(2002) Any 2002 babies?

I also need to diet man. Share share and i need to 瘦下来

This week is my girl's exam week. My job for this week is to bring her home after school, makan, rest, final reading thru and that's it.

Lets see if the result will be different with me hands off.

Valerie
I print from here
http://test-paper.info/

Fz, difficult for tutor to coach sibling in same class and 2 different level right ? then lots of time will be wasted with one kid doing work and the other with teacher

By the way, which mummies kids are with Mind stretcher for writer toolbox and science ?

Materials good ?

Any comments on learning project at Chun Tin Road ?

hehe, my 减肥 plan is exercise + diet.

I've been exercising regularly the last 6 months but not much noticeable result, only lose 1 kg with exercise. After making modifications to diet, I can see faster & almost immediate result, lose another 1.5 kg

Diet wise, absolutely NO rice or porridge. Only eat dishes at lunch/dinner. Switch to whole grain cereal & oat for breakfast & tea break. No sugar in coffee, switch to honey. Eat fruits & veg (although I'm not really a veg person so I'm taking more fruits than veg), incorporate nuts into snacks eg. almond, walnut. And consume my daily dose of vitamins

On days that I couldn't make it to gym, I will do a variety of floor stretching exercise for 30 to 45 minutes, on my yoga mat at home. Plus some simple cardio exercises like kickboxing (front kick, back kick, punching actions)

In gym, mostly using dumb bells between 2 pounds to 8 pounds and whatever machines available in gym like stationery bike and cross trainer. I will usually spend slightly over an hour in gym each time.

So I'm very 忙 lor, haha!

My BMI is 22.1 now but I'm targetting 19.1 very ambitious, so still need to continue to work hard, long way to go

My hubby teasing me that I measured my fat%, muscle% like 10 times a day. Every time when I walk pass the weighing machine, I can't resist but hop on & check, haha!

Jolene - that is fast!! you and yr gal will be able to enjoy week with 4 days of PSLE marking days off...hiaz..so envy!!

Yawn Yawn - JY! JY!...I find it harder to loose weight at my age now compared to 20s...last month I put on weight after returning from holiday...so I started heading to the gym twice a week trying to make it to at least 4 times per week...but after a month, with busy schedules..I stopped going gym and to make thing worse, I snacked as I worked late at night...Arrggghhh..going to start my gym again after the exams are over...cannot stand my bulging tummy...

One of my trainers used to tell me..we need to exercise (panting, and flush red/sweating) for at least 30-45 min, followed by 15 min of weight training at least 4 time a week to see the effect. Cos after cardio exercise (to wake up the fat and start burning), we have to work on muscles (weight lifting).."burning muscle" is harder than burning fat but that is the way to tone up..and yr muscle will continue "burning" even after you complete the gym session..I did follow his method way back in 2005/6 and i thought that was the fittest time of my life then..and when I started exercising and monitor the calories intake, I will be guilty when i snacked..so I become very selective when come to makan..Wish I can turn back the clock..

valerie, thanks! I hope I reach my target soon

bebe, thanks for sharing!

Me too, I find it hard to lose weight at my age. With slower metabolism rate, losing weight required enormous effort but slow & limited result. In fact I piled on many kilos over a short span of few months last year & that was the reason that trigger me to start exercising.

Which gym did you go to? Is there a trainer in that gym to guide you on what equip to use?

I'm doing circuit training in my gym but very slow result. Therotically, circuit training is most effective for my age group but not sure why not much result.

I'm also taking kickboxing class with another instructor (not in gym) and she said the exact same thing too, need do cardio 1st then resistance training to effectively tone muscles.

yawn yawn - I go to the gym at my place..no trainer. The trainer whom I engaged was from Planet fitness..think now they have changed name liao.

My gym has limited circuit stations..I only do the leg curl in the circuit cos I badly wanna shed away my humongous thigh..haha..

I find exercising in the morning help me to focus and freshen up my day..cos that is my ME time..I use that to reflect and plan my day.. But after #3 comes..I hardly got ME time..hiaz..

yawn yawn - I go to the gym at my place..no trainer. The trainer whom I engaged was from Planet fitness..think now they have changed name liao.

