(2002) Any 2002 babies?

Hi Maisy Daisy,
Acutally, use 1+16=17.
There are 8 sets of 17.

Hi Fz,
No, this is not taught in class. My son told me that I have taught him in Primary 1 and he used the method instead of 17+17+17+17+..., he just use 17X8

Maisy Daisy: I usually structure my homelearning to thematic units, ie general knowledge that I want my kids to learn, then I apply the multiple intelligence format to a lesson plan, and work on it. Eg the first half of the year, we worked on Earth Sciences and Space (3 months each), and did crafts relating to these themes, as well as lapbooks, and experiments - so most of the 7 or 8 intelligences are met. I thought homelearning is crucial, otherwise our kids end up very single dimensional with the academic approach to studies in school!

Yen Ling: WOW, your ds' Math question is really very challenging! My good friend whose ds is in P5 told me it is virtually impossible to teach the kids for Math. It is like lower secondary Math. So scary!

Congrats to those mummies whose kids had scored well. I am fairly satisfied with my girl's results, except for Chinese because she scored 84 (one mark short of Band 1). And her school is hardly a SAP school, so her standard is pretty low. Hence, I am hiring a home tutor to teach her, so that she won't feel too tired travelling to and fro.

She also has 2 CCAs in school, and for one of her CCAs, she is in the school performing team, so they have a lot of practices. Although I find it very disruptive, I am reluctant to stop her CCAs to focus solely on academic studies because am scared it will make her very one-dimensional. But like everyone mentioned, time is tight indeed! Sigh. Also, I am reluctant to let her do so much revision work in June holidays, but I guess it is inevitable huh?

But I guess first 2 weeks should be for pure enjoyment, and I had been enjoying that now! So shiok not to drill her in work.

Mummies, how do you keep your patience and prevent nagging or raising your voice? Sometimes I have to ask her 3-4 times to do certain things before she moves her butt and do it, and I really can boil! Are they in a proscrastination phase now!? Grrr....

Linette

Wow, you're really systematic! I'm an erractic mommy, no lesson plan. I only have a rough idea and just pull out whatever related book I want dd to do that particular day. Sort of a 1 day plan, haha!

However, for this June holiday, I've pulled out every Science book I can find at home, arranged neatly & placed all books somewhere visible in their room. These book can be for leisure reading whenever they finished their stipulated homework.

yawn yawn,
Sama Sama.

Linette,
Where did you get information on the topic? Library or internet? Can share with some crafts / projects that you did with your gal? So that I can get some inspiration. I'm struggling even with the schoolwork but I do concur with you learning beyond the textbook is indeed important. If not, the kids will be only text-book smart. This holiday, I intend to ask my gal do some science related research but still have no idea how to go about starting.

Nayellehcim: Just got back my son's exam papers. I will scan and email to you tonight.

Seeing the careless mistakes he made, I dont know what to say. *vomit blood*

Linette
I am very inspired by you. ha ha maybe we mummies should break up into what we are good in.

Then we can share share notes on the stuff we prepared.

Yesterday, my gal came back and say bonus 4 marks added to her science paper as 2 questions were set wrongly.

My son's cc principal's daughter is in same school top class and said one of the question was marked correct after many parents argued on it.

Should I fight for that 4 marks for my daughter ? Since it is already given to the other class then naturally all should be adjusted mah

avrilf
ha ha I also rolled eye ball when I got my daughter maths paper. imagine she could not even do section C at all during mock paper to now her section C got 18/20, then all the careless mistake made on section A n B. sigh sigh sigh

Hi Chicken Little, i personally feel that if that question should be correct, you can try to ask for them.

For my ds' sch, normally when the qn is set wrongly, they will not count in that question marks, eg 4 marks, instead of total marks 100, will become 96.

for my ds papers, i run through last week. think maybe i didn't spot any 'mistakes' in marking.. lucky the kids in the class are eager to earn back marks, they will 'argue' with teacher about it if they feel that they should be granted the marks... My ds also did that for one of his comprehension answers, just because of half marks.... hahaha. their teacher did go back to verify with their HOD and setter... but too bad, they gave the reasons why marks not allocated. so maybe i no need to worry about this

yawn yawn: Depending on my mood, I am also erratic at times, relying on a one-day plan, haha! I just have a rough theme I want to work on, so it is easier to construct spontaneous one-day plan without needing to think what theme we need to focus on.

Maisy Daisy: I get information for the theme from library books (wonderful resource) and I also research a lot on the internet for craft and lapbook ideas.

I actually started this homelearning thing for my younger one cos she is a year end baby, so I did not let her go to school until N2, hence was teaching her at home. Then I realised my older dd also likes to do such craftwork (maybe destress from normal schoolwork!), so we had been doing this for almost 3 years now.

