(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Hi Lena,

Can you check with Mdm Soh how much she selling for level 1 and 3 ? I only Growing Fun and www.studioij.com.sg is selling. Just wan check the best price to buy. Thanks so much !

By the way, I am very scared of animals. The only animal I can afford to see is fishes.

okie, no monkeys for u then, for me, i can;t eat at hawker centres with cats haha but my daughter is a cat lover, extreme cat lover!

Will send u PM on prices

Hi Apricot,
Same here! Just can't stop buying books, right? Your mention of good books at those make-shift stalls has started my buying itch again... hehe... but can only scratch them at the moment...

Saw Aston's photos too. He must be a very expressive boy, look at those poses...

Lena, me too. I'm not very disciplined too, doing it at a slow pace. Brandon has completed 2 books so far, "Jia1 Ting2" & "Dong4 Wu4". Mine is the book format. I may need to trouble you next year. For now, I'll be glad if Brandon can complete Level 1 before we go back to Sg. Very low expectations, right...

kristins_mom,
Any simple chinese rhymes to introduce?

For telling time, we simply incorporate it into our daily life. For instance, if we spot the clock showing one o'clock, we will show Brandon where the short, long hands are and how he can read the time. Even Cheryl is pointing the clock now...

We do puzzles but not on a very regular basis. I have some simple book puzzles that Brandon will complete on his own. For those more complicated ones, we usually do it togther (when Cheryl is sleeping). What type of puzzles interest Bryan more?

wow ... so many posting ... will write more soon.

apricot ... nope, me not SSO fren. borrowed fren's card but turned out unneccessary, cos counter didn't ask for it.

meetup on 1 Oct ... perhaps ok for me. have another children's day engagement somewhere ... 1 Oct is Sun leh ... 30 Sep is Sat...

.ky.

Hi Seranade,

I know this supplier selling chinese educational books. She can sometimes give good price so that's why I buy from her several times. I recently bot one set which I think it's good. I will try take some pics and let you all see. I am already thinking of organising BP on these chinese educational books provided she can give a good price then all of us can benefit from BP price. Let u all know again.

Oh, you saw Aston.. yeap, a very naughty, active, cheeky boy. Very talkative too.

I am also starting to look around puzzels for Aston cos so far what he has are 10 pcs ones & he has repeatedly complete them with my help.

Hi Ky,

Confirmed we are meeting on Oct1 Sunday

Venue: Apricot's house (Punggol 21)
Date: Sun, Oct 1
Time: 11am start brunch meal but all can come from 9am onwards

Confirm coming is Lena and Sarah. Waiting for you and MH to confirm.

Hi Mommies!

So happening here! It's really a shame that the kids and I can't make it to the first outing! Remember to take lots of pictures and post them!!!!

Hi Lena!
You got me interested in those readers from Mdm Soh. Can you pass me the contact when I get back to Sg?

Sarah,
guess what I was teaching?
German!
Correct guess? Ok, chocolates for you next time

Actually, I didn't resign from my position. Am on NPL at the moment.

Apricot,
check out the links... I know they are people who are very unhappy with GKGW or Babywise. But use your wisdom as a parent and discern what's best for your child. After all, cannot apply one method lock, stock and barrel for every child.

Serenade,
Bryan was rather quiet before he started talking. BUt once he got it, he talks day and night... very noisy, sometimes! One of his first words at 9 months was GO! And then it became I WANT TO GO! And guess where he wanted to go to every day? To the playground with his grandpa. He's really spoilt, and living with my parents in Sg then didn't help. And like Brandon, everyone dotes on him coz there hasn't been a baby in my family for a long long time.

Just discovered how engrossed Kristin can get with toys. She was playing with stacking rings (different from our normal plastic ones. The Europeans have very pretty ones made of wood, and this one uses a magnetic piece to close up the tower)at the doc' clinic yesterday. And she refused to let herself be shown by her brother, nor guided by me... She was happy to be exploring on her own. She can play much more own, sometimes even happy to be "reading" her board books in her playpen. Yeah... girls are quicker at learning... She's very teased by the way I say S-Nail, S-nail, come out of your home etc this morning. And shortly thereafter I kept hearing her say s-, s-, s-!

