(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Hi Lena, kristins_mom
Guess I'm accustomed to Brandon's growth rate, so it really pains me to see Cheryl so "featherlight". Just visited the pd for Cheryl's booster shot this morning. She weighs 10.3kg and stands at 80cm tall. Pd says she's growing well and that I shouldn't be comparing her to Brandon cos she's a girl. But I still wish she can do better...

Abt the school, haiz, Brandon has been complaining of being "bullied" by the older kids at the playground since day one. We were even contemplating to pull him out of the school. But this morning when we peeped on him at the playground, we saw him push an older kid (who was pushing him) onto the ground. Not that I condone such behaviour or violence, but I'm glad that he's taking some defensive actions to protect himself beside looking to us for help. In a way, I hope this "jungle" will help him grow into a more assertive person.

Wow, knows her letters at 15 months old. Cheryl can only do letter sounds A to P (but her f sounds like "ish"). But then, that's all mommy's doing with her now :). I'm not sure whether there's any differences in learning b/w boys & girls. For my two kids, Brandon can concentrate better while Cheryl is more responsive. I guess it's more of a difference in learning style for them.

Hi Blurblur_Pooh
Any tips on guiding the kids on music? Should I be introducing him the basic musical scale? I will be enrolling Brandon for some piano lessons next year.

Hi Emily,
So how's your decision on SAHM? I hope you are feeling less stressful now.

Hi Serenade!

Was just talking to B's preschool teacher, who's apparently a piano teacher, yesterday about music lesson for young children. She was telling me to get anyone who's willing to teach him on a childsize keyboard, and preferrably not a German coz they tend to be very technical and boring. Maybe the French are less boring, but you can think about the childsize keyboard thingy.

Have been thinking if I should send B to a dancing school for the winter. The days will be getting shorter and it will be colder to play outdoor. But I'm also asking myself if I have the energy to send him there and drag K along. That sounds tiring already!

So the French mix the various ages in the kindergarten or are the children separated by years?

Yeah... I agree, teaching a responsive child is definitely fun and rewarding. Can't really tell how K is like right now. She's going through this phase of copying her brother a lot. But this afternoon, she came to me with a book indicating that she wanted to lie down next to me and listen to the story. So far, my husband and I always read to the kor-kor and she just joins in. So today it's quite special. It's quite funny too that the whole day, she was showing me her socks. I think she wanted me to put them on for her coz she wants to go to the park. But the weather isn't great this week.

Being a SAHM is really exhausting the h*** out of me. But I really wanna thank you, Lena, Sarah, ky, apricot and other mommies here... joining this forum has given me quite another perspective to appreciate my children. THANK YOU!!!

I'm so glad that we have been able to exchange so much... book reviews, recipes, teaching ideas etc!!!

Hi moms!

I read that some of you have gone to a movie with your children. How do you contain a preschooler in a cinema without disturbing other movie-goers? Any tips?

HAs anyone of you brought your children to a museum before? Please share.

Am thinking of bringing B to one. Looking for things to do when it gets colder. I could tell that his eyes lit up the last time I read about "Franklin's Class Trip" to a museum. He was in awe when he saw the remains of dinosaurs. Hopefully, it won't be a waste of money now since his teacher just wrote in his weekly report that he's been rather inquisitive these days.

Lena,
In the past, Brandon did have some attachment toys, ranging from his Thomas trains, Bob the builder & his gang to Eyeore (the only stuff toy). He would bring them everywhere he went, and even slept together with them on his pillow. But this form of attachment went off by itself after sometime. Currently his only attachment is his bolster which he needs to cuddle before sleep. Perhaps you can cajole Mel to bring along one toy instead of all, just in case she loses them all?

Sarah,
How does Hannah manage to do dishes without getting herself wet? I wouldn't mind letting Brandon do the dishes too if he doesn't get himself all wet...

ky,
Possible to share where you got the teaching materials? So far, I have been eyeing the items from Growing Fun. But they can be rather expensive.

Hi kristins_mom,

Thanks for sharing the tips on learning music. We do have a keyboard at home. Unfortunately I'm not trained in music. That's why I'm thinking of teaching Brandon the fundamentals first. Btw, both of them are pounding away on the keyboard whenever they have the chance.

There are different classes for different age groups. However, it's a different scenario at the playground. All the kids, ranging from 3 to 6 yrs old, are allowed at the playground at the same time. And only two teachers are taking care of them.

I can't be exactly sure that the older boys are really "bullying" Brandon. From what we observed, Brandon didn't really enjoy being at the playground. Firstly, there were limited bikes and scooters. Secondly, some older kids were gathering at the slide, refusing to let others go on it. So, most of the time, he just moved around aimlessly like the rest of his classmates. And what bewildered me most is how he got involved with the older kids. While we were there yesterday morning, we saw Brandon push an older kid and ran away. And the next instance, this older kid was running and pushing another older boy in the same manner. They seem to be having fun. If I may say so, the two older kids were just having some rough play. But somehow, Brandon doesn't enjoy it and dislike it tremendously. Perhaps we have been too protective.

