(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Hi sherlyn, I forgot to mention that though my gal is more polite at times but she also follows the bro's bad behaviour! why is it easier for to learn the bad and not the good? How to teach politeness?

Hi kristin's mom,
time really flies, you are back already??? so sorry didnt get to meet you.
hee hee it was my first attempt to bake, so nervous. really happy it turned out well
sure, I will post the receipt & my experience in the shared blog (I have been pondering what to post actually...)

Hi moshi,
oh mel's birthday same as chloe in sep right? which date? i am learning to bake the cupcakes in anticipation of her birthday. she likes to decorate them so i thought it will be nice to give them to her school friends. my blog link is in the shared blog.

how have you celebrated/intend to celebrate your dd/ds's birthday? any ideas/venue to share?

btw mummies, are your dd/ds still wearing diapers to bed at night? chloe still does, the problem is she will remove the diaper herself in the middle of the night (she complains that it is wet & heavy). yesterday as usual, she did that and guess what, at about 3/4am, she peed again and wet the bed. arghhhh. how to toilet train at night?

Moshi, kristin has Cindy's eyes. Round and pretty! I have "chop" her son for my girl! Ha...very handsome as well.

Aiyo! Big problem with the blog. Mummies notice that under contributors got 2 serena! How to get rid of one? I upload the photo but nothing came out in my post! Why? Big headache! I need someone to help me with instructions! Please.... I have 2 hours on it but still no posting!

chloe
okie, i will check out your blog. yep, mel's bday is in sep, 17 sep. when's chloe's?
i intend to get my aunt to help out with the cupcakes but i am not sure if she knows how to decorate them with icing and all. hm... lemme check out yours first, do u accept orders???;)

chloe
how abt night pee, try to limit water intake before bedtime. our night routine is to wake mel up one hour after she fell asleep to pee, and she will not pee again till the next morning.

Hi Moshimoshi,

I hope you guys dun mind i join the party :)

The shoe measurement seems so big .. but my gal has big feet too. ok, if she can wear, i will buy over from you.

wao, cant eat after 8pm .. ok, so i better stuff myself b4 clock strikes 8, else i will be pestered by hunger pangs till 2am. So I shd not be serving my kids the night snacks at 8 plus 9 too ?

I usually crave for spicy things rather then sweet things, thus the chicken nuggets, the chips etc .. I guess there is no replacement for spicy stuff accept munching on raw chillies (heard that eating raw chillies help sliming)

oh i also wanted to check with you .. for the shoes that you draw .. did u use fabric pen (like markers) or some paints? Was thinking of buying a white top and a red marker then let my kids draw national day related pics on the top for the party wear.

Sarah,

My dh's grandpa is 90 plus. He had an operation to remove a swelling intestine a few weeks ago, then is diagnosed with cancer (not sure where), then one of leg turned purple from knee downwards due to a blocked blood vessel and is depending on oxygen in hospital. Dh thinks it is best that he went off early too since he has lived up to ripe old age (even my mother says his death is consider a good one, shd not be sad abt it) and it is rather torturing to be sick.

allo allo sherlyn
u don't have to pay me for the shoes, FOC;)

for fabric painting, i use fabric pens from Artfriend brand is DYLON.
i like ur T-shirt drawing idea, maybe u can get a cheap tank top and use ordinary markers if u only intend the tees for one time use.

Jan,

When ds is in school, dd is super good girl .. no running ard, no jumping on sofa, no fighting etc. She will automatically take books to flip on her own, or play on her own and even pack all toys that she played with on her own. Now i can only wish that these good things stay with her and the bad habits will not grow into her.

there is a saying that goes, "learn to be bad in 3 days, learn to be good in 3 years" .. maybe thats y.

Chloe,

Waiting for your recipes
I just started on baking ...

