(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Hi KY,

Hugs to u.. after reading your frustrations... U hv been great.. Dun like this issue dampen yr spirit.. Some pple just take things for granted.

As for me, I will be nastier cos I am blunt... I will tell my fren off.. I hv been willing to help my frens sincerely and I will tell her I do not see a need to help her for such situations.. where she is inconsiderate without asking me or clarify with me before releasing such information to 3rd parties.

Hi KY

Just release your frustration instead of keeping it in your heart. Glad that you share here, that's what we are here to support one another.

I do agreed with moo87, that your friend lack the courtesy to check with you before releasing such information to a 3rd party. For me, I will be fuming mad too. Like you, I will be willing to help my friend sincerely but when such circumstances arise a couple of times, I will be on 2nd thought or would just find out for her where she has to pay to rent the equipment instead. And for a 3rd party that you are not even familiar with, you may just ask them to rent it since there are 2 companies out there that rent such equipments. Do not let such matter bother you further.

I thought this article was interesting regarding Blueberries from UK

US scientists have found a compound in blueberries that may have beneficial effects in preventing bowel cancer. The natural antioxidant, pterostilbene, which is found in the berries colour pigment, has been found to scavenge free radicals, which can trigger cancer growth. In fact, the darker the berries, the higher the concentration of pterostilbene.

Under laboratory conditions, scientists from Rutgers University and the US Department of Agriculture found that Rats fed pterostilbene developed fewer pre-cancerous cells in their bowels. The compound also was found to reduce inflammation and the rate of cell division.

In Britain, bowel cancer affects around 1 in 18 of us in our lifetime with recent famous sufferers such as Sharon Osborne.

So can changing our diets to include such super foods really make a difference? Cancer Research UK stated: While pterostilbene could lower the risk of bowel cancer in rats, it is unclear if it will produce the same benefits in humans. More research will help to determine whether this chemical could have a role in the fight against cancer. For the moment, the best advice is to eat a healthy balanced diet rather than rely on specific ?super foods,

Further testing it seems is required to establish blueberries true benefits to human bowel cancer, however Dr Reddy, a professor in chemical biology at Rutgers University has highlighted that the blueberry compound will not cure colon cancer but could help prevent the disease from occurring. He also added that their work showed the need to eat sensibly but also to include more berries in the diet, especially blueberries.

Pterostilbene can also be found in cranberries, lingoberries and grapes.

hi ky
hug hug.it is good to ventilate, that also explained why now i come in here more often now, at time thru reading all the writing , it is a form stressed relieved to me.

Worry mum .. the mixer is not too ex lah .. i bought ard 50 - 60 .. but i find it not good enuf haha ... if got the cash i think shd buy the kitchenaid one direct :)
good meh? dh always fly but no allowance one leh ... i think better to give allowance hahaha.

ky, i think even if it is fren of 20 yrs i will also tell her that i will not be able to loan the PIS to someone else other then her. and i will tell her it is not v nice to pass the info to someone else ..

Thanks jpooh. I do know of the four seasons one, fr magazine. I called up and was told the price is 13x+++ ... per adult. That burst the budget dh company set so no go
. Will chk out the rest that you mention. Thanks.

Worry mum .. the mixer is not too ex lah .. i bought ard 50 - 60 .. but i find it not good enuf haha ... if got the cash i think shd buy the kitchenaid one direct :)
good meh? dh always fly but no allowance one leh ... i think better to give allowance hahaha.

ky, i think even if it is fren of 20 yrs i will also tell her that i will not be able to loan the PIS to someone else other then her. and i will tell her it is not v nice to pass the info to someone else ..

Thanks jpooh. I do know of the four seasons one, fr magazine. I called up and was told the price is 13x+++ ... per adult. That burst the budget dh company set so no go
. Will chk out the rest that you mention. Thanks.

hi ky!

I would have reacted the same way as you did. I would be PIS*ed too.

Friend of 20 years so what? I'm sure all the mommies here will befriend you and appreciate you thousand times more! Don't forget you have a friend in me! ;)

btw, dropped you an email already re: the chinese teacher in clementi. Just my two cents' worth on one lesson.

hi mommies!

Read our blog and my blog. I've tagged some of you on 4 things.
And soon, other mommies will be tagged too... whahahaha!

oh... just a game that's all.

Hi mommies in the west,

There's a workshop for parents to prepare children for Primary School Maths.

