(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Hi Meilan!

What did you mean exactly, when you said "drilling"?

Ask ky about the Chinese teacher's method. I find it quite good.

If JK can't write, word recoginition is good enough too. Work on that first and then take it from there.

If there's any comfort, B doesn't speak Chinese now that he's back here. When I speak Chinese to him, he'll indicate he can't reply me in Chinese...

Thanks Sarah for organising. Sorry, had to leave early mommies! Getting old, got home and felt real tired. And now, having a fever. hiaz...

Hi Serenade
No, my gal is Nov baby. I induced so very easy to remember her bday which chosen by her dad 711..haha so your child is Sep. How many kids already?

Hi Meilan
Wow! many posts I think I cant follow, I will start from here and hope to know all of you betterToday, you all have a good time for the duck tour outing. Too bad I have missed. If I knew it I would hv join the fun. My gal wanted to go but dad have to work and weekend we are busy with enrichment classes. My gal can recognise the Chinese characters of 1 to 10 but sometime she confuse with 1 instead of saying wan4 as Heng2 the strokes and Ten as Jia1 which is add. Chinese is a bit confusing so it takes a lot of time and patience. Honestly, I m Kaisu mum, already send my gal for 2 sch for enrichment classes in Chinese because i can't teach her cos I m very poor in this subject so you can teach is very good. You are doing well and don't feel bad ok.

Wao, you guys sure on leh .. back at home and online right away.

Yup, a pity we did not take a group foto with the duck (somemore we chartered it!). Thanks Sarah .. not easy to be an organiser

I think the duck tour of an hr is just nice, if too long, the interest in the kids will not be there ... so the problem lies in that the gathering is too short. So maybe we shd really think of a place where we can park ourselves and the kids for the whole day and the kids play, we chat.

I've again enjoy myself very much this round. I find that gog out with just the kids is not as meaningful as gog out with the whole gang of my friends and their kids. :)

Thanks for the ride Jpooh .. I hope i did not disturb your dh driving with my non stop talking behind.

Nice meeting you Jan.

Welcome Star. Do drop by often .. this thread is v active.

Sarah, Sept 29th is definitely fine with me. I already told my dh that day is booked (means that weekend cant go bak msia il place). Food is easy to settle if we order in, but how are we celebrating it besides food?

Meilan, I hv no choice. JA's centre only has one PM session for K1 and it is from 1pm to 5pm. My gal will be attending the 8 - 1030am. So i will be going in and out the house. How nice if i can place both in the AM session, at least afternoon can still go out for gatherings .. My boy wakes up latest 8 plus (ie if he sleeps real late) else he always wakes at 7 plus, so gog an early session is not a problem for him.

Dun worry Meilan. I do not homeschool my kids, and my boy only started N2 this yr with PAP ... Dun think he learn much from PAP, and i m sure he cant recognise all the lower alphabets and any chinese characters .

R u thinking of organising anythg on oct 1 ?

Hi Serena,

I am really excited that i found someone who also share similar interest .. i hope i did not put u off by the many questions. I would love to see your collection .. show me one of these days okie and not forgetting to transfer me some skills :-D

Hi star!

Welcome!
And welcome, 711 too! ;)

If you just go the most recently archived posts, you'll find a data chart put together by our organised friend, worry_mum. Then you'll have an inkling of who we are... a big group here!

Moshi, I was there to send you folks off ... but I didn't see u. and when I was back to meet you guys, hear you went to the ladies ... I made a last-min decision to go jalan for an hr. luckily or not, hubby came out late cos of me and I had to park the car before rushing out to send u guys off ... B enjoyed himself today. he was telling me abt the mummy merlion and baby merlion and the ferris wheel and the floating stage.

Joanne ... good to hear abt the good news ... send more coming ...

