(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

moshimoshi,
Wonder if Mel's school still sell the chinese CD ROM ? Can buy one for me ?
If 13May cannot , perhaps we can meet 20May ? Though it's my suggestion, there is a chance I cannot make it becos nowadays my movement is rather restricted and monitored day by day. I am jus glad each day I can come to work.

Minnie,
so happy to see you
Aston was already asking when can he meet all the kids again
He enjoyed himself so much.

Sarah,
did you notice Aston hug and kiss Hannah that day ? Did Hannah complain the kiss part ? Too bad we did not take a pic..ha..
I jus hope he did not scared off Hannah. I was so surprised to see him kiss her..aiyo...

Moshi,
It didn't occur to me to ask the seller if he had it at other branches. Can show me the atlas when we next meet?

Minnie,
I think Josh left his sharpener behind. Pass to you the next time we meet.

Apricot,
No, I didn't see Aston kissing Hannah. Never complain leh, must be a 'dry' kiss. She hates wet kiss, even it was from mommy.

Hi Sarah,

Think we hv common frens. I also received the email on coughing.

Hi Moshi2,
Moi cant join on 13th May.. its mothers day..day to spend with MIL and Mum..

Mommies, like to hear feedback on Hay dairy farm outing. Any comments or stuff i should look out for?

not much time to read thru' the many postings. simply too busy these few days ... sorry for the lousy excuse. Abt KKJC, it's KKH Junior Club. You can sign even if you did not deliver in KKH. The trip I mentioned earlier is full but they are planning to open another date... think is in Jun.

Caning ... what's the topic abt? where to cane? I think if really must cane, it's the most fleshy part. I don't believe in caning. btw, I saw someone slap an autistic kid in the face; I thot it's not right but the reply is that the boy can't sense it well and hence you really have to do it ...

Adding onto Sarah's list

some suggestions on june hols programme:

1. jurong bird park;
2. explorer kid (at downtown east); also safra Toa Payoh, Delta Sports Complex (www.playtime- recreations.com) (all with similar concepts)
3. discovery centre;
4. snow city; and
5. sentosa - probably restrict to interesting spots like dolphin lagoon, underwater world, monorail, cable car.
6. Farms at CCK - goat, cow, fish (btw, someone mentioned a quail egg farm, where is that?)
7 zoo
8 the beach
9 the airport
10 watch a movie (tue morning, child gets in free with mommy at Cathy Cineleisure)
11 heritage walk at chinatown, arab street, little india (has anyone done this before?)

Can someone add on to what's available at Pasir Ris Park and Changi area (remember Moshi mentioned abt this tree)??

.ky.

moo87

I used to visit Hay Diary farm almost every weekend.. you have to be early if you wanna watch them milk the goats. only one section is open to public and you can buy dried weeds (dunoe the name of their food) to feed the goats but be careful not to drop the plastic bag cause goats will "sap" everything their mouth gets contact with. On our last visit, goat was munching on my FIL's shirt and Benny accidentally dropped his plastic bag into their feeding tray. Guess what? The goat ate the bag and send all of us in panic, we kept lookout on that goat and lucky it didn't get choked.
Lastly, look out for the smell.. The goatly smell is remarkably STRONG!!!

Hi Kristins_mom,

We had a great time with you guys too and I think Brandon enjoyed Bryan's company immensely. For once, he didn't complain much about walking.
And the walk down Champ Elysee will probably be the next unforgettable memory I have about Paris
. If only we have known each other earlier, we could probably have travelled to Germany. Well, at least we can still look forward to holidaying together within Asia :p Perhaps Gold Coast?

Did you go down to La Vallee for lunch before you left? We were there for breakfast, hoping to do some last minute window shopping. Unfortunately the shopping village wasn't open
We left the place at around 12.30pm and reached home just before 6pm. The change in weather was certainly not expected. It was raining when we reached home and the temp was around 10 degrees. Seems like the cold weather's gonna stay this way till next week.

