(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Kristin's Mom, I brgt DD to HayDairies & Dragonfruit Farm on her bday and we had great time tog. Hwr, we din managed to go Bollywood cos it closes on ery Mon & Tues.

Apricot, it's so nice to hv TWINS.

Btw, is any of ur kids currently attending N2 @ Berriesworld? I just received a call fr Berriesworld and was offered a N2 trial class in Hougang. Let me have ur comments, if any. Tks

Apricot, don't mentioned.. is just a small duties..

<table border=1><tr><td>FORUM NICK</TD><TD>Name / Gender</TD><TD>Mth of Birth</TD><TD>Name / Gender</TD><TD>Mth of Birth</TD><TD>Home Sweet Home</TD><TD>Status </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ky</TD><TD>Benedict</TD><TD>Feb.03</TD><TD>Keith</TD><TD>Jan.06</TD><TD>CCK</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>KeiKei</TD><TD>Rachel</TD><TD>Mar.03</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Amum (Apricot)</TD><TD>Aston</TD><TD>Apr.03</TD><TD>Princes (Twins)</TD><TD>EDD late 07'07</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Irene</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Apr.03</TD><TD>Bryan</TD><TD>May.05</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joanne (jojoscs)</TD><TD>Benny</TD><TD>Apr.03</TD><TD>Bryan</TD><TD>Jan.05</TD><TD>Bt Gombak</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sherlyn</TD><TD>Tew Jing An (B)</TD><TD>Apr.03</TD><TD>Tew Yu Xin (G)</TD><TD>Oct.04</TD><TD>Clementi</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sarah (densar)</TD><TD>Hannah</TD><TD>May.03</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD>Changi</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Serenade</TD><TD>Brandon</TD><TD>May.03</TD><TD>Cheryl</TD><TD>Jun.05</TD><TD>Hillview (France)</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>MH</TD><TD>Wei Shuen</TD><TD>Jun.03</TD><TD>Li Shuen</TD><TD>Jan.06</TD><TD>Jurong East</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>BlurPooh</TD><TD>Shawn</TD><TD>Jul.03</TD><TD>Shanon</TD><TD>May.05</TD><TD>Joo Seng</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emily</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Aug.03</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Mar.05</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kristins_mom</TD><TD>Bryan</TD><TD>Aug.03</TD><TD>Kristin</TD><TD>Aug.05</TD><TD>Tiong Bahru (Germany)</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Moshimoshi</TD><TD>Melody</TD><TD>Sep.03</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Ang Mo Kio</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>WorryMum</TD><TD>Benjamin</TD><TD>Sep.03</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Bt Gombak</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ku</TD><TD>G </TD><TD>Sep.03</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>EDD May07</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Priscilla Neo</TD><TD>Kai En</TD><TD>Sep.03</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD>Toh Guan (Vancouver)</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yasmine</TD><TD>Zo En (G)</TD><TD>Sep.03</TD><TD>Zo Ze (B)</TD><TD>Sep.06</TD><TD>?</TD><TD>? </TD></TR><TR><TD>Meilan</TD><TD>Jay Kai</TD><TD>Oct.03</TD><TD>Jay Cin</TD><TD>Dec.05</TD><TD>Sengkang</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pooh</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Oct.03</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>May.06</TD><TD>Joo Seng</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>moo87</TD><TD>Zavier</TD><TD>Oct.03</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD>Hougang</TD><TD>FTWM </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sunflower</TD><TD>Cedric</TD><TD>Nov.03</TD><TD>Denzyl</TD><TD>Dec.05</TD><TD>Punggol</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>miracle_bebe</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Nov.03</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD>Henderson Crescent</TD><TD>SAHM </TD></TR><TR><TD>JessChan</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Dec.03</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Yr '2000</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Minnie</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD><TD>East</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Hi Emily, due already??

Hi Jesschan,
Thanks for sharing on your boy's P1 experience. Does the school organise model teaching sessions for parents? Have you heard about Mindchamp?

