(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Hi Joanne
I am for Benny to stay on at YWCA, switching to another sch would require him to readjust to a different routine, to different teachers. Of course, he may just quickly adapt in a matter of days, but in case things don;t work out, he will be subjected to unnecessary stress. If there is no major concerns with the current sch, let him continue to enjoy YWCA, routine is comforting for kids. Is it possible for him to go in only for lessons and play time? this way, he can eat and rest at home more.
But if u really want to consider PCF for other reasons, maybe next year, the start of a new academic year would be a better timing for the switch.

Joanne, If you like the school so much but just because it's half-day, how about picking him up earlier, say 2pm each day? I'll refrain from switching school when a kid is 5 yrs old just so to prep him for primary school ... a kid would adapt well to environment, but it's us that sometimes have more problems making that change. I was uncomfortable with having a big class of 30-40 kids as B was quite sickly in the past.

K's still having low grade fever so just wondering ... for fever medication : When do you give for fever?
My PD's nurse just told me that with the doctor's instruction to give very 4 hrly, give when fever is 37.5 and above then (ie at 4 hrly). If not, monitor another 1 or 2 hrs, and give if temp is above that, and then repeat again every 4 hrly. I've not followed that and only give when temp is above 38 and that can be 8 hrs later. What is your?

btw, I'm not stressed by the fever or him falling sick. I'm stressed by the fact that he's not eating AT ALL. TWO days already and all he wants is to nurse. Have tried distracting, persuading, forcefeeding, anything but he's keeping those teeth shut-tight.

.ky.

moshi
Thanks for the advise. Guess I'll let him recuperate at home for 4months and bring him back to YWCA next yr. Serenade told me his voice may come back in time but hopefully before he attend P.1. In YWCA, they have smaller groups of students, easier for him to communicate with teachers with his soft voice.

ky

I usually give panadol when temp reach 37.5 every 6 hourly. In between, if fever hits 38.5, brufen will be given. Panadol can be given after 4 hrs but usually I'll try sponge them. If temp still a little high but below 38.5, I'll give them panadol again.

Has K's fever subside?

Hi Ky,

Nowadays, I will refrain from giving medication unless it goes beyond 38 degrees. For low grad fever (>38 but <39), I'll monitor the situation and administer the second dosage 6 hours later (if the fever comes back).

You mentioned that K has sore throat, right? Then, it's normal that K is not eating much solids now. What my french PD advised is to feed the kid with watery porridge cooked with carrot. Don't worry too much. When the inflamation goes down, appetite will return. But do get him to drink more water.

Hi ky
how about juice or flavored milk or yogurt, maybe he's not in the mood to chew, so more liquid food?
how about cereal bar? fruit bar? something sweet may work?

Hi Joanne, I stayed near Bt Gombak too and do bring my kids to the playground outside YWCA occassionally! Have neighbours with kids at YWCA and PCF which feedback for both is favourable.

Yes ky, milkshake is delicious. We just made some with bananas.. Asked my hb to bring some over for Bryan last nite and he enjoyed it.

Try to cool porridge or cereal before serving it. Nurses encouraged ice cream and cooling juices for Benny to soothe his throat.

Joanne, K was at 38.6 at 1230am and 38.6 at 9.45am. Now at 4pm, his temp is 37.1 I'm seeing if it'll go up in 2 hrs time coz it seems his temp slowly creeps up when it's 8 hrs.

Well, we gave porridge yesterday and he doesn't take it. He supposedly like macaroni but even with them in the mouth, he'll get every single one out ... n we did it spaghetti style today. But if you give him goat milk sweet and gerber stars, he'll pop them one after another very quickly. I'm not quite sure if it's due to his sickness or bcos he's getting choosy abt food. And coz he's having a running nose, I'm not giving him cold food for now, but in the past, he's rejected yoghurt and fruits. He likes biscuits though so I'm trying cereal bars when he's better.

Guess I've run of ideas for now, but thanks for all the suggestions anyway.

.ky.

ky

38.5 onwards is considered high fever. If I'm not wrong, he had fever for quite a number of days already ya? Have you ever thought of bringing him back to GP or PD again? Any antibiotics given? Make sure he drink plenty of water. As for running nose, you can try giving pear brewed with rock sugar. hmm... how bout vicks applied to sole and socks on before sleep?