My gym has limited circuit stations..I only do the leg curl in the circuit cos I badly wanna shed away my humongous thigh..haha..

I find exercising in the morning help me to focus and freshen up my day..cos that is my ME time..I use that to reflect and plan my day.. But after #3 comes..I hardly got ME time..hiaz..

Arrrrggghhh. standing outside mind stretcher clementi now q for registration. Please share if the science and writer tool box is really so good it is worth my time standing here.

wow!@
they have fixed registration dates?!

someone shared Mindstretcher notes earlier this year or last. the notes are pretty good.

i intend to sign up my K2 for their English. any comments?

I'm trying to form a group for a creative writing class for my ds. The class will be taught in Serangoon. The class will be taught by current school teacher thus the class will only be on weekend.

It will be on every Saturday at 1pm-2.30pm. If you're interested, please PM me for more details if you're interested.

CL:
My dd joined the writer tool box when she was in P5.
The notes and model compos are good. I withdrew her after a few months because she didn't enjoy copying the whole model compo, the new teacher was not as good as the previous teacher and it was really too far.

Thanks April,
I will let my girl try out first. She also do not fancy group class actually. See how it goes.

Fz
your second kid is 2006 ? mine also going P1. Ya I also signed him up for the English class.

Well Yesterday i q 2 hours to get the last slot of English for my going P1 son and a slot for my girl science and writer toolbox. I am moving to clementi so thot just walk over to mind stretcher to get everything done.

CL,

I called Edufarm to start my registration for their P1 CW class. realised i called them last year for my P4 boy...and no news for 1 whole year. so not having high hopes now.

u queued for 2 hrs? so managed to get a good slot? so popular! last slot means full class size of 15.

fz
when I was staying at CCK haha I was waiting for edufarm to start class from my girl is nursery to she was in P1 also never have a class. Long time ago give up on edufarm

I waited for 1 hour for the lady to come down the line to confirm if there is still seats then another 1 hour for my turn to register. at Least i know the wait is guaranteed after 1 hour since there was no P1 and P5 registration in front of me.

I just get the slot on the timing what i want instead of weekend so I probably stand a better chance

FZ - the popular slot for MS is usually taken by existing students..even for existing students who wanna change their slot have to queue in phrase 2. And the admin process was not exactly automated..no auto renewed for existing students. Existing need to "re-register"..hence the registration process is so lengthy.

Most new comer will just be left with the weekday slot..so take up the slot first and see if there are other suitable timing when new sch term start..as some students may withdraw if the timing clashes with school timing...no point putting on waiting list, cos the MS staff will never call you back..

I think why MS is popular cos fee is affordable..and materials is quite good (for Maths, and English)..their worksheets are not so easy I feel, but so far the teacher whom I met are quite good and patient to work through the answers with my gal. I have heard parents saying some teachers would just ask the kids to copy down the model answer and ask if they do not understand. End of the day still must really depend on the quality of teachers..

I have been super busy with work to login the forum.

My son's examination is over
Now praying that he will fare well.

Yawn Yawn, you are so on!!! How I wish I can too

Bebe75: I agree that MS pricing is quite affordable. My gf's child is only taking p2 english class @ Learning Lab and it costs abt 90+ on weekday slot. I really wonder how can those parents afford if their children sign up for more than 1 class.

Actually MS @ Bishan did call me back when there is a new class starting or an empty slot. Thus I would say they do call those on the waiting list.

thanks bebe
think i go down on friday to see if they'll reveal to me the currently class size. i preferred continuity, so a bit concerned about whether they have high teacher turnover and if i can get preferred slot when kid goes on to higher level. now i am looking at weekday mornings as weekends are packed with own activities.

my alternative is a neighbourhood centre near my place. but they do not have any compo component. they have weekly show and tell and oral segment, they claimed. prefer one with regular writing.

tomorrow is EL compo and listening compre!