I find puzzling good... coz that keeps Bryan still and it seems to get him to focus. I just gave him a new box of puzzles. He wants me to do it together most of the time. But with this box, I will always remind him, "Remember what Franklin's mommy said: Have you tried your best? Remember you need to give your best effort." Then I can continue with my cooking in the kitchen. He likes puzzles with animals on them... We started him when he was almost one with some hand-me-downs. He started with the sorting of different sets.

Chinese rhymes/songs:
1) You know this one/song: Meimei bei zhe yang wa wa (little sister is carrying a doll)
2) Xiao lao shu shang deng tai, tou chi you xia but lai, jiao meimei bao mao lai, ji li gu lu gun xia lai.

Hmmm... let me see if I can type these out as attachments.

I bought some of these from Popular before I left. But that was the only place I shopped. I think you are probably more equipped with Chinese titles.

We must really get the children to be interested in CL. I've seen too many parents who just find ways to get their children away from learning CL and they think their children have a better chance to do French or German as a 2nd Lang. I don't aim to be one of those parents.

Wow... some of your children are so advanced at word recognition. I've got these Chinese wall charts which Bryan will read from left to right, up and down in one breath, but I think he recognises only the pictures... i.e. picture reading. I might do an experiment one of these days... but am simply too lazy...

How long more will you be in France? I'm more worried for Kristin's exposure to Mandarin. She'll be at least 3 when she's back, with very little exposure to CL whereas Bryan had at least two years of CL exposure back home before we came here.

Serenade,

you saw Kristin? Yeah, she just turned one in that shot. We always wondered where she got those eyes from. Coz both my husband and I don't have big round eyes... Then when my FIL came to visit this summer, and he was carrying her all the time, we finally saw the resemblance.

The ang-mohs here like her alot... she's a headturner, esp with guys!
No lah, the ang-mohs mostly find her adorable with so much hair... you see, the German babies are usually blond and if they have hair, it's so fine that you can hardly tell it's hair.

Yeah... have been wondering if Kristin is too small. The PD here said she's very short, with 71.5cm at 1 year. Then I thought it's the ang moh size. But she's also short in the Asian context. My mom always tells me that it's Bryan who's tall, so Kristin appears to be short. Weight wise... Kristin is still 9+ kg.

So mommies with girls, is this normal?

It's extremely difficult to get my children to be interested in food and I know it's not my cooking coz I've had so many of Bryan's friends over, and they ate and ate and even asked for more helpings. Getting Kristin to eat is so tough... need to distract her alot to feed her. Otherwise she'll shake her head to indicate no more food for her.

And they both don't like porridge. Only the plain white porridge is ok. Sigh!

So now whenever she shows signs that she's interested in my dinner, I'll give it to her as long as it's not soaking in sauce...

Lena,
I have the 'I Can Read' Level 1 chinese books too. Bought it from a shop at IMM. I like IMM because of the indoor playground. Sometimes it's just so unbearable to go under the hot sun, and that place is a good outing. Particularly like the shop Daiso too. Let's share on the books again when we meet up.

Apricot,
I'm also terrified of animals. Two days ago, 2dogs came running to me when I brought Hannah to the playground. I almost screamed but couldn't in case of frightening Hannah. Worse, no apologies from the dogs' owner ( 2 girls probably in their early teens).

Serenade,
I can't quite recall on the wet function. Let me check with her.

There are children's songs in Chinese like the ones Kristin's_mom mentioned. Songs like Twinkle Twinkle Little Star, mom's the best (shi shang zhi you mama hao) etc in Chinese, I bought it for $1.90 from those neighbourdhood video shop. Not original but last quite a while (since she was born).

Kristin's_mom,
How about german class for the little ones?? Do you plan to go back to teaching when you return?

I believe it will be relatively easy for Kristin to pick up the language again when you return...By then Bryan is in school and probably talking to you more often in mixture of both languages. Monkey see monkey do.

Hi all Mommies,

Blurblur-pooh here, hv not been coming in to "talk " for quite sometimes since moved to new office. not convi to surf net now. : (

wow, finali got outing to mit some mommies and it's on Sun !! (great coz i can't mk it on sat)

apricot, if don't mind, can i join ? uninvited guest. : P

Lena, yes, hope to see the chinese book that you mentioned. v. difficult to get my boy to read chinese even though school did teach. : (

Hi Blurblur Pooh,
Sure u are welcome to join us !