As for venue .. no idea cos my kids do not hv little friends here so they never celebrate birthdays besides with their parents, us. Would be nice to celebrate my kids bdays with this group of kids here ...

hi moshi,
chloe's just 2 days older than mel

ha ha this is my first baking attempt, wont dare to take orders. i intend to try a few more times to be slightly more confident by sep. she enjoys decorating the cupcakes so i will just bake and get her to "sugar laden" it. i will post the recipe and you can try baking it too

Aiya Moshimoshi,

Cannot like that... cannot take things for free, so i will pay you

You got a good idea here, just one time hor, buy a cheap top and use ordinary marker. now i hv to start do a flag stencil for them .. else i think you will only see scribbles and doodles.

sherlyn
i am serious!FOC.

serena dear
ya, saw ur post, could u try reposting, click on add image button, wait for it to be uploaded (maybe change file size? in case it's too too big) and add in a few lines abt the sweet mommies and trust that u will see it done nicely.

chloe
no baking at home, i have only a simple toaster. maybe i can just buy the cupcakes and let mel decorate them, where did u get the icing?

ok, gtg, mel is creating hell in my room, refuses to nap

Hi Sherlyn,
I started baking recently too.
Hasn't baked for years. Now, I'm baking every weekend. Maybe we can bake together one of these days.

hi sarah .. I do not know how to bake at all.

My mother and I hv tried swiss roll, muffins, sponge cake (from cake mix) but not sure if they are baked correctly. Maybe i shd bake a batch then if turn out ok i will bring to the party and get some comments. Not intending to start a baking business, but i m quite particular in getting things right haha so i hv to make sure my muffin taste like muffin (i seldom eat muffin).

u bake every weekend ? then who eats ? my kids dun eat the stuff me and mother bake, not sure y. so all goes into my tummy! *sigh*

Hi chloe!

Just added you to my blog.

Wow... first time baking and so good??? Pray tell, what's the foolproof secret recipe of cupcake making? I would like to try my hand at baking cupcakes for the very first time too. Do I have to go get a muffin tray?

Am wondering what I could do for B's birthday.
It's definitely a shame that it's summer over here, which means most of his friends are on vacation. Don't think we are going to be having any party. Maybe a little BBQ if my dh feels up to it and a couple of our friends instead.

If only we were in Sg, then we could celebrate it together with the kids from this forum... sigh!

hi moshi,
i use a small convection microwave oven, was skeptical that it will work but it did
i made the icing too. got all the ingredients from phoon huat at chip bee garden near holland v (they have many outlets).

hi kristin's mom,

thanks. i think i just happened to strike good luck that day or perhaps the recipe is really fool proof ha ha. no need muffin tray, just get the paper "cups" (what do you call that?? sorry i am really amateur in this)

hi chloe!

your dd no.2 looks very tall. You said she's 16 mos, right?

Now I'm very worried about my tiny K. PD here says she's tiny and K isn't just small by the German standards, but also but Sg standards. Only 25 percentile... now I'm thinking I've not been working hard enough to make her eat.

hi kristin's mom,
yeah charlene's 16mos+. abt 80cm. think quite tall for her age. she loves food maybe that's why
chloe, on the contrary is very small size, always 25 percentile too
i think the impt thing is to be healthy, doesnt matter tall or short, big or small :p

