(2003) Calling all 2003 babies

Hi sherlyn, hey bt batok is really convenient for ME to learn hor!
Oh we are on different frequency - I didn't think of learning from kid's teacher becoz thought it suffices with our sitting in. Was talking about separate real lessons for adult. So it's impossible for me unless it's during the kids' lessons time, which for now still require parents sit in. If there are lessons at yamaha cl during the 1 to 5pm "break" will be good for you to consider.

hi worry mum,
try clementi yamaha lah, chloe's starting class there tomorrow

i called lot 1 before, they told me they dont offer jmc. you might be waiting for nothing....

chloe,
thanks, check before, but timing not suitable though.. and lazy HB do not want to travel far. haiz.

BTW, my B PCF, going to introduce Enhanced Program on science, phonics and chinese immediately, additional $60 per mth, phew!! total course fees will be $140+ per mth. Rather siong leh.. Though not compulsory, a bit too late to do anything now, and they r using lesson time to incorporate all these programs.

How about chloe's one?

sherlyn ... dont understand. if u sit in with ur boy during music, u'll also learn at the same time. u mean u wanna learn faster? I tried learning before in group lesson when I was in early 20s.... but never remember much coz i never practise. i do see some parents learn while the kids learn too. n what B's learning is more than what I've learnt before liao

.ky.

Hi Ladies, mind if I join in? My daughter is 5 this year (2003 babe) and I am looking for a good kindergarten in Choa Chu Kang Area. She is currently in Learning Vision @Biopolis. Can someone help me with some suggestion? Many thanks.

hi worry mum,
c's principal has been rotated to head clementi branch (hey sherlyn, that's where your kids are at right?), not sure what are the changes that will take place.

if it's not compulsory for B's PCF & yet incorporated into the lesson time, then how do they distinguish between paying vs nonpaying students?

hi tricia,
welcome! there are a few cck mothers here who can advise

hi serenade/ky,
just read your blogs, realised we all went bottle tree park recently

i like the place, but i feel kinda sad for the longkang fish.

Hi Triciaw ... welcome!

A few of us are staying around the CCK area. I'm at Yew Tee area and my son's in The Learning Ladder across from 10-mile junction. I've combed the area in late 2006 before deciding on the school; it's not his first. So far, I'm quite happy with it though there are ups and downs. It really depends on what you are looking for in terms of kindergarten. The first one that comes to my mind is Gracefields. The second one is the church kindergarten behind Palm Gardens. If u don't mind travelling to Bkt Panjang and Hillview and considering half-day childcare, u will get more choices. btw, why withdrawing from LV at Biopolis? I hear LV at workplaces are pretty good.

Chloe ... yes, seems like a few of us just went there. Guess nothing much to do in singapore. I didn't quite like that place though. found it's too commercially done; perhaps we were there at the wrong time. don't worry too much abt the longkang fish; first timers are like that... got excited with the catch. I saw a teenaged girl had easily 30-40 in her tank that day and she excitedly told her father abt it. btw, there's a sign that reads "for 2-12 yr olds only and adults not allowed" but I see adults (mummy) going around and noone cares... wonder what's the point of signage when the owner does not enforce it.

.ky.

Triciaw, welcome!

Hi ky, chloe,
Bottle Tree Park - a nice place indeed. How are your fish surviving? We are left with only a few survivors
. Is there a signage that says adults not allowed? Didn't see that. hehe, we were all in the pond...

Chloe, if you don't mind the distance, can check out St James. They still have some vaccancies for K1.

Hi ky,
thanks for the advice.
the LV she is attending is at Boune Vista. My hudband used to send her but he has since changed jobb and it is out of his way. My helper ferries her up and down...and hangs around the area until her school is done. Also, I do not see a need to place her in a childcare for half day, since she is already in K1. I heard of Learning ladder....care to share what kind of ups/downs? Was even contemplating Bukit Panjang Methodist Kinder..... heard anything abt it? I stay near Yew Tee too! How old are your kid(s)?
tricia

hi Chloe,
So, for paying ones, their play-time will be lesser, and instead of normal curriculum, their programme will be more challenging... and non-paying ones will have normal curriculum.

