(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Hi Serenade,

*sigh* talk abt my mother also long story ..

It is quite difficult to handle both kids together. If teaching the boy, the boy get distracted by the gal playing. If teaching the gal, then boy also come disturb disturb. He will say want to see ... so i cant deny him mah .. anyway my gal also not very interested in learning .. till now at 2.5 yr old, still dun noe any alphabets .. but glad she knows most of the colors .. slowly lah .. take it easy and hope they catch up later.

hi ky,

erm .. not quite sure what he can do while others cant leh .. so far those I can only see what the kids in the southwest playgroup can do and he cant, but whatever he can, the rest of the kids also can. Well he probably "win" them in being mischevious. haha. Anyway no good to compare kids .. not that I want, but just worry he would be behind in school .. wouldnt want him to suffer too much ..

Hi Meilan,

Thanks for the poem ... perhaps shd have a chinese version for my mother... she is more uptight about having a clean house then i m. Also she will tell me to complete my housework before my dh comes home, cos i shd not let my dh do any housework since he shd be tired from working the whole day. So if i m not doing it, she certainly would make sure she do it for me. Thats y end up she mops the floor for me almost alternate days.

Meilan, I also used to worry abt bringing them downstairs for the playground .. but now my boy is older, so he needs less supervision in climbing, thus i only supervise my gal. But if the playground is crowded with other kids, i will not go, cos i m worry my kids will hurt other kids since they are the agressive runner type. Anyway that day go zoo, my dh drop me off, and i took cab home despite the cost. Also, you will hear alot of shouting from me on taming down the kids, and everythg goes very slow pace.

Sure, i will be delighted to meet up with you and the rest of them here, but i can only do so on days when my boy has no school like school holidays. however I will not be sure what places are children friendly ... the last time my kids at the zoo .. my boy keep asking me to go home after lunch .. he is not into animals and he only likes the tram! *sigh*

Maybe the coming June holidays ? Maybe science ctr, discovery ctr ... but all these are in the west and so many of you are not in the west.

Sherly,Meilan,

Did you read that article in the papers stating that playgrounds are ranked top for being dirty, much more germs than toilets? Hmm, does that mean we should get our kids to stay away from it?

Didn't notice that article but not surprised. However, I personally feel that it's good to get the kids exposed to build up their immunity. I used to allow my kids to go only before their bath so that I can scrub them afterwards. Now I don't really mind as long as they have fun when they feel like it but I do make sure they wash their hands with soap after that.

Hi Meilan,
Thanks for the article. My mom always said this to me & siblings "wait till your kids grow up and treat you the same way as you now towards me, then you know how I feel...". Actually, I feel stressed especially when my siblings are all away.

How often do you mommies visit your parents or inlaws? Sometimes I feel the need to get away from them. You know, not having to see them every weekend. I know, I'm such horrible daughter but I feel that I have my own life to lead too, hubby works long hours and weekends are the only days for father-daughter bonding. Sigh...wish there's more than one me.

Btw, did you accept the job offer? And how's the playground for JC? She enjoyed it?

More sharing tonight abt taking pride in children. I quote Today's section on Focus on the Family yesterday -
"There is nothing wrong with feeling good about the successes of our children. But problems crop up when the parents' ego is riding on the kid's performances."

The message is that our children's place in our hearts should be secure and independent of their performance. I thought this is a good timing to instill such a brilliant principle in ourselves.

Sarah, how abt visiting your parents/in laws on a weekday and free up weekends for yourselves? That's what we have been doing after marriage even before the kids came along.

Thanks for asking. Re the job, yes I will try out for 3 months starting from next week. It's very clear to me that if it affects the children negatively, I will stop. It feels strange but my mindset has changed drastically from planning my family's needs around work to accepting work only if it fits nicely into my family's needs. That sense of liberation is great though the financial impact is unmistakable.