It can be frustrating when your child don't eat. I've been brainstorming for ideas, my Benny is a picky eater. Thanks to pris for coming up with the milkshake which he enjoyed.

I love to give my children cod fish porridge, think it smells and taste nice. Like tuna, it's a brain food. Maybe you can try..

Joanne,
I think at age 4, you can afford to homeschool your child, especially now that he is just recovering.
Generally, the morning classes are more popular, so if you intend to enroll him for the morning class next year, you might want to register him first because registration has been opened since May for most PCF centres.
But one thing you have to consider is the class size. PCF classes are bigger - about 16 to 17 children for Nursery Class and about 20+ for K1/2 Class. If your child's current class size is small, it might take him some time to get used to a bigger class size if he is the soft-spoken type.

Jess

Size of his current class is less than 15 if I'm not wrong. I was afraid that he could not adapt to PCF schooling style so I'll be bringing him back to his current school to attend K1. Doesn't want to stress him further. Bryan, my no. 2 will be attending N1 next yr with him so that I can return to work life for 2 yrs before Benny attends Pri 1.

Jess, my Benny is never soft spoken. His high pitch voice nerve was affected by the recent surgery which requires to excise partial of his left thyroid.. sigh.. sob sob.. I really missed his original voice, so loud, bright and clear. Thou voice change can be something so minimal compared to cyst but a change in my kid really saddens me. Hopefully I'll be able to get over it soon.

KY, my family is strict have nothing to do with rice when it is fever, so no porridge at all. But we do give Barley water and the barley beans after cooking. I am not sure of the logic but since my mum and mil believe in that I usually give Kai Barley Beans or even soup but no rice or porridge when he runs a fever.

not sure wat got into me, but i m in no mood to drop post in forum. I am actively reading them thou. Maybe tired after the housework, or sian cos dh will be away in US for a week from this sat (and his coming bak flight is not cfm!)

I hope Keith is fine now. My kids when hv fever, aso temp go up after 5 hrs from the last medication. Was also told by the GP we went to that we can ignore light fever (ie below 38) but only give paracetomol after that. we also dun give anythg with rice during fever, thou i do not really believe in it. Congrats to keith for making it to the final of the contest.

jan, trip is stressful cos hv to manage the 2 monkeys. No time for shopping cos they simply treat the shop as playground! anyway it is not the first trip that he complains a torture with the kids.

how come no one talk abt the potluck for national day gathering? can i bring white fishball (ie the non fried version) ... anyone got any recommendations on brand that has less msg, or tastier ? else i would prob get from wet market or NTUC Do Do brand. Very seldom attend parties. How can i do up the fishball? stick them up using satay stick ? or u guys prefer it loose? i think i bring tomato and chilli sauce as well. any brand preference?

Wow...you ladies are going to have another gathering during NDP week, that's very nice. Will miss that too.

Anyway, we are going to have 3 NDP celebration here, one among all the Singaporean friends at one of their house, another organised by Singapore Dipomat and one more with the Singapore Vancouver Club.

But I think the one you are having are more fun for the children. How I wish I can join all of you.

Sheryln, cheer up...

hi ky
hope keith is eating better today.

Mel is down with cough, more of a night cough, hope it goes away soon.

hi sherlyn
don;t be disheartened that the trip didn't turn out the way you want it be. i think we get better after each experience, i guess kids enjoy simple pleasures like runnning around in the open or playing with sand, so maybe a resort by the sea the next round ;)

oh yes, the party food, i'm still racking my brain for suitable food. the fishball idea sounds good, as to the brand, it's your call.

what's jing an's sch doing for national day? the kids at Mel's sch have to design a drawing with a national day greeting, together with a parent. The drawings will be displayed around the sch compound.

hi k's mom
are u leaving for frankfurt this weekend?
drop us a post before u leave;)

how was the second visit to balik kampong? the deal sounds too good to be true, cheap n no hard-sell, hope they start a kampong near AMK soon ;)

moshi

Ginger can be a good way but Benny doesn't like it. So I had to buy real fresh ones and eat it while it's warm. Cold fish porridge smells fishy.. Can salt remove fishy smell? Thought it's only for taste. Will need advise from chef now.. PRIS?