Meilan, B can recognize some of the chinese 1-10. He's currently learning abt 8 in cc, I think. I've spoken to the chinese teachers numerously times abt learning chinese; and if you did read, I blew up once at him 3 wks ago during a chinese "lesson". I backed off and now am taking a slightly different approach. B's pretty weak at recognizing chinese word; he prefer to recite rhymes. I'm still learning how to tailor a program towards his interest. Though the chinese teacher's method did work initially for B, I thot it sort of clash with his learning at school, and plus the fact that I try not to send him to too many enrichments, I've dropped that. But I'll share more on the materials when we meet next time. What I've been trying to keep in mind is how the teacher's been very encouraging in school n mirror that at home.

.ky.

Welcome star! U have only a daughter? what enrichment lessons r u sending her to? if u r a sahm, then why not do it on weekdays and free up the weekends?

ML, btw, B's cc is not closed on children's day ... believe there should be celebrations. They are still busy with Sep activities though. so I've yet to hear anything... maybe I'll offer to go tape another round of celebrations
... i did 1 round for them on national day but i think the video's a bit too shaky.

Moshi, the cinema's not cold ... to us coz B and I were cuddling up in 1 seat. we took the bus from CCK to Marina and barely made it in time for the show, and it's free-seating, so we only found 1 seat. btw, the couple who filmed this spend 15 yrs in Artic ... they are coming up with other productions on the other Artic animals. he was ok with the 1 hr plus show. he'll ask what happened to the polar bear when it's not a scene related to it ... I think that's a more familar animal to kids than the walrus

Sherlyn ... next place to meetup is IMM. I hear the open playground with water play is up and pretty interesting!

.ky.

Hihi, great to meet everyone albeit some just a brief hi. Thks to Sarah for organising! Well, at least the little duckies all sat together nicely for a group pic and said cheeeese for the longest time! impressive herd behaviour.

Hi Meilan

Sure, I can make the bak kwa when I am back if someone is willing to let me use the oven and also the mixer. My mum just told me her oven broke down when I was chatting with her yesterday and my in-laws do not have an oven over their place.

We can have a get together and some potluck.

Meilan
My boy can recognise 1 to 10 and write most of it. Except 4 & 5 not so good. I send him for chinese enrichment and I do a little of flashcard (chinese) with him.

Mommies
There is a mini fair @ Parkway basement selling kids stuffs like, books, educational VCD, insurance etc.... Think it will end this Sunday.

I saw this set of Chinese PC educational discs(6 pcs) selling @ $220, consist of hanyupinyin, zhao4ju4, bi2hua4 and others. Worth it? Very tempted to buy.... My kids try it out and they seem to like it. It is for children from 3yrs to P2. I used to let them try chinese disc but they were not interested then....

Hi Meilan
Like u, i am rather laid-back when it comes to Chinese, threw the ball at the teachers' court ;) Mel came home with a sheet one day showcasing her attempt to write her chinese name, and told me "teacher asked me to practise writing 'xuan'. i was like "u kidding me, u have not even got the basic strokes perfected and now writing 'xuan'?? it took mommy a while to write it right and daddy had to teach me a few times!" i remember trying to tell this sticker-name lady which 'xuan' i wanted and had to sms daddy to reply with the word.

Dunno what those teachers are thinking, cool it man, mini steps, little by little is the way to go.

i agree with K's mom that reading, word recognition comes before writing, more importantly, to want to read chinese books, to enjoy songs, poems first. no interest=no motivation.

Hi apricot
i do not know when the oshkosh contest is, keep a look out in the various parenting mags if there will be one. Have fun sending in pics of the twins, it's exciting flipping the pages to see if a surprise's awaiting.

Duck pic
i went back to the area where we boarded the duck to take a pic of it. all the ducks were there, couldn't remember if it's the yellow or the orange one, but i know it's definitely not the pink one. ???

Welcome, Star!
Moi have a daughter too, sep baby.
We are having a children's day party on 29 Sep at Sarah's place, scroll up or go to archive for details. Join us if u can.

