(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

hi Serena
Thanks for the info on duck tour. Had been very busy...

hi Apricot
Re soccoer, there are free soccer clinics for children up in north area. If I'm not wrong, there are organised by PA. PA site is down at the moment.

Can't wait for Duck Tour!!!

Hi Sherlyn

Re : afternoon nap
I usually let B naps at almost 3 or after 3 depending on wat time I finish working with him. Sometimes, there's just so many to do that he sometimes nap at 3.30. like us, the kids wouldn't sleep if they are not tired right? So my belief is let the kids nap when they are tired but not overly so. For B, if he sleeps in early afternoon (say 1 plus), he can take 30 - 45 mins to go to sleep but if it's at 3, he's asleep in 10 mins. Each kid is different though.

Re : Helper
Hi Serena, for me, I believe very strongly in honesty. My SIL had a helper whom she had thot had taken some cash, a few times ... she did not ask her coz she had no proof but lay traps which the helper did not fall into. This helper has no off-day but has her ways to send things out as she knows helpers from neighbours. My SIL eventually send her away after a yr when she realizes that when she's out to send her son to school (n have to hang around), her helper had actually went out of the house to work (in another house), leaving the younger daughter sleeping alone in the house. And my SIL did not know how long this had been going on. For me, I would have sat down and asked her abt it. It's not accusation but just to understand why the extra money. If she's being honest, she can share on how the extra money comes along, perhaps she has picked it up somewhere outside, or perhaps there's some ang-pao there's given to her that you've forgotten. I always come clean with my helper and I'm used to putting cash around too. But it depends, if it's difficult for you to raise the topic ... then don't.

I too yesterday told my helper that she's free to go home if she wishes, as she's been feeling rather unwell and it seems like she'd like to go home. We have an agreement that she'll stay till Oct next yr. She decided to stay still as she has rationalize through her options as we've spoken on this before, many times.

4ChongChong, I was at the morning animal shows.... were out of the zoo at 11 plus. So any more plans for outing this week? School's out and I'm presuming a lot of parents are roaming the attractions with their kids.

K's mom, K's just turned 2 right? ya, enjoy your "new found freedom" ...
Interestingly though, a few yrs ago when our 4-yr olds were 2, a lot of folks I know keep their 2-yr olds at home n I sent mine to school. Now, I'm intending to keep K at home for a longer period but there are so many sending theirs to school already ... I just started a weekly playgroup at home for him and it looks pretty good, but that'll keep me busy for a while.

Moshi ... yes, I've paid for the tixs for bb prom already

.ky.

Hi Sarah,

As promised, we will join the gathering at your place on 29 Sept.
Me and Josh.

Do we do potluck? Maybe can order mini buffet...

hi K's mom
trust that u've got the week all planned out, gym, spa, gym, supermarket, brunch??? living like a taitai right, keke
i am sure u know how to enjoy those oh-so-precious me-time!

Hubby just returned from europe, hates milan n spain (too crowded), he was also at dusseldorf, have u been there?

hi ky
moi got the tickets too (thanks, heehee)

hi serenade
thanks too, heehee

hi meilan
i don;t mind migrating to gmail or whatever but the thing is i have my yahooauctions to monitor and i need my yahoo.sg a/c SOB!

hi apricot
yep, the 'click check mail' method works, thanks, but what's going on? hope they have received enough complaints and doing something abt it. checking my mails now is such a dread! i've unchecked the replies from forum box so i won't get anymore notices from the forum.

hi helen
hope chloe is not having anymore tummyache.

DUCK tour
Have something yellow or orange in your kid's wardrobe? Friday is the day to use it for that 'duckie' look

C u gals on fri and let's pray for fabulous weather!

Apricot
Thanks for your fast response
I have visited the website and still have not make up my mind to sign him up...

I am a LIVERPOOL fan, like you
I watch more than before coz of DH
I used to watch it with my colleagues but now with DH. Our dream is to go to Liverpool and watch it LIVE! Probably in a few years time when they are older..

DH and me will even wake up in the middle of the nite to watch. Hehehe.... That shows how crazy we are! So can u imagine how thrilled he was when he heard his son want to be a footballer? But then kids always change their dreams...

May I knw what other activities you sign Aston for? We signed him up for English & chinese enrichment (jiejie is doing the same) and also art class. His jiejie is doing more (ballet & swimming) and so we thought of signing him up for something that he likes.

Sarah

So you are a football fan also?
Does that mean you don't want EPL anymore now that Henry is in Barcelona?

"The Magical Ocean" lantern display @ Chinese Garden

can get from Suntec booth now till 09 Sept selling the tickets. Booth is near Royal Sporting House

$10/- for adult (12 yrs & abv)
$6 for children (3 yrs & abv)

Normal admission price is $12 (adult) and $8 (children) during the mid-autumn festival

.ky.

