(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Hi K's mom
stickers used to work in the good old days, but nowadays kids get so many of them anytime from everybody! that probably explains why these are no longer effective as a reward, how sad.

hey, moi just dropped K's parcel in the post, look out for it! take a pic of her in the top ok?

top blogger? does it suggest i have lotsa free time? hahaha, but i do enjoy blogging there really;)

Hey gals, two screenings at Lido, 1030am & 1130am. which do u prefer?

Movie Cum Lunch
Ratatouille
3 Sep, Mon
Lido
Time??

1. Sarah
2. Moshi (1030am, so lunch will not be too late)
3. Serenade
4. Apricot
5. Chloe
6. Jpooh (are u joining us?)

Also, advance booking or buy on the spot?

Just to entice u more, it's rated 5/5 by film correspondent, ong sor fern, WOW!

Sherlyn

Naptime : a mother I met 3 yrs ago told me the she'll get her boys to rest quietly in a room for 30 mins if they don't wish to nap. The objective is for the child to rest and it's ok if he doesn't want to sleep. I was impressed by her concept coz I was a new mother then.

I'm not "stricter" but cos B read in phonics rather than letter name instead and I think the nurse can understand better than me. ha!

I think Artic Tale is a documentary, foc sets of tixs from ikea ...

.ky.

Moshi,
I check the timing too. Think you see wrongly.
It should be 11.30am on Mon, 3 Sep. There are 2timing for tml's show.

Hi Jan, Serena,
Thanks for the offer! Serena, in that case, think I will tompang Jan's car instead.. cos she only stays 2 street away from me. Serena.. so paiseh, then you dont need to come a big round to Gombak.. Jan, so will arrange with you again ya. Thanks ladies.

thanks, sarah

Movie Cum Lunch
Ratatouille
3 Sep, Mon
Lido
11.30am, meet at ticket booth at 11am?

1. Sarah
2. Moshi
3. Serenade
4. Apricot
5. Chloe
6. Jpooh (are u joining us?)

Hi ky, toilet training for boys - of course do it like the man! Ask your boy to follow daddy. What I do is get a stool for him to stand to reach the toilet bowl since not still tall enough then. On the other hand, it took awhile to train my gal NOT to follow korkor to stand and pee.

Hi Jan,

Nearly laughed out loud when i read yr post on gal NOT to follow korkor. I did the exact thing when i toilet trained Z.. now he learns to tip toe.. my next item to do is wean him off the milk bottle.. hv been reminding him of the dateline ... his 4th bday will be the DAY!..

Hi moo87, good that there is laughter! Think it's common for the younger to mirror the older sibling so.. Luckily my gal has outgrown that now and 'pee like a lady'.
Ooops, my 5 year old son is still drinking from the bottle for his morning 'opium' dose...

Hi Jan!

So how did you get your girl to finally sit down on the potty to pee?

HOw did you train your girl at all?

Coz K now tells me she wants to pee. When I get her diaper off, she'll stand in front of the toilet stool on tip toe, trying to pee like a man!

Sigh... it's alot easier training B then.

Yes I need tips on toilet training girls too. JC has been pulling off her diapers (a sign she wants to be free from diapers) but whenever I make her sit on the potty, there is nothing. Many times she will pass urine while I'm not watching after she's off the potty and before I can wear back her diaper. And yes, she has been imitating JK standing near the toilet bowl and acting like she's urinating too!

I strongly discourage any mums have have yet to change their kids' photo to go tomorrow despite the deadline. My experience today was horrendous and tomorrow will be worse being a Fri and sch holiday.

ky, to up your record of frustration at ICA, I was there from 11.30am to 4pm and still came back empty-handed!!! Like you, I circled around the carpark but it was so crowded. I didn't go straight to the carpark behind as it was raining so I had my helper in the car on double yellow line and went in to check the q with JK. Taking the q no. took 15mins, not too bad but there were 300 numbers before me. Luckily I'm the type to ask around and found out I had to wait 2 hours just to submit the form. So we drove out for lunch and when we came back, parked at the carpark behind despite the drizzle. The counter staff advised me to collect the passport on the same day if I can wait 2 hours as coming back another day meant I had to wait indefinitely. Since JC was not with us, I decided to wait but after 2 hours, realised that the flashing numbers were not in sequence. I asked again and no one could tell me how much longer to wait but mentioned that I was naive to think that I could collect the passport in 2hrs as it would take at least 3hrs. After the inaccurate info I was given, they now said it's best to come back another day!!!