Did u gals go to the bottletree at khatib?

hi worrymom
how abt the manpower? how are teachers deployed?or is the enhanced prog outsourced.?

mel's sch has this ednoland computer prog which i opted out, i was told that those not doing the prog will remain in class to catch up with work not done or do other assigned work.

$140 per month is quite steep for PCF prog but if u are paying for something value adding and still enjoy the convenience of walking to sch, why not?

hi tricia
welcome! we have many mommies here residing in the west, u're at the right place for advice. good luck with ur sch search;)

more on longkang fishing, the hubby told me that there's a pond near kranji reservoir which allows fishing too. been there?

Hi moshi2,

The PCF teachers will undergo training and start to teach them. Yes u r right, is the Ednoland programme! Have opted in for it, as today the due date to decide..

Hi Worry_Mum, I feel it depends if you think B needs it or not ... u may not feel it now, but who knows. But PCF programme is only 3 hrs right? Was it used to be 2 hrs? I really feel that Singapore is a very stressful place for kids to grow up. A fren just send her yet-to-be-6-yr girl to Pri 1 preparation program in Jan. Mixed thoughts are going in my mind each time I hear parents talk abt enrichment programmes ... and I feel it's really how the parents are opting to bring up their kids.

Moshi/Serenade, we didn't catch any fishes at bottletree, yes, the one at khatib. I do not know if I'm right but longkang fish strive well in longkang but not in a kept environment, and if it's just for the moment of seeing joy in a child's face, and thereafter we help to manage the survival, I don't wish to cultivate that. maybe I'll allow the kids to catch the fish but we'll release all back when done. pond near Kranji Reservoir? just a few yrs ago, there was a freak accident of a mum who drowned with a kid when they slipped into the reservoir ... huh, so no, I scared to catch fishes there... in fact, I see people walking into the water (the sea side) when the tides low, but I'll not have the courage to do it.

Tricia, if you are not keen on 1/2 day cc, then Learning Ladder is not for u. It's a cc, but easily 90% of the kids are on 1/2 day. Ups and downs, like the usual school/cc, there are some things that you are happy with and some that u r not. I'm happy with his teachers and classmates, so I'm basically fine with his school. Bukit Panjang Methodist Kinder ... yes, a mum recently mention this, and she says it's good. I've got 2 boys, going-2 and going-5, and is a SAHM. Urself?

.ky.

Hi KY,
Current K1 is 4 hrs program, from 8am to 12pm.
As I did not let him attend any enrichment program, think is worth it. I have the same feeling as you, Singapore is a very stressful place! All these enrichment programmes, make me panic. haiz. Furthermore, as we do not have any CDA accounts, everything is hard CASH.. phew!!

I have been reading silently and so glad to be able to grab some time at work and at home to read. Kinda of miss the times where I post things.
Well, last Friday, we went to sign up as parents volunteer in Mee Toh school.....yah very KS...scared A cannot get in Phase 2C...

I read Chloe's blog on bottle tree park & intend to bring my trios to enjoy outdoors this sat or next

hi apricot
good to hear fr u. PV? More important to enjoy the work cos' there's no guarantee of a place. my friend clocked in 42 hours and still didnt get a place due to overwhelming no. of applicants. This is the not-so-pleasant side to PVing ;) if u do get a place as a PV, take it as an opportunity to know the sch and the system better;)

hi ky
ya, fish really poor things, that's why we always put them back after the fun is over.

on p1 preparatory classes, i relieved a teacher twice. 2hrs lessons, 1 hr eng, 1 hr math, they do crap worksheets photocopied from assessment books. some math questions were too challenging. require multiple steps and knowledge of odd n even numbers. and these kids are essentially K2 kids and most without firm foundation in addition.
but i must say they are coping ok cos; they can copy down the steps n answers v quickly from the board. and me the poor teacher left home feeling worried that her own daughter can;t cope with copying things from the board (mel doesnt print letters well and have HUGE handwriting)

Hi moshi, those who pv at nanyang pr put in more than 80 hrs which is their min and still need balloting. Yah, pv is good chance to know the school and culture but it's tough to find the time for FTWM to take leave.

Hi Apricot, is Mee Toh a buddhist school? if there's affliation with some buddhist society, members will be in phase 2B same as pv.

