(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

LEARNING ARC MONTESSORI SCHOOLHOUSE 22 KEW DRIVE, SINGAPORE 467960 64418708
i heard from a friend this is good too

hi all..

i cant attend the seminar cos dd has classes on sun..sob..

talking abt monte...mummies here how u find monte teaching style? do you thk the children wil be able to fit into mainstream later? i'm looking at shekinah montessori at sengkang cos its realli near...any mummies has children there and care to share?

mtia..

Hi Emily, thanks for the info. Your ds's school sounds good but S$700 a month for half day is rather ex for me. How do you find the speech and drama course at Lorna Whiston? I'm intending to enrol ds in JG's Edudrama programme.

Does anybody know how much JG is charging for half day nursery? Is it abt S$800 for a term?

hi serenade, i think it is more expensive than 800 dollar per term if i am not wrong as i had enquired before it is about one thousand two per term i think. speech and drama i heard it is very good from my colleagues ,intend to enrol my son in sept provided they got vacancy and it is about two hundred plus per month or term ( cannot remember ) for lorna whliston.

Emily, is it? Think I'll check with them again. Heard the waiting list for Edudrama is quite long. So, I'll be registering early too...

Hi gals, I just started on the thread on defining babies' "firsts" at http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/36738/476630.html?1154355849 . Can help me out? Thks!

Serenade
Can share more on Edudrama? Prog structure and fees. Is it conducted over weekends?

Mommies
I recently enrolled my dd at My Gym playgroup, first half hour of gym time followed by songs, storytelling or puppet show and craft work. They have great equipments. 1.5hr for only $30. Once, twice or thrice a week. She's only doing once a week as the gym is far from where i am, those living near woodlands should check it out. there's another branch at marine parade.

Serenade, a Japanese fren enrolled her son at Julia Gabriel (Evans Rd). Some playgroup, I think. Good diction, and speaks well.

Also, I was told then that Chiltern House (JG's affiliate) running the nursery, kindergarten programme and not JG itself. Been to the one at Crescent Rd.

Lena, how similar or different is My Gym from Gymboree? I know the latter does not have storytelling, and crafts work a different program.

Btw, any mommies know of gymnastics program for kids?

Lena, here's an abstract on EduDrama:

" there wouldn't be an overlap as EduDrama is a teaching methodology as opposed to a curriculum. In essence, this means that you could theoretically teach any 'curriculum' in the EduDrama way. For example, the curriculum topic could be on learning about positional words under the theme of 'our natural environment' - the teacher could use elements of the EduDrama approach to make these concepts come alive - through an interactive drama on journeying into the jungle, followed by a traveller's journal to build the skills of written expression. There are five key elements of the approach - Teacher, Interaction, Motivation, Environment and Drama. EduDrama is realy about the 'big picture' of learning and education - developing the self-leadership skills of every individual; as opposed to the transmission of specific knowledge (that just happens as the 'substrate')That is why it is not 'what we teach' that differentiates us per se but rather 'how we teach' and 'who we are' that makes the difference."

What do you think of it? Will let you know the cost once I check it up with JG.

Thanks Sarah. Yup, Chiltern House (part of JG) is the one running the preschools. JG provides enrichment classes such as speech and drama, playgroups etc.

Does anybody know abt the montessori school located at railway mall?

DS is attending the EduDrama @ JG now, he enjoyed it very much and always looked forward for weekend.

The one he attended is 1 hour class; am considering to change to 90 mins class next term, which will include craft work (if did not remember wrongly).

As compared to the previous one @ Playworkz, would prefer JG's programme. For GUG, never try due to long waiting list.

Sarah,
I'm looking for gymnastic programmes for DS too. So far, recommended to me is LittleGym @ Forum. Ever went to MyGYM @ woodlands for DS's execursion, somehow feel very messy (dunno whether izit due to school outings). Important thing is DS do not enjoy at all and keep wanting to go home

ya, 1 more thning, if my boy though at 3 but hardly speaks in sentences, can he join the EduDrama class ? is it a playgroup or juz a enrichment program ?

do you hv the website or contact details ?

Blurblur,

You can refer to the web or call for more info:
www.juliagabriel.com
6733 4322 (Forum) or 6737 5348 (Evans Road)

Yeah, GUG @ United Sq.
Did you try? Heard good and bad comments abt GUG, but din try due to long waitlist and distance.

