(2002) Any 2002 babies?

CL,
thanks! didn't know that it is more expensive than berries.....cos i thought if creative writing alone, should cost cheaper than main curriculum price. lolz.

fz

Me too, dropping Maths for English. That center super lousy, teacher on MC for months yet they try to cut cost, no replacement teacher, center managers stepped in to teach, my dd ended up with 50% mistakes in her worksheets! When I feedback to them, they said my dd is not that good, that's why a lot of mistakes. What nonsense?!!

Previous teacher (the one who went on MC) did a much better job teaching, my dd can understand and hardly make any mistakes. She said the center managers don't know how to explain concepts clearly, she gets confused by them instead, waste my money
4572702.gif

Yawn yawn,
The centre u mention is qt jialat. Is it the one at Simei? I think u mention b4. I went there last time to enquire. The lady ended up trying to convince me to join private tuition at her home. So unscrupulous.

maisy

Agreed, Simei one very jialat. I enquired there before but instead of explaining their course, that auntie tried to dissuade me from signing up. I was so irritated by her that I went to Marine Parade instead. Who knows equally jialat, cannot deliver at all. Super fed up.

I think the best center is at Hougang. The problem with franchising is it's not easy to ensure good management. But Hougang center is way too far for me leh. I still like the programme, just cannot stand the way franchise center is run, no quality assurance

Maisy,
apologies for late reply. difficult to post question here cos it's in diagrams. anyway, i'll try my best to explain.
de question has 4 diagrams a, b, c & d. each diagram is a triangle and each triangle is divided into 2 parts, left n right. in these 2 parts r 2 nos. diag a is 8 on left, 6 on right; diag b is 7 on left, 4 on right, diag c is 9 on left, 3 on right, diag d is '?' on left, 8 on right. so wat is '?'?
if not clear, pls refer to St Hilda's 2009 Maths SA2 paper, question no. 5. heehee ... thks.

when's PSLE marking days?

will wait n c my gal's CA1 results in P3 b4 signin up for tuition cos wasted 1 1/2yrs wif her chinese tuition. has stopped since may dis yr n her results r still as gd ... was kiasu then so din wait to c her results b4 signin up for tuition.

Juz me,
i'm not takin leave. have asked my gal to do exam papers as revision.

Chicken little,
where do u find passages for yr gal to practise readin?

any kids finished their oral? wat conversation topics were tested?

My gal had mock test for math she lost 10 marks for making silly mistakes.... Scolded her left n right her class has one Malay boy scored 99/100....

Jolene: I am registering him at the Bishan outlet for every Thursday 7.30 - 9.30pm class. It will be starting from Dec 9. Hope they will still have vacancy on 18 Oct when the registration is opened for public.

Jolene,
mock test got weightage in the report book?
sometimes careless mistake can vomit blood....like my son's class CL test (luckily not in report book), he missed out 1 page and lost 8 marks straight away.

Hi fz
Luckily the result will not be reflect in the report book...both my hubby & I gave her a good scolding....she can even tell us her results considers good already as some of her classmates only scored 60+ *faints*.. initially thought of letting her do her own revision for this coming SA2 to see how she manage it but I decided that I have to do it with her now. I
don't want to take the risk plus I realize she is weak in doing heuristics sums going to drill her on that area

Hi Jolene,
I think you did the right thing. My son also don't bother much when he did a practice paper in school and in the end, he scored badly. When he reached home, I scolded him until he cried. SO for the subsequent paper, he managed to score back his usual marks.

I am also interested in Mind strecther, but currently location is a problem.

Hi jh,
Could it be that the numbers must be in the sequence?
Diagram A add up to be 14, Diagram B add up to be 11, Diagram C add up to be 12 and Diagam D add up must be 13?

I just make a guess.

fz, jolene

sometimes it's a good learning experience for the child too. My dd lost marks due to careless mistakes in mid year Maths exam (counted in report book). I only said 'aiya, so wasted hor' and she started wailing. That's because she already scolded herself right left center the moment she received her paper. A simple comment from me also cause an outburst of her frustration. Nowsaday I just remind her how she felt when she lost marks due to carelessness

Sometimes these children has to learnt the hard way ...it's not that they don't know how to do it's just that they do not check their work thoroughly....I hv to keep reinforcing on checking her work but she just don't listen *sigh*

sometimes these children only learn when they get scolded! lolz! tell them nicely they still make the same mistake; sometimes must scold big time then they do better for the next paper/assignment; but....sometimes they have short term memory!! after a few rounds, back to complacency! faintz...