Hi chloe, did c enjoy the music lesson? I'm still hoping for weekend classes as no chance at clementi this term. Was estatic that there were 2 vacancies in a Sunday class in plaza sing branch for continuing term 2 but as the timeslot clashes with schedule, had to give them up relunctantly. So lucky But...sigh..

Hi worrymum, the jmc takes in new students up to 5.5 yrs old so you have to consider that if still waitlisting at Lot 1 for Ben. Wow, our 'babies' are in K1 already! Time flies.

Hi Moshi,

Vier has the same HUGE handwriting as Mel. I have yet to start him on his chinese name characters..

Not feeling well today.. sore throat.. and now having slight running nose... Feels like flu is on me...

And my boss says... "Staffs are not supposed to report sick on mondays as they should have ample rest on weekends"...

Mommies agree?

hi jan,
yeah chloe enjoys the music class. but she's a v.active child who can't sit still & listen for long, it helps that the teacher get them to go to the front of the classroom & sing, then go back to their seats again.

your children are in term 2 already right? are they still enjoying it?

hi serenade,
i'm surprised st james's still have vacacies(prob afternoon session?). it's super popular. kinda far for me though...

re bottletree, i thought there was also a signage that says not more than 5 fishes per tank? i look around and there were people with a tank full of fishes. anyway, the man who packed the fishes for us put in another 4 (he must be amused that we only caught 5), but all died within a day. yeah we told ourselves we wont bring them back the next time.

hi apricot, may be better to go bottletree in the evening, less hot.

hi ky, where else is less commercialised?

hi moo,
actually most of the time, i feel more tired on mondays cos play/entertain the kiddos too much during the weekends ha ha.

Hi Jan,
Yeap, Mee Toh is a buddist school and they have abt 2-3 temples affiliated to it. These members fall under 2B same as PV. In the last two yrs, Mee Toh has balloting in 2C but not 2B so we'd better try for 2B. My house is within 1km but I never know if I am lucky or unlucky if I am in 2C ballot so better try 2B to save more tears if failed in 2C.

Hi Apricot,
Think my sister is also going to PV for Mee Toh. She has 2002 girl.

Hi Chloe,
Yup, I'm also surprised that there are still vaccancies for the morning session in St James.

re bottle tree park
Guess I must keep an eye for signages next time. Didn't see anything except the ones that state charges for prawn and longkang fishing. ky, I have no idea that longkang fish won't thrive under kept conditions. But if that's the case, isn't it cruel to let people go home with the fishes? Furthermore, we were given a fish tank and fish food. Btw, are guppies considered longkang fish too? We heard some kids telling each other to catch guppies only. Anyway, doubt we'll bring the fishes home in future. The kids have no interest in the fish after the first day.

Hi moo87,
I supposed your boss is still single, right? Perhaps, that explains why he/she can have ample rest on weekends

hi Serenade, hm, guppies, I think so. Well, we are in singapore and like typical kiasu, the parents would probably want to get their money's worth, so catch more the better, and to shop owners, they prob don't care much abt except that they get biz.

Moshi, maybe the pond near kranji reservoir is qianhu? they too have longkang fish catching and it's (I think) $5/hr ... much more difficult to catch. we only caught one or two and the staff poured in easily more than 10 fishes for us the other time, and ya, they were all dead in a few days... actually I'm rather keen to go to Pulai Ubin and Chek Jawa one of these days, after the recent visit to Changi boardwalk. Anyone keen? maybe we should do a group visit? I'll probably do something abt that after CNY.

Oh, Moshi, did u do the heritage walk yet? I've not ...

.ky.

Ya Jan, am thinking abt yamaha lesson for adults during that "break" too but (sorry, trying not to sound stingy) I hv to consider the cost since dh is not working currently.

WorryMum, my boy's class, also hv bukit batok or CCK (cant really remember) student .. so maybe u shd really consider trying out other branches ... but I can understand how it is to hv a lazy HB ..

Ya ky, I want to learn faster. In JA class, its currently starting on left hand playing. For eg, I want to be able to play using two hands now but I don't know what finger to use for other notes other then the C D E F G. I think i need to learn some basics (like learning how to read the notes and symbols etc) , then i can practice myself to "master" the fingering.

Worry mum .. $140 per month ? My boy's aredi $100 a month leh, but he does hv computer lessons, but I don't really know what they learn (i asked before and forgot)

I think i hv heard Ednoland before. I think it is the only one company that all PCF uses in teaching computer.

