(2002) Any 2002 babies?

Cookiepie: I have yet to see the workload. My son's school remedial will start on 4th week of Term 1. They will send the letter to those selected students for remedial classes by wk 3.

My gal's school has no supplemental class at all. The principal says it is not the school policy to overload the kids so they will only have remedial classes for weaker students. I'm not sure it's good or not but means I've to monitor her at home make sure she does some work instead of watching TV. Other than her usual school and tuition homework, she's very free.

FZ,
Why doesn't your ds want SAP School? He doesn't like chinese? I hope DS can get into VS. I'm more concerned of the school culture and the affiliation to the JC rather than whether it's SAP or not.

re: IP
Any idea whether "O" level or IP route (through train) is better? I would prefer either these to IB - I feel it's too expensive and not as established.

re: Higher chinese
We were 'warned' during P-T meeting that from P5 onwards, the Chinese standard will be a big jump. The HOD said that the CA1 HCL paper will be very tough and all of them will suffer a setback from scoring much lower marks. All along, dd does well for Chinese. This will be a test for her and a gauge on how well her current tuition centre prepares her. Keep fingers crossed...

cookiepie,
my boy started HCL this monday. Supplementary classes are fixed on Thursday for EMS. the school already notified us in last year's last newsletter not to schedule any tuition on these 2 days. but CCA bus only starts mid of this month. he has been travelling home with his friends on public bus. we went to school to peep at him at the bus stop on this maiden journey!

avrilf,
workload has increased. 3-4 subjects a day homework, but mostly chinese.

MD,
although my boy took HCL, he does not want SAP school when we spoke of it prior to the HCL selection. I hope that these 2 years, exposure to HCL will increase his interest in CL. It will definitely go 2 ways - either he will develop a deeper interest, or he will dread it. I feel that it will largely depend on the CL teachers he will get for these 2 years.

He can go to SJI via affiliation. Except for the distance (and fee concern), even if O-level, they are pretty good at Band1-2 results and has affiliation of CJC. but ACS has affiliation to ACJC (which i much prefer) and is much nearer to us in the West. VS has affiliation to VJC, right?

re: IP
I am not sure about O-level or IP is better. but husband said that cutting down on 1 major exam definitely better (providing confident of clearing Year 6). My concern is also that if the sch also has the freedom to include preliminary teachings of JC subjects in year 4, makes me wonder if it will disadvantage O-level students who subsequently join these JCs.

I definitely prefer A-levels. but personally both me and husband have not go through A-levels, although we went through the 3 months JC. Husband feels that IB could be lesser indepth study (more broad based) and could be better as son is jack of all trades.

Re: English
Last year, my worries were mainly on CL. seems like this year, it shifted to English. the scope of English tested (found in assessment books/exam papers) seems to be so wide, unlike CL. worry worry again...

Re: Teachers
How's your kids' teachers this year? Will they follow through for 2 years? For my boy's school, Form Teachers will follow the class for 2 years. My boy Form Teacher this year is his Math Teacher last year. He was delighted as there is familiarity. He get back the same science Teacher too. His class has Math HOD for Math Teacher and Level Head for EL Teacher. Hope they will follow through til next year.

Cookiepie,
I think there is as I did go through the homepage for nan Chiau before.

Enrichment/supplementary
For my son, his classes will start in the fourth week(If i remembered correctly).
My son started to feel the stress of Hcl as their teacher told them that the composition will be Ming min ti. He is very weak in composition and I will need to buy a lot of chinese composition guide for him to read.

There is homework everyday and as of now, he is still able to manage it.

Supplementary classes/Homework
My gal's school has yet to start supplementary classes but she also gets homework everyday. My gal kept reiterating to me that SA1 results will see drastic drop coz teachers warned them so. Hmm....is she trying to manage my expectation?

Teachers
My gal will have the same teachers for p5 & p6. There are 2 teachers for each subject, wondering how to coordinate with each other.

OMG! Their chinese is getting difficult. Was helping my son with the 字迷 section 2 nites ago. Hopefully they wont test this section, if not I think alot of pple will fare badly for it.

Fz: His homework load seems to increase. I warned him that it will get tougher during this 1yr 9 months. Thus he better works harder.