I think you boy is doing very well for a december child. My niece, who was a december kid too, had problems with N2 in the beginning last year. The teacher was always telling my mom (who was taking care of her) that she's weak in this or that. But now she's doing fine in K1.

Apricot, how nice to be having twins! I've always been intrigued by twins. Is the gene from your side or hubby's? Guess you'll have a lot of readings to prepare yourself as it's not just abt 2nd baby anymore.

By the way, Baby Love is a play, not a seminar.

How was the Mar hols for those kids in nursery and not childcare? JK was busy having great fun the entire week. Thanks to my parents' help with JC, I could go out with him a lot. Finally had a chance to bring him on a "long bus" ie those TIBS buses originating from Yishun/ Woodlands; went library, went swimming, prayed at Guang1 Ming2 San1, visited ponies at PR park & visted Hay Diaries (ky, we were there on Sun too!)

Yes,moshi, we enjoyed the yoga session at the library. Kids their age are not expected to attain the right posture but I think the sessions will teach them to slow down, listen and observe and control themselves better. I thought it would be boring and JK won't take to it but the session at the library turned out to be very fun. I'm considering whether to enrol him into a regular course.

Sherlyn, I also hardly do any homeschooling cos I'm overwhelmed with the essential chores, JK is not interested (he only wants to go downstairs to cycle or to the playground whenever we have time)and I'm also too impatient to take on this additional mission. I love all the ideas here by the mummies esp moshi's but sadly, have not been able to try them out. Hopefully I'll have better luck with JC next time.

By the way, thanks for sharing what the PCF has done in term 1. I've heard that PCF emphasizes more on academic-stuff and this is now confirmed. I was quite surprised at the very elementary stuff JK was doing at his current nursery - tracing lines, learning abt body parts, senses and colours! These were covered long ago when he was in childcare at N1 level. But no regrets as his current nursery empahsizes a lot on play whichs suits his character. They have monthly outings!

So, I think it's not true that most kids this age are that advanced since the approved curriculum is so elementary and considering that most kids do not attend school till N2. But if we are talking abt kids with cultural capital ie well-educated parents who are capable of giving them extra exposure than the curriculum, I must admit that that my JK is behind in grasping the basic stuff eg he still cannot recognise the entire alphabet (not even capital letters only) and numbers 1-10. Maybe this is a result of hubby and I never actively teaching him these stuff all this while and he was never reinforced with what he had learnt at childcare. But I think he's very lucky to have me as his mum cos I enjoy planning all the fun outings for the family heehee...

Hi Kristin's mom,

my dh dun swim, am not sure even if he knows how .. but i m counting on cycling .. so we will try to go this coming weekend (last weekend dh headache wor) .. but my gal cant cycle, so she would hv to be on child seat. I also not sure if i can cycle since it has been ages since i cycle. I really hope with some sports, my dh wun be so lethargic ... but i hv to accept the situation that he will knock out once he reach home on the first few sessions. hahaha

ya kind of frustrating with the not norm routine, where kids dun get proper meals at proper meal timings .. but it is nice to be out and about since we are all at home on weekdays.

Hi KeiKei,

I think I only dare to risk my dh .. wouldnt want to get my frens into trouble. hee hee .. instructor ? dun wanna go thru teacher .. scare of teacher....

Been wanting to ask the SAHMs here this question: - Do you still give your parents an allowance now that you have no income and need to get from your husband? If so, is the amount still the same when you were working? If you have cut back, did your husband cut back on his parents too? This has always been a sensitive topic with my hubby. I forced him to match whatever he's giving to his parents since he did not want to cut back on his parents and that's why he's (or rather we are) really very stretched now.

Thanks for all your sharings. Like most of you, I'm rather disorganised and ill-disciplined when it comes to homeschooling. So,coaching would be a more appropriate description of what I am doing with the kids.

For me, I adopt a 2-prongs approach in coaching my kids structured (Language & Math) and non-structured aka accidental learning (Math & Science/Knowledge). Using Pris sharing as a guide, Ill just briefly touch on what we do

Reading, we use both phonics and whole language approaches. Besides doing new stuff on phonics, I would constantly revisit those that we have covered. For sight words, I use a few sets of readers concurrently. In this way, Brandon was exposed to how sight words are being used in different context. To encourage a better understanding of those common sight words, we would try constructing sentences using them. I'll make a simple sentence focusing on the word and encourage him to come up with one too.