Some examples of crafts ah, hmmm, eg this "term" we are doing Earth Sciences, so we worked on an erupting volcano using baking soda and pouring vinegar into it to see the chemical eruption and to "experience" an erupting volcano. My elder dd is also working on a lapbook on earth sciences, which helps her to consolidate her facts. For the Space unit, the little one (K1) created a rocket craft, and also worked on a minibook on the 8 planets, etc.

Chicken Little: Good idea to share notes with mummies! For me, I am on this blog network with other homelearning/homeschooling mums with younger children around kindergarten. But I can't seem to find primary school mums except for this forum, so this is a great idea! Do you ladies have blogs?

As for the 4 marks, yes, i think you should fight for it - 4 marks is a lot leh...

My gal got back her results which was satisfactory. Chinese she did v well with 95/100. Ironically this is the subject that we spend the least time on, other than her 2 hour per week chinese enrichment. I think she did well because of full marks in oral. Hope she maintain the momentum for Chinese.

Linette,
Thanks for sharing. I'm impressed. It takes a lot of time and effort. I hope can try out the projects that u did with your gals during school hol.

Maisy,
Congrats on the very good Chinese results.
Ironically, my son's best results is also the one we spent the least amount of time on - Math.
His 'worse' subject is the one we spent the most time on! Science!

Fz,
I wonder why time spent is not proportionately equal to the results achieved. Her other subjects are so-so even though I spent a lot of time with her on Maths (blood, sweat and vomit) and science.

Maths:
Can ask if most mummies outsource or DIY Maths?

Wii: I got mine from comics connection. They have outlets all over spore. I know one is in parkway and tampines

Hi maisy, maybe you have not hit on the area where she needs help most?

For Wii, I got to know about a shop in Far East Shopping center that sells games and controllers and can be considered one of the cheapest originals. you may refer to the web, http://qisahn.com/ Now Wii remote does comes with built-in Motion Plus too.

hi maisy,
we coach math ourselves. i ensure that he gets his weekly revision, his weekly nags on carelessness and my husband explains the concepts that my son is not familiar with. additionally, so far the sch did not test on areas that the students have not learn yet.

we don't have wii, psp, gameboy or computer at home. son gets his adhoc dose of computer games from my netbook and husband's iphone. he likes to doodle or do art and craft in his spare time.

RE CL
did you have other CL learning regime outside the enrichment?

maisy

Your dd Chinese is good! Where did she go for Chinese enrichment?

Mine drastic drop in Chinese results because we spent considerable amount time on Science as it's a new subject. Chinese subject drags down her overall results & causes her class position to drop too, sob sob

For Maths, I send dd to a nearby RC. Maths is her strongest subject but I feel uneasy if totally bochap that subject, so once a week practice still better than nothing. Hubby is supposed to coach dd but he's so slacked, although he sits next to dd, he's either playing with his iphone or psp or reading newspapers. He said dd can ask him whenever she's stuck. So meantme he maximises his time. What ??!! Told him he will be fired by other parents on 1st lesson if he's a tutor, cannot meet expectation

My dd just received her report card. Heng, her class position maintained.
She told us yesterday she was expecting a drop. I'm very pleased with the pleasant surprise.

But I think the standard is higher this year. Her classmate got 9th in class and her results were band 2 & 3, unlike p1/p2 where the top 10 kids are all in band 1 & 2

Yawn,
So indeed the standard is raised hence, kids are scoring lower and parents get panicked. It is good as a wake up call for us. Dd class standard has improved but I told her she must improve her English.

CL:
Dd only goes to Berries. Ds also goes to same enrichment but his Chinese results is so-so. So I guess it's individual. I do expose them to chinese books by reading a wide range of books at night. On sun morning, they watch only channel 8 which has many educational chinese cartoons.

Re ptm
we did not ask for class position cos theystreamed last yr so this yr all the cream in the class so expectsure drop in position. I told dh toask he said nodiff what position cos alread know highest and mean score.

came back from the PTM this morning..after looking at the overall class and level result, I am quite pleased with my gals' performance even though my P3 gal had band 3 for all subjects except Chinese, as her scores were abv the average, except Science as she gave away 10 marks by skipping 2 pages of MCQ. Spoke to her English teacher, n she said it is unlikely that my gal is dyslexic, but more likely it is her learning styles, she took a while to remember n understand stuff. But since I have made appt to get her assessed this weekend, we will stick to the appt. I was told that only 50% of the class passed their compo, n my gal was one of them. I did not get to see her actual compo, but teacher told me that she made effort to use good phrases in the compo. I guess Mindstretcher does help in this area. For maths, the teacher admitted that they had set a challenging paper this time and abt 30% of the class did not pass, only a handful get 70+ (highest in the class was 88)..teacher think that she shd score 70 if not for the careless mistakes (!!!)
For Chinese, her teacher said she is disappointed cos she expected her to get at least 80. I told her she studied on her own as I have no time to manage her Chinese, I will try to catch up Chinese revision this holiday. When I asked her to advise me how to improve Chinese compo, she suggested that I buy model Chinese books to read. I remember some of you were recommending those "good phrase" guide books..will drop by Popular to check out..