Confirmed mommy coming :
1) Sarah
2) Lena
3) Blurblur Pooh
4) Ky
5) MH (to be confirmed)

I have to stop at 5 families cos this is my 1st time holding gathering in my house. I scared I cannot be a good host. Let me try out 5 families 1st and with experience will add more in the next one.
Can I request all mommies to PM me your HP in order to contact ach other for subsequent potluck arrangement ? Thanks

Hi Sarah,

I simply love DAISO and becos I live in NE I cannot go so often. SO each time I go, I will surely shop very madly there. Maybe we can arrange our 2nd gathering be at IMM.

Hi Kristin's mom,

Thanks for mentioning the chinese rhymes to us.
The rhymes remind me when I am young. I will go find them in Popular tomorrow.

apricot,
Oh yes, do let me know if you are organising BP for Chinese educational books. I'm would definitely like to get some for my kids.

sarah,
A friend gave me some chinese VCDs before she left. But the songs and the animations don't seem to complement each other. Brandon paid more attention to the animations (cut & paste from Tom & Jerry etc) than the chinese wordings/songs. Do you have any recommendations on VCDs for learning children songs in chinese?

channel,
My house is void of any breakables. In fact, we kept the coffee table away so that there's more area for the kids to move about.

sherlyn,
How do you manage your kids whenever they fight? Any good advice on handling them?

kristins_mom,
Though it didn't surprise me that you are teaching German, my guess was that you are an English teacher. So, are you attached to any particular school?

We'll be returning to Sg next April. And you? Year 2008? I should be worrying more than you. We have just started Brandon on learning Chinese. Prior to this, he has never heard/read a chinese word. If there's a need, we'll let him attend chinese enrichment classes accordingly.

I am suprised by your decision not to teach your kids German. Doesn't your husband speak German too? It is my belief that environment plays a very important role in acquiring languages. Being in Germany gives your kids an edge some parents would gladly trade for. Couple with the fact that both you and your hubby are fluent in the language itself, your kids would pick up German effortlessly. Many of the Singaporean kids (in France) have no problems picking up french at school. In fact, some are still attending french language classes after they returned to Sg. Isn't it possible to teach your kids 3 languages at the same time?

I like the wooden German-made toys too. Are they expensive? Did you manage to find the Logico set in Germany?

Brandon said his first word at 9 mths old too. Sentences came much later, at 21 mths old. I think Brandon received more ang mohs' attention as a baby than Cheryl does. He was a chubby and smiley baby. During our spain trip, a female tourist actually tried capturing him on her camera while we were at a shopping centre :) But, isn't it common that the ang-mohs go ga-ga over chinese babies in general?

How was Bryan's growth like? I observed that Brandon and Cheryl share similar growth trends in height, at least till they were 1 year old. Cheryl was 77-78cm tall by her first birthday. But since then, she has only grown another 2-3 cm. I'm still waiting for her next growth spurt.

Food wise, my kids are relatively easy to deal with. They are not choosy and wouldn't mind porridge everyday. How about preparing porridge and dishes separately for them? Have your given Bryan raw food such as carrots, tomatoes and fresh salmon? Cheryl started taking raw cherry tomatoes at 13 mths old. I'll be starting her on raw carrot sticks soon. Fresh salmon was an instant hit with Brandon. He's always asking for more.

Hey! i have an idea, can the kids bake cookies at apricot's? Just concerned if there will be a big mess but it;s gona be fun, i can get the instant mix and some raisins, M&Ms for decor. Have to seek Apricot's approval 1st. Apricot, boleh???
I will buy some cupcakes in case the cookies turn out charred... hee hee. What say u???

Hi Lena,

Cannot le cos my house has no oven. Your idea is great but too bad I do not have oven.
You buy the cupcakes ?

I've just spent more than an hr reading the postings ... and learn so much from all of you. pardon me if I can't write much... am stealing time while my sons are sleeping. both boys go to bed at 9pm but my baby keeps waking up at night to look for comfort (me) :-/

Kristin
I'm more into attachment parenting rather than babywise. I guess it's an influence from the mothers around me when I was a first-time mummy, and so far, that has more or less work for me. I'm not against babywise though, just not the spanking part. like apricot, I try to talk to my boy (Ben) if he misbehaves.