My dh x-colleague's wife started a childcare and on the opening day some time back, i talked to a lady who is incharge of selling computer programs to her school. I did ask her what the kids learn in computer at this young age. Her reply is that one of the activity will be teaching the kids to produce greeting cards, where they learn the concept of opening a file, saving their work etc. Not sure what else thou, but i feel a little redundant but I dont remember having the choice of opting out since it is included in this centre's classes.

Chloe, I did not see any new members in my kids' school. Anyway the clementi head branch is at blk 330, ave 2, while mine is 462A, ave 3. So the principle might be station there.

btw, my gal in N2 this year did not hv mother tougue. The principal told me today that it is MOE's guidlines that mother tongue is not included in nursery.

Welcome Tricia. I did not source around for good school cos my concern is distance, so my kids went to the nearest PCF centre.

Moshi, dun worry. My boy also has huge handwritings and he rather play then do any worksheets. He loves school, so I think he must hv lots of fun and play in school. Luckily I don't do homeschool else I'll die trying to coach him.

Moo, take care. When I feel that flu/cold is coming, i pop 2 panadol cold and usually it doesnt happen. Plus I drink packets of "xia sang ju" (found in medical hall). These drinks work well for me in keeping flu/cold coming.

Your boss so cute. He or she must be the one having ample rest. Don't pp know that working mothers still work during weekends.

Ky, I hv read that J's Ryan went to a walk in sentosa in one of her entries. I am keen in that, and when i enquire, they told me they are too busy to hold the walk again. If they ever contact me again, i will post here.

I am also interested in bringing my kids to try out these walks. Changi broadwalk, i hv been there, but only walking along on the stilt bridge. Is there anythg special ? We din feel anythg special so din go back there.

Hi chloe, yep they enjoy the lessons though don't practise much at home. Just do the homework and watch dvd. I also don't impose on them, just let them enjoy the class. That's the trick to capture their interest, each lesson they use varying ways of learning instead of just read notes and play keyboard.

Hi Sherlyn, if there are adult classes at yamaha cl, maybe better for you than going to JA teacher's.

ky
no heritage walk, plan shelved.
chek jawa would be interesting;)

hi moo
tell your boss that employees are entitled to rest on any day that he/she is not well, mondays included. human rights, helloooooooo

wondering when kids will 'downsize' their handwriting. does practice make perfect or the downsizing will come naturally? mommies with older kids care to comment? jan? jpooh?

nature walks:
lower peirce reservoir trail is kid-friendly, only 20 min , walk to the end for some roti prata breakfast at casuarina road;)

mel did her first chinesespeech n drama class yesterday, 1 hour after curriculum time. teacher is ex-actress, chen bi feng.

sher,
i also feel the computer prog unnecessary, kids can learn to email, use the mouse, etc at home. and even if they are not 'tech savvy' they will catch up quickly, the computer, besides TV, is one thing kids rarely say No to.

Hi moo, that's a lousy boss to say that (sorry!). Do virus and bacteria check calendar? Rest well and take care.

Sherlyn, me too! The xia sang ju is a staple in office which I drink a sachet daily or at least once every 2 days to keep 'cool'.

Apparently another regional mgr says this to him and he finds it so right that he feels it should be highlighted to every1. Ironically, both men are married and have children, wives are SAHMs.

Dont get me wrong SAHMs. They are blessed with SAHMS wives.

I dont find it right personally.

Hi Sherlyn

Just practise on the keyboard more often. I see a mother practise while the kids go to the front of the class, but do switch off the vol. It's quite a disturbance no matter how soft the vol is. btw, B's starting on 2-finger playing on the left (ie, DO and SO together) and it's to get ready for G-Major. He's also playing some of the older songs with his right hand in a different set of position. So, it's still around the same area that the kids are learning. But I think Yamaha's JMC proceeds faster than the CC.... Serenade, what's B learning now?

moo87, I presume your manager is a MCP who delegates everything to the lovely SAHM who just adores him. He sound like my lovely brother and I'm steering clear of him (and his opinion) ... one ear in, one ear out lah. u can't fight them and no point fighting them.

abt handwriting and journal, do u think it's too much to ask the kid to do that each day?