Glad that the clock method works for Bryan. Do let me know if you figure a way to teach the minute hand.

I'm really envious of you gals being able to bring your kids to all places. I'm literally a stay at home mum, *sigh*. Cinemas, museums etc... I'm really looking forward to returning to Sg...

Oh, I wish we were in the winery business. My husband is with the RSAF base in France and there are many singaporean families here. From what I understand, most singaporean kids tend to pick up french fast and can speak fluent french within a year of attending school. And what's amazing is that they can speak with a perfect french accent. That's why I feel it's a pity, given all the favourable conditions, if Bryan is not learning to use the language.

hi Apricot

voted liao ... good luck!

serenade/kristins_mom

re : teaching materials ...
I sourced from whatever sale or lobang I can find.... be it via forum groups or auctions or garage sale.

For montessori, I was motivated by my SIL who made her own. I made some mostly lang and maths.... I try to keep my eyes and ears open. I once spotted this montessori school having garage sale (school closing down) and rushed down to get it. Despite it only opened on Sat, the owner was nice enough to let me have some stuff and even cut down the price of an item for me ....

for growing fun, I did want to buy too and waited till last Dec when there's a storewide of 20% ... wanted to get manipulatives but by end last yr, I've accumulated a lot of stuff n didn't want to spend... there were 2 suppliers which gave good sale when they have. one is at Toh Guan (www.toyshop.com.sg) and another one is Acalliz at Ubi area(quality is not as good but prices are very affordable) ... another place is Beacon Education Supplies at Toa Payoh. this place is lovely with mainly Learning Resources materials; I only went once mainly to get big bottles of paint; see to get ideas and then improvise at home. So, Serenade, wait till year end but checkout when the sales period is ...

What works for Ben is just a short session everyday. Bcos I have too many things, I'm quite disoriented in ensuring the items are being used ... sometimes not a good idea to have too many things around ... will write again when I've observe what actually works for him now. Somehow I feel he's kinda different from the 2 B boys here

Serenade, your hubby with RSAF?? do u know an Aw Kwee Siong? That family was once based somewhere in mid US (can't remember off-hand where) but they are now back in Singapore.

I've not brought Ben to a musuem in Singapore yet ... more of the outdoors as he likes to run around. Serenade, wouldn't it be fun to bring your kids to Paris and visit all the fantastic places esp the Lourve? Or just take a walk down the street.... I remembered when I followed my hubby on a 2 weeks trip to US and I was literally stay-at-hotel-mum, I just went for walks around and feel the cold air ....

.ky.

Hi ky,

Thanks for the recommendations. You really know a lot of places to get good resources. Initially, I intended to make those montessori materials myself too, but I'm really not a crafty person.

My husband has never based in US, so quite unlikely that he'll know Aw Kwee Siong. It must have been quite an experience for your friend to be living in US. A few years back, I was hoping for my hubby to be posted there too. But chances are very slim now.

Oh yes, we did bring Brandon to Paris a couple of times. In fact, we brought him to Euro Disney two years ago. But he was too young to appreciate it then. Anyway, there's nothing fascinating about Euro Disney. We visited Paris again this April and July. It's more of a shopping cum eating trip than sightseeing. In fact, we are planning to visit Lourve this coming Oct (have visited the museum twice since we were here). Hopefully, Brandon will be able to appreciate the drawings and sculptures better now.

But other than travelling with my hubby, I hardly move around. Over here, the transport is not as convenient. A friend actually commented that this place had hardly changed since WWII. If only I could drive, then I could bring the kids to parks or even the indoor swimming pool.

Which part of the US did you visit?

Hi Serenade,

yes, think you could start your d on the basic now. even if you are not music trained but u can get a elementary book and try to guide him on like what is treble clef means = right hand & left hand = bass clef. after which u can start no the time value of the note. like 1 count or 2 counts.

but hv to be a bit patient on teaching them to play the keyboard. like what kristine-mom suggested a child keyboard is an good idea.

I just started my son (born in July 2003, can't speak in sentences yet) on this basic and he is doing well ! like now he cna tell me what treble clef is and show me his hand ! * _ * and can recognise all the tiem value of the notes.

however, for playing on the piano, still a bit tough coz he will tend to ban on the keyboard after I show him the note within barely 5 seconds.
sigh....

now i try to spend like everyday after work 10 mins on music with him. and perhaps weekend a bit longer depending on his mood.

GTH.

Hi Pooh (hope u don't mind that I shorten your nick

Thanks for your pointers! It's difficult to find a good childsize keyboard here. Even if I do, they cost twice as much as a similar one in Singapore. No choice but to let them continue pounding on my keyboard.