The EduDrama is enrichment programme, if you're looking for Playgroup, its Chiltern House.

http://www.juliagabriel.com/chiltern.htm

Initially wanted to send DS to Chiltern House, but got to be on waiting list and after considering the costs, sent him to a church playgroup instead.

Hi aa,

Ya, tried about a sem 6 months ago but my boy doesn't like it. no training in motor skills, i.e. no gym activities.

more academic based like story telling, music and craft work but coz student to teacher ratio quite high, e.g. the class that Shawn attended is 2 teachers to abt 10 students (i tink, canot really rem but at least got 8), then my boy's attention span very short but teacher juz couldn't care. let him running abt.

and if your girl cried in the class, they will ask u to bring her out oso......

Sarah
My Gym does the regular gym and also playgroup which incorporates other stuff like craftwrok and storytelling. My dd is doing the playgrp. I like the open concept design whereby everything is in full view to put parents at ease. Esp good for us cos dd has seperation anxiety.

Serenade
Railway mall? Do u mean 'rivervale' mall???? Woman, u are really out of touch, guess we ladies will give u a 'mall' orientation when u return keke Hey the edudrama sounds different, but again the sceptical me will think that it's some marketing gimmick, anyway, have to try to beleive it.
Abt letterland, i bought the ABC letterland bk and some activity books. your adventure bk sounds fun. Actually my main purpose is to 'warm' her up when teachers do letterland next year in her school. Her fav character is clever cat and she doesn;t like yellow yoyo man haha.
Do u have problem with your ds in terms of pencil control skills?? My dd is reluctant to hold the pencil the correct way, and i didn't insist. just wondering how to assess readiness. she;s uses what they all the palmer's grasp.

serenade
the montessori school at railway mall is an enrichment centre ... by MMI.

Lena
there's a railway mall, at upper bukit timah road. I hear letterland stuff are expensive. is it? my son's cc is using letterland; seems widely used. palmer's grasp as in using the whole palm to hold the pencil? perhaps you can hold her hand and write with her?

anyway, i didn't go for the homeschooling talk last week.

.ky.

aa,
Glad that your ds enjoys the classes.

Lena,
I don't mind a "mall orientation"
Frankly speaking, I seldom visit other malls except for West Mall (near Bt Batok MRT). Same same, I'm also rather sceptical when it comes to enrichment classes. But my main objective is to expose the kids to different learning modes and hope they enjoy themselves. I think you did it right by getting the Letterland books. It helps to reinforce what your dd is learning in school. The jungle book is rather fun as there are various activities that can be done, i.e find the letters, talk abt what they are doing etc. As for pencil control, I did show him the right way to hold the pencil. But it took him some time to learn to hold the pencil properly. I didn't really try to guide him by holding his hand and write cos we have different hand preferences. Like you, we believe that when he's ready, he'll learn how to do it properly. But ky's suggestion is worth trying. I recalled that, at times, my ds would request me to hold his hand and write/colour.

All along, I thought the gym classes are for babies & toddlers. Any idea if there's any age limit?

ky,
Oh, so the school at railway mall is an enrichment centre. I thought it offers preschool classes too. Are you staying in the West too? Any good preschools to recommend?

hi Lena, can i ask where you got the letterland writting book. trying to get it in popular sale in expo , but could not find it there.

Oh my goodness, i m the one who needs the mall orientation! this is really embarrassing (hide, hide), ky, thanks for letting me know. So sorry Serenade!

About the pencil control skills, i attempted to guide her but she was very reluctant to let me, so i didn;t pursue. Just wondering if it would be more difficult to correct at a later stage or it is more a question of readiness? (She is coming to 3 in sep).

The gym that my dd attends accepts kids up tp Pri level i think.

Emily
I got letterland from the headoffice, you can ask for a catalogue, [email protected]

Ky
Depends on what you buy, the CDs and readers are pretty expensive but the activity books are reasonable. They have a Home series for parents.

Yes, emily. Collection of products is at headoffice, but if u purchase above $200, delivery to home is free.

Would u be keen for aloe vera products for yourself and your lil ones? Check out this thread:

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/450761/478473.html?1155020571

I like the aloe vera gel which helps to soothe mozzie bites and rashes, mild enough for both adults and kids. It's amazing! The aloe vera juice is also pretty popular and i recently bought the aloe lip gloss which i am quite pleased with.;)

Lena, my ds started out grasping the pencil too. Tried showing him the right way, but he just couldn't do it. In the end, I write and color together with him. Surprisingly, he started to imitate and write using the right way. Now, he can write 1-10 and some letters. But he has problems with the numbers 5 & 8. He always writes 5 laterally inverted; and for 8, he just draws two circles.
Does your dd enjoy coloring or writing? My ds seems to dislike both. He will tell me he's tired or his hand hurts after writing for a while (< 10 letters). Wonder what I can do to encourage him.

