(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Hi CMT and all, perhaps it's considered kia-su, but I'm starting to compare getting into a school like a good job match. For me, I know I do not want a pressuring school nor a school which gives a bo-chap attitude. SVPS is just outside 1km for me. I'll not go for De La Salle; there's no visibility for me and I do not know if the culture would clash. I've heard mixed reviews of a primary which is just next to me. A school's highly dependent on the principal and I don't quite like wat I hear abt her... she even made a very negative comment in fronf of parents ... I shall not dwell on that here. There was a girl from this primary school who got into RGPS at the streaming at P3, but she opted to come back to it after trying out at RGPS... someone did comment that even at such a neighbourhood school, it's still pretty pressurizing.

SVPS is not tops school but like CMT, I like what I see at the openhouse. This is on top of what I know from frens whose kids are in it; it has a lot of homework btw and expectations high too... well, we never know wat can happen in future. Just yesterday, I overheard this sec boy on the bus. it's the sec school just by my blk, he's talking to his frens abt missing smoking cos left cigarette somewhere and they are swearing in all the hokkien phrases that I'll never ever say ... this boy's prob 15. i see already also wonder wat kind of influence would the peers have on my kids next time. and btw, it's ok to be free labour. never try never know. if i don't PV, 0% chance for us.

btw, PV is usually done when the child is 5 yrs old, so I'm kinda early, and for SVPS, it goes into a separate file with lower priority so might be just sitting around till next yr coz I hear # of PV for this yr is 70, so mostly they would not need to look into this file for help.

.ky.

moshi, sarah ... all i can say u gals are lucky to have only 1 child to look after. sometimes i do wish to take time off to enjoy myself but feel guilty if i do that, so I hardly ever do :<

.ky.

Hi CMT, it depends on the school so it's better to ask the staff re past years' experience. For PV, you will qualify under phase 2B, so if no balloting in that phase means all PV will get it. But for the popular schools, yah - balloting may be required in phase 2B and priority will go to those within 1km eg for nanyang primary. This is in addition to their minimum hours is 80 hrs hor, double the MOE guideline!

Hi Sherlyn, yah - nanhua primary is good but if you stay near, can try your luck in balloting.

Great, count me in!

Let's Lunch
Ben & Jerry's @ The Ranch Home
Dempsey Road
3 Sep or 4 Sep
11am

1. Sarah
2. Moshi
3. Chloe

Alternatively we can go Go Go Bambini (it's next to Ben & Jerrys)? check out http://www.gogobambini.com There's an indoor playground to entertain the kiddos while the mommies can eat, chit chat or even do nail spa

hi cmt,
think we stay pretty near. my place's within 1 km from de la salle & 1-2km from south view. but we may move to get closer to the school of our choice.

hi ky,
can understand how you feel about handling 2 kids, but you will need some time out too to recharge right? but i really pei3 fu2 the many many things that you do with your boys. all i can say is that you are one very dedicated mum. btw, i love the wild ideas thingy.

i wish i have more time & energy, i've been juggling work, taking care of my 2 girls and managing the household (cos dh travels a fair bit). almost no "me" time, except the occasional retail therapy that i do during lunch break ha ha. so glad to have a long in between job break this time

hi sherlyn,
did you sign up with yamaha? sorry i may have missed your post, how did you find the facility at clementi?

hi serenade,
re meeting this sat at jg, can we confirm on the morning itself? cos dh will only be back on sat morning but dunno what time (he's flying off to nz from melbourne while chloe & i will return home tomorrow nite). i'll sms you, sorry cant access internet as i've got no PC/laptop at home now, can only rely on dh's.

Let's Lunch
Dempsey Road
3 Sep or 4 Sep
11am

1. Sarah
2. Moshi
3. Chloe
4. Serenade

Go Go Bambini looks fun! But kind of expensive, isn't it? S$15 per kid. Chloe, have you been there before? What kind of play can the kids engage in?

re meeting this sat, no worries. Just sms me on Sat morning.

