(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Hi K's mom
Missing u lots here. Fill me in on Tuscany!
Glad that Bryan got the card, was worried if the mail would go MIA.
My sis who's in eygpt tells me not to mail anything to her! I guess the postal system in Europe can be trusted more.

Hi Emily
Hey don;t worry abt those post-natal fats, they will go away in a few months, more important to eat healthily and enjoy yr beautiful kids

Hi Joanne
Ur hub is car crazy too? Mine has lotsa car parts in his office to resell in the forum. Mostly suzuki stuff. And when he's on the road, he can spot the make of the car from a distance. and then go" look at this XXX, hybrid, made in XXX, fuel consumption not too bad, blah blah blah." Interesting to learn but most of the time i pretend i heard what he said, haha.

Hi K's mom, welcome back! Tuscany is the country side right? lotsa photos pls ...

I think DOM's quite good but coz I'm still bf, I'm kinda tired figuring out when I can drink it... I take chicken essense if I really feel tired. But somehow I think it helps the mind, not the body :>

.ky.

ky, I should update you. Our friend, A have just got another maid as she and her dh really found it too stressful. I feel really bad she has to start all over again but am quite surprised they decided so quickly before trying other options eg having a regular part-time helper. I can only send my helper back to help train hers on and off. Apparently, her dh could not lower his standards after being so used to having a helper. This is something my hubby and I keep reminding myself, not to set our expectations on the helper so high that we will be handicapped when we let her go.

As for early termination of domestic helper, I think there is a clause in the contract to protect the helper's interest, at least in mine. If we terminate her for our own reasons and not her wrongdoing, we will have to let her choose whether to go home (which we have to buy her ticket) or to help her find another employer, until which we have to keep her. Maybe a transfer maid is in a better position to be treated fairly. I feel very sorry for those still paying off loans as they basically have no rights. My helper told me that while waiting around for an employer at the agency, they only get one meal a day at 8pm and it's plain instant noodles! How unethical agents here can be. I simply can't believe it!

Joanne,
Dont forget me ya.... I also wanna master the art of "fat transfer qi gong" HAHAHAHA

Emily,
really no worries.. me too Very big size mummy

moshimoshi
my hubby is a dealer in whatever that has wheels.. cars, lorries, bikes etc etc..He has always been interested in auto machines and same thing, has been blah blah blah on make and model, fuel consumption etc. I used to entertain him abit by nodding and reply issit??? Now, I'll just smile and turn away. Has been hearing that for coming 7 plus yrs. Till now, I can only differentiate the colours.. hehe..

Welcome back K's mom
Nice to see your long posting again. Easy on laundries and house chores. Aching neck and shoulders can stay for days.

My back used to ache alot and went to a "die da" physician. Told me it's caused by pregnancy and labour which I didn't "bu" enough during my confinement so nothing much to do except having enough rest and prevent overstraining job.

Hi serena, sarah, glad to hear that we are in the same boat! (hehee!!) Already got problem with reading, writing is beyond me. During one of my gal's worksheet from the chinese teacher to write down the household chores she helps with, wanted to write wash bowls, change bed sheet but don't know how to write 'wan(3)' = bowl, 'huan(4)' = change. shame shame...
. There was once, trying to remember how to write 'jiao(3)' (leg) and need my 5 yr old son to teach me. Hopeless!

Jan,

invest in a small pocket size zi dian, less than $10. I bought mine a few months back. At least I won't "malu" myself when Benny ask me. I can speak well but can't read and write. Have to rely alot on Hanyu Pinyin.

Haha joanne, Benny's into creepy crawlies?
They all look the same to me, 3 legs, and feelers, except that they've got weird colours and some look like they've got only 1 or 2 body parts.
I am only afraid of cats ;)

moshi
ya, he likes the toys very much and knowing that I hates and very afraid of lizard.. he'll throw one of the lizard toy at me and never fail to make me jump. Then he'll be happy like what, laughing with his brother and dad.. But I always take my revenge on him by showing him the real roaches. He'll run for his life. haha..

just checked my insects chart, i think u can safely say that they're different kinds of beetles/waterbugs: golden buprestid beetle, african goliath beetle (largest known insect).

