(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Blurblur
Francis 90081997(hp) 62803383 (office)
It took abt 2 weeks b4 the catalogue came to me.

Know of any family friendly outdoor restaurant that serves yummy food?

Serenade
How are u volunteering ur hub? Hm... he must be some professional... heard if parents have special skills, the child more likely to secure a place

Lena, my hubby used to be in the badminton school team throughout secondary school and JC. So, I was thinking he can coach the kids.

lena, i am not am not sure whether my son school is using the letterland. yap francis took about one and half week to send the catalog to me too.
serenade, yap i agree that parents will be very stressed if the kids are in good school however i guess it is worthwhile if my kids having a better education .

hi, simal here. I hv a Oct'03 son. like to catch up with all of you here. Also wondering if anyone has kid who can tell you "i very sad" when one of parent refused to let the child has his own way?

Hi Simal,

my boy will tell you "i very sad" when he dun get his way. he'll literally showed you the sad face, this 'trick' works very well with grandparents & dad.

Lena,

" ... ... She did volunteer work and didn't get in for her 1st choice, ... ..."

You meant PV not guaranteed? Serious?
Always thot if can get PV for the choice school, will somehow be guaranteed a place.

Only for this dragon yr or it might happen any yr?

aa
Yep, my friend volunteered for 40 hrs helping out in prog rehearsals etc and was placed way behind in the queue. school: chongfu pri. All her hardwork went down the drain. As mentioned earlier, ano friend was within 1 km from sch and also did vol work but was told to join balloting, sch: St nicholas.
So i don;t think there's a 'guarantee' for PV but better chance for clan/church, old boy/old gal phase. Again, very much depends on how popular the sch is i suppose.

Serenade
badminton coach? great asset to school!

Simal
my dd hasn;t touched on 'i v sad' but she will sometimes say 'i had fun at ... ' Think it's good that kids express their feelings so we can probe further and find out what makes them happy or sad and hence help them to reason better.

Hi, happen to come across this thread.

I have 2 girls, born in 2003 and 2004.

Hope to exchange more info with all the mummies here.

Just came across this thread

My older girl is born in 2003, my younger boy in 2004.

I am staying at Jurong West, any mommies staying in that area too ? I know aa stays there.

aa,
Nice to see you here (wave wave)

You also worrying about primary school already ? Me too. Jurong West Primary School, which is closest to my house, has about 150 vacancies, but about 300 balloting ! I am thinking of volunteering too, but I wonder if the schools even have enough jobs to go around.

Simal,
My girl will say 'i'm very sad' whenever she had no one to play with and not due to wanting her own way. She will cry too...Just have to explain that kids need to rest etc...Hasn't been saying for now.

FIY. Niece attending sch at Elias Park Primary, and has no exams for P1 and P2. That's an plus point.

I was told that you have to live in the current place for at least a year (something like that) before you are eligible for that 1 or 2km distance from sch of our choice. Is that true?

tamarind,
hi there! thou pple keep saying that 2003 has got the least babies, still worried not able to get into a nearby school.

the one nearest to me (West Grove) or my mom (Rulang) all got ballot within 1km, so looking for alternatives.

initially thot PV is quite safe. after reading lena's post, maybe got to look for other 'means'.

How's your girl coping in her new school? Better than JP?

Lena, any idea if I'll have better chance if I were to volunteer my hubby's skills? Btw, Pei Hwa is in Bt Timah. Why did your friend in Woodlands choose Pei Hwa? Quite far, isn't it?

Simal, my ds never uses "I'm very sad" to get his way. He knows it doesn't work. But he'll make such comments when reading/watching sad stories or shows.

aa,
I heard Rulang is the top choice in Jurong. Think I will try either Rulang or Jurong West. Even though volunteering is not 100% guarantee, will try also. If we don't get into first choice, then see how lor. There is still Boon Lay Garden Primary school, every year also got lots of vacancies :p

My girl has been in the new playgroup for 2 months. She is very happy there. The teacher is definitely better than JP.

Can you recommend a good PD ? Both my boy and girl have been coughing on-off for about 1 month plus. I don't trust Agnes Tay in JP. They have been seeing a GP Dr Low in Jurong East.

Sarah, your dd is so cute. She actually feels down when there's nobody to play with. When my ds runs out of things to mess up, he will tell me "Mommy, I'm very bored."

