(2002) Any 2002 babies?

Fz
Dd has 2 CCA, now preparing for piano exam in aug and this term she also stayed back additional 1 or 2 day per week for training (representing school in story telling competition next week). She fell ill more frequently due to fatigue. Night time is a mad rush to finish all her homework and prep for adhoc topical tests. Nevertheless she didn't complain and was quite motivated to work harder to improve her grades. On weekends, we spend time studying together. I guess at p3 is still manageable but not sure whether she can manage next year.

Her grades have been satisfactory (all band 1). I was quite pleased she got 16/20 for English compo and 18/20 for Chinese compo. Considering she only go for Berries and she didn't have anymore Eng tuition. I seriously doubt the school standard for Chinese compo as I don't think her Chinese is so good. A lot of words she still cannot write. But then her school is SAP school (scratch head...)

my son just told me his result yesterday
Eng : 55/65 paper 2 plus listening (yesterday he is still having his english oral exam and Compo result not known yet.
Math : 89/100
Science : Keeping my finger crossed
Chinese : Cannot imagine..coz got got hives during the exam..not going expect good result.

I did not put in much effort with him during this exam as I was rather busy with my work plus having biz trip during that period. Feeling very gulity.

Wow wow mummies your kiddo are scoring well.

Sigh mine probably will not be good but I was hoping she will wake up. My plan not going to work as she says she cannot control the marks.

Have to reserve comments till I see her papers.

Hi mummies, have been reading this forum and i felt exactly the same with all the mummies here. Sigh... a bit disappointed with her English which is only 80.5/100, but no complain on her math 92.5/100 though. Did not coach her science so cannot complain on her 85/100. Now keeping my finger crossed for her CL, only know her score for paper 2 34/45 and her comprehension is really bad, only 3.5/9 marks. I have a feeling that she may get band 3 for CL. Now thinking how should i react infront of her if she really gets band 3.

Anyway, now that the school holidays are drawing near, let us just rest for now and start our tedious studying schedule next term. I guess the kids also need some breathing space.

Agree with CL - so far, all your kids did quite well..my gal will be getting her paper back today..I am just praying that she will pass her English and science, band 2 for Maths and chinese.

Though I still hv my expectation..but we really shd not be comparing P2 and P3..the standard is vastly different..I hv not seen so much "han zi" before I touched my gals' chinese compre..and the science questions..even I was baffled by some of the questions in the assessments.

I think this shd be time to wake up the kids, and let them know, that good results are not to be taken for granted..consistency in revision is crucial and they hv to be disciplined to do the revision themselves. This part, I feel is more important in getting the As.

wow...seems like kids are scoring well.

my son's results have slipped.
English: 81.5/100
Maths: 92/100
Chinese: 42.5/45 (Pending for oral and compo)*keeping my fingers cross
Science: Result not back yet.

My son was smart to tell me his maths results first before his English result. He said: Mummy, my english barely got 90. It dropped by 10 marks and is in band 2.
*faint* though I have expected his compo to put the overall results down. but 10 marks... Waiting to get back his papers to see where have the marks been lost.

For 1 moment, he said he was disappointed with his results but the very next day, he is back to square 1. Haiz...

fz: my son has 2 CCA, IT and Malay. Thus he stays back 4 days in school. Out of which 3 are till 3.30pm while the other is till 5.30pm.

Avril,
Precisely. On that night that I scolded my son, he was depressed for a while for the poor results. Next day he is back to square 1. Sigh.... I've to stop myself from nagging at him repeatedly. He said he's sad and he don't like mummy (because I scold him). Then daddy said that he's a sensitive boy so I should not put him down further. But if I don't remind him, I'm worry the results will continue to slip from band 1 to band 2 and band 3.

Hi avrilf, good to hear that compo is able to get back. My kids' school does not allow any disclosure of compo and oral marks, thus I will never be able to see and know which area they need to improve.
Will get to know the overal marks during end of term and we got to 'calculate' and estimate ourselves the marks for the oral and compo.

My ds also needs to stay back 3-4days in a wk, comprising of 3.30pm and 5.30pm dismissal.