Word making, again phonics is the main mode. For instance, the word back, we try sounding out the first 2 letter sounds and try the various cuh/kuh letter sounds c, ck, k. From there, Brandon will try to make sense of the words bac, back, and bak.

Vocabulary wise, I am using higher-level books for read-aloud sessions with him.

Learning grammar is an ongoing daily activity, meaning I would correct him whenever the need arises. By correcting, I mean repeating him but modeling the correct usage of grammar and words. Aside from that, we have also touched on very basic grammatical stuff sentences and nouns.

For Math, I use the Assessment books (N1 to K2) as a guide on what to cover. For me, getting the concept and foundation right is most important while practice comes later. Some concepts are covered in greater depths while others we merely glide through. For addition & subtraction, this is how we do it
- using manipulative
- number lines
- more & less concept e.g 5 and 3 more is 8
- word problems
- games
- worksheets
- different ways of adding to get a number

How did I introduce addition/subtraction concepts? Think I start off with his bolsters, then proceeded to body parts e.g. 1 eye + 1 eye = 2 eyes, people coming and leaving the waiting room at the clinics etc So, addition and subtraction is very part of daily life. On a structural basis, Ill get him to do worksheets with +1, +2, +3 etc Some of the worksheets are found online. Some are self-created to target areas of understanding.

On Science/Knowledge, we rely heavily on books. Also, as and when the opportunity occurs, we'll explain stuff accordingly. For instance, we often see contrails here. So, hubby will explain to Brandon how the contrail occurs. Another time Brandon asked abt the water droplets on the window. That led to a short discussion on how condensation occurs.

I have just started on theme learning recently. Hope to make more improvement with the next one.

Much as I would like to coach him when he's in the mood, it's near impossible with a toddler constantly vying for attention. Therefore, I do have sit-down sessions with him. For introducing new concepts, I would choose a time when he's receptable and spend no more than 15 minutes on it.

Coaching is especially hard for me cos I'm the only caregiver. Sometimes, I do wish for an extra pair of hands, especially when I'm coaching Brandon. Which is why most of the sit-down sessions are done at night. Besides that, the lack of appropriate materials/manipulative is also another headache for me. Hopefully I can do more with the 2 kids when we are more settled back in Singapore. Personally, I like moshimoshi's artistic stuff a great deal...

Hi Meilan,
We are still giving my parents some allowance. Not too much, just a token. My mil's allowance is only $100 more, so it's not really a big issue for us. But I'm also trying to get my hubby to match my parent's allowance. Not that the S$100 matters to us but more for other reasons. I intend to save that S$100 on behalf of mil just in case she needs money in future.

By the way, I have "di4 zi3 gui1" cartoon VCD and audio CD from a neighbour last year. He must have heard all the tantrums and cries from JK and decided to enlighten us on why his 3 kids are so well-behaved. He got these from some Buddhist temple though the contents are not religious. It teaches children the proper way of conduct. JK could recite the first few verses when we first started to let him watch at around 2 years old but his interest waned off quickly when he realised his limited TV time was at the expense of his favourite cartoon - Bob the Builder. Since then, we have not managed to get him to watch through it. I'll be happy to lend if anyone wants to dub.

Joanne, how is Ben now? You mentioned some Buddhist cartoon last time. Is this the same?

One last note before I sign off, the letter blocks Kai En were using, I think I saw these at OG and Kiddy Palace selling at less than $10. Not sure if they are the same though.

Thanks for sharing, Serenade. Think you have covered the whole area of homeschooling.

To all, thanks for all your sharing as well. I think all of you are doing a great job.

Moshi...your way of teaching is very interesting too.

Apricot...congrats for twins!

Hi Kristins_mom,
Thanks for digging out the number for me! I can only hope he has an auto car since I'm not into manual driving.