Hi Joanne, got that already after malu myself and proudly told my kids when I bought it. Now when they ask me, I say 'heheeh mummy check zidian'.

Hi CMT, I've just completed the min hours of PV liao - yea! It's for my elder son (year 2002). The popular schools are already taking in PV for kids born in 2003 early this year so you'd better check with your choice school. sigh...what a rat race.

Hi joanne, at least you dare to show the real roach. I'll be screaming and running away already! And my kids now mirror my reaction. *opps!* My kids love these small plastic toys too, esp when they were younger. My son is v interested in dinosaurs so like you, have to go research for dino names. Learning never stops hor....huo dao lao, xue dao lao.

Kristin mom, glad to see you online again. Shall I post the dress to you? I worry by the time you are back, Kristin probably outgrown it.

Moshi, you really make a good teacher!!

Ky, why you need to let go of your maid? She's giving you problem? To be frank, maids will still be outsiders no matter how well you treat them. I'm speaking from past experience. My previous filipino maid got everything she wanted from me but in the end, when she's about to leave for good, she gave me hell!! I learn the hard way. Now, I treat my maid fairly and according to market practice. I'm more wary now and I don't treat her exceptionally well incase my family get hurt again. Btw, you're still a sexy momma!

Sherlyn, for FTWM Saturdays are more like family time for me, so I try not to cram too much enrichment for my child. I prefer family time. Pls go ahead without me. Thanks. I'm also into baking craze recently. Eating and trying out different cakes. You should go to this website, "Happy Homebaking" I tried afew of her receipes with great success. I still have problem with sponge cake though.

Hi moo87,
Can I have the contact pls? My hubby has gone to the one at Meiling street twice but it doesn't seems to work. Heehee, I think he got a pretty high threshold for pain. Wouldn't worry for him as long as it works

Hi Emily,
Looks is the last thing you should worry about! Especially when you delivered just not too long ago. We are not having a beauty contest or membership here. And seriously, I am already finding it difficult to look good with 2 kids when we are out. And you have 3 to take care! So, do join us for the gatherings or outings if you can.

Hmm, I'm still thriving without a maid, hehe. Same reasons as yours. But sometimes I do feel like succumbing to the temptation. Like what ky says, it does make life easier, especially with housework. But then I'm also very well aware that a maid is always a stranger and outsider no matter what. Whenever I hear my mom complains about her maid, I'm really glad I don't have one. :p Of course, I do see some with nice helpers. Met Ky's helper twice and she does help to look after Keith well. But I'm not willing to gamble my sanity for one yet.

When I have to climb all the way up to clean my ceramic walls and windows, I'll long for a maid but we can't afford one. Having to be SAHM needs alot of sacrifice.. no spa, no facial, no high tea in hotel etc..etc. With single income, we really have to tighten our wallets, and not forgeting Benny's medical expenses. I think, even if we can afford one, I would have doubt too. I prefer to have lots of privacy when I'm having fun with my kids as we can be really hysterical in play. Don't think I want an outsider to see that side of me and call me a "feng po".

We went for medical review today and we had both good and bad news.

Good news, the colour contrast x-rays shows that the tract is still attached to the throat. So when he was asked to drink the colour contrast, it seeped to his neck thru the hole and that is the source of recurrence.

Bad news, he had to go through another exploration of neck surgery. Tract which needs to be removed cannot be seen easily therefore, surgeon expect it to be an extensive one with her HOD Dr Jacobson's presence. It will be an 3hrs op with blood prepared for emergency and risk is about the same as the previous.. his voice's nerve and artery *sigh*

Surgery has been fixed on 6th Sept due to her HOD's tight schedule but she is trying to arrange for an earlier date. Cyst in Benny's neck can swell very fast so she would want to do something before it got infected again. I was given her direct number in clinic, if signs of infection is present, she would want to carry out the surgery immediately under emergency arrangement.