Playground for JC - anytime! She can't stay indoors for long since Ah Gong has been strolling her in the pram 70% of the time.

hi serenade, thanks for remembering me. i am now in my 34th weeks already, this pregnancy really make me like humpty dumpty . i was never so round and big. i was so busy in getting my job finished so that i can go for maternity leave in peace and may not even go back after the leave.
how are the mummies here.
wow apricot...........twins.......i am so envious, i wanted to have twins but never have the chance la. you do take care ya.

Very busy, dh will be away till next Monday for conference and it is a mad week this week handling ds alone, housework and homeschool and a good thing it was spring break and it is pouring like mad over here.

Being to a couple of playgroups where Kai and his classmates have fun with each other and also helped to prepare food for a birthday party yesterday, we have all the Asian fare - black fried carrot cake, Vietnamese rice spring roll, homemade satay, nonya curry etc. It was a great time to enjoy all the Singapore food together with Singapore friends here.

So sorry could not contribute much this time and Kai has decided that he wants to continue one more week on farms before we move on to a new topic.

Will pop by when I am free and so sorry ladies, I am yet to update my blog so will only send invitations to all who have sent me your email address then.

Hope all of you have a great weekend, we are going downtown today, just mummy and son shopping.

Emily, congrats and you will be delivering soon. Well, I am trying for #2 since ds is keen to have a younger sibling, in fact, he wants two.

hey meilan
thanks for the sharing on taking care of parents, it sure reminds me to be nicer and more patient with my mom, and i have to admit o do take her for granted at times.

ky
why didn't i think of laminating those cut-outs, silly me! shall get them done at my dad's office, FOC, hee hee thanks for idea!

cindy
cant; agree more of the dangers of exposing P&C stuff to tom.dick.harry. better to protect ur blog.
abt skipping naps, we don't want to risk her kicking up a fuss/ falling asleep at the concert or not wanting to eat dinner cos; of lack of sleep, we are pretty strict with the nap routine unless there's a must-attend event ;)

pris
shopping downtown, what fun, tell us what are good buys there, when i was young, i visited edmonton shopping mall, is it still around?

Emily
wow, u will be due in a few weeks, the excitement must be mounting, all prepared?

sarah
i was actually quite surprised that playgrounds are more contaminated then loos. but on hindsight, they are a lot of truths in it. esp outdoor public playgrounds where no one cleans, bird droppings, dog poo, cat poo etc. a friend's son got salmonella after playing at a sand=pit playgrd, he rubbed his mouth with the sand and doc gathered that he probably got some dog poo into this mouth!

u know, after mel, i became a wet=wipes queen, i can finish say 20-30 pcs if we take her out to play outdoors, so now, hub stores bottles of water for washing hands and of course, the potty.

sherlyn
june hols outing, we can perhaps time it with serenade's return. serenade, any confirmed date?
cindy, any chance of coming bk in june? u mentioned july some time ago?

a few of us met once at botanic gardens for a picnic, it was 'good free fun', just pack some food and let the kids mingle with the floral and fauna (only swans and creepy crawlies), maybe we can do that again.

mommies
i am also thinking of mommies-only night, next fri or the following fri??
we can park ourselves at a nice restaurant and yak all night ;)

apricot
i am feeling all excited for u, u will be the proud mommy of 3 handsome princes and all the nice stuff u got for aston will be well-recycled!

Hi kristins_mom.

How was the Rodents topic? Mine is crazy with capybara ever since we read the book Capybobby by Bill Peet.

Afraid we can't make it to Euro Disney on Easter. My hubby had already made bookings for the hotel rooms during Labour day weekend. As it's a special package, no cancellation is allowed. Guess we'll have to wait till July then. If only we knew each other earlier, we could have driven down to Germany and meet your family!

Long eyelashes and big eyes? Wow, Kristin's gonna be a great beauty when she grows up. Hmm, guess you and your hubby must work extra harder to keep those unwanted attention away :p

I'll be setting foot on Singapore soil on 1 June. Just thinking about is enough to excite me. But right now, I'm really overwhelmed by the packing. The amount of stuff we accumulated over the years is simply too much...