It's so quiet this week. Wonder what the mommies are doing?

Hi Serenada, my boy is turning 3 this sept and i have taught him phonics in varies way before he turns 1 and now he is able to read books by his own. Writing is also not a problem to him.But the biggest problem is that he is not interested in colouring at all and his childcare teacher said that he is not able to do any colouring/ cutting at all.Any mummies can help to solve my problem?

hi ... just wanna find out if your 3-yr old talks to him/herself when playing? I observe mine does that when he's playing by himself. In a class, he likes to talk to the teachers more too... wonder if the talking is normal.

.ky.

Hello mummies, how was your national day holiday? My family had fun at Hay dairies goat farm and the fish farm. My dd went crazy feeding the goats with hay, we had a hard time getting her out of the barn! But but, we fell sick 2 days after, i believe it;s the goats virus cos my dd kissed one of them haha!

Serenade n Elmo, my dd likes reading (she can read aloud to herself and self entertain with books, heehee), pasting stickers and painting with fingers, not quite keen on writing and colouring, she is not colouring within boundaries yet and will not allow me to guide her to write. So your kids are doing pretty fine already.

ky,my dd is like your son, she talks to herself a lot during pretend play or when she's playing on her own, also likes to act out scenes from her fav vcds. guess our kids are more imaginative/creative?
Anymore mummies with kids who talk to themselves a lot??

Hi Lena, my son is like your son and KY son.He loves to ask lots and lots of question and talk at all time, on mrt /bus/ walking...He loves to talk to himself and role play when he is playing by himself.I think children at this age behave in this way.

Hi Lena, hope your girl is better now. Next time when I bring the kids to the goat farm, I must remind them not to kiss the goats

Is it necessary to get the child to practise writing at this stage? So far, my ds is able to write most of the letters on his own (of course not the very neat type). I feel rather bad forcing him to practise writing when he doesn't enjoy it. As for coloring, haiz... He will color the first area very well, then subsequently he will just add a few strokes and consider it done. Lena, my ds enjoys sponge painting a great deal. Been thinking of trying finger painting, but too lazy, hehe... We tried painting with a brush last week. The picture ends up with blotches of paints everywhere...

My ds talks to himself too. His recent fave is talking on his imaginery mobile phone with an imaginery friend. And funny thing is he will suddenly say his phone is ringing and he must answer it.
Sometimes, I can't help but ask him a few questions about his "friend".

Lena n Elmo, what books do your kids read? I'm searching for some new books for my ds. Any recommendations?

Been very bzz @ work lately and now boss not ard, relax a bit. =p

wow, looks like all your ds can read and i still tot my boy now exactly 3 can read simple one liner page consider fast, you all are even faster...........

anyway, i won't force him since he doesn't even want to talk in "man" language, now still doing his alien talk. he he....

Hi Serenade,

How you force your son practice writing? Wow..he can write letters on his own. My son 39mths aready still dnt knw how to write 1 letter/number.

When ever i try to teach him writin, he will wants me to hold his hand and write together.

Dnt knw isit he'v not confident to write his own or dnt knw to write.

Hi Blurblur_Pooh, your son has already achieved a lot. Before you know it, he will be reading more difficult books. Does your son talk too fast? My son used to talk very fast and sometimes it's not easy to understand him. Think he learnt that from me. But ever since I got him to slow down, his speech is much clearer now.

You can click on the "Emoticons" right at the bottom of the page. A window with the emoticons will open up. Just copy and paste the tag.
At least that's how I do it. Any other methods, mommies?

Hi channel, I always tell my ds he has to finish his "work" or reading before he can watch TV or play. So far, quite effective. Perhaps your son enjoys being close to you, that's why he wants to write together with you.
I was quite surprised that he could write the letters on his own too. We were fooling ard on the white board and he just wrote the letters. I'm getting him to practise writing to improve it. But he doesn't seem to like practising very much...

blurblur, what alien language huh??

Serenade
About books, my dd loves Curious George, it's about a monkey whose curiosity got the better of him and him getting into trouble, fun! we are trying to complete the collection.

shall we share art and craft ideas here? Am running dry, and tired of surfing the net for ideas. I recently bought this do-a-dot art thing which is being used by juila gabriel. bascially the kid just presses out dots and print them on paper, there are activity books avail. to get a better picture, visit www.dotart.com. i like this idea cos' that's no mess and it's a great time filler.