Kristin is talking fast too. And boy, what good manners she has! When Cheryl wants us to read, she will go "Read this book!" and wave the book right in our faces. Hmm, looks like the manner area could do with some polishing...

On reading independently, it took some time and a lot of persuasion before Brandon was willing to take the plunge too. So, be patient. What I did was to categorise the books into Readers and Storybooks. Readers are meant for him to practise reading and Storybooks are for mommy to read to him. In this way, we got what we want
Hmm, even though he can read independently, I still make it a point to read to him regularly, at least a book a day. At their age, I feel it's still more important to read to them. But lately, I have been spending less time reading to him b'cos of reading to Cheryl. At times like this, I really hope there's 2 of me. Really feeling guilty.

How's the weather at your side today? We have hailstones every now and then throughout the day! The weather forecast predicts some snowing tomorrow and Wednesday. Weird, isn't it? It will be officially Spring next Sunday and we are still experiencing these extreme fluctuating changes in weather.

Thanks for all your encouragement and reassurances!

After being 4 years in "exile" from Singapore, I do feel a certain degree of anxiety at the prospect of returning "home". From the various forums, it seems like most singaporean parents are hothousing their little ones from as young as birth. During my last trip back in 2005, I was told that some kids are reading the Encyclopedia by the age of 4. Really wonder what I'll hear this time round. Perhaps a 6-year-old doing secondary school studies?

It has always been my belief that attending enrichment classes are not necessary for nuturing kids. But in my darkest moment, I couldn't help but doubt if I have deprived the kids by not giving them the chance to. Perhaps the greatest fear stems from the fact that I might not have done enough for my kids and have failed being a good mother in nurturing them (in the eyes of others). It certainly doesn't help when my own mother constantly reminds me how tough the nursery curriculum is in Singapore, how my kids will have a hard time catching up etc...

I am really glad to have found and known you mommies here! In some forums, I find it unbelievable that some are making their babies learn as early as 0 month old, and sending them to enrichment classes as soon as they turn 6 mths old. But over here, I find a lot of like-minded mommies who truly believe in our kids. And I really just want to say this - THANKS!

Pardon me for being so emotional but all you gals have been such a great source of inspiration all these while.

Hi Serenade!

Wow! Think you can start a kindergarten when you are back in Sg!

Where do you find the discipline and patience to teach the children, keeping focussed on a syllabus at the same time?

You know my day is very much done with the routine. I don't seem to find any slot to fit in anything at all.
e.g.
Kids awake 7.30-8am
Bryan has to be in school by 9am
Kristin needs her breakfast no later than 10am.
The window between 10-12 is usually reserved for laundry, folding clothes, putting away stuff or cook lunch... or on some rare occasions, I can read to Kristin without korkor's interference.
She needs to nap for 30-45 min no later than 12nn.
Kristin's lunch at 1pm
Pick Bryan up at 2pm
By the time I get home with the kids, it will be almost 3pm.
Try to get the kids to nap at 3.30 - 4pm.
While they nap, I shall have some quiet time to go online, have tea, finally sit down for a while and then go prepare dinner.
So when they wake up from their nap, it will be 5.30-6pm...
Not a very good time to do anything with the kids , i.e. not receptive coz they might still be cranky from being woken up from their nap.
DInner is served by 6.45pm.
Dinner is done by 7.45pm.
Daddy will play with kids while Mommy cleans up dining area (Kristin has now started playing with her food. So it's getting to be quite a bit of mess.) and kitchen and load the dishwasher (luckily I have one coz cannot count on dh to do dishes!).
Between 8pm-9pm, sometime Daddy-time will be become a catnap time for dh. So the kids will be left there fighting and yelling... until Mommy comes to the rescue.
Last 20 min, reading and then start the bedtime routine at 9pm... i.e. clean up for the kids and then off to bed...
kids asleep 9.30-10pm.

SO like moshimoshi says, I have absolutely no time to do any more coaching at all!!!
And learning for the kids is usually accidental. I'm really very dependent on what the school teaches for now...