Just curious, why do you think no exam is a plus point? Maybe I'm an exam freak, hehe... but if the kids are exposed to exams only at Pri 3, wouldn't they have problems in handling exams and stress?

I'm staying next to Elias Park Pri and hve no intentions of sending dd there, not unless they change the P by her time. The current P is too lax! So unlike the 1st P that the school had.

tamarind,
PD good or not, think very subjective. stopped going to Agnes after 2 tries.

My boy normally goes to
~ DR Lau @ JW Ave 1, or
~ DR Tan @ Mt Alvenia (nite clinic @ Holland Rd on Monday)

Compared to DR Tan, DR Lau a bit ex but he's good at treating cough/phlegm/flu problem.
DR Tan very far plus very long wait, had been seeing him for his asthma prob and checkup.

If u want, will PM u their contacts.

Regarding primary school, personally think Boon Lay Garden or Corporation not a very good choice. Jurong Primary used to be quite a hot favourite among Jurong parents, but no longer attractive after merging with Boon Lay Primary.
For Rulang, they only consider PV application when your kid is in K1. Some schools actually close the application 2 yrs before. Difficult decision.

aa,
Thanks for your info. Can you PM me the contacts for both Dr Lau and Dr Tan ? Dr Tan is it Dr Terence Tan ? I have brought my boy to see him once only, because too far away. I didn't know he has clinic at Holland Road.

I guess Boon Lay Garden must have some problems, otherwise they would not have so many vacancies.

Serenade
She chose pei hwa cos' she couldn;t get into chongfu in woodlands. Now she is looking for a new place to relocate in toh yi or bukit panjang which is nearer to pei hwa. V stressful period for her. Sacrificed a lot all for her ds.

Mommies
Do u have any restaurants to recommend? Thinking of where to have dinner for dd's birthday. Having 3 celebrations, so got to source for 3 places, big headache.

Serenade,
Haha..I'm not sure about the cute part. There are times when out of the blue, she will tell you no one wants to play with her...she's very lonely. Gosh, it just breaks my heart, and we ended hugging each other and cry. Since then, been telling myself to work harder for 2nd one so that when hubby and I are 'gone', she has someone to cry with. Cynical right?

Well, I never like exams. I was always stressed then, and so don't wish dd to be like me. Then again, I like the competition part. Without it, no improvement. Very contradicting hor?

Like most mommies, I too believe in laying good foundation, and going to a good sch helps.

Alison,
Yep, I think the sch remove the exams last yr. Do not think they going to change again unless parents complain.

Lena,
Looking for kids' friendly restaurants? Or any preference in type of cuisine?

How about korean barbecue - Ju Shin Jung at West Coast Rd (opp Haw Par Villa). They have a nice little play area for kids...parents can then have a good time. Rooms are avail.

Lena, I can only remember some old restaurants that I frequent before having kids. Jurong Hilltop Restaurant is not bad if u like jap food. (no service charge). They have the normal jap menu and tepanyaki too. After dinner, can also take a walk on the "deck". Cooling and nice view.

Sarah, my advice is treasure the time you have with your gal now. When my dd came along, I felt guilty for not spending enough time with my ds. Is your dd attending any classes yet? Perhaps, with more activities, she will feel less lonely...

Parents' Workshop
Topic : Raising a Reader at Home
Date : 23 September 2006 (SAT)
Time: 2.00pm to 3.30pm
Venue: Showroom
Group Size: 20 (Do register early as seats are limited!)
For parents with children aged between 3 to 6 years old.

Overview:

This sharing session discusses the stages of literacy development of a child from 3 to 6 years old and how parents can be actively involved in cultivating interest and love for reading in a home setting.

This workshop will focus on:

1. Developmental phases for reading (3 to 6 yrs)
2. How to use a reading programme at home
3. Time for group discussion and sharing

Fee:
$10/person for card members.
Card members can invite a non-member at $10/person (subject to availability).

Click here to find out how to register
Customer service: 63452 324
Showroom: 155 Kaki Bukit Ave 1, #02-00, Shun Li Industrial Park (S) 416012

Hi any mommies here put ur child in childcare centre (full day) and do the school allow and prepare milk for them (like b4 nap time or when the child as for milk). Thks

BREAKING NEWS Pluto has been demoted! As you may have heard, Pluto is no longer considered a planet in our solar system.

hi channel,
my son attends childcare since 27mth (Aug 2005).
the childcare that he goes, prepares milk for him b4 nap time. The teacher told me that they allows milk for Toddlers and Nursery 1 only. From N2 starts, no milk allows.