Hi 4ChongChong,
How's your sore throat? Hope it's not too serious. Take care.

Moshi, how about buying choc or cakes for the teachers. I used to receive photo frame, choc and ornaments which I thought wasn't useful to me. Choc still not too bad, at least I can eat it. This year, think I'll get swiss roll for belle's teachers.

Ky, you can join the girls for the outing since you have a maid. Look at Apricot, she can still join us even with 3 kids. So I believe, it's more of the time management.

Meilan, I read more on non-fiction books. My last book was "Mao Ze Dong". Not sure if that's of interest to you.

wow Serena, very chiem book. Right now, I'm reading 'The undercover Economist' by Tim Harford. Light reading but taking me a long long time.

4chong chong, are you able to get discount on EnfaMama from your friend too or is it limited to kids' formula?

Pris, I miss your posts and food pictures here. Hpe Kai will be better soon. Recently JK and JC have been taking turns to have fever but I can't detect the cause and just forget abt it since they have also taken turns to recover after 1 or 2 days.

Hello Chloe,

Its ok that you miss the post. I also cant remember who need info. What else do u want to know? I can still try answer.

I hv not sign up cos the new intake is in oct, so i cant tell u the facilities till then. There is also no trial class unless they can gather a full class of students who required trial class.

Thanks mommies for sharing your recent readings. I'm into novels, esp those which can help me understand the political climate and/or culture of foreign cultures. However, I tend to reach for parenting books or magazines unless I have ready access to strongly recommended reads. I've been waiting to land my hands on "The Inheritance of Loss" by Kiran Desai but the book is always on loan whichever library I go. Perhaps I should just bother with placing a reservation.

Recently I borrowed a DVD from Bishan Library - "Daughter from Danang". It's a documentary film abt a girl born by a Vietnamese woman and a US soldier who was part of the Baby Lift operation just before US pulled out of Vietnam in the onset of Viet Cong's victory. She was adopted by a US single mum and learnt of her roots in Vietnam in adulthood when her birth mum started to search for her through a voluntary agency. She decided to go back to Vietnam to meet up with her family but what started as an emotional reunion reached a bitter and helpless note at the end of visit due to their differences in culture. It's a sad story that reflected one of the many uncontrollable fates of thousands of people affected by the Vietnam War.

K's mom, what beautiful pictures! You guys must have enjoyed yourselves. Look forward to your post in our shared blog.

Moshi, thought you were going to bake cookies for mel's teachers? My helper suggested baking cornflakes with honey since can't do much with a toaster oven. I may try this weekend and update here.

I can identify with ky completely. I still find it difficult to join outings with both kids in tow, even with my helper. Just today, I flagged a cab after a visit to a friend's house and JK started crying cos he had wanted to take the bus badly. So we took the bus and wasted a lot of time

Perhaps it has to do with one's mentality as well but ever becoming a SAHM, I find myself struggling more than ever if I take time off away from one and especially from both kids unless the outing is related to them eg attending a health or parenting seminar that will benefit them. I know it's unhealthy but I'll be rushing home even if hubby takes leave to give me the time off just to relax. It's different when I took leave when I was working as those were my entitlements and I didn't have to inconvenience anyone by disrupting the routine childcare arrangement.

Sherlyn, have you registered us on 15 Sep gym trial? I am still keen. Please also help check the appropriate attire - I presume T-shirt and shorts will do and they won't be wearing shoes during the practise? Thanks in advance.

Hi Meilan,

i will be calling them in the afternoon tmr when the kids nap. There will be 5 of us, me, you, worry mum, CMT and my friend. I will chk wif them the attire, then update you guys again. Sorry for the delay.

sherlyn

Got this info from a little booklet at the library. Can download the booklet from the following website. Not sure if this is annual but it seems like a celebration thingy that ties with childrens' day. There is a 40min "program" for age 2 to 4, which i m interested, call Tick and Tock. Not sure if anyone is interested.

http://www.esplanade.com/Octoburst/

Dempsey Road .. no public transport access right? Ben and Jerry .. no playground right? If so, i may not be able to eat in peace. The "playground" next door is indeed pretty expensive. Explorakid is only charging $8 per hr.

