(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Hi Sherlyn,
It's common for toddlers to drop some hair as long as it's not alot, know what I mean. I was shocked when I spotted a white strand of hair and split ends on Hannah when she was about 1yr old. I was on the 'lookout' for the next few days and months, luckily that was it. According to the PD, it's normal, something like my hormones passed to her.

Free event - Mother's Day Special at Esplanade. Chinese songs concert performed by Chiu Sheng Yang, Yao Yi, Deng Xue Hua and Ye Pei Fen

Date: Sun, 13 May
Time: 3pm

Moshi,
Hannah's sch excursion is some puppet show at the museum. I would love to join, too bad parents not invited.

told myself not to log on cos of those stiff aching shoulders, but can't help thinkg abt u guys haha

apricot
the reason parents are invited is to babysit, more parents means less kids to take care of for the teachers haha

sarah
puppet show sounds good, noticed hannah has been watching shows for sch outings ;)
see what i told u abt concerts, 3pm again???

ky
the price of the tour is a steal! $10 for admission and?? what's KKJC? where do we meet?
any webby to look at? one concern is the duration, full day!

meilan and joanne
pity u gals can;t join us on sun. we will do something once a week during the hols then. NSEW? north-zoo, south-lunch in town, east-ECP? West: Sci ctr or farm or?

joanne
will watch the toast like a hawk, still deciding if i should use normal bread or pizza dough. thought the usual squared bread is easier to handle but the round dough will look like a real pizza

k's mom
at least u get some variety, i just get an 8R which is not a good size to bring out to show grandparents. wallet size is a good idea.
hey by now, u and serenade would be happily posing with disney friends, upload photos fast ok!

Hi Sarah,

I really not sure how to quantify alot or not alot .. cos you noe lah, me the parent mah, so maybe kan cheong? think that it is quite alot .. if one time i spot is around 10 strands, i spot it on pillow and also on playarea .. then 2 days is 20, then 3 days 30 ... haha anyway his 4 yrs old chk up is coming, maybe i ask doc to look at his hair lor

Regarding holiday programmes, why don't we take turns to organise? Maybe can have an indication who's interested to join on a weekly basis first?

Jun Hols Programme:
1) moshi
2) meilan
3) Sherlyn?
4) Sarah?

moshi,
not sure if pizza dough ok to use in toaster.. Y not you try first.. if it's successful, I'll try it next time. keke.. I've tried making butter cookies using ingredients of egg tarts crust. Made into all sorts of funny funny shapes.. my kids likes them, unfortunately will have to stop for the time being. Have to restrict Benny's intake on heaty stuff..

Meilan
would love to join you girls for Jun Hol Progs but Benny has no holiday. He's attending childcare N2 so unless it's public holiday, he'll have to report for school. But once or twice a yr, we'll organise a family outing either to BKK or Genting Highlands and declare a week's holiday break for him.

sheryln,
don't worry too much. Last month, Benny had lotsa hair on his pillow too. Got worried as I'm seeing the same thing day after day.. I got him sat before me and I inspected him, lucky i don't see any "hairless hole". Think it was due to his dose of antibiotics then.
Dropping 100 strands of hair per day is normal for adult, not sure for kids. Anyway, better consult your doc as only his words will take your anxiety over their hair loss away.

Hi Meilan,

The last time i organise something is when i m in secondary school, which is like more than 15 yrs ago, so not sure if i am capable to do that .. maybe i will follow the way the first organiser does ... (thus first one cant be me
).

now i cant wait for the june holidays.

Would love to join Jul hol progs but same like Benny, Aston is attending FT N2. The school is closed on 15Jun but I have plan something for him already. U gals enjoy !

Benny and Bryan enjoying weekend indoor camping.

http://i156.photobucket.com/albums/t16/jojo_chew/Picture011.jpg

Hopefully you gers are having a nice weekend too.
My house has been messed up with toys.. I just let them be. Wanted them to enjoy themselves with all the toys they want. Hopefully they'll enjoy too tonight when clearing up their mess..keke.. Having a messy house with happy babies is better than having an angry mummy with cranky kids.

hey mommies:

1/2 cup mini-chocolate chips

2/3 cup mini-marshmallows

2 cups whipped topping

1 box of graham crackers, any flavor

In a large bowl with a wooden spoon, stir together first three ingredients. Mix well.

Scoop mixture onto a graham cracker square, sandwich with another square. Continue making sandwiches until all of the mixture has been used up.

Put sandwiches into the freezer for approximately 1 1/2 hours, or until frozen.

Serve frozen.

