(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Allo allo, so happening over the weekend here!

Hi Apricot
I like the name Ryan! u come come to the party!!!

Hi MH
Welcome back, yeah, it's been a long time, see u at the party?

Hi 4Chongchong
sorry to hear abt ur dad, hope he's recuperating in comfort now.

About crocs, Mel stopped wearing hers abt a year ago, and now she has outgrown it. It's a pink pair, still in good condition, lemme know if anyone's keen to take over, going at $10 only, authentic.

Hi worrymom
I've not met u!! See u at party, ok?

Hi Sarah,
Thanks for adding Meilan's name in. Saw your post, then I realised I have missed her name out. :p Tell her must come, ok?

Hi MH,
How are your 2 gals? Have you found a playgroup for them yet?

Serenade, I will bring fruits. Red dragonfruits, strawberries, cherries, melons etc. Don't know whether my husband wants to come. He says he was quite bored the other time. He enjoys talking to your husband though. Will confirm pax later date.

Happy Birthday Singapore!
The Red & White Party
Date: 4 Aug Sat
Venue: Serenade's Cosy Hideout
Time: Dinner - 6pm

The Decor: Anything eyecatching in red/white
The Food: Potluck - Anything safe to consume in red/white
The Dress Code: Red & white

1. Moshimoshi (2A1C)
2. Sarah (2A1C)
3. Sheryln - fishball
4. Joanne
5. Ky (maybe) - pizza
6. 4chongchong - curry
7. Serenade (2A & 2C)
8. Serena

hi ky
i love the pizza idea, lotsa tomato sauce, white sausages for that red white effect?

i am thinking of getting my aunt to bake a cake coated with white cream and the kids will decorate it with strawberries, cherries, strawberry biscuit sticks, marshmallows etc.

so maybe we can have 2 food crafts, heehee

Let's categorise the food:

Mains:
Curry - chongchong, baguette to go along?
Pizza - ky
Fried rice sprinkled with char siew bits?

Sides:
Fishballs - sherlyn
Bao?

Cutleries:
Sarah - red n white ones?

Desserts:
Cake - moshi
Fruit- watermelon?

Decorations:
Balloons, stringed triangular flags? anyone knows where to get them? if not, donate ur big flag, haha, we will look a patriotic lot, won;t we?

I'm opening up a 2nd spree to help some mummies who couldn't get into my 1st spree. Response was so good that I'm doing this and I think I need around USD$80 more ... giving you ladies a chance to spend
. pm me if you have any books in mind to order. I'm ordering mainly 2nd-hand books from Amazon marketplace.

.ky.

Hi Joanne, would like to join u and worrymum but Saturdays are out leh. only Sunday mornings for me...

For some reasons, can read but can't post last week.

Hi Serenade, not sure if we can make it. hubby's very troubled with K's not eating and I don't think he's the mood to discuss outings. will let u know asap.

Hi Joanne, it's my main concern since this entire situation happens that it might becos he's becoming choosy and not because he's sick. Just seeing that it's becoming true as he's much much better these days but eating is still a horrible experience. We'll just to keep trying and hope that he'll get over this.

.ky.

Hi Sherlyn

I don't think your kids are extreme... B tend to be mischievious ... u'll know from my blog. And just 2 days ago, he was so excited running out of a restaurant that he nearly knocked into a waitress carrying plates and bows. Actually with my kids, I'm reminding myself on how a child would grow coz they are just so curious abt so many things that we've taken for granted. These are just children who are just barely 4 ... they are learning from observing and experiencing. How can we expect them to confirm to our norms and what we consider right vs wrong, and we've been on this earth for 30+ years ... sometimes looking at adults, we too are still learning from observing and experiencing too.

.ky.

Hi Serena,
Go get your husband to come along lah... He probably won't have the time to feel bored since there are activities going on. Imagine Adabel making her own pizza and decorating her own cake! How can he miss that? And who knows, she may make some just for daddy and mommy

Hi ky,

Previously I have the same problem with Cheryl too. She doesn't seem to be eating much at one point in time. Learned to go easily on her and surprisingly she became a better and easier eater.

It's still 2 weeks away, don't worry too much. Maybe his appetite will return by then.

Can I ask you regarding the Comgate? Does it really deliver within 4-6 business days? And the shipping - much cheaper than the Amazon? And max US$200 to avoid GST? What if the parcels from Amazon arrive differenly, would there be any additional charges? Still browsing through the amazon...

i had difficulty posting few days ago....dunno why.

hi 4chongchong,
hope your dad is recovering well. i know how stressful it is, i lost my dad early this year from cancer.

hi serenade,
thanks for helping to link my blog to the shared blog.
as for the gathering, i would like to join in. just that my hubby's not available and i'm really not sure if i can handle my 2 gals all by myself. hmmm let me think about it more....