I tried teaching him the notes too but like your son, he's more interested on pounding the keys

Mommies
Abt music, i just enrolled Mel at Fisherman;s music sch. She will start in Oct. A variety of instruments & music of famous composers will be introduced. I am all excited as i would get to learn how to handle the violin and keyboard too. Oh yes, note reading too. $25 for 45min which i think is reasonable.

Pooh
Are u a music teacher? Hope to learn more fr u when we meet on Sun.

Serenade
Do u rem when Brandon stopped bringing this toys around? Mel is 36mths and still v attached to them. Now she is allowed only 2 toys out, 1 big cat and a small bear (which she drops all the time!!) Hey, how i envy u, all the sightseeing, so enriching! Never stepped into Europe but went to the Disneyland in LA and Tokyo. Love the Toyko one! Hope to bring Mel there soon.

Kristin's Mom
Abt movies, i had the most memorable experience, i had to buy Mel a ticket cos she's taller than some stupid height chart, she was happily watching the trailers and enjoying the spacious cushioned seat until the lights went off. She kicked up a fuss to leave. Goodness, not a glimpse of what we paid for. Lucky that daddy didn't join us. (I didn;t dare tell hubby abt Mel having to buy a seat) hushhhh.
Go ahead and take Bryan, i have heard of kids sitting through the movie ;) Popcorn and snacks should do the trick.

Hi Lena!

Good thing you mention the lights out part in the cinema... you see, I didn't even think about that. I think B will definitely react as M did! He's got this thing with complete darkness.

When I was pregnant with K - almost lost her so complete bedrest was ordered - B slept with his grandparents at night. And because my dad likes to have his night light on, now B also has to sleep with a night light on. My hubby and I are thinking of phasing this out slowly when he sleeps through more regularly. Sometimes he still wakes up in the night.

So learning from our mistake, K sleeps in total darkness and boy, she loves it! Hmmm... now there's no chance of putting them both in the same room to sleep. Anyway, all the better since the one will wake up the other, esp B has the habit of waking up.

You know, my hubby and I have to sleep in the living room on a sofa bed - we have long given up our bedroom to K. She's such a light sleeper that when daddy pulls the duvet, she'll complain that she's woken up! Actually, both my children are extremely light sleepers. Hubby and I only have ourselves to blame coz they have our genes! What to do! Sigh!

Anyway, think I need to prepare B for the complete darkness in the movie.

So far, we are quite selectively with what he watches and when he watches TV. That's a good thing about DVDs, VCDs. When he sees scenes that are too violent, e.g. documentaries on animals preying on other animals, he'll scream and wants the TV to be turned off immediately. Am wondering how I'm gonna tell him that I can't switch off a movie in a cinema... Haha, sometimes I'm just so amused by how egocentric a child can get!

Maybe I shall try with open-air cinema first.

Hi Serenade!

Your hubby flies an airplane??? Wow... isn't Brandon proud of his daddy?

So do the children go to bilingual schools, i.e. English and French?

Well, you see, if we had been in some smaller towns/cities in Germany, we would not have much of a choice. But over here in Frankfurt, I've got a choice of sending him to an American preschool. So that naturally our choice to let him do English first.

There's no doubt that children learn a FL effortlessly and acquiring it almost accent free, esp in the land of the target language. But there's always another window, e.g. as teens. Well, that's my job, so I have to say it works, right?

Anyway, I'll wait up and see. If my hubby gets extended, B will have to attend an international school. So he'll have to pick the language up then. But now, he'll learn it from his German friends. Like you said, it's the natural environment here, I can't stop him from picking the language up.

I've also seen students - my students who were in Germany in their early childhood days - at the Lang Centre. They do not necessarily perform better than others who pick up the lang from scratch. In fact, these students are often complacent, thinking they know the lang, but in actual fact, there are far from getting the orthography right. You see, in the earlier days, children pick up languages by sounds. Although they might have also learned to read some easy readers, everything is diluted by the time they come to me. Maybe they didn't keep up with what they had.

Btw, did you have to quit NIE? Or are you on NPL? Coz my husband is with the EDB. So it was a problem getting NPL for me.

I suppose the transport system isn't pram-friendly. O my, don't the kids drive you up the wall sometimes? I heard this from a mom who has a funny comparison of children with keeping a pet. She thinks that we need to walk our children, as people with pets do with their dogs. The kids need to have their energy expended.

On days when I do not get the car from my hubby, I will take buses or the tube. I must say that it's easy to get around with a pram. And there's this thing called a buggy board. It's like a skate board thingy that allows you to attach it to your pram, so that the older child can stand and glide along, while you push the pram. So that helps me to get around with two kids.

But going to an indoor pool with two kids might be too much for you to handle if your hubby isn't coming along. Kids are just so excited to see water, and you have to be 100% vigilant, and be by their side at every moment, lest any accidents happen.