Hi all, i am having problem getting my dd to concentrate on her revision on weekends. Especially when my 2nd dd (4 yrs old) started playing or watching DVD, my P2 dd will loose her concentration. But i feel bad if i stop my 2nd dd from doing all that...Sigh... how nice if my hubby can help to entertain her... just hope the exams to be over soon...

chuayl,
btw, 5 is de correct answer
i, like u, thot dat was de explanation, but dun noe how to explain to my gal cos dis answer dun really have a pattern or logic ...

any mummies noe wat's de chinese term for 'cashier'? de person is 'shou(1) ying(2) yuan(2)' right? how abt dé 'cashier counter'?

my gal's sch gave her some possible topics for oral conversations to practice at home eg my favourite dessert, the importance of eating healthy food & the importance of spending time meaningfully (tough!)

fyi, in case any of yr kids r still crazy over Geronimo Stilton, though now may not a gd time to start them watchin
, it's showin now on Okto every mon-thurs for 30min at 7pm.

GS,
I let my boy watch GS every weekdays to destress. Compo and listening compre exams this week.

Valerie,
i let ds2 watch tv in the living rm. ds1 revise his work in the study room with the door closed.

jh,
yes, cashier is 'shou(1) ying(2) yuan(2).
cashier counter or rather counter is 'gui(4) tai(2)', so i reckon cashier counter is shou ying gui tai, i think. (i think info counter is 'zhi(1) xun(4) gui tai'.

My gal's form teacher banned them from reading GS books. Reason being alot of mis-spelt words example famous GS spell as famouse

My gal has been given mock paper to practice in sch.. Hope it helps her in preparing for her SA2.... She got back her English mock paper her result drop as compare in p1 cos she doesn't has any SA1 this year.,. Pray hard that all our kids can score well in their coming SA2.... Jia you!

jh
sorry for delay. I just use those comprehension passages for her to read. At the same time test her understanding and use the comprehension questions to test her on oral.

For me, while P2 gal is doing her revision, my 4 year old boy will take out his books to do his writing practice and colouring. So no conflict of interest. ha ha. I have a very hao lian boy who wants to show off his work and cannot lose out if we praised his sister for doing her revision.

My girl just finished her maths test yesterday. This thur will be the SA2 English Paper 1. But I am very worried after reading her practice papers in school. Too short, no content, aiyo full of grammar mistakes. I only left 2 days, what can I do woh ??? And I still have a Chinese test to tackle on Friday.

Jolene,
The school didn't specify banning GS books but misspelt words are a worry. It's same as writing singlish...

My kids having their oral this week. Next week is PSLE marking day so no school. The week after that is exam! These few days revising with them on Oral. I intend to let them do exam papers starting this weekend.

how to prepare listening compre? dig the ears? lolz.
my ILs want to bring the kids to their pool tomoro...i worry that water may get into my son's ears and affect his listening compre on thurs...am i being paranoid? lolz.

Jolene
My girl exam over already, because some people tell me chinese is not counted. So i quite confuse and cannot find any information on web.

Jh, thanks for informing the show on GS. Too bad, my son is unable to watch as by the time he reach home the show is over.

Pin, Wah...exam over. So nice.. Mine yet to begin. Today just started the chinese oral.

Mummies, on the last week of sch we are travelling, initial suppose to fly back for the last 2 days of sch before closes, now the flight schedule changed (thanks to budget airline!) 1 day later. When do you think I should inform the sch?

SA2 - wow, most of yr kids started their paper earlier than mine. My gal just had her Eng Compo paper on Monday. Yesterday she had Chinese Oral and today English Oral. Next week, She would have Eng paper on Monday..and the week after next (end of the mth) she will take her MAths and Chinese.

