(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Hi Joanne,
It's great to see your little warrior. And indeed, he is a very brave one!

Hi blog mommies,
Reminder for your contribution again. Actually, this reminder is more for myself :p...

Would 4 August (Sat), 4pm, be a good time for the NDP meetup? Just checked that the function room is available.

Hi Ky,
Thanks for the suggestion! Have added the links.

Hi parents-like-us Blog mommies,
Your are invited to add on all your individual blog links

Hi ky
hope keith is on the mend, mel was down with mild diarrhoea and now, bad drippy nose. Will have to keep her at home for a few days.

national day party, yes, it's on, we'll wait for serenade to revert on the dates.

hi sherlyn
how was the trip? hope u managed a few good buys with the kids in tow. rem to post pix on blog!

Working mummies, thought of staying in my job till bonus time but I feel like my heart is not in the job anymore. Do you think I should just quit and forget about the bonus? When your heart is not there, it's like dragging myself to work everyday.

Hi moshimoshi,

How about having it for dinner? Only 2 sessions available - 10am to 2 pm or 4pm to 10pm. Can't make it for the morning session cos the kids have lessons.

Hi Serenade,

*heng* cos actual national day my cousin got church wedding .. i thot i cant make it to the gathering! Since you cant make it for the am session, then maybe we meet after the kids have their nap ? err .. that means dinner lor

*sigh* moshimoshi .. din really hv any good time to shop cos the kids run amok in the only few shops that i went to (with them alone )

voice coarse from having to scold them almost all the time. dh so angry that he said it is a torture bringing them for holiday! boy even throw tantrum and hit me outside the toilet in the plane. So many passengers looking! so malu.

today kena "complain" from teacher, say boy dun want to do worksheet and ask her "do so much for what" *faint*

so frustrated today from his behaviours .. wanted to complain here but really dun noe how to put into words. just feeling so sad and wondering how to "teach" him to be a better person.

ok gog to prepare dinner...

serenade
Dinner's fine. Let's hear what the rest say.

Happy Birthday Singapore!
The Red & White Party
Date: 4 Aug Sat
Venue: Serenade's Cosy Hideout
Time: Dinner

The Decor: Anything eyecatching in red/white
The Food: Anything safe to consume in red/white
The Dress Code: Red & white

Wow wow what fun!

Thanks serenade for hosting, mmmmmmmmwah!!!

ok, ladies, time to brainstorm for food ideas!

Being very busy too. Hardly anytime to post.

KY, Moshi hope that Keith and Mel have recovered. I was told that for diahorrea or vomitting, give the child a little green tea can be good too, taught by a chinese mum here.

Joanne, indeed Benny is a brave warrior.

Sheryln, well, maybe JingAn is not used to the plane yet and being too excited and tired can also caused him to be cranky.

Apricot, both of your little princes look so cute and now I miss having a baby. Haahaa, Kai was looking at the pictures and ask when he is having a little baby at home too.

Sarah, I also watch some drama from crunchyroll and other from subscription sites that I need to pay for scheduled programme.

And a welcome to all the new mummies!

Hi Sherlyn, oh dear - why a torture. Maybe your dh expectations do not match. Hope your kids enjoy themselves? My kids love the trip and the few weeks when we were back, when we ask where do you want to go during weekends, they will say 'HK! ocean park!'

Hi Joanne, really glad to hear that Benny is recovering well. He's v strong. You must take care of yourself as well. I believe all mummies have an inner strength that will keep us going when kids are unwell, but we are human too. So remember to rest well. Stay positive!

Hi hi, thanks everyone for asking after K. Just came back from PD. As suspected, he's got bronchitic infection and throat infection.... just have to monitor temp coz afraid it'll lead to pneumonia. He's pretty lethargic; I guess the virus is pretty strong... I'm not stressed by it, just tired out by it coz I've to nurse him while we sponged him and he's just satisfied to hold onto it non-stop, and sometimes he tend to bite *ouch*

Hi Serenade/Moshi

I can't confirm on 4th Aug yet. K's got into the finals of a baby contest and the prize presentation is at 3-ish. Then B has his usual gym lesson at 5pm ... but we can push it to the next day, but we may have another party on then. Just proceed, I'll try my very best to come.