Right now, I'm kind of having mixed feelings. Happy that they found the tract on film, worried that they might not find it during surgery and sad that he will have to go thru the painful process again.. When we arrive at KKH's carpark, he wanted me to promise him that we're only going to 1st storey that is the doc's clinic and not 5th storey (ward)

hello K's mom, Nice to hear from you again. However I think I still cant access to your blog .. so .. hee hee pretty please do something (when you settle your hsework) so that i can also see the beautiful pictures .. meantime, rest well too ..

Serena, thanks for the website .. wao looks like i will hv lots of baking to try ... Agree that family time is indeed more impt ... so that is y till now, my kids have not attend any enrichment classes at all. But it seems that we often has a problem of "entertaining" the kids in the evening and night time for the weekend so I thot nice to find some "fix" program so that i know they will be entertained. haha

oh serena .. the happy homebaking blog is so wonderful ... now i hv another blog to read .. less sleeping time .. gog to try the bento! so pretty.

hi mummies, thanks so much for the comfort at least if i got the time and opportunity i will plurge out some courage to join in. i am really over weight till some colleagues ask me go marie france or expression . btw dieting is a norm in my dept, therefore i am at times very stressed being with them. most of my colleagues are very slim and particular / paranoid over weight matter. actually i put on weight not only because of pregnancy but also due to thyroid problem.
joanne, did you seek second opinion re: benny case . at times i simply cannot trust KK doin a good job, i really feel so heart ache to read benny cyst keep recurring.
i always think being as sahm , i will lose my earning power, wonder how i will lower my pride to ask hubby for money if i am a sahm.
the mummies in this thread are so fanastic, can cook, can bake , can draw and do art work. me at times cook porridge can be even burnt. i dun how to bake and also not creative. really need to enrol myself to some cooking course otherwise my husband will leave me as i could not satisfy his stomach

me just came back from company d & d , so tiring. good night, will try to come in as often. to me reading the forum is a way to de-stressed.

Hi Serena, no lah, not letting go of my helper. Just trying to share on how much a helper can help with family life, esp to Emily. You are a very pretty momma yourself too :>

Serenade, agree that a helper is a stranger and getting a good one is 101% based on luck. But unlike family, you can choose another one if u don't get a good one, or go back to managing on your own if it doesn't work out. My helper loves my boys more than my mother/ILs put together. You can't return family if you don't like them and I recently am contemplating how to minimize contact with 1 of them (not my mother nor ILs), even contemplated cutting all ties with him ... a long long story, but even my hubby who's really a nice guy think he's a "huai ren"... anyway, that's off-topic.

Joanne, get a part-time maid. Our health is impt - it may not look so now but think abt it, do you want your kids to worry abt u when u r old (esp when u have health problems that accumulated when u r young)? hm ... i better think abt that too ... btw, I'm a "feng po" too and I think my helper knows and she sort of take after my style liao.

Reg Benny, it's with KKH that the ops will be conducted at? So they found the source which is the hole u mentioned? I thot it'll be patched as u said before? Or just removing another tract? Why was it not seen before? What did the specialist at Mt E said abt this? sorry for so many questions, know u r troubled by the entire matter ... but just questioning is this to "duan gen" or just another round of what's been done before?

Emily, don't mind me asking, wat line r u in and whr is ur office located? Working women tend to have a good purchasing power and tends to influence each other to spend more on oneself ... I find.

.ky.

Serena: I am waiting for a reply from my friend, will keep you posted yeah.

Jan: hope you will like the service there, let me know if you think that Aussie guy is "cute"
I have toysrus card, but when are you going?

Any kids are learning swimming now? My girl just started her first swimming lesson at Aquaducks, and she loves it! We started to bring her to pool when she was 6 months and we know she is a water baby. However for so many years in the pool, she will never submerge her head in the water, and guess wat, for the first lesson, the coach submerged her head at least 3 times and she is fine, in fact she is so proud of herself! When my husband came back from work, she told her daddy the first thing when she saw him!

sigh.. back in my office this morning at 730am! working till 2pm today... !

