(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Serena .. crunchyroll allow download ? can advise how to?

I only watches online and i hate the jerks .. only during hours like 2 am then the show is smooth going.

Thanks Pris for the add!

Apricot, 2 words to describe you in pic.. "xin4 fu2" I really miss carrying little babies in my arms. Actually, I don't mind having to care for an infant once again (not refering to twins!! haha) but cost of living too high for us to cope with.. gonna miss breastfeeding and having baby all to myself.. touching little fingers etc..etc.. Capture and cherish every moment you have with yr twins.. Bravo to twin's mama!!

Sheryln...to download from crunchyroll, you have to pay and support crunchyroll.

Meilan, I have granted you access to my blog, look for the invitation email. When I am back for good must ask you about planting too. I love ladyfingers too.

Joanne, keep me update on Benny, my church friends and leaders here are asking since I asked them to pray for Benny.

Apricot, like K's mum, I also missed little baby. Send me some baby dust. I agreed you have 3 handsome, adorable boys. Do rest well, you do not look fat but more tired.

Pris,

Nu Li Zuo Ren OK??
Spoken to Benny's surgeon on Fri and surgery has been fixed on 06 Sept. Name of surgeons: Dr Caroline Ong and A/Prof Anette S. Jacobsen. Thanks for the effort. Will pray hard for bundle of joy to drop by your "doorstep" too..

Joanne, thanks for praying for bundle of joy for us. We will be pray for Benny as well. You also must take good care of yourself, Benny needs your support and care.

Hey ladies, some changes on our 3 Sep date:

<font color="aa00aa">Movie Cum Lunch
Ratatouielle
3 Sep, Mon
Lido
1130am

1. Sarah
2. Moshi
3. Serenade (ok with timing?)
4. Apricot (will still meet u at amk)
5. Chloe?
6. Jpooh?
7. Sherlyn?
9. </font>

About the movie:

Academy Award-winning director Brad Bird ("The Incredibles") and the amazing storytellers at Pixar Animation Studios ("Cars," "Finding Nemo") take you into an entirely new and original world where the unthinkable combination of a rat and a 5-star gourmet restaurant come together for the ultimate fish-out-of-water tale.

In the hilarious new animated-adventure, "Ratatouille," a rat named Remy dreams of becoming a great chef despite his family's wishes and the obvious problem of being a rat in a decidedly rodent-phobic profession. When fate places Remy in the city of Paris, he finds himself ideally situated beneath a restaurant made famous by his culinary hero, Auguste Gusteau. Despite the apparent dangers of being an unwanted visitor in the kitchen at one of Paris' most exclusive restaurants, Remy forms an unlikely partnership with Linguini, the garbage boy, who inadvertently discovers Remy's amazing talents. They strike a deal, ultimately setting into motion a hilarious and exciting chain of extraordinary events that turns the culinary world of Paris upside down.

Remy finds himself torn between following his dreams or returning forever to his previous existence as a rat. He learns the truth about friendship, family and having no choice but to be who he really is, a rat who wants to be a chef. Directed by Academy Award-winner Brad Bird.

Hi Apricot, thks for sharing the pic. Where's the other twin? Oh...I love babies! Enjoy cuddling them, bathing them, playing with them, just looking at them. Can pass the night feeds though!

Apricot,

You look tired and not fat at all .. At times i also wish i have another baby cos i enjoy being pregnant .. eat and eat and no need to bother abt being fat .. but i dun think i can survive the after delivery parts ..

luckily my girl still come and ask me for cuddling ..

enjoy the moments .. hmm ... so heavenly ...

Please allow me to vent .. Just spent 1 hr 15 mins sitting on the bed doing nothing accept scolding, threatening, and some soft shouting (got such thing ? hehe) for my kids to take their nap.

Wat is the point, wasting my time .. so sick of making them nap. Leave them ? Cant be .. my girl will not be able to keep up to 8pm, my boy .. already complain tired when i woke him this morning for school (infact both wake up at 7 this morning despite the fact that they sleep at 11pm last night)

So why cant my kids nap when the time comes ? There is routine .. after Hi 5 , it is bed time .. but i still hv to struggle daily to make them nap (the girl easier thou) .. and my boy's eye sight is giving problem .. the last review, nurse already told me shd let him sleep more, watch less TV. i am to bring him bak for review this sept holiday, and if he still has problem reading then smthg must be done ..

Hi moshi,
what time is the show?