Channel

my son's born in Feb and I don't think he can write yet ... he doesn't like to do the academic stuff and esp tense up even when I try to play
I spy" with him ... I think he knows a few alphabets, but his interest is just not there ...

Lena
I keep going back to do the usual, painting, drawing, sponging, baking, etc. Nothing as fanciful as the one you have, leh.

.ky.

ky
I wrote huge letters on colored A4 paper and paste them on wall (A to Z). by looking at them every day, the child will internalise it. my dd likes playing teacher by gathering her toys in front of her and using a stick to teach them ABC. very funny! Hey, what do u bake? i dun have an oven just a small toaster which burnt my pre-mix the last time, sigh... have u enrolled your ds for school?

Serenade, huh..i think i get one whiteboard too.

Ky, my son's born in May. Dnt u worry his interest is not there? I'm v.worry cos my collegue told me that his son at this age aready knw how to write his name (untidy type)can recognise 1-20/A-Z...now can spell a few words ( i think her son now ar abt 5mths senior)

Hi Serenade , my boy and i go library at least 3 times a week and we spend abt 2-3hrs reading the books.He enjoyed reading at the ibrary while i m reading my books.

Hi channel

I'll be bluffing you if I said I'm not worried. I try not to be worried.... it'll be a lifetime of worry if I start doing that now. That's what I keep telling myself. I feel that physical skills can be picked up along the way as long as a person is willing to learn. If the interest is not there, then there must be something else that the person is good and interested in and that should be then cultivated. I'm more concerned about my son's character, whether he will be a strong person in terms of character or not.... that I feel if not mould properly when young would be more difficult to change when he's older.

My son does know ABC but I can't sit through and ask him to read a book of ABC. I know some kids can point at all 26 alphabets at a go, but not my son. But he does know and I take comfort in knowing that :> ... and there are quite a number of things that he's good at than other kids ... I just try to take it positively lor. you should too.

Lena, I've a microwave cum oven. just simple stuff like muffins, cookies, simple cake, brownie. More for ds to do his mixing and join in the fun with mummy. so chimer stuff like cheesecake have to wait a while... I've recently change ds' school from an academic-based one to a play-based learning ... he's been going to school since 2005 actually. thx for the idea for ABC; I've got sandpaper letters and playcard-sized ABC ... hm, maybe should do bigger prints

.ky.

Hey mommies, your kids doing very well. When you mean 'read', as in recognize and read the word without pictures?

Mine can only recognize alphabets and numbers. Like Ky, child is good in other areas. Telling myself not to worry too...childhood is only that short, blah blah blah...

Hey Serenade, my girl too has imaginery friends. It can be scary cos' it gets so real...Thought I was ready when read about it but doesn't seems like it. Now I just play along.

Agreed, same usual stuffs like painting, coloring, puzzles etc. Bought some 3D art &amp; crafts books on transport, animals, etc and we will do together. Yet to try baking though. My girl likes to put make-up especially when seeing mommy doing it. So we tried once, and also face painting. It was fun.

Hi Lena, you make Curious George sounds so fun. Ok, I'll get the Curious George Collection from Amazon.com.

Elmo, ur son actually gives you time to read? Wow, that's amazing. My kids will probably be making me read to them in the library.

You gals are doing so much crafts with your kids. Looks like I must try harder to be more crafty...

Sarah, I was startled too when he first started with the imaginery friend. Luckily he doesn't have a fixed "friend". Otherwise, I'll be really worried.

Actually I'm also worried abt doing not enough with my kids. But I try to be positive too. Learning is a life long process. So, the impt thing for me is that they enjoy learning and want to learn. However, that's easier said than done, sometimes I do get panic attacks too... my 44 mths old niece is already reciting san zi jing etc while my ds only knows a little chinese. Anyway, try reading this book "The Three R's" by Ruth Beechick. It has good suggestions to make learning fun.