Avrilf,
What is 字迷 ? I went for PT meeting and sat through a 2h session of briefing + 1 h of classroom session. In summary the teachers "warned" us that all the subjects, especially higher chinese will be more difficult to get 90 marks or more for the subjects.

When I told DD about Chinese, DD console me not to worry as she "did well" in her recent compo practice in tuition centre. Her so-call "did well" was 27/40 because the highest mark (29/40) in that class came from a girl who tops her level in RGPS. If that's the kind of marks I'm expecting, really must moderate expectations.

Hi hi

so busy till totally forgotten about checking in this thread.

Yup life is crazy now. I have never seen my girl has so many HW.

I have to tell the Chinese tutor not to load her as she has no time to complete her HW. Told her to just teach the technique and if possible just have the work done within the lesson time.

Will have a MTP session next Sat and will mentally manage my own expectation

Agreed that my gal chinese seems like getting more and more. Everyday, just seen her write and write. Getting in bed also later and later.

Find them so poor things!

Supplementary
Think ds will start this coming week and will be able 3-4 days including chinese.

Homework
Not so much as seen for these 2 weeks

Activities
Seems like p5 are busier with extra activities... Maybe this competitions, that competitions as I saw from their history. Their overseas learning journeys also start for p5 unlike some schools started in p4.

Secondary schools
Had not thought of any yet, staying in North, thus hope need not have too long travelling time.

For chinese comprehension, I find the section where they state the meaning of the words, then the student is expected to find the words from the passage very difficult leh. Sometimes, I can't find the right words myself.

for chinese compreh, I have not access or see what they are covering :p Seems a mouthful of things to digest what they are learning. Can see a great difference from their last year and this years work. Oh my!

Maisy Daisy: They will not be tested on 字迷. 字迷 is like riddle to guess the correct word.

Last yr my son's HC exam expected the children to know the meaning of 一寸光阴一寸金 寸金难买寸光阴. Told my son to read more but since school repoened, he barely has the time to. *sigh*

Avrilf,
Even if they have time to read, they'd rather read English. There are not many interesting Chinese books around and we don't subscribe Chinese newspaper. She has difficulty finding time to read newspaper, not to say chinese books.

School just reopen and I'm already feeling the stress. Government just announced 2 days leave for parents with pri school children. They should have implemented that long ago. I don't see my "obligation" reduced after they turn 7. In fact, even more stressful!

Hello ! I'm just wondering Wat are the tuitions that your kids go to ? Eng main paper or compo , Chinese main paper or compo , sci , math ? Or all ?? I totally agree p5 Chinese is getting difficult . Saw lots of mistakes even in the activity book Itself so was thinkin of getting Chinese tuition for the CL paper 1 . He presently goes for math, eng compo n chinese compo . Really exp to add on to more tuition , and besides that - absolutely no
Time with supplementary classes and cca in a week .

Poko
My boy goes to english all in and two chinese tuition that has their own strengths.
What math your kid attending? Is group tuition effective for math?
Think will have to look at ca1 results before looking at whether to add on. My boy now stays back twice awweek,one other weekday chinese tuition, saturday morning english and sunday morning chinese again. Weekends afternoon used for visiting,chinese revision,english revision and math self revision. We can probably squeeze in one more saturday afternoon, but have to cut on self revision time if we want to add any additional tuition.

Md
My boy has no time to read newspaper this year.but he has plenty of reading time in school, and school mandate them to bring chinese books on thursday and friday. Question now is what chinese books will entice him to read?he will come back and tell me the books are boring.

I used to get my boy to watch the night news, but since monday,we switched to watching channel 8 drama. Any other good english news time slot to recommend? Thanks.

Fz , appreciate your reply .
My son goes for math tuition , that only covers the problem sums , specifically the solving of diff math questions via the on sponge method . He used to be at mind stretchers that covers all parts of math . But I later personally felt that the problem sums were def more needed to master more effectively and done quickly and the those past year practice papers helped a lot in the first section of the math paper ( multiple choice ). Thus , I chose to concentrate on the problem sums instead .
My son takes Chinese compo and I feel that he may need help in the paper 1 ( multiple choice ). P5 Chinese is really a shocker ( so tough ), and I hope his Chinese results don't drop . My Hubb on the other hand, thinks I shd not jump into so many tuitions , but rather give him an opportunity to self study , like some of your kids do . But being KS, if course I worry he can't cope . Thus thinki if I shd enrol him in Chinese main paper tuition . It is also awfully exp to have so many tuitions in place , especially with the other kids also wanting art , music , phonics . Sigh .
I'll wait for ca 1 results to come out b4 I decide for the tuition .

