(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

hello gals
wedding was great! mel was flower gal, and thank God, everything went well.
Sis in law was stunning! love all her gowns!
side effect of wedding, mel nows wears a yellow rubberband ard her thumb and insists she's married to the pageboy (her cousin).
i didnt know i will be mom in law so young haha

Hi serena n jan
Life today, a feature on tokyo.
jan, catching sakura in april?

hi chloe
must invite us to your cosy place, ok!

I am back in Singapore but now nursing a bad flu and totally lost my voice.

We have decided to put Kai into Calvary Pandan Kindergarten since our first choice Jurong Calvary Kindergarten does not have any vacancy.

Hi all mums with kid/s borned in 2003 (ah.. i always state that as the SARS year!) and always think that we have been thro' the most in that yr! Anyway, does any 1 know of any dance school/s in s'pore that conducts dance classes(any type) for children of our kids' age?

Hi Chloe,

Crayola is definitely cheaper buy fr US. as for coach is ard 30% lesser if you compared wif SGP retail price. Buy from US if you serious in getting one. Not forgetting those superb mark down sales @ marts if you happen to be around. Gap/OK Tees for kids @ US$1.99 to US$4.99. How's tat? Tempting rite? Got these info thru my sis and she brought back a lot of stuff for her kids.

Pris!!!!! Welcome back!! Not used to the weather heh? Where are you putting up now? Jurong?

Hey mummies, I'm thinking of going Tokyo in April to catch the cherry blossoms. But I have a problem. I wouldn't know where to go during CNY. Any ideas?? I'm running short of time. Would appreciate if I can get some feedback on places suitable for a short trip. Moshi suggested I go Japan during CNY and then back to Japan in April. Hmm...don't think I'm keen because that means I went Japan in Dec, then Feb and then April again!! Cannot take it. You know what I mean?

Btw, I signed up Starhub broadband renewal contract for 2 years and I get 10% off the rate, a Canon digital camera and photo printer!! How cool!! Now I've got myself a free camera. 7pixel retail price $339. Not sure if it's good though.

So sad, Serena, why didn't you subsribe from Singtel ? My sis is in broadband dept. NO lah, no discounts from her but I felt wasted lor.

Hi moshi, congrats for becoming a mil! heehee. She must have reasoned that she walked down the aisle with him so....

Thanks, will check out the life feature if got today st. Not really sakura but more like catch another day in nihon since hubby gives me only 3 working days, hope to make use of the labour day holiday. Serena, hate your can't take too many tokyo trips!!

hey, apricot, if it's any comfort, we also just renewed our singtel broadband ... nothing much was given coz decided to only renew 1 yr coz price might drop next yr, and didn't wanna commit.

hi, pris, welcome back! r u back in your old place? think i got a neighbour's dd who's in the Calvary Pandan Kindergarten .. not sure which session she's at now. but she's quite tall for a 4-going-5 yr old kid

.ky.

Smart gal! Hope that I'll get something nice when renewing contract. Got nothing except for discounted rate when we signed up more than a year ago. Missed the free xbox then. Some people just get all the luck....too many tokyo trips lah, freebies as needed lah!

hi pris,
take care, & welcome back home!

hi moo,
waaaa...i'm going to bring a big suitcase for my loot.

hi serena,
my colleague told me there's still air tic to bbk or vietnam. the former may be a better bet since the shops are still open during cny. go eat & shop.

hi apricot,
if your sis is a ST staff, she can help you subscribe to staff rate if i'm not wrong.

just heard a sad news ... hubby's received sms that a fren's 18 mth old just passed away this morning ... apparently caused by peanut. Don't know the father nor the kid, but feel sad by the news ...

.ky.

Ky, that's really sad. Actually my uncle passed away last week. Very sudden too. Anyway don't wish to dwell on it too much.

Chloe, Vietnam not very good hygiene there right? I'm bringing my girl so I kind of worry. Bangkok, very bored. Maybe I would just go Sentosa.

Apricot, it's okay because I'm using everything from Starhub including my residential line, cable vision, mobile, broadband.. it serves my needs.

Jan, I'm a cheap skate! That's why I went for the freebies. Anyway, thought post it here so that you gals can enjoy the promotion incase anyone of you wants to renew or change service provider?? Btw, you've got so many days leave, wouldn't it be best to clear some in April instead of just 3 days. Tell you hubby "life is short, enjoy while it last. You have a life time working your butt off but so little time to enjoy" Hmm.. you know what I mean?

