding her from all these fun sessions, she's simply too exhausted from school and she needs her 12 hours sleep at night. might start including her when she gets into routine better, and perhaps maybe when she starts fighting sleep. at the moment, we also spend time with her now during dinner and after dinner. hmmm, come to think about it, both my children do alot of learning during dinner... coz that's the only way to distract them from food and get them to open their mouths and feed!

recently, we've been doing something we used to do everyday with B when he was almost 2 years. Well, we're now some months behind the kor-kor's schedule, but we're still having fun. We have this book of first 1000words and we like to play "A Hunting We Will Go" on each page. Then we had to first let B know what we wanted him to look by pointing to the little pic and word by the side and he would find it for us in the bigger pic. That's how we expanded his vocab within 3 months. But with K, we just basically skipped the teaching part. We're just testing what she knows... and boy, was I surprised! She knows the difference between shark, dolphin, fish! At that time, B only knew dolphin and fish! Of course, I was smiling to myself when she found me seahorse, crab, octopus, starfish etc! I've been testing her for many days now. Think it's time she starts learning new things too.

btw, silly K likes to pretend that she's Mommy and asks me back questions too, e.g. pointing to a pic, she asks, "What's this?"

Hi Sarah, did't notice the spree in M4M. u send to me can? see if i can check on the mummy's info.... M4M's quite reliable leh ... btw, you notice there's a BP on China baking stuff recently. very tempting but hubby commented better don't get any stuff from china, esp food-related. ya, it's a BP and we had to wait pretty long for the shipment to come in.

Apricot, no lah ... it's ok. then i know what it is then. went for the tuina course before, and the one at jurong east did basically the same thing. it costs $15 per massage but the physician would usually give medication or "bu" stuff that comes up to $28-$32, so I'll try to do at home rather than spend the money there ... but have heard raves abt yu guo, really wonder why...

K's mom, both K and B goes to almost full-day school, right? so, do u find that the time they spend with each other is being compromised?

.ky.

Hi Ky,
Yu Guo appeared in newspaper so that's why it's popular thus creating the raves. I visited Yu Guo was due to encouragements from friends for health maintenance then got to know one Malay friend sent her 3 kids there for massage. My boys esp the twins sleep better & less cranky and less grouchy after the tuina.

Ky,
It's not a M4M's spree. She's from M4M, and selling the tools from her blog. Guess she has to get a cut too.
Oh yes, nothing from China. Then again, what's not MADE IN CHINA these days?

Hi Kristin's mom,
Guess I'm more impressed by the mom's ability to motivate and inspire the kids to learn. For children's progress, well, I have seen a 6+ years old doing long multiplication and divison questions. (no kumon, GD/shichida, abacus etc) So, nothing much really impresses me nowadays :p

Wow, Kristin is doing very well! Yeah, agree that there seems to be less teaching for the second child. Cheryl can now do 1-1 counting (1-10) and match the qty to the right number
But she always rushes on counting when the qty is more than 5. Don't know what she's rushing about.

Hi sarah,

3. Serenade - pooh&piglet (x1), chipmunks (x1), Mickey & Minnie

Hi sarah,

3. Serenade - pooh&piglet (x1), chipmunks (x1), Mickey & Minnie
4. Jpooh - Pooh & Tigger (x1)

Hi ky!

Classroom time is from 9am to 12nn. Actually, they both still spend quite a lot time with each other. Coz from 12nn - 2pm, they are on daycare hours. they eat together and play together before mommy goes pick them up.

But of course, my time spent with K is now compromised.... coz when she's back she'll be so tired and drop for her nap. When she wakes up, dinner awaits her. And when that's done, she'll go down again to sleep about 1.5 hours later...
So I hardly spend time with her now. Well, but we do make up for it on weekends. e.g. we went out to a science museum on saturday instead of mommy having to do groceries and thus dragging the whole family with her. and on sunday evening, we all watched a movie (Charlie and the Chocolate Factory) together. well, more for B than it was for K.

but one thing is for sure: I'm not gonna sign them up for the summer camp next year. i think i'd like some time with them then. right now, I'm still not missing them too much while they are in school. Quite happy with my children-free time. ;)

Hi Serenade!

I think both your children have a gift for numbers. Take after you and your dh?

Hmmm... maybe C wants to outdo B?

SOmetimes I can sense this competitive spirit from K too, like she wants to do equally well. And all those times when she was confined to her buggy and watching her brother doing all those things: like taking another way to our front entrance, opening the mailbox, calling for the lift etc... I always see her doing them whenever she's free from her restrain.

oh... my kids are slow with numbers. we are way off the SG schedule. *sweat* think i gotta be a bit more diligent and teach them at home. But like you said, sometimes , or rather most of the time, the mood just isn't right for learning.

Hi Kristin's mom,
Gift for numbers? Er, I think it's the constant exposure to books that helps.

Exactly, you are right on the competitive spirit. My 2 kids are forever fighting over calling lifts until recently. B came up with a plan - he'll press the button to call for the lift while Cheryl'll press for the floor. Phew, one item less to fight over...