With so many SIngaporean families around, you guys must have lots of gathering, play dates for children etc. Most Singaporeans here I know are families without kids... sad!!! It makes feel like a big burden to them when we go out with them.

Actually, my husband picked a really superb location. The city centre is within walking distance, about 20 mins. The botanical garden is just right at our backyard. School is closeby, close enough for a busride that's only two bus-stops away and a 10 min walk. And I usually try to do grocery shopping before the weekend to avoid the rush and to free up more family time in the weekend.

Ok... I think we'll pass on the Disney Paris for the moment coz I don't think K will enjoy it just yet. Besides, we haven't explored the Legoland and Playmobil-Park here yet... We've got some "big kids" who are dying to do there too! ;)

Lena,
What makes you decide on Fisherman's? Fees seems reasonable.

Hannah was never really that attached to any toys. She dropped a few when she dozed off on the stroller while mommy was happily shopping. Told her that mommy is not working and cannot afford more toys if she lose them again. Since then, no more toys out.

I heard Tokyo disneysea is much better than disneyland. Missed it when we visited Tokyo in May. I'm sure Mel will be very excited...Hannah was.

Serenade,
She wears a smock. Anyway, she did her own dishes once only and that's it.

Can you take up driving lessons with dependent's pass? It's probably easier or cheaper to get the licence than SP. Maybe you can drop Cheryl at CC for couple of hours?

Ky,
Yeah, it's not easy to bring kids to museums - they run about, noisy etc, and you probably end up not seeing anything, and stares from other visitors. Hubby & I like to visit museums especially war museums whenever we travel but with Hannah along, it's just so difficult. Sigh...

Kristin's_mom,
Have you brought your kids to other parts of Germany? I have never visited Germany. Had a piece of Berlin's wall from ex-boss, and so always wanted to see the country myself. Especially so when you watched documentaries on WW2.

Hi Lena,
Yah, you are right. Aston is very matured looking when he is only 3yrs 5 mths old. He is born in Apr2003. He carries a bean sprout pillow and it's a must when he sleeps. I ever wanted to wean this off on him but unsuccessful, so I am waiting for him to outgrow.

Will check with you more abt piano lesson that Mel is attending. I also have the intention to let Aston play some instruments to curb his activeness and hopefully playing instruments can calm him down.

Hi Ky, the chinese education supplier contact is 93883099 Mr Fang. I bot logico chinese set from him and some chinese books/vcds so you can take a look at them when we meet this sunday. I am equally excited to see the numerous teaching materials you have. I do not know why, I just love to buy children books for Aston. Becos I love the logico set so much, I managed to negotiate a price of SGD110 per set and Mr Fang agrees to sell so long as they quote my name/apricot. In case u are interested to get one for Ben, he will deliver it to your home.

hi apricot

I've got logico already ... u got it at a good price. I've got mine at $118. I've got frens who are into buying such stuff too, that's how I get updated. There's a new item call Xiao Tian Cai which I'm thinking of getting ... but this would be more tricky as got to figure how to ship out from China...

Ben has this doggie soft toy (that was mine) and bolster and he uses them when he sleeps.

hi lena
where's fisherman's? fees sounds reasonable. I'm told to wait till the kid is 4 yrs old before starting music lesson.

kristin's mom ... ur hubby with EDB? My brother was with TDB and he was posted to London for 3 yrs around 2000. I think he might know your hubby. :>

.ky.

Hi Ky,

I do not what inside Xiao Tian Cai but was told by this supplier whom heard that Xiao Tian Cai is not really good chinese materials. Be sure to read the contents before buying.

Serenade
Saw Kristin;s mom asking u abt NIE, i presume it's National Institute of Education?? I was an ex school teacher, left many years ago after my bond.

Sarah, Apricot n Ky
Fisherman's music is at Sin Ming Plaza, thomson area, wanted to start her at Yamaha at first but was put off by bad customer service, they don;t really care cos they are v popular and their classes fill up easily anyway. Decided on fisherman cos the teachers' credentials are good and principal is a violinist who performed widely and had won awards plus class size is small, max of 4 kids and i get to stay with her, first lesson starts next sat, will keep u posted;)

Apricot
Will check the logico thing u have and the chinese books on sun. Like u, i am all excited when is see children;s books, kids are so lucky these days. I feel that buying books has more value than buying toys.

Kristin;s mom
u know what, mel sleeps in the living room cos' mel developed a phobia abt the room after a nightmare. Since then, she never slept in d room again. I am still waiting for a miracle, still waiting after a year. who says living room is only for TV and sofa? haha

kristin;s mum

FYI:
The European Commission has just announced an agreement whereby English
will be the official language of the European Union rather than German,
which was the other possibility.

As part of the negotiations, the British Government conceded that English
spelling had some room for improvement and has accepted a 5- year phase-in
plan that would become known as "Euro-English".