Pris, may I have your mobile?? pleaseeeeeee....

Ky, that's very sad to hear. In fact, one close friend of mine, his brother passed away with brain cancer two weekends ago. It's all contributed by neglience of prolong headaches & he only rely on panadol and one day he collapse and passed away after 40days. A word of caution - do not do not neglient headaches. If it happens too regularly, seek doc advice quickly.

Hi Pris,
Welcome home! For good?

Hey Serena,
So how much are you paying per month for Starhub broadband? Hm, they should give you a good rate for being so loyal.

How long are you planning to be away during CNY? One week? Just Msia alone, there are so many places you can go, Langkawi, KK, Sarawak, Penang etc. If not, Perth. 1week is sufficient.

Vietnam not that bad la, just avoid roadside stalls.

Hi Pris,
Welcome back!

Hi Serena,
Interested in snorkeling? My hubby told me of a place in Australia which is great for snorkeling and seafood.

hi hi ... anyone heard of Amosco? I'm ordering some eclairs and mini-rolls arriving at my place on 30 Jan (next Wed). Must collect from me by that night at my place. If anyone's keen, pls pm me privately. I only left with 9 packs of eclairs (ordering is in terms of 12).

tx!

.ky.

oh amosco, much hype abt it in BP forum, havent tried them though, let us know if they are good.

all u japan-going mommies, always remember it's moshi's dream to migrate there, so if u see any freebies like subway map, brochures, have me in mind hor TIA!

serena dear
how sort of hol are u looking for? to be still able to soak in the CNY festivities or a getaway from the hustle bustle?
i read abt christmas island in australia which i find interesting. an ulu australia though, u can find out more.
or melbourne? good for a 5-7 days stay.
can throw in a farm stay too.
sentosa;s exhorbitant, spend your money better overseas la.

Hi pris!
welcome home! hope u get back your voice soon.
how did u decide on kai's sch? staying put for a year at least?

are u gals on supplements? i think i need calcium pills, i am way below the recommended intake of 800-1000mg. no milk, lactose intolerant.
Dunno what brand to get.

Sarah, I'm paying $106per month after discount. You?

Anyway thanks mommies for the suggestion will discuss with hubby.

Moshi, now I know why Mel don't take that much milk. It runs in the family.

Hi Pris!

It must be good to be home again, isn't it?
Is Kai settling well into Sg kindergarten's routine? Bet it isn't challenging enough for him since Kai already reads, writes and does Maths.
Btw, was it difficult to find a kindy for him? When did you have to start the enrolment procedure? Did you enrol him online while you were still overseas?

Hi Helen!
Happy Shopping in SF!
Yep, OK is really cheap. (Dh and I spent USD 100 ++ on kids' stuffs, and on the receipt the savings was like USD 200++, yay, with things from USD 21 to just 3.99!) And GAP too, so cheap that everything was wiped off the shelves after Christmas.
Btw, good thinking about the moving and renting apt strategy. Definitely more practical than PV.
Do you know the minimal period you need to stay there to be considered close to the school? OR does that mean as soon as I change my address in Jun 09, I can make it in time for P1 registration next year? Just exploring alternatives. Though we're near to both ACS, we still don't fall within the 2 km zone.

Hi Sarah!
Yes, my parents are still here... enjoying myself... getting lazy now with all the cooking done by my mom...

Right now I'm into tudou.com and catching all the CSI streaming online.

Hi Serenade!
You must have been busy right, Teacher? Have been reading your blog. It must be fulfilling teaching B and C. And yes, I do agree with Serena, determination cannot be taught, developed, yes. And your kids are really determined and motivated to learn. Guess all these are good genes from Mommy and Daddy! I think my children are more motivated to play. Perserverance is unfortunately not a trait in them.

Hi Sher!
You happy baking these days for CNY?

Hi Meilan!
Congrats on the arrival of JY! Hope you are reliving all the moments of holding newborn in your arms right now.
Enjoy!

Hi Serena!
Why not Perth? It's a great idea!
Hee... Turkey??? But might be a bit too far.

Hi moshi2!
You are one pretty and young MIL! COngrats! So good to have someone taking care of Mel for you, isn't it?