Channel,

My girl is in cc for full day. Her teacher will prepare milk for her b4 nap time too.

Karen, which cc is your child in? I didnt know that no milk from N2 onwards. Hmm...my gril will be going N2 next year. Will have to check with the teacher liao.

My son CC dnt allow milk for Nursery except for Toddlers, but will do it for my son a period of time only b'cos he's new and also to train him take solid food.

He been there for almost a mth and can c he 's doin fine at his new sch. Till now i still prepare milk powder and bottle in his bag and his teacher prepare milk for him b4 his nap.
Last week teacher told me he almost vomit while drinkin half way his milk, teacher said he just had 2 bowl of fried-rice. I was shock he must very full than.
Should i stop prepare milk for him to sch? SHould i said he eats well in sch and not to worry he hungry and go to sleep. But at home no milk he cant sleep.

my son CC still allows N1 to have milk.
Why dont u just put the bottle with powder in his bag, and inform the teacher to give him only when he ask?
another thing, why the teacher allowed them to have 2 bowls of rice? my son CC will limit them, as they scared that the kids will over stuffed themselves.

Karen, maybe the teacher see him dn't take breakfast in school so allow him to eat more. I dnt how big the bowl and how much rice was given per serving but was told had 2 bowls of rice and a slice of apple.

Hi gen
How old is your kid?
I recently brought my dd to the farm area in lim chu kang. Went to hay dairies goat farm and qian hu fish farm, u can get details from the websites.
It was good fun but go in the morning to beat the heat. Better if u could drive there, otherwise there;s the Kranji Express shuttle bus.

Alison
"When the child is 'normalised', she should b able to do her work (aft the tr has showed her how to use it) on her own. The control of error is by the materials"
Could u elaborate on the above? What's your take on class size? My dd will be attending sch next yr with a class of 24 kids, not an ideal size for learning but my main purpose is for her to get used to a big group for easier transition to P1 class which is huge. Appreciate your view on this.

Hi, just brought my sons to the horse stable in pasir ris green quite near the interchange, poney ride for the kid is $5 and can buy to feed the poney. my sons enjoyed it very much.

Lena,

R u refering to a montessori school for tt class size? What is the child:tr ratio. For our children's age, the ratio should be 1:12 (mcys approval). I think for younger children, a small ratio will be nice. However when they move up to N2 and up, a bigger class will b gd... given the fact that the tr must hv gd classrm mgmt.

All the montessori materials are made in such a way that if there is any errors, the child will notice the error via the materials. The tr will not say 'No xxx that is wrong! Please do it again.' Of course the tr will hv to chk at the end of the activity if all has been done and she'll make a mental note to repeat the activity or not.

Any one know details of vegetable farm which I can go? Not the Farmart, but a real vegetable farm where can buy fresh grown vegies?

Alison
My dd will be attending a church school with 24 kids, 2 T. Could u elaborate on the advantages of a big class size?

aa
I know of bollywood organic veg farm at lim chu kang, they sell organic veg n fruit, not many variety though and expensive. But the bistro serves reasonably priced good food, open for lunch. u can check website for more info.

emily
Did u check out the playground at the park, heard it's big?

Lena,

Hmmm... I'll b concern how a tr can teach 12 children in a group setting, since she is going to a church school. Many times the teaching style will b abstract and some children dun learn well w this style.

The adv of a big class size will be more applicable for a montessori school.

montessori size is not so big as they do individual some personal attention. usually about 1 to 5-7 in montessori.
lena, the playground was quite a distant away though in the same park, m sons are very occupied with the horses and poney already.

Hi Gen

Check out the papers for events that you can do with the kids .. there's a lion dance competition in Ngee Ann City in papers but it's not today ... or you can bring them to the park, library, swimming, zoo and before you know it, the week is gone.

Lena

A concern I have over a bigger class size is kids falling sick. That was the reason why I've chosen not to put my son in a church school. Also, due to the bigger class size, you can't expect the teacher to know your kid very well ... though it's 24 : 2, I feel it's sometimes 24 : 1 and the other may take a break or doing preparation work. However I've heard neighbours telling me how well their kids do in a church school.

I've wanted to send my son to a montessori school, as I'm not quite successful in implementing that at home with him. However, having viewed those nearby, I do not think it was well conducted for me to put him in it. Some people do not like Montessori method of teaching actually ... it really depends on what you believe and want. Hope I didn't offend anyone with my opionions.