Children's Day Party
Lucky draw for kids? we can pool a fund for that.
Throw in your ideas for games!

ky,
any idea we can steal from your party?

Ky, you got the VCDs? It may not be original but it's crystal clear!

Sherlyn, no worries. I'm glad we have something in common. Will show you all my craft work next time. When my girl was 2, I even made a smocking dress for her. You know baby wrap towel? the one you use when you are about to send your new born home for the first time? I sew and stitch one for my girl with her name on it. The K.K nurse were very curious about it. Ha.. those were fun times. I can make the necklance for your girl but I ran out of beads. In any case, next time we can share and exchange pointers.

Meilan, my girl is terrible in chinese too. Despite attending speech and drama for chinese, she's still not very good in both speaking and writing. Maybe you should ask worry mum. Ben can really write chinese well. Worry mum, what's your secret?? Is it some kind of "wu lin mi ji"?

Sarah, thanks for being the organiser and also for using your camera to take photos of us. I have found another website to watch my korean show. Currently watching "a love to kill" . Drooling over Rain. He's so super cute....!!

Hi Serena,
I like sewing too ! I plan to stitch blankets for my 3 princes soon. Can share where I can the materials ? I can only think of Spotlight !

Aiya, actually I'm referring to word recognition only lah. JK is very behind in writing of any sort so I usually don't make him write. Today, I tried to sit down with him again to motivate him to recognise "si4" since he's turning 4 in Oct but he told me in earnest that he's really not interested
I think I have to back off for a while. The problem with me is that I never really prepare as I don't teach him things regularly so when 1 method does not work, I run out of ideas and keep forcing the same way on him, that's what I mean by drilling.

I guess I was too anxious cos the only time I have alone with him is when JC naps and she's a light sleeper so I try to grab the opportunity to spend good one-to-one time with him. We usually do some art and craft or play or eat some snack (that I won't allow JC eg ice-cream) together. I've been trying to insert some learning during this time with him and always without success as JC would wake up when we have barely started. Sometimes I wonder if he's slow beacuse I've not done enough for him all this time or it's just that he's a late developer like his dad.

Sherlyn, sorry to hear you can't put them in the same session, unlike K's mom. I can almost feel her breath of liberation in her posting
I would have been very proud of Kristin too!

Moshi, we may be doing some lantern-related stuff on 29 Sep at ky's place. Maybe you guys can do the same, at least a lantern procession.

Pris, I have problems getting into your blog. I gave you my gmail add, not yahoo right? Nowadays, I am very forgetful abt such things and esp with passwords for all the online stuff.

Hi Meilan!

Agree with Lena that reading comes before writing, just as listening comes before speaking. If a really smart baby takes 9 - 12 months to speak his first word, after having listened to sounds around him passively for so long, then I think we need to give ourselves some patience in teaching reading and writing.

And before reading can be achieved, word recognition must happen.

If you said JK has no problems with 1,2 and 3 in Chinese characters, then take it from there.
Always mix more familiars with the new word that he needs to learn that day. In that way, it boosts confidence in a game of word recognition.

Write many 1,2,3,4 in characters all over a piece of paper and ask him if he point out to you where 1,2,3's are first. And then when you sense he's got an interest in this look and find game, then move on and ask him to point at the character 4. Don't even tell him that it's 4 as in "si4". Ask him to look for the same character elsewhere on the page. Give him some colour pencils/markers to mark out. And let him know he can take as long as he likes. If he prefers not to have you buzz around him when he does it, then you can do something else while he does his little word search.

My children love it whenever I ask them to look for something and I'll sing, "A hunting we will go..." to the tune of "A Farmer in the dell".

Always start an activity by saying, "Let's play a little game". It gets more attention from a child than anything...
e.g. "Let's play a game. Let's see who can find the most number of 1's."

Or you can write 4 out on a little word card and ask him to go and look around the house for some pieces of furuniture that have the same shape. e.g. a square window or table, or squarish book or square plate? Whatever... get him to focus on the somewhat shape of the character.