Serena: my friend just called me, there're two types of Pedisure, one with Probiotic, and one without, both comes in Vanila or Choc favour.
For the one without probiotic, it's 27.40, and the one with is 30.45. After 10% discount ( she told me Guardian only allows 5 to 10% discount due to small profit margin ) , it will be 24.70 or 27.40.

let me know if you keen.

for Enkafids +, it's 44.35, so after discount will be 39.90, Serenade: is this the one B is taking, I cannot remember which type C is taking, too confused with so many diferent Enfa range.

4chongchong, I calculated that I can save $6.80 for 4 tins. I need the one without Probiotic, vanilla flavour. Can I order from you end Aug? Actually pretty soon because today already mid Aug. Do you mind to send me your contact via email? I'll sms you when the date is near. Btw where to collect?

Meilan, is amulet from Japan? I heard there are many of these in Japan. Did you get it for Joanne in Japan? Do you want me to get for you since I'm going Japan?

Serenade, what time is your gym trial class? I think Monday is ok for me. Any class for adults? Ha.. I think I should join one.

Joanne, did the doctor says whether this final ops will completely cure Benny?

Sherlyn, glad you like the website. What I like about the website is she actually has a cooking conversion tool. For example if you don't have measuring cup, it can convert for you to grams using weighing machine. Some of the receipes are so good! Try the chocolate swirl cheese cake. I have post it in our shared blog. Fantastic! You can imagine I spend so much on butter and sugar. Very fun... for a novice like me, I can actually bake 10 times and succeed 8 times.

thanks serena, happy homebaking is a gem! I am very impressed! The hello kitty bento is so kawaii, any idea where to get such lunch boxes??
Hey we can let the kids make a bento like that during one of our future parties!Guaranteed they will polish off every single bit in the pretty box. Hello kitty ok with boys?

The triple orange cupcakes is so brilliant! An idea for our CNY gathering?

Apricot, check out the pooh n piglets cookies!

If i have a talent like that mommy, i will be selling those stuff online. envious envious!

I'm also reading happy homebaking now ... the mother's in HK.

ML, gave an update on the passport photo update process in my blog ... rough day for me and only 50% done.

.ky.

Hi Joanne. Thanks for updating us abt Benny. Really hope that this surgery will eradicate his neck problem. Will be praying for him.

Serena, no special amulet for Benny from Japan. Just one from a Buddhist temple here that I go often. Talking of Buddhist temples, there is one near the old Outram Institute where there is a century-old bodhi tree that may have to make way for development. People including nature-lovers are now petitioning for its preservation. If you are Buddhist or tree-lover, you may want to check it out. t is a very tranquil place and the temple helpers are extremely warm people. JK likes going there just to see the bodhi tree.

Emily, please don't be bothered by what others comment abt your weight and I hope you won't try slimming at those places. If you want to lose weight, try yoga or some exercises but don't depend on beauty salons. A friend was pressurised by her hubby to lose weight day and night for 1 year that she finally signed up for those slimming sessions with machines and radiation. Unfortunately, she soon discovered she was pregnant even though they had used contraception and was advised by doctors that the baby might have been exposed to some risk. After a painful process of deliberation, she finally went for an abortion. What a price to pay for looks! It's extremely heartbreaking and she could not forgive herself though you can say this is fate playing a cruel joke on her.

Serena/moshi,
Mind to share the blog address? TIA.

Joanne,
Thanks for updating on Benny. Stay strong.. Really hope this time the doctor and the HOD can really look into it seriously and treat it. Will be praying too..

Maids - I see them as a short-term solution. Serenade, you probably don't need one if you have managed fine all alone while in France and now that Cheryl is older. As for me, I'm giving myself 2 years and then I probably will go back to having a part-time helper and tingkat dinner this time. Having to cook daily takes all the fun out of cooking compared to cooking for fun, unless you are another Priscilla.

By the way, any mums did some good reads lately? After Kite Runner, I have not been able to find another gripping novel.

ky, i am a nurse in training however currently i am lecturing in ite teaching students to be future nurses. i have to agree that we have a good pay that is why most of my colleague can afford car, LV bags, spa..........but for me now unlike in the past indulging in branded goods, i use my money on children education or bringing kids out for outings or tour. actually i would wish for helper to help house hold chores but really concern of how lucky i am to have a good maid to be a help or turn out to be a burden.