In the first year, "s" will replace the soft "c". Sertainly, this will
make the sivil servants jump with joy. The hard "c" will be dropped in
favour of "k". This should klear up konfusion, and keyboards kan have one
less letter. There will be growing publik enthusiasm in the sekond year
when the troublesome "ph" will be replaced with "f". This will make words
like fotograf 20% shorter .

In the 3rd year, publik akseptanse of the new spelling kan be expekted to
reach the stage where more komplikated changes are possible.

Governments will enkourage the removal of double letters which have always
ben a deterent to akurate speling.

Also, al wil agre that the horibl mes of the silent "e" in the languag is
disgrasful and it should go away.

By the 4th yer people wil be reseptiv to steps such as
replasing "th" with "z" and "w" with "v".

During ze fifz yer, ze unesesary "o" kan be dropd from vords kontaining
"ou" and after ziz fifz yer, ve vil hav a ril sensi bl riten styl.

Zer vil be no mor trubl or difikultis and evrivun vil find it ezi tu
understand ech oza. Ze drem of a united urop vil finali kum tru.

Und efter ze fifz yer, ve vil al be speking German like zey vunted in ze
forst plas.

If zis mad you smil, pleas pas on to oza pepl

Hi Lena!

Isn't that a cool way to learn German?

Have read this quite some time back. Thanks for refreshing my memory!

By the way, that's how Germans sound when they speak English, esp if you read out loud the last 4 paragraphs.

Hi ky!

Possibly. They work pretty closely across the boards anyway. We'll know when we meet up one day.
Who knows some of us might be gone to the same school before? After all, Singapore is a small place. My hubby and I have lots of common friends. But we never met each other until we came to study in Germany.

Hi Lena!

Think M is also afraid of dark too, like B.

Just got a book on "You just have to think about something happy". It's a good-night story. Don't know the result. But I shall try it and let you know.

Btw, the PDs here highly recommend herbal tea. e.g. I have been giving my children fennel tea for getting rid of the wind in the stomach and chamomile tea for a good night's sleep. It works to get them to sleep soundly.

But I know how it's like when your 3-yr-old keeps telling you that he/she can't sleep. And that he/she is afraid.

Good thing is that it doesn't storm too much here... or B will come waking everyone up when he hears thunder bolts.

Hi Mommies!

Does your 3-yr-old wet his/her bed?

If not, do you wake him/her up in the middle of the night to use the toilet?

It's difficult to expect 100% bladder control when he's sleeping 10-11 hours straight unless he wakes up to go to the toilet once.

Does anybody know the diff between the English and Chinese Logico Sets?

Kristins_mom, more details on Logico set http://www.mylittleones.com.sg/products_englishlogico.htm

Anybody interested in the English set?

Lena, I think he stopped bringing things around one or two months before he turned 3 yrs old. His last favourite was Eyeore. But Eyeore's mouth "opened" up and I told him that Eyeore needed rest cos he talked too much. Well, since then, he left Eyeore alone. Has Mel ever lost her toys before? Possible to use that as a reason to discourage her?

Nope, I'm not with NIE but nearly joined the teaching profession. While waiting to join the NIE Jan intake, I was assigned to teach temporarily in a neighbourhood school. I resigned within 6 weeks. Best decision ever made

Sarah, it was my intention to take up driving here. Unfortunately they only hold English classes in the evenings ard 6pm. Cost wise, not much savings. The whole package is abt 900 euros.

Hi Serenade,

I only heard that both Eng and Chinese Logico are identical on the topics and the only diff is the language only. Well, I have not seen the English one though.

hi serenade,
i having a week vacation next week, what a break that i am looking forward too. i am so tired and weared down by the work load. i have not decided whether to be SAHM but probably will after my delivery next May i guess or else dun think my in laws can cope with three kids.
is this logico good. my son is hopeless in his chinese, speak mandarine sound like ang mo speaking mandarine. i just started my son in MRC chinese class hopefully this will help him.
May i ask does your second kid more independent and fierce than the older one. i dun know whether is it because he has lesser attention compare to ko ko.

Hi Emily,
Logico is activity games to train child's connectivity, linking skills, concentration skills and be focus.

Hi kristins_mom,

The French does incoporate English lessons in their curriculum, but I'm not sure at what level they start to teach them English. If I were you, I would make a similar decision by sending them to an American preschool too. Btw, do you worry abt the American accent that Bryan picks up? I kept reading reports that kids might have problems fitting in singapore schools if they speak "differently".

For me, I'm not really into foreign languages. So, it doesn't matter to me if Brandon can speak good french. My objective for sending him to school is purely for play and socialization purposes.

I don't mean sending Bryan to a German school to learn the language but what about teaching him German on your own? I feel it's a pity cos both of you are fluent with the language, and Bryan has the perfect environment to use the language. Just a thought... I guess many parents realize the problem, i.e losing touch with the language. That's why most of the singaporeans enrol their kids in French classes to keep them in touch with the language when they return to Singapore. I haven't decided if I'll enrol Brandon too
Most likely not cos I want him to pick up Chinese first.