Or you can make 4 word cards, with numbers 1 - 4 written on each card separately. And ask him to arrange numbers for you like, 1-2-3-4, or 4-3-2-1, or 1-3-2-4 or whatever you have in mind.

Or you can make memory cards, just 4 pairs of cards and get him to play it with you.

All these activities will need him to actively recognise the words, but you are actually not forcing him to read off the card. Do them with him only when he feels game to them. Then it will be fun...

So try out my off-hand lesson plan!

Let me know if any of these activities works... maybe I'll try them out with B too. ;)

Hi Meilan, have you checked with JK's teacher which number has he learn up to? I believe that if we've chosen to send the kid to school, we've to supplement what the teacher has teach. Perhaps he's against learning as he has not done so in school. For B's school, the teacher does a week of chinese and she'll do the same set of words each day before the child knows it. So don't expect the child to know the word immediately. and do notice that four is very different looking from 1,2,3 in chinese.

Rather than focusing on single word recognition which is rather chou1 xiang4, go with those that a child can relate to, and don't be surprised if the child forgets a word that he could recognize before if you've not done it after a while. there are plenty of books in the lib which has simple rhymes which you can share with JK. Or expand on what's been done in school at home...

I too don't have detailed plan but when it comes to chinese, I tend to prepare more carefully. K's mom have more concrete help for you btw, I feel.

Serena, thx for the dvds ... hubby wants to know *ahem* ... whr did u get them. pm me can?

.ky.

Hi Meilan,

All the mommies have already voiced out my thoughts
A parent shared this with me - Chinese characters are like pictures and kids are good at remembering pictures. So, one way to teach chinese is to keep showing them the same character for a while. Somehow, they will be able to register it after a period of time.

I used to do what you did, seize time and opportunity when Cheryl was napping. A pretty bad arrangement on hindsight now cos I was pressurized to accomplish certain amount of work with Brandon within a time constraint, which resulted in unhappy learning sessions for both of us. And kids don't learn well under such circumstances. Try considering other approaches and make adjustments so that both of you don't feel compelled to achieve some learning. Just my experience.

Hi Apricot,

I am attending the Babyprom on sat 12 pm (or is it 12.30pm) too. See you there!

If you'd received a blog invite from MY GEMS and wondering who's that? well, that's me.

Hi Sarah,

The Duck Tour is a huge success! Thank you for proposing and orgainising it. And besides the fun, I like the money saving part too, hehe...

Serenade, just after lunch in Swensons, I ask Cheryl "you wanna come home with me?" She nodded and we hold hands. Along comes the big brother "Hey! That's my mei mei!" I was LOL. Ha...Cheryl has got herself a very protective brother!! I'm also surprised that Cheryl warms up easily. You've got yourself 2 great kids!!

Apricot, I've got my craft things from Dragon in Chinatown. Dragon is in the building next to people's park complex. Sorry can't recall the name of the building.

Kristin mom, does a really smart baby speak at 9mths? My girl first word was ball, bear, bird when she was 8mths old. But she doesn't seems very smart to me though. Can't read and write chinese too. Can't count very well too. Alas, maybe I should adopt some of your teaching methods too!

Thanks, Serena ! Will take a look sometime next week.

Kristin mom, your teaching methods will work for Aston. He loves play games to learn words versus sitting on table to learn. Thanks for sharing.

Hi Serena!

Do you mean Pearl Centre?

Well, most babies do start babbling and uttering at that stage... some make sense and some don't. They are still learning. But I think I shall take back the word "smart" since I don't do empirical studies on babies intelligence and linguistics development also doesn't necessarily mean a high IQ. But point is, if the babies take such a long time up to 9 months or for some even more or for some even less months to process the sounds of a spoken language intelligibly, then to be able to read and write will certainly require more time and practice.

Most natural way of 1st lang acquisition has always taken the path of listening, speaking, reading and writing. (By writing, the linguists will define it as writing sense/sentences and not the alphabet.) So one baby step at a time.

