(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

hi kristin's mom

u keen around my estate? I know of the housing agent; she stays downstairs. I can ask for you ... plenty of people putting their place up for rent here. pm me if keen.

count me in if it's a promo offer for happy feet. guess I'll most likely sleep in there though. I was in half-asleep/awake mode for the whole of last night. Keith seems to be having diarrhea (think spelling is wrong) and he's been really cranky

.ky.

Hi Kristin's mom,

Aston is very active boy so we actually has to play some games like indoor badminton, each seated at one end to start smashing the shuttle cock or drawing. These are some diversions we had to do in order he come back to continue with rest of logico activities.

Welcome Ku! Are you a SAHM too?

Meilan,
Let's catch the movie if show timing is ok.

I'm using Dermovate cream for eczema. Quite a strong medication, but ineffective after a while.

Kristin's_mom,
How do you catch lizards? They poo everywhere, nothing seems to stop them coming into the house. At least pandan leaves works for roaches.

Ky,
Hope Keith is feeling better. U have a good rest too.

Hi Sarah,

Nope. I am working mom and i send my daughter to childcare in the morning and fetch her back in the evening. I hope i can be SAHM but due to financial issue i need to work. After my daughter born i be a SAHM for 18 months after that i send her to childcare.

Now i am expecting my 2nd baby EDD is may 2007. My gynae told me a baby boy but need to comfirm again during my details scan (tomorrow).

<font color="0000ff">sarah -</font> I was told putting egg shells at the window will deter lizards from coming into the house. I have tried it, seems to wk, except for the balcony area. These lizards simply love to poo in my balcony (prob just to irritate the h*ll out of me !! :p

<font color="0000ff">kristin's mom -</font> *salute* u actually catch them? as in you will kill and dispose them off? 1mth ago when I was sweeping the flr, 1 lizzie ran out from below the sofa. I juz grabbed a newspaper to smack it flat coz I totally hate this slimy thing... but I didn't dare 2 remove it (wimp). I called my mom, my hubby, my bro, but no one was free 2 come help me dispose off the 'body'. I was so upset abt the 'body' in my living rm I actually broke out in tears (haha, yup, that is how wimp-y I am) I actually contemplate gg 2 my mom's place 4 d afternoon so tt I dun have to face it. In d end, I sought the help of a nice bangladesh cleaner to help me remove n sterilise tt patch wif dettol n bleach. I was so grateful I actually gave him a small tip

<font color="0000ff">Re: movie -</font> yeah yeah, go watch Happy Feet wif your little ones.. it is soooo cute. Mumble (the dancing penguin) especially

<font color="0000ff">ky -</font> keith is teething? I rem when Cedric used to be v cranky, have runny nose, diarrhoea n fever whenever he is cutting a tooth, esp when it came to his molars.

<font color="0000ff">ku -</font> welcome! wow! the lucky ones... u have a girl, n expecting a boy.. can close factory liao

Sunflower,

Thanks. Yeap, i thinking can close factory lor but my hubby say if can maybe 3 years later try for another 1.

My daughter already sick for a week, having cough. Every night she cough seriously, however already visit the doctor. Any idea, what can i do?

Ku,
Congrats! Hmm, a girl &amp; boy, that makes the word 'hao'.

Sunflower,
I'll be as terrified as you if it's a cockroach. Lizards equally hateful but at least they can't fly. Thanks for the tip. I'm going to do that next time I break an egg.

Hey Sunflower!

That was really funny!!! :eek:)
Anyway, it can't be slimier than handling fish or removing the fat of uncooked meat. You can always use food preparation gloves.

Actually, not so much of catching lizards... coz when I see them, the first thought will be yikes!!! SOmetimes I even jump when they catch me off guard. I scream too... that's normal reaction, right?
Then the maternal instinct will drive me to kill, kill, kill. So I will roll up newspaper - what other methods but this have I learnt from my FIL? So I will smash it all up!!! Cleaning part... no problem! Thick kitchen towels and swipe and then the sterilising part will be easy already. When I tell my husband about anything flying about or crawling around, he'll say wait lah and then whatever it is will disappear... But I usually cannot wait that long.

Once I killed a cockroach and after smashing it up with newspaper, it was bluish black all over the floor and it smelled so bad!!! I think that was by far my most gruesome crime.

I find moths more difficult to deal with coz you can't just smash them up. So I will use the vacuum cleaner or a plastic bag to catch it. But I do enjoy catching little creepy crawlies to show my children, e.g. ladybugs/caterpillars. Kristin will be very amused but Bryan will run away from me... maybe he takes after his dad :eek:)!!!

