(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Care for some homemade masks?

Revitalising mask
Strawberries are a good source of glycolic acid at its source, and make a great pick-me-up mask!

Step 1: Take a handful of fresh strawberries and place in a plastic bag. Mash by squeezing it with hands to a lumpy consistency.

Step 2: Put in 1 tablespoon of yogurt in the bag. Mix.

Step 3: Apply thickly as a mask.

Step 4: As you wash it off with warm water, gently massage it into your skin. You'll feel your skin to be very smooth and even.

Yoghurt mask
The gentle acids in the yoghurt are very good to help restore the natural acid balance of the skin.

Step 1: Use natural, unflavoured yoghurt; you can add honey and/or oatmeal if you like.

Step 2: Apply to face and leave for 10 minutes, before rinsing off with warm water.

Creamy green mask
This mask feels wonderful and does great things to cleanse and hydrate the skin, and acts as a mild exfoliant as well as a mask.

Step 1: Mash 1 tablespoon ripe avocado, add 1/2 tsp honey and mix.

Step 2: Stir in a little almond meal until the whole thing is of a pleasant creamy consistency.

Step 3: Apply to clean skin, leave on for 15-20 minutes and wash off with lukewarm water, massaging gently as you remove to exfoliate the skin.

Avocado & honey moisturising mask
Honey is antiseptic, hydrating and cleanses the pores. However, if you're prone to odd pimples, don't use this before a big night - sometimes its ability to suck impurities out of the skin means you get a zit.

Step 1: Mash up 2 tablespoons avocado, mix with 2 tablespoons honey and 1 egg yolk.

Step 2: Apply for a very rich and moisturizing mask.

More fruit masks
You can also make masks from mashed fruit pulp, alone or mixed with oatmeal and/or honey till you get the right consistency. Good fruit to try:

Tomato: astringent and a good blackhead remover. Pulp it up and mix with oatmeal, or slice and lay on the face on its own.

Apple: grate an apple and mix with honey to make a mask that soothes and heals acne, and makes your skin look great. Strawberry: a good oily skin mask. Pulp it up, smear it on the face, wash off. Makes the skin look soft and fine. A good use for over-ripe or bruised berries.

Avocado: Moisturising. I find it's too oily for my skin, but I've heard good reports from others.
Banana: Also a moisturiser.

Carrot: Grate a carrot, add honey, use as a facial for oily skin. Or you can mash up a cooked one.

Peach: A nice, good-smelling mask for dry or normal skin. Cucumber: On its own, is cleansing, astringent and cooling during hot weather. Juice a cucumber and wipe the juice over the face. It will reduce shine and the appearance of wrinkles.

Hi Moshi,
You tried any of these? The only thing I tried is cucumber and tea bags, hoping to clear dark circles. But it never work. Read somewhere that dark circles is a result of rubbing eyes, allery...Did you read last week's papers that this lady in her 50s swear by yoghurt facial? I have expired yoghurt in my fridge, hoping to try it. Maybe it wont work since it's expired.

Moshi, it's $41++ per person. But I have the Hyatt card so it's 50% discount for me when I dine with 2 persons. Never mind you can go with me then only need to pay $24 nett per person. Our children eat for free. Ha... still cheaper than the Sun & moon, right?

As for home made masks, sounds interesting but my skin got very sensitive after I've done my IPL. So won't dare to try it.

wow, not cheap without the card, and i don;t eat a hell lot.

so serena dear, r u joining us this fri?

sarah darling
did the honey one few nights ago, skin does feel soft aft that, haha, psychologically at least. going to try the yougurt one, i have a friend who's crazy over these masks now, so she shares those concoctions with me, she uses barley powder to mix with honey and swears by it, now she stocks up barley powder bought from chinese medical halls.

cindy ah-soh ;)
so now u can cook up a storm, is it? hahaha i steal pots from my mom, a real cheapo when it comes to kitchenware.

hi serenade,
my hubby's doing his mba, got class on 4aug, that's why i am "stuck" with the 2 girls. and he is out of town till 28jul, so again i have to be the "ahmad" to bring the girls home so cant join the mummies nite out too. sigh sigh...

hi kristin's mom,
i can feel your excitement over the pots and pans. hee hee i am still a tefal user, as a matter of fact i only bought 1 cooking pan when i got married and it is still in use, which shows how "often" i cook hee hee.

hi serena,
have you tendered? i just did recently
that partly explains why i'm here so often these days

<font color="ff0000">wow wow</font>
so many happenings here!!!

just came back from a short break.. Wow.. so many postings just these 3 days. So much to catch up.