Hi Apricot,Sj,
I'm not a hardcore EPL fan. Only watch matches with players I like. Haha..also, I'm a cheapo, rather not watch than paying a premium for it.
So will pop over to mom's place to watch. Well, at least I know a little more of EPL players than hubby.

<font color="0000ff">Sj</font>
Aston is attending Act 3 speech & drama and Futurekids Computer class in his CC and then recently Phonics also in this CC. Quite happy that he attends them in CC cos this means our weekends are free up for more family time for him & we can rest more at home.
The next activity I am thinking is swimming or drawing or piano. How abt u ? Other than football for ur boy, what other activities u plan for him ?

<font color="0000ff">Kristin's mom</font>
Pls la..Everton very far so I do not think can "run there". Car is needed. I also cannot run or jog there cos I have sensitive skin where too much sweat will make the tighs very itchy and will bleed if I scatch it !

<font color="119911">Baby prom 2007</font>
I have booked on 8Dec Sat 12pm show. Any mummy going for this slot and we can meet there ?

<font color="119911">Yeah Minnie, I will see u & Josh!</font>
Is Josh still a fan for Bob the builder ? Recently hubby spoil one BTB toy & we had a hard time finding the same one. I am more "crazy" than Aston to collect the full range for him and maybe it's becos they are cheaper than Thomas.

Oh dear, the function has been taken up on Sat, 29 Sept. Sorry!! Any other days? How about Sunday, same time?

Hey Sarah,
I am now hoping can connect SCV or Miotv in inlaw place asap and I can watch Spain match so I can see Ronaldo le. But it is jus very difficult to connect SCV in private estate here. Sigh ! Then Miotv has not extend its connection to here & dun know when it will be ready..

<font color="aa00aa">Children's Day Party cum Anniversary
Date: Sun, 30 Sep
Time: Dinner, 6pm/7pm?
Venue: Upper Changi</font>

1. Sarah
2. Apricot

I was wondering if any of the mom are sending their kids for music lessons. I was thinking of sending my son for violin, but not sure where is good and reasonable priced.

For those kids who go to kindergarten and childcare, do you all still teach your kids at home?

sj,
Where are you sending your son for art lessons?

Sarah

So you are not crazy on EPL like me! Kekeke...

Apricot
Next year when Z(my boy) goes to K1, he will start his computer lesson in school. Meantime, we let him play with the computer at home. Ya.. Like you, mu kids activities are all on weekdays so our weekends are free

Plan to start him on swimming, with his jiejie's coach but need to find a time slot. Perhaps I will start him next year. Coz my girl(L) is starting P1 next yr in the morning and I am trying to transfer Z to morning session too so it will be better for my time management. With 2 kids learning different things, it is not easy for me to manage... I am so glad right now, their english, chinese and art class are of same timing

I am also planning music lesson for him as I have a piano at home. But I don't have the patience to teach him. Lazy mommy right? Kekeke...

Seems like we are looking at signing them up for the same thing
How I wish you are staying in the east then we can hunt for it together.

Hi Sj,
Just kaypoh..which pri school is your girl going? And yes, where did you send your son for art lessons? What do they teach?

Hey, I'm in the east. If you noticed, most mommies here are staying in the west.

Hopeac
I do teach my boy at home and he does extra worksheets from me. Now the school is teaching him addition & subtraction so I am doing this with him with the K1 workbooks (bought from popular). He likes doing Maths...

Are you staying in the east? Coz my kids art lesson is @ Mandarin Garden, Little Artist. Ratio 1:4. I am very happy with the works that my kids did. Besides, painting, they do crafts and teach them how to draw too.

Hey Sj,
I used to stay in East/Tampines (my parents place), then moved North East after I marry , then now Serangoon after I deliver my twins.
Hope one day will move back to EAST !

Encourage u teach ur kids piano at home. Dun let the piano become white elephant. They are blessed to have you who know how to play piano. Unlike me, have to spend money let Aston learn piano.

Hi Worrymum,
Hope I can get it on Friday after Duck tour. Word Whammer wait for me !!!!!!

Hi Sj,
Litte Artist sounds not bad. What are their charges like ? Any website to visit ?

Sarah

My girl going to Ngee Ann pri...
I found their website http://sg.geocities.com/little_artists2003/index.htm Both my kids are having their lesson there. According to their age and ability, they will do painting (eg. pastel colours), teach them how to draw and craftworks.

I thought so too, many west activities

I wish I can log in more often but handling the kids alone and running classes with them make me tired....

Apricot
I have live in the east since I was 2! When my hubby proposed, I told him if we stay in the east after married then I will say YES! Gagaga.... Hope to see you moving back to the East!