And hey, believe it or not, we just found the missing camera!
Somehow, it got into Brandon's winter coat. Well, I'm not going to wonder why...

hi moo
mel went to hay dairies with the sch last week, feeding animals is always fun for kids, just make sure he washes his hands properly after that. It's a small self contained area, the whole tour takes only abt an hr (watching the milking session n goat feeding.)
Try the choc flavored milk unless u are a already a goat milk drinker.
in the vicinity, there's bollywood veg, the restaurant there serves yummy organic meals.
u are also consider qian hu fish farm which is 10 minutes away, kids can feed fish, tortoises and do 'longkang' fishing.

hi apricot
i checked with the teacher this morning, i'm afraid the closing date is over, i can;t place another order for the CDrom, sorry.

hi ky
not sure if i believe in caning, we haven;t got to the stage of wanting to exert physical punishment. and i don't think i will ever cane mel, too softhearted.

changi boardwalk, u can spot cherry trees on the way in, red ripe cherries are rare, we usu. see the green ones which are still edible, we brought home the green ones and wrapped them in tissue, they turned red very nicely.

has anyone used instant cookie mix?
i bought betty crocker (not sure of spelling) once and they came out charred in the toaster.
what brands have u used?
hope to bake cookies for grandmas on mom's day.

Sherlyn, 9am to 2pm at the zoo on your own with 2 kids - that is a remarkable achievement! With my hubby and sis, we stayed from 11am to 3pm and already felt it was a long and draining day for all of us!

Indeed, going out in a group with kids may be challenging due to different needs. Maybe a more confined area as moshi suggested would be better for a start.

Moshi, I'm still doing 2 days a week and putting up with the chaos and disrupted routines for those 2 days. But since I've started into the project, it's not nice to pull out till a certain stage so I will continue to evaluate if this is a wise option. My hubby says that I should just hold on since the opportunity came knocking and indeed I know I will have to put in a lot more effort if I have to find another decent part-time job on my own.

What abt you? What kind of teaching are you doing? I still think that you should start a home-based craft class with your interest and talent. I will definitely get JK enrol in your class ;)

Cindy and Serenade, looks like your families had great fun together. It is nice to travel with young families right? I have been thinking of setting up a service to plan family holidays catering to young families. But looks like CTC already is doing something along this line...

Moshi, did you use sliced cheese for the pizza? Don't want to invest in other types of cheese which I normally don't use...

Hi moshimoshi,

Baking with instant mix is fun and mess free. And the best thing? It tastes decent too
Since she can read, maybe can get Mel to follow the instructions and do the baking herself. That'll be truly a gift from her for Mother's Day

Hi Sarah,
Unpacking was ok this time since we didn't buy a lot of stuff. Will put up the photos once we are more settled.

Hi kristins_mom,
Are you going to start a blog on the family outings? Would love to co-author but think you might have to write more. Your writing style is defintely more interesting

Hi Meilan,
This is the first time we went on a long trip with another family having kids of the same age. It is really fun, especially that the boys could play among themselves. The girls were "ignoring" each other initially but towards the end, they hugged each other goodbye. Mine, they looked so sweet! Kristins_mom, I hope you captured some of the huggings on your camera.

Hi ,

the size of Daiso is not so impt to me .. more impt is, are the things sold the same ? I hv never been to another besides the one at IMM but i hv seen my friend bought sand art packs from Daiso Plaza SG. I dont find it in IMM wor.