This sounds sinfully yummy but heck, easy enough for lazy oven-less people like me, haha.

june hols prog:

shall we fix it on every wed, 1st stop the zoo?
been a while since we last went, does anyone have the zoo pass? is it worth getting? may get it since mel now has to pay to enter.

Mommies, cough remedy? Tried it last night, hmm, seems like no cough or maybe I was too tired to hear Hannah coughing.

It works 100% of the time although the scientists at the Canada Research council (who discovered it) aren't sure why.

To stop nighttime coughing in a child (or adult as we found out personally), put Vicks Vaporub generously on the bottom of the feet at bedtime, then cover with socks.

Even persistent, heavy, deep coughing will stop in about 5 minutes and stay stopped for many, many hours of relief.

Works 100% of the time and is more effective in children than even very strong prescription cough medicines.

In addition it is extremely soothing and comforting and they will sleep soundly.

It was a surprising finding and found to be more effective than prescribed medicines for children at bedtime, in addition to have a soo thing and calming effect on sick children who then went on to sleep soundly.

An adult friend tried it on herself when she had a very deep constant and persistent cough a few weeks ago and it worked 100%! She said that it felt like a warm blanket had envel oped her, coughing stopped in a few minutes and believe me, this was a deep, ( incredibly annoying!) every few seconds uncontrollable cough, and she slept cough-free for hours every night that she used it. So, if you have kids/grandchildren, pass it on. If you end up sick, try yourself and you will be absolutely amazed .

moshi

ya, done at home. Living room in the day and dragged into the bedroom at night. Camping is over and tent has been kept back into box.. Will set another camping weekend next month. Too much of a toy will make them sick of it so will have to rotate and choose a few weekly.

Sarah, thanks for the interesting cough remedy. Shall ask my dad to try it.

On outings, we just went to the zoo on Sun with discounted tickets I obtained from Gigi in this forum. She has lobang to discounted tickets in a no. of attractions in Singapore. She is a kind soul to share the lobang through the forum though I understand she has to go through her mother's friend to arrange for the tickets. If interested, you can email her at [email protected] for the list.

By the way, ky and I visited Sengkang Fire Station on Sat with our playgroup and I thought it was great fun for both kids and adults and best of all, it was free of charge. The kids even got some souvenirs including red helmets! Not many people know but most fire stations in Singapore are open for visiting on Sat from 9-11am. We went as a group and thus had to pre-arrange but otherwise, you can just walk in. Highly recommended if your kids are into firemen and fire engines! We've been there twice and still JK wants to go again.

Moshi, Wed is fine for me but I'm not sure if I can manage going back to the zoo with 2 monkeys on my own. Last Sat, my sis came along and it was a great relief for hubby and I.

Please update us abt making pizza through the toaster cos I've been wanting to try too...

Hi Moshimoshi,

I m fine with wednesday .. also fine with zoo .. but i must first give u guys warning ... when i go zoo .. my kids are more interested in riding on the tram then looking at animals. The other time i went with another sahm, my kids oni wanted the tram ride, and also the playland ..

i din allow them into playland wet area the other time cos i m alone and would not be able to manage 2 kids there, furthermore, it is a school holiday and it is super crowded with all ages of kids .. so in the end, they make fuss and want to head home.

If this time round go zoo, i guess i would just station at the playland for them to play the playground and the ballpool after some rounds of tram haha. if such, who is keen to go wif me wor ?

hi moshimoshi,

forget to say i have the zoo pass .. expiring in jul or aug , cant remember .. since it only requires 3 to 4 times to cover the cost of the membership, we signed it up. I m not gog to renew it since my kids are oni interested in the tram and the train ride (which says "discontinued" the last time i went)

Hi Meilan,

I am able to cope with 2 mischevious kids the other time i went alone. I think most impt is to follow their flow .. i just tag along with them .. entertaining them with the tram rides they like, making sure they had lunch and toilet breaks etc .. so pace is very slow and only cover the polar bear show, the animal show, and the children animal area from morning 9 to 2pm, with lunch taking up around an hour.

I cant tell how will things will go for this zoo gathering since we may be a big grp and need to accomodate each other. Some children want to stay at one spot, some kids want to move on ... maybe end up we go separate way but only to meet for lunch (just like my last outing with my friend)

meilan
SK fire station! interesting, thanks for sharing, but only on saturdays? a bit of a rush for me as i start work at 11am. btw, are u still working PT?

sherlyn
u made some very points abt going in a grp, having to meet varied needs is always a challenge.

for the first time, maybe we can gather at someone's hse for a baking session or something.

another thing i have been wanting to do is visit the animals resorts at jalan kayu, have u been? would be a smaller version of the zoo. check the website for more info.

one mommy i met at sarah's pl mentioned this Duck tour thing along Singapore River, she paid abt $30 after sm discount, lemme find out more.

meilan
my toaster pizza turned out fine, i made it v simple with gardenia thick slice bread, cheese n ham, i toasted the ham first so the bread won't have to sit too long in the oven and really must keep watch like a hawk, they were done in 5min or less, depending on the 'power' of the toaster.