Hi moshimoshi,

I'll be back on 1 June. So, the first weekend in June is out for me. But if you gals are thinking of meeting up at the book fair, I can try to make it

Mel's eyes sure look big and round on the photos. Well, we have two pretty gals with beautiful oriental eyes

Haiz, the pic I sent you was taken last Sept. Ever since the Dec/Jan flu bug, I have slimmed down 1-2kg. Now looking haggard... Was telling my hubby that I need to check myself in for a total body repair job :p

Hi Emily,

Great to hear from you! You must looking forward to meeting your baby soon... Just thinking of a newborn makes me feel like trying for a third baby

Take good care and keep us updated!

Hi Apricot,

You must feeling excited! Twins, I have always wished for twins too. Too bad, not in my genes. Take good care X 3!

hi serenade
we'll meet up regularly for food and u'll be fatten up in no time! abt the things to bring home, u can leave behind everything but your children's work, art pieces, crafts , drawings etc. oh so precious ...

yep yep. we'll arrange something the 2nd week or 3rd week of june, how exciting!

sarah n prisline
how did the concert go?

Hi Moshimoshi,

Actually I read Sarah's sms as Children Orchestra instead of Chinese Orchestra. Goodness, eye sight failing. This is my 1st time watching live orchestra and it's eye opener to me. Aston managed to sit thru though half way he was asking for his pillow. There is another free one on Apr15 but unsure abt timing.

Abt mommies-only night, I may not be avail on 6Apr. Need to check if DH is working late on 30Mar. How's response so far ?

Hi Moshi,
Ladies night? Sounds good. What shall we do?

I missed the concert. Was running errands for hb, Hannah dozed off, and didn't want to step into concert hall late. Never been to a Chinese orchestra, hopefully can make it for the next one.

Hi Sherlyn, do you have long hair? I went to the SW playgroup once late last yr, when the group was doing bubble art. Remember vaguely if you are her ... and your kids. Don't occur to me that your boy is exceptionally mischevious.... yes, as you said, "whatever he can, the rest of the kids also can." ... so there are things that he can do and you should be proud of him... I too have my share of worry abt how my boys are coping. However, I try not to spend my time worrying and just trying very hard to be positive too ... guess that's quite typical of us huh...

I do bring 2 of them down to the playground or go swimming alone. Ben's more independent now; in fact, he'll even run off to his girlfriend's house leaving me alone at the playground :< .... for Keith, I'm letting him run around more on his own and now he fancies climbing the stairs in the playground. Dirty or not, I'll just make sure they don't put their hands into their mouths and first thing is to wash the hands and feet properly.

Sarah, tx for bringing up the point abt getting the ILs to go to the concert. We went yesterday and I think they enjoyed the concert! I've always enjoy a good concert but Ben wasn't too keen as he wasn't familar with the pieces. Keith was more curious looking around and he stayed quiet for the hour (I was nursing 1/2 the time to keep him quiet). Apricot, wanted to chitchat but was busy running around after Keith and when I looked up, you were gone.

Sarah, we only visit my ILs once a while when we feel like we've not done it for a while. It has not been a weekly must-do thing for a while and the ILs have accepted that. My mum would come visit if I ask her to.... do work out an arrangement with your hubby ...

there'a a curriculum fair next week at Bkt Timah by the homeschooling group ... think it's a Wed afternoon. anyone keen? I'd most likely be popping by.

.ky.

Hi Sarah, i missed it. Went to Botanic Garden on Sunday morning with my sis and nieces.. DS enjoyed his time to feed the fish and terrapins with bread and some to himself. We saw a snake swimming at the lake. And by the time we finished lunch at Meidiya.. we were so tired and head home to nap..