<table border=1><tr><td>1</TD><TD>aa</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Jan 03</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''</TD><TD>17</TD><TD>Emily</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Aug 03</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Mar'05 </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>rammy</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Jan 03</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>18</TD><TD>Ling</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Aug 03</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Aug'05 </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>echo yang</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Feb 03</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>19</TD><TD>Elmo</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Sep 03</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Ky</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Feb 03</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Jan'06</TD><TD></TD><TD>20</TD><TD>JKJt</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Sep 03</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>EDD Dec </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>reyan</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Feb 03</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>21</TD><TD>Kris</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Sep 03</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Oct'05 </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>chua family2003</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Mar 03</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>22</TD><TD>Lena</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Sep 03</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>Happiemom</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Mar 03</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>23</TD><TD>Worry Mum</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Sep 03</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>jas3angels</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Mar 03</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD>24</TD><TD>Alison</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Oct 03</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>May</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Mar 03</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Mar'05</TD><TD></TD><TD>25</TD><TD>gen</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Oct 03</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Sep'05 </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>blessedone</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Apr 03</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>26</TD><TD>JM</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Oct 03</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>EDD July </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>Channel</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>May 03</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>27</TD><TD>pooh</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Oct 03</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>May'06 </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>Karen</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>May 03</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>28</TD><TD>cherylasu</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Nov 03</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>sarah</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>May 03</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>29</TD><TD>Duchess</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Nov 03</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>EDD Sep </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Serenade</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>May 03</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Jun'05</TD><TD></TD><TD>30</TD><TD>Oh Chiann Hwei</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Nov 03</TD><TD></TD><TD>EDD Jan'07 </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>MH</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Jun 03</TD><TD>G</TD><TD>Jan'06</TD><TD></TD><TD>31</TD><TD>Sunflower</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Nov 03</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Dec'05 </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>PoohFanatic</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>Jul 03</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>32</TD><TD>Priscilla</TD><TD>B</TD><TD>34 mths</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Oh! DD loves curious george and i'm thinking if I should get the treasury for her.

Serenade,

Sorry for not replying to ur previous qns... u see I am clueless abt how to use this forum. Everything seems everywhere and not too organised. Maybe its me. :-S

The school that dd is attending has group lessons, other than 1to1 lessons, so they are encouraged to speak up. For the older kids, they have showNtell. And yes, socially she has improved a great deal.

Alison
Maybe you can try bookmarking this thread under Favorites for easier access.
What sch is your dd attending? Sounds interesting.

Elmo
You boy is so disciplined, my gal only reads at home, n it;s havoc time at the library, she will run like crazy and remove books, leave them on table, take some more ..... real terror!!! and i am always worried that i would lose sight of her, real stressful haha

Serenade, i got curious george for about $7 per book, hope u won't pay too much at Amazon. Hey
why do u usu hang out in France? Heard the cafes are cool, are places kids-friendly?

hi alison,
which MMI. which location.
Lena, i got the catalog for letterland, wow so many products dun know what to buy lei.

I am sherlyn, sahm to ds1 born apr03 and dd2 oct04. Not much friends since I dont go out often for gatherings. Too tough to handle 2 kids alone as mine are super notti kids.

My kids are not home school, not attending any schools either, so after briefly scan through some of the threads, really worried that my kids are super far back from others, since they are only interested in play, play and still play.

Nice meeting you all here. Thanks Gen for starting this thread.

Alison, I was just as clueless initially. One other way is to enable the "Replies to my posts" under Additional E-mail Notification Settings. Once enabled, you will be notify of replies through your email. Just curious, how much time does the teacher devote for 1 to 1 teaching? Class size &amp; teacher-student ratio? Your dd's school sounds interesting for kids.

Lena, talked abt losing sight, haiz, do you know that I actually lost my boy in Paris before? Though it was like 10 minutes, it was the most terrible nightmare for me. Till now, I still shiver at the thought of it.

Haha, I can't drive, so we stay at home during the weekdays. During the weekends, it's hard to catch us at home. It's summer now, so we can stay out longer and do more activities like going to the beach. In France, most of the cafe are al fresco and the seats face the street. We seldom hang out at the cafes cos some of the french smokes a lot. It's not surprising to see parents smoking in front of their kids, even babies. Most of the french are very friendly pple. They are very smiley and will greet you with "Bonjour" even they don't know it. Very unlike Singapore. But France is very expensive, the same thing here costs twice the amt in Singapore.

Does your girl use the special type of pencil, the triangular type? This triangular feature helps the kid grip the pencil better. You can find it in Popular Bookstore.

As for curious george, the one that I gonna get is more expensive. It averages out to approx S$10 per story. But the treasury book that Alison mentioned is much cheaper, only US$8.46 for 7 stories. I may get both since both you highly recommend it. Did any of you get the DVD too?