PreSchool : Though I'm practising (or I should say attempt to practise) Montessori at home, I choose a play-based childcare for my boy ... but the school that Bryan goes to sounds very very 'delicious'. I stopped the Montessori materials for a while at home as I find it's not possible for him to learn thru' me. Recently I've tried it and his concentration span is much better.

I'm impressed that some of your kids are rather advanced in terms of reading ... My son's weak in recognizing ABC. I am unsure whether it's bcos his just not interested or a former teacher not providing him a good groundwork (I changed cc bcos partly bcos of that) ... perhaps as a parent, I should not fault it to others. Recently I've tried zoophonics and sight words and he seems slightly more interested. He loves us reading to him though. His latest favs are Owl Babies and Cat in a Hat. I like the former myself.

For puzzles, I've recently started that activity with Ben. I found this in the library, Guess how much I love you, and recently found this with a puzzle for each page... pretty lovely and Benedict is getting better with it.

Library : I found out sometime last month that Jurong East library has very good children books, esp the non-fiction books. And there's a good children library just 10 mins walk from my place; I got a number of "wo hui du" books from there.

Hi Serenade
tx for the details on curious george. think I'll get it but have not got down to the logistics part of getting it back to Sg.

Domestic helper : I too didn't want a domestic helper when I had Ben only. Eventually we felt that it's better to get one when I was preggie with #2 as (1)hubby (who's the cook of the house) wanted a good meal for everyone (2)I was worried about coping with two esp when it comes to learning and breastfeeding. Ben was a high-demand baby and I also wanted to bf #2 "peacefully". Now, I'm glad there's help cos I realize that both hubby and my health are not as good as before ...

Apricot, can pm me the chinese books contact?

I'm into buying books too but somehow Ben's only interested in reading selected few books and he can obsessed with them for months. And I'm running out of space in the house for books and learning materials.

Lena, another place for outing : Science Centre. Today, we were nearby so pop in to take a look. They have an exhibit for water and the kids were running around in swimming suits having a wonderful play time with water. I promised Ben I'll bring him there one day ...

I'd like to know how much time u spend setting aside to do the activites you wish/want your kid to do, eg reading, puzzles, worksheets (do u do?). I find that minus the time Ben spend in cc, his daily routine, nap, doing some stuff which he loves (eg sports, reading) and settling him down, I'm left with quite little time each day.

.ky.

Hi Serenade!

I'm waiting for Bryan to come begging for German lesson.
Actually, he is now. He will sometimes go, Mommy, please speak German with me. Maybe I've seen too many unmotivated 2nd Lang students learning German.

Some bilingual kindergartens here are not really employing native English speakers... so I have reservations in putting Bryan into one. Right now, no formal German lesson for him. I'm hoping that the American preschool brings back German classes in the afternoon.

Yeah... ang-mohs find Asian babies cute, and back home, we find ang-moh babies cute... haha! C'est la vie!

Hmmm... fighting... I tried confiscating the toy, i.e. no one gets it when they fight over it. It somehow gets the message through for a while. But I can tell that they always cry for impartial treatment... e.g. When I tell Bryan not to bang empty plastic bottles as if he's playing drums on the floor, and then he'll quickly retort and say, But meimei is also doing it.

I know when they fight, they will most certainly look my way to see whom I side with. I'm also at my wits end!!!

I have been repeating the word "Share" ever since Kristin's born. And I always sing the Barney song of "We take turns..."
Right now, I'm emphasizing on affection, trying to get them to hug each other and telling them how wonderful it is to have a brother/sister etc. It was quite heartwarming this morning to see them both in my bed. They were tickling each other silly after we shared a reading session together. If only everyday was like this one...

Hi ky!

Bryan's preschool is almost like the Lorna Whiston Pre-School back in Sg, minus the full day programme and bilingualism.

He's lucky to enjoy lots of nature walk around the estate, e.g. when they were doing shapes and colours for the 1st week, all of them were given a colour and a shape to take with them when they went for their morning walk. The children were told to identify objects around them as they walked. Next highlight: his teacher is going to take them to the fire brigade in October! I'm excited about that too. We just had sports day yesterday. It was alot of fun running with the kids. The school always welcome parent volunteers. I think we are lucky to be part of the school coz we are a bunch of SAHMs here and we cannot work by law coz we are on a dependant's pass.