Oh.. about the manners? It doesn't always happen that way. Sometimes it will also be, "A book! A book! Read! Read!" So we were pleasantly surprised by the sudden good manners too.

I've been persuading Bryan, telling him that Mommy will still read to him even after he learns how to read on his own. And how fun it would be if we could both read aloud together. Nope... still not working there... think gotta give him some time there again... just like the sight words exercises I did with him... interest waned off quickly.

O yes, have been wanting to ask you about the Magic Tree House series.
Are those easy readers or in chapter books? Am looking at this set from scholastic. will pm you the details.

weather is unpredictable. It's supposedly cold today, but the sun was out. It also rains alot here.
Yeah, it's supposed to be spring officially this week, in fact on the 21st. I think Sunday is the switch to an hour faster, no more daylight saving time. ANyway... weird weather.
I remember old people in Kassel (where I studied is full of old people coz it's a nice place for retirement apparently haha) used to tell me that it will snow and hail during Easter if there isn't a white Christmas. So far it's been true from experience... so am wondering if it will be cold during Easter.

Our plan to travel to London fell through coz we can't meet up with my dh's good friend. So now we're thinking of 1)driving down south on our own hol like visiting Castle Neuschwanstein, or 2)visit my friends near the Kassel area, or 3) visit playmobil-park, or 4) take a train to Berlin. Still clueless... what's your family planning to do? Keen meet up somewhere in between?

Hi mommies!

Maybe some of you can help here...esp science teachers!

Bryan has been grilling me on the difference between a squirrel, chipmunk, weasel, ferret, mole etc... hmmm, why all this sudden interest in rodents is beyond me! But going through them at the end of the day is really taxing on me... Told him I need to find out more too.

Good theme to start on some homeschooling??? Homeschooling... here's my chance???!!!! ;)

Shocking news in Hamburg: A baby was found dead, thrown out of a 20-storey building!
Terrible!!! Awful, hateful... hang the person who committed this heinous crime!

There hasn't been a dead baby found in Hamburg for the past 4 years ever since there is baby depository set up, i.e. babies can be given up annoymously for adoption.

Yet, how could anyone do such a thing???

Meilan

How did JK do in Guang1 Ming2 San1? I'm thinking of bringing Ben for "sao mu" this year. It's a good tradition that I find lacking in the younger generation.

Yoga - the title is positive kids? Is it by Babies n Cream? I know a mother who's teaching Yogakids. Wonder how different it is.

.ky.

Kei Kei
My older boy had his trial class at Berries last Sat and enjoyed himself very much. I think the environment is very bright and cheery, teachers are very friendly, so much so that my younger boy requested to do a trial class on this coming Sat. Will let you know if it's good.

Like some of you, I do not have much time to teach my boy at home. Presently, he learns most of the things in school - phonics, numbers, life skills such as buttoning, use of chopsticks etc... I merely reinforce the learnings at home whenever possible.

I am thinking of going for a 5 or 6-day trip during our June school holidays for my 2 children. Any suggestions? Have to plan early so that my hubby can do his planning too.

hi sarah
i just came back from bishan park after a morning walk, saw the amsara spa, it appears upmarket and heavily invested, they have a green room cafe which serves organic, a mooves room for pilates etc. it boosts that 9 of its therapists were nominated as tourism ambassadors, so expect top notch impeccable service. they even have a 7day stay-in retreat thing, i can't imagine staying in that park for a week. didn;t enquire abt the rates as they were not open at 9ish. hey why am i writing so much abt it har, beats me, well, just in case anyone is keen to splurge.

hi meilan
JK and u sure had loads of fun during the sch break, great bonding time there! mel had drippy nose and cough so the only fun thing we did was at ECP, haven;t stepped in there for a while, ate bf at laguna food ctr which is beside the water ski area, was quite impressed that they could fit that ski place at ECP. then some sand play ay castle beach area where there are some pre-built sandcastles on display ;)

hi jess
berries seems to be invading the heartland, just rec'd a flyer on new ones at AMK n thomson.
abt holidays, if u ask me, it has to be Japan if budget is no issue, i adore that country, clean, efficient, safe with lots to offer from scenaries to theme parks to shopping, i would love to retire in hokkaido looking at tulips and eating fresh seafood haha

hi k's mom
ur routine sounds pretty similar to mine except that i handle only 1 kid and i don;t cook dinner and do very little hsework(read:lazy). but really these days after sch, i just want her to rest and poo (constipated gal). we don;t even read unless she shows interest in her chinese books, only thing that gets me working is if i have some craft ideas.

hi serenade
k's mom has said it, u make a great homeschooling parent, i think brandon will surpass his peers by leaps n bounds if he schools under you instead of a proper school!