Then my P2 gal - she told her she failed her Chinese with 44 marks..it turns out that she got 44/50..which I thought was remarkably well for her standard. She had band 1 for all 3 subjects - mainly through her own effort as I was focusing more on her elder sis. She has been selected to join dance club as niche ECA..that means she will have to stay back for training till 6pm for training. I am not sure how she will cope as I think she is pretty occupied with Swimming, chinese remedial, her weekend ballet..and the writing class which I am still sourcing around. This gal is very insistent to take up the dance ECA even though I find it not worthwhile...as in not much good secondary school accept dance via DSA. I can only think of SCGS and MGS - and the chances are quite slim since they have their own affiliated primary schools. She promises to stay at band 1 if she continues with ballet and take up dance ECA. I am still undecided..

Maisy - For Maths I outsourced..I can teach but I hv no time, even though I am a SAHM. I find the tuition centre material are better and more challenging. Usu, I will interfere when my gal cannot understand teachers' solutions, or when she kept making the same mistakes.

For English, I also outsourced as I cannot teach language subject. Now I am thinking if I shd outsource Science..I went to Mindstretcher and was told that the classes are all full except Tues evening but this timing clashed with her existing swimming class. So I have no choice but to continue teaching Science myself.

I cannot rely on my hubby since he is always traveling.

I also do not have wii at home..the ipad is enough to keep them hooked. But ipad is only allowed during holiday. PSP - I put them away..and I think they have forgotten abt it..my elder gal is not so much into these kinda games..it is my younger gal. She is very addictive when comes to electronic or computer games..and I do not like it. Her father on the other hand, is a gamer..played computer games till the wee hour..bad influence. He said such games are good for strategical thinking skills..tsk tsk..

bebe

Mindstretcher class size is rather huge. I was told up to 15 or 16 students. Is your dd comfortable with the class size? Sufficient attention from teacher?

Yawn Yawn
Yes..Mindstretcher class size is not really ideal, so I always ask my gal to approach the teacher if she is not clear. I try to go thru her worksheets at home..at least I know where is her weakness and highlight to her tutor. Her Maths tutor is quite good..at least she takes note of my remarks. She told me she pairs the students in the class so that they can help each other out when teachers are busy with other students.

Natellehcim
I will be sending the papers..have not blanked out the answers. I will send you the blanked version and the answer sheet..my gal had corrections all over the place..hiaz..

Hi Natellecim,

Just to check if you have received the maths paper i sent you yesterday? I received a return msg today saying that my email was undelivered.

hi cookiepie, you send science papers only? was your id as Heng J? this is the last email i've received this morning. so far gotten from following email id :
1) Zhen
2) Poh LP
3) Heng J

Natellehcim,
i am Heng J

my gal's maths file was chosen by her teacher to be submitted for checking so will only be returned after sch reopens.
have sent u chinese n science. will send u english tomorrow.

has any one heard of Prof Zhou Hong? he trained his deaf gal to be a PhD n he came recently came for a parenting seminar. he's having a children's camp n i want to send my gal to get 'motivated'. has any one attended his talks?

Natellehcim,
I will sent you science and maths tomorrow. Was sick and didn't go to office for last few days. I didn't manage to get Eng and Chinese paper as they were taken back by the teacher.

Hi Natellehcim,

I have not emailed u yet. Will try to rmb to do it tonight.

Any mummies going to Singapore Book Fair? Marshall Cavendish is having a 1 for 1 exchange for the 1st 500 customers. Just need to bring 1 used primary sch assessment book to exchange for a new one.

Hi Natellehcim
I only have the Maths paper, could I join in for the exchange?
If so, where should I sent it to?

bebe75(bebe75)

Tks a lot, you still go through the effort to help me search. Because the school ask my girl to join the sycronise swimming, the the hour is very long 4hours twice a week. Dunno it is worth it to do scare she will not have time for school work.

Pin

my personal opinion hor, better focus on academic rather than use CCA as DSA. Especially if that CCA is very time consuming and may in turn affect academic results. At end of the day, even with DSA, still needs to meet minimum cut off point. Anothe down side is your dd can't drop that CCA in Secondary school if use as DSA & yet she has to cope with the demand of 9 subjects on top of CCA training hours

of course if your dd is very strong academically, then maybe can monitor her result after starting CCA training, if no impact on studies then go ahead