How come you know my piano has become a white elephant? Hehehe..... I just posted the Little artist website, pls check it out

Hi Sj,
Good school! I presume you stay around the area? Oh, I miss the place!! And of course, Parkway is my favourite 'hangout'.

Thanks, gonna to check out Little Artist too. Like what I see at Growing Paints @ Parkway too. My girl just graduated from Bebe Ballet at Lego Centre. Just have to find some reasons to go PP..

Worry Mum
I thought in the west, they have more options than in the east... It took me some time to find this art class too... Hope you will be able to find one for Benjamin
If not move to the East. Kekeke....

Sarah
I do hope I have made the right choice for her.. Yup! I stay ard there and Parkway is my fav hangout too! Everything I look for is in the East. Their enrichment classes, school, shopping etc...

hi sj, how much is Little Artist charging? Just curious. it looks like it's home-based. there's a teacher at my estate also teaching art, n she charges reasonably, but she takes in kids from 5-yr old onwards. I've heard there's a very good teacher based in the east side.

like to know what many enrichment do you mummies think it's appropriate for the kids? sj, your gal seem to be having 4 or 5. to me, my number is 3 *at the moment*

hopeac, a few mummies here do supplement their kids at home. same here.

K's mum, thanks for your recommendations on the chinese word grid activity... I did it the 2nd time today... it looks to be working :>

.ky.

Sj,
How much are the lessons. The one at Growing Paints are really expensive. What school is your son in? They are already doing addition and subtraction.

Apricot,sj
I used to stay in the East before marriage and still longing to move back to east. After spending 7yrs in the West area, still not moving around well. Only familiar with certain roads and places esp shopping centers other than that, I'd rather rely on hubby or taxi uncle to bring me around..

I'm having that confusing feeling once again that Benny's surgery will be carried out tomorrow. Have been keeping myself occupied and mind relax as much as possible. If I begin to think about it, stress level will shoot up to nose level..

Hi Sarah,
PP is my fav too when I stay in EAST in my twenties ! Will love to let Aston learn Lego apart from the list of activies mentioned earlier.

Hi Sj,
Just called up Little Artist and they are fully booked for weekend classes and I hv to call next mth to check on avail slots. But come to think of the place, DH will not agree drive us there cos it's far from our current place.

ky
They charge $75 for 1 hour lesson. They actually encourage me to sign them up for 2 hours but I don't want to tired them out. They have a few teachers teaching over at Little Artist. Ratio 1:4..

Your are right! My girl is full from Mon to Fri but next year I will have to cut it down. They only attend 3 hrs of school and the rest of the time they are free so I let them learn what they want. I do not push her to learn all those, she wants to learn everything and now she wants to pick up Violin (fyi, my girl is a very active one who can't sit still and our weekends are free from classes). But I can't sign her up anymore. I asked my girl to think which one she wants to stop for next year and she yet to decide...

I do think she is doing too much( ballet, swimming, art, chinese & english). Next year, things will be different.... She will need to concertrate on her studies, so now I just let her do whatever she wants

I will try to log in tonight again to chat
As I have to send them for their classes now. Have a pleasant evening everyone!

Hi Serenade!

Summer this year isn't good... not very hot. So I guess the winter will also be so-so.

Hee.. my new found freedom? Read my blog. But I'm not too sure if I still have lots of time to go online. I might get too exhausted running around every day. Then again, I will try hard to update and post pictures, just for you, coz you miss Europe so much, esp France! ;)

How's your dh? Is he well again? (Thought I read this somewhere along the thread) Otherwise it would be tough on you taking care of 3 babies!

moshi2, hi!

duesseldorf is nice... love the shopping street there!
But don't know much coz never lived there...
huge jap community there though.

Hi Joanne,
Which part of East side you stay ? I stay in Tampines where my mum is right now staying. I love the area alot and really hope to move there soon soon soon !!! Hope DH will read this forum and get my direct hint !
Joanne, do some reading or surf the net or watch VCD to kill time. I jus fisnish watching a TW VCD called Zhuan3Jiao3Yu4Dao4Ai4 acted by Da S and Luo ZiXiang. It's nice show !

Joanne, don't think so much about it. I see the love you have for Benny, it's just so wonderful! Don't worry, he will be fine. Think mummies are the greatest!! Pls keep us updated!

Meilan/Ky, My maid is new. She's only with us for 4 months. That's why it's easy to calculate how much she have. I'm more careful with my money now. My husband used to ask her to sort out his savings (all the coins)before depositing them in the bank. Now need to put a stop to it. My husband is also very careless with money and always leave them around. Don't understand why he's like that. Is it just him or all men?!!
Other than this, my maid is actually okay. I have spot check on her before and she never did anything to disappoint me. So, I guess I need to monitor her for a while. Maybe set up traps like what KY suggested? Meilan, what's wrong with your maid? You can share the problem with us. Maybe you will feel better just like what I did.

