(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Hi Serenade!

Did you get my sms? Just testing if I got the right no.

I think I'm gonna let Brandon teach Bryan some Maths this weekend, after having read your blog.

Hi Priscilla,
I am so happy to see those lovely TULIPS !! My fav flowers. Hoping DH will buy one bunch for me during Mother's day..ha ha..
else I will come in look at these lovely TULIPS..
Pls save them and who knows if you are back in Spore, I may request your help to develop for me

The pizza making looks fun and easy...let's see when I can try with Aston...but I doubt I can bake it cos I do not have oven.

Allow me to complain ...my back was so painful, my two boys inside me have been kicking me many nights, sleepless nights, then I have to sleep sideway to reduce backache..then who knows now I have very bad backaches. Yesterday could not go to work cos pelvic area was very painful.
Joanne, before I forget to tell u, I am 6+ mths preggie now.

June break .. *sigh* really don't know what to do .. perhaps we have trips to zoo ? science ctr ? discovery ctr ? jurong birdpark ? sorry ah majority west events .. cos i stay west mah .. i hv a 2 men tent i think .. maybe we can go pitch tents in east coast ? I dont know who stay where (lazy to refer bak to the table .. sorry) but getting together to do crafts is a good idea .. however, i m afraid my kids are very mischevious and cause trouble ...

Hi K's mom,

food blog is welcome .. but i m not creative .. mostly take recipes from others .. even art and craft ideas .. so would u blame me if i hv nothing to share but just taking ?

Hi worry mum,

Thanks for the info. Will not give them too often. I stopped after 5 days since one pack from pharmacy only has ten packets and shared between 2 of them.

Hi K's mom,

Thanks for the info .. stupid me went to buy a bottle of powdered yao cai just last mth ... wanted to improve their immunity and they recommended me a mixture of yao cai powder .. costed me $100.

I not sure if it is the same flumicil .. but the one i talk abt is also to reduce phlegm, so i guess shd be the same. Didnt know it has that effect of making them cough more to cough out the phelgm, but my kids sure did not cough out the phlegm leh maybe they still dont know how to do it, but the phelgm still reduce anyway.

Hi Joanne,

Thanks for the info. Will stop giving brufen if the fever do not go to 38.5.

I hope nothing comes next after what you have went through. :)

ok i m gog off too ... drowsy after cough mixture .. so itchy throat .. today i had a new feeling .. I feel that i m living for my kids, not for myself ... i cant any o how eat cos i must take care of myself for my kids .. *sigh*

Worrymum, hope that he can cook and clean when he becomes a teen, we just hope that he has the opportunity to study overseas when he is older and that all will come in handy for him.

Joanne, in the beginning was lots of mess but after each time, he improves. I am hoping to let him learn how to cook simple dish when he is about 5-7. Haahaa...by the way, my dh can work well too haahaa

Hi moshimoshi,

My neighbour gave me this recipe for pizza -

Use 4 pieces of bread as the base
Spread the sphagetti sauce on top
Add cheese, ham and any other ingredients that you like on top
Put in the oven (er, forgot how long...) and get ready to eat

Hi Kristins_mom,

Yup, received your message. Brandon is looking forward to meeting Bryan and Kristin. Kept asking me if Bryan comes from Singapore too. Hmm, really interesting to see how the two will knock off

Hi Apricot,
Yeah, I remembered having difficulty sleeping when I was pregnant with Cheryl. Can imagine how tough it is for you. Hang on there, just a few months to go, Jia You!

Hi Pris,
Does Kai like fresh oysters? Brandon tried once but didn't really it. Enjoy your trip!

I tried making small pizza using sliced bread in toaster.. Can't have too much topping tho otherwise before cheese melt and ingredients cooked.. We have a charcoal bread!

Young kids' temperature are on the high side and so whenever they have fever, the temperature tends to be high too. And the temperature gets higher when they sleep at night. It may be good to get one of those small water beds to keep the kid cool when he or she is running a high fever.
I observed that usually PD tends to administer very strong medicine and antibiotics (maybe that's why it is more effective) but GP usually gives the milder ones. On one hand, the stronger medicine may seem more effective but the kid may then rely too much on these medicine and be unable to fight back with their own antibodies. A GP once commented to me that a key difference between a GP and Specialist is the cost of the medicine....

