(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

sms 4chongchong at 10.23am and her dad still in OT having surgery. was pushed in before 7.30 but not sure what time the operation starts

4chongchong, stay positive. My grandaunt with colon cancer discovered a few months ago was recovering well.. so same thing will go to yr dad. He'll be fine. Will keep your dad in prayers.

Hi Hi , everyone !!! Wishing all kiddos speedy recovery. My yonger boy Ryan has developed eye infection & is now on eye antibiotics drops. He will be fine soon. I like th National Day theme Red and White but too bad I cannot join cos I am still having confinement. But my hearts will be with you all & I am sure it's turn out fun.

<font color="aa00aa">Let me describe briefly abt my delivery ie why I cannot deliever on the chosen Csection date 19Jul.</font>
On Fri 13Jul midnite 3dish, I developed contraction pain but went away and came back very severely at 5dish, endure til day break, reach labor ward at 730, doc decide emergency csection at 9dish for OP (GA) at 10am. That short wait is simply unbearable cos very very painful !!! Twin 1-Charlton was borned at1020am & Twin 2-Ryan at 1022am. I use a pain buster highly recommended by gynae, so I look alert after OP (I was able to talk to Sarah when she visited me on Sat) & can walk next day. I woke up 1hr after OP.

Hi Sherlyn,
Let the HK trip be a learning experience for you. U will do better next time. I shld have get a chance to share with U my April HK trip, what happen was we brought one small bag of toys for Aston to play in the hotel room. We shop in the morn, return to hotel let him nap,then shop again during evening time. Travelling with kids means big sacrifice when come to shopping.

Welcome back, Apricot.

Wow.. having severe pain yet can wait till daybreak?? Ain't you afraid that your twins might just pop at home? Must be very tired BFeeding your twins. Take care and eat more nutritious food, you have to provide sufficient milk for the two hungry little twins.Sorry, was unable to visit you.. Benny is still under recovery mode. Take more pics of them with Aston and post it in blog Ok? pant a kiss on each baby for me please *kiss* thank you!

received sms from 4chongchong at 11.55am

Start to get anxious. no one call me yet!
We are not allowed to wait at OT so we are waiting at the food court. I called up the ward, they said no news yet. So now only can pray and wait.

Poor 4chongchong, she must be worried sick. Be strong ok? Just like how you encouraged me while Benny is in OT. At least I get to wait for him outside OT and able to check with OT receptionist. She doesn't even know what time op started. feeling anxious for her too.. *pray hard*

Hi Joanne,
Actually I wasn't sure if those are contractions and perhaps by instinct, I knew I am going for OP so was not thinking much if I will pop at home. The journey to hosp was horrible long though there is no jam in CTE. Yah, they are very very hungry and I am BF them like crazy. So in no time, I will be very very slim, I hope !
Glad to hear Benny is recovering fine..plant a kiss on him for me..muack muack...!

Thanks Joanne for updating for me.

Just came back from hospital, Thank God my dad is in stable condition and resting in High Dependency tonight! They have strict visiting hours and rules, so we are not allowed to stay there to look after him.

For the past few days, my girl C has been complaining about me always out, long hours in hospital looking after my dad, she even told me she knows I am sad because there's no more smile on my face! When I asked her if she still loves me the most and guess wat's her answer... She loves my maid most, then me No2 then she loves herself then daddy! wow.. my heartache when I heard tat! i asked her why and she told me because my maid spend most of the time with her!

I guess it's difficult for all of us here since now it's the time we have our responsibilities to look after our parents as well as our children!

Serenade: I hope I can make it for the National day gathering, and if things go well, I will bring my husband and C to the function room. I can cook curry? will try to cook very hot so it looks red colour?? haha..

Hi 4ChongChong,
Glad to hear your dad is out of OP and in stable condition. Now, it's time for you to rest after so many drained days. Dun worry abt C as I am sure she will still love mummy cos you are still dearest to her.

Joanne,

I think we are worried they spoil something or hurt themselves. I also let them "swim" in the bath tub ah, but that act will also end up with flooded toilet which i hate.