hi moshi,
wow, the cupcakes look very good! i can only drool over it
~~~

check this out too, think this mama bakes really well
http://mengchoo.livejournal.com/

Hi chloe!

I created a space in our shared blog for people like mengchoo LJ's.

Think it will be a great idea for us Mommies to draw inspirations on raising children from other mommies, be it food or otherwise.

Other Mommies on Parents-like-us,
Please feel free to add in your favourite daily read of other blogging mommies.

Hi Sherlyn,
I'm learning as I go on. So far, I tried chiffon, buttercakes, pies, some turn out ok, some not, but its palatable. The cakes can last for abt 3days if you store them in airtight container.
Who else but hubby eats?! It's much more satisfying seeing them enjoyed our food than we eating it, isn't it?
I reduced the quantity for some recipes. If extras, I freeze it. Oh yes, dont throw the egg whites or yolks, freeze them.
Can't comment on muffins, don't quite like it except for banana flavour.

Hi Kristins_mom,
Was just thinking abt you yesterday afternoon, and here's full of your chirpy posts!

Yeah, it's always feel so good to be home, isn't it? I do miss the cooling 18 degree weather...

Never expect the 4 kids to play so well together. Kristin is rather independent too. At least she didn't come bothering you at all. And boy, she's more relaxed with me now. Can still remember her smiling to me at the lift lobby.

Wow, baking mommies! Looks like we have the baking bug here, hehe... I am not into baking but certainly don't mind the eating part :p

Hi Serena,
Still having problems with the pics? What I usually do is downsize the photos with photoshop. Shorter loading time too.

Another round of mommies' nite out:

Date: Friday, 27 Jul
Time: 6.30pm
Venue: Ngee Ann City, restaurant to be confirmed

1. moshi
2. serenade
3. sarah

Please join us if you can.

Hi chloe,
Just sent you invite to my blog.

How's 4 Aug? Coming? How abt getting your hubby to look after the younger one while you come with the older girl? Win-win situation

Yup, Friday's another mommies' nite out. Apricot, we are thinking of Jap food again. Care to consider?

K's mom,

You are spot on. That website Moshimoshi gave is also from the same owner that started the mom4mom forum.

Besides the one Chloe mention, i also hv one or more (cant remember) baking blogs that i frequent ..

K's mom, please also grant me access to your blog.

Sarah,

Wow, thats plenty of experiences you have there already. I just keep on doing swiss roll, muffin , trying to make it right haha

just try swiss roll 3 times, but all times still hv problem rolling, it just cracks. Furthermore, it doesnt taste like those i buy from giant or cake shop, but it has a very chewy texture like that of huat kueh. Not sure what has gone wrong.

I haven started those recipes that only call for egg whites/yolk separately.

i m trying cupcake next i think, using Pris's recipe.

Maybe some gathering in future, we just bring our end results for sharing ? hehe

baking ... fortunately or unfortunately, I've not really done much abt that lately. I've seen and tried trish cupcakes... pretty yummy and delicious looking... think got a photo somewhere in my blog. but a fren said she doesn't like it (hor, fren?). but anyway, cupcakes the in-thing now... just goto M4M forum and surf a bit and you'll find tons of super delicious cupcakes receipes/websites/blogs ... n is MengChoo one of those mummies who appeared in the papers on blogging mothers before, if not then one of her customers is ...

abt good behaviour/manners, I really find it's monkey see/monkey do. Recently, B's been very close to this girl in class and this girl has really very good manners and I realize that has very positive influence on him. And K starting to swing on chairs and watever he can get on and other behaviour that I'm sure he's learnt from B.

K's mom ... glad to hear your flight home was good ... oh, better take care. I'm down too ... sniffing away and dry throat. helper's down too ... n B&K are still on their medication. seems pretty bad for us this time. will be keen to hear wat u hv to say abt the chinese lesson ...

On K's eating, shall update later. Too early to say anything for sure now ...

.ky.

Y is it cupcake the in thing suddenly. It also seems that this cupcake is not difficult to make since I see alot of pp start baking them with no problems .. so i thot i try making them too .. but i dun think my muffin is a success even thou muffin is also one of the easiest.

Sorry... change of topic here... no more drooling on cupcakes...

Never thought I would be the type to be happy about getting a new frying pan... but I am today! Uh-oh! The becoming of an ah-soh!!!!!

Ever since I got a Berndes wok last year, I have become so hooked to the brand. Just about 3-4 months back, I got a small stir-fry veggie wok and today I got another even smaller frying pan.
It's really great quality for totally non-stick and oil is really used sparingly.

Hee.... never thought I was this brand conscious for pots and pans... now all my pots are WMF and pans are Berndes. Hee, think I'm in the right country... I used to be a Tefal for pans, but now I'm a total Berndes, German convert!!!! Haha!!

Kristin mom, I thought what you said was funny. Ha... I used to not bother about pots and food too. I hate the wet markets as well. Now, I've got more into serious "wet marketing shopping" . I thought there was this article reported on non-stick pan that it's not good for cooking? My pan can be scrub which they say is safer. Is WMF expensive in Germany? I wanted to get the spoons and forks but it's so costly here!

Side track alittle. Last night, went to Hyatt for buffet with hubby. The dinner was fantanstic! They serve satay, buddha jump over the wall, grill fish, nann, tandoori chicken, grill prawns, curry crabs, hong kong kailan, oh ni ( yam paste with ginko nuts), homemade ice-cream by the chefs, fresh juices all the way...No wonder, Mengchoo was raving about it in her blog. All the food above was cooked on the spot by the chefs. Yummy...my girl was tucking in heartily too. Didn't see this before.

Kristin mom, moshi, Sarah. Need to give me alittle more time to figure out how to post in the blog. I'll have to try one more time but as you know I'm still working and last night went for buffet, no time to work on it yet.
Be a bit more patient, okay dearies!!??