Avrilf,
LL's target customers are the very well off ones. One of dd's classmate is attending 3 subjects with LL. Her classmate's siblings too, for every subject except Chinese at LL. wow, enormous amount to pay in total. that classmate lives in landed property

for one subject at LL I've been considering & reconsidering till now still can't bear to part with my money. Obviously LL is not targeting customers like me otherwise they would have close shop long long ago ROFL

Today my gal taking English LC and English Paper 2 ...gotta kept remind her to take note of her tenses in compre and reported speech area.

CL - enrichment class is more costly cos they really give you the material and teach...school is like teaching the basic, and leave the rest to figure out on its own..so for those who aim for passing grade..sch material shd suffice but if you wanna score, you have to source for external material..

Just like the assessment books are much more costly than the the textbook..LOLz

YY - My friend sent her son to LL..was told that they have to take a test before they can enrol. I have not seen the material so far,,so can;t comment on the quality..but then I suppose if the student need to take entry test, he/she can;t be those borderline case bah..most likely is for enrichment purpose. My friend said her son enjoyed the lesson

Come to think of it..I spent almost close to $1.2k - $1.3k monthly for my 3 kids' tuition and enrichment (including non academic and my toddler's PG)..machiam like studying for uni..

bebe,
I'm also spending around that amount. Music is the most costly. $200 each kid each instrument. Additional fees for separate theory lessons. And recently I begin to wonder why did I start them on music in the 1st place? not as if either one of them aspires to be a music teacher. What to do after getting certificates? For display only? High investment! However, if I ask them to drop then 前功尽弃 so kind of 进退两难. And they are really busy with school commitment so not enough time for practice. Both my kids insist they wish to continue learning music. Guess the decision to drop has to come from them, not me

Bebe75: Yes, the child will be tested before being accepted by LL. They take the 'cream'.

Yawnyawn: I am not willing to part so much for juz 1 subject cos the same amount, I can pay for a 2nd subject elsewhere.

fz: So far my son's MS classes have yet to change any teacher. I would say they have low turnover. *keeping my fingers cross*

Bebe,
I spending that same amount for two kids include preschool. Heaviest investment is chinese for elder son. Just hope to let him build a firm foundation. He is attending chinese and english only. Younger one has piano, chinese and math. Wanted to start swimmmg but keep raining. May look at mindstretcher. Odd hours, so hope not popular with the rest.

Yawn,
Music training even if not continue as career next time, to my husband, he said it is an investment for brain training. For me, I let it be a hobby that my son can pick up easily again next time if he decides to stop. Once one have the ear for music, I feel thateasier to pick up again. I joined the school band, so tinkle with the piano when younger son plays, but I can't coordinate both hands.both elder son and husband are tone deaf. Lol.

Avrilf
Thanks forthe feedback. Is the class too big for young children ?

FZ - my gal's MS teacher has been with her since P2..so she is very comfortable with her teaching. Their class is max 15, I was told. My younger gal joined MS a few months back..I think her class size was 8 as it was on a weekday afternoon. According to her, there are 2-3 talkative ones..(usually boys) and quite argumentative..a bit distracted but they also made the lessons fun and less boring..

Music investment - I prefer to have my kids to have a "balanced" interest, I let them pick up their own interest. Initially my dd1 was not very into music and arts..and so we tried a few years of ballet, art lessons and we stopped. It is only when she started to listen to songs and decided that she wanted to learn guitar and so we sent her for guitar courses. She does not wanna stress over graded exam and so we did not send her for those graded exam. My younger gal has always like dancing since young and therefore we sent her for ballet. Not sure how long she would wanna continue..but I hope she will at least get to grade 8..not at grade 4..it is like neither here nor there...but luckily her lessons are conducted in CC..so it is still cheaper than the ballet academy elsewhere..

For my son, he has yet to show any music talent..lolz,..but I have to start saving soon..just in case..LOLz

fz: I think it depends on the timing. One of the classes that my son attended has about 6-8 students only.

I feel it depends on the child whether they can learn better in bigger group.

Jolene,
They don't have weekend vacancy for my younger boy. The incharge said wait list is long. I am now looking at The Write Place as it is near to my boy's school temporary holding site as I am lookingat weekday classes.