Yeah Sarah, cockroaches fly!!! Hate them, hate them, hate them!

Thank goodness that over here we only have pretty harmless creepy crawlies to catch. I don't have to kill a lizard for a long time.

Hi ky!

At the moment my husband is looking at this service apartment in Joo Chiat.

The problem with agent is that we don't have a budget for agent fees. So... anyway, I shall hold that thought and ask my husband...
Easy to get around in your area? My husband needs to get to city hall everyday for the first two weeks of jan for work.

Hi sarah, i m also using dermovate cream for eczema relapse. I got my frens to buy from Thai. Hv extra tubes, n in case u need it, give me a buzz..

Hi Ku, do u give yr gal chicken &amp; eggs in her meals? cos they are bad for cough. I hv experienced them myself, cough at nites for more than 3mths. e cough medicines n antibiotics did not work for me. till i went for TCM. Been diligently off prawns, chicken, eggs, chili stuff for few months. take care coz prolonged cough can lead to asthma/Bronchitis.

hi sarah &amp; all

thanks for asking about keith. He let the mummy slept last nite. guess he was also too tired. We went to the GP who specializes in kids yesterday and got our medication. Bum's not so red now and # of poo has come down.

hi sunflower, yes, he's teething. I've heard about that before too. perhaps due to that but this little boy puts EVERYTHING in his mouth. I was busy cleaning his toys yesterday

Ku, what medication are you using for your gal's cough? Got phlegm? what the doc say? My little one's been coughing for a month .... been thru' various flu med, bricanyl, ventolin puff, neubilizer ... still working on stopping the cough now. Have you tried "yu ren sheng" "hao zou san"? like aileen, I bring my #1 to TCM too coz he's been also on &amp; off on phlegm and cough since young. It helps; he's on chinese "bu" medicine now. luckily for him, he can take bitter medicine very well. I didn't do it for my #2 coz he can't medication very well. btw, no milk, fruits too when they are coughing.

Kristin's mom, hm, city hall will take an hour if he takes the express bus.... actually my area not a good place to get around but seem like a fun place for kids. there's a korean family who moved in more than a month ago. I see the 2 kids around everyday; they don't seem to go to school and just play everyday downstairs .... swim, rollerblade, cycle ... and plenty of outdoors nearby - zoo, farms, bird park, reservoirs ... huh, but not near city

all the talks abt insects give me the creeps. I can't do anything abt them at all and I need a hero.... years ago when I was staying at my mum's place. once, I put some stuff to get rid of cockcroach near the rubbish chute (coz they were all coming out from the rubbish chute, you know, the old sort in your house). Did that coz wanted to scare them away; one actually went up to my bed at night(I was sleeping on mattress on the floor), woke up in the middle of the night when I felt something pokey ... I went overseas for a few days after that, came home, mum was overseas and suddenly all the cockcroaches came out, on the floor, on the wall, on the furniture ... tons of them. Think the powdered stuff scared them out so they had to run somewhere and they choose to come out to my kitchen and living room ... I freaked out and all I can do is stand on the sofa while waiting for my bf (ie now-hubby) to come. He came armed with a newspaper and went hitting them all over. I was crying terribly by the time he came ... writing this now gives me the shivers ... countless of them around and he killed them all. good thing is after that, no more cockcroaches (or big cockcroaches). now I still freak out when I see a cockcroach even a baby one around ....

so, kristin's mom - I salute u too ...

.ky.

sarah: I am staying in Jurong East...the thread run so fast suddenly.

re babies prom: scolded and smacked my gal in the morning as she wants her father to change her clothes...was late for the concert by 15 mins , and I have to carried the gal up 4 flights of stairs. Walked towards the ACM in the begining then have to run carrying the gal to the VCH. *pant* We got very good seats, the centre front row but the gal refuse to do the action. She refus eto let go of me *sigh*. After the concert, when I asked her whether she like the trumpert or violin. She say no..*sigh* think no need to send her to music lesson liao..

You better watch out, you better not cry, Santa Claus is coming to town. Ho! Ho! Ho!

604920.jpg

Aileen,
Cetaphil! That's what i use on my face, cheap n good, been using it for a decade! But find it too mild on the hands when i have to wash potent bacteria and smell away.

X'mas gathering:
ky, is it decided that we r meeting at your pl on 23rd? I may have to give it a miss cos of the party i am hosting that night for my family. Lots to prepare. Ladies, keep me posted if there is a new date. Else, pl carry on, i shall appoint the stand-in craft Queen ;)

Sarah
I can meet u next yr after i settle Mel in. We can probably hang out in town or bishan if u don;t mind.