My son attends English Main, Chinese Main and Science.

I dropped Chinese Compo since it will be the same teacher as Chinese Main.

I totally agree P5 Chinese is so much tougher esp when he is doing HC. So far he is trying to do his work on his own instead of asking me for help.

Thus I will monitor his results from the coming tests.

By next week, I will know if he has been selected for any remedial classes.

My younger dd is P1 this year. Have been busy nagging her for the pass few weeks. Did not spend much time coaching my P5 dd. Only helped test her ting xie and spelling.

Was browsing thru the P5 chinese assessment book and find that this year the Comprehension is very difficult and for English, Synthesis is a killing point besides the other difficult sections.

Really having a hard time trying to cope with 2 kids in school. Any advice to help...

Many thanks.

Valerie,
I am in the same situation as you, a P5 and a P1 this year. Been trying to get the P1 to adapt to pri school life over the past weeks, so no time to nag at the P5...the P5 is happy with my "neglect" and has been "relaxing" herself.

I sent the P5 for chinese compo & oral tuition starting this yr after seeing her chinese sa2 results last year...she almost flunk her compo & oral. She neither speaks nor reads chinese books, so if I don't force her to write 1 compo per week thru' tuition, I don't even see how she can pass her sa1 this yr. I told my p5 that if the school organises immersion trips to schools in china, I will gladly pay and leave her there for a few weeks...let her see how to survive with her sub-standard chinese over there.

Ha..ha... exactly the same situation cookiepie, my P5 alos goes for chinese compo & oral tuition, although i do not know what have they been doing for oral...

And this year my P5 is having CA1 in March... i wonder how it will turn out to be, Sigh..

Hope situation will be better for us... somehow..

Hi . My son's CA 1 starts in feb . N I tot Sch like just opened . Haha . His Chinese compo ah , hmm though he goes compo tuition , he hardly uses the phases that the Sch makes them memorise . Can I ask u do most of u go tuition centres or private tuitions at home ? I'm looking for a Pte home tutor as I've 2 young ones at home that need them pm
Naps still . So can't ferry him ard . Called tutor agency , got a few but seriously I've no idea how their standards are .
My son's Sch teacher is asking the boys read Chinese papers or the 6.30-7 pm Chinese news . He saw the news a few times , and says its such a bore .

hi Poko, that is super early for CA.

I send my ds for chinese compo, after a break for 1-2yrs. No choice, can see his interest in that subject drops alot after he didn't managed to score. Need something to boost him up. He also goes for Eng enrichment and maths. Didn't find any for his Science, realise his schools strts Science topics differently from others. Think he started with Water Cycle first.

Juz realise that my gal does not hv CA1.. Dunno if it is good or bad.. As of now, she is still in R&R mode.. I need to nag at her to revise her work.. Dat is y I hv to outsource tuition

Science - I can't help much here, as I dun do biology. Her tuition center teaching cells while sch is on water cycle.. Dunno which to focus..

She has supplementary for all subjects n with CCA n outside tuition, she is only free on Monday afternoon. Hard to schedule them for me to go thru with her.. Thinking to drop her guitar class to free up weekend morning.

For my #2 who is in P4, she is very much on her own..sometimes I am tempted to enrol my #3 with full day cc so that I can hv time with #1 n #2.. But I find it not practically as they spent more time in sch than at home now

Went for class briefing last night. Teacher said this year different from last year. Last year year end results take into account topical tests, this year no.last year supplementary class for ems is to stretch teaching time. This year, all will be covered during curriculum. Only have supplementary class for english and math for weaker students or for their class, students who borderline between grades, that is students with high B or high A , to help them reach the next grade.

Then based on last year performance, class expectation this year is English 5% A*, 95%A; Chinese 86%A*,14%A; science 78%A*,22%A; math 92%A*,8%A. The form teacher who is math Hod, expect them to get minimum A.