Sarah, there is a shop selling party things in West Coast (the part near the CC) , near the 7 eleven .. thou just one shop, but it is quite complete.

hi serenade and k's mom
u gals make me want to hop on a plane for a holiday! yep, it's a rare opppotunity to travel together with families with children of the same age. glad u gals had fun ;)

hi meilan
i bought mozerella cheese for abt $5 for a stickier chewier feel. not a lot though, it's possible to use the whole pack at a go, covers about 10 gardenia slices.

your travel service to young families is a great idea, lotsa nitty gritties to look into since planning for young children, busy parents would require some help in this area. worth exploring!

your twice a week work sounds gd, maybe it's a matter of getting used to the new routine, think abt the pocket money u will get for pampering yourself a bit ;)

what talent? my craft ideas are all stolen from the net la!
teaching creative writing to pri sch kids during weekends

hi sherlyn
was just thinkg it's still possible to do the zoo, maybe we can focus on 2-3 areas, tram ride/horse carraige, show then lunch?

ky
love the graphics, creative pple from substation indeed. keen on the ballet taster class but it's for the 4-7 yo. er... mel is not 4 yet, 3.5 to be precise. anyway, shall call them to clarify. thanks!

Hi Meilan,

I think we did not cover much that day even if we went for such long hours .. so that helps .. i let the kids dictate the speed and mostly we are on trams haha.

I also think that a confined area is better ..

beach should be ok if the kids just play sand infront of us (but i really scare my kids will fling sand into other kids face).

indoor playarea like safra , downtown east has always been in my agenda .. but if i go alone with 2 kids, wonder which one shd i run after

Hi Meilan!

Serious about starting the business for family travels?
Can give you some inputs... haha!
But frankly speaking, I'd rather plan and organise and enjoy myself too.

Actually, planning with kids is a headache. Sometimes I find that a good plan is to plan less. Plan to achieve as little as possible, and see where they lead you.

Half our journey there was with Kristin screaming all the time. She was crying. I asked her what she wanted. She told me she wanted to get down along the highway to walk!!!
On our way back I was anticipating the same problem, but the kids slept for the initial two hours and then were pretty pleasant for the next hour, suprisingly. Guess travelling with kids takes a fair amount of practice. Once the kids understand what to expect when they travel, things begin to unfold nicely, i.e. no nasty tantrums for parents.

Hi Serenade!

Yap, we went to La Vallee too. But for lunch.
We only left our hotel at 1330.
The kids were tired and they were sleeping... very soundly till 1030!

Had no idea that La Vallee was just so close by. By the time we got there, it took us another 30 min to decide what to eat - spoilt with choices. And also didn't have to bother if my kids were disturbing others dining.

Yeah, I think only the good natured Brandon can "tahan" Bryan's nonsense. Bryan was pretty upset even the next day that he was insisting we flew back to Sg asap. He wanted to be back in Sg to play with Brandon already...
His daddy told him we had to get home to get our tickets first. Once we hit home, he was tired and the following day was school. And everything seems back to normal now.
And guess what? Kristin is still sleeping! I think she must be really tired.

Yap the trip on the whole was fun and am secretly glad that the daddies weren't too bored either. DOn't you agree?

Yes, would like to start a blog and all interested mommies here can co-author. We can share interesting things we do with our children. e.g. food ideas, art and crafts, excursions, field trips, family vacation, shopping fun, dining tips, children's literature, health and medicines etc. Think it's easier to read and sort/search. On the forum, sometimes ideas are lost among the archive.

No need to bother about writing style. It's collective. And that's why it's interesting. People can choose to write in paragraphs, rhymes or just write out their thoughts in point forms. Doesn't matter. I think the variety in style and the diversity in interests will make the blog an excellent read to any parent, esp in Sg.

Hi all mommies interested to blog! See above post too.

Are you keen to co-blog?

Any suggestions for a blog name?

I can't think of any right now...
errm, like:

Kids R Us!

Growing Up and Again... (the first is for the kids, and Again refers to us!

Ok... Kristin is finally up!

Gtg...

Sorry, just one day did not read and there are so many post .. anyway i thot the mothers' day gathering is somewhere else rather then IMM ?

Must hv miss some posts ...

okie gtg, got to wake the kids.

Hi moshimoshi,
Can't ascertain if I can make it for the June outings yet. Very keen but need to settle some stuff first. Will try to steal time to join you gals if I can

Hmm, holidaying together... how about starting with Genting or Cruise?