Sheryln
Still awake at 2+am?? I think I'll be drowsy even without cough mixture. SAHM too? (hehe.. me also lazy to check back..) I've been getting tired of all the washing and cleaning esp after cooking.. my kids are hyper active monkeys and they have too many toys. I've recently "trained" Benny to keep all his toys before he head for bed but seems like Bryan doesn't follow instruction. when I threaten him with a belt.. he'll go wah..wah..wah... crying with his mouth wide open.. btw, his voice hyper high pitched loud. Guess I'll need to have more patience on him.. m I right to say he's still a baby? 2yo?
Sometimes, I can't even find time to relax with a cup of coffee..

oh my, joanne, i will be using the toaster! so what do i do first?

thanks, serenade, i will be working on that pizza thing by this week.
will photo n show u if they don;t turn out charred haha

hi sherlyn
hey let's arrange something, i can go to the west or east, are u a morning person? on sundays, my family hits the reservoir./beach at 8am! we do the trail at lower peirce reservior or play with sand at ECP. my dh n i believe in fresh air and the great outdoors, u can rarely catch us in malls ;)

oh yes, serenade can join us too and sarah if she;s not in aust yet.

To me, a fever is really serious if it hits 40 degrees. Ben has hit it only a few times in these 4 years; Keith has more scares esp when we do not know why he has such a high fever and we've to watch out because of his kidney situation. For Keith, once he was on and off this high fever for FOUR days. Really tired us out as we'd be busy sponging him at 2am in the morning.... until today, we still do not know what causes the high fever. We swing between a PD and a GP who specializes in children but for fever, we usually self-administer. We were told nurofen (or Brufen) was a strong medication like the insets.... ie it is more effective in bringing down fever faster.

JessChan, I find the difference btw a PD and GP is the appropriateness of medication used. I used to bring med prescribed by GP to my PD and he'll tell me these will solve the symptom but not the source of the problem, and yes, GP tend to give milder or lower dosage. They are general practioner I guess and with all the rulings coming down on them to ensure no over-dosage, they probably trying to play it safe.

Sherlyn, Flumicil will help to dissolve the phlegm hence its effectiveness. You may want to consider going for TCM Tuina at Jurong East (think you stay there right?) ... it really helps Ben a lot in building up immunity but be warned, the chinese herbs very bitter.

June hols? Luckily I don't have this problem, but let me know what's being planned and I see if I can join in.

.ky.

Hi KY,

A chinese sinseh taught me to boil chinese barley with "teng xin" for high fever. add in melon sugar if u like.. prefably to consume during daytime cos will increased urine flow. Gd in a way to release the toxics. This works for adults too. U may wan to try it out.

Hi Joanne,

I used the time-out on Zavier if he refused to keep his toys by 3rd reminders. its now 3mins time-out cos he is 3yrs+. Initially it was quite difficult.. he has now learnt tt if he misbehave, he needs to sit on his naughty chair. He even carries his own naughty chair to the designated spot.

I am training him to keep his toys within his room and not everywhere in the house using this method. It is working on him..

Hi Apricot,

Poor u.. Think of Jul and then u will miss the feeling of them inside yr tummy.. Duno if yoga/massage can help..

Hi Moo,
Talk abt time out. Aston will wail at his loudest when punish him in his time out corner which is his room. I was only sucessful for one time & never suceeed after that becos I cannot stand his wailings. Can make me so angry and with my preggie condition I was warned by DH cannot raise voice or exert energy beat him.

Hi Apricot,

Zavier's time out is out of his room cos he is afraid to be alone in his room. His time-out area is just at a corner of living room. I chose to ignore his wailings by getting out of his sight. If he gets out of hand, I display the CANE. He will lower his wailings.

Yr DH is right.. u must not exert yourself.

Hi Moo,

So DH will cane him if he is really getting out of hand & after several warnings. He hit him real hard and I am so heartpain. But hor, luckily his skin is rather tan so the cane marks are not that obvious..ha ha..

Hi Sherlyn,
I saw that u wanted to join the PMM Birkenstock spree. I ordered two pairs from Prettymama in her 1st and 2nd spree and one pair which is for my sister turns out to be big. She will be trying it tomorrow. In case the size do not suit her, she wan to sell it. If you are interested, this is the one.
http://www.tobiasmayer.com/birk_single.php?I_ID=98&IC=
Brand new with box. Can sell to you at S$60.

Hi Kristin's mom,
You mentioned giving Prospan for cough. Can I give as and when or continuously for few days to see results? It was given by Hannah's PD, tried once and she hates the taste. Tks.

Hi Sarah!