Hi Moshi2 & Joanne,

I think my HB would lov to meet up with yr hbs. His fav hobby.. visit car showrooms, read up n mags n car forumn..

moshi: I know where to get the mould for the bear bear sushi rice. My neighbour has them, and she told me she bought them from Daiso IMM, but that's quite a while ago, so you may want to try Daiso!

Serena: will PM you, i may have to collect and pass to you because my friend works at Compass point, and if you make a special trip there, think money you save also not enough for petrol, haha.. I sometimes go there because my hubby's good friends staying there, so YOu may want to give me enough time to collect them.

Moo87: haha.. my husband also visits car forum everyday ...

Hi Serena,
The pre-level and level 1 start at 7.30pm. Shall we meet there on Monday evening? Gym? I seldom have time to go to the gym. Haiz, must make effort to visit it...

Hi 4ChongChong,
Compass Point is too far for us. Guess we'll get the FM ourselves. Thanks for offering

Hi moo87,
Will lookout for your PM. Thanks.

Hi Meilan,
Cooking is definitely not my cup of tea, hehe. My family has simple tastes and my kids seems to be taking my cooking well. So, no complaints there

Oh yes, now that Cheryl is older, things are much easier. But I guess managing a household without helper depends a lot on one's mindset and the spouse's support. I would consider myself pretty fortunate. Kristin's mom is also doing a great job. So are Joanne, sarah, moshimoshi and the others. Have more confidence in yourself. You are already doing much better than before. So, give yourself a pat on the shoulder

Hi Ky,
Look on the brighter side. At least you can still choose to ignore him. Not that bad after all...

Read your blog. Wow, you have pretty good patience. I'll probably tell that lady to clear the way. And if she does not, maybe get the security guards to help. Hope Ben didn't hurt himself...

Hi Joanne,
Be positive. At least now the doc found the cause of it. This might really be the last op. So, hang on there for a while more...

Hi Emily,
If I'm still working, I'll probably splurge on my kids. Actually, I'm already doing it now. Hardly spends much on myself :p

Moshi moshi,

The bear mould , Daiso IMM still hv them .. saw them this afternoon. I also have one hehe. I even bought another type this afternoon, the longish type. I am even surprise they hv mould for maki (not sure if that shd be the term). The mould helps u to make a long roll of sushi rice where u just "wrap" it up with nori .. do not even need the bamboo mat!

wao ky, u even knew the mother is in HK ... i briefly comb thru her blog and already want to try many recipes .. dun know where to find all the time and the "helpers" who dun mind loosing their waist line to test my bakes.

Serenade, unfortunately, I can only start the trial class in Sept. I quite my teaching only end Aug. So sad, can't join you. Pls go ahead first. Will fix the trial class myself then. Maybe I will see you there in Sept. Who else is there on Monday's class?

Worry mum, you just need to key in "happy homebaking" and I think you will have no problem looking for her blog. When you are in there, try to visit her regular blogs that she visits too. Some are also quite interesting.

Moshi, you are right. Another idea for the kids to be busy with for next gathering.

I wanted to get the pooh bear and mickey mouse cookie cutter but don't know where. Does Daiso sell these too?

4chongchong, I didn't know it was so far. I thought any Guardian outlet would do. I think it would be too troublesome for you if every month I need milk powder you have to go Compass point to collect. Thanks for your help. Think it's ok, I'll just buy from NTUC.

Emily

I did seek 2nd opinion from Dr SL Cheah and his advise would be to continue treatment at KKH. Guess this case is just too troublesome for any surgeon to commit. Dr Chui Chuan Hon, another visiting Senior Consultant at KKH whom I've thought of consulting is also handling a similar case and the patient is coming back for surgery almost every 1 or 2 yrs since yr 199+++. This time round, Senior Consultant and Dr Ong will be in for the surgery so I'll just pray hard that things will turn out right.

serena, Serenade

Guess I really need to be optimistic about it. Once the entire tract of the cyst is removed, recurrence will stop.