hi everyone, K's not eating for 3 days already. we've absolutely no idea if it's a temporary thing coz he's sick, or because it might be something more permanent like being choosy abt food. No staple food can get stay in his mouth. We'll force it in and he'll push out every single piece of it, even the little grain of rice. I tested last night. Gave him a cereal; had to force in that first piece and then after that he ask for more. Conclusion is he wants something crunchy. Look hard at his teeth to see if teething but doesn't look like it... anyway, we've decided not to make him eat unless he wants to... so today, we'll offer him food and leave it if he doesn't want anything. He's sleeping alot yesterday; seems like hibernating to conserve energy. As for Vicks rub, I try not to use it on him coz he's under 2 and I'm more conscious with medication of any sort.

Joanne, we've been told to go back to PD if fever doesn't go down by Tue night. I'm hesitant as I know what further steps the PD will take (like u lor) ... neubilizer most prob. I'm monitoring and so far, his body seems to be fighting back so I'm not go for PD's review. If u notice, B's a very greedy eater, so not eating is a very new thing to me... I'll have to learn to cope with it (still trying hard)

NDP food : how abt staples like meehoon with soup & fishball & fishcake & somthing to add to create some dashes of red), mee-tai-ma (white or add with ketchep to be red), white bread cum tomato cum sausage(can be consider red?) kebab sticks, red n white jelly, char siew bao, ang gu gui, apple, plum, cherry, strawberry, and if the inside doesn't matter, black forest cake with white cream & strawberries on top?

.ky.

Hi Joanne, I'm staying at The madeira, just across the road from YWCA. Hope to see u around sometime! The pcf is the blk 535, street behind the ywca. My neighbour's gal was there for kindy and is in P1 this yr.

Hi ky, worrisome but guess just no appetite. Just make sure he's hydrated with lots of fluid. I try to give soup when the kids don't eat much like carrots, potatoes, tomatoes or corn with pork or chicken stock. Add some barley for cooling. yummy and nutritious. I always feel heartache when the kids lose weight after a bout of sickness...

For persistent fever, a PD told me to give paracetamol for next 24hrs even after the fever subsides. It seems to work as usually they seem to have recovered but the temp shoots up after nap / sleep. Take care!

hi all.. not in a mood to post because dad's prognosis not good...

just want to tell Ky: suggest you to bring K back to doc because K may have tonsilities and that's why K is not eating! My girl was having fever for almost a week, both my husband and myself so worried about Dengue and didn't check her throat because she never complains of pain. And doc found throat infection, given a course of antibiotic and her fever subsided after third dose of antibiotic.

Panadol usually 4 to 6 hourly, and in between if fever goes up, can give Brufen but Brufen can cause gastric problem, so usually give with or after food, otherwise me and my husband prefer to hold on. that's my opinions.

4chongchong,

don't mention. Yr dvd player really helped Benny ease a lot of pain after surgery.. A box of fish essence is nothing. Hopefully your dad is alright and will be able to heal better with it. Don't worry.. Apricot's twins will bring us good luck since we're under the same thread. (just like what happens in a family) will keep your dad in prayers.. You have to be calm.. like what you and the other mummies been constantly reminding me before Benny's op..

Jan

So near.. Must meetup one of the saturdays with worrymum.. Macdonalds or library at west mall? right worrymum??

I was busy preparing withdrawal letter for Benny's principal. Stupid PC not happy with printer.. took me one morning to install.. arrggh.. end up, I emailed letter to my BIL and he printed out for me. Next, my printer is ready! Think Printer not happy with me.

Hi Moshi,Joanne,
According to my mil, soak fish in vinegar; and my mom, ginger. I use ginger, don't like the smell of vinegar. I use salt to wash broccoli.

Hi Ky,
How's Keith today? Hope he's better. Yeah, don't force him to eat, he will eat when he's hungry. Well, at least he wants to nurse. Better than nothing right? Tiring for you though.

How about those chocolate-coated biscuits?

sarah

ever came across creppy crawlies underneath broccoli? I've seen it many times. They're green and camouflouged inside. I'll usually soak them in boiling water for a couple of seconds before cooking it.

ky

agree with 4chongchong to bring K back to doc if fever still on. Just to play safe. If he likes crunchy stuff, y not give him some lightly toasted bread with butter? Thou heaty but better than not eating.

sorry for bombarding the posting with K's situation. He ate 6 spoonful of porridge today.. so today seems to be improving.