What's the issue you have with NPL? We have some mothers here who are with NIE. They don't seem to have problems with NPL.

Your friend do have a funny way of comparing her kids to dogs. Well, I'll be lying if I say I'm not driven crazy by the kids. But luckily, that happens occasionally for me. Usually, we have so much to do at home, especially with Brandon taking the lead. Some days, he'll pretend to be a rabbit and insist that we hop around. When I'm busy, he'll move around on his scooter and Cheryl will be tailing behind trying to catch hold of the brother. Frankly, I think they are trying to expend my energy instead. Another good way to expend their energy is to get them do music & movement at home. Try Carnival of the Animals: By Saint-Saens. We have great fun and lots of exercises pretending to be the animals.

Wow, you are pretty adventurous to bring your kids around with just the pram. Over here, it's not really convenient for me to do so. Most of the attractions are not within walking distance. Imagine, it takes us 45 minutes to reach Bordeaux by car. And even the nearest supermarket is abt 20 minutes by foot. Luckily, Brandon's school is abt a 10 minutes walk away. Hmm, I have been trying to get my hubby to get the buggy board but he didn't buy the idea.

Oh yes, kids are just excited by water, aren't they? We brought them to a lake few weeks ago. Though it was her first time there, I was surprised that Cheryl enjoyed being in the water so much.

Usually, I meet up with the others during official gatherings. Other than that, we seldom gather cos most of us are tied down with kids. Ironical, isn't it?

Really envious of you to be living in such a good location. It must be pretty easy for you to move around since you know the language.

Are you planning to travel this Christmas? If you are adventurous enough, you can try Christmas Village. I heard it's beautiful but very cold. If not for the coldness, we would love to visit the place.

Brandon has been diaperless since this July... Every night, he'll use the toilet before sleeping. Except for a few occassions, he has managed to stay dry throughout the night until the next morning. But I'm still looking forward to the day when he will wake me up to use the toilet.

Hi Emily,

Congratulations on your pregnancy! I don't think I have your courage to go for a third baby now. Since you are pregnant, can you request for a lighter workload? After all, you are "answering" the govt's call

Quite a number of parents recommended the Logico set. I wouldn't mind getting it to keep my kids busy on something.

At least your son is speaking mandarin. Mine can't understand mandarin, let alone speak the language. But I'm not worried as long as he's not adversed to the language. Is MRC good? Heard that something Berry is not bad too. Have you thought of JG speech & drama for Chinese? My friend has just enrolled her son for the programme. I'll wait for her review before deciding on one for Brandon.

Yes, I do find Cheryl more independent and "fierce" than Brandon. She has no qualms fighting rough with her brother and snatching things away from him. Though I'm constantly trying to give her more attention, I'm rather happy with her character. With Brandon, I guess I was overly protective. Is there anything about your second child that worries you?

Hi apricot,

Thanks for the info. Think I'll get the English version cos Brandon doesn't really understand Chinese yet. Do you have idea where I can get additional Logico boards? I have this feel that Cheryl might be interested in "playing" with it too.

Hi Seranade,

The supplier I know do sell the additional logico boards. I will need to check if they are same to chinese sets.
Alternatively, if u are buying the English set, you can ask if they sell additional boards.

Hi Serenade!

regarding the NPL, I meant to say it wasn't a problem at all... It guess it made such a difference when the "not" is missing. Gee, I must have been sleeping while typing.

Teaching B German at home? Well, I've always been saying bits and pieces of German to him, although I don't actively teach him. He picks up a bit here and there. Little particles here and there... something quite natural I guess, and things that my students never got to master in Singapore because they are simply not exposed to the natural environment.

Sometimes I sing some German nursery rhymes with him too. Recently, he just said the German word for cake very smoothly, as he pretended to put a baking tin into his oven. He went, I put the "Kuchen" into the oven. And then he went, Ping! Now Mom, eat the Kuchen! It's yummy! Don't you laugh too when your son comes shoving an imaginery cake down your throat? Of course, we moms have to play along.

Christmas Village? Maybe next year. We'll be returning to Singapore this Christmas break for my brother's wedding.

Yeah, the buggy board is quite ex. We paid 65 Euros for ours. But it's good coz you can have him and the pram together while crossing roads. And you can walk a little faster if you're running late. When B is tired, he even sits on it. So far, I haven't seen another kid doing this... but why not if he grabs onto it?

Hey, if the families are mostly with kids, then you guys should meet even more often, e.g. play dates, regular playgroups (Mandarin speaking for instance), or potluck!!! At least the wives and kids get to see different people.

Unfortunately, most Singaporeans I know here are without kids, and it's tough to stay out late hanging out! Sigh! No more hanging outs for so many more years to come !!!!

