(2002) Any 2002 babies?

nice to meet u all here...I am a mother of 3 boys
born jun02, july04 and jan07 :D

Just like to find out if any of u have any concern on your kid's speech? My eldest son cannot pronouce some letters, and a few of my concerned relative keep urging me to send him to a speech therapy...i dun noe how...

hi hippo

i have sent him when he was in nursery...but no much improvement leh...
is there any phonic class to recommend?

He is a left handed, dun noe if that's the reason y his speech is not as clear...:<

Amy

I have a gal Aug 2002 and boy Jan 06. So cool to have 3 kids. I cannot imagine.

Have you check with PD ? Does PD raise any concertn ?

Amy,
I have 2 boys, Aug 02 and Nov 06.
3 boys must be a handful.
I can't imagine trying for a third kid and then have a boy.

hello hippo,

i have sent him to a phonic class organised by the CC when he was 4..but no visible improvement leh...any good recommendations?

BTW, he is a left-handed, so dun noe if thats the reason causing the delay in his speech :<

Hi ladies...

Anyone join the alumni in the school? Wanted to put my ds in Tao Nan School and join alumni and is the chances of getting in will be higher cos if so, I'm going to move to marine parade and worry that if I shifted and my ds can't get in.

Btw, what you mummies think of Tao Nan School?

TIA!!

Amy,
Think you shld consult a speech therapy, but I remembered my PD says normally boys are rather slow in their speech compare to girls. Don't think is because your ds is left handed that causes his speech. But I believed when he grows older, his speech will gradually improve!

hi chicken little and Fz,

3 boys may have sounded a handful...but thank GOD they are quite obedient....

Chicken Little,

Can i check wif the PD? he has already completed his DA which ends at 4 years old...i can bring him again for assessment huh?

Annlee

Are you a old gal of the school ? if yes, still need to join alumni ?

Tao nan is a good school. Many of my frens in Dunman High are from Tao nan previously.

Amy

Should be able to consult a PD. I check with my dr and let you know if it should raise any concern

chicken little,

yes...I'm a old girl from the school. But Dunman High, hee hee...impossible for me to get in.

About joining alumni,from MOE website stated if I join alumni will fall under phase 2A1 and ex-student under 2A2. So that's why I need to check if no problem of getting in then I'll join and shift to marine parade. And also if no prob of getting in under phase 2A2, I will not join alumni.
Do you think joining alumni is necessary?

Annlee

I am also a old gal of Nanyang. I called up the school leh. She says usually at phase 2A2 we can get it woh. Unless in 2A1 and 2A2 there are so many students which need to ballot which is usually not the case. How much is the alumni ? Any statistics of past years to see the number of seats for each phase ?

Chicken little

Thks in advance yah!

annlee. chicken little
toking abt P1 now huh....me oso headache...initially tinking of sending my boys to st michael, cos my sis-in-law teaching there, but me stay in Sk, so dun noe can use 'string' to go in anot... den now my boy suddenly says he wants to go mixed school...so considering Ai Tong where my hubby is a old boy there....

remember read somewhere in the thread that Ai Tong not so good...y huh?

chicken little,
The alumni fee is $320. How to check the statistics of past years to see the number of seats for each phase??

amy,
Not sure about Ai Tong but remember they're our competitor during my school time hee... I think is a good school...Aitong is one of the top 10 right?

Any of your 2002 kiddo still on night diaper? My ds is coming to 5 soon but still on night diaper.

How to train your kiddo to be diaper free at night?

Dear Juz me

My girl have been off night diaper for a year now. Initial part of training could be quite trying. I stop giving her drink 2 hours before bedtime but if she insist, i will have to make sure i wake her up every hour to empty her bladder.

I put a piece of plastic shield (those we use to lie them when they were babies?) so the mattress wont get wet incase there is an accident.

About 2 weeks after, i extend the "waking to pee" time to every 2 hours and subsequently longer. There were about twice when she accidently pee on the bed. After about 2 months, she could wake up on her own if she needs to pee.

Hope this help.

joyful2

yah, Ailong is a chinese school before, now i dun know..heard they teach higher chinese from P5 onwards..

My boy is oso more english speaking, so i oso hesitating....

annlee

I dun noe if it is the top 10 school...but heard pretty good lor...So tot. since will be classified under 2A2 automatically, den y not lor.... actually i prefer St michael bah...wanted him to be exposed to bible studies....

Juz me,

My eldest son already out of diaper when he is about 2 years old...

din purposely trained...only praised him when i notice that he woke up wif dry diaper when he was about 22mths....monitored for 1 week, and when assured that he can go dry for 1 week, den took of the diaper totally lor...