DD only got back her Eng & CL paper2. She lost a few marks due to careless mistakes. As I "promised" her before the exam, I caned her hand twice for every 1 mark lost due to careless mistake. I'm ok with her results but I want her to associate punishment with carelessness. Carelessness is an attitude problem and is difficult to overcome unless one makes a conscious effort to do so. If not corrected, it will follow the kids all the way to adulthood. Cannot imagine how if a doctor or driver is careless ..... I was very angry when she lost 20 marks due to transfer errors and grammar mistakes in her school mock tests. Adding oil to the fire are the comments that her teachers wrote on the papers e.g. how can you make such an error, please revise your p1 work etc....

Now keeping my fingers cross that she reduces her careless mistakes in her science & maths papers.

so far my ds is able to take my nagging but after awhile he's back to square 1 too... think most kids are like that. Different kids behave differently and their treshold of our anger differs. My dd cannot take my scolding (I was really impatient and quick temper whenever i coach her), thus she has become very resistant to me liao.. She refuse to let me check her bag, refuse to tell me any homework, nor coach her anything. Am quite regretted over this...
Currently I rely on my ds to help 'coaching' her if she needs some help bec i really can't hold my temper.... think i will need a super long period to build back that bond again.

Thus mummies, i think encouraging our kids more than scolding and yelling will helps you to be closer to the kids.

maisy, avrilf and natelleh,
thanks for sharing. good to hear that your kids are doing/coping well despite the heavy CCA commitment. told husband that we should accept a band 2 marks together with good CCA instead of a low band 1 marks without any CCA. feel that CCA is crucial in cultivating a lot of qualities and good childhood memories and I don't want him to grow up like me who had been all work and no play when in school.

natellechim,
Your dd sounded like my dd2. Perhaps you want to try praising her for every single task that she does well. Some kids thrive under compliments. So they will automatically do more 'right things' to receive more praises from parents.

mommies

Now I'm in panic mode. My dd's english paper 2 result is below expectation. I just called 2 centers to enquire. Timing not ideal & fees very expensive. Sigh...
I signed her up for english creative writing last month, after teacher feedback her compo no good. Hubby thinks I should let her continue with that writing class while I coach her on paper 2. But her paper 2 result is not satisfactory either. If she continues with mommy learning lab, I'm worried her result slide some more leh. Not easy to coach english, seems to me twice the effort yet half the result. Dilemma.

Chinese paper 2 I know I've to guide her personally. Her kind of standard cannot go for group class. So I merely sign her up for chinese creative writing. I feel that the reason her CL paper 2 result slipped is because we spend too much time on Science this term. I've to balance between these 2 subjects. But really not enough time!

And the stressful thing is her Science teacher is behind schedule. They didn't have time to cover last topic's workbook and revision book before exam. Without much practice, go straight to exam. End up must self study a big chunk on her own. And the scary thing is my dd told me her classmates already knew that topic teacher hardly covered because they had tuition. So that set me thinking again, like that need to outsource Science too?

Alamak, every subject outsource, where got time to rest? If burn out how? My dd is not the can chiong type

And next term, besides her regular CCA, she has to stay back in school for another additional day. So busy!

So I told hubby maybe we should cut down on her non academic enrichments. Hubby said non-academic ones help her to relax mah, should not cut. Ok, I understand but still doesn't solve my problem of 'squeeze for time' leh

Yawn,
I suggest you think of your own strength. Which subject do you think you can coach better? Then focus on that and outsource the other to an expert aka tuition/enrichment. I also resist over reliance on tuition but seems like it's becoming essential in today's education system. Btw, is the maths supplemental class or tuition? My gal's maths is not very good. I'm coaching her myself but still thinking whether to get external help.

yawnyawn,
yes! time no enough. next term, my son's monday afternoons burnt for school activities, tues and friday burnt for CCA, sat creative writing and swimming, sunday chinese! wednesday likely visit my ILs and thursday visit my mum! told my son that we need to make full use of this jun holidays to cover next sem's topic because he simply has no time left when sch starts. luckily he sounds cooperative and did not whine (yet!). i'm already struggling to manage his time despite being a SAHM and my son complained about missing me when he spent too much time in school. so i really salute FTWM and their children!