Kris mum,

What beautiful sceneraries.. wish I were there with you..

#2 bug? Oh no, I told Benny it's just roaches with different leg length. Haha..

Meilan...go to our shared blog, I uploaded some food photos there or you can go to my blog. Send me a pm and I add you to my private blog.

Meilan, same same to your last paragraph. When dh offer to watch over them in Toys R us for me to shop, i cant concentrate .. so i will rush bak within an hour ..

hi serenade,
i've been to bambini once. its pretty much like explorer kids. it's $15 unlimited time during weekdays, so i guess if you stay for a few hours it is actually quite reasonable.

hi sherlyn,
thanks, i'll probably pop by and ask them to show me around before i decide to sign up.

hi ladies ... can change to 31th Aug (Fri) coz Ben has no school that day?

Serena
Whether as a SAHM or a WOHM, I've decided to be hands-on mummy. Though I know my helper is capable of handling 2 kids, I try not to put getting out on my own as a priority; though I know my kids would enjoy and go wild with her, she'll be realy tired and I think that's unfair to her coz she doesn't have the luxury to rest whenever she wants to and I figure she'll be busy preparing dinner and doing household chores after the kids are done being "feng" with her. As far as I can recall, I can only remember one time that they were left alone on a schoolday with her, and I think hubby had to fetch Ben from school that day. That was bcos I had to go for a talk that I've wanted to go to alot. But besides that, I've always bring one out and leaving one at home to be jaga.

Each has her own priorities. Perhaps Apricot has her ils to help, hm, or perhaps I should learn from her coz 3 boys ... unthinkable! Apricot?

I've not have zero help from family which explains why I've deemed a helper a neccessity rather than a luxury item, and so I try not to abuse it, and it really helps when we've to bring 1 kid to hospital and do not want the other one around in case of germs. Just 2 nights ago, I had to bring my helper to the clinic and I wanted hubby to go since we 2 can probe into her condition, we had to stand outside the clinic slinging K while we waited but luckily neighbour was in and could babysit B.

11am is not a good timing ... I can make it in the afternoons when it's quite hasslefree to bring B out... but I think that's the timing that Sarah/Moshi can make it ... aiya, I do meet frens in the afternoon but hardly...

There's a lot of mummies here whom I peifu too, like Chloe.... don't think I can manage per what she said she's doing. bravo, chloe!

ML, I don't see taking bus as a waste of time. In fact, that's my preferred mode of transport. I'm not a cab person coz (1)expensive coz I'm in ulu CCK & going anywhere is costly and (2)I do not like the way cab drivers drive.... Kids love taking buses ... they take in the sights and experiences that we've taken granted all our lives, like pressing the bell, or standing like an adult and being able to sit on the highest seat in the bus. I've been fetching 2 kids back from school every Friday lately, B's gf and him and I see a drastic difference - B's able to manage on his own but I can see the girl's apprehensive with every movement of the bus... so don't take it as a waste of time ... I'm exactly like u in terms of the struggling, though I wouldn't say it's a struggling ... just a challenge in life that we choose to put ourselves thru' :>

Sherlyn, I'm looking at the tick n tock session ... if get 4 tixs (of 2 A & 2 C, each would be 16.25), I'm thinking coz K can't get in coz he's under 2 and I'm not willing to declare him as abv 2 and pay for another tix ... tickets are so expensive these days, it's as if parents are printing money at home *sigh*

hey, if u gals r there on 15 Sep, let me know ... then I'll go too. We can chill out at the gallery and watch how the kids do ... Chloe, nothing to show around, u can watch it anytime u want from the gallery ... better to let C try coz u may like wat u see but she may not ...

.ky.

Hi Sherlyn, what's the min number of children to start a trial class? It's at clementi yamaha right? I would be interested for both my kids and if we can gather enough to request for one? Just wondering...