Happy Birthday Singapore!
The Red & White Party
Date: 4 Aug Sat
Venue: Serenade's Cosy Hideout
Time: Dinner - 6pm

The Decor: Anything eyecatching in red/white
The Food: Potluck - Anything safe to consume in red/white
The Dress Code: Red & white

1. Moshimoshi (2A1C)
2. Sarah (2A1C)
3. Sheryln - fishball
4. Joanne
5. Ky (maybe) - pizza
6. 4chongchong - curry
7. Serenade (2A & 2C)
8. Serena

Let's categorise the food:

Mains:
Curry - chongchong, baguette to go along?
Pizza - ky
Fried rice sprinkled with char siew bits?

Sides:
Fishballs - sherlyn
Bao?

Cutleries:
Sarah - red n white ones

Desserts:
Cake - moshi
Fruits - Serena

Drinks - Serenade

Decorations:
Balloons, stringed triangular flags? anyone knows where to get them? if not, donate ur big flag, haha, we will look a patriotic lot, won;t we?

Hi Chloe,
Don't mention it. Hope to see your sharing on the blog soon

Hi worrymom,
How can you not come? The kids will miss you leh...

Have already booked 2 rooms, definitely spacious for everyone.

Wow,

there's even deco for the party ? Then all must go there early to deco the place lor ? Flags, can we get the kids to paint them while we print some from the internet?

I think i will leave out my hubby for now just incase he will also find it bored. will chk wif him when the dates are nearer. If he goes, at most i sacrifice my share of food for him

Sarah : I think those bringing food must be punctual leh, cos without cutleries, we can still use finger for some food, but with no food, the party cant even be carried out

ky : Ya, read from your blog abt the shoe cabinet case... but B is purely curious and prob merely cant differentiate that he cant do the gym moves at home... JA may also be curious, but he is also mischevious, likes to "tag" pp or disturb pp alot .. now PCF teacher even told me (2 times liao) that he knows how to talk back very well. If it is me and me alone in this world, dun think i will mind his little not so good habits, but he got to learn to respect others and not all others can accept his kind of behaviours. *sigh* sorry may not know how to verse my thoughts and feelings well ..

Serenade,

Ya from all the feedback after the BBQ, i truely believe my kids are still accomodatable (if there is such a word) by outsiders. Feel relieved. But in chinese, there is a phrase "վü" (ri4 jiu3 jian4 ren2 xin1), so as times goes, let u all see how good (must be positive mah) my kids ah ;-)

Sarah,

No nid match clothes to shoes meh ? but i see all other kids dress so well .. and ya i agree u would also not see me with strips and prints together

I guess the style might be more impt then having color matched. *sigh* I must pick up more tips on dressing up girls from you guys.

Hi Sherlyn, I know what u mean. I have a problem teaching kids how to speak politely. Always believe that the kids mirror what they see in us but it seems that my elder son 'learns' more from classmates - the not so desirable behaviour! Had to keep reminding him to speak politely. My gal is actually more polite and I make it a point to highlight at times that meimei is polite, but he will get upset and retort - why u scold me. sigh...

Miss you all terrible!
we are finally back home again.

The flight was great! We had empty seats between us. Now with the new fleet, we could only book 3 in a row and an adult sitting in front. But since the flight was quite empty, we occupied two rows with an empty seat between each child and adult!

Travelling these days with B is really a breeze. In fact, I quite enjoy it minus the mess that he creates when drinks get spilled. But with the little one K, still a long way to go before I can finally relax. Being a curious toddler, she just wants to get off her seat and explore. But thanks to her young age, she still slept quite a bit during the flight, even though it's a day flight. Now I wasn't so panicky as to "drug" them anymore to sleep since it was a day flight and most people didn't sleep anyway.

I think we brought back our fair share of the bug. K has been having runny nose before we took off, and it's got worse since we touched down. Also there's still lots of getting used to again. I think the kids miss the intense adults' attention, extra dose from grandparents (x4)! So it will be a terrible two weeks for me at least... plus the bug in tow... sigh!

Oh... Aug 4 National Day PArty??? How envious we are! Esp when that's B's birthday! Really, really too bad that we're missing the big bash!

Didn't have any time to check in the last week. Coz like Sherlyn said, I couldn't log in when I had the time, and when I didn't have the time... you know what happened lah.

Hi ky!

