(2002) Any 2002 babies?

This year, my gal's school only have Sa1 and Sa2. No Ca exams. Pri 1 - has scraped all exams and grading. Feel relieved that there are less exams. Otherwise whole year like rollercoaster ride.

Hihi, I was also very confused by all these tens and ones. Chicken Little, I read in an assessment book that the "value" of 0 508 actually refers to the "place value" (1st time I learned about this term!). I think Math is getting tougher for me to teach, cos we have to relearn everything! Anyone can recommend a good Math tuition centre?

2 more "thinking" questions I got from her worksheet on Monday:

1) Read these clues and tell us your answer in this format: _____ tens ______ ones
a) I am a number
b) I am bigger than 29 but smaller than 50
c) The digit in my ones is twice the digits in my tens (something like that)
d) If you add up the digits in my number, it is an even number

2) (pictorial work)
apple + strawberry + durian = 30
strawberry + durian = 20
apple + strawberry = 18
What is the value of each fruit?

(2) is slightly easier than (1), but for both questions, when my daughter asked me how to do, I was stumped and had to spend a few minutes away from her, poring over the questions (and trying not to let her see my sian and bewildered face, haha)

These questions are in the "Put On Your Thinking Cap" section in the Math My Pals Are Here. Any mummies had done this with your kids?

I dread to see the questions in our dear children's PSLE exams next time...sigh....

Hi Linette

This is how I would teach my gal
Q1 Assuming the digits are TO.
With clue (c)..I will ask her to think of various number combinations (test and trial)
T O
1 2
2 4
3 6
4 8

Since clue (b) states that range is from 29 to 50, the possible answers are 36 and 48.
And clue (d) will tell me that 48 is the correct answer as 3+6=9 (odd) and 4+8=12 (even).

Q2 - Similar questions had appeared in my gals' P1 worksheets, and but now in P2, the had added more variables. Just have to let her practise more often to get the techniques.

Sometimes the questions can be quite tricky and lengthy..it really turns my gal off. I have to tell her not to treat them as problem..but rather as a game, puzzle and try to solve it.

There are some assessment books which emphasis on heuristic approach avail in the market..u can go to popular bookstore to take a look..I pick up some of the techniques from there (Algebra method which we learnt during our times are not effective way to teach our kids).

I am still pondering if I shd send my gal to creative writing class. I notice that she has been getting creative writing assignment every week..and this week..she has to write 2 pcs..it is a dread teaching her writing..as I have to sit besides her and guide her throughout the whole piece...hiaz..

Hi Linette,
you may want to use the following explanation for your gal for similar qns in future. This is what I learnt from my ds' last yr.

you can put the equations into the eqns to answer...

apple + strawberry + durian = 30 --> eqn1
strawberry + durian = 20 --> eqn2
apple + strawberry = 18 --> eqn3

apply eqn2 into eqn1:
Apple + (20 which is eqn 2: strawberry +durian) = 30
therefore Apple = 30-20 =10

then you apply eqn3 into eq1, you will get
(18 which is eqn3 Apple+strawberry) +durian = 30
Hence Durian = 30-18 = 12

then apply the no of apple n durian into either of the eqn you will be able to get no for strawberry

Hi Linette,

Here is my answer:
1) Answer: ___4__ tens ___8___ ones

Apple = 30 -20 = 10
Strawberry = 18-10 =8
Durian = 20-8 = 12

Hi Linette
I think we need to use model to explain to the child. With the increasing complexities in questions, we need to familiarise the kid with models.

(Apple)(strawberry)(durian)
<------------30-------------->
--?------<----20--------------->

Therefore, apple = 30-20 = 10

<--10----><----?--->
( apple ) (strawberry)
<------>

Strawberry is 18-10 - 8

Hi Linette,
maybe you can try sakamoto.
I heard that it is good and I will enrol my kids there. Now still working on the schedule.

Hi Linette, try this method. Narrow down her choices sentence by sentence

Firstly get dd to draw a line and on the left side put '30'and on the right side '49'. She can then visually see that the range is 30 to 49.
Number is : XX (2digit)

? : XX (3X or 4X)
30 -------------- 49

We narrow down further by working tens and ones. For tens, there can only be 2 options :
3tens ?ones or 4tens ?ones

(a) 3tens 6ones (since ones is double tens) = 36
or
(b) 4tens 8ones (since ones is double tens) = 48

Last sentence says that the total of the 2 digits must be an even number. So let's add the digits :

(a) 3 + 6 = 9
or
(b) 4 + 8 = 12

Therefore 48 is the answer. Is your dd's school using Lead? They have a very interesting activity with simliar questions like that.