.ky.

hi serena,

isnt it a waste to be giving up your bonus if it is near right? guess it boils down to how good your bonus is going to be and how much you dislike going to work. you really going to be sahm? ;P i wish i can too...

hi ky,
one month ago i had bronchitis and it developed into pnenmonia (no fever though, just persistent cough). the virus i got was very strong and i had to take 4 types of antibiotic before i finally recovered. do take good care of k. hope he recovers soon!

Hi Worry mum,

my elder son's name is Howie and my daughter's name is Reanne. Reanne born on 19/06/07.

We stay at Bkt Batok.

Hi Serena!

Hmmm... if the bonus is good, stay lor. Gotta be realistic, right?

Btw, was at balik kampung today. Very nice indeed. Like it, no hard-sell there. Am going back again on wed for the july promo. think i might frequent that place more often when I'm back. apparently, there's also an outlet in Outram!

Kristin mom, glad you like it. There's one outlet in Changi too. Pretty far for us. BTW what July promotion?

After much thinking last night, I decided to forgo the bonus. It's not because I'm not realistic, it's just that I feel my heart is not with the company anymore, its hard to go on for another 3 months before I get my bonus. It's just like in a relationship. If you have no more feelings for the husband, then you would dread going home to face him everyday. Ha..ha.... I don't know if I am right.....

KY,
do take care of yourself too.. wishes K had a speedily recovery.

Serena,
So u intend to be a SAHM?
so envy..

Shannen,
Noted.. Thanks. will update and post when there's is other new members..

Wow.. another west side mummy at Bt Batok hurray.. So our Bt Batok/Bt Gombak mummies increases to 4..hehe..

Serena

From your description, I can understand how hard it is to drag yourself to work everyday. I had that feeling when I'm a FTWM. Finally, I can't take it anymore and threw in my resignation letter. hehe.. so you're gonna stay at home or find a new job?

Sherlyn

It's never easy to bring kids overseas, esp when you're alone with two of them. I brought Benny to BKK leaving Bryan with my ILs last yr. But as I have my dad and two sis, I felt easier. We were taking turns to carry him.. afraid that he might get lost in crowd.

Perhaps when xin gets a little older, travelling around may get easier and you'll be able to enjoy more.

National Day Party

Count me in. Benny should be well by then..
I'm fine with dinner.
Benny enjoys the kid's company so kid's attendance are more important than what we eat.. hehe..

Worry mum, got problem with Ebuddy. Wanted to get connected to you but can't seems to open it.

Joanne, talk about marketing. I'm trying to find organic vegetables in the wet market. So hard to find.

Joanne...
Really?? no leh. If only depends on my HB income, then I got to eat grass liao..

Serena,
Then you have to download the messenger liao..hehe... more stable too..
BTW, i tried to log on there.. ok leh.. u try again..

Hi K's mom, what's balik kampung?

Serena, if your new company has much more exciting prospects and u got a good salary increment, and u really feel lousy at your current place, then maybe should leave.... You have a good pull factor, then do it.... but only if you really really feel lousy abt your current situation and cannot tahan further.

Sarah, ya, both mummy ... n daddy
. The semis was on the day after the bbq. And the finals is round 3. So actually only 1 bb contest but spread out in 3 months ... K won 5th last yr and our supplies of J&J still have 50% left (ya, imagine what 1st price is like), so we thot we'll try again this yr :>

Tx all for the wishes. K's fever finally came down this morning. but he's still not eating.

.ky.

Happy Birthday Singapore!
The Red & White Party
Date: 4 Aug Sat
Venue: Serenade's Cosy Hideout
Time: Dinner - 6pm

The Decor: Anything eyecatching in red/white
The Food: Potluck - Anything safe to consume in red/white
The Dress Code: Red & white

1. Moshimoshi
2. Sarah
3. Sheryln
4. Joanne
5. Ky (maybe)
6. Apricot

Any other mommies?