Balik Kampung is a neighbourhood spa with two outlets, one at OUtram and one in Hillview.

You can take a look at the menu at this URL:
www.balikkampung.com

Nice place, was there twice in the last week in Sg. Enjoyed the treatments!
And the best thing is that the prices quoted are nett. So no more taxes.

Serena,
The July's promo is a body scrub (30min) and a body massage (90min) @ 98 SGD. If you start the treatment at 1pm, you pay 88 SGD. Liked it.
Btw, do you have a personal preference of therapist? I had a Malay lady Nora who did the hot stones for me. Quite good. The second time was a Chinese lady Eunice. She was pretty good too. But I heard from her, the popular ones are Jessie and Jenny - something like that, can't really remember the names now.

Kristin mom, good to hear from you again! Sorry to hear about the flu bug. Take care.

If you like hard massage, Nora is quite good. There was another girl called Mas who's my favourite but she left. The turnover is quite high. So, don't be surprise if Nora is not there anymore when you are back in town.

Joanne, how's Benny checkup?

Hi K's mom,

Finally can hear from you. Take yr time to settle down .. and a Happy Birthday to Bryan.

I am sorry I din get to meet u at the last week while u are here. Was busy with settling down too. I believe we will hv the chance again.

wow.. so happening in here, my email was almost flooded.

No mood for posting today. For some reasons, have been feeling real tired. (no good news..hehe) Had a nice long nap with Benny till 6.30pm and he's wide awake like an owl now. wonder what time he'll sleep tonight.

Serena,
report shows particle of cyst is found in removed thyroid and it's nothing cancerous. So Bingo! the abnormal upper pole of thyroid is the cause of recurrence. Hopefully with that removed, no more recurrence. Will need to review in 3 weeks time.

Hi Jan,

My boy also tends to learn the not so desirable stuff from either classmates or cartoons, or even Hi5 shows etc. What is worst is my gal learns from my boy .. *sigh*

K's mom.
Welcome back. Guess you'll be very busy with the kids and laundries for the next few days. Really love Kristin's eyes, I was constantly peeping at her whenever she walk pass me at the BBQ. And whenever I come across the name Kristin or Christine, her cutie face with the pair of lovely eyes will come into my mind.. how? Next time we met, must ask Bryan and Benny to pay more attention to her.. hehe..

ky,

My skinny boy also not any better in eating habits. He is also picky over food and as he is older now, we can really force it on him. It is also thanks to K's mom straws that my boy drinks more milk now. Both my kids has different liking in food, and both are equally choosy but my gal eats more.

My boy now does not take or take little breakfast. He can request for oni one quaker oat bran cereal when i ask him wat he want for breakie. And he uses the snack time in school to disturb other classmates! Only thing lucky is he still can take at least half bowl of rice during lunch and dinner.

Hee...

fancy the flavoured straws? Hmmm, next time when I'm back or Pris is back (apparently she gets them in Canada too), we can buy more for you Moms.

Sorry that I didn't bring back enough to go round though...

Hi Jo!

Sounds like great news to Benny! Yay!

Like K's eyes? Well, maybe they will become smaller as the face gets bigger. But at the moment, she's still really tiny in size. In fact the PD just told me today that she's gonna measure her again in 3 months' to see if she's growing at all... now that worries me a little. I really need to fatten her up and I forgot to buy lysine supplements in Sg!! sigh!

Hi chloe2003!

Skimmed through your blog...
the pretty cupcakes caught my eyes.

Mind sharing the recipe with us on parents-like-us? And how do you do the icings? Do you get the gals to help too?

Hi Serena!

Yeah, I agree. Turnover for therapists is always very high. Thus I too hesitate these days to sign up for packages.

I splurge on spa treatments when I go back to Sg for vacation. Usually, I will go for a yummy treat at Amrita Spa. But this time round, I was pretty impressed with Balik Kampung.

Hmmm... I think I shall pre-book my treat at Amrita Spa for next Jan. I miss being treated like a queen there!!!;)
Also not forgetting Balik Kampung. Maybe you can let me know who's good then, when the date gets nearer.

Hi Sarah!

If your shoulders give you a break, do you mind putting up the links to those Korean/HK soaps on our blog? And also the links to watching CSI online too...pretty please!

Oh... I was looking forward to your blogging on the scandalous encounter at the ladies the night we met at Wheelock Place. And remember, we said we wanted to tempt Apricot with the yummy handrolls???

My boy has allergy rhinitis .. and the weather seem to changed drastically since the day b4 y'day (was raining quite alot these two days rite?), so I m not sure if he has caught the flu bug or was it his sensitive nose. He is having v bad block nose now and that has affected his sleep. Will the vicks on foot cure block nose?