Yawn Yawn
Mayb u wanna drop creative writing and focus on brushing her English first. I dunno abt you..but I feel that english foundation is very crucial for writing. In my case, I need to focus on my gal's grammar, get her to read more books. And grasp the comprehension technique. Her teachers keep telling me she is weak in interpretating English passage..hiaz

my gal is weak practically in all subjects..she is attending group tuition for Maths and English. I am thinking if I shd let her do Science as well. As of now, she is staying back in sch 2-3 times per week..plus swimming class on weekday, tuition on weekends, music on weekends..really fully stretched. Weekday after school, she will do her homework, learn spelling/dictation, then follow by tuition center assessment and then my own assessment..I dunno if I send her Science class, will she have time to relax or not? I also do not wanna remove her non-academic enrichment..need to have some balance..

Like what u mention, her classmates know more than her, bcos they attend tuition class which tend to teach one topic in advance. Even for her, she is coping better in Maths now, compared to last time, cos of tuition. Thus, I cannot let go of tuition at this point. Too risky..she is now borderlining between band1 and band2.

Thus, I am hoping to spend this june holiday to teach her Science. English/Maths - I leave it to tuition center.

Yawn Yawn,

Personally, I tried to squeeze time by sending dd to the same centre for more than 1 subject. I will usually check with the centre whether they have lessons (different subjects) that are one after another and sign dd up for such classes. This helps to save up on the travelling time and effort.

For CL paper 2, I attack the paper by breaking it down into sections. The first few sections can use the booklet which Jolene mentioned :课文词语手册. The compre section, I teach dd the answering technique.

Yawn Yawn,

Usually for Chinese creative writing class will expect the students to be good with their 词语 etc.

My son is having the writing class at HUA and the teacher commented he does not know certain words. She even commented for P3 to score their qtrly exam 80+ is not very good. Cos when they go to upper level, Chinese is ever tougher. My son only scored 76 but I was happy cos slight improvement compared to the previous qtr.

By the way, his school Chinese teacher has been asking them to write opening and closing paragraphs which I think is not a bad idea. Thus I will continue to ask him to do at home for both English and Chinese.

I think you should focus on the grammar, vocabulary and comprehension.

Like you, I was desperately looking for english class at Mindstretcher for my son when his compo fares badly in school. Plus his teacher gave some sample of his classmates' compo to read. Then I realised why his P2 teacher commented alot of his classmates had caught up with him in compo writing.

Science is not an easy subject to teach. Thus if you cant cope, it will be better to send her to tuition class. Certain centres continue with their teaching during school holidays. Therefore if you have decided to send her for Science tuition, then you better look for 1 now.

Lucky I can nag my hubby to revise English and Science with my son while I concentrate on Chinese and Maths.

Recently I asked my son if I should sign him up for Math tuition next year @ Mindstretcher. His reply was: Mummy, I dont want to go there everyday.I prefer you to teach me.

I am already worried if I can cope with P4 Maths because my friends are telling me it is very difficult.

P3 is only halfway through and I am already worrying for next year.

Avrilf,
P4 onwards, there will be fraction, ratio, percentage which are the killers. Then the branching method, unit transfer methods which are totally new to me. I've been reading up and the questions are v tough. I'm now just reading 1 semester ahead of what dd's school is teaching.

Jolene - yr kid's sch is so efficient..

I got back my gal's scripts this afternoon..gotta sign and return by tomorrow morning...so now I am rushing to scan a soft copy in my PC..intend to "blank out" the answers and corrections and get her to re-do again during holiday.

Her grades were within expectation..was disappointed with her Maths, which is supposedly to be one of her better subjects. She only got 60, the worst marks among the 4 subjects. But to be fair to her, this paper was not easy..if I compare this paper with her usual topical tests..this one is a real killer. Some questions were structured like mindstretcher's mock paper..hence I was quite upset that she did not get the questions right. She lost abt 6 marks due to carelessness...hiaz

For Science, she left out 5 questions in the MCQ cos she overlooked..10 marks gone!! Heart pain..
Paper is reasonably okay..her marks was partly pulled down by the written answers part. I think she has not grasped the answering technique..