Like some of you say, maybe me and dh a little more kan cheong .. must really learn to close 1.5 eyes (since one eye too little, 2 eyes too much)

Glad to hear Benny is recovering so well. I think the problem with his voice shd be ok bah, since they change their voice when they reach puberty anyway. Unlike JA, who has to live with the scar besides his nose from the fall and yet he is still not learning his lesson.

4chongchong,

after a night's rest. Spend yr weekend with her and buy her a toy. I'm sure she will shoot you up to the dearest person to her again. Children are more realistic. She'll forget about the days when you spend more time with ah gong.

Once after I caned Bryan, he grumble that he don't like me and don't want me anymore. My reply.. fine, byebye and don't sleep with mummy tonight. Next thing, he came to hug hug me and call "mama..." so children tends to forget unhappiness faster than adults.

Apricot,

They had their toys there too ... but shopping with them in SG or in HK is the same, just impossible! So like you say, sacrifice mah, so cant shop lor

Not that i want to complain, but imagine eating out with them at those tea house .. they will meddle with the chilli sauce, salt,sugar and toothpick .. I cant allow that mah, for hygience purpose .. cant let the kids accidentally contaminate the sauces right

i did let them nap in the afternoon, so minus the nap time, nothing much can be done lor

Sherlyn,

kids like to play around. Maybe just distract them to something which is unbreakable or like what apricot did, bring their own toys along so they will leave the switches and electrical appliances alone.

During my BKK trip with Benny, I let him "swim" all he wants. Flood the toilet? by all means since I'm not the one clearing the mess.. haha.. very bad customer!! we did buy a couple of new toys for him to pass time in hotel rooms..

Did you remind him constantly of the fall that causes so much pain? Scar beside his nose.. he can't see leh..

Before Benny had any of the surgeries, he turn deaf ears to all sayings of not eating fried heaty stuff. Now, he'll ask permission before he eat so conclusion is.. children learn thru the hard way.. no pain, no gain as in learning.

Joanne,

c that u are still ard. Din hv yr msn leh.

distract? no way, my boy still curious abt electrical appliances, maybe cos he is not expose to them at home. Anyway they shd not be touching them ..

I cant let them flood the toilet, cos i hate to step into a wet toilet. Unless the housekeeping is the next thing after their water play .. else they are not allow to flood the toilet, so when they water play, i hv to be inside to supervise .. also to prevent mishap since the kids may slip

we did remind him of his scar .. he can also remember where he knock .. but he is still not scare wor ..

learn hard way ? i dun mind as long as it is not life threatening, or in this case spoilt his look. Somtimes very worried when the kids fight with toys, they will hurt each other's eyes (blind how ? touch wood!) or fall from sofa if jumping on it and hurt the head *sigh*

Hi Serene, Joanne,

Oops, sorry to diappoint you gals but definitely not positive :p In the past, I could stay up till pretty late. But nowadays, once I hit the pillow, that's the end of the day. And that's before midnight. So much things left undone as a result... Any recommendations for "curing" tiredness? Youmeishu?

Hi Sherlyn,
You still have a few more years to go before the kids grow up. Try to relax a bit
Doesn't mean well behaved won't get hurt. Cheryl is a good example. Last night while shopping in toy store within Taka, she had an accident. She was just walking towards me when a boy came running really fast and knocked her down. The impact left a red mark on her right cheek the entire night. I really have a mind to go after that boy and give him a good scolding. The mom (I suppose) came and apologised, then brought her boy to apologise again. But then the harm was done, my heart pained so much whenever I looked at her face. I think I am starting to have phobia shopping in Singapore. Previously, was worried that my kids damaging stuffs, now I'm more worried abt them hurt by others...

Hi Apricot,
Not joining us? Moshimoshi was telling that you are coming? Change of mind? There's a games room just nearby. So, if you need to attend to the babies, can just pop over and use it. Don't think there's many pple there at night. Come lah... If you need more privacy, I can get another room just for use...