I don't know if I can afford to let my children attend a similar preschool, in terms of finance and time.

Serenade,

will get back to you again...
it's been a long day, with some visitors around and my husband had to work today! On a SATURDAY!!! Well, you know, how precious weekends are in the European culture.

hi ky
Are u joining us on Sun?
Abt learning, my daily routine with Melody is not planned, i used to work on themed topics, e.g. 2 weeks on transportation but the discipline fizzles out after a while. Now, i am trying the book-based approach, after reading a story, i will follow-up with a craftwork based on the story e.g. making a caterpillar, numbers can be written on the segments of the caterpillar (Math) the kid can order or sequence the numbers.
for more advance stuff, try photocopying parts of the story and let ur child rearrange the sequence. Can also try pre-reading activity, e.g. have a role play abt doctors n patients before reading a book abt visiting a doc. Bake cookies, or knead dough after a story abt birthday party. The possibilities are endless, just tap on the contents of the book and play around with it. I usu spend 30min on this in the morning when Mel is most alert. Try it!

hi lena

yes, coming ... still thinking of what to bring. what r u bringing?

I (have to) plan my routine or else Ben would just play ball all day ... I have recently ton down the routine though. Cos I have tons of materials (montessori, right brain, worksheets, curriculum books), so it's pretty easy to get the routine up... the difficult part is ensuring that we follow-thru'

.ky.

Wow, u sure have lots of resources. Lucky Ben. If i remember correctly, he's schooling already? Just curious if they would tire out after sch, Mel is starting nursery next yr.

I am no chef nor baker, so gona buy muffins, cakes etc. Thinking how to engage the kids, games???

Was it Sarah who wanted to look at the chinese books??? Apricot, do u have them at home? If u do, i don;t have to bring.

Hi Lena,

Me oso interested in the chinese book. if Apricot has it, then i can check with her. otherwise can u bring, plsss.....

sori can't really join you guys here to talk often as in office not convi to "talk" and at home after putting both kids to sleep, i almost fall asleep myself. he he.

ya, Apricot, just now when replied your mail, forgot to ask what do i nid to bring for potluck this sun ? (* V *)

Lemme know if anyone is keen to order from Wonderbox, free del for $75 n above. I am ordering some for xmas prezies.

Lena

someone is doing wonderbox BP ... $2600 to get 20%. I'll be putting in my orders there.

I thot it's for lunch? Need to think of something for my hubby who's the cook to cook ...

We can do games, how about each one of us do 1 game... reading, art n craft all can. how?

Tired? He would say no, and don't wanna sleep; but I still get him to nap. That's why I want to know the time u gals set aside for activties ... I'm left with 3 hrs but effectively maybe only 1 hr.

.ky.

Hi ky,

So far, my style of teaching has been rather spontaneous. I tried to plan but not disciplined enough to follow through... Usually, I'll take a book off the shelf, choose a topic and walk through it with Brandon. However, I'm more consistent with Phonics lessons.

Ben is really lucky to have so much materials. The white board is a great aid for me. We do drawing, maths, writing etc on it. I just taught him Nouns on the whiteboard. Every now and then, he will return to whiteboard and capture what constitutes a noun. He has been doing assessment books from Popular Bookshop too. Depending on the level of difficulty, he can finish abt 10-20 pages in one session.

We used to have weekly art sessions too before he started school.

But now that he has started school, I'm gearing towards a theme based approach like Lena.

Brandon's favourite activity is solving mazes. If I let him be, he can almost complete the entire book in one go. We are doing those from the Kumon series.

Reading is still our major activity. We talk abt the story we read, even act it out. Sometimes, we have fun taking turns to read the more difficult books.

kristins_mom,

How did it go on Saturday? It must have been an important function, otherwise your husband wouldn't have to return to office on a saturday.

Care to share on Lorna Whiston? I kept hearing abt Julia Gabriel but not LW.

As for puzzles, you may want to try Animals of the World Jigsaw Puzzle. Got mine from Amazon.fr.

Lena,
Brandon will take a 1-1.5hr nap after school each day. Then we'll start our "work".

Hi Lena,

What chinese books are you referring to ?
I have I can read level 2 and 4 , logico chinese set, many chinese books at home.

Has any mommy tried software by creative? Currently, there's a clearance sale on one of the forums. I'm thinking of gettng some for Brandon.