I miss the P5 briefing last week as I was not in Singapore..but general feel is that she has more homework than before..

I was thinking of quitting her guitar but now she came to me that she wanted to continue and even wanted to take up the graded exam..hiaz..keep telling her she has to manage her time properly..
Currently, she has no time to read and I still think reading is important...hiaz

Wah fz, your boy's teacher has high expectation on the students! minimum A. Is he in the best class?

Mummies with p5 gals,
Have you started your gals on facial cleansers? If so, any brand to recommend for skins of this age? My gal starts having pimples and blackhead around her t-zone....erghhhhh....

Bebe and Natellehcim, Are your kid's school a GEP school? If yes, it might be the reason why their topics are taught differently.

I din realise his tuition class starts the topic differently frm his sch cos my son din say anything *faint*

I only learnt abt it last week when the tuition center called me cos my son went from sch to class. The teacher saw his uniform and immediately asked the front office to contact me and advised me to switch to another branch which opens classes to specially cater to his sch topics.

bebe75,
graded exam practice can be boring, does your girl knows that? learning the same exam pieces over and over again. my boy only reads in school during reading period or when waiting for CCA bus. no time to read at home too.

cookie pie,
yes, my boy is in the best class. i can't say that the standards are same as other more academic school as we find that the class average is high due to the papers being not too tough. the school shared that 25% of the cohort last year got 240 aggregate score; that works out to be about slightly less than 2 classes. which is reassuring news for us as my boy needs at least 238 if he wants to get into his affiliated school or 236 for the school that is within walking distance from my place.

avrilf,
very good of your son's tuition centre to be so proactive!

RE Art
does your kid's school still carry out Art lessons? My boy's school still does, but i think they do away with Music lessons. My boy is not very good in Art, but he enjoys Art homework and will spend a lot of time on it to my dismay! Even simple assignment as to just cut out pictures to paste, he will spend time to browse magazines and pick his favourite...-__-"....and he usually only gets a B for Art.

fz: Yes, the tuition centre is very proactive. Managed to secure a place for my son in the other branch too.

His school still teaches Art but they alternate it with music.

FZ - I don;t understand why my gal suddenly wants to take up the exam..in fact we are contemplating to stop the guitar this coming Feb. Hubby said let her try it out and if really cannot cope, we will talk about it later..

Last time I used to let my gals finish their tuition homework on weekend, but now I am starting to nag them to complete them on weekday so that weekend I can hv more time going through with them..

Avril - you are lucky that you manage to get a slot in the other branch..most often I find it hard to reschedule time table for tuition make up..hence I do not allow my gals to skip tuition class..

My gal is not from GEP school..just a normal school (average tier) but popular cos of the historical background. I told my gal that if she is not clear with the topics taught by the school, she can approach the tutors in the tuition center.

ART
My gal has ART lesson, but I think reduce to 2x30min from 3x30 mins. My gals also enjoys ART lesson and sometimes she will take very long to complete the assignment at home..and her grade is always B too..she wanted to join the ART club for CCA but unfortunately was not selected. ..I think the school has high expectation for ARTs..

Bebe75 - Yes, my son was lucky plus the branch is not too far away from our house. Hope the teacher will be as good as his current one! *keeping fingers crossed*

Hmmm....wonder y they say only my son school is special when now I found out that Natellehcim and urs also the same.

Cookiepie, Valerie, Hi5. Me too has a P1 kid this year.

Avrilf, ya I also realised that. Hmm does that mean I should change class too ?

Chicken Little: you better check with the tuition centre and sch. Then you can compare. If really differs and they have branch that teaches the same sequence as her school, it might be better to change.

Mine is confirmed cos they said the school has been doing it for quite a while.

hi avrilf, my kids are not in the GEP but just a normal neighbourhood school.
Their science topics usually different topics compared to the other schools, since P3. That is why I am not able to send him for any Science tuition, for the centers teaches differently from school, ended up might confuse them.

My kids school did not provide any briefing for P5 leh.