For Prospan, it's quite slow for the medicine to take effect. About 5 days, at least, for a very serious cough. For what I know, since it's mainly herbal extracts, it should be quite safe and I read that it must be taken until the cough rests. And to ensure that it's completely off, you need to continue to administer it for the next two days.

Hi Joanne,
How long did you leave the bread in the toaster? Really can't remember how long my friend said... maybe around 5 minutes or so. Will it still charred?

Hi moshimoshi,
I'm fine with any location as long it's on weekends
Otherwise, hehe, may not be able to travel far. Remember I'll be trying to get used to city life with 2 kids. Previously, I left Sg with a 1 mth old baby. But now, life is gonna be different...

Hi moo87,
Think we have the same trick - flashing the cane. Actually, just the mention of cane is enough to send my kids scrambling away fast

Hi Sarah,
Is the medicine in Sg sweet? Those prescribed by my pd are pretty sweet though it's supposed to be non-sugar. Think my kids like them. Sometimes, Cheryl will pretend to cough and tells me she needs medicine :p

Hi kristins_mom,
You mentioned about beating on the back to avoid marks on the body. But someone cautioned abt hitting the buttocks b'cos that's where the kidneys are. Think any truth in it?

HI Serenade!

Good that I got your no. right. Otherwise I wouldn't know how to call you when we are there... call the hotel, haha!

Only started telling Bryan about the trip this week, slowly revealing a little detail at a time. Otherwise he'll be bugging when Friday comes.

Dropped you a mail.

Hi Joanne,

Ya I am a SAHM with 2 kids age 4 and 2.5 in singapore. you ? i usually stay up till 2am (sometimes later if boy not schooling) for a couple of days before i realy cant stand it and sleep early for one or two nights ... otherwise i dun hv much time to do my personal things.

my kids are not consistent in keeping their toys but i have learnt to leave some of them untidied, since they will play with it first thing in the next morning haha anyway they are also hyperactive, always fighting and running ard ... so day time my personal activities are zero. hard to get them to do things lah .. ask the older one to do, the older one say younger one also played but never keep, the younger one cant be instructed at times. *sigh* anyway no matter how old they are, they will always be our baby hehe

relax ? i dun relax till they sleep at night .. most of the time fighting with the clock .. even after they sleep i hv to rush so that i can do more of my personal things haha ...

ok time to wake the kids .. only replied one post *sigh*

Hi Serenade,

Haha.. we belong to the same group "Discipline Mummy".. DH always roped me in if he is unable to cope with his nonsenses. He always misuse my NAME cos he wants Zavier to move along with his pace.. Sigh...

Hey Serenade, Kristin's mom,
I can feel your excitement!! Have a safe trip on the road, and enjoy yourself. Remember lots of pics!

Serenade,
Oh yes, medication here is sweet, but for Prospan, Hannah just hate it. I don't even remember it till Cindy mentioned.

Tks, Cindy!

Hi Moshimoshi,

my kids are early birds, they wake up latest 8am .. but after their breakie, we usually head outdoor earlier ard 10. Ya, this timing is not really beach friendly, so usually we do not go further then labrador park or west coast .. but we are recently trying to make cycling a regular event in east coast , thou not started yet.

However, weekends are usually family day, be it outdoor nature or outdoor shopping.

furthermore, my dh not so much into group outings so i actually mean weekdays event during june holidays.

Hi Ky,

I stayed in clementi. Tried Eu Yan Sang last time for his allergy problems .. prescribed powdered medicine and he has trouble taking it, and we hv trouble feeding it .. so i dun think he takes to chinese medicine well .. infact the recent "build immunity " powder, he also has problem taking it .. so i dare not try powdered medicine, so the next thing is soups.

As for tuina, i got to find an appropriate time to start him cos this hyperactive kid would probably not want to lie there 30 minutes for pp to massage him. I am even thinking of trying yoga.

Hi Apricot,

I m actually looking at the Betula range .. but from the TM website, they look expensive... is this range available in SG? PMM say can try at Tanglin so i will be gog there one of these days ..

smtimes i wonder, will it be better to buy an expensive pair that last, or cheap one that goes a little while so that u get to change design hehe

is birkie that good ?