English, was surprising okay, ..thought this gonna be a doom paper for her..but she did better than I expected, esp the cloze passages. Her weakness are still compre and listening compre (8/15!!). Her audio skills are very lacking..

Chinese was a bit disappointing..though she takes higher Chinese, but she takes the normal chinese paper (same for all students)..and she only gets 76.5. She told me her Chinese teacher wants to speak to me in the next PTM..

Maisy Daisy: You are scaring me. I think I buy 1 textbook and read it as my bedtime story.

Jolene: The school is so efficient.

Bebe75: I have not had his scripts back yet. Will scan once he brings them back.

I think your gal's teacher is expecting the students to score well. My son told me that his Chinese teacher said whoever scored below 40/45 for paper 2 must work harder as the result is not very satisfying.

My son has scored 42.5/45 for paper 2, 16.5/20 for compo and 21.5/25 for oral. Now pending for his listening compre results.

As long as they missed out 1 pg of questions, there goes the marks. Can totally understand your heart pain.

Am still waiting for his Science results. Worried for his written answers too. Usually he can score well for MCQ.

as usual, for those who are keen to exchange of papers, I am willing to help consolidate and send to those who contributed.

Avrilf - my gal left out 2 pages!!! The best part is, I saw her scribbling some words on one of the 2 pages..so I cannot understand how she can miss out those 2 pages...hiaz..

I told her she has to buck up and get at least 90 marks for her Maths SA2 - otherwise the overall marks for P3 will be greatly pulled down by her poor SA1 results..

Yr son did well..I think no problem for him to get band 1.

the snow city - Thanks for sharing..I am keen as well..but hv to check the dates, as it clashes with her mind stretcher class..

Natelleh - I am keen..but need time to blank out the answers..will send you once I hv done that..

Need to spend some time drafting out time table for her to do her assessment books..I went Popular yesterday and bought 4 books on English published by EPH
- Fun with Grammar (Upper primary & Lower Pri)
- Fun with Vocab (Upper pri & lower pri)

These are like guide books with comic strips, activities pages..seemed quite interesting..reminds me of The Young Scientist..
Wanted to get more of Chinese model compo books..but was blurred with so much choices..prob will ask her sch teacher to recommend me..

no prob, bebe75. ya think i also need to gear my ds on his Grammar. He lost marks in grammar, his eng enrichment teacher also commented that his grammar is very weak. thanks for the recommendation about the book, will try to hunt it out from Popular. Now still have the 20% disc coupon from the mag right? I have yet to collect it.

Yes Natellehcim. There is discount coupon in this month edition.

I am keen to exchange the papers too.

Bebe75: Hope so too. He even recalled I forced him to practise his oral till 12+ before I allowed him to sleep.

Recently I bought a compo guide with 成语,好句 for decribing the person, weather, etc. I think is not bad.

natallecim,
my computer is spoilt. do you accept photos? ie can only for reference, but don't think can print.
i want the science sect b of various schools including the model answers. free past year paper's answers are usually quite poor.

hi fz, can try photos and see if they are clear for the mummies to download.

regarding the 课文词语手册, i ever bought the one with CD portion. It is quite useful but i find abit dry....

ok natellehcim,
we can only bring back the papers next week during PTM. will take snapshots of science. i am keen in exchanging science with answers (so mummies, pls leave the model answers intact) because without model answers, difficult to see how to improve section b.
many thanks!

Hi fz, natellechim,

Yah, I went through the 课文词语手册 with my gal. Each book only costs $3 plus. Like what natellecim said, it is very dry and boring, imagine having to explain the meaning of almost every single phrase. But it is the short cut way to acquire as many related phrases in the shortest time. E.g. the word 学 is the 识读字 in textbook but the kid is expected to know 上学,学校,学习etc during exams. The guidebook includes all these phrases. If we rely on the kids to acquire these phrases via storybooks, it will take a long while or if we use dictionary, it can be tedious to flip through the pages.... Nevertheless the guide is only good for tackling paper 2, doesn't help for compo.