My boy sat for science paper today andalready know the mcq results. 17 out of 40 students get full marks for mcq. Either paper is easy or this group of students are good.
Two full scores in math. My boy got similar results in sa1. Although low 90, the dad is not very glad with the results. He has one careless mcq mistake and stumble on two problem sums. Have yet to see the paper. Paper two english within my expectations. But his comprehension only got 7/10. Have yet to see what went wrong. School will release class averages tomorrow. For math in sa1, I think class average was low 90s.

I've been busy with work, exam and also renovating house so no time to log in. My kids are taking their second paper today. Everyone else whom I know already finished exam.

Regarding enrichment, I started ds at LL middle of this year. A few months ago, my dd said she also wanted to join LL for their English. So now both kids attend LL for English. Because it is so expensive, I can only afford to send them for 1 subject. I only tutor my gal for Maths. Others are all outsourced. I’m not sure if LL is really good cos only attend for a few months so have not seen results yet. But my kids are quite motivated. And LL has a very good library where the kids can borrow books home to read. So I bring them to library once a fortnight instead of weekly. Contrary to most belief, they didn't take any test at all. The lady said that they got band 1 for English in last year's SA2 so no need to take test.

Finally my son finished his exam on Monday, Science the last paper.
Yesterday got back some of the results.

Math : 94 – meet my expectation
Science : 95 – meet my expectation
English : 45/50 (only for paper 2)
Chinese : 48/55 (paper 2 with listening comprehension)

Now my only worry is the paper 1. Keeping my fingers crossed, especially for English composition.
He wrote out of point.

Wow congrat BP, your son scored so well.
Mine still have 1 paper to complete tomorrow.

BTW, anyone knows how much does it normally cost for swimming lessons for beginners on weekend?

Anyone tried Speediswim at Singapore Sports School OR AquaDucks at Orchid Country Club?

congrats BP, your son's science is very good!

Valerie,
i used to pay about $70/mth for group swimming. cannot seem to find swimming classes on weekdays...do they have? i thought only weekends classes.

BP,
your boy swimming lesson is $50/lesson? or $50/mth for 4 students?

MD,
your kids are in brand school? if so,i think they just use SA results. before i enrolled my boy in his current chinese class, they told him to take a diagnostic test too. despite he got band 1 for SA1 and despite his classmate also in that same course. *rolleyes

my report card
Math : 93 – meet my expectation but his dad (who coaches him math) expects more - he lost 2 marks due to carelessness in MCQ.
Science : 60/60 MCQ (17 out of 40 students got this score)
English : 45/50 (only for paper 2)
Chinese : 50/55 (paper 2 with listening comprehension)

- he improved 1.5 marks for CL! lol. he got 39.5/45 for paper 2 SA1 and 9/10 for LC SA1.

My..my..my.. fz, congrats on your son good result too.

I am still sourcing for swimming lesson for my w girls. Not sure whether there are any week day lesson, just that i only have some time to spare during weekend for them to learn.

My girl told me not to expect high marks from her, maybe just the borderline band 1 if lucky...

Well hopefully it will not be too far off from our expectation.

BP, is it $50 for 4 lessons? That's cheap right?

fz,
Which chinese school was that? My kids are in one of the 20+ schools with exam papers sold but not the top notch "branded" one like RGPS, NYP. I don't think their school standard is that high leh. In fact quite laid back and streaming (into best class) only starts at P5 based on P4 results. So this year I told my gal to work hard and get into the top 2 classes so that she can get more attention and stretched in prep for PSLE.

Congrats to BP and FZ

My DD's Science 95.5, math 83 quite disappointed
English 48/50 and Chinese 39.5/45 not met my expectation

Overall result has to wait for next Friday till I collect her report book as SA1 contribute 40% and SA2 60%

Congrats jolene, the science and english marks are really good!
The chinese not bad la. The compo will play a crucial part.
My boy got 39.5 in semester 1 and I rememberI was aalso very disappointed. Told him to keep within 40 and he did. Phew!
You intend to start math tuition?
Careless or tough paper?