4ChongChong, if K's really having tonsilities, would the fever keep recurring? We last fed him fever medicine at 9pm last night when he's at 38. He was 37+ yesterday for 11hr. And so far, till now at 2pm, he's at low 37... so I'm keeping fingers crossed that the fever has finally subsided. Anyway, he's more active today too so that's another good sign. He's having running nose till the nose is so blocked and he's wheezing and having a phlegmy cough. So highly suspectible this is the cause. We have Augmentin for anitibiotics. PD did look at throat and said it's red. my concern is more of the bronchitis dragging on too long

how's your dad doing? He's still in TTSH?

Hi Sarah, I'm trying to hold onto biscuits in case it's sorethroat, though I'm very tempted to give to make him happy. Ya, Joanna, toasted bread too. Think we are thinking too much, but if he gets too much of these, would he want his normal food back later on?

.ky.

hi ky
your approach of leaving the child alone until hunger pangs strike reminds me of an article i read on Today papers. the writer has this suggestion to parents who often have to fight dinner battles with kids: to not fear the physical effects of hunger, if the child refuses to eat, don't fuss, force, bride or threaten. just let him get on his way, keep the food in the fridge and when he's hungry, he'll come back and lap up everything.

sounds cool right, but how many of us here really want to serve reheated food, and wait for the kid to come back to us when he's hungry? dinner time is dinner time, all will have to sit at the table and eat together. anyway, if all else fails, that piece of advice should work.

glad that keith is eating some porridge, Jan's suggestion on giving soups is quite a good idea actually, nutritious n easy to swallow.

hi joanne
those worm-like stuff under the florets? caught a few too, that's why i check the underside carefully and soak them in water (actually, we shouldn;t soak cos the B vitamins will be lost). but i still soak them, also, i buy australia brocolli only. And no veg from china, their unethical ways with food is scary, in fact, i boycott all food from china as much as i can.

we got a letter fr sch today stating 2 cases of HFMD in Mel's class, freaked me out, to play safe, she's not going to sch 2mrw.

Hi ky,
Glad to know that K is doing better now. In the past, I used to panic whenever the kids were not eating well, especially when they were sick. But something my pd said strikes a cord in me. How many of us, adults, have good appetite when we are unwell? What more about kids?

K's symptoms sound very much like what my kids had earlier on. It's good that the fever has subsided. But just beware that it might peak again before subsiding totally. Have you tried giving K some kids' lozenges? Cheryl took it the last time and ate better after that. Meanwhile, just feed K with more fluids, esp. water.

Hi moshimoshi,
Ha, I'm the type of "cruel" moms who have no qualms about taking the food away when the kids refuse them . And no snacks until the next mealtime, except for milk.

Yup, does the same thing like Joanne for broccoli. Feels it's safer for consumption. One query I have abt salt, does it really aid in cleaning the veggies or food?

Hi Sheryln,
Been really tired lately. Can't explain why... maybe tis the weather.

Right, we'd better started planning for the gathering. It's only 2 weeks away. My suggestion, go for simple but filling food. That way, we'll have more time for the kids to work on activities, craft, singing, get to know each other better etc... What do you gals think?

KY, glad to know that K is getting better.

4ChongChong, will be praying for your dad so do keep us update with the details.

Usually, sea salt will force the worm to come out from the vegetables .

I am also one of those cruel mum that will remove the food and the child complain hungry, I will offer the same plate of food. And starve for a meal or two is not going to harm the child at all.

Hi moshi, I seen those worms before in brocoli. Ya and I buy australia ones too. Now I mostly buy organic vegetables. My friend buys organic rice as well. I've yet to try out the rice. I saw a documentary on TV that says salt does not remove germs, worms, bacteria .... whatever in the vegetables. We just presume it does.

Serenade, maybe it's good news?!!

KY, pls remember to bring the VCD to the gathering if you've finished with it.

i am physically and emotionally drained... ! My dad will be going for operation tomorrow am at 8.30am! The hospital just called to say I will need to be there by 7am because they will have to wheel him to OT by 7.30am.