Yap, knowing the language is an advantage. But I get around less than people who first came without any prior knowledge of German. And it was frustrating to me when K was younger coz I was so homebound.

But nowadays I have so much to occupy me, e.g. sending and picking B up from preschool, and in between I go to a gym on alternate days. The gym offers childcare service. Now isn't that brilliant?

We had a choice of living in an apartment in the city or in a house in the suburb. It might sound good to have a garden for the kids to run around in, but I told my husband I so don't want to wake up at 5 am to sweep snow in winter.

Hmmm... are you sure you want Brandon to wake you up to use the toilet? When B wakes me up to use the toilet, he'll use it and then pretend it's difficult for him to go back to sleep. And he'll start rambling about he can't sleep and he doesn't know why! And he'll ask, How about a story, Mom? Or another song please?

Good grief! The Logico sets cost so much in Singapore? I've done a search in German, it seems like it's quite affordable here... e.g. a preschooler Logico set costs about 50 Euros. Let's see if I can find a set.

O yes, about the clock stuff, am thinking of introducing 3 = quarter past, and 9 = quarter to once B has mastered the 12 = o'clock and 6 = half past concept. Maybe you can try it out with Brandon and let me know if this works. I remember that was one of the things I did with my students when they were learning German. And if a three year old can tell time by the quarter of an hour, that's big achievement already.

Hi Serenade!

I think I hit jackpot or what? The German publisher for the Logico sets is based in Oberursel, which is 15 min drive from where we live! I doubt there'll be a discount. But I can surely look out for sales, I guess.

Hmmm.. the value pack sold in Singapore.... how many "exercise books" does it come with?

Here, apparently, the board is sold at 11,60 Euros, and each "exercise book" is priced at 9,80 Euros. But it's all German that I see so far... Hmmmm... now B can learn German with it!

O I see English ones too! Very ex!!!! 272 Euros for the standard 8 packs!

Anyway, think I'll ask around in B's school to see if I can borrow a set to check it out first.

Wow.. marvellous.. mummies.. hehe.. was so busy in work.. and now seldom log in here...what a surprise.. this thread is moving fast..spend few hours in reading this thread.. haha...

So sad, cannot join in gals on the coming gathering, hopefully, the next one we can attend.. Mummies, enjoy urself..HAPPY CHILDREN'S DAY TO ALL KIDS..

Hi Emily, congragtulations..

Recently was very stressed with my little one, haiz.. terrible 3 begins.. since 2 weeks ago till now, he will diffinitely throw tantrum everydays without failed. No matter where he is, once he is not happy, he will lying on the floor, bite him own fingers, push away all the things beside him and cries..out aloud.. Just brought him back from a short trip in Malaysia, what he do... guess.. he lying on the floor in Malaysia and Singapore customs.. We cant hold him tight.. he is full of energy..when he is angry..No matter how we try to console him.. he will not wanted to listen. What a "MALU"..

My son is only good in his Mandarin and not English.. vice versa.. haha..

Will try to come in more often....Take Care..Regards.

thanks serenade and worry mum, well this pregnancy is not something we plan for but since God has given me we will be gladly keep lor.
hopefully this is a gal.
not that i am very concern about my younger son just that he is very independent but hope it is not due to i over protective to my older son.
logica seem good ya, anyone know where can i find this set or anyone organising BP.
well teaching got no light duty leh.......
MRC is a centre using whole brain method to teach,so give a try . i am not too sure about Berry , as for JG i am too waiting for my friend's comments .Just that MRC has a centre near my place where JG is at forum .
WorryMum are you a malaysian. well nowadays kids are not easy to handle. i remember during my childhood times when my mum hold a cane in her hand all of us will sit quietly at one corner.

Hi Emily,

You can order from Mr Fang 93883099 for the logico chinese set. He shld be selling at SGD110 and can arrange delivery to your home.

What is MRC & JC ?

Hi Emily!

Yeah, like Serenade, I don't even have the courage to think of another pregnancy right now. But as God has blessed you with a third baby, I'm sure He'll give you strength to be a mom of three.

Haha... we used to respect cane more than the kids do these day, isn't it?
But my dad used to tell me, cane a child when he's still young and when he gets older, you find that you won't have to do it anymore. He was right with myself and my brother. We never got caned after we went to primary schools. I hope this piece of advice will work out fine with his grandchildren too.

Hi Serenade!

Talking about cane, I read that you also threaten Brandon with it too.

Haha... this was a must for me to ship over. I hardly use it these days to cane B, unless something must have gone dead wrong to warrant such punishment. These days punishment comes in a form of time-out or I just deprive him of something he enjoys doing.