Meilan
My hub, like yours, is also a car fanatic, he dismantles car parts to try new ones and to trade. He logs on the Honda forum without fail and has the cheeks to chide me for being addicted to mine.

Sorry, can't find the list of people attending the coming party on dec 23rd. Have been scrolling up and down and looking into the archive... i must be blind!

Anyway, here's the latest:
My brother has just confirmed our holiday dates in M'sia with me.
Pity that we won't be able to attend the Christmas gathering at ky's place.

But am looking forward to meeting you guys soon.
If we do get the serviced apartment in Joo Chiat, maybe we could just meet up for a late morning session of craft and followed by a simple lunch. FIngers crossed on that... coz we haven't heard from the booking office now that we are ready to confirm our dates... so worrying!!!

Hi ky!

don't salute me! i just do whatever i can.

but with that big army of cockroaches, i would have called in an exterminator! i wouldn't even stay in the flat with them waiting for rescue... i think i'd be horribly terrified. besides, these things would be taking revenge on me since i have killed some of their kind... uh-oh!!!

moshimoshi,

nice tree! Very creative! So is Santa!

Mel is gonna have a Christmas she can be proud of... with all the decorations made with mommy.
A Christmas so creative, so personal!

oh no.. I'm lost!! have to come in frequent..

kristin's mom..

I too salute u!!! I can't stand sight of lizards, when I see lizards or hear sounds made by them near my rubbish chute, I'll slam shut my cabinet door and keep it locked for one whole day. Will NOT open it till my husband confirm "NO LIZARDS LA". Cockroaches still fine with me. At least I covered them with a plastic container till they lay on their back motionless.. Then I'll sweep the corpse away.

moshimoshi
nice and creative tree u have. Wanted to have one last yr but my hubby commented waste of money as he is a devoted buddhist and christmas is meaningless to him.. Anyway, I've bought two christmas presents for Ben and Bryan.. will celebrate our own way w/o their father..hmm!

moshimoshi, meilan
think our husbands are khakhis.. he is a car/bike dealer cum technician. Every accessories his clients left behind is brought home. My storeroom is filled with player decks, Steering wheels, gear knobs, brake handles, speakers..bla.bla.bla... Even my cousin's house has became his warehouse!!! *faint* (my cousin is also a car/bike lover) If your husband were to see my storeroom, sure drool... Think will have to add another storeroom rule.

Believe or not, I have a car spoiler at home!

Aileen,
Thanks! I bought a few on my last trip to Thailand too. It's so cheap compared to here.

Moshi,
Very nice Xmas tree and Santa indeed. Yeah, let's have a mommy only session when our girls are in school.

Kristin's_mom,
Don't forget your swimmers! I presume you heading to beach resort as you previously mentioned.

Ky,
I can imagine you screaming. Yucks! Hahaha...you must have said "Yes, this man is the one!" after the heroic action...just kidding.

talking abt coughs, Cedric also prone to coughs, and he takes forever to recover. The last bout of haze triggered reactions and the doc certify him with asthma (my worst fears coming true). Same same, he has been neubilize on 3 occasions at clinics, and sent to A&amp;E twice... currently on puff plus other medication. Sigh!

TCM helps? I just got a contact of a TCM, still trying to decide go or dun go... btw, I heard swimming will help asthma (by way of expanding of lungs), anyone tried?

Re: corpse
ha ha, I also cover with plastic container, and I will add a paper weight on top, just in case it comes back to 'life', or his 'kaki' see him lying there come n help :p

wah, can't imagine hubbies using house as storeroom, I tink I will go crazy. As it is, my parent's house is like a mega storerm, they refuse to throw anythg away (drives me nuts). I always secretly throw things away whenever I think they r not looking :p

Hi ky!

Was looking at your blog just now... Wow, you are so diligent when it comes to writing.
I haven't found a chance to put up Bryan's little accident yet. But for the better since that would worry my MIL sick.

DO you have a better way to upload photos than the one offered in blogspot?

And do you know any freeware that can do a photo collage?

sunflower,

think u shd switch 2 TCM. my 2 boys used 2 visit doc for flu n cough at least once a month. Benny's hands were always shaking, think it's due to the medication that he took. Then some relative recommended TCM in Teck Whye. I don't really trust TCM back then but still gave it a try. Consultation fee + medicine $10.00 n most importantly, it works. I don't have to force medicine down his throat, instead he will ask me for it.

Hi Joanne, I am interested..(PM u for address) Benjamin got lots of phelgm usually. TIA.

Joanne, Hi 5. Yeah, I am fine with Cockroaches. I just covered my hand with a plastic then will caught them alive.