Hi Sherlyn,

For me, I go for the design that I wan. Though some places in Spore are selling almost same type as Birkie and cheaper, but they do not have the design that I wan. However, I also feel buy orginal Birkie/Butula or Papillo is more durable.

hello all
went to goat farm and veg farm with melody's sch today. at hay dairies goat farm, kids had fun feeding the kids, does and bucks hay, all done amid the smell. the next stop was a nearby hydroponic veg farm, we were shown how veg are grown in water. each child was given a bottle of goat's milk, good thing it;s flavored with choc, otherwise not very drinkable with the goat's smell. also, a bottle of veg juice of kiwi, lime n lettuce which tastes much much better. best part of the trip has to be the bus ride, riding with teachers n friends in a huge airconditioned coach never fails to stir up some excitement!

now looking forward to next week when mel will take the class photo, parents pay $12 for a 8R photo, expensive i thought.

hi sherlyn
we can plan something during weekdays, maybe somewhere in the west to make things easier for u and serenade. do u have 2 kids?

Hi Moshi, so good... you can go with mel on these school outings. I doubt Aston's childcare allow parents go with them.

moshimoshi
I just spread everything on and throw it into the toaster.. mushroom, hotdog.. etc but all needs to be sliced thinly. Then, stare hard at the "pizza" and make sure you get it out before the bread turn dark brown. but make sure you had use the metal plate. Can't place it on the grill else you'll end up having a beautiful single lined charcoal pizza.

Meetup in the west?? count me in!
I'm staying at Bukit Gombak.

moo87
I usually place a chair behind my main door and asked Benny to sit facing wall.. If he try to run, I'll display my belt. (My cane has been mysteriouly lost or damaged one by one so I decided to change to belt.. I'll be wearing one when outdoor too..hehe) As for Bryan, time out chair doesn't work on him.. he'll go missing WITH the chair. So, I'll usually take my belt and make the tingling sound by shaking my belt. Message will be sent to him straight.. Fast and efficient!! But when he's grouchy, belt will make him wail even more..

I don't cane bottom.. skin very fair, easy to detect and heartbreaking to see.. Usually, I'll cane the sole of their feet. Think it's a safe zone and won't hurt them accidentally.

I've given up on reading on all the previous posts I've missed. Envy your girls to be able to be on the forum actively.

Sorry can't join the gathering this Sun but would like to suggest to mums with kids having sch hols in May/Jun to organise some regular activities together during the month. Else I really don't know how to cope with JK at home ALL day. Can we alternate locations instead of concentrating everything in the West?

Hi Apricot ... try asking the school. there's no reason for the parents not to follow. But do think if you want to follow. For me, I wanted to but change my mind as I know Ben would be distracted with me around ...

I've signed up for a trip 2 weeks later that involves going to some factories (tim sum, titbits, birdnest)... there's another one by KKJC. It's a visit to 5 places - Yakult factory, Soy Sauce factory, NEWater, Heritage Gallery. date is 30 May (9-4) costs $7 (KKJC member) $10 (non-KKJC member) (age 3 and up)... anyone keen to go together? I'm still thinking...

Moshi... think all around that price for class photos, but why it's so early in the year. Ben has 2 done and they are both at year end.

.ky.

Hi ky!

Kristin also says "nana' all the time to refer to banana. But her first word was clearly "Daddy" at about 8 months +.

Not every kid likes fruits, even sweet ones, e.g. my children. They are extremely fussy eaters. Am always happy in summer coz of strawberries and cherries. They like them. Else, they'll be just eating bananas (for Kristin only) and apples (Bryan).

Hi moshi2!

Bryan is having his picture taken again today, and class photo too.

We paid 16 Euros for a package of 5R class photo, 5R individual shot and 4 wallet size individual shot. We thought it's expensive too. But after the first time, we really liked the pictures alot. Good keepsake and to look back at his growth and the pic was well taken. Nevertheless, we still take the cheapest package this time. They have photos taken twice in school, once in the beginning of the school year and the other towards the end of the school year.

Hi ky!

Sounds like interesting tours. Would join you if we were around.

Moshi,
class excursions sound fun. Maybe I'll do it next school year with the kids when Kristin is also in school too. I think I'll be missing the kids every day from 8am - 2pm.

Hi Moshimoshi,

$8 is the cost of 4 passport fotos! costly too right ? *sigh*

ya weekday is good .. lets get concrete when the holidays are nearer. Ya I have 2 kids, age 4 (boy) and 2.5 (girl) .

erm .. this has nothing to do with the current topics we talking .. but i m puzzled by numerous tiny hairs on the living room floor .. definitely my kids (likely the boy) .. I know we can find hairs of infants on the pillows .. but can a toddler also have problem such as hair loss ?