(2002) Any 2002 babies?

maisy

Author Madeleine L'Engle. Published a few books

Received book as X'mas present hence only read this 1 so far

jh,
My gal is also crazy over tiara club & geronimo stilton. Other than these books, she still reluctant to read chapter books, prefer those with more colourful pics.

yawn yawn,
wah so good your kid likes "charlotte's web". Mine finds it too heavy reading, stops after reading a few pages. I think a "wrinkle in time" will even more "chim" for her!

yawnyawn
sorry, not nhg, is SNEC - singapore national eye clinic. my boy was given the slip to go there to check eye last year cos optician cannot check for below certain age de. i think P2 can go optician already.

Jh, cookipie

My gal is also very into Tiara Club..I used to get Enid Blyton for her, but she finds them too wordy..and prefers to have pics on every page. I am letting her be...so long as she is reading..
The only problem is she does not like to read non-fiction books..difficult to widen her general knowledge..not sure what will happen when she has to do Science in P3..

Bebe,
Agree with you. I find that gals usually prefer fiction and boys non fiction. I try to borrow from library a mix. Hopefully she will at least flip through them. My boy is more visual and prefer factual. So if I borrow usborne encyclopedia, he will flip and read some. Next year when science comes along, dunno how to cope loh.

hi yawn yawn,
My son's specs costs $96. Recently, I came acorss one shop that is cheap. I had my son lens changed for the price of $30.

I bring my son to an eye specialist in ang mo kio after the school issued him the slip.

Me too. This year I subscibe both level 1 and 2. Also subscribed Little Red Dot through the school. I feel the kids qt motivated to read young scientists.

My girl like Mr mystery, i think this is more suitable for boys. Can i check is Roald Dahl cheaper in popular or oversea spree as i would like to buy a set of it.

Yen Ling

Subscribed through the school. I remembered slightly cheaper than popular. 2nd year renewal even cheaper at $50

My girl is also a big fan of Tiara Club.

My stress starts liao. This year I did not give my gal Maths Enrichment and I realise she has big problem with addition n subtraction with renaming within 1000. Aiyo. And if she do subtraction for the ones and tens, suddenly she might do addition for the hundreds. Headache headache and she will be having her first topical test this friday.

Another thing she shared with me, she dun like her maths teacher so I guess it is also part of the reason she lost confidence and interest in the subject.

If I coach her she will rely on me for the answer. If I dun coach her I think she do better.

Bebe,
My gal finds enid blyton books very wordy too and "outdated". She commented that who wants to stay in boarding school, no freedom at all!

Seems like young scientist magazine is a good way to introduce kids to science. For subscription at Popular bookstore, do I just go to the counter and subscribe on the spot? Thanks.

chicken little

Try Sakamoto? They claimed to follow MOE syllabus.
However, my dd started only last month, too soon to see results.

Personally I prefer assessment books over enrichments but hubby is keen to try for a few months

Yawn yawn
For me I try not to pack her weekend as I need to put in 1 extra swimming class for her on Sat after her Berries Class.

So maybe will get a tutor to my mum place to coach her instead. ha ha.

yawn yawn,
how long did your gal take to finish 'Kira Kira'? my gal only read de 'I can read' version of 'Charlotte Web' in K2. she picks up non-fiction when she's in the library.

my gal started wearing glasses last year. tried v hard to find glasses below $100.

Yen Ling,
where's dis shop u bought glasses for $96? not many shops have varieties for kids' glasses.

bought non-current Young Scientist series ie 2009 last dec for $50 fm popular. sch didnt offer. my gal loves them too.

cookiepie, bebe, CL,
r your gals interested in Rainbow Magic? mine prefers dis to Tiara Club but more books in de series to buy
so ex!

Maisy Daisy,
do u know how else to order Little Red Dot if sch dont offer?

Pin,
I bought my RD set fm overseas. it was cheaper then. is anyone organisin overseas book sprees now?

my gal's sch gave us a form to authorise deduction fm edusave for entry fees for de 2010 International Competitions and Assessments for Schools (ICAS) in Aug. did your kids receive? heard it's compulsory.