ML

Me too would prefer to take public transport rather than cab. Mostly because my kids love taking trains and buses. Benny would complain of waiting time for cab. And since they asked for it, they will have to behave while taking it.

ky
you're one of the mums whom I peifu. Not only the way you handle kids but also things you did with your kids. You're always full of ideas to keep them occupied and attract their attention.

ky, at least you can choose whether to leave your kids with your helper or not. For me, it's not a choice as JK and esp JC absolutely refuse to be left alone with her. So no enrichment programme is possible unless everyone goes along. Just as well since our policy is not to leave any of our kids alone with the helper as far as possible but I do sometimes wonder how to free up more of my time as I'm now as tied up as before the helper came.

Bus, I love to take buses too and save on cab fares. But with JC around, I just want to get from Point A to Point B asap as she's totally restless on the bus, and would even insist on lying on the floor! I thought JK was hyperactive enough but I really don't know what to do with JC thesedays. She would climb up and down everywhere, showing JK new tricks (not the other way round). Her lastest favourite is to climb over the coffee table and dining table (both glass tops which must be really cooling for her) and lie there. Maybe I should send her for gym too. Mommies, tell me if your no.2 is like that too.

Joanne,
I think a lot of mummies are managing very well alone ... think I can do better, sometimes should take it easy or relax ... getting a bit tense lately.

Meilan,
K likes to climb onto the coffee table with glass top too. And he'll tumble over from an ikea arm chair to sofa, or try to dangle from the glass dining table too. I allow him to do it if it looks safe, eg the tumble over, but not climbing onto the glass top. It's just a phase that they'll outgrow. I assume that it's bcos they are bored and hence they've to occupy themselves with something ... like us, eg some of us (me for instance doesn't like to stand in queue so I'm always armed with a book for eg)... if u think like that, then try to do something simple to keep them occupied, eg do a puzzle, watch an educational show, play a ball, ride the tricyle, play masak, build some blks, dance around, or re-do the activities that WI has done ... as long as they are kept busy, they'd not want to climb up & down or do something that u forbid them to do. It takes a while for your kids to want to be left alone with someone else. they've been with u all their lives ... n i'll give my helper a list of things to do with the child and ask how it goes when I'm back, and she knows that she should do something sensible with the child and not let him create havoc

try bringing JC to playground ... no need gym at this age. try letting her climb the chain ladder, climb UP the slides, walk up & down the steps, walk along an edge (balancing skills). now K's trying to swing on the bar like his bro and runs around playing catching with whoever there's there. And btw, K's more violent at play then B, eg he'll really bounce up and down at the see-saw.

.ky.

Teachers' Day gift, just bought a few bottles of new zealand honey and dolling them before handing them out. ;) only $5 per bot and good for teachers' hoarse throat ;)

Meilan, cornflakes with honey, Mel did that with the sch to give to parents on parents' day. Easy n yummy.

Sherlyn
Big thank you to u for picking up the stuff from daiso, i can;t wait to start experimenting with them.

Join us for Benjerry? Cab there? we can bring books or the doodle board to keep the kids occupied.

Let's Lunch
Dempsey Road
3 Sep Mon
11am

1. Sarah
2. Moshi
3. Chloe
4. Serenade
5. Jpooh
6. Apricot??

Hi moshi, I was considering honey for the teachers too. There's a BP on at $4.50 for 80g jar comes in pouch. Is honey considered halal huh?

Hey good idea on honey for Teachers day. Moshi, where did you get your honey from? I think I need one too. Resting at home today.

Jan, my girl's teachers are also Muslim. I think some brands of honey are certified halal. Btw, do you give honey for every teacher or just the teacher incharge of her class?

Kristin mom, What stupendous view!!! I suppose you love every minute of it! Btw, what is SLR that you mention in your post?

Ky, I think Apricot is very capable too. I really wonder how she cope with 3 kids and still has time for other things.