Frankly, I would have paid for the biometric passport instead of trying to save some bucks by keeping JK's old passport if I had known a simple procedure of changing photo would waste so much of everyone's time. I think what ICA is doing is highly inefficient and meaningless. Can't believe we are talking abt Singapore here.

I managed to get my boy off the milk bottle since last year by bringing him to the mall to pick his own favourite cup for his milk. He has a cup with a straw to suck his milk and he calls it his big boy cup and told me, "Babies only drink from bottles."

KY, Kai never went through the potty stage, he went straight to the adult toilet bowl where he pee and poo. He pees standing since day 1 when he was ready for toilet training by following his dad.

Meilan, I dun think it is so bad in Singapore till stay overseas. Can you imagine that we have opt out for the last quarter of 2006 health insurance plan since we went back for a short break and spent a quarter in Japan due to my dh's work and up to now, it is still not been updated here in Canada even though we have submitted the form last July and also informed them so many times through emails, went down to their public service development and were told that they have done that for us already and dh just received a reminder to pay for the quarter we were away. And it is like we have submitted the form personally to the department more than a year ago.

SIgh... B has been drinking from cup for three weeks since we came from Sg. Then after we went on vacation, and totally forgot about his cup, when he came back, he's back to his bottle again...

Anyway, am not too worried now since we still get him to brush his teeth after his last milk feed. He will outgrow his bottle sooner or later... at least that's what my SIL with three kids says.

HI moshi2!

Thanks for the package!

WIll be looking out for it. You said surface mail right? About 3-4 weeks?

Yeah... will certainly take a photo and post it on the blog.

In fact I took some photos of B opening up his mail too. Gotta post it on the blog soon, man!

hi moshi,
i'll give monday's show a miss, 1130's kinda late, lunch will be 1pm huh.

hi meilan,
my goodness, the waiting time is getting far too long! when i went 2 weeks back, waited 2 hours for application and then another hour for it to be ready and i was already complaining then.

hi sherlyn,
i called yamaha at clementi today (yeah, been procrastinating) and guess what, the weekend classes are all filled up already! no luck with yamaha at thomson as well. these programmes sell like hot cakes. so did you sign up for your kids?

hi kristin's mom,
read your blog about the fat cat that sat on the mat, just after i had a frustrating evening with chloe today while trying to teach her to write. hope for some breakthrough like yours soon...

Meilan,
Wow.. I thought of bringing Benny and Bryan to have their passport photos updated tomorrow.. Looks like I'm going to give it a miss. Benny has his photo updated last yr but Bryan's still show a toddler face. Last few months, my PILs brought Bryan to M'sia and he had no problem with pic so we'll continue to use it until custom officers insist on the change. I'll rather spend $70 on a new biometric passport than to spend 4hrs in queue with two hyperactive monkeys.

Ratatouille --- We've been waiting for the show and may be watching it tomorrow at West Mall if show time permits. Can't join you ppl @ Lido. Benny's surgery date is drawing near, would prevent going to crowded places to avoid flu bugs and other contagious diseases.

Sherlyn

we went Clementi Ave 3 Blk 488 for satay today at 5 plus and shop for stickers at pasar malam while waiting. You stay around that area? Lucky me, I stay in ooloo Gombak If I stay around Clementi Central, I'll be spending money like mad. Was fasinated with the many many shops in that area.. Reminded me of Tampines Central where I stayed before marriage. Spend every cent of salary every month without fail.

I had problem switching Benny from bottle to cup. He complains that milk from cup taste "chou suan" and if same cup of milk poured into bottle, he'll finish with a "hmm.... nice!" *faint*

ky,
I started training them on seated potty, after realising how horrible their aiming skill is, toilet will stink like public toilet.. Slowly after training is fully established, poo poo will be done on potty top placed on toilet bowl while pee pee is done direct tiptoed when aiming skill has improved.

worry mum,
I will not be able to join you all for lunch after yr duck tour. Was planning trip and realised Benny's surgery was one day before the duckie trip. Lucky I didn't join in else the "whole duck" will be ruined by me.

can pm me yr blk and unit number? If I happen to pass by, may drop mickey mouse clubhouse into yr postbox for Ben? Wanted to drop by yr place a couple of times but afraid that you might either not be home yet or you're tired after a day of work.

Hi ky,
For toilet training, Brandon started by peeing in the bathtub during bathtimes. We skipped the potty entirely cos mommy didn't relish cleaning the mess. But according to experts, if you are training young toddlers to use potty for pee, then it's advisable to start with the sit down method.