Looks like it's going to be a sleepless night again... * so many sleepness nights since C was sick the week before.. sigh...*

My dad had a fall last Thursday due to giddiness caused by low blood count. Transferred him here to TTSH to find out the cause of bleeding. Did OGD nothing found in the stomach. Thank God for that. On Wed finally colono was done.. and guess wat.. as I suspected, Colon Ca! which stage dunno yet , but thank God not spreading to other organs based on urgent abd CT done yesterday! So many things happened these two weeks, really cannot take it! But being a healthcare worker and both me and my husband in healthcare, we need to give lots of info to my other family members, in a way I also feel very stressed because siblings want me to make decision!!

So many prayers came from my church friends and the prayer team came to my dad really touched him and he accepted Christ ! I am sure my dad will be healed completely.

Please continue to keep us in prayers and i will keep you all posted. thanks.

this forum is not accessible to me for 2 nights liao, but i still see postings ..wonder y i cant access.

I m lost .. i dun noe where i stopped so i may hv missed answering some post here.

I also seen those worm before and soaking in normal salt water did not force them to come out. Blanching the vege in hot water also will not clear all of them so i choose brocoli with care.

Serenade, i also esp tired, and hate it cos i cant get things done at night since i m so sleepy (like now). Agree with what you say, less hassle so that we and the kids have more time. Best is have my kids glue to TV haha.

staple food .. how abt hawaiian pizza .. look pretty red overall.

Moshimoshi, I am not sure what JA will be doing in school for national day. His school has no updates on what they will be doing .. I was only informed of racial harmony day today a week ago. I do not even know in advance what are the topics they are gog to cover for the term. Not like Mel's school, you are already informed of outings and topics to be covered etc.

As for trips, a beach getaway would certainly be easiest for the kids but i will still hv problems cos my kids will meddle with alot of things in the hotel room as well. They will play with the lights, turning them on and off, explore the TV switches, the telephone, the alarm clock etc .. unless i m willing to pay for damages, else i would still hv to watch out for them.

Don't think i see K's mom posting recently.

My kids do not hv red/white tops, not to mention red/white bottoms. no need to be strictly all red rite ? can it be pink (red plus white hehe) ? else i would hv to buy a white top from daiso and hv the kids doodle on it with red fabric pen. Any colored bottoms can or not ?

Hope Keith and Mel has recovered now. Jo, Benny ok ? 4Chongchong, hope your dad is ok too.

Serena...according to my mum and some other mummies that soaking the broccoli in warm sea salt water does force out the worm. So far, I did not have such problem with the worms yet.

4ChongChong, will pray for your dad and your family as well. Praise the Lord that your dad accepted Christ.

Sheryln...dun stress yourself out. Children are children so dun expect them to be little adults and each child is different and also the pasture is greener over the fence. Maybe the next holiday, stay in a chalet type near the beach or even ClubMed that will keep your children occupies with activities.

Serena, when I read Serenade's post, "good news" came across my mind too.

Serenade, how? positive or negative?

sometimes worms found in broccoli may not be a bad thing after all.. Guess worms doesn't eat vegie with thick coating of pesticides right? Just check thoroughly before cooking. Organic stuff a little costly, can't afford to eat it long term else we'll be eating organic grass under my block.

Sheryln

relax abit lah. Just let them play with anything they want. When they're at home, they have their fav tv programme and toys to occupy them. At a foreign hotel room with no toys and tv programme in foreign language.. guess all they can do is play with what they see, that is the switches and phone etc. I let my children play with what they want in the hotel room except for power switch. If weather is fine, half an hour of "swimming session" in the bathtub.

Benny is recovering well, has stop taking painkillers. went for review yesterday and surgeon happy with his wound and movement of his head. The reports shows particle of cyst was also found in the part of removed thyroid so hopefully that is the source of recurrence thus the cyst has it's roots removed. Still, we have to keep our fingers crossed, hoping the cyst will not grow back again. A tiny tiny cell of the cyst left in his neck will cause it to grow into a new cyst.

Surgeon was telling me his soft voice may be temporary. Supposed to affect his high pitch nerve but since he's high pitch voice is still there, his voice should be back after some time.
Hurray...