Maths
Chicken Little, I am stopping the maths enrichment early Mar and so will be teaching my gal myself. I prefer to let her do the assessment books so that I can focus more on her weak area. Her enrichment class is not following exactly her school syllabus and I do not want her to get confused.

My gal is like yours, very careless with the renaming in addition/subtraction within 1000. I have to make sure she practises the technique on weekly basis..otherwise she will give me all her nonsensical workings ie. addition suddenly become subtraction, forgetting to rename or rename to the wrong values etc.

One good thing is that her sch has biweekly topical maths review, so it enables us to have consistent revision on weekly basis. So far she has been getting 75 - 85 marks, and I am satisfied with that. Now, my main issue is to get her to manage her time better in the various sections, as she has problem completing the problem sum in time.

Tuition
My hubby is keen to engage a private tutor to teach Maths and English Writing but I am having second thought. Hence, we have decided to try out doing away with enrichment classes and tuition for the first half of the year and see the results.

My major concern now is her Compo/creative writing. It is a struggle for her as she is very dependent on me to write a decent piece.

Reading
I expose my gal to Tiara Club only this year..we borrow the books from the library. There is no way I will buy the whole series collection, not only it is expensive, I am also running out of space to store books.

Prior to Tiara Club, she was reading "Charlie" collection by Hilary McKay..only 5-6 books in the collection so she completed them during the last sch holidays.

Re Rainbow Magic, I have not started them yet, but I have seen them in the library. Probably will start them after she completes the Tiara Club. How many books are there in Tiara Club series? I have lost tracks which are the ones that have been read.

Re Young Scientist magazines, I downloaded the sample copy from their website n my gal seemed to like it. I guess it is because they are easier to read compared to Asian Geographic Junior Instead of the annual subscription, Can I get the individual monthly issues from the Popular?

ICAS
This is the first time I have heard of this. Does this apply for all subjects?

bebe
I have about 8 Tiara club books ha ha maybe I can lend out because she usually do not read them again. I bought those with 2 stories.

For me Chinese goes to Berries. Creative Writing now she is attending Lorna Whiston as after school enrichment. She seems to enjoy it but I also notice she is not able to complete the story within the stipulated time.

For Maths, I am going to start drilling now as I think the CNY holiday she is getting too lax liao.

If anyone has any recommendation for maths tutor, do let me know.

Ya I also did not receive anything on ICAS yet.

Anyone member of Hokkien Huay Guan ? Asking on behalf of a friend as she needs a signature or recommendation by today before she flies off to Switzerland tomorrow.

jh,
My gal not interested in rainbow magic, though it is similar to tiara club series. I casually suggested that she read mr midnight. Her immediate strong reaction was "No way. I dun want to have nightmares!" hahaha.....

Any other sources to get p2 2009 exam papers besides mskoh.net? Noticed it has not been updated with 2009 papers. Tks.

cookiepie,
my boy's teacher do not recommend ghost stories for kids. my boy watched the Cafe13 show on Okto (sunday) and he couldn't sleep at night for 3 days!

did you mummies watch Spellcast2? some of those kids are amazing!

Bebe,
in my opinion, young scientis is worthwhile getting the whole series. They learn science as well. Last year, there was an article on Seahorse. From Young scientist, we now know that seahorse is a fish and starfish is not a fish.haha so mummy learn together with the kids.

Re; ghost story
My gal is v timid leh. Even Harry potter, she dare not watch. so better don't frighten her. Jeremy Strong's books are qt good although my gal finds it a little wordy.

fz, maisy daisy,
I suggested that my gal read mr midnight coz she told me she saw a lot of p3 boys reading it ... guess beta dun let her read, scarly need to sleep with the light on!!!

I have greater problem getting her to read chinese books. She finds them boring. I tried ordering from dangdang website in china through a spree, yet to receive the books. Hopefully the books from china are more interesting than those we get over here.

I never really watch spellcast but saw snapshots of the show during commercial time. Yah, the kids are amazing ...wonder how they can do it!

Hi Pin

You can try Fabian Ng or Simon Eio assessment books - they gave step by step illustration of using models on various kind of problem sum.

Maisy Daisy

Re Young Scientist, you are right, it is more worthwhile to subscribe for the whole series.
Today, I had intended to go Popular to enquire and take up the subscription, but the weather was so hot and humid that I decided to stay at home and do it online.