Avrilf,
I believe if we have laid a strong foundation for the child now, he/she will be more prepared for tough exams later on. Maybe I'm too kiasu but always heard my friend telling me how tough the upper primary is. And knowing how laid back my children are, I must be more on than them. LOL.

Natellecim,
Suggest we do not blanko the answers on the exam papers so that we mummies can refer to the 'model answers'. We can make extra copies and blanko on our own before letting the kids do. I'll send to you if my gal gets back the exam papers.

I made a copy of all my girls' papers too and would like to exchange too.

Thanks natellehcim will scan in one with answer and one without for you.

hi cookiepie, you bought $3? i bought the 3A at $5plus if i'm not wrong. I forgotten about this book and only found it 1 wk before my ds' chinese SA1. hahaha... but played it on the PC, let the 'teacher' teaches him. I only pop in once a while. learn from PC already quite dry, can't imagine if we read to them ourselves, think will doze off... LOL

natellecim,
There are more than 1 publishers out there for such guide books. Think we bought from different publishers.

As for the exchange of papers, I will scan and send to you once the school returns it to us for keeping.

Many thanks for your kind advice & sharing

mindstretcher at tampines
- any feedback for its English and Science classes?

Growan at parkway
- any feedback?

Jolene,
Well done. Your gal did well.

I still haven't get some results so don't know what's her overall results. If no further adverse results, I believe should be around 85%. Ds didn't do well this year so if he can get 75- 80%, I'll be v happy.

Mindstretcher, Tampines and Katong:
Good feedback mainly for the bishan branch. Aside from that, my friend commented the toilet is in the swimming pool (tampines) and outside the building(katong). Doesn't look v secure. I've a girl so safety is important to me.

Hi natchellechim and mayst daisy
Thanks! Very competitive as she is in the best class but have spoken to her tutor on her overall result she find that that there is great room for improvement... Hope she can do better in SA2

My P2 gal told me that she flunked her Chinese 44/100..and the best part is she did not feel upset so long as she was not the worst in the class. She said the lowest in her class is 8 while the highest is 52. I dunno if this is cos of difficult papers (have not seen the papers yet) or cos this class happens to be the weakest in Chinese. Her classmates are all "jak-gan tang"..all speak "queen english"..how to improve Chinese when they hardly speak chinese!!!

The other day, both my gals were arguing and to stop them from arguing, I told them to use Chinese..true enough, my P2 gal shut up immediately..remained sulky and said "wo bu yao shuo le!!" I had peace for a while...

I would like to share the papers too, but my son has returned all the papers,except the english paper.

Is that ok?

By the way, I remembered that for this year Mathematics SA paper, there is this mathematics question whih I find it challenging.

It goes like this:

In figure 1, there is 1 square.
In figure 2, there is 3 squares.
In figure 3, there is 6 squares.

Question, how many squares will there be in figure 8 and figure 16?

Yen Ling

for fig 6, answer = 1+2+3+4+5+6 = 7 x 3 = 21

ie 1+6=7, 2+5=7 and there are 3 sets (6 divide 2) therefore 7x3 =21

So for fig 16
answer = 17x8 = 136

I have not thought my gal on the abv method cos I doubt she will get it..so dunwan to confuse her..it will be good enough if she can get fig 6 answer right by doing the manual way..

Bebe,
Yes, that's what my son did.
So for figure 8,
it is 1+8=9
9X4 as there is 4 sets of 9.

For figure 8, he used the same method as yours.

Bebe/ Yen Ling,
Can clarify further? For fig 16, why is it 17 x 8?

For me, it is 1+2+3+4+5.....+15+16.
Hence, 4 will partner 16, 5 will partner 15.
Total 6 * 20 + 1+2+3 = 136

maisy daisy,
1 partner 16, 2 partner 15 etc ie there will be 8 sets of 17. so 17x8

yenling,
did the teacher teach this in class? so tough!