1 Sept, Sat
2.30pm - 4.30pm
Bt timah CC

i'm back in spore! spent the whole of yesterday washing the pile of winter wear & unpacking our suitcases. such a chore

i started coughing on my last day in melbourne, and it is getting worse. hope it wont develop into pneumonia again (i had it a few months ago).

can you believe it, my little charlene has been having drippy nose for the past 3 weeks with thick yellowish mucus. brought her to the doc this morning again, the 3rd time this month!

hi ky,
oh, i was talking about the clementi yamaha when i said i wanted to pop by to take a look at the facilities, not the gym class. anyway i called YTCC last week on the electon class but apparently got to wait for trial and they cant commit when it will take place. the lady on the phone was more interested in selling me other courses like inline dancing instead

Hi sherlyn, thks - 10 students abit difficult to form the trial class. It's ok then. Will have to let my kids' musical devpt wait!
They are 4 and 5 yrs old. Anyway, let us know your feedback after the lessons.

Hi Ky,

Don't bother by it. No point getting upset over such a friend. Might as well channel your energy on more positive stuff

Hi serenade, primary sch maths nowadays IS a headache hor.. Thought the schools do organise workshops for parents, which should be more relevant than the cc? Dunno... My nephew's school has that every year and my bro / sil takes turn to attend and learn. Most likely I'll leave it to hubby to be the maths teacher at home!

I am very very busy packing my things cos moving house to inlaw place in Serangoon on this Sunday.
Really hate to leave this house but no choice cos need inlaw to take care the twins. Hopefully I can reduce fiction with her cos there are differences in taking care young babies and I had better not to sandwich my DH. We are unhappy over things she did a couple of times and there is not much me or DH can help. This is really stressful. On the other hand, she and my maid are really good helpers and leaving me quite alot of free time serve internet, watch TV and you know I can even access com's email to settle urgent work issues. I tell myself not to dwell too much on their taking care else I will never be happy.

Moshi, I shld be able to join on 3Sep but can I confirm closer to the date ? Thanks ya...

Sorry girls .. called the gym yday but forget to update. I hv confirm with Ms Helene for the trial class on 15th Sept, 5 - 630 liao. Attire is smthing comfy, stretchable, and not too loose. They wouldnt want the clothes to get into the way when the kids do tumbling.

So ky, you certainly can be there on 15th liao

Mark up the date now

Dental Health Month in Aug.
FREE check up at participating clinics.
Mel's going to I Care Dental at thomson plaza on 31 Aug. ;)

Hi Apricot
Like u said, don't sweat the small stuff. Grab whatever help u can, find some me-time and enjoy your bundle of joy. Looking forward to seeing u at the lunchie.

Hi chloe
Welcome home! have u gone to the doc? hope it's nothing serious. take care!
Does charlene attend sch? where did she catch the bug from?

Hi ky
Cheer up, there might be some misunderstanding along the way. If u ask me, i would send the friend an email to voice out my unhappiness ;)

btw, Mel went for Baby Love yesterday, told me she was a little worried cos' of the loud sounds and that she needs a high chair (can't see). haha
i praised her for sitting through the play despite her fears ;)

Hi Apricot,

Look at the brighter side, at least u know yr children are in good hands as compared to those with nannies/infant cares. I always tell myself to be grateful of my MIL looking after ds while I can work at peace during my workdays.. I tends to block away those unhappiness issues with MIL.

Wish u have a smooth shifting this sun.. cheers!

thanks for all your kind words. i've met up with my fren today ... like some of you said, might be a misunderstanding and she didn't feel nor express anything negative abt the entire matter. I guess like all of us here, she's just trying to help a fren. anyway, not mad or disappointed with her already since I know her for so long ...

on the music trial, I'm sure Yamaha do not offer free trial, but what you gals can do is to go to the cc to do a trial and get a feel from there. But you would not know from the trial how your kids would do ... the trial is pretty simple for the kids to follow.

for B's class, I see 4 kids (in the group of abt 11) who are 4 yrs old and 2 kids have dropped out after 1.5 terms, and 1 girl is struggling with two-hand play, she's facing difficulties that she cried in class that day. A 5 or 6 yr old I find can learn better. B has his good days and bad days too ... when he stopped practising during the national day period, he had problems during class, so now I get him to do 5-min practise each day

Chloe, yes, the cc knows very very little abt this music course. u happened to speak to Kim Heok coz she's the only one who knows a little and she may not know the schedule too.