Hi Moshi2, I need a break from DH and DS. Your timing on meetup sounds good. Do let me know else, i will plan for MJ with my MJ kakees..

Hi Sarah,

I din notice such an article, but my thinking is the same as Meilan .. hope to build immunity. Anyway, my boy fall sick more often now after he attended school starting this yr. It could also due to his weak self since he has not fatten up after his Dec 06 stomach flu episode.

Same as Meilan, I insist that they wash their hands and feet after they come bak from outdoor ... or I usually go before their bath time. However, I still not consistent in the part of changing them when they come back from outside (be it playground or a trip to IMM). You see, they sit around when they are outdoors rite ? so we have to right away change them when we are home? else we will hv all the germs all over the house.... Still cant figure how to solve it .

As for inlaws, we visit once a month if possible, cos they stay in malaysia. As for my mother, she helps me daily so I dun go over to see her. Dun visit my dad often cos i dun like him (and my parents are getting a divorce now).

No doubt I agree that we should be visiting our parents or pil often, but i cant deny the fact that we need the weekends too since our hubbies work and furthermore my kids only get to go out during weekend when dh drives. I guess should try to strike a balance? Maybe alternate weekends meet parents/pil ?

Hi Sherlyn,
I agree with the washing hands/feet is a must, be it after outdoor play or shopping etc.

Like you, ky & Meilan said, need to strike a balance between own family commitments,parents and inlaws. I sure hope I can figure out what works best for me and family.

Hi Ky,

I think might be me, since there isnt much long hair mum with 2 kids :) They are sometimes good and sometimes bad. You have seen their "good" time. Anyway I think it could be my tolerance level too .. maybe for some behaviours, i cant accept, so i probably called them "mischevious" .. but to me and dh, they really make us furious most of the time.

I still remember there is the time when i went SW PG, my boy turned off LP's PC infront of me (i followed him religiously but din notice that act) and was caught red handed. I still cant get over this incident .. feel quite bad abt it , cos it is as if i did not teach my kids properly.

On another occasion, it was a first meet up with another group or mommies, outdoor at Forum, my boy raise his feet, attempting to kick another girl (younger then he is). The girl cried out of fright i guess, since he din manage to kick her and i m so ashamed. I certainly did not teach him to kick people .. and I dun even allow him to kick balls at home ...

ya can only try to be positive and teach them whatever values that are good, but i still cant help worrying how others will look at me if my kids misbehaved.

this fri sounds good, can we confirm so i can let my babysitter hub know, he's been having fun with his friends, it's my turn!!!

30 march friday ladies' night:
1. apricot
2. moo
3. sarah
4. moshi and ...

anyone else??

viviocity? too far maybe, or somewhere along orchard rd, or seafood at ECP?

prisline
chinese orchestra, that's refreshing, let me know if there's any morning concerts.

sarah
so u didn;t meet prisline? u meant hannah was with dennis?

ky
who is the organiser for the homeschooling fair? what's expected?

It is a great idea to have ladies night only but i don't think my dh can handle the 2 kids alone .. he will go crazy watching after them or probably very busy canning their backsides (he is more impatient) .. so i just hv to be contented with a meet up to a child friendly place with the kids in june.

Hi Ky,
Glad that your ils enjoyed the concert. Guess because the music is from their era.

Hey, you are one very active mommy, seems to be running all over Sg. Btw, what does the curriculum fair cover? And whereabout in Bukit Timah?

Moshi,
Sorry to disappoint you. Me no seafood person leh. Don't even fancy fish.