Hi Kristins_mom,
I was pleasantly surprised by Brandon's actions too. You should have seen him at the playground with the french kids. Trust me, you won't be calling him good natured. Either he has mature or he chose to be a Complaint King this time round :p Thanks for putting up with all his complaints.

The daddies... trust their patience! Oh mine, can't believe one waited 20mins, and the other 40mins in the queues under the hot sun for a ride. Really goes to show how much they love the kids

Crispy Marshmallow Sticks

1/4 cup butter, 1/2 cup grated chocolate, 1/2 teaspoon vanilla, 1/2 lb marshmallows, 5 cups rice cereal. Melt butter and marshmallows over boiling water, stirring often. Add vanilla and beat well. Mix well with cereal and chocolate. Press into a large buttered pan; when cool, cut into sticks or bars.

Hi moshimoshi!

Don't forget your recipes for the blog hor!

Hmmm... anything more than just moms? Coz maybe the daddies wanna be included too?

Let's decide on a name and then I can register an address and then... we can start!!!

For categories, Im thinking of:

1. cooking (food fun & recipes)
2. getting handy (art and crafts)
3. exploring (field trips)
4. travelling (family vacation)
5. gatherings
6. reading (childrens literature)
7. writing (literacy)
8. studying (other homeschooling ideas)
9. being healthy (sports, health and medicine)
10. showcasing (displaying kids work)
11. shopping
12. dining
13. disciplining
14. playing (toys & games)

blog names:
-Kids R Us!
-Growing Up and Again
-Kids United
-Moms United
-MOMS (ministry of moms)
-Parenting (raising our children, raising ourselves)
-parents-like-us (hee, you can read it both ways! 1.like-minded parents, 2.other parents like us, the like-minded parents too!)

Great idea on group blog, Cindy! I'll never get started on my own otherwise. Also like your categories and maybe add a chapter on heartwarming moments? This could be something they say or a memorable incident. Also added my inputs to blog names below...

blog names:
-Kids R Us!
-Growing Up and Again
-Kids United
-Moms United
-MOMS (ministry of moms)
-Parenting (raising our children, raising ourselves)
-parents-like-us (hee, you can read it both ways! 1.like-minded parents, 2.other parents like us, the like-minded parents too!) - like this one

- dwell on kids
- chatter on kids

On holiday planning, I do think expectations must be set really low but some planning is essential in case the kids are cooperative and we then know what options we have. As for feasibility of the family holiday business, I realised that there are people who love to do such research (like me) and people who find it too troublesome (like my hubby).

Moshi, I need more than pocket money. Since we continue to give both sets of parents a good sum of allowance, hubby cannot afford to pay for my insurance premiums... This is something I did not think of when quitting my job.

meilan
bills bills bills, these are the things that kill us in Sg, that's why it's important to keep working, be it part time, running a business or homebased job, every cent counts. when things are more settled, u will be looking forward to getting your monthly pay cheque. Persevere on!

k's mom
i reckon most of us are easy with the name, it's the contents that matter. of those that u mentioned, i like parents-like-us. the categories suggested are pretty comprehensive also, i think we are ready to start, go ahead with the name u like.
what blog are u using?

so exciting, i can;t wait!

hello mummies, no time no post in here.. have been a daily silent reader.. cos was busy in work.. sorry..

K's mom, moshi, meilan, how abt instead of blog.. we do it in Yahoo Group? just a suggestion.. at least we can get someone doing the moderator job, only approved members can join in. We could also sub-divide to many topics there.....

Hi K's mom, think I'll pass on the co-blog. My writings ain't fantastic and I'm having problems keeping my own blog up-to-date. 2 weeks ago, I think I've got too stressed up and I told myself not to do too many things ... hence, though it's good, I've to pass for now.