My 2nd boy is oso out of diaper already when he was 21/2...:D

Amy amd 2galswithlove,
Thanks for your replies.

2galswithlove,
Sorry to ask, will the kid does not have a good sleep if we wake him up every 1 or 2 hours?

my elder girl 5.5 years old can sleep without diaper for her afternoon nap. but night time she can't. she will wet her bed 2 to 3 times a week despites going to toilet just before she went to bed.

I'm too lazy to keep changing her bedsheets and didn't want to interrupt my own sleep to wake her up in the middle of the night.

will they get better at controlling bladder when older?

yeah lor.

I told her it's an 'in case' diaper. so she is not supposed to wet her diaper. but not much use leh, she still wet her diaper

I guess she finds it too troublesome to remove her own diaper in the middle of the night even though she may wakes up & knew she needs to use the toilet

juz me,

i trained my boy to quit his diaper a few months before i was due for my second boy (ie just past his 4yr old birthday). the training is tough at night, especially when you have to wake up a few times and pull a reluctant preschooler out of bed to go to the bathroom.

i also used a plastic sheet to protect the mattress. i also stop all massive liquid intake 1-2 hrs before bedtime and make the boy go toilet before he sleeps.

the kid may get discourage when he/she wets the bed in the morning despite his/her best intentions to control his/her bladder. my boy almost gave up and ask me to let him wear diaper to sleep. the key is to persist and don't blame the kid for wetting the bed. Praise his/she effort when he/she wakes up dry the next morning. In time, he/she can past this stage.

he does wet once in a while now, on occasions when he insist on having his milk close to bedtime and then refuses to wakes up middle of night to empty his bladder (then i will go "I told you so" the next morning when he wets his bed) and when he was on medication (eg too drowsy to control bladder?)

Yesterday, I tried giving him milk - 1 cup at 8pm and he went to the toilet at 9.30pm before he sleeps. This morning, he still wake up with his diaper quite full. I did not scold him but just encourage him to try again today.....

I am still thinking whether should I bring him to toilet before I turn in (usually 11 plus to 12)? On the other hand, thinking disrupt his sleep. will he wake up feeling tired? (My dh will feel tired the next morning if he wakes up in the middle of the night).

I was reading this KK website on bedwetting:

http://www.kkh.com.sg/PatientHealthLibrary/ChildrensHealth/ChildhoodIllnesses/Bedwetting.htm#2

Its said "Most bedwetters seeking treatment in Singapore are :

5 years or older with majority between 7 to 12 years old"..

My son coming to 5, that why recently, try to "train" him to be free from night diaper.

hi all!
my dd has also turned 5 and i have been trying to get her to go to bed without diapers without success. she's still wetting her bed. i guess will just give her more time? too much stress for her and myself will not help i guess. as with other training, they'll all manage when its time. : )

yah, i believe that scolding him will back-fire the whole training process..

i remembered the times when 2nd boy has accidents, so i diligently and gently changed him, and the bedsheets...Sometimes it can happen 3 times a nite leh...but i always conscious about not losing my patience and temper lor...no matter how tired i am...

jus me,
i think if you want to train, you got to give it a try by not letting him wear diapers. if he wets himself, he will know it and will try to control next time. for a start, have to wake them up at night to relief themselves...no choice...maybe can try when he school holidays?

Juz me,

I was the one who did not have good night sleep, not her.

Cos i was the one who had to carry her to her potty. She was on night diaper and very dependent on it so i had no choice but to make it an hour interval to wake her up. Subconciously she will still think she has got diaper on.

so when your kids wet their beds, do you have to wash the mattress itself? or do you just change bedsheet?
i also want to wean my girl off diapers when she sleeps, but she sleeps like a log!

after all the conversation here yesterday, I let my girl went to bed without diaper last night.
woke her up at 12am to carry her to potty just before I slept
she cried for her diaper when I brought her to the bathroom, I guess she still has no confidence

hehe, she didnt' wet her bed last night. I praise her this morning. hopefully she can persist on and be off diaper for good

agreed wif fz...let her wet herself and she will know that its uncomfortable to have a wet sleep, and she be more conscious :D

but of course, before u resort to tat, must do the necessary preparation lah...i normally spread a baby comforter (folded in half)on his bottom after he fall asleep so that in case there's an accident, i dun have to change the whole bedsheet :D

Thanks all for your suggestions.

Yesterday, I gave my son a cup of milk about 7 plus and hardly give him any water after that. And we woke him up at 12am before I turn in...