A is certainly a smart girl, and she's still listening and speaking a great deal throughout the whole day. And the beauty of learning through listening/speaking is that it can happen anytime, while reading/writing (i.e. literacy) calls for a more formal and structured/organised type of teaching/learning - then again, that's my personal view. Errm, that's why kids should go to school. ;)

Counting belongs to another logical/mathematical concept, which I find the child needs to be exposed to. But I'm sure when you ask A how many eyes, ears, fingers and toes she has, she can count them. But if you mean addition/substraction, again, that takes some structured teaching/learning. Or doing sums on Kumon worksheets, oh my! That will even call for literacy! That will mean she will have to learn to identify numbers and write them as well on top of the addition and substraction concept.

Now if we can do that all at home before our kids all turn five, then our children might as well skip primary school... :D

btw, I personally always think a person is intelligent when he/she excels in areas like puzzles of all sorts, patterns/sequencing, reading map, playing chess.

But of course, I'm grossly wrong since there are multiple intelligences as Howard Gardner likes to put it.

Hi Serena,
Thanks for the compliment! Oh yes, B is a very protective brother. Whenever we go out, he will make sure his sister won't run away. Keke, guess we'll have a relatively easier time in future since the brother will hawk on her... :p

Adabel is starting to warm up too. She was walking about before the birthday cake session. Give her a few more sessions, she'll be as mingling with the kids and probably as "wild" as them

Didn't know that Dragon is still there. Thanks for the info! One of my fav haunts when I was in sec school.

Hi Kristin's mom,
You are hereby appointed as our language cum academic consultant!

One word of caution on relying too much on Kumon though. Recently I attended a maths workshop for parents and the presenter advised the parents to choose assessment books with care. She didn't specifically refer to Kumon but she said to avoid assessment books that repeat questions in the same format. Reason being kids are taught through procedual learning instead of conceptual, meaning they do math without understanding the concepts. And this will bring more harm than good in the long run.

hi sarah,
thanks for organising the duck tour, you did a great job!

pardon chloe for leading hannah "astray", running around even when it wasnt appropriate to. she certainly enjoys her company. if only there are open places for them to run around.

hannah's a delightful girl! you know she told me "auntie you forgot to say thank you" when you were passing around the sanitizer for us to try. opps *blush*

hi serenade,
yeah agree with serena, cheryl's warms up easily. she's very cute! i see my little charlene like her in a yr's time, although mine's a naughtier one. ha ha

hi moshi,
yeap spot on! i wouldnt have recognise melody had it not for your blog. children change quite a fair bit as they grow.

hi star,

hi kristin's mom,
wow, you can come up with a lesson plan so easily & spontaneously. i think i have to think & research for a few weeks....

hi apricot,
nice talking to you. hope the massage works for your twins. are you going to do so on a regular basis?

i've no internet access again the next few days cos dh's travelling. so will read achives again at end of week

Hi sherlyn
Yes, this thread is really very active. I can only log in as and when I m free..
Solid! u all chartered the ducktour ride, sounded very fun. So far I can only think of
a place eg. Ikea where kids can play at the playroom and mummies can chat n have coffee.

Hi kristin's mom
Thanks for the info, found the data chart.but dont know is it the updated one, which is dated on 26Jul07. Its indeed a big group sure so not easy to organize a gathering for everyone to attend. Btw, u n ur kids r in living in Germany now ?

Hi Ky
For Chinese enrichment I send my daughter to Berries & Beijing Language School.
Yes, wanted to send her on weekday but she takes afternoon nap so cant make it.
Unless we have function to attend or she doesnt feel well on weekend then I will replace it to weekday class, which exactly what happened. She is having fever 39.8 degree, hv seen a doc n the temp. up & downdont know is it caused by the fall which she injured her knees on Fri. She is asleep and I am still monitoring her temp every hr or 2. If come to the worst, may have to send her to A&E.. Worry me, she didnt eat much for 2daystherefore I m still awake to go online.