Re : Holiday planning
I don't even have a passport for Keith! Somehow feel that a holiday is always a rush-rush with kids. For now, I'll rather plan holiday within Singapore. Perhaps I've travelled satisfactorily when I was single. My last travelling experience with Ben was so-so ... luckily it was paid-for so we spent most of the time lazing around the hotel room.
Well, I do hope that one day I can get on the road again...

BILLS ... actually when I quitted, my main concern was supporting my insurance premiums and setting money aside for #2 pregnancy. One couple I know, both engineers, bought a new 4-room flat in CCK, fully paid. Bought a car, fully paid. really envy that. it's good to know that you do not have debts... we've just recently paid off our housing loan (cos the interest rates is getting much higher than a few years ago that it's better to pay off now)... I was just telling hubby the other day that luckily I had chosen to quit then; if not, my eyes may wander around to another more fanciful property and that means 2 of us have to slog for the rest of our lives, and I'll never be willing to quit

.ky.

hi mommies who are keen to blog!

what do you all think of blogspot?

personally haven't tried out others but this is the one that I use.

we can keep the readership to only within the members of this group, ie. we add in individual emails on the list as well as the co-authoring rights.

don't feel obliged to blog everyday. just blog as and when you like it. no pressure at all. and of course, share your healthy recipes and yummy treats.
so ky, post anytime you feel up to it.

On categories, added in Meilan's request:

1. cooking (food fun & recipes)
2. getting handy (art and crafts)
3. exploring (field trips)
4. travelling (family vacation)
5. gatherings
6. reading (childrens literature)
7. writing (literacy)
8. studying (other homeschooling ideas)
9. staying healthy (sports, health and medicine)
10. showcasing (displaying kids work)
11. shopping
12. dining
13. disciplining
14. playing (toys & games)
15. heartwarming (Meilan's request)
16. getting organised (e.g. tips to help us manage household)
17. feeling messy (haha, thought it would be apt for us to complain a little too
18. just kidding (i'm sure there are lots of jokes and innocents from our children to share)

if all say aye to parents-like-us and blogspot, i'll register for a blog asap.

hi worry mum!

the idea of blogging is also to show our children what we've done, e.g. Serenade, ky, Pris and I have been showing our children their friends on the blog and sharing with them what we've done.

Bryan was very excited about meeting Brandon and Cheryl before we met up in Paris and he asks about Ben (ky's son) all the time.

Also, I try to show him the positive examples of neat craftwork from Kai.

So that's one of my original ideas to blog together.

I think with a yahoo group, things will get lost again among the threads.

Besides, blogging will allow us to showcase yummy recipes better, e.g. food blogs. Let's say we are putting together a sort of scrapbook journal online.

Hi kristins_mom,

Aye to parents-like-us and blogspot!

okie, gtg and pack the boxes. They are picking up the boxes on Monday. Phew, after that, I'll be a bit more free...

We just got back from our trip to Alberta from the airport.

It was a great trip - a very packed trip for tracking and stuff. Being to some very educational places of interests too. Will sort out all the photos before I share them.

And it was still snowing in certain towns in Alberta when we were there and yesterday when we were in Calgary, it was snowing.

Did not have time to check out the backdated thread yet. Will come in once, I get the laundry, packing and stuff done. And going for Vancouver Marathon this Sunday.

Sorry to interrupt.

I am from 2002 mummies thread and Jan 06 thread. Currently I have a native Chinese to my place at CCK to conduct Chinese lesson for 2002/2001 kids and another group for 2003 kids at another mummy's place in CCK. We need 5-6 students, currently we have 3. Please pm me if you are interested. Lesson is every Sat 3-4.30, $20 per lesson.

Hi, K's Mom,
sorry..I do not have a blog and didn't know the blog can co-author..
haha.. Just afraid that no more monitoring the blog.. any user might ruin it. Thanks.

Me too.. Green light for parents-like-us and blogspot..

moshimoshi,
Yahoo groups works abt the same as blog i think. We can post files, photos etc too.. but there's a certain limit.

Joanne,
Thanks, noted.