Haiz.. Friday night out..sorry..can't make it

As for ND party.. cant confirmed too. Hopefully can make it..

Sherlyn,
Sorry to hear that your DH's grandpa pass away. Do take care yourself and the kids. From your posting, your seems super stressed.. come on.. kids lah.. let them enjoy their childhood time. U too.. had go thru the whole process when u r at their age.. It seems like I have to forgo..my nick.. and pass on to you..

Serena,
Yummy.. buffet.. so envy.. hehe

Chloe,
U too tendered? wow.. wanna be SAHM?

moshi,
sorry, still cant confirm my attendance..

hi serena,
so you are still undecided huh? ha ha yeah ROD mood for me now

hi worrymom,
where did you go for your short trip?
i wanna be SAHM (actually more like a tai tai lah) but cannot afford to, so just hope to have a few weeks break before starting on my new job. hopefully can squeeze in a holiday somewhere

Hi mommies .. not sure if i hv the time to sign on again tonite, but just to update incase i dun, i m gog into msia tmr morning till sunday, so wun hear from me till then.

*sigh* i think i hv caught the flu bug!

sob sob, won't be seeing worrymom on fri?
then next sat ok?

Hey, if i am not wrong, this is ur 2nd trip to Genting this year??? i rem u posted the picture of ur son in Genting on the blog.

hi mommies

Love to join this group. I'm PTWM with 2 kids age 4 & 9. I'm rather old fashion and hope to learn new ideas from you ladies.

Hi. Looks like I've really lost touch here. Thanks Sarah and moshi for updating me abt the outings knowing that I don't log in often.

Actually I've been bogged down by some family problems as my mum is very unhappy with our helper even though she meets her at most once a week. I dread talking to my family and relatives now as they will harp on how I must not let my helper take advantage of me etc etc as if we have nothing else to talk abt. I know they mean well but I'm really exasperated with the situation. It took us so long to finally get a helper and become "independent" since my siblings have not been very happy that I was still relying on my parents to some extent after becoming a sahm. I was very stressful without a helper but now it's a different kind of stress altogether. Sometimes I wished I was living abroad like k's mum so that my mum can quit fretting over me like I'm still a baby. Anyone has advice on how to handle mum's nagging abt maid without worsening the bad blood?

Anyway, we will not be joining the national day gathering afterall. Hubby is going for THREE weeks reservist in Aug and like to rest over the weekends. He's v miserable abt being arrowed a hi-key at this age esp since his old unit has been dissolved and he doesn't know how his fate will turn out in the new unit. I'm also v miserable thinking abt how I can't expect him to take over the kids in the evenings.

As for mommies night-out, I don't have the luxury lah. If anything, can only go out during mid-morning when JK's in sch.

Hi jpooh. Welcome. We will have a lot to learn from you since your older kid is already 9. You may want to tell us more abt your kids so that we could add you to our chart of who's who here.

Homemade ice-cream

Wanted to post this in our blog but haven't got round to uploading the pics. I read this somewhere and tried it out with JK. Just make some milk and freeze it with cut fruits into bits eg strawberries. It turned out to be more like sorbet but tasted quite nice anyway. Something as simple and mess-free as this, I can still handle with JK

My dad went home this pm, yeah... thank God he is fit for discharged today. He will be resting at home till his hip operation in 2 weeks time!

Guess wat... my little princess is running a fever again! Can you believe it??? she just recovered from her fever two weeks ago, and now she got the flu bugs from my helper. My helper was sick last weekend, and because I was too busy with my dad in the hospital, had no choice but to leave C with my helper, and now she is coughing and running a fever!

and worst thing is... we suppose to go to Club Med Bintan tomorrow am!!!! Now still thinking if we should continue with our trip!! We organised this trip about 2 months ago, it's a group gathering with my hubby secondary schoolmates & wifes & children, total of 11 adults and 8 kids! Feel bad if we last min cancel the trip... continue to pray for God's healing on my little C!

Chloe: wat a coincidence, our girl has the same name and my C also very tall, she is the tallest in her class!

to mummies.. sorry cannot join you all for the mummies night out on Friday, unless we are not going to Club Med, then I will contact Serenade!

Hi Meilan

What's with your maid that your family are not happy with? In fact, my in-laws changes 2 maids and now with no maid since my fil could do everything on his own after recovering from 2 strokes. All I can say is that my in-laws and eldest bil are super fussy people which I could not live under the same roof with them for long, and good thing is that Kai and I only stayed with them for like 2 weeks before we left for Vancouver. And when I went back for breaks, I stay at my mum's place.