Serenade,

you can look at this website regarding Lorna Whiston's approach:
http://www.lornawhiston.com.sg/psweb/index.html

I don't know how it works in this preschool personally. But from what I've read, it sounds similar to the one that Bryan is attending right now, minus the full day programme and bilingualism.

What logico set?

Wow... I see you and other moms are really actively teaching. I normally just read to Bryan when I have the time. Most of the time it is before or after or even during meal time. You see, all along I've got very poor eaters at home. But they don't mind a story or two as they eat.

Since last week, I decided to give the clock another try after having read what you've done at home with Brandon.
I tried with:
long hand at 12 means "o'clock", while long hand at 6 means "half past". And it seems to work. But 5 minutes of teaching/learning only. After that his attention moves on to other things, e.g. fixing a puzzle.
Anyhow, it seems to work this time. Maybe he's grown better with recognising digits. I could even show it off to his dad on Friday evening.

Bryan's been on the bigger side in terms of growth. Though he arrived 4 weeks earlier than EDD, he weighed 2775g. So I was glad that he wasn't full term. Otherwise I would have problems giving birth to him. He's about 104 cm now and weighs almost 17 kg... Maybe this is the reason why he's made a poor eater, lest he'll be a giant in no time.
I didn't see that coming, he was only 76 cm when he was one and about 11 kg.
Kristin, on the other hand, stands only at 72 cm tall now and weighs only 9+kg. Petite, right?

I've tried the dishes thingy with Bryan. I try not to let him look at what he eats by distracting him. Otherwise, he'll go picking out each ingredient and whine about what he doesn't want. Ever since I introduced solid to my children, they've always inspected what came their way. So the strategy with Kristin now is to let her have whatever we can give her... as long as she eats.

Bryan eats whatever mom and dad eat and Kristin gets her baby food. I don't cook extra porridge for her. Before I came here, I used to cook porridge in Singapore dutifully for Bryan. But now, the solid meals that Kristin gets are out of a jar. I didn't use to believe in jars, but now I'm a convert as jars come as highly recommended by the PDs as FM do. Besides, the Germans have the strictest laws concerning baby produce, plus this is also what other German kids eat. There are laws here that ensure that only organic products are used. So the only reason I should be cooking for Kristin is giving her an even wider variety of food, e.g. eggs, liver, soup. I might be cooking fresh stuffs for her, but I can't guarantee that veg are fertilisers free... So I reckon if the Germans won't die, I think my daughter will turn out fine too.

Yeah... the wooden toys are really attractive, even to the parents, right? I've become collectors of wooden puzzles. It's an expensive hobby to keep. Sometimes, I look around at children's flea market. A good place to find some big treasures for my kids at little prices. ;)

Yap, there's no doubt about learning German much faster here coz one is exposed to the language everywhere all the time. Just that I don't want to tax Bryan too much. But it looks like I can't forbid him any longer. His preschool teacher's been telling me he's good at pronouncing German words. His good buddy speaks more German than English. And now, the two of them get told off in school since only English is allowed. Anyhow, his favourite friend's mommy and I have agreed to make some play dates for the two of them.

I'm kind of embarassed that Bryan does better in pronouncing German than Chinese. Maybe he's just like his dad. That is also the reason why my husband tries all the more to speak to him in Mandarin.

Finally, the crazy weekend is over. No one important, except his boss was in town. My husband will be away for three days this week. The only consolation is I get his car to send Bryan to school. Actually, I quite enjoy the morning walk and bus ride. It's fun as i take the journey when the kids try to sing along with me in the crisp morning breeze! And we can stop to count cars and look at dogs... One thing is for sure, never look at the watch! It's frustrating trying to hurry the kids.

I suppose your husband has to travel around alot too.

Did you have both kids in France?

Why are there so many Singaporeans in Bordeaux? What are they doing? Producing wine?

Hi ky!

It looks like you have a library of teaching resources for preschoolers!

Please share some ideas whenever you have time. Tell us what works and what doesn't.

Since I can't be in Singapore to borrow your materials, this is the only way I can learn more from you. ;)

Also, you're teaching boys! I need all that experience for my son.

And Lena,
tell us about how it is like teaching girls.
I didn't have many chances to teach girls. I usually teach more boys in the Language Centre. So I'm always very thrilled by what Kristin can do... and then I find out, it's just normal for girls.