Hi apricot,
aww so sweet

yesterday i carried my charlene (who's coming to 18 months) like a baby and she actually enjoys the cooing. ha ha i definitely miss cuddling a little one!

enjoy the movie, jan!

sherlyn
u remind me of the eye check up, will do so after her bday. did u do it at the polyclinic? Jing An cant see small prints? but i heard their eyes are still developing so how do we decide if it;s myopia?

nap battle? u are not alone. i make her close her eyes and we play 'first to open her eyes is a pig or a bat or a ...' she will squeeze her eyes shut and if she's tired she will doze off in minutes. otherwise, i tell her she cant go to grandma's house for dinner if she wakes up late(sometimes, this works). and if we are eating out at a restaurant, she will go " i want to go, i want to go "n make the effort to zzzzzzzz.

also, avoid sweet food b4 nap time, put them in nap mode by engaging them in 'sedate' activities, sometimes, craftwork like beading makes mel sleepy.

chloe
1130am, will confirm the time again after checking the papers on fri. can u make it?

how's ur cough? charlene ok?

Moshimoshi,

the eye check is a routine one for 4 yr old .. and yes it is at polyclinic .. I think JA failled at the last 2 or last row of letters. I also not sure how to determine if it is myopia .. only that the nurse tell me to watch out with a very stern voice after knowing that i let him watch TV quite frequently. But I m sure there are others with no eye problems even if TV is their nanny .. so i m pinpointing to my yellowish warm lights in the living room where the kids spent majority of the time.

Wanted to change the bulbs, but me and dh hv no idea how to do so .. any lighting electricians here?

hmm the "play game" method din work, cos my boy is not into these kind of games, so i always threaten with "no TV", "give surprises" (and now he has been asking for surprises all the time!) but it still takes a long time ...

no food b4 nap, cos they take lunch ard 11 plus 12 and after hi 5 at 1pm, they are suppose to be in bed .. my kids seldom do the sedate activities .. craftwork? .. u do beading too ?

ok gog to wake the sleepy heads .. else i will hv to handle them alone tonite .. suspect dh will knock out early cos he stay up whole of last nite to finish some demo slides.

Hi Sherlyn

I just brought B for his eye-checkup review last week too. He too failed the eye-test the first time early this year. I went this time and he was ok; He couldn't read the 7th row the last time and this time he could except for 2 letters on right and 1 letter on left. Nurse said it's ok. If it's still not ok, she'll refer to the doctor next.

The nurse too said the same thing : "30 mins of TV", "3m from TV to sofa". There's a chart which she showed us and I'll repat the same msg Ben when she showed and also reinforce at home whenever I need him to limit TV time to 30 mins.

Give him time. B too, I thought didn't do well but to nurse, it's ok. He'll mistaken E for F and N for H at that row.

For falling asleep at nap, I've establish this routine that B has to fall asleep on his own. I'll tell him that he has to hug the bolster and close the eyes and I'll be just outside doing my own things, and if I walk past his room, I'll like to see that his eyes remained closed. I gave him certain incentive like going down to playground if he does it ... and eventually it became a habit. I'm having problems with him waking up at night though, but that is something that's beyond me as hubby's reluctant to impose more stringent rules on that.

Hi Chloe, I thot abt what you've said abt the music lesson being stressful... I'm trying to rationale if it's indeed so. I make comparison to the other activities that the kids are put through at school, eg letter tracing or handling montessori materials. A child takes great satisfaction in getting a job done and would keep practising at it just to get it right. It's the process and not the end that matters. For music, Bs starting to show that when he doesnt play a part well, hell re-do on his own, and Im seeing a good improvement of his fingering. And I believe one of the kids that has dropped out is left to work on his own and it's really a pity coz he's got talent but the mummy didn't take opportunity of it. In fact, I see the boy has a lot of enthusiasm but I see the mummy sulking ALL the time. I really wonder why she's sign her kid up if she feels it's a torture. huh, sorry, side-tracked, but I hope it didn't come across as being stressful, but perhaps like in almost everything in life, there's a little stress to keep us in line.

Apricot, u look so "xin fu" though tired.

Is next week the sch hols? That's why got so many programmes for the kids? I'm going with Ben to see Arctic Tale on Wed night, and Friday is an off-day for B to go to ducktour ... so no more outings for next week.

.ky.

hi moshi,
we wont join you if the show is say 1pm or so. cos chloe needs her beauty sleep, she is one of those rare ones that need to sleep almost 3 hours every afternoon.

hi ky,
i'm just trying to picture chloe in the music class and wondering if she can keep up. she is very active, likes to move around, play, jump etc. it's hard to imagine that she has the discipline to practice playing the same key strokes again and again. then again, i may be wrong.

hi worry mom,
i've got the clifford set of phonics books. not what you are looking for i supposed?