4ChongChong...glad to know that your dad is discharge and resting at home.

Chloe, thin your girl and my boy are born on the same day in September.

Finally, I'm free to drop a post. With Bryan back home, I'm back to busy mum again. Didn't realise that I'm enjoying easy life when Bryan was with my ILs.

Mummies nite out? Sorry.. Don't think I'll be able to make it. No babysitter available.

<u>Happy Birthday S'pore</u>
Attendence: 1A 2C
Will be bringing Bryan along this time and I've got their National Day attire ready.. hehe..

as for food, can I cater sometime to be delivered over instead of homemake? I don't think I can carry anything else with 2 hands fully occupied with the 2 Bs. any suggestions?

Meilan, if you think your maid is good, don't bother what other people say. After all, she's helping you,not them. Just tell your mom, nobody's perfect. As long as she meets your basic requirements, other things she needs to close her eyes to it. If not, you can change maid every month and she still won't be happy. you mum must understand maids come from a different culture and country with different background. If they are 100% efficient, 100% hardworking, very clever, tip-top, don't think they need to leave their country and work as a maid.

moshi,
wow.. ur memory didnt fail u. Yes, but already 3rd times this year.. more to come..Cos got promotion.. buy 1 night free 1 night.
And Benjamin loves the rides there... but this time round a bit bored for him.. cos he already tried all rides for his age. No choice lah, my mum looking after him wanted to go for relax with other relatives, so I need to take leave to look after B, so must well go together with them.

4Chong,
Yippie....wishes your dad speedy recovery. And may your holiday comes true.

hi 4chongchong,
glad to know your dad is on the road to recovery.

i hope my c wont be too tall, otherwise hard to find bf next time hee hee :p more so she looks kinda mature for her age, people have been asking if she is 2 yr old (& she is not even 17mos yet)!

hi priscilla,
hey your boy is also born on 15 sep? i gave birth in Thomson, do you happened to be my next door neighbour in labour? :p

hi joanne,
i admire you can handle your 2Bs on your own. i get a little jittery to bring my 2Cs out alone....any tips?

hello meilan
happy to hear fr u again, sorry to hear abt the maid problem but don;t fret too much, and trust that things will work out eventually. Think about the free time u will get and the quality time u can spend w ur kids and the 'me' time when u can fully trust the maid, then joining us for mommies nite will be very possible;)

rem to post about the ice cream freeze thing, i wanna try too!

hi pris
so we have 3 Sep babies here, Kai, Chloe n Mel, anymore? How do u usu celebrate Kai's bday?

hi 4chongchong
hope u are on ur way to clubmed by now.

hi worrymom
u lucky woman, sneaking in short trips every now and then, i can;t believe Ben is already bored with the rides! My mel only did the merry-go-round at the indoor theme park, we find it too expensive to pay for the outdoor one.

Hi Serena,
You not joining us on Fri? It's the company that matters, never mind if its Japanese food... anyway, we have yet decide on restaurant. Come la.

Hi Moshi & Chloe,
You gals can consider celebrating the girls' bdays together. Then we have another reason to get-together.

moshi,
My Benjamin is another Sept bb.
We bought the annual passport for all the 3 parks unlimited rides, is more worth then paying each rides/visit.

kao_welcome2.gif
welcome jpooh
kao_welcome2.gif

4chongchong... glad to hear of your dad's good news. the flu bug must be pretty strong. my family is recovering from it and we've to keep telling b to stop being so close with k.

moshi/sarah/serenade ... u lucky gals. wanted to join u this time finally but realize that fri, there's a pri scl open house, just beside my estate. it opens in the evening & we've make plans to check it out.

meilan, u said your mum is "very unhappy" with your helper? How comfortable are u in leaving your helper alone for that day that u r out each week?

U said u r happy with her, just not happy nor wanting to discuss your relatives' views of her. Then simply trust your own instincts, give your helper your trust and have her manage it alone. Do not give your relatives a chance to make any deal out of it. Plenty of families are forced to leave their helper alone with their young kids at home everyday. I do that quite a bit too n I'll rather trust my helper than get my own mother or MIL to babysit them while I'm out. I never get anyone in to babysit from the start so that was a stand I maintained.