Cheryl's still in the process of toilet training. Whenever she indicates her needs, I'll just put her on the adult toilet bowl. During bathtimes, I'll get her to squat and peepee. She's been doing that since young, so we don't have the problem of her imitating her brother. But I do have problems when we are out of the house. Somehow, I always feel the public toilets are dirty, no matter how clean they are :p Mommies with gals, how do you let your gals onto the public toilets in the beginning?

Movie Cum Lunch
Ratatouille
3 Sep, Mon
Lido
11.30am, meet at ticket booth at 11am?

1. Sarah
2. Moshi
3. Serenade & friend
4. Apricot

Will be bringing a friend with a 4 year old girl

Joanne,
Huh.. u r still up at 3am???
nono.gif
My goodness, u better get more time to rest..
Ops.. U need to pre-booking for visiting my house leh.
My house is tiny and yet messy..need at least 1 day to tidy before allowing u to visit.
Hmm.. think 100x messy then urs.. so paiseh.. hehe.. me too wanted to pop by several times, but worried might disturb u..

BTW, how's the satay trip? it seems very yummy.. will try it out after 1 mth, think now will be their super peak timing after free advertised.

Hi k's mom, don't know leh. Think she just outgrow the phase to stand and pee like korkor. But that usually happens when korkor is around. Other times, just put her to sit on the toilet bowl and support by holding her armpits. I let her use the toilet bowl more than the potty unless she takes a long time and I'm not there to stay with her, when she was younger. Have stopped using the potty for a long time actually. And had the same stool (which korkor used to stand) for her to rest her feet. Now, she just climbs onto the toilet bowl herself and sometimes makes a mess of her undies and toilet floor becoz spray was too "powerful" or not fast enough. When we want to help her, she will retort 'I can go myself'! Yah, boys are much easier and more convenient when outside. For boy, can use plastic bag (I used to bring small bags for emergencies). For gal, we have to be sprinters and dash for the toilet when the magic phrase comes 'I want to pass urine!'.

Meilan
can i check what's the implication if we didn't convert the kid's passport to a Biopass, i got the letter too but didnt take action.

Movie:
About 11 of us, we'll have to sit in 2 rows, front and back, how abt the kids sit in front, can Mel hug someone if she's scared?? heehee

Chloe
cya next fri then ;)

K's mom
3 to 4 weeks? that's long, i think the card was delivered in 2 weeks at most?
Halloween in nov??

Re : Toilet Training
Thanks for all the advices ... I intend to do for K who's 19 going 20 mths. B's gf's sister who's 4 days older than K has been going to potty herself and her mother single-handedly did it for 3 weeks.... Her mother's amazingly, took care of both girls and B's gf is off diapers at night since 3 yrs+. I never quite successfully do for B and waited till he wanted to himself and now I'm having problems with him taking off diapers at night. So I thot will like to try.

Re : ICA
Actually, Meilan, you should have asked to go off after submitting the applications. Just give a reason that you are expected elsewhere and you had thought you have to wait an hr. They've no choice but to let u go right? And btw, when you collect, JK has to come along for verification. U know? My collection was very very fast. I did it last Mon at 11.30am and I was done in 5 mins. Yes, the queue nos don't run in sequence; that's what's written there. So, I didn't have it so bad, I waited just over an hr to get everything done.

Re : Concert@Bishan Park
Anyone going for this on Sunday? It's the Concert in the Park series and it's filled with children's activities ... I'm most likely to be there if the weather's ok

Chloe, thot u didn't wanna sign C up for music lesson? Ya, some Yamaha music lessons are selling like hotcakes. Worry_Mum, u find out when the trial is on at YTCC? It should be in mid Sep, coz last lesson is last wk of Sep.

Re: Ducktour
Someone mentioned Suntec parking is $8?? That's for an hour?? Anyone knows what's the parking charges like?

.ky.

Moshi,
Re passport. I didnt update H's photo too. I dont think there should be any implication. Only possibility is the airport customs telling u to update photo?

hi jan,
ha ha you are so right on the part about being sprinters. chloe has the bad habit of telling me she needs the toilet when it is really urgent. the ladies are often crowded, so sometimes i have to get dh to bring her into the gents. no choice!

hi ky,
yes i was half hearted to sign chloe up for yamaha JMC at clementi after hearing about your review on the one in YTCC (that partly explains the procrastination ha ha). anyway since there is no available slot now, we shall wait for the next intake in jan ;)

hi moshi/sarah,
it doesnt matter that you didnt update the photo, the passport can still be used until the photo no longer resembles the bearer. i updated it cos charlene's original photo was taken when she was 3 months old, very different from now! so i also by the way updated chloe's photo, hoping it will last a while more before she "outgrow" the photo again and it will be time to do the biometric one.

hi ky/meilan, strange for my case my children were NOT with me during collection of passports. the officer told me no need, just bring my IC will do. they only need to show their faces during the application. seems like ICA is not very consistent leah.