Hi Priscilla
Nice knowing u here, wow! u can make bak kwa not easy which I heard from friend who sell...but can make big money. BTW, U r living in Vancouver?

Hi SJ
I bought Chinese VCD total there are 26 disc and comes with 4 books with 52 chapters.
My daughter find it quite interesting to watch since she cant read and it teaches strokes, words meaning and where it came from.. I think i paid S$50. The title is Huao Xing Wa Dong Man Ke Tang check it out at Brash Basah.

Hi moshimoshi
Thanks for asking. Yes, I think my daughter will be happy to join the Children party. She likes to attend party. Can I hv more info or PM me.

Benny's been discharged today and my hammer knocking headache is back again.

Can't continue anymore.. head cracking!
Will try to post again if I have the energy. Good night for now.

Hi Serenade
I hv only 1 girl and she is always very lonely, play n talk to herself. My girl did asked me do u hv bb in your tummy I want to play with her,ask doc to put her out haha very funny! No, I stayed in the North East.

HI Serenade!

Lang. & academic consultant... na! I'm just a kia-su mommy here ;)

But thanks for the reminder on the Kumon thingy. Seriously, we are so way behind Kumon coz B can't write numbers yet. And we haven't touched on addition yet. Hey, you know, you've got to check out my friend lilian's son. Just click on the link on my blog. He's a genius, turning five soon. He figured out the multiply concept when his older brother sprung 7x6 at him. And I'd like that for my children too... but how to teach them? You know, I'm beginning to think geniuses are born.

B is so funny... I think he must take after daddy. He just can't wait to take off and conquer the sky! Hmmm... duck tour is like the Magic School Bus??!!! :D

Hi Chloe!

Just theories... don't even know if they work.
But my son sure likes to play games.

He's so into games these days that we put his sister to bed an hour earlier so that we can end our evening with a game of uno before we send him to bed.

I know it's bad habit, but we also entertain him with domino or memory games at dinner table.

Btw, domino is a good game to be transformed into a word recognition exercise.

No serious lesson for me... I used to enchant my RI boys with lots of card games in class, haha! Can't get boys' attention unless it's about games. But those were my working days.

hi star!

yep, we are one huge group. But not everyone can turn up for gatherings, usually. No prize for guessing who?

We are far away from our sunny island for now in Germany with autumn approaching and temp dropping quickly each day. Perhaps we'll move back soon at the end of 2008, and then I'll be back in my classroom again, playing cards with my students, haha!

Hi Star

Children's Day Party
Date: Sat, 29 Sep
Time: 6pm
Venue: Upp Changi

1. sarah
2. moshi
3. serenade
4. apricot
5. serena
6. moo87
7. minnie
8. chloe?
9. sherlyn?
10. worry mum?

Hi, Star,
kao_welcome2.gif

Our data's table latest update is on 3rd Sept. Cant have a regular updates, cos it occupied too many spaces in the forum.
BTW, what's ur girl name? Hope your DD is alright now.

Sherlyn,
Our gym trial is on this Sat 15/9 right? Sorry what time and where to meet?

Serena,
HAHA.. no "wu lin mi ji" to share leh. Remember I told u, my B is stronger in academic, he loves to write and scribble. So, anything he wants to learn, he will ask and we will teach him the strokes, and spelling etc. He now can count up to 1000s over...

moshi2,
Can include me in ur blog?? or rather share photos?

Meilan,
Relax.. relax.. dont rush on JK, think positive. JK is progressing well, some may not even can read or recongnise the words. Each kids progress differently. See my B he though good in academic, but he makes me worry too in sports.

Joanne,
Yippie.. Have a good rest back at home.

K's Mom,
Thanks for sharing the ideas..

Posting on behalf of Serena.. (no access)

Anyone know of good gynae that queue is not so long?? Got some annoying women problems to consult. Thanks in advance.