Pin
hmm...not sure if there are any parent guide book for model drawing. Does yr kid's school conduct workshop for parents? Maybe u can try seeking help from school. My gal's school does that, and their workshops are quite popular, esp for maths. The syllabus of today's education is vastly different from those of our era, it will be good if the school can teach the parents so that we can support our kids better at home.

Last night, I wrote an email to my gal's English teacher, seeking help on improving her writing skills. I checked with several mummies and all of them had the same concern that their gals are relatively weak in writing. Or perhaps the school has higher expectation? I am reluctant to enrol her to writing enrichment class after school hours as I do not want to exhaust her.

The other day my P1 gal lamented, "Primary school very 可怜, cannot play , always have to do homework and learn test. Can I go back to learn in Kindergarten?"

Hi Horse, welcome to this thread and thank you for sharing your resource for free download of exam papers.

Mummies here are very friendly and helpful. Very often, I gain knowledge from them and share my frustrations about my kids with them.. ha.. ha.. although i hope to share more joy...

Just feel free with us...

Horse,
Welcome welcome! Wow, thanks for the resources. Really packed with exam papers!

Chicken Little,
Yes, for Math, have to start drilling now, because they are learning modelling and soon, next 2 terms, they will be learning fractions and geometry...so their visual concepts of Math need to be very strong. I am monitoring my girl to see if she needs Math tuition too...cos I am frightened those tuition centres may end up confusing her. But everyone tells me I should be enrolling her in Math tuition, sigh.

Pin,
You can refer to their "My Pals Are Here" textbook for modelling drawing. I found it quite useful, and kind of gotten the hang of it. My hubby bought an MOE book on modelling, but it is too brief and rather cheem, as it covers all the way from primary one to primary six.

Bebe75,
Your girl's school is very good! Even has workshops for modelling!! Hm, I think the best way of enriching writing is back to our good old days - getting them to read more? I find it helps, really, especially books from Enid Blyton.

My girl likes to read Rainbow Magic and Enid Blyton books a lot. She recently completed the 3 Faraway Tree books series (I loved them so much when I was young as well) and she is halfway through the Wishing Chair series.

Hey, since most of our kids (esp the dds) are reading Rainbow Magic, Tiara Club, etc....we should start some exchange marketplace here! I see her series of Rainbow Magic books hoarding my bookshelf and it is unlikely she will reread again - so very tempted to do some exchange or sell them away! Hee hee.

bebe75
Yeah my girl always compare with her younger sister. "why she so good luck no homework, why my life so bad". haha

linette
Tks, will take a look.

Pin,
my elder boy also compare with his preschooler bro..."so good, he can watch tv, i must do my work." :p

Horse,
Thanks for the sharing the website. Came in useful for CA1, heehee...

Pin & fz,
my gal also constantly commented "mei mei so good, dun need to learn tingxie & spelling ..." My standard reply is "You also had your good time when you were in kindergarten."

I just subscribed to Young Scientist from the website. Hope to receive the 1st issue soon!

Hi Linnete , idea of book exchange marketplace or selling away as 2nd hand is nice!!
at least we can clear sm of the old books & get in new books for our kids to read...... ;-)

ICAS,
i have received. for my boy's sch it is not compulsory. and they only taking part in the Computer Skills category.

I'm new. May I join in?

I've learned a lot from your exchanges. It re-affirmed my thoughts that our kids are losing their childhood fun becos of our education system, which in turns fuels our kiasu culture (one generation to the next). Aiyah, what to do??

Linette - I agree that the MOE Modele book is rather cheem. I skip all the intro, thoughts, n b******t (pardon me). It probbaly won't work if the kid is left on his/her own to figure it out. But for those parents who are keen to learn the model method, then coach the kid, then it might be useful. I also catch-no-ball with the model method, until I refer to the book. At the lower level where it only involves addition and subtraction, the model method is easily understood by us (adults) becos of our understanding of algebra. Being visual helps. Just my opinion.