I am totally hand off this semester..I think she would pass but not sure if she can get band2. Her Chinese is, surprisingly, quite good, considering that she hardly speak chinese and we have no chinese tuition. She said she was among one of the few who got >90 in her class. While I encourage her to do better to get Higher Chinese class next year, I am also worried if she will find it difficult to cope, esp when I heard that P3 is a difficult transition period for P2 cos of Maths and Sci subject.
Talking abt Maths...the ony revision she had was the weekly topical assessment which I asked her to do..so far she is doing fine..except careless mistakes. It seemed that she has "opened up" more in P2..able to understand Maths concept better compared to P1. I dare not push her to do those challenging sums in case she gets turn off or demotivated. If she is steady..I think she shd be able to score >75.

Tuition @ Mindstretcher
My gal has started taking English with Mindstretcher@ Bishan, cannot comment much on the progress as we only started last month. But I do like the materials - very systematic and exam-orientated. The writing part is also quite good as the teacher highlights interesting phrases for the kids to apply in their compo. The center have some mock oral sessions with the kids last month. I have signed up P3 Maths classes for her as well. But for Sci, I will put on hold first and see how she progresses. When I ask my gal if she likes Mind Stretchers - she said tiring and she preferred Morris A. I think the latter was much more interesting and fun but it does not teach much on exam techniques..

For those considering Mindstretcher, share with you that I was on waiting list for weekend classes for quite a while, so be Kiasu a bit..try to register or reserve earlier. I am sending my younger gal (on waiting list) P2 classes next year. She is resenting cos she thinks she does not need tuition, but I find that she can do more challenging papers, esp Maths. Anyway, she likes to write and so I think enrolling her to English classes to brush up her grammar for better writing.
When I last check with the Bishan centre on their writing class 2 mths ago, they told me they are waiting for enough students to open up classes. But if I am keen, I can send my gal to their Serangoon outlet and transfer back to Bishan when the latter is avail. I find it hassle to do so and drop the idea. But if they have classes in Bishan, I might take up if timing is okay.

Bebe,
Your gal's exam ends in end Oct. It's not too late. My kids have their oral this week, compo last week. Last week of Oct is the rest of the papers. Good that the school spreads it out so it's not so xiong for me to revise with her.

Is your gal taking consecutive classes in English and Maths? Would it be very tiring? I saw some enrichments with consecutive classes. Quite "tempted" to drop the kids there for 2 lessons in a row then no need to waste time travelling.

Hi Maisy Daisy
I also prefer the sch to spread out the exam date so that I can have more time to revise with her. Gonna make use of the 4 days of PSLE marking days to revise Maths/Chinese with her.

MS Eng/Maths
Yes..will be taking these 2 classes back to back from 9am to 1pm. No choice leh..cos she cannot attend classes on weekday. And I think morning classes are better than afternoon cos her mind will be fresher. Of course, it is more time effective for me to send her there. I promise to let her go library or swimming after the classes.
Anyway, I try for a term and see...if it is too taxing for her, I will drop one of the classes.

My #2 is having P1 exam. Stressful to teach both at the same time. Good thing is certain materials are duplicate e.g. language subject like Compre, Compo, oral etc so I can teach both at the same time.

hi maisy

Nice to hear from you. Your P1 is boy or girl.
After i guided her and ask her to write she say don't know how to write compo. How u teach? Compre also don't know how to do.Teacher say vocab n grammar are bad. Did u buy past year exam paper and let them pratise. Do u know where to print ?

I am contemplating between Mind Stretcher and
Just Education. Anyone tried Just Education?
But I am looking at Science and also P1 Preparatory class for my boy next year. My gal just cleared her compo yesterday.. Hers was abt a overturn truck with durians drop all over the road.

My #2 does not have P1 exam this year, but (I think) they have some mock papers to do. I had a hard time trying to get her to do assessments..I told her that I will give her my own exam based on assessment books..

bebe,
you can print online past year papers for her to gauge her understanding.
i find that doing away with exams gives us parents more headache. no CAs ok, but no SAs is a no-no.

Justjazz,Jolene
But quite rush, because the exam of three paper is continuos 3 day, no time to revise. Furthermore still got streaming this year, quite worried.