This morning, diaper - not wet! I praise him and encourage him to try again - not wet his diaper... keeping my fingers and toes crossed tonight...

Thanks Amy for your encouragement!

I am so glad - my son has successfully not wet his diapers for 4 consecutive nights

I am still keeping my fingers and toes crossed - probably no diaper for him tonight...

Hi all Singapore mammies,

My boy was born on 02 and he just get rid of his night diaper recently. He said it feels much comfortable without tie diaper. *_____________*

congrats juz me, your son really is progressing.
even if he does wet himself in some nights, and you have to get up in the middle of the night to change him, refrain from being angry cos kids can detect such negativity very well...it may discourage him.

catherine leung,
ya...when they are off diaper, they will see diapers as being uncomfy and for babies only.

I let my younger girl (2004) tried too. she heard us praising her elder sister so she's motivated to try too

she didn't wear diaper for her afternoon nap the last few days, so far ok, only wet her bed once. she's very proud of her achievements

as to night time, 1st night she wet her bed once.
2nd night, she's dry, woke up once to go toilet herself.

Will persist. hopefully both kids can be off diapers for good

hehe, this forum is great. If not, I think they will still be wearing diapers for a long long time

Hippo: good for you!

Just the other day mentioned he stay dry for 4 consecutive days. For past 2 days, he wet himself...well... got to keep on encouraging him....

fz

my girl's only aim is to complete her kumon worksheets everday. the rest of the time is free & easy, up to her to decide.

she will usually do colouring, reading or play puzzles, kitchen set, lego together with her younger sister.

most of the time, the 2 of them will run around the house playing catching, giggling and laughing all the way, making lots of noise, haha!

Hi all, I just joined today. My 5 yrs old son is still wearing diapers at nite. When he wakes up, he will ask 'did I wet my pampers?'. Hate to disappoint him but he will be dry for 4-5 nites, then he will wet. sigh...

hippo2002,
ya. i almost forgot your girls is on kumon. for my boy, as his lesson is on friday and over the weekends, i make it a point that he must complete his homework latest by Monday. He hates colouring and doesn't likes to read (probably cos he is still not so good and hence find it a hassle to try to blend the words - he prefers me to read so that he can enjoy the storyline).

my boy is into constructing 'cities' using his carpark, carwash set, train set, and other loose items that he will pretend to be lamppost and such, i think cos no one to play with him most of the time.

when i am busy, i will ask him watch some tv, mainly his fav programme or play some computer games or do some assessment books.

if i am free, we play some board games.

it is good to have a playmate - my younger son is still too young to play with him.

hi Jan (icechoc),
welcome. your boy keeping dry for 4-5 nites is already quite good for starters.

juzme...

perservere...and like what fz says 'refrain from being angry cos kids can detect such negativity very well...it may discourage him. '

It may be tiring to wake up in the middle of the night to change e bedsheet, and his wet smelly clothes, but if we displayed negative attitude in our speech or our action, he will withdraw....

fz,

my boys love lego.and anyting to do wif construction, cars...

They love drawing, my eldest sone is facinated with car logo...he can recognised almost all the different car on the road by their logo... and of course, not forgetting their Power Ranger figurines..

They love to play wif their baby brother too (5mths old) my both elder son like to imitate my mum in goon-ing the little one...so cute!

fz

wat do u mean that "he doesn't likes to read (probably cos he is still not so good and hence find it a hassle to try to blend the words - he prefers me to read so that he can enjoy the storyline)."

Is there certain sounds that he can't pronouce...My boy has problem pronoucing words start with 'C','K' like the sound of car will become 'tar'...

is there any fun way to help him learn the sound of 'c'?

Amy,
ya...boys will be boys...cars and constructions.
but my boy is not into power rangers etc cos no one to 'fight' with him...heehee

my boy is obsessed with traffic signs and rules...no parking, no waiting, when my hubby driving, he will also check his speed meter and the sign on the road what is the speed limit etc...my In-Laws even bought a book on basic theory for him for reference. lol.

my elder boy is still learning how to blend the sounds, so reading a sentence is really slow...it becomes reading word by word and he can't comprehend the whole sentence until he read it again 2-3x (eg he know drink is 'd-r-ink' but he have to read out loud 2-3 times before he realise it means drink). so he prefers me to read and he see the words.

Thanks Amy and fz for your encouragement. Yesterday, I told him if you need to pee, pls wake up and go toilet. He said, he does not know how to..

Anyway, I will persist - constantly encourage him not to pee in his nite diaper and waking him up to pee before we sleep...