Pin - I agree with bebe75. I let my gal attempt the questions in Fabian Ng's model method assessment book. Before each exercise, there are a couple of examples to illustrate the use of models. My gal usually read the examples, then attempt the question. But hor, after a while, I realise that she just copy the method blindly. Had to "reverse" the effort, and make sure she understood the concept. I use the MOE Model Method for my own understanding and teaching. It does get complicated at the higher level. Scary!!

Yes! I'm fully supportive of the book exchange idea. We've accumulated quite a few Tiarra Club n Rainbow Magic titles so far. Now she's bugging me to buy Enid Blyton / Roald Dahl n Geranimon Stilton.

Hi aly nat

Welcome...I also notice my gal copying the method blindly..so subsequently, I just randomly ticked certain questions for her to do or alternate between different assessment books so that she can apply different model methods.
However, I think at the end of the day, practice is still the key.

Writing
My gal's teacher had replied my email, and even called me up personally. At least now, we can set our expectation right.

Reading is one of the ways to improve writing, but first I must encourage my gal to start writing...to get used to exploring ideas, penning her ideas/thoughts in words. My gal likes to read but hates to express. If I asked her how she spent her day in school or whether any special events/happenings to share with me...she usu kept quiet. I got most of the news from her classmates and their parents. hiaz.

Show and tell
The sch will start the show and tell next mth...the gals are encouraged to come forward to do the show/tell as and when they like (not compulsory, just need to tell the teacher and teacher will set 3-5 min for them to present in class). My gal already told me she will wait for her classmates to finish their rounds before she does hers.

CL
Natas fair is here but club med still expensive, i choose clubmed bintan and for 2 adult and 2 kids, the price is 3000 plus. Cannot get the deal you had last time.

Morning everyone,

I spent the weekend helping my gal to prepare for her ca1, teaching her to do 3-step maths qns which came out in the mock test .... tough!

For mummies who are already subscribing to young scientist magazine, can share when the 1st issue is expected to arrive? Thanks.

Pin
ya i saw. Realli glad to grab the deal last round. Maybe economy picked up so the pricing increase too.

Cookiepie
My gal just finish maths topical test last friday. This wed is for Chinese. haha asking her to revise is so tough. She just find it so mah fan. Last week more motivated because last sunday she got a birthday invite. So can bribe. This week she lazy bones again

Bebe,
i agree. de Tiara Club n Rainbow Magic series r more than $10 at Popular. i only started buyin recently fm a friend who closed down his shop n was sellin at $6/bk! n they r BN!! heehee now my gal has almost de whole Special Fairies series n Green Fairies series. tink will buy somemore 2-in-1 TC fm him ...

can check out ICAS at www.eaa.unsw.du.au. realised dat some schs let parents choose which subects to take. my gal's sch only chose Maths. it's an assessment to gain your kids' achievement at an int' level cos open to a few countries.

who conducts de maths workshops at your gal's sch? i'm attendin 1 dis wkend at my gal's sch by FAN-Maths. wonder if they sell their bks at a discount like last yr.

cookiepie,
r de chinese bks cheap after shippin costs? Maha Youyi carries lots of children's bks fm china ...

Linette,
yes! i loved de Magic Faraway Tree series too!! hope my gal likes it as much as i did

chicken little
Your gal's school std quite high hor..teaching 3steps model...mine is only up to 2 steps models.

Talking abt the topical review, today my gal got back her topical review for model problem sum...did very badly, only 5/15. She got the model right but unable to relate her drawing to equation form. Her first step is correct, but second steps all wrong. *faint*..I have to start from the basic again...urgggghhhh...just now I tested her again on the model using the assessment books..and she got them correct. She is really not stable. Her daddy said she prob was tired during that day when she did her test. I am not so sure, but I know she can easily lose her focus when doing maths.

Jh
The maths workshop were conducted by the teachers themselves, a good chance to talk to the teachers n get feedback as well

CL,
Tomorrow is her last paper, Maths and also her weakest subject. I can't wait for the 1-wk holiday to be here.

jh,
Not sure if the price of the chinese books fm china will be cheaper after adding in the shipping charges. Will feedback here once I receive the books. I have been inside maha youyi at bras brasah complex, a lot of chinese books but prices are not cheap.

bebe75,
My gal's school also taught 2-step problems only during lessions but 3-step problems came out during mock test.