O, the American accent? I don't worry much about it. He'll lose it in no time when he's back in Singapore. ALso, his teacher is actually from Scotland, while the teaching assitant is from Canada. So it's always British Eng vs American Eng in class... and B will surely take side with his Scotish teacher
e.g. we say torch light, and the Americans flash light. We say aeroplanes and the Americans airplanes. We say to-mah-toes, the Americans to-mae-toes etc. I'm more worried about orthography when he starts to read and spell. But it can be quickly corrected or he'll just have to learn to accept both versions.

Hurrah! It's weekend again! Bon Weekend!

Hi all. I'm a new SAHM with 2 kids - Oct 03 boy and Dec 05 girl. My boy is still attending full day childcare while I look after my baby girl though I use a lot of my parents' help too. I am seriously contemplating being a real SAHM by changing my son to a nursery programme from Jan and stopping to impose on my parents but have no confidence at all. I personally find it impossible to watch over 2 kids without my parents' help, not to mention having to cook and do housework as well. Also, my primary purpose in staying home is to spend meaningful time playing with them and teaching them things. Instead, I find myself wishing very hard for them to sleep as long as possible each day and failing to enagage them in their waking hours cos I have so many other things to do.

I think some of you here are true-blue SAHM with no parental/maid etc support. Can you please tell me how you do it all? I did not realise that SAHM is such hard life and keep questioning myself whether I'm cut out for this.

Happy Children's Day to all our children !!

Today's gathering at my house was a wonderful one. So many toy for kids to play and alot of food for parents to eat and eat. Thanks to all mummies who have come and making this 1st outing a successsful one.

Here're some pic taken specially for your pleasure viewing.
The few mummies appear in the pics are Lena (2nd to 4th pic), BlurBlur Pooh and MH back facing (5th pic). The kids from left to right are princes of BlurBlur Pooh, Apricot and Ky and then princess of Sarah, Lena & MH (two princess). Actually there are 3 pairs of children couple..ha ha...
http://sg.pg.photos.yahoo.com/ph/tulipvalley2000/album?.dir=/54adscd

gee ... pris, u r fast ... I was just showing Ben the pictures. sorry gotta run off like that. was really to show our faces n we were just in time. It was nice meeting everyone ... We should do this again some day, outside somewhere where the kids can run wide, n the mummies to chitchat ...

.ky.

hey apriccot,
you're fast worker, isn't it? thanks for hosting, and hope you didn't spend much time clearing up.

yep, it will be great to meet up again. perhaps pre-xmas, as suggested by lena, or maybe anytime earlier...

Hi ky,

One place come to my mind for children to play and mummies can chit chat. But daddy must go to take care the children while mummies chat...ha ha. The place is West coast park playground. Aston was there once and he miss the place soooo much. We do not drive so hardly can promise him to bring him there. Or even we can try go Botanical gdns have a picnic..a big field for them to run around but weather must be good. K, we plan again.

Hi Sarah,
We do not mind hosting and you know we finish packing just one hr ago. Daddy is a good helper and both he and Aston are sleeping now and I am busy here surfing the net. Yes, we shld plan the 2nd one sooner.

Hi Sarah, I mean 2nd outing sooner and not 2nd kid sooner ..becos jus now we are discussing about planning our 2nd one...

Hi mommies!

The kids looked awesome in the pictures! I like the pic DP_2266 where all the kids sat together. Was it tough getting them seated for the shoot? Apricot, you are really a fast worker, eh? Didn't expect the photos to be uploaded so fast. Well done!

Lena, Mel looks just like you. But I was confused initially by pic DP_2261. Nearly thought Hannah was your girl cos her smile looked like yours in the photo.

Hi kristins_mom,

So Bryan has been stuffing you with "cakes" too, eh? Trust me, there will be more "food" to come. Lately, I have been having "pizzas". And just yesterday, it was "cheese" falling into my mouth. Really makes me wonder what will be next on the menu...

Oh yes, it slipped my mind that you will be returning to Singapore. We just found out (from a friend) that the airfare alone from France to Finland costs 1000 euros per person. Gosh, that's too expensive for me.

It would be nice to meet up with other moms and kids. Unfortunately, most of their kids are much younger than Brandon. The oldest has just turned two years old. On top of that, we don't really live near each other and I don't drive. So, it would be a problem to arrange for playdates or meetups. How abt getting your hubby to look after the kids while you meet up with the other wives? Alternatively, you can enrol Kristin for some playgroups in the mornings and steal some breathing space. That's how some of the mommies here got by.

That's cool. I thought only the gyms in the States provide such service. It's a great way to steal some time off for yourself while Kristin's having some fun too.

Does it snow a lot in where you live? We rarely have snow here. That's why we are planning more frequent trips to the snow mountains this winter.

You mean Bryan doesn't go back to his sleep after waking up to visit the toilet in the middle of the night? Gosh, that must be hard on you. I doubt I'll have that problem with Brandon. You see, I can't even wake him up to visit the toilet in the first place. Both my kids are sound sleepers.