Sarah, I'm fine with Sun for the gathering.

Sj, wow! your girl is really into many enrichment class! Is your girl also 2003 child? She must be quite bright to keep up with all these activities.

Could not be online for long yet. Have to get Kai to adjust to his new routine since school is starting this week.

And a welcome to all the new mummies.

Apricot, I agreed with you Corner with Love starring Da S is nice. The lego trial does it has anything to do with robotics?

K's mum, must be enjoying the freedom after sending the children to school. Wow, Kristin is very brave and I am sure she will enjoy school.

Will have to go, need to do some photo re-organisation before I can update blog and then burn all the photos into cds to clear space in laptop.

Joanne, will be praying for Benny and your family.

To all in Singapore, enjoy the school holidays with your children and also have a enjoyable ride on the duck tour.

For those who's kids are not toilet train, Huggies is giving away free 2 piece of pull ups at different location for this month on weekends. Per form filled in is entitle 2pieces. Jus fill up children and parents particular to get them
Dates Locations
8-9 Sep Causeway point (facing Mrt)
22-23 Sep United Square (Level 1 next to customer service Counter)
29-30 Sep Tampinese Mall (External Promenade)

Here's the official web
http://www.motherhood.com.sg/huggies/index.html

Hee Kristin's mom .. i really wish i can be filthy rich leh .. cos i m hoping i can "collect" books .. like yoga books, cookery books, baking books etc etc

ya dishwasher .. so convenient .. last time i tour in NZ, stay in service apartment also hv dishwasher .. just cook, then eat, then dump all stuff inside, then program, then go off for fun .. *sigh* too bad not possible in SG ..

hmm new found freedom .. i think my wish of that will only come when they go to upper primary

Err ... i prefer a saturday for the children's day gathering cos I wouldnt want my driver to complain. But i will go with the majority.

didnt log in for 2 days and i'm reading achives already!

hi new mommies joining this forum, welcome!

hi moshi/serenade/sarah
thanks for asking, chloe's fine now. you know, it was raining so heavily when we left lido, luckily i drove otherwise cant imagine being caught in the downpour with my girl complaining of tummyache! anyway, she took a 3 1/2 hour nap when we reached home, pooed a few times and was fine after that.

hi jazzie,
nice meeting you, sorry didnt have the opportunity to talk to you except for the hi & bye. vicky is soooo tall!

hi apricot/sarah/sj,
i used to stay in tampines before i got married too. have to admit i prefer the east than the west
hey, i was a parkway kid last time ha ha

hi sj,
my my your girl is so active. what chinese & english classes are your girl attending?

hi joanne,
keeping my toes & fingers crossed for you that benny's surgery will be a success this time round!

hi serena,
leaving $$ around? i think it is a guy's thing, esp when it comes to loose coins. i can always find coins of different currencies in dh's drawer ha ha.

hi kristin's mom,
wow, first day & no tears, kristin's brave girl! envy envy your "me" time!

hi mommies with girls doing ballet,
i was talking to the receptionist at crestar during one of chloe's lesson and she told me the ave age of girls doing ballet grade 6 is 14 yrs old. sets me thinking, wonder how long will my girl be interested in ballet? hmmm 10 years seems like a long time!

oh btw, submitted chloe's pics for the disney playhouse birthday book and got a letter that she's been selected. i have been trying to catch it at 1125am (arghhhh they dont tell me exactly which day her pic will be shown) but we have been out everyday kekeke. if anyone sees it let me know yeah! ;)

ky,

thanks for the tips .. agree that if not tired, it is hard for them to sleep, but to hv them sleep at 3 to 3 plus is not quite possible for me leh .. cos if they wake at 5, they cant sleep early at night again. i want them to sleep by 10 plus so that boy can wake up for school at 715am .

Hopeac
My son is in St Hilda's kindergarten. I didn't like the one at Growing paints as I find that when it is at open space, the kids may not be able to concentrate.

Joanne
I don't think I will be able to stay in other area and I do hope we don't have to move out of this place
It is so convenient!

Pls take care of yourself and I will pray for Benny & you....

Apricot
I hope you will be able to find one good art class for Aston that is near your house

Serena
My girl is yr2001 and my boy is yr2003
She's quite bright and having all this activities don't tired her out! I wonder what will.... Kekeke...

Chloe
So you used to be a PP kid also
I am still one!

My kids are attending English at Seeds and Chinese at Molin. Both of these are at Katong area...

Is your girl going for the exam soon for ballet? My girl will be going for it in Nov and she has to attend 1 extra lesson every week for it! *FAINT* I'm not sure when she wants to stop too. Will see if she pass this exam and also depend on her next yr schedule..