Hi K's mom,

Not into CNY baking cos dh's grandpa pass away last aug and so not suppose to celebrate CNY.
Been baking just cupcakes/muffins cos easier for the kids to bring to school. Alot of "to do" list in baking and beading, but smtimes no mood to do.
Next week will be busy cleaning up the hse a little ..

wow, so nice to be able to catch your fav series. I hv lots of downloaded drama in PC no time to watch yet.

Hi Serena,

I also think its a waste of money to go sentosa unless you want less hassle, else head msia .. go clubmed? or just beaches in cherating ? but monsoon not sure over liao or not ..

hi k's mom,
finished unpacking already?? :p

i was told there's no min timeframe. they look at the father's addy at the time of registration, but rules can change anytime. u want to put B in acs, then K in another sch? then u'll have to go thru' 2 registration cycles!

i didnt know OK is from states, it looks like a jap brand to me.

hi serena,
think quite hard to get tickets at this last min, why dont you ask the agencies which are the destinations available & you choose from there?

Hi Chloe,

one big suitcase not enough if u buying for family of 4 pax. haha.. ;) U can chk out levis mark down stuff too.. Happy shopping & help to boost up US economy..

Hello Mummies
Long time never come here, wow! so many posts already. I just came back from HK. Brought my ger to disneyland and it was quite empty. We managed to take most of the rides, took photos with the characters and watched the mickey's shows. Cla was so happy when the "snow white" talked to her.
The weather was cold better then last time it was hot and crowded. I will be going to Japan during the CNY week unable to join for the open house.

Hi Serena
I think u may consider going Melbourne. I been there few year back. The Chinatown @ Little Bourke St during CNY was very lively, u will enjoy watching them putting the firecrackers... so loud,drums,singing,food,singing,music and lion dance & other performances etc. While walking some "Ang Mo" also wish us "Gung Hay Fat Choy"
It was so fun but my ger still prefer going to disneyland & Sanrio so we will consider next time when she is older.

Hi star, good to hear from you! Remembered your gal dressed up as a princess, she must be thrilled to meet another princess.

Hi worrymum, HK disney is making losses due to falling visitors.

Hi moshi, the amoscos mini eclairs are yummy! Those were the ones I brought for gathering at worrymum's place. I wanted to order this round but the pickup timings in the west are not convenient.

Hi ky, you've got pm!

Hi Serena, what broadband speed are you having? $100+ should be very fast, yah? why do u need that super-speed?

Hi Worry_mum ... u wanna order swiss roll for CNY??? *tempt tempt tempt* ... pls lah, I want leh. *greedy*

Jan, where can u pickup at west? anyway, I've called in 2 days ago and they'll deliver on 30 Jan, anything later is full liao; they've no more freezer space

.ky.

Hi ky, late pm anywhere near Bt Batok (ya, I know that's asking too much!) or clementi also can. I've sent you pm. Let me know!
worrymum, if you want order, I collect for you if can agree on collection with ky. I just tax one swissroll lah! deal?

hihi.. Thanks. KY and Jan,

Ok! Deal! But what flavour r u gals looking at? Me also looking at the Hazelnut flavour cream puff (profiteroles).

KY, u only looking at eclairs?

Jan,
KY in CCK.

Hi Worrry mum
I went on 2nd week of Jan08. But still some china kids cut Q. They just squeeze by my side and walk right up to the entrance.

Hi Jan
Yes, even when she reached hotel she still talking about the princess hold her hand, and asked me why princess didn't carry her. I think the croweded month will be the HK and China Golden week holidays so tried to avoid those dates (CNY,Labour day,National Day).But the things there are not cheap u can find cheaper disney stuff at "Sham Shi Po".

Thanks all for welcoming me back. We are still not sure whether we will be heading off between April to September Period depending on where we go or to stay put till a later day.

Kai will be starting K1 in February since now I am too busy helping my mum spring-clean, baking goodies for CNY and also homeschooling him.

K's mum, I looked up Kindergarten while I was in Vancouver but our first choice has no vacancy. Will probably keep calling if they do have vacancy, I will transfer him from Calvary Pandan Kindergarten to Jurong Calvary Kindergarten. There is a registration fee of $30 non-returnable for his Kindergarten, they go by per term, unifrom, insurance and then schoolbus. I am not sure whether I want to send and fetch him so I could go and swimming in a public pool across the road from his school or for him to take schoolbus.