Also my dh's grandpa passed away this evening. He is now looking for the earliest flight to come bak and we will rush back to msia to attend the wake. Cant imagine, he only touch down this morning and now he is looking for flight to come bak. Anyway i still hv abt 24 hrs at least to get prepared.

so with this happening, i m not sure if i m able to attend the gathering leh. Would u guys mind if we do attend ah ? I know there is a rule of not attending anything joyous for some days, just not sure how many days. I dare not talk to my dh abt the gathering yet. but if you guys dun mind, then i might talk him into attending with the kids .. since the kids wouldnt even understand abt this sad event. However, i guess we wouldnt be wearing red. Will update on my attendence once the wake there is done, likely nex week.

Hi Serenade!

Thanks for the invite on last Wed!

It was great catching up... sorry, that we had to leave in such a hurry.

I was quite amazed at how the kids could play on their own while we were just yakking away in the other room. We should do it again soon, in about 6 months' time we'll be back again. Hopefully the next time round the Daddies will have time to meet up too for a meal. The past three weeks were all work for dh, and I guess yours is equally busy now with his work/study.

Catch you again online...

And yay! C is definitely very amazing! Finally got a chance to read your blog today.

HI Sherlyn!

Sorry to hear about the demise of your dh's grandpa.

Gee... maybe you can step up on immunity with some herbal soup for the family now, esp when your dh touches down. It must have been a crazy start of the week for you.

Sure, we'll catch up again when we're back in Jan.

Hi ky!

Just realised that we're both B&K's mommies!!! haha!!!

Want to share something on B's single session of Chinese lesson. When I get down to blogging again, I'll let you know.

Is K doing better now with food?

With all the flu bugs flying around, am not too sure if I've got one too. This morning when I woke up, I could feel pressure in one of my ears. It took me half the day to realise which ear is being affected and I still feel totally spaced out, like disorientation coz of the pressure in my ear and the impaired hearing... hopefully this goes away, otherwise I shall have to seek out an ENT tomorrow. I really don't feel safe walking on the street with a child this way.

Hi Sarah!

Forgot to ask you about koyok.

My MIL passed me some before we came back. I thought I would use them today so that I can get by the day to unpack.

But they feel so icy cold on me. I don't if the weather here plays a role. I've been layering so many pieces of garment and still they don't keep warm... is that normal???

I have developed this habit of snacking and eating after the kids sleep since I don't want the kids to eat junk food. With my weight ballooning .. and no determination to exercise, i thot of cutting down on snacking. Can anyone recommend me snacks that are more healthy and less fattening ?

Hello K's mom
Welcome back! You sure had a relaxing time at Balik Kampung, envious envious.
Everyone's raving abt Kristin's lovely eyes, pity i haven;t got a chance to meet her, the kids must meet the next time!

Are your ears better today?

Hi jonanne
yeah! the root of the problem is removed! u must be very relieved.

hi sherlyn
are u keen on the crocs? in fact, i don;t mind letting u have them, it's a waste letting the shoes sit on the shoerack, will pass them to u at the party, hope ur gal can wear them. Measures abt 7" outer sole.

For snacks to perk me up in the afternn, i eat cereals, have u tried nestle honey flakes, it's crunchy and satisfies my graving for sweet things. or a cup of honey? it gives energy too.
I read that we should avoid eating after 8pm. so late dinner and supper is a no-no.

hi chloe
can i look at the cupcakes too? i am planning to get some for Mel's friends on her bday.

Hi Kristin's mom,
Sorry to hear flu bug thingy. As usual, lots of water and sleep. My mil always says sleep with no aircon (heater for you?), fan, lots of blankets, sweat it out, and you'll be fine.

I was told there are 'cold' plasters available too, though most are meant to be hot. Could yours be one of those? I have not tried those cold ones. Koyok doesnt work on me these days.

As for our scandalous encounter, I shall give Serena the opportunity to write her 1st blog post. She needs to pay her Jul due.

Hi Moshi,
Is Mel still coughing?
H has no sch next Mon and early dismissal this Fri at 9.30am becoz family day on Sat. Like JK's sch, the kids did some crafts work (joint effort) and parents are asked to bid for it. If it's personal work, I will bid, but since its joint effort, I gladly forgo it.

Thank you, sarah, mel recovered after the 2nd nite of Vicks, recovery's almost miracle-like!

Mel's next sch hol will be the national day week, half day on 8 aug and no sch on 10 aug.

Enjoy the family day, it will be v fun!