For duck tour, where would you mommies park your car? I think parking at Suntec would cost around $8.00

Ky, I've got a VCD. I pass to your hubby? The tittle is {Pursuit of Happiness}

Sherlyn, crunchyroll is free streaming. I watch some nice shows there but some good korean shows were removed. So, I'm trying to catch it under another website.

Kristin mom, pls email me your Germany address.

Worrymum, today I'm so lucky got stock take and can knock off early. You wanna go together with me for duck tour? I can pick you up but first I must find an economical place to park.

Sherlyn, sorry what I wanted to say was I watch it online too but there was no jerking as you mentioned. Is that one of the reason you sleep late?

Serena,
Really can tompang me?? Yeah!! Just still complain to Sherlyn that I need to carry my big baby all the way via the citylink mall.. hahaha.. Thanks for the offer. I dont mind sharing the parking charges.. hehe..

Hi worrymum, I'll be driving to suntec. Can give u a lift if you don't mind sitting with my 2 monkeys - actually just one of them behind. I'm nearer to you than serena?

my older son jayden just went to polyclinic for eye check and also failed the test, i thought die la like daddy and mummy has to be four eye already, i got to bring him to recheck six months later too meanwhile i will reinforce to my in law dun let him watch too much tv but in law cannot control as we parents too and i understand they have to handle the 3 kids.
i am actually thankful that they can handle three kids just that they refuse maid that makes me very tired have to handle kids and housework esp weekend no couple and rest time lor.
apricot, pls la you are not fat, well if you describe yourself fat, i think i dun noe wat size i am , next time you guys have gathering i dun even dare to join at all but i really like the heartwarming pic, regret never take this kind of pic with my gal faith.

Hi Sherlyn, ky, Emily!

What does the eye test involve?
Reading letters or numbers?

When I was at the polyclinic in July, the nurse refused to let B do the 4 year assessment, even though his b'day was only a month away.

She said it would be devastating to the kid's psyche and emotional growth if he's thought to fail the assessment... errmm, c'mon lah, I looked at the things on the checklist... I thought huh???

The only thing I wanted to find out is his eye-sight. Coz his daddy's got terrible eye-sight. Practically blind without his glasses... myself, though ophthalmologist thinks that I don't need glasses, since my slight astig and myopia sort of compensate for each other. So I've been spared of glasses.

But I'm too worried coz B has this bad habit of rubbing his eyes. He rubs them so much every time when he's sleepy or when he's up in the morning, or the more he fights sleep or pretends to cry and whine and start rubbing a few tears out his eyes.

Btw, the polyclinic nurse told me that I had to make sure that my son knows how to read numbers for the eye-test chart.

I'm trying to do as much as possible to defend the nap time... I order him to sleep else the cane will be waiting for him out in the living room. And I also need to rest...

Nap time is getting harder with him... as with other 4 years old.

ky,

my boy cant read only a few letters, cant remember how many, think also 2 or 3 leh, but nurse never say ok, ask for review 6 mth, which is Nov (sorry wasnt Sept as mentioned .. must be i over stressed hehe).

I did "trim" the amount of time he is exposed to TV but he still rubs his eyes frequently when he watches the TV at night esp. Sometime when he skip nap and he still watches at ard 8pm .. which i think is very straining to the eyes but he simply refuse to sleep. He also rub eyes when he cry .. feel very stress when he rubs his eyes ..

hehe u think he din do well but nurse say ok .. so looks like you are stricter

I tried the same as u did too .. leaving him alone after my girl sleeps. He will occasionally distub my girl, or monkey around, or come out and look for me .. and recently, after an hr of "trying to sleep on his own, with me checking every 5 minutes", he still can come out after that and said that he has napped and woke up.

ya nex week is school holidays .. got many programs meh? what is this artic tale ? documentary ?

Yes Serena, tat is one of the reason i stayed up .. i tried watching at the 11-1am timing but i often hit the jerking problem due to buffering process i think .. anyway crunchyroll will do for me now since i will take a while to complete a HK drama.

Emily .. if looking at the brighter side, both Ky's and mine also failed the first time round .. so i guess it is ok that Jayden failed his the first time round .. lets just hope they will pass the review. :)

Kristin's mom,

The eye test involved some reading of the numbers off some color charts and alphabets from the usual eye test alphabet chart like what we do when we are in school many years ago.