ANyway, my teaching experience doesn't count since I never dealt with preschoolers.

kristins_mom,

Active teaching? Nope, not me. My original intention was to homeschool my kids. But it's really difficult with Cheryl (she wants a part in everything nowadays) and no helper. So, we just do a lot of reading. Whenever we come across something new, I'll just hightlight it to him. That's how we touch on the subject nouns.

Brandon is about Bryan's height too! But Brandon's heavier at 19.6 kg.

Gtg. I have to get Brandon ready for school now...

Apricot
Voted for Aston, he looks pretty mature, how old is he? U sent an email abt Sun, i lost it, could u resend?

Serenade
Mel is only abt 12.5kg, haha what a feather! Abt the software, best to try it out yourself 1st b4 committing.

Kristin's mom
it is not always fun every day, some days we just do nothing, i leave her to play on her own, she can self entertain well, even read aloud on her own hee hee. Those are the days when i am feeling tired , having PMS or just 'moody', so i can never do homeschooling;)
I once met a lady who told me that girls are very teachable, have better attention span hence learn faster. And i do agree, seeing how fast Mel learnt ABCs and read words. Not to say that she's v intelligent but if kids can sit still and last long enough in a task, they pick up fast. U are in the best position to compare, u have a boy n a girl, but of course, every child is a unique individual with different learning styles.
As Mel grows, i become more concerned if she has self-help skills, whether she can 'survive' school with bullies around and if she will be independent etc. As she is the only child, we dote on her and often i feel we do too many things for her. so we r taking small steps now to let go more for her own good.

Mommies
Do ur kids have an attachment toy that they carry with them all the time? Mel has a few toy cats and a tiny bear, squirrel that she must hold all the time, e.g. nap time, bed time, bath time and even bring them out shopping, visiting grandma! This habit of hers can get very irritating when she drops it in the car or while walking and we have to look for it and give it back to her else we get hell. I am worried because she will bring them to school next year, what if she drops them or someone snatches them away??? Anyone in the same boat as me????

Hi Lena!

Ok... now i'm not worried about K being too small.

Don't worry about the bullies in school. Children learn fast. In fact, don't be surprised when she comes back from school with less desirable behaviours.

I was afraid that B would "suffer" in terms of fighting since he's got to elbow his ways with the ang-mohs. But I was wrong. I received the first incident report (teachers in his school write report, e.g. misbehaviour - incident report, or hurt themselves - accident report etc) when he was three months short to his 3rd b'day. Btw, he was offered a month just before school closed for the summer coz a family moved away.

Apparently, he and another boy were fighting to see who get onto the slide first in the gym. And the boy pushed B with one of his finger in B's mouth. So B did not hesitate to bite him. Well, it's not that I approve of such behaviours, I just learned from this incident that children will react instinctively to protect themselvess.

But now, this boy and B are good buddies! They are still in the same class. I guess this is probably not going to be the only time I hear about fights. Being a boy, he'll probably be making more troubles in school than solving them.

Yeah... girls learn fast, right? A friend's daughter borned in late March 2003 was rattling off her ABCs when she was 15 months. Her mom didn't think she was that fast coz she went through a very quiet, passive learning stage when no one could hear anything coming out of her. And B couldn't do the ABC song until he was two plus. Finally, now he's singing worship songs with my hubby and myself!

Childrens Day Rush: A Mega Carnival with Warehouse Sales by Toys 'R' Us & MPH

Hey kids/parents!

Mark 29 Sep-2 Oct 2006 on your calendar! We are planning a mega carnival-cum-warehouse sales this Children's Day at D'Marquee, Downtown East! The first day -- 29 September -- is just for members: eXplorerkid, DE card, Toys R Us and POSB Everyday Credit Card members only, and it starts from 2 pm!

The event is open to the public from 30 Sep to 2 Oct, from 11 am to 8 pm. Free admission! Call 6589 1668 for more!

Event Information
Date : 29 Sep - 2 Oct 2006

Venue : D' Marquee

Contact No: : 6589 1668/ 1835

hi apricot, voted for your son too since i came in to chat in this forum i must show my support.
wow it takes me awhile to read thru the past posting, was busy with work and two sons and hubby out of town till mid oct. really very tiring. thanks for the recipe , one of these days i try cooking them.