Yep, didn't manage to see Prisline or Ky. Nope, Hannah was with me and parents, my poor hubby needed at office.

sherlyn
how abt bringing 1 kid out and leaving the other with your hub?

moo
jap food is fine, any good ones? i like waraku at ECP but far for most of us.

moshi, there's a concert on the last tuesday of every month at esplanade .... can check details on the esplanade website. think it starts at 12.45 for 1/2hr. So there's one tomorrow!

moshi/sarah
the curriculum fair is by the homeschooling group in singapore. learnt of this from a homeschooling mother recently. sale of 2nd-hand curriculum. I would probably be look-look-see-see only as the curriculums require a lot of commitment and might not be cheap though 2nd-hand. will send details to you both later...

ladies night ... would not be able to join. going anywhere like town is an excursion by public transport (& I can't hijack the car too often within a week) and I need to get back by 9pm or keith would be waiting, and refuses to sleep. you ladies have fun!

.ky.

Won't be able to join you for the ladies night either becos i am already taking some time off to practise my golf. Any of you play golf? I am just a beginner.

About visiting inlaws & my mother. I think I am ultimate. I visit inlaw on every Sat and we get our timeout by leaving Aston with mil. Then becos of homecooked dinner, I go back my mum place on every Tue, Thur & Sun. It was a long time practice since I had Aston and my mum can cook reasonable dishes with more people eating. My dad passed away last yr Jul so we jus cannot break away the practice else she will feel even more lonely. Yah, I really agree it's very tiring and I think I will reduce the routine after I deliver.

For me, my parents and MIL are a blessing and they provide support whenever we need them as both are staying closed to us. And they provide more variety of quality homecooked food with more people eating.
My hubby and his siblings are very close and we meet every Tues and Fri at my MIL house for dinner. That is also the time when my kids play with their kids.
On Sat or Sun, we will visit my parents after lunch and leave our kids there for the afternoon while my hubby and I spend some time alone together. We will have dinner there and go home with our kids at about 8 or 9pm. My mum also do marketing from the wet market for us and we will bring the stuff back after dinner. Sometimes, I also stayed over with my kids if my hubby goes overseas.
That's why we never reduce our parents' allowance even after we married or when I quit last year.

Hi moshimoshi,

No way to leave a kid at home, cos both are very attached to me. So usually i bring them both (got to be with dh around) or do not attend at all.

*sigh*

Hi Jess,

How nice to have those kind of arrangement. More variety of homecooked food, playmates for kids, couple time out .. envy envy envy

Hi moshi2 and Serenade!

Was just thinking about pretty children's art work. Do you archive them digitally?

I took some photos of Bryan's artwork from school, esp those made with perishables and then threw them away. Don't want to give funny creatures an excuse to grow roots into our home.

It's really tough when it comes to keeping the children's artwork. I have a whole shelf filled with Bryan's work. Don't know what to do with them. There's a limitation to how much I can display them up on the wall in his bedroom.

Hi mommies with 2 kids!

Just curious: Do both your children sleep in the same room or in separate rooms?

If they sleep in the same room, how well do they both sleep? Do they disturb each other before they fall asleep? Or will they wake each other up in the middle of the night?

So far, I've kept my children sleeping in separate rooms. And this means headache when it comes to travelling. The last time when we were back in Sg, we couldn't get the kids to sleep until midnight, every night. Coz all 4 of us were stuck in the same room until we finally moved into a 3 bedroom serviced apartment.

Hi Kristin

My boys share the same room. Sometimes they will play or disturb each other but they will stop after some scolding. Usually, I make my older one go to bed first because he has to wake up earlier the next day to go to school.

Yep,Sherlyn. I am thankful to have 2 sets of very supportive parents. It's just a pity that they cannot stay with us because of other commitments. Else, I wouldn't need to quit my job....

Prisline
is jap food ok for u? forgot that u may prefer certain food and have aversion to some. let us know your preference? can lawrence babysit on fri?

cindy
u are right abt those crafts made with perishables so photo them! I try to photo after the session, display current ones for a few weeks then change, i 'theme' the displays and peg them like clothes on a clothesline.

sherlyn
Fret not, u'll redeem your 'freedom' soon, kids grow up in a flash!

Hey how about 6 april fri, it;s a public hol, good friday, i think, anyone keen for a picnic or sandplay or farms visits along lim chu kang?