Show your relatives that you are capable of being independent... sometimes u just tried so hard to make those around you happy that you make yourself miserable. what for? yes, do try to get along with them but when u see that u have done your best but u still get criticized, then forget it. My MIL too would complain abt every single maid that's put under her charge, and I personally think these are good maids. For my own maid, I know her credibility and though once a while, I hear my MIL's criticism, I choose to believe my helper than her. So do a break if you can't tahan. Sorry, I can't stop telling u no point to strain family ties over such matters. I've decided to cut off 1 tie with a close relative as I realize that I've been trying so hard to the extent of questioning my own sanity. I've decided from that episode that even if they are your elders or siblings, their words may not be right... it may be hard for a start but u realize how easy it is when you have noone to provide u "extra helpful" advices that u don't need. This in comparison than trying to be a peacemaker around ... so far, I've never heard that those stuck in between have successful done anything

.ky.

Hi Kristin's mom,
Think you have missed my post on the HK/Korea dramas website. Anyway, here it is.
www.crunchyroll.com
www.allucanc.com (this is a web host, friend watch CSI from here, I have yet try)

Last night was Season7's finale CSI LV. Another long wait...

Btw, I like WMF too. But its so expensive in Sg. I'm using AMC pots. I find that good utensils make a difference in cooking, taste, but feel the pinch to buy, even though its good investment

hi worry mom,
wow you are one big genting fan
we only went there once, i think the indoor park is a great place for young kids. which date in sep is Ben born on?

hi moshi,
you got plans to celebrate mel's birthday? im still thinking what to do for chloe's birthday. we had a kindermusik birthday party 2 yrs ago and at an indoor playground last yr. maybe a simple affair this year....

Hi 4chongchong,
Hope you can make it for Bintan hol. You probably need a break too with the running here & there. Take care, have fun, and see you at NDP gathering.

Hi kristins'mom,

I'm new convert to WMF pots too. Used to find Tefal reliable but realised the telfon (think that's the name for the black coating) comes off easily. Yup, finds WMF expensive too but we got our set at a pretty reasonable price during Robinson sale. The entire set of 5 pots cost us abt S$170 after less. Am a very happy WMF user

Hi Ky,
How's K? Give the sch a miss and join us, especially you may not be able to make it on 4Aug. Think abt it, ok?

Hi Meilan,
It's hard to come by a helper whom you are comfortable with. Since you feel you can trust her, why bother about others' comments/advices? To avoid conflicts, how about telling them that you are in the process of looking for a new helper?

Chloe,
My Benjamin DOB is on 26th Sept.

Meilan,
Don't care about what others says. As long as u feel comfy.. okie. Dont be stressed from this issue..

please join us ky!
u can always go to the open house next yr;)

hee worrymom
Ben's also sep baby so that makes 4!
which day?

hi chloe
no PV, hub is an old boy of ai tong, so that sch will probably be it.
Mel's bday will be celebrated at in-laws pl, a BBQ with family members. We sort of take turns to celebrate at different homes, our own, mom's pl, now in-laws', last yr was a simple party at globetrotters.
For mel, the highlight will be the singing of bday song in school, she simply adores her friends so i guess the sch celebration matters more to her.

hi moshi,
ai tong's a good school, go for it.

yeah chloe also adores her school friends. i asked her if she wants to have a party and invite all our friend's kids. she asked "how about my school friends?" hmm looks like i should do a sch celebration...

hi ladies ... sorry lah. I'm looking at pri schools now and PV as I've my helper till next yr, and so I'm doing my viewing this year. In any case, I've more or less made up my mind but I just need to see why I need to throw out this school that I'm seeing this fri or if I should still make that an option... ladies, change the date lah
. If not, I'm sure there's a next time. Thu preferred, Tues no-no ... oh, 4 Aug is a high possibility we can come :>. There's a Scrapbooking Openhouse which I'm dying to go btw .... *argh* why only 2 weekends a week!

.ky.

Chloe, schools would usually allow PV of the kids that are admitting that yr ... but each school would have their own criteria so best to check out with the school u r keen.

As for birthday parties, B never have one. For one reason or another, I've wanted but we never have one. It used to be because of family conflict that we never have one. One would never think of kids' brithday party as being "political" but somehow it is ... I think too much maybe? but I don't think B miss anything coz he'll does have a cake n he's happy with that already

.ky.

hi Mommies and thank you.

I live in Dover, Rachel is 4 and Jerald is 9. This thread is very active, glad to be in this. Btw, what and where is PV? Sorry, I'm a bit lost here.

Ky,
Is it abit too early to look at PV now?

Sarah,
I know company's more important. But I don't really fancy Japanese food. If you gals have fixed it, no worries. Go ahead. Will join you gals another day.

I'll most probably stick to Henry Park for my girl since it's my old school. I won't bother with PV though. If can't get in, will just stick to neighbourhood school.