Question 2 will depend on how strong is your understanding about wholes and parts. Has your dd learnt models yet? By using models, your dd can visually see the wholes and parts, it's supposed to help. I've done it step by step for ease of viewing but it's really not necessary.

For younger ones, it's good to let them practise step by step, so that it's ingrained into the system. I know it's tedious but over time, they'll get better. My main frustration is my stubborn dd wants to skip the steps altogether because she feels it takes just too much time. (sounds just like me when I was young)

3558896.jpg

Shawn
Interesting leh. You know hor Charmaine still dunno model school never introduce that

Mummy
what maths assessment do you recommend ?

CL,
my boy's school also did not introduce model. i think they are still learning addition and subtraction. his 'digits' concept also i taught him.

CL, the model's coming up soon. I see the topic in LEAD. NYPS' not using it?

Likewise, Ash's school has not started but I introduced to her last year. I like the visual aspect.

Shawny
Same here. My gal's school hasn't introduce but I started her. It gives better visual effect than thinking whether to subtract or add.
The teacher production provides a step by step intro.

Wow...Maisy! U already started using Teacher's Production? Mine is still in the original packaging *giggles*

Model is usually introduced during end of Pri 2 or in Pri 3. I taught my son last yr as it was easier for him to learn.

I gave my son both questions stated in the forum for him to try. Careless for the 1st qn on digits as he missed 1 point or another. But in the end after 2 tries, he got it right.

For the fruits, he used the model and got the correct answer on 1st try. Thus I think the model is good

Maisy Daisy, Hi-5! Being a visual person myself, I like it too. I find it really helps when they are doing comparison. Dd's sch uses Teacher's Production only for English. Quite helpful as a guide I find.

CL, you can çhk out 'Step-by-step Maths Problem-Solving Using Models by Simon Eio (EPH). I followed his series since P1.

Avrilf
I was stapling a whole box of exam papers so started to take out the teachers production too. This year, my ds also started P1 so I look at the box (last year was 1/2 box) of exam papers to staple + complete - very depressing. Better let her start doing early.

Yday my gal got 15/20 for her maths bcos of many careless mistakes. She skips all the steps and anyhow do. Hb was so angry and ban her 1 month can't play Wii until she gets a full mark for maths again. How to prevent this type of laziness+carelessness?
Worry for her SA...

Maisy: Every week I will give my son a surprise test on addition, substraction and multiplication.
For every wrong mistake made, he will be penalised 10 cents. If the mistake still occurs after he corrects, it will be double.
Hope he will be more careful. If not, mummy will be richer *haha*

My dd just started with Sakamoto. They are using model method for all the problem sums. Her school has yet to cover model drawing

My gal's sch has started model drawing..now she is doing 2 steps word problems in school. I find Fabian's assessment book Problem Solving Process quite good in guiding her.

Creative writing/Compo writing
I remember one of the mummies here had sent her kids to attend LW Holiday writing class. Do you have any feedback? I am tired of coaching my gal to do writing at home. She has to write 2-3 pieces of pic compo and compo writing per week. Hubby wanted to engage a pte tutor for her..but I am not sure if I can get a good and reliable one. Anyone has good recommendation?

Hi yawn yawn,
Which Sakamoto school does your dd attend?
In hougang area?

I am trying to get my son to get there. But the school does not offer much slots.

Hi bebe75,
I just recently came across Lewin Education from a distant relative. The P2 creative writing acutally consists of science. It is very interesting and I get the feedback that a lot of kids enjoying going there.
I have also enrolled my kids and they will be starting from next month.

Hi Yen Ling
thanks for recommending..Hougang is a bit far for me..Hubby is traveling most of the time and I have to be the one sending them to class most of the time. With #3 coming soon..I am looking for classes near TPY/Novena/Bishan area.

My gal has homework daily..and she is very slow..can spend almost 1.5 hour doing 6 problem sums. I kept reminding her to speed up..cos she shd not be spending more than 10 min on each problem sum. But hubby advised me not to rush her, but i am getting impatient with her. I haven't really pushed her to do any assignment at the moment..but I think I better start soon before her mid year test comes.

Bebe
If she is slow, it could mean she is merticulous. My gal finish e paper v fast but many mistakes. She jus want to get over and done with.

bebe75,
your girl's sch quite academic.
my boy's sch is still like honeymoon period....not much homework to be seen.

fz

My dd has daily homework since P1. This year workload increased, I think 30% more homework than last year, mainly in Chinese. She said her teachers are very kiasu, want them to be the best class. However, I feel like complaining because teacher assigns homework on weekends too!