.ky.

Hi k's mom
do u go to Halloween parties? I've a black halloween cotton sweater to give away, brand new, should fit Kristin.
Will send u pix if u are keen.

Thanks Sherlyn for helping to register the trial for us. Can you or KY please PM me Helen's contact? It should be in the archive but I couldn't find it through glimpsing thro. My friend is also interested to join on 15 lah and I'm supposed to give her a lift.

Pris, can you pls invite me to your blog? Ky, I still can't access yours. Can you pls register me using my gmail account?

Anyone keen to join the below programme? It's actually targetted at Pri Sch kids but the person in charge told me that she would adjust the tour accordingly if most of the kids are younger.

I'm keen to bring JK cos we have recently planted lady's fingers and chilli padi with the strong prompting from my helper.

Our Garden Kitchen Tour
Date: Sat, 1 Sep 2007 &
Wed, 5 Sep 2007
Time: 9am - 10am
Venue: Pasir Ris Park, Pasir Ris Green (Carpark C)

Excite your senses with our Garden Kitchen Tour. Find out how vegetables are grown before it gets onto your plate! You will also learn about some natural remedies that our grandmothers might have planted in their own backyard.

Rates: $2 per person

A minimum group of 20 pax is required for the walk to start.
To register, please contact Sunshine Sim at 64653381 or email [email protected]

Apricot, sorry to hear abt your stress re your MIL but I just want to share that you are one of the very lucky FEW people I know whose MIL bothers to lend a big helping hand. When you told me that your MIL helps with Aston every weekend so that you and Lawrence could have couple time, I mentally added you to my tiny list of 3 perhaps 4 others who have supportive in-laws. Most of my friends rely heavily on their mothers while the MILs all smartly stay away or give very minimal help or worse, refuse to contribute yet keep adding burden!

Mine just complained to me today abt their unhappiness with my hubby's refusal to be at their beck and call last week. For goodness sake, the poor chap is having in-camp-training for 3 weeks and hardly even gets to book out and they still expected him to attend to their admin matters on the only Sat he was out last week! I feel so sorry for my hubby for having such unreasonable parents.

So next time if you feel unhappy abt your MIL, just try to think of mine, I'm sure you will feel much better.

Hi apricot!

you lucky woman... MIL is helping out. isn't it good that you have free time? Envious.

now that my children are older now, my MIL is also more comfortable with the babysitting. so every time when we are back in Sg now, will always try to involve her to help. usually diapering/feeding isn't everyone's cup of tea, esp when the baby is still very young.

anyway, don't worry about the differences... btw, i always like to begin with what dh's friend says, who is a doc and whom my MIL thinks highly of. or I always begin with professional advice from PDs or books... so try that line when you need to share with her on things about childcare. after all she also wants the best for the grandsons!

hi moshi2!

yeah... the kids do halloween here. bryan actually went door to door last october for trick or treat.

it will be great... but how am i gonna get the sweater from you?

Serena,
the same thing on the outfit you wanted to pass to me...

postage will be ex.
hmmm... my parents did mention that they might wanna come, but don't know when. too bad i don't know any SQ stewardesses who fly to Frankfurt frequently. actually, they just stay in a hotel really nearby...

Talked about Halloween, it was quite fun in Japan last year with the young people dressing up. Too bad, I did not have a camera with me then.

Here in Vancouver, they already started to sell the halloween stuff. Hope it will be fun for Kai this year.

Apricot, at least you have quite supportive in-laws. My in-laws told us before we got married that they would not help with the grandchildren and then barked at us to have child. And when Kai was borned even though Mil was doing my confinement, I have to handle Kai all on my own unless my mum came over to visit that my mum could help with Kai.

My mum had been helping with Kai on days that I needed to run errands until we discovered that she has some heart problems which we felt that she needed more rest instead of looking after Kai. So Kai followed me everywhere from then till my mil was told off by her good friend then she started to help mind Kai for a couple of hours when I had to run errands etc but I was thankful for those few hours. And my fil was more than happy to handle Kai when Kai was much bigger and could talk with him so that left me with more times. Normally if I am unhappy with mil's way of feeding, cleaning Kai, I do use Kai's pd's name to say that it should be xxx...xxx and it helps more than what I said.

KY. glad that it is only a misunderstanding and that you are feeling better now.