My boy just came home from 3d2n camp! He enjoyed himself very much. It is advisable to let your kids bring along strepsils to suck at the end of each day as it really helps, according to my son. He said he took one each night before sleep. Even so, he can still feel a sore throat coming up though he has not lost his voice yet.. Most of his friends already hoarse voice by 3rd day.
Although they state bring one plate,I would have given him more smaller plates,as he said the washing station was gross and he used hand soap to wash as the dishwashing liquid provide was gross.by day 3, strange stuff grew on his plate already! Lol.

I didn't even know there is a parents' briefing until I received email from teacher regarding some slides, after the briefing. Somehow my dd was on MC & totally missed out on receiving that notification letter so we weren't informed at all. Haiz, why like that

bebe

I've stopped dd's music lessons last Nov. Only continuing with theory classes but will also stop by end Feb.
Really no time for all these extras. Staying back in school 4 days a week, absolutely overwhelming!

Yawn Yawn - I had a hard time dissuading her to quit guitar esp if she did not want to do the graded exam. Last year, I forewarn her that if she is not taking graded exam, but basically playing for interest, then it is better for her to quit now and pick up later in secondary school when she can join the ensemble CCA ..then now she suddenly changed her mind and wanted to gfor her the ABRSM exam..hiaz. Hubby said since she has interest..then let her continue..so I have to continue sending her to weekly class..prob got to extend her sleeping time from 9pm to 10pm to catch up on her school work.

FZ - how come your boy;s school conduct camp early in Jan? Thought camp are usually held during the holiday? I think my gal's also having some school camp in P5....I did not permit her to go China with her classmates for the coming Mar holiday...still bu fang xin to let her "chu yuan men" for so many days without me..haha..but if 3D2N in the school, I am still okay..

Yesterday I approached the science tutor and raised my concerned that his topics are different from school..he said he will give each of them topical papers before SA1 based on their examinable topics. He said some schools test on the lower block science..so he usually end the class with a short quiz on P3/P4 topics..that assures me..

cookiepie - my gal use the QV wash..and for those pimples. she will apply the one I got from Watson.."Mentholatum acne gel"...it is quite effective in stopping the acne from spreading..usually the pimple will stop swelling and subside 2-3 days after applying. I even use it when I have my PMS acne. It has a roller version and gel version. The roller version has a menthol feeling after applying. My gal brought it to school and misplaced it and so now I got the gel version for her..

bebe

Initially my dd insisted to continue. she has put in a lot of effort to learn & also passed with merit her grade 3 last March. So kind of wasteful to stop like that. But I can see that she is not able to manage her time well yet. In p2 & P3 stil alright because she's quite free - only stay back in school once a week & not much homework.

But p4 I see a huge jump in workload & need to stay back in school for 3 days. She's already struggling to squeeze in practice time into her busy schedule last year. In p5 I know she will have to stay back another additional day so I convinced her to stop for a while, till she learn how to manage her time better then pick up her instrument again.
Recently she told me it's indeed a relief to stop her music lessons because she felt more relaxed now, no need to keep thinking she hasn't practise yet.

I very peifu other children who can take on a lot of things but my dd is not one of them lah. I know her limitations although she doesn't & thus always like to take on more than she can manage

She commented before I'm strange, always asking her to drop this class, drop that activities, & always asking when can drop tuition?
whereas her classmates' parents always add this, add that instead. And she's the only one without CCA in her class. I insisted that 1 & only free day should just come home & rest lah, & talk to me because I'm home alone, why stay back in school everyday?

yawnyawn: I have replied you.

fz: my son had his camp last year at the Hort park area. Did your son has his camp there too?

bebe75: Think mine will have a China camp this year. My son is not keen after he went to China with my whole family last year :p I am encouraging him to go so he can learn to appreciate what he has even more. My hubby said unless parent can tag along to help out if not he 不放心.

My son's school did not have any briefing yet. Wondering when it will be.

Yawn,
Did you stop dd1 or dd2 music? I also intend to stop dd 1 her piano after she takes her Grade 5 theory end of this year. She is not talented so no point continuing.