Hi Joanne,
That's a relief, isn't it? Soon, you can hear Benny's original chirpy voice

Hi 4ChongChong,
Haha, our hubbies finally met last night. Looks like we have some kind of telepathy. So far, you are the only family we kept running into

Don't take Charlene's words to heart. I'm sure she understands what is happening, just that she's young and wants some attention from you.

Of course all things will go well from now, so I expect your presence on 4 Aug :p Cooking curry? No problem, I'll supply the kids with milk now, :p

Happy Birthday Singapore!
The Red & White Party
Date: 4 Aug Sat
Venue: Serenade's Cosy Hideout
Time: Dinner - 6pm

The Decor: Anything eyecatching in red/white
The Food: Potluck - Anything safe to consume in red/white
The Dress Code: Red & white

1. Moshimoshi
2. Sarah
3. Sheryln - fishball
4. Joanne
5. Ky (maybe)
6. Apricot (to be confirmed)
7. 4chongchong - curry
8. Serenade - special red drinks for adults and kids

Serena, Worrymom,
What abt you gals? Can't make it on 4 Aug? Other mommies in the west?

I presume that all of you can take a bit of alcohol, right? Let me know if you can't.

For activities, any suggestions? Was thinking of getting the kids to make flags. Boring huh? Moshimoshi, your expertise requried here

Food: Pizza, Jelly - anybody?

Hi MH,

So glad to hear from you & tks for your wishes.
Join the mummies on Aug4 if you can as the feeling is so good to meet mummies in person.

Sherlyn,
I thought you added me in msn?? anyway, add again. my msn [email protected]. I was online last night but did not login to MSN, busy clearing my hubby's car accessories online. My house is turning into a garage soon.

Serenade,
Chicken essence. If I had a bottle during noon, it'll keep me awake till 3am.

Serenade,

I can only think of Red Ruby desert but I don't know how to make. Will continue to brainstorm for more red and white food.

<font color="119911">You all huh, really make me this flower leg lady title break the rules. Really cannot go cos MIL and my mom are with me almost every nite. Very unlikely can convince them let me go out during confinement period.</font>

Apricot, I'm selling them on yahoo auctions under jojo_chew78. Most of them items listed online are stickers and bags sold by me. The other accessories not uploaded yet.

http://sg.auctions.yahoo.com/sg/user/jojo_chew78

Will take some time before all will be uploaded. Some are big items like spoiler, I have 3 at home.. 7 cd player and 6 or 7 momo steering wheels.. etc etc.. Imagine that. *faint*

last night I managed to spend sometime with my girl C and she was so happy that we finally brought her out for a nice meal and some family time!

Serenade: yes.. wat a coincidence huh.. we ( both husbands & wives ) should sit down have a chat one day.

Poor C, I hope the mark on her face is gone by now! I will also do the same thing, give the boy a scolding !

Last night it's the first time i had a GOOD sleep, slept for about 10 hours without waking up in the middle of night!

I just visited my dad, he is sleeping so didn't want to wake him up and now I am doing some paper work in my office.. coming back to work after a long break.. sigh...

Oh yes by the way Serenade, I am thinking to stop C her JG class, wat do you think of the prog? I think it's not so suitable for their level... ! anyone has good recommendation for English speech and drama? anyone know Lorna W or Act 3 ?

I am not sure if anyone keen to buy..
1) Birkenstock sandles -- I ordered once from the web footshopping last year and they are really cheap cf selling price in Spore. I just received an email to say they are celebrating anniversary, so will have further discount starting on 23 July! so if anyone keen, have a look, click on the Spore site, the price is in Sing $$ and if we order above S$200 it's free delivery! ** should try to order above S$200 and below S$400 to avoid the Singapore GST.

2) my pharmacy is having a promotion for Crocs shoes now, if anyone keen, it's 25% discount if we buy more than 6 pairs. In fact few weeks ago, I helped some of my friends to buy, we ordered 23 pairs and also got a 25% discount! Good deal! I don't mind to help to buy if anyone keen.