.ky.

Hi moshi, can't comment as the korkor has very good control of the pen since young and never went through big writing. His writing has always put mine to shame..heheh! On the contrary, the meimei's writing is illegible till now, but showing slight improvement for numbers. I used to let her practise by drawing dots for her to follow but still a mess. Now I use writing paper with lines and write for her to follow as example to keep between the lines. Got this idea from the manuscript book which is used to write music notes.

ky, I do practice when my kids are not using the keyboard at home, but besides the first five notes, I do not know what finger to use for other notes after "SO". So even if i can play Twinkle twinkle little star with both hands but my fingering should be all wrong. I want to know what finger play La, Ti, Doh. Maybe I shd google. I just googled not too long ago then i roughly understand what is C major. Din know got G major. hehe, those are the things i want to learn .. maybe that come under music theory.

Just wanna check with dear mummies here, do you buy activity books for your kids to work on? I used to print stuff from web (that was like a year ago!) but now i see some of the activity books cost $5 in avg .. sounds like a cheaper and less messy option then printing out from my printer (my printer ink v expensive).

hi Sherlyn ... u learning for your own or to teach kids? B has not learn beyond the 5 fingers(DO to SO) and now learning the same positioning from SO to RE... sorry, I mean C Major. teacher's focusing on getting the kids to listen for C Major and G Major too

Activity books ... oh yes, I don't print anymore coz ya, books are cheaper than ink, and easier to manage. I used to use cheap ink and printer got clogged up. I buy quite a lot which came from china. these are more for right-brain exercises

.ky.

Hi Serenade,
PV for 2003 babies start this year and 2002 babies shld be last year. Better check with your sis has she started already else it's too late to start now. Registration for 2002 babies is this July.

Hi Apricot,
Thanks. Will let my sis know. Actually I heard from my mom that she's thinking of PV. But she's really busy, always going for overseas trip. Will let you know if she's already PVing.

Hi ky,
Does Ben's school use the JMC Primary textbook and workbook? If it does, then progress should be there about. Hmm, not sure if it's considered playing with 2 hands, but Brandon's class has started playing 2 short music pieces with left hand last term. His teacher touched briefly on double notes on the last lesson of the term. In JMC Primary 2 this term, they will be playing the Repertoire pieces with both hands in C major and G major. The accompaniment style becomes more versatile guradually, from a single note, to double notes, and then to chords.

Hi moshimoshi,
Observation tells me that kids who play electronic/computer games tend to have better fine motor skills, i.e better handwriting. In a way, I feel those games really build up fine motor skills as the games often require quick and precise moves. This, in turn, requires quick reflex of the fingers. I once saw a boy, who was very good at those handheld games, writing very well before he turned 6. He was already writing complicated chinese characters on fine lines. I doubt I can write as well as him.

Hi sheryln,
I seldom print stuff from Internet. Those pages that I printed were often left undone cos the kids were not interested or we were too busy. If you are intending to get books from Popular, it's best to wait for their 20% promotions. Otherwise, you can get the Popular Card from me. Almost everything are entitled to 10% discounts except for textbooks, magazines and a few other items. Another alternative is to shop Popular online. If I'm not wrong, all the assessment books are 10% off the retail prices if you purchased them online.

Hi Jpooh,
Thanks for your advice on cycling. Either the weather wasn't good or we were too lazy last month. He's been bugging me to bring him down to cycle. Looks like I better start getting my camera ready. It must be exciting to see your gal cycling without the training wheels. Looking forward to seeing my B cycling without the training wheels soon

Hi ky
not a SAHM, working full time. Am considering going part time....

Hi all, manage to find some time - visited Wharton Jnr Academy / Apple Tree Kindergarten / Gracefield / Bukit Panjang Methodist. Was going to check out Kinderland Kindergarten @Sunshine Place - but read some comments in the forum....and decided to give it a miss. Am thinking of narrowing down to either Wharton Jnr - which is a cc or Apple Tree.
Actually, I am very concern for my daughter when it comes to Mandarin.
Any idea how I create interest in her? The problem is : both my hb and myself hardly speak Mandarin. In fact, our mandarin is kinda bad. Is there somewhere with good and interesting chinese program?
What is the age group of the moms here and the kids?