DS2, P4 now wanted to continue with both Piano and violin, though but I am not sure how he can manage. He got into badminton school team this year and has practice 3x a week. He is also learning both Piano and Violin from 2 different teachers. The teachers intends to let him take grade 5 theory and Grade 4 violin within the next 1 year. With all these badminton practices, I have no idea how he is going to manage. Will have to see SA1 results to determine.

bebe75,
Thanks for sharing on the facial cleanser. I have started my gal with Clean & Clear. Will let her try for a while to see the effect first.The Mentholatum acne gel sounds good, I must go & get one from Watsons.

Just to check - what is the typical dismissal time for morning session? My gal's school did not inform parents about supplementary lessons but her class dissmissal is 1.30pm everyday ...seems kinda of late to me.

I wonder how my gal is going to survive ca1. I look through her worksheets and my feel is - Science 'complicated', Chinese 'difficult', Maths 'chim', English 'no comment'....sigh......

avrilf,
thanks for sharing

maisy,
Only stop dd1's. She's keen although not as keen as dd2 in music. dd2 is still continuing because she's only in p3 so workload not as heavy as her sister yet. Hopefully she can finish grade 8 by p5 (she started music lessons much earlier that dd1) otherwise most likely will put on hold too

wow, your ds learning dual instruments + school team! peifu!

cookiepie
1pm standard dismissal although most days stay back till 3:30pm

bebe
yes...camp early. good also. now can concentrate on sch work.

avrilf,
my boy camp was at Jalan Bahtera Adventure camp. the school mixed the kids from other classes into groups. my boy managed to get into same team as his good friend, so it was fun. his other good friend did not enjoy as much and missed home as he was separated from his usual clique. my boy told me he had no time to think of home. lol.

cookiepie,
dismissal at 1pm. stayback til 3.30pm, now twice a week. going to be thrice a week when they start enrichment (paid). will be 4x a week if son don't do well in CA1 (supplementary class only for weak students, and students who borderline between grades, that is students with high B or high A , to help them reach the next grade. ). difficult to schedule tuition on weekdays, so basically weekends are burnt from homework, revision and tuition.

May I ask what time does your dd/ds sleeps/wakes up these days? My dd stays back in school 4 times a week, reaching home at about 4.30. She has her piano lesson on the only available afternoon when she gets dismissed at 1.30. She has quite a bit of homework everyday. Although she usually can finish the assigned work by about 9ish, she is already so tired I have no heart to ask her to do anymore revision or assessment books. She dun even hv time for her favorite pastime, reading. Last year, she gets to go to bed by 9, n has time to read.

As of this year, I threw in the towel and sign her up for math n science tuition (back to back on Sat). She asked for chinese tuition recently.

I am getting really really worried, seeing that there is no time for relaxation, or revision. Her results are just decent, nothing to revved about. By my judgement, she does everything in slow-motion.

Mummies, can u offer any advice?

aly_nat,
my boy sleeps at 10-10.30pm and wakes up at 5.40am. i try to get him to nap for 45min. on days when he needs to stay back, he reaches home at 4.30pm too. he will bathe and take a short nap from 5-5.50pm. then i wake him and he starts his work at 6pm. dinner at 7.15-8pm and if he can complete his school work by 9pm, i get him to do some revision. if he is chasing the 9pm drama, we will try to stop work at 9pm - that is his only form of relaxation now and he looks forward to watching tv. he used to have time to read the news or watch the news, but now we let selected Channel 8 shows take precedence hoping it will brush up his chinese. if no good shows, we will try to stop at 9.30 so he can catch the English news. on twice a week he need not stay back, i will bring him out to lunch one day, and the other day, he will nap for 45min too after reaching home and bathe. that day, he can finish his sch work before dinner and revision will take place after dinner. that day is so precious!~

he has Chinese tuition twice a week and english tuition once. giving him more tuition will eat up his relaxation time. weekends are also burnt. on good times, we try to finish all revision/tuition,sch homework by 6pm both Saturdays and Sundays.

he is also in slow-motion. i find that if i had not let him nap, he would waste that time away too dragging his feet to start work.

Fz,
Thanks for sharing.

My dd stopped taking naps since 5. Asked her to nap, she will just toss n turn, even if she is tired. She can only sleep at odd hours when she is sick.

On average, how much time does he takes to complete his school homework? What about time taken to learn tingxie?

Your ds has tuition on weekdays or weekends? I wonder how effective will it be to send our kids to tuition after a long day in school. My dd start her day at 6am