I am surprise the nurse said that to you .. furthermore it is only one month short of 4 yrs.

oh .. looks like 4 yr old is the starting age where the kids can do without nap :)

Thanks for granting me access .. sorry pestered u

Sherlyn & Emily,
Pls advise. I think I better bring Aston for his eye check also. Do we need to make appt with polyclinics for eye test ? Or can optician in opital shop do the test ?

Sent R to Spore poly last year for eye check up, was an hour by both student and instructor. S$5.00. took too long.

K's mom, wow using cane to coerce sleep and Bryan complied? Unthinkable.

Sherlyn, you are not alone. By now, JK has given up his naps. He may nap 1 or 2 times a week and that is the best I can expect. He will tell me that his body is tired but his eyes are not and like Jing An, lie down for a while and said he has rested enough. I resorted to incentives like ice-cream, DVD and going playground which I later combined as a all-in-one big treat but can see that he really cannot fall asleep and if force too hard, JC will wake up prematurely. So I just let him play alone while I rest. At least he can leave me alone for a good 20min before he comes to pester me.

So nowadays, I put them to bed as early as 8.30am which means I have a longer night free but the downside is they also wake up earlier in the morning and we now have this habit of lai4 chuang2 which I personally think it's a bad idea cos will have problems on days we need to get up early.

Hi Meilan!

Well.. he's been pushing it too far, with all the night wakings and naptime meltdowns.

I'm right after all coz I thought Daddy and I were to "nice" to entertain him.

So we made sure that coming out of his room is no longer an option. And the thing is he still needs his sleep. His eyes look terrible since he came from Sg. In Sg, he slept at most 10 hours per day. That's like going to bed at midnight, waking up at about 9-10am. And if we were lucky, he had a power nap in the car while we were getting from places to places.

So by the time he came back, he's overly exhausted. And the more tired he was, the more he resisted sleep.

It was the same with night wakings. He cried every night since he came back from SG. While it's true that he missed his grandparents initially, but it was really too much after one whole month. So on Friday, my husband blew his top. And the result, he's been sleeping pretty well this week.

Sigh... i really hate it when I have to go back to Sg... end of this year we'll be making another trip back... and every time when I come back, either one of the children will be having sleep problems. Or perhaps the next time, both! Touch wood.

Anyway, you know your child best. And you know what works. I know stickers and rewards don't work with B.

Wow... looks like Parents-like-us is doing pretty well.

Since May, I think we've got about 100 posts...

Thanks for posting, at least one little post a month. It really makes our blog a reading fun, esp. moshi2. I think you're easily our top blogger here.
What would Parents-like-us be without you?

apricot, you need to book with the polyclinic for the four yr old check they will also check for any colour blindness too and the kids need to know numbers from 1-9 lor.
mine jayden cannot read the last row for few numbers too well the polyclinic say no choice review six months time.

polyclinic is so rigid. my younger son is reaching 3 next yr so due 3 yr old assessment so i try to fix both sons in the same day for the 3 yr old assessment and review jayden eyetest, it is only 1 day short that my gabriel to reach 3, they say they cannot do the three yr old check for my gabriel though it is one day diff, me shaking my head, they are so protocol minded lor wat to do.

Hi Kristin's mom,

Here I am! Have been reading all this while cos I am pretty tied up these days. Taking driving lessons and studying for the final theory test now. On top of that, still got to take care of the kids, the extra classes blah blah blah... Just had my first Meet the Teacher session. Keke, watch out for my blog on it. Coming soon...

Hi meilan,

I am worried abt his eyes since nurse say i shd let him sleep more .. I also cant put him to sleep earlier if my girl is not sleepy .. he will say he is not tired even if he is and will want to play with girl .. similarly, it will be very difficult for me to get my girl to nap if my boy is not napping so for my girl sake, i hv to force my boy to nap, at least till my girl sleeps.

ya sleep early means wake early too .. so it is very tiring for me too, to sleep late and yet wake early with the kids .. usually i do not rest with them in the day .. i deem my time too precious to give to the Z monster.

i would think lai4 chuang2 is not too good a practice, but it is such a luxurious thing to do (esp when it is still couplehood time), right?

Apricot,

I am not sure if the polyclinic do eye test alone .. but if do it together with the 4 yr old assessment, i think making appt is better ..

am not sure if optician can do the eye test ..

Just to share, clementi central has pasar malam .. so those mummies who want to get stickers can try their luck here

Toilet-training boys

Can I find out if the boy should be asked to stand and shoot to pee or sit down at potty (like a girl)?

.ky.