Pris

I got Benny to help out in Banana milkshake. He enjoyed himself but when it's finally done, he only took half a cup.. sigh..
Before he can gain any weight, mummy and daddy would be round round liao. Cannot resist.. too nice..hehe..

Sarah

Of course happy.. I have a warrior in my family and he's recovering well. No reasons to be unhappy right?? except for his voice of course.

I dreamt of him calling out "mama" in his loud bright voice.. guess it's me who can't over his change of voice..

I'm breaking my head over Benny's schooling. Should I switch him to PCF rather than putting him in childcare? His current childcare provides excellent education system but he have to spend whole day in school, from 9am to 5pm. PCF, 3 to 4hrs. Education wise.. not very sure. 1 teacher to 20 over students. Very afraid that he might get neglected and teacher might not hear what he's trying to say with his new voice.

Please advise..

Hi Joanne,
How abt placing Benny at the childcare for half the day? That way, he still benefits from the system.

I understand that, generally, children who attend PCF tend to adapt to the primary school environment easier. But not sure how true it is.

Hi Sheryln,
At least u are prepared for the next trip. That's how we learn abt parenting - Hands-on experience.

Hi Ky Serenade, will seriously consider what you say about my job.

Joanne, agree with serenade. I put my girl half day child care too. Actually prefer 3-4 hrs too but not avail.

Serena

as per yr description.. hate the hubby (company) but have to consider the kids right (money).. hehe

Think organic vegie can only get from supermarkets. wet market don't sell

my 1-yr O nephew who is diagnosed of Leukemia AML, has to undergo a 6-months Chemotherapy and he is still under blood transfusion. I ustd that there is currently a shortage of B- blood and platelets. Therefore, I am appealing for blood donors. Let me know if you or your friends are willing to donate their blood. Pls pm me for more details.

Much tks

KY...wow...Keith is good in baby competition. He must have fun in there too. And glad to know that his fever is gone.

Joanne, the milkshake can be very filling so just encourage him to drink and at least he has another different drink to give him more calories. And what's more he enjoyed making milkshake so maybe you can get him to do the different flavour ones and ask him which he prefers. Another thing is to make smoothies with ice and also with those bubbles like bubble tea. Kai enjoys both of these. I am also not sure whether Singapore has the kids yogurt like ice-pop which the child sucks, I will take a picture another day when I buy them since I just run out which Kai can take at least 2 a day which is good for the system as well.

Serena, if the bonus is not a plus point and you really do not need the extra cash and that mentally you are affected, then leave so that you can be more at peace with yourself.

KeiKei...will you be able to send the details and I will email to my pastor and friends in Singapore to help.

Yea, it is very rare to have B- blood and platelets.

I know of a case many year ago, the parents just have another baby to help the older child.

Joanne,
Hi, I have been following the this thread as my younger boy is also 4 years old this year but I hardly post anything here.
I think some PCF centres are quite good but some are not. You can request to visit the centre while they are having lessons and speak to the teacher to have a better understanding of how they conduct the lessons. I think the various centres have their own lesson plans though they follow a broad based guidelines set by their HQ. There is a thread on PCF centres which you might like to read for info: http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/353638/801859.html?1184550310
I am inclined to believe that the newer estates tend to have better centres. Which area do you stay?

Keikei

oh dear, can you pm details to me too? Really would like to help but noone in family having B- blood.. I'll email my friends and relatives for help.

I have long wanted to donate blood. Benny has blood ready for transfusion during 2 of his ops but were unused. I've realised the importance of sufficient blood in blood bank thus wanted to contribute and do my part.

Jess

I'm staying in Bukit Gombak. I have seen many parents from my estate bringing their child somewhere else for PCF lessons. Think they have more Malay and Inidan teachers. Never really visited the school, just watching from outside.

Benny has been in YWCA cdc for coming 2yrs so bonding between him and his teachers are relatively strong. Wonder if it'll affect him if I switch him to PCF..