Hi 4chongchong,
Glad that your dad's op is over...you take care too. It's very draining physically, emotionally and mentally...My dad too, is diagnosed with cancer. But he's not going for any treatment.

Re speech & drama. Hannah just started with Act3. Parents are not allowed in the class but there's a lesson outline pasted on the door. Hannah enjoys the class, but I guess there isn't much difference between JG, LW or Act3. $250 for 10weeks term, an hr class. There's quite a few Sat classes going on, and one Thu 4.30pm class. Sign up for trial class online and decide thereafter www.act3international.com.sg

Hi Serenade,
Meilan is keen to join NDP party but need to check with her hubby first - doesn't want to drive alone to the west.

Hi Serenade, I'm supportive of you keeping the food simple and focus on the kids having fun. For Pizza, if want, we can get the kids to make the pizza ... u have an oven? My hubby makes pizza and he can help to set everything up ... if there's sufficient plugs, I don't mind bringing my oven over ... but now I've to plan my schedule and see if I can fit in the event or not. I'll love to drink but I've to nurse leh *sob*

4chongchong, glad to hear that of your dad's good news ... I've read a good fren's blog on her sending her 5-yr to a S&D class ... she likes it but I've to hunt down the blog and send to you.

Keith's still not eating much ... I'm so desperate till I've to fetch my helper after her IT course today and sped home ... my helper's the only one who can manage to feed him. With me, he'll just keep pointing and want to nurse, and I've to hide somewhere in the house till he finish his meals ... *sigh*, and he'll be crying and protesting while she feeds him. I hope the situation would get better ...

MH, hope to see u at the party ... come come, hillview leh, not far from your place.

.ky.

Serenade
agree to keep food simple too. I'll be popping by supermarket tomorrow and try to search for something red and white and suitable for adult and kiddos.

Ky
Does Keith always wanted BM or is it because he just got well and getting grouchy over food. Maybe he just want more comfort from you? Haha.. no need to hide, just come online and post while he eats. Do you have msn?

hi Sarah: yes I signed up the ACT 3 holiday prog and C enjoyed it! But i heard the hol prog is quite different cf weekday/weekend prog, not sure wat's the difference though...

I have an oven , can bring down to function room as well. Too bad our function room doesnt have a TV , otherwise I have a game suitable for them to play.

The Red & White Party

1. Moshimoshi
2. Sarah
3. Sheryln - fishball
4. Joanne
5. Ky (maybe)
6. Apricot (to be confirmed)
7. 4chongchong - curry
8. Serenade
9. Serena

Pizza with curry? Wow! That's a new one! Ha..ha.. worrymum not going? Try to make it if you can.

Hi Serenade,

Sorry to hear abt the accident. Agree that well behaved doesn't mean not getting hurt, but for me I definitely would rather be you then the other mummy whose son has hurt Cheryl ... so you c .. what happen if that boy was Jing An ? Thus it is very stressful for me when i bring him out.

Hi 4ChongChong,

Brandon won't be doing JG Edudrama after this term. We have promised him Gym next :p Not intending to sign him for other S&D cos he's having it in school. Thought St James offer S&D for enrichment too. Aren't you letting C try it?

I also need the "cure" for tiredness (besides sleeping) .. coffee (unless multiple dose), essence, yomeishu, Dom or whatever just doesnt work now. :)

Apricot, how are you coping with your new maid and 3 kids! I guess now should be honeymoon period for you because got mother and MIL to help out. At least now your maid can learn as much as possible from your M & MIL. I would suggest you rest well during your confinement and take good care of yourself so that you won't get all the aches later! Anyway, take care! Saw the babes very cute!

Sherlyn, I think the "cure" for being tired is to have "me" time for one or two days. This means you should take some time out and be selfish for once. Think only about yourself and do what you want and what you like. Get a good baby sitter and you'll be charged by then to keep on going.

I need to do a headcount. The function room can take about 30 adults. Could you please indicate the number of pax coming beside your name? Tks!