Chloe, welcome back, how's the weather in Melbourne this time of the year? Hope that you and your girl have a speedy recovery.

Meilan, can pm me your gmail account and I will add you.

apricot, i truly understand your feeling, my in law handles my three kids in the day time. at times it is only my poor hubby have to send them in the morning and pick three of them in the evening by himself as i avoiding them as much as possible. my mum in law typical cantonese, even a bottle of ru yi oil she will ask money back from me hor i am sure she is much much richer than me lei and many times she even ask my kids infront of me, why do the kids still close to me despite i did not spent alot time with them. i pay them about 1.2 k per month to help me to take care of my kids excluding diapers and milk powder , they refuse maid, so poor me weekend are burnt taking care of kids and house cleaning. many times i told hubby his parents bully me because both my parents are no longer around so no one to turn to. so sorry. instead of comforting you i vent my frustrating with in law instead.
pris, it is very tiring to cope and handles three cuties at home.

Kristin mom & Moshi, since postage is ex, then I suppose we will have to wait for an opportunity. Kristin mom, when will you be back?

KY, sometimes close friends tend to take each other for granted. You won't find that with new friends though. That's the irony. Just like my husband's friend of 15 years. We were supposed to drive in to JB and the first thing he said to us was " Cannot drive my car because theives like to eye on cars like my merc." He's trying to tell us that only his merc is a car and ours not consider car. Anyway, we hardly go Malaysia so it wasn't a big issue. We accepted his thinking and that was the last time we will even think of asking him to go JB.

Meilan, how do you plant lady fingers and chilli? You buy the seeds from nursery? I don't have green fingers so the project will probably die on me.

jia jia you peng nan nian de jing

For ils, each has her own set of problems and I really take my hat off to those who can live with theirs, whether happily or not. I notice even more now that if we lose our respects for our elders, our kids would be asking why and they would model after us. Couple of wks ago, my mother (whom I do not respect at all, pardon me, kinda long story which I shall not go into) came to our house and instead of using the common chopstick, dip her own into the dishes. She likes to lick her own chopstick and for that, I really do not think it's very healthy. I told her off in a voice louder than usual. B remembers and even today that she's here, would make that comment that Ah-Ma shouldn't be using chopsticks and he'll tell her if she's seen doing so again. So regardless, I've told myself that I've to be careful of how I treat the grandparents as I'm the role model to the kids.

So Apricot, Meilan, Emily, try to be thankful of what little (or a lot of) help your elders can give you. I've got zero and though I always commented to hubby why the elders got the big small eye to their kids (eg offering more help to one but not another), I try not to portray that unhappiness in front of the kids. And do be happy with the live you have coz I really find that when I'm positive, my kids are positive but when I'm negative, they are too.

the only person I see truly happy with her IL is my helper. I can see she's really grateful to her MIL and she's unhappy with her own mother but she knows she can't run away from family. Whoever that's up (sorry, I'm not christian :>) is fair, you get some good things and you get some no-good things in life.

Meilan, already added your gmail acct leh. forgot to show u the last time ... i'll see if i can do screenshots for u & see whr u've gone wrong...

.ky.

Hi Serena,
When are you leaving for Japan? Pls remind me to pass u the maps (in case I forget) when we meet for duck tour.

Hi Chloe,
Welcome home. Hmm, you actually have time to blog while holidaying?? I presume your parents babysit Charlene while you were away. Hope you and Charlene feeling better now.

Sarah, will be checking out Natas fair for a good bargain on the Japan trip. So will remind you of the map. Can you PM me your handph? I've only Moshi and Worry mum handph.

BTW now that I have you on line. Can you tell me where else can I download Korean show beside crunchyroll? It seems that some good koreans shows are removed from crunchyroll. So, it's a pity and would be dying to catch it somewhere else.

hi sarah,
yeah, i've got time to blog cos the shops closed so early and it was too cold to stroll in the streets after dinner :p anyway it was a relaxing trip, we didnt cover as much attractions as we intended to but it was better to just take it easy while travelling with a child. oh yes, my mom babysitted charlene while we were holidaying hee hee.

hi Pris,
You were in Japan during Halloween last year? we were holidaying in tokyo disneyland then. it was really an eye opener to see so many people all dressed up!

oh, i realise i cant access your blog too. i shall pm you later. add me in okie?