Jess, wah.. holidays.. yeah. me and family loves to travel.. haha.. sorry to say that all our savings had gone into travelling.. Hmm, go to a more developed country is a better choice. Food is the most important factors. How about HongKong/Australia?

Hi Apricot, Double congrats...All boys.. eat all u can and make sure you have enough rest too.. its gd that yr in-laws can rope in to take care of twins..

Hi Sarah, i was thinking to use a performance chart for DS but yet to move forward.. Been too busy.. yr awarding "Stars" is good. I will try to make one or rather source a performance chart for DS. I am using the sit-out time if he misbehaves but he will likely to forget it. Using a performance chart to motivate him.

Mommies, does your DS/DD hit other kids at schools? I am worried cos over last weekend, my sis told me DS hit someone at his music class. I roped in my sis to pick up DS from his music class cos I was engaged with a send-off. I wonder how I cope when I face the gal's parents. But nevertheless, I will face it this sat and also try to get more details.

Abt coaching.. I am using flash cards for alphabets and numerics.. yet to start on additions or form words etc..

DS is attending PCF and I find him more expressive after his first term. He bought back has reading books from PCF and he can read from the book. I must buck up and have more time for him to brush up his reading skills. :p

Like Jess, i do not hv much time to teach/coach DS..But I will try to make use of available on-hand materials and time to guide him.

k's mom
your rodent theme is interesting, do u guys get to see these creatures? i am reminded of alvin the chipmunk and its cute voice!
mel loves cats and she has mini info book on all the breeds, she begs to bring the strays home, freaks me out, just hope she will not embark on some cat-rehab prog!

Hi Moshi,
Wow! Stroll in the park? Good for you. The spa sure sounds upmarket, cannot afford to splurge leh.

Hey, I should bring Mel to my cousin's place. She would love it. They have 3-4 cats, all stray cats. The whole family are cats crazy, even sleeps with the cats. My dear Hannah was chasing the cats while poor mommy didn't dare to move at all.

hi Jess, I m oso plng to send DD for a trial class @ Berriesworld this wkends.

moo87, my colleague's DD hit up her classmate in school.

Hi moshimoshi, ky,

How was the trip to September 21? Any interesting buy? Btw, have the prices at Sept 21 been adjusted lower? When I visited the showroom 2 years ago, the prices were ridiculousy high. In fact, it makes more sense to order some items direct via internet then.

Hi Kristins_mom,

I am always short on time too. I try to steal whatever window I can manage and make Brandon sit down for 5-15 minutes here and there during the daytime. And even then it's tough. Previously, it was Cheryl calling for attention. And now, Brandon is easily distracted as a result of those long breaks. Now I have to start harder to rekindle the interest. Even our night sessions are not regular. Sometimes, I'm just too tired to do anything with him. Other times, he's not in the mood. The only thing I'm consistent in is phonics and reading. Other than that, I can only do incidental teaching like what most of you do. At this age, my friend advised me that the most important thing is to read to them and show them around. Her exact words - "if you want him to top his class every year, you will have to drill him a lot more which most of the time kill children's interest in learning". So, I think all the mommies here are already doing very well with their kids.

Bryan is in a much better environment than Brandon. At least he's attending an AMERICAN preschool and learning relevant stuff. Since Brandon is staying at home, I have no choice but to put in more effort to ensure he's learning. I'm hoping that I have prepared enough to set academics aside and show the kids other interesting stuffs when we return to Sg. There's so much to do in Singapore. Thinking of enrolling Brandon in wushu if they would accept him.