Serena, I pm you my hp through facebook. I am putting up at my mum's place in JW, my place is still rented out as we

Anyone know of any good electrician? Need to get then to re-do the wire connection to my mum's oven and stove as the contractor connect both the applicanes on one plug and can get overheating easily.

Anyone keen for Hill Street Fire Station Visit this Saturday for a family of 3 - 2 adults and a child at 10am??

I will be there with Kai as one of the families could not attend due to some serious family matter at home. The first to respond will go. Let me know so that I can let my friend know that replacement has been found.

Serena, going to Japan again in April for sakura?

We loved the Sakura, Kyoto gave quite a bite of Sakura trees to BC and we have seen the Sakura in the park near where we stay. We used to picnic under the sakura trees during the spring picnic. They are lovely. I see whether I can still find the photos on my laptop.

Ky, hmm... because my hubby sometimes works from home and he needs to have efficient & fast info to reply his client so that his client can decide swiftly to buy or to sell. Also, he wants to monitor his shares. That's also one of the reason why we are not going away this CNY because he lost 80K on shares. We quarrel over this and it makes me so mad. Can you imagine hard cash 80K gone just like that!!?? He says he got no more mood to go anywhere. "jia jia you ben nan nian de jin" don't know if you can understand this chinese saying.

Star, haven't from you for awhile. All the girls just love disney princesses, don't they?

I just bought a hanbok for my girl for CNY. What about you mummies?

Pris, I have it. Isn't it a little risky to post your hp in facebook? I thought you gals told me that everyone can see our messages??

Hi Helen!

Thanks for info.
Unpacked, yes. But busy with Me time now that my parents are here. Also busy going to the gym and sauna to work off stiff neck and shoulders.

Yep, OK is a must, Gap too. And then try TommyKids, Carter's and Nautica Kids. Forget Polo Ralph coz they don't really slash prices. Unless you don't mind paying a lot for kids' clothes.
I'm not so sure about Levi's these days... coz the trend is superduper low waist cut which is something that doesn't fit my body shape. Don't forget to drop by Skechers and Hush Puppies. Love shoes from those places and for your kids, you gotta go to StrideRite! It's the best!
Hope you can still catch the last bit of winter sales. Oh my, now I wish I was living in the US!

Also don't forget to get DVDs for your gals. E.g. PBS productions like SuperWhy and Word World. They are excellent in encouraging literacy. Errmmm, go for Lincoln logs for toys and look out for huge train sets... oops, you gals like trains? Maybe not. I saw this huge set with table and all and it costs only USD 99!Table can be converted into a writing/angled drawing desk.

Now I'm hoping there's posting for my dh in the States in future! Yay, keep dreaming... keep dreaming, me!

Hi Pris!
Being home doesn't sound too bad either...
Glad that you and your family are settling well. Hee, think the mommies here can't wait to bake together with you. Hmm, maybe you should organise some baking classes for the kids! ;)

Hi Sher!
Aren't you glad that Pris is now back in Sg?
Hee, that's why i don't download I just catch the online streaming. And lucky for me, when it's night time for me, no one in Asia is up blocking the online traffic. So viewing is quite enjoyable. But I think I'm beginning to sense my dh's exasperation in my TV craze.

Hi star!
Haven't seen you here for long time. Must be nice shopping in HK. Guess in future I can only get retail therapy there when I'm back in Sg for good.

Hi Serena,

Ya understand the "jia jia you ben nan nian de jing". Lost in shares .. US$ ? well sama sama lah, my dh also lost quite a bit, i not sure how much, but enough for him to stop trading for a few nights cos he says he has no fund. I cant be bothered since its his money and he handles finances himself all along so he shd noe how to handle the situation. Anyway he told me there is an opening in nokia that he is considering .. hahaha

What is a hanbok ?

Wow K's mom, you made me yearn so much for US too ... haven been there before and with kids and the long flight hours, i think i can only be there in far future. Maybe i shd also hope for dh posting to US hahaha

i sure glad Pris is back ... but she is busy and i am busy now I guess it will be sometime before I can do anythg with her.

download i can keep leh .. and i can watch when i hv the time in near future? hehehe

hi Serena & Sherlyn

If it is just paper lost, the men's are ok. When the market picks up, there will be a diamond ring on top of it.