Your kids are definitely not slower. In fact, I think Bryan is faster that what Sg system requires. Imagine B's school was only teaching nos 1-5 last term. But there are some parents who are keen to advance their kids. And yes for homeschooled kids, some tend to be far more advanced. The 6+ years old kid I mentioned was homeschooled.

But I think you are doing very well with all those games. Hehe, gonna steal some from you.

Hi Serenade!

I knew it! B is a good korkor. What a brilliant plan! For B& K over here, we'll see K jumping and jumping and then she'll say "I can't, Korkor, please help me!" Haha! No fighting so far but soon...

If we were back end of next year, that would mean B would have only one year of K2 to adjust back to Sg system. I'm wondering how that would work. He's still in the 4's class, and according to the curriculum over here, the class will still be far off from literacy and numeracy. So I really don't know what I should do other than perhaps, homeschool him??? Waaahhh... where's the energy gonna come from?

Go ahead and play the word games with B & C... no copyrights there. Just some good old games... actually, you can even make tic-tac-toe into a word recognition game too! Hee, I must say that my mentor was so impressed then when I used it for my lesson observation that he also used it in his own lesson! See, imitation is the highest form of flattery! ;)

Sarah, you are right. I can't sew. Stitch is the correct word.

Ky, what is King of chinese? Where did you get it from? I'm keen!

Kristin mom, think you should try homeschool if you are concern. As they always say, parents are the best educators.

Apricot, thanks for the recomm.

BTW, any mummies here knows of any gym that hold classes for kids and parents? I want to kill 2 birds with 1 stone.

We have booked the air-fare to Japan leaving on the 13th Oct to 23rd Oct. Will stop over in Bangkok for a shopping spree. Anyone needs anything?

ky, yeay IMM, thats my fav place .. the playground looks fun but it is all sunny leh .. I m trying to prevent my freckled face turning more freckled. Can you imagine my 60 yr old mother is nagging me to go facial to get rid of all the little "oil dots"? :)

Pris, glad to share my oven but mixer, erm, my mixer seem to be falling ill .. it produces loud sounds at times while whisking .. me and my mom suspect the whisks are not as tightly attached as before .. dun noe how to "cure" leh ..

Serene, many many thanks for offering to make a necklace for my girl .. but really i prefer to learn how to fish then to ask u to fish for me :) since i love making crafts too. Kind of pity I only know how to "copy then modify" works then create new *sigh*. I want to get more cute beads like those on your girl's necklace. :) May I ask, do you hv the design first then buy the required beads or just buy then go home think design? I always end up with alot of unwanted beads... now i think who i can exchange, or give, or share beads with

You made a smock for your girl ? WOW .. i hv been wanting to make dresses (or to "modify" some old ones) for my girl too but i do not know the know how. Had been "blaming" my mother for not teaching me the ropes (she used to be a seamstress way back when i m a kid).

Wow, K's mom really has a way in teaching. I was testing my boy after the last post from meilan asking if my kid knows .. he knows 1 , 2 and 3 .. then i wrote 4 and he say "si4" then i wrote 5 and he say "wu3" and i continue happily thinking he prob learn it from school .. then my dh tell me, he could be reciting from sequence ... and sure enough he read "liu4" when i write "qi1" *sigh* so much for the happiness.

oh my, K's mom's post is so chim :)

Yes Worry mum, its 15th, this coming sat .. its 5 to 630 .. i think we did not arrange for a place to meet. Lets just meet directly at the gym or the viewing gallery (the parents are suppose to be watching the kids from there). I hope i can be there on time .. since i will probably force my kids to take a nap.

wa, B so smart ... 1000 leh impressive.

My boy has a classmate who is a preemie. He always has this greenny mucus flowing from his nose and has problem walking properly (walk slow and unstable). I heard he goes Yu Guo every week and since Jan till now, i hv seen very good improvement. He can walk very well, even run, and green mucus is not seen everyday liao (his guardian always get complaints from teachers regarding the mucus) .. so i can see the power of massage (and perhaps accupuncture).

Serena .. enjoy yrself .. japan and bangkok .. lovely .. you can go get alot of cute stuff from Daiso Japan
100 yen there is definitely cheaper the $2 in SG.

Children's Day Party
Date: Sat, 29 Sep
Time: 6pm
Venue: Upp Changi

1. sarah
2. moshi
3. serenade
4. apricot
5. serena
6. moo87
7. minnie
8. chloe?
9. sherlyn
10. worry mum?

Love to get those cutters .. but $13 is a bit expensive :-( will wait .. maybe nex time go japan then buy hahaha ..

btw, anyone happen to know this www.waterfun.com.sg ? From the webste intro, me quite like their program, esp they allow both my kids to be in the same session (looking at water explorer) but it seems very costly (12 lessons of 30 minutes each - $185), or is it the norm ? Can anyone enlighten me on swimming courses held in our public pools ?

Hi Sherlyn!

That's why I said earlier, we need to do 1-3-2-4, and then 4-3-2-1, or 2-4-1-3 etc you know, 4D lah haha... to test if they really learn the character. But this method will be testing.

For teaching, you need to make sure they recognise. So word search is your best bet. Or memory game.

Just tell your boy, "Come, let's play a game." ;)

Huh... chim? You mean Dawn Meehan? Actually have you read her blog yet? She is one hilarious mom!