Jpooh, the book is very interesting. It gives me an insight to how China develop during that era. Believe me, once you read it you can't put it down. The other book I've finished was the "Korean War". Also another interesting read.

Hi Serena, I give to all teachers becoz they do look after all the children, being a full day childcare. And since both my kids are there. Usually just a token of appreciation, nothing ex$. Think will get something else for the muslim teachers if not halal, not so nice.

Hi moshimoshi, what's the weight of the honey u bought? Don't know if 80g is too small. The next size in the Bp is 250g.

jan n serena
i bought the honey from a pushcart at Junction 8, 3 for $15, not sure abt the weight as i left the bottles at my mom's place. It's a decent size and can be nicely presented with a self-made gift tag. Just borrowed a book on finger printing, saw some lovely flowers in it, gonna try it out;)

serena
mao ze dong, korean war? u are quite a history buff! I am only good at devouring stacks of fashion mags, haha.

serena,
what u teach? Wow.. ya..agreed with moshi, very history stuff. Hey, u simply talented in baking ya, from a zero..to a baker? Yeah, U did it.

Sherlyn,
using oven to bake??? wow.. thumbs up, must pop in one of this day see how u do it.. hehe..
Me too.. thinking to invest into oven.. but wonder how often i can bake.

Joanne,
Agreed with u.. many mummies here I really peifu and salute to them. Unlike me.. so lazy and not talented at all.
Regret for not study hard when young.

Moshi, haha..yes I'm into history.

Worry mum, my parents used to say i'm Jack of all trades but master of none. It means I only know abit about everything and nothing indepth!! I kind of agree with them. Feel so sad. You know it did cross my mind to bring some cakes for you but not sure if you mind. After all some are really my first attempt.

Joanne, is Benny better? Recovering well?

Joanne: good to see Benny is recovering well. take care

Serenade: my cough is still bad, my girl also got it from school. Lots of mucus but cannot cough out...

wow the micky biscuits look so yummy, if it is given to me i will she bu de to put it into my mouth.
Apricot; wow you really capable can handle 3 boys and got time for yourself.
joanne: how is benny??
this week i am so busy and stressed up with work, for the last few days no opportunity to tuck my kids to bed so sad

Emily, haahaa, those are bake by Kai.
As a working mum, sometimes it is hard to be home at the dot. There are pros and cons for both wftm and sahm.

Singapore Teachers' day is celebrated this coming Friday and actual day is on the 1st September but in Canada it is celebrated in May.

Serena, you can become a professional cake maker. It is a very good for a beginner.

Serena

The books you read... try it on me and I'll be snoring before you hit page 2. Even the term your parents use on you are so chim.. My parents only describe me as "bua tang sai" or "bua tang zui" heehee.. they're both not highly educated so that is the only term they can use on me.

Benny complained of pain in his neck earlier today but I'm quite sure it needs no immediate medical attention as it's neither swollen nor red, no fever and movement of head still ok. Still not eating well but managed to gain 400 grams since last discharge.

4chongchong

Sorry to trouble you again thru and fro to fetch the dvd player. Hope C loves the mighty mind game.. Really love the way you tie her hair. I've always wanted to have a gal.. can dress her up nicely, tie her hair with different cutie ornaments.. But I'm not going to take the bet.. what if bb turns out to be a boy again?? I'll faint!

Hope you're feeling much better now.

Hi Jan,

If I did not remember wrongly, they need 10 "students" to start a trial. anyway it is really tough. Hv to spent $400 to let him try first term .. that is alot of money leh, but then, i sometimes think that, only one lesson of trial, cant tell much.

ya clementi yamaha. Sorry, both your kids within age 4 to 6?

ky, agree what you say leh. everythg is so expensive, esp when it is same price for kids, and i m not even sure my kids will like it or not, and if i hv to walk out when one kid "make noise" then i waste 3 tickets (if lets say i bring them alone weekdays .. dh not really interested in all these)

i also looking at the same program but the 2pm timing. hopefully my girl will not fall asleep if i do sign up for that timing. must convince dh first .. he not v interested *sigh*

I think u can bring ben, then let dh walk ard with maid and keith since it is only 40 minutes. they 3 of them can go take a bumble boat ride hehe.