Melbourne is pretty cold, 10 odd degree. It snowed when we were in Mt Buller, what a cool experience

hi moshi,
i'm taking the cough mixture, didnt see a doctor yet, hopefully it will clear up soon. charlene's nose is still drippy despite the presciption from doc. she doesnt attend school yet, so not sure where the bug comes from. the doc said she might be allegic to something though.

well done melody, she is a brave girl indeed! sometimes i think kids tend to be more brave when they are alone than with their parents around. it's good to teach them to be independent huh.

hi ky,
the music class at the CC sounds quite stressful leah. i'm more inclined to let chloe try something more fun & play at this point in time. if she is really keen on a particular instrument, will do 1-1 lesson when she is older.

seems like no one here in the forum staying with their in laws (except apricot)? i feel that it is always good to have an extra pair of hands to help out, but xiang chu rong yi tong zhu nan. need to be very very tolerant of one another :p

i'm very lucky my mum helps to babysit my girls while we work, when she goes for holiday, either me/hubby will take leave, once or twice my in laws (who are working) will take leave to stand in. guess i cant ask for more right

my mum has stated even before marriage that she will not be caring for any grandchildren. Guess she's "sick" of it after caring for the 4 of us and since she can finally break free, she doesn't want to be locked in babysitting. Anyway, she's staying in the East while I'm at the West area.

I'm staying only opposite my ILs and glad with that. Less conflict and kids can visit their grandparents daily without fail. I'm lucky to have a pair of supportive ILs, thou MIL can get naggy at times but which mummy is not naggy?? They nag for a good reason.. for our own good..hehe.. In the past, during my FTWM days, MIL would care for Benny without complain. He's a very cranky baby and only ppl with lots of patience can tahan to babysit him. Now that I'm SAHM, she still babysit my kids if there's a need. During my multiple hospital stay with Benny, she volunteered to care for Bryan for months without complain thou she's already babysitting my SIL's son.

Apricot,
don't have to worry too much about the way they bring up your babies.. Result of her care will not be bad.. Just take a look at your hubby. He's one good "sample". Just think of how lucky you are to have their support and help. Others will have to close one eye. Conflict are unavoidable, just don't dwell over it and concentrate on your bundles of joy when you're feeling down. They will surely make you feel better..

ML
I have received the amulet you got for Benny. Thanks a million. I have been to Si Ma Lu Guanyin Temple to pray for him at least once a month and on vegetarian every first and fifteen. I've done all I could.. the rest will have to depend of surgeon.

Thanks for the concerns and comforting words. Yap, I will appreciate inlaws as I cannot deny she's really a great help. But we wont have couple time like last time cos now weekends we have to take over the kids and let her rest and go out with friends.

Hey Photo sharing...
Dun look at me cos I still look fat. Look at this So sweet pic..jus like a koala bear clinging on me..

941646.jpg

wow... apricot! only one word: blissful!

I think I miss little babies too. little head, little hands, little fingers and toes. But... taking care of them everyday... I think I shall pass on that. I'm too impatient a person to be a nice mom.

I'm sure you can still get couple time once in a while... your ILs sound like great folks! As long as it's not every weekend, I think your MIL will still help to babysit occasionally coz she's got three great looking grandsons... who wouldn't be a proud grandma?!

Hi Pris. I've just PM you my email. KY, I finally could access your blog!

Apricot, I think you look more tired than fat. Bravo for breastfeeding your twins and keep it up! I love the way your baby sleeps on your chest. I've got pictures like that of JK and JC on me too. The infancy period when the baby is totally dependent on us is a very touching period of motherhood isn't it?

MIL, I know mine only want to be "Lao nai nai" literally and cannot be depended upon whatsoever but I'm thankful to have my own mum who's the only person I can always count on.

And yes, I may complain abt this and that but ky is right abt being positive with what we have. The positive energy of many mommies here have rubbed off on me despite my complaints abt this and that.

Over the 2 months after getting in a helper, I am also beginning to see improvements in JK's behaviour. And you may be able to tell from my mentions that we've begun to do some fun things together eg making ice-cream, planting etc.

I got the lady's fingers' seeds from my brother-in-law who might have gotten them from his farmer friend. As for chilli plant, just slit out the seeds from fresh chillies. Or you may want to start from something very basic and which we have all done before - planting bean sprouts from green beans. Planting is really a satisfying experience. We can already see the sprouts of all the above in less than 1 week's time! I will try to post some pics in my blog.