K'Mum, too salute u!!! I can't stand sight of lizards. I will climb up high together with Benjamin..

worry mum,
I don't have the address with me now. Have thrown away the bottle. Usually, I'll just pop over, don't have to make any appointment. But it's situated at Teck Whye Lane, will provide u with the address when I got it from my MIL tonight

mums with children taking TCM: my gal has stained teeth now from taking TCM syrup...any idea on how to remove them other then doing to dentist?

Welcome Ku!

Hi Lena!
I tried looking for the thread on parents mollycoddling kids on STOMP but couldn't find it. Can you send me the link?

Hi Ky!
Sometimes ago, you mentioned abt a book by manners. Was it A Gift of Manners on Emily Post? How did you find the book?

Hi Meilan!
I feel that there's no need to rush the kids in toilet training. It's better to take cue from them. Brandon showed signs for potty training before 2 years old. He would request to poo in the potty (sometimes). And most of the time, he was already able to keep the diapers dry till morning. But when Cheryl came along, we put potty training on hold until he was nearly 3 years old. At one point in time, we just kept offering two choices - diapers or underpants. When he felt confident enough, he just made the switch.

Hi Kristins_mom!

It was great chatting with you! Hope you caught enough rest to keep the day going.

I'll try to look for the herb you recommend. Any possibility of finding it in the supermarkets?

And thanks for the advice and tips for my coming trip.

Got to keep this short cos feeling real zombie now...

Hi mommies!

Next week, my family will be spending the entire week in a ski resort

I will catch up with you gals when I come back. Guess I'll be busy reading the archives by then.

Now that this forum is moving so fast, it has become increasingly difficult for me to comb through the posts and keep track of all the mommies' info. So, I'm attaching a copy of the table for your personal reference and updating.

This copy only includes info from mommies who have PM me. Unfortunately, I do not have enough time to update those info posted on the forum during the last few days...

attachment_icon.gif
Y2003
Y2003 kids.doc (48.6 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Hi Serenade,

thanks for your effort in updating the list.

all mommies, not able to join x'mas this time round. what abt new year party ??

Looking for Pooh......tink have been quite a while you din log in here, the thread moves so fast....

read from Serenade's list that you are oso staying at Joo Seng area ?? me too..... my kids oso one in 03 and one in 05. : )

may be next time evening, can bring them all down to playground and mummies chat and they play... : )

worry mum, sunflower,blurblur_pooh
I've got the address for TCM medicine hall..

Blk 143 Teck Whye Lane #01-227
Tel: 67624503
Name of Chinese Physician: Hu Yu Ying

Sun and public holiday opened for half day.

aileen,
Thanks aileen, i think i should stop given her chicken and egg. But both of that are her favourite.

KY,
"hao zou san" I never try before. Now she is taking Ventolin. Is much better now.

This thread move very fast, only 2 days time.

Diaperless on night.
When should i train my daughter diaperless at night. Last night she told me that she is 3 years old now and no need to wear diaper but at the mid night she wet her bed. After that she wake up and change her pant then continue sleep. So what can i do to help her? Have your 3 years old child still on diaper at night?

Hello mommies
I have compiled a list of christmas carols for your singing pleasure.

mime_msword.gif

Xmas carols.doc (36.9 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Been trying to find an audio CD sung by kids, lemme know if u know where to get it.

Hi Mommies!

My mom told me that red dates and honey dates drink is good for getting rid of coughs.

If you can double boil it, otherwise just boil it to drink. Think the children won't have a problem drinking it coz it's sweet.

My children have been having coughs for about 3 weeks already... with Bryan I decided to stop all medication and then give him grape juice (more vitamin c in any kind) and then gave him whatever we had left of the cod liver oil... and he's stopped coughing. while kristin is still having a little cough, but i started to give her eggs and chicken again. i decided she was coughing so badly without them anyway... so i gave her more protein... and now she seems to be on the road to recovery! strange... think each cough is different in treatment.

Hi everybody!

Will probably be MIA for some time. Buying and packing starts this weekend for me. And then we'll fly back to SG on Dec 12 night. Then it will be mad, last minute preparation for us to find decent clothes for my brother's wedding... mighthy mad rush!!! And then it will holiday for us - looking forward to that ;)

Think I will have to be reading archives by the time i'm back...

All of you, slow down a little ok??? Just two posts a day from now????

Yeah, yeah New Year Party Potluck!
If we do get the serviced apartment, then come come... all of you who can make it! There are quite many holidays during this New Year, isn' it? Will Joo Chiat be too inaccessible?