.ky.

Thanks ladies for your input

ky's concerns are very real, kids falling sick easily when the group is big and not enough teacher's attention. the reason for the church school is more of a practical one,the fees are v affordable plus i thought it would be good for her to get used to big grps, pri schools are big anyway. As i would still be coaching her, so i m nt too concerned abt the academic part. Abt montessori, heard that kids struggle when they do pri sch, dunno how true though. N it's nt easy getting a gd montessori sch as they are franchisees and have different standards. unless, one is lucky enough to live near a reputable one.
Although i hv a place at the church sch, m still toying with the idea of goin to a smaller kinder with a small grp size. sigh...... but i also tell myself that it;s not the size but the competency of the teachers, experienced teachers can handle big grps. there are also factors like travelling time, peak hr traffic etc. any other opinions?

Hi Lena

I did look at church schools bcos yes, they are very affordable. There are 2 near my place and from the feedback of those who have done their homework, I was told to chose Church B which was further away (ie schoolbus). Church A had some issues with teachers being too fierce and chinese not that good...

However, the morning slot is full and left with mid-day slot (no lunch) and afternoon slot (nap skipping) is a concern. Hence, I did not put my son in one. School buses are the big bus, not min vans, so another area for you to consider.

When are you going to start your girl on school? Someone suggested putting in a smaller group when kid is smaller and then at 5 yrs old, switch to church. But I think changing school is quite drastic for a kid. My son has been in the new school for a month and till now, he still refers to the old school and new school, and I know he's been adjusting well but I have yet to hear him mention any good friend in the new school.

Yes, I go for the teachers too ... do run around the schools that you are interested and interview the teachers and watch actual sessions ... that's how I decide on my current choice.

.ky.

ky
Ur son seems to adapt well to new env. my dd has seperation anxiety, duno how to help her. i can imagine the 'trauma' she will go through during the 1st weeks. she is 'verbally' ready for sch but when the moment comes to say bye bye, it's very different.She is due for Nursery next yr. How old is ur boy?
Yep, i agree w u abt the changing sch part, better to stick to 1 throughout. Did my rounds, like the church sch, just not too sure if dd will be a lost sheep in a big grp, think they are more regimental too. Wonder how kids make friends, when will they have a gd friend that they stick with?
Do u see ur kid learn things fr sch? i mean, academically? how sort of changes do u see in ur son? I have this belief that they learn faster n better at home. on the other hand, when it comes to social skills, self help skills, how to share, how to 'survive' in a grp etc... think the sch will do a better job??

Hi ky,

Thx for the suguestion. I've just started a part time job. I don't think I've much time now.

September Promotion!

Sunshine Phonics Complete Set
Card Members enjoy 30% plus further 10% discount*.
Add-on Lettergetter with *purchase with purchase at only S$99!

Buy Sunshine Nature Library at 10% plus further *35% discount. (min. S$100 purchase in a single receipt)

*Terms & Conditions apply.

there's a free workshop "understand the developmental stages of a child and how a parent can be actively involved" by MMI. 9 Sep (this coming Sat) 10am-12pm @ Orchard Towers #24-10. 6235 4600 ... I've registered. anyone else keen?

.ky.

Lena ... my son's born in Feb. He didn't have separation anxiety untill very recently. The daddy has to bring him to a window, have the teacher take him, then the daddy has to wave bye-bye outside the window. Before that, he was crying badly each morning. It's a routine that works well and the daddy is not complaining of the trouble.

I find that my son learns more in school than at home. In fact, teachers tell me kids are better behaved in schools ... he does learn more and in the current school, he can tell me what he does each day. He can't say as much in the old school. Give your girl time to fit in; pre-empt her by getting the uniform with her and telling her what to expect when she go to school. My neighbour's child who is an introvert fits in an 2-hr playgroup very well, much to my surprise. He loves going to school and has grown more sociable. I think the school is doing him well.

.ky.

ky
Pity i can't attend the workshop, will be working.
Let us know how it went.

Hey, u give me an idea that maybe i should get my hub to send her instead while i wait in the car. But she's also very attached to daddy...
I bought storybooks about goin to sch, and pretend play classroom scenario etc. She tells me she is ready but really she is not. The problem with her is that if she doesn't like a person's face, she won;t want to interact with him/her. So praying hard that she will like how her teachers look. haha
Your son is doing N1 now? My dd is sep baby.