Need to check with my hubby on his schedule first. But at the moment, we have no plan yet. Probably we can meet up if he has no problem! Is the Playmobil Park near the train station? If so, I'm really tempted to bring the kids there.

The weather has been surprisingly sunny and bright today. Really weird.

Hi Pris,
You have overrated me, ha. Wish I can be more disciplined and organised like you do. But alas, that's not my forte to begin with...

Do treasure your time with Kai before the second one/ones arrive. Sometimes, I feel I can do much more with/for Brandon if he's the only child. But with Cheryl around, things has taken an interesting and more positive change. Still, I am constantly struggling to give them equal attention to avoid sibling rilvary.

Hi moshimoshi,
A homeschooling parent is not what I dreamt to be. My dream was to lead a tai-tai life - pampering myself, have afternoon tea with other tai-tais, with a loving romantic husband and smart kids. Ha, but I am more like a all-in-one jaundiced housewife instead. Haiz...

Hi Serenade!

Don't worry too much about what your mom's been telling you.

You have done a great job in sparking the learning interest in Brandon and Cheryl. And I think 1-1 coaching at this age far exceeds the attention a child would ever get in a preschool, even if it's only 5 - 15 mins.

Hmm, I was told before that 1 year of age is equivalent to 1 min in attention span. So with a max of say 15 min, you can expect Brandon to be learning a great deal there.

Brandon is very teachable and keen to improve himself, inquisitive by nature. I think he'll adjust well when he gets back to Sg. Hmmm... who knows, come Jul, he might even be showing off his name written in Chinese when we meet!

What Bryan does have right now is probably some social skills. Certainly not perfect. He's still learning how to take turns, share toys, share the teacher's attention among all the children, and also stand up for himself.

Here's more info on the Playmobil Park in Germany.
http://www.playmobil.de/on/demandware.store/Sites-GB-Site/en_GB/Link-Page?id=DIRECTION_ZIRNDORF

But also realised that there's one too in France.
http://www.playmobil.de/on/demandware.store/Sites-GB-Site/en_GB/Link-Page?id=DIRECTION_PARIS

Seems like it might more viable for you and your family to travel there instead.

We're thinking of driving down to Zirndorf coz I seem to remember seeing a big aviation museum along the Autobahn. Gotta check out on the exact name and address. Looks like a fun place too to stop by should we be heading south.

But we shall be thrilled to link up with you if your dh wants to consider a visit to Germany, just before your return to Sg...?

I was showing Bryan pictures of Brandon and Cheryl... heehee, he said Cheryl meimei is pretty! ;)
And Brandon-cat and Brandon-rabbit look cute too. He also told me he wanted to go to Brandon's house. He meant the green and red house!

Hi moshi2! \

We don't see alot those animals here... just squirrels, occasionally a mole in a farm. But haven't seen a weasel or a ferret myself, other than those in books and in documentaries.

Bryan's quite into animals. And currently, we are reading Laura Numeroff's "Chimps don't wear glasses" again. He's so amused by the hilarious rhymes in the book.

It goes like:
Chimps don't wear glasses,
and zebras don't cook,
and you'd never find a kangaroo reading a book... etc

Hi Sarah!

Germans are gracious drivers? Well, some but not all. Some think that they have the technologies in building cars, they also invented driving! Man, so impatient. Don't be surprised that they even park aside and get off the car to reason with you... hee, never happened to me before but have witnessed a few incidents already.

Charlotte Zolotow... will remember the name.
The thing is Baby Alisha belongs to Hannah. But Baby Annabelle belongs to Kristin! Hmmm, hope he doesn't turn out to be some kidnapper! Touch wood!!!

I remember you said Hannah likes to sing a lot too... will try to upload a video when Bryan was 2+ years. Let Hannah have a look at this crazy boy doing a performance on a kitchen worktop!
Will get that done soon... look out for it in my blog!
Hmmm, she might not want to be his friend after that anymore... haha

I think most private pre-schools in Spore conduct lessons in an informal way and in small groups to encourage creativity and inquisitiveness. But when they enter primary school, the class size is 30 and they are expected to sit down on chairs and pay attention to the teachers for at least 5 hours a day. There is hardly any chance for interaction and play. My son's P1 teacher very politely described my son as "very participative in class" but she was very quick to add that "he can sometimes be a disturbance to the class".