ML,

me and kids really love taking bus and MRT (more on bus), but i do agree that sometimes we really want the conveniece of going from pt A to pt B direct.

my kids used to be like your no 2 .. restless in bus ..always asking if we are there yet, when to press bell etc .. but luckily my mother is ard with me at those times .. we just distract them with wat we see outside, from the different cars zooming below us (bus usually higher view) to the machineries used in constructions along the roads, else just keep scolding haha .. i also try treats, if well behaved, they get something like ice creams, ribena sweets etc when we are at the destination.

now better, i can bring them home in public transport from the zoo :) and i kind of like the journey with them

Worry mum,

come see me ? sure or not? think u shd place your bets on the well seasoned bakers in this thread leh .. else you only see a fumbling me and the failed end product. So far those recipes i tried, thou edible, but do not look like whats printed on the picture leh ..

the oven is a lucky draw prize of my mom years ago but not a very good one, it is only now that is put to good use. We try to bake twice a week and i like to try my hands on different things instead of just sticking to the same recipe.

i was told that oven are not too expensive now .. maybe u can buy one, then try baking with your boy during weekends ..one boy only, think quite easy to manage bah.

Moshimoshi,

dun mention. I love gog to diaso, but i always do not hv the time to do alone .. and i rather not ask dh's help.

I have not decided on 3rd sept .. will kiv till the day is nearer.

my dh's company asked him to buy his family a meal to compensate for his frequent travellings ..so we hv to use it this coming weekend .. i hv not decide on where to go (you hv any good recommendation of brunch that serves international buffet?) .. if it is town and you are gog too, i can pass them to u .. else maybe one of these days before the duck tour, if u are gog suntec, can let me know, cos dh work there, i can find chance to go shopping there and meet u to pass u the stuff.

hilton has brunch on sunday with kids corner.
Four Seasons, Roxy Mercure & Hyatt too!! But do call them to double confirm.

Serena,
Look at my size.. of course I will not mind the 1st attempt products. hmm...Looking forward..
Envy u too..

Joanne,
Ops, dear, Benny complain pain!! Please keep round the clock monitoring of Benny's neck.. kinda worried..haiz.

Sherlyn,
Yes, Sure!!.. No problems lah, we learn together mah.. BTW, not only oven leh, still got the mixer to invest.
Wow.. ur HB's boss is so good.. so envy..

hi ladies, allow me to vent a little of my frustrations here. Recently, a fren gave birth to preemie twin girls - her 4th birth. The girls were over 1kg and needed to be in ICU. I've asked and she said she needed to produce enough milk for her girls and needed a pump. I tried to find for her but in the meantime she went out to get a medela pump e+. then when I speak to her again, she said needed a more powerful pump and I said I've asked and a mother from this forum (another thread) is willing to lend a more powerful pump - PIS. A nice mother coz I've never met her but only chatted online. I gave my fren the contact a few days ago. I even went around gathering glass bottles for this fren whom I've known for more than 20 yrs. I've just received an sms from someone who said that my fren's said that I have a PIS to lend and she would like to borrow.

How do you feel when you read such an SMS? I'm disappointed with my fren ... if she doesn't need it, shouldn't she have the courtesy to inform me and/or my fren and in my opinion, she shouldn't pass on the news that someone she doesn't know and she knows that I don't know the person very well has something to lend ... I'm very pro-bfing but I know how personal and expensive a PIS is and it should be lend to good frens .... that's why I said the mummy's very nice, bcos it's based on the situation that I've described that she's willing to lend! I'm so sad with my fren ... can't believe how things are taken for granted ... sorry, sounds like a small matter and I've become very ah-soh...such frens have let me down b4 but I still try to help if i can... sometimes I wonder why I still keep doing things for these frens *sigh*

.ky.