Hi Moshimoshi,

Aston went to Jalan Kayu animals resorts few mths back with Daddy and they love it. Me who is afraid of animals waited for them inside the car enjoying music and aircon.

Hi Sarah,

I am coughing madly last few days and still coughing now. The cough has made my back down the waist terribly painful and gynae & GP cannot give my any med to reduce it. I will try your method tonite.

moshimoshi,
jus came back from late lunch.
will head to giant when going back my mom's place for dinner later. what great offers are there ?

apricot
sent u sms abt animals stickers atlas, it's an absolute must buy, going to call them to check if there are some more at other branches (ELM tree distributers).

moshimoshi, Daiso Vivocity is not as big as IMM. IMM is still the biggest and I personally still like to shop at IMM DAISO. But DH will huh at me since he knows now there are DAISO in Plaza Sg and Vivocity. I can only visit DAISO IMM if I happen to be the West area. I think I am meet on Sunday 13May.

Hey Moshi, Apricot,
As usual, count me in for Daiso IMM. Wanted to buy those 3D cutters and maybe some party gifts, hopefully can find some cheap and good stuffs.

Btw, the animal stickers are sold out.

some suggestions on june hols programme:

1. jurong bird park;
2. explorer kid (at downtown east);
3. discovery centre;
4. snow city; and
5. sentosa - probably restrict to interesting spots like dolphin lagoon, underwater world, monorail, cable car.

Hi Meilan,
Thanks for sharing the fire station tour. It must be interesting. May pop by one of these Sats.

hi pris!

are you back from your hols already?
just wanna check with you:
are you still on npl?
if yes, how long have you been on npl?
is it possible to extend it beyond three yrs?
hr's been telling me that there's a cap of three years of continuous npl.

hi serenade!

we just tucked the kids to bed...
only started our drive at about 3pm this afternoon, thus arriving in Frankfurt only about 9pm, with a stop in between.

the hol with your family was excellent. thanks for letting us tag along...
and your kids are really very mature to tolerate my children's mischief. we'll do it again in the future? in asia, when we are back for good too?

i think i probably missed that post about the buttocks? who said kidneys are where the bottoms are?? Or am I missing out something in the human anatomy? anyway, what i'm aware of is that the buttocks are well cushioned with fats. I think most docs would agree on this too. Otherwise, we wouldn't get jabbed there. In the beginning, i thought of canning the palms or feets too, until i was cautioned by another parent about the hurting the nerves there. I think I agree more with that parent on that. So spanking and canning is only for the buttocks.

Hi Serenade, Kristin's mom,
Welcome back!! Sounds like you gals have fun. Post your pics when you have settled down.

Next thing on your agenda, have fun unpacking.

Hi Kristin's Mom and Serenade,
Welcome back !!!

Abt caning on buttocks, the child cannot see the cane marks there , therefore they may not be scared or feel shy letting others see the cane marks and be conscious to rem to behave. Sometimes we cane the legs at least canes marks are there to support this purpose. Jus sharing one cent of thots. You need not follow , ya..

Hi Sarah, Apricot and Moshimoshi,

Nice meeting all of you last week.

Moshimoshi,

You working on weekends? I am so impressed by your creative Mother's day hands on project that day. I would never have thought of such a cute project. :p

Josh is gg to Animal Resort w his school on Friday. I think it would be fun. Have you been to Pasir Ris Park? They have pony rides there too.

Hi Apricot,

Take care and rest well. I see your big tummy, I felt so heavy for you!!

disney mommies
yep, don;t forget to upload photos, managed to get a good all-together shot?

sarah
abt the atlas, did they see if there are stocks at other branches?

sarah n apricot
i may not be able to daiso on 13may, awaitng confirmation fr dh if he has to entertain clients on that day! Darn...

mommies
Have u read Tuesdays' A passage to pyongyang? this communist place is amazing. imagine surrending mobile to immgration upon arrival, no internet connection (only intranet to govt controlled info) and a one and only disco which is empty!

hi minnie
glad u came to join us!
joshua will have fun feeding animals, is he doing the theme on animals in sch?

pasir ris park, mel fed some ponies which salivate so much that i tell myself she is not feeding them again,haha.

yep, moi work on sat,teaching, gotta earn pocket money la.

hey, your preggy friends grp is great, i believe u guys, having seen each other progress motherhood since day 1, have a strong bond ;)