Recently, I was with my kids at a shopping centre and there happened to be a free public talk for children on art sculptures in Spore. The organisers saw my boys and invited them to sit in. There were about 8 children altogether and all except my kids, were very polite and quiet. My kids being encouraged to be inquisitive since young asked many questions and made many comments about the various pictures. I think the organisers must have regretted inviting my kids to sit in!

Mommies, any comments?

Hi worry mum
apparently mel cares more for cats than mommy!
i asked if she wants the strays or me, well, u guessed it, she rather have them. the irony is that i am terrified of cats, when i was a teenager, i had nightmares of being trapped in a room filled with black cats!

Hi Jess
Your kids should be lauded for being inquisitive, they are the ones who will make the class alive and going, which teacher would want to teach a class of non-participative kids.
outspoken kids to me are gems in class!

Hi sarah
i wouldn;t dare step into your cousin's place! i am the sort who would detour to avoid a cat on the same path haha

hey, i am asked to volunteer for a cooking session in mel's class, am suppposed to demo some cooking lesson, will probably do salad, no need to cook type, any suggestions?

Hi Moshi,
How exciting! Any particular theme? Salad sounds good, easy & healthy. Probably can mix some rice with it (leftover easier, just microwave), or some bread to go along. Maybe sushi rice too, can use those sushi moulds to make it interesting. How about those cocktail sausage? But must fry, troublesome.

Hi Kristin's mom,
Bravo!! Encore!! Hannah said 'hao ting'. We can hear Kristin making sounds in the background, bet she wants to join in too.

Yeah, kids like to mix and match tunes, lyrics and yet turns out beautifully. Hmm, we must get our kids to perform for us. And Brandon too. I believe it was him who was singing and dancing with Barney on the tv.

Hey, Kristin looks different with her hair tied up. Girls are still girls, cannot touch the hair else will not be pretty...

Will be MIA since dh is going away for conference till next Monday and Kai and myself are invited to a couple of playgroups since it is spring holiday here for a week.

And we are going to bake and prepare food for a surprised birthday party on Friday for a very dear friend.

K's Mum...can't help much on rodent but it sounded interesting. There was a stage that Kai was very interested in birds that we gotten a book on birthdays found in Vancouver. We went about a lesson on the beaks, their feet, their wings etc.

Serenade, you are doing a great job with Brandon. What I did is too keep Kai occupied with activities and I do not do lots of worksheets or drills as I do not want to kill his interests but I do alot of revisiting to make sure he understand and grabs the concept. I do not do more than 5 maths questions at one go. Lots of incidental teaching too.

Jess...I love children who are inquisitive and ask lots of questions in class (aqnd not those that talk nonsenses of course). In fact, all my leaders, monitors and monitresses are all very outspoken but very polite children. They are gems to me in class and very knowledgeable that I could entrust lots of tasks to them. And they are the one who lead their group in discussions as well as encourage the shy one to speak out in class. In fact, Kai is very talkative and inquisitive too. Brought him to a railway exhibition on Sunday alone where the train collector clubs, traders and a few train service providers were there. He asked a real train conductor and the train engine alot of questions on the train and I was surprised that he knows the different part of a train. And they invited him to one of the train collectors club to view the different trains. Will update the photos and also my blog soon. Really could not find the time to do lots of stuff. Now it is better for P1 and P2, in the past, there are 40 to 42 pupils in a class.

Sarah...children are very creative, they love to rewrite lyrics of songs. Kai loves to do that and we have fun changing the words of songs to fit in for each theme.

Hi serenade
i chanced upon this school in a mag, it advocates close partnership with parents whereby parents are encouraged to participate in the school's activties. At Juliee Rd, not sure if it;s near where u will live. www.jubileepark.com.sg