It's our thread's "anniversary" comes October 1st. Last year, a few of us met up at Apricot's place to celebrate Children's Day, and wow, many more gatherings thereafter. What better reason and opportunity for us to gather again, isn't it??

Children's Day Party cum Anniversary
Date: Sat, 29 Sep
Time: Dinner, 6pm/7pm?
Venue: Upper Changi
Food: Shall we just order in pizza and/or KFC? Sakae sushi? Will share food costs.

1. Moshi
2. Sarah

Maybe we can have some theme party. Any ideas, mommies? We can setup different games stations, such as art & crafts, coloring, painting, five stones, zero point etc. We can have a 'disco party' too.

West mommies, I know abit far for you, but hey, its about time, you ladies travel to the east...

Re duck tour. FYI. Tour starts at 10am.

Time: Let's meet at 9.30am
Venue: Suntec City Galleria, next to convention hall. Not sure, look for Food Junction.
Dress code: Yellow, orange?

As for lunch, I presume all going? Any restaurants, cafes in mind? We need to make reservations.

Re payment. I will advise you when I pay Duck Tours. Thanks!

Hi moshi2!

No idea... the card took about weeks+ I think.

Thanks again!

Halloween, Oct 31st. Should be there right in time for her.

Just went to their preschool's open house today. got to check out both kids' new classrooms. The kids just can't wait for school to start again, esp. B. He's restless at home now... And little K just wanna be like her korkor and go to school everyday.

Hi Kristin mom, just drop off the parcel for you at post office today. The girl say will reach in weeks time.

Sarah, which part of changi? Your house?

Ky, I counted $8 for parking its from 9.30am to 1.30pm. If you stay longer than that you pay more but if you leave earlier then will be cheaper than that. I'm familiar with the rates because I m always in town for meetings lah. $8 is excluding ERP as well. So, need to add another $1 for that.

Hi Serena!

thank you thank you thank you thank you!

Kristin's popular girl... gonna get lots of mail soon.

Yeah... will look out for it and also post a photo of her wearing it soon. ;)

Hi Chloe .. now u are making me worried ... i m looking at the wednesday 7pm session, i hope they still hv place.. i think i will go register as soon as possible.

Since both yamaha weekends full, what do u intend to do?

Hi Jo,

I stay opp the NTUC, those yellowish blocks...

the stores are indeed facinating .. since pasar malam do not come often .. so you bought alot of stickers? the pasar malam still ard today leh, so bet it will also last thru this weekend .. come again for a walk lor .. but pity i cant host u cos i already hv program planned this weekend .. before walk walk this pasar malam .. can try go IMM to walk walk ... also quite happening

Blk 488 .. ave 3? din noe got such block leh

Hi worry mum .. what satay promotion you and jo talking abt .. wah i stay clementi also dun noe hehe

same for me, my hse also super messy .. tidy the toys one minute , the next, they take out to play and leave it all ard .. so i also need pre booking to come visit me hahaha

Wao 1st anniversary .. so we will get another cake? hehe .. too bad i cant bake well, else i can make the cake

Changi .. can I sign up first ? but must depend on dh's schedule .. if he out of town, then no driver .. then maybe i wun be gog down. Now i must think how the driver gog to entertain himself for that night after driving us there .. would make no sense for him to drive bak... maybe we shd book into Changi Village hotel hahaha

food wise, sushi is good, pizza also fine .. cos my kids do not eat fried chicken. I love the idea of disco party .. hehe it would be cute to see the kids boogie away

as for theme ... last yr oct, the southwest playgrp also has a celebration .. we had "games stall" like the fun fair, so games like "fishing", "throw ping pong ball into egg carton" etc .. then the kids will collect "stamps" after they complete the games and they collect "presents" ..

Hi chloe!

Now I understand your outburst after having read your blog entry on the worksheets...

As I was telling the other moms here, "The fat cat sat on the mat" was a lottery strike! Not so lucky each time with something new with my son.

I call him an under-achiever... maybe I think too highly of my son and thus cannot lower my expectation? Not really, but it certainly doesn't hurt when he gets a little pressure to perform better. He's a lazy bum.

Hi Sarah,

Got your invite but I will be on a business trip from tom till end of week!!! So sorry but unable to join you for the movie. You gals enjoy yourselves!!

So sorry...MIA. Been busy experimenting with food...

So sad, Kai's summer break coming to an end so will not have so much time to experiment with food already.

Here's a pix of some of the pastry:

948338.jpg