The Red & White Party

1. Moshimoshi
2. Sarah
3. Sheryln - fishball
4. Joanne
5. Ky (maybe) - pizza
6. 4chongchong - curry
7. Serenade (2A & 2C)
8. Serena

Besides food, can someone contribute paper plates, bowls, cups, forks & spoons?

Serenade: did you book one or two rooms? if two rooms, we can take in more than 30 adults.

Yes St James have Eng speech and drama, but C's friend is not a St james student, so he cannot attend the enrichment class, I prefer the 2 kids go together since they are good friends.

Hi ky,
The pizza making idea is great! No oven here but 4ChongChong is volunteering hers
Bet the children will enjoy making their own pizza.

How abt bringing the stuff earlier to my place, that is, before K's contest? Perhaps, that'll be less of a rush for you?

I got a problem dressing my gal up. Usually it is v difficult to match her shoes with the clothes. How many pairs of shoes did your girls have?

I need to get her a pair of slippers or maybe sandles, that can bring her to any place like beach, clementi central, IMM .. ie like casual places .. any recommendations? My fashion sense is not good, can see from my own dressing liao right? hahaha

Hi Serena,

"Me" time ? so sad .. dont think i will be able to hv that for a day or two. I just had a few hours that day for rebonding my hair in Jurong East (now that can tell how many hours right?)

I also hope i hv coupletime leh .. was so envy when K's mom got hers hehe .. she must be either on a plane now or reach germany liao ..

Hi Sherlyn,
I will suggest u buy crocs shoes for Anxin
It surely can match with attires on those places u're bringing her

Hi 4chongchong,
I may wan get another pair for my boy. How much will it be after 25% for kids cayman ?

Hi Sarah,
Is Hannah having her Act3 class in school ? Aston is lucky to having his in school & together with computer class conducted by FutureKids, the school managed to get a very special rate $330/12 lessons for both enrichment classes.

Apricot,

Crocs expensive leh, furthermore with the escalator cases ... abit worrying but the kids version are very cute, not like adult versions, quite bulky

Read in a magazine abt Kids Friendly Smart Spot (mar 2007). Not sure shd i post this info here or in the shared blog. Maybe we can try one of these for some of our gatherings. Anyway, here goes ..

One-Ninety at Four Seasons
This smart gilded restaurant may see mainly corporate accounts, but it has an extensive kids' menu that the executive chef is pretty proud of. And of course, its famous brunch spread includes a fairy tale set up for the children.
Add : 190 Orchard Boulevard, Tel : 68317250.

Prego at Raffles The Plaza
This airy, cheerful restaurant is often oisy anyway despite the smart, executive lunch crowd, and makes a happy place to bring kids. The brunch set up with a large play area in the middle is also very child-friendly, even as the prosecco flows for the grown ups.
Add : 80 Bras Basah Rd, Tel : 6431 6156

Senso Ristorante and Bar
While you can take children there any time, its brunch s a markedly family oriented affair. The bar is converted into a cheerful 'kindergarten' where minders occupy children with toys, story telling and art and craft. Wrapped around an internal courtyard, Senso is also a cosy, secure environment where adults can enjoy brunch in peace, while kids can wander from the table to the 'kindergarten', where the noise is strategically contained.
Add : 21 club Street, Tel : 6224 3534

Hi Sherlyn,
Re shoes. There's no need to match shoes to clothes. Just mix and match and you'll be surprised how well it can turn out.
I got H to put on strips top with floral printed pants, but I thought she looked good. Oh, but you wont catch me wearing the same though!

For H, she has sneakers, sandals and slippers. Sneakers - for outdoor play; slippers - going to my mom's place coz within walking distance, and within the estate; sandals - anywhere, good for airing the feet. Note slippers are not advisable when taking public transport. HTH.

The Red & White Party

1. Moshimoshi
2. Sarah (2a1c) - paper plates, cutlery (oops, does that mean I have to be super punctual??)
3. Sheryln - fishball
4. Joanne
5. Ky (maybe) - pizza
6. 4chongchong - curry
7. Serenade (2A & 2C)
8. Serena
9. Meilan (to be confirmed)

Worrymum - how can you not join us??