Yen Ling

Hougang Ave 6 is the headquarter. I prefer that center because the rest are franchise. But too far to travel there leh

Yawn Yawn
My gal also has homework on weekends..she also has to complete a piece of writing (to be submitted on Monday).
We are cutting down our outings on weekends to make sure that she can complete her homework and learn her spelling and Tingxie. I do not remember I had so much homework during my time in P2..hiaz

The teacher just returned my gal's latest writing work which I helped her to complete. Her score for content is only 7/12, and language is 6/8. This shows that there is very limited I can do to help her in creative writing. Hubby said I probably shd attend creative writing classes myself before I attempt to teach my gal.

bebe

I'm keen to attend creative writing class too. I think Lorna conducts such course.

Any mommies attended before? Do you find it useful?

I am impressed by the quality of answers for the 2 Math questions! My girl's school had not started teaching her models yet, so I think I better start learning to teach her.

And yes, a lot of homework in P2. Yesterday, she was slogging over 10+ pages of Math homework to be handed up the following day! Whew.

Yawn Yawn and Bebe,

Lorna does conduct Creative Writing Workshop for parents. But we juz missed the workshop for Getting Results in Composition Writing.

I am wondering if I should take up the short course: Strategies for Teaching Writing.

Anyway I am signing up for 2 workshops: Getting results in Phonics and Reading + Getting results in Oral Exams. Still thinking if I wanna to sign up for the comprehension workshop.

Avrilf,
How much are those courses? English is not my strength so I supposed I should outsource instead of worsening her grades..haha.

Yesterday, my gal came back from school w her Maths worksheet. Almost every sheet has a mistake and mostly careless ones. The teacher put down many comments. Sigh.. Gek sim.

Short Courses for Adults

Strategies for Phonics and Reading
- Five Tuesday Sessions,
- January 14th, 21st &amp; 28th, February 4th &amp; 11th
- (15 hrs to complete) 6.30pm - 9.30pm United Square,
Level 4

- Five Wednesday Sessions,
- February 10th, 17th &amp; 24th, March 3rd &amp; 10th
Level 4

Strategies for Teaching Writing
- Five Thursday Sessions,
- Jan 12th, 19th &amp; 26th, Feb 2nd &amp; 9th
Level 4

Maisy Daisy
This is the details I have found from LW website..but it did not state the fee of the courses.
Timing is not good for me as I have to fetch my younger gal from sch.

Workshop 2 : Getting Results in Comprehension
When : Friday, 5th February 2010, 7pm – 9pm
When : Saturday, 20th March 2010, 11am – 1pm (venue to be advised)

Mr Wade Bhatti, headteacher of Lorna Whiston Study, will present this workshop on comprehension skills aimed at helping parents to help their children do well in English. If your child has difficulty with answering comprehension questions, this workshop is ideal for you to help your child at home.

Topics to be discussed include:
1) Looking at different types of comprehension
2) Developing the skills of prediction and inference
3) Nurturing a love of reading

Parents will find these interactive workshops informative and extremely helpful. With 30 years’ experience working within the guidelines set down by MOE, we understand exactly what students need to succeed in school.

Hurry! Each workshop is limited to only 50 parents on a first-come, first-served basis.
To register, please call Elaine at 6252 3529 or
email [email protected]

Venue for all Friday workshops :
101 Thomson Road #04-23 United Square Level 4, S307591

Cost for each workshop :
$20 per person for Lorna Whiston parents
$40 per person for others

All workshop materials and light refreshments will be provided.

I saw this on LW website, contemplating to sign up. Today is definitely out...will be keen to sign up if the venue is at United Square.

My gal does not have any writing assignment this week cos her English teacher was sick (*phew*). That gives me some breathing space to revise Maths with her.
My gal is having Maths topical review today..hope she stays calm and minimises all the careless mistakes..

Check with you mummies..when your kids do the problem sums and write down the answer statements..do their teachers penalise them for wrong grammar or spelling? My gal's sch teacher would mark my gal wrong and made her do corrections. I am perfectly okay with it, in fact, I have been getting her to check those answer statements before she handed in the worksheets to teachers. My gal is relatively weak in English grammar and I hate to see her lose mark in that manner.

I noted that MPM does not care about the answer statements..so long as the answer is right, the teacher will mark the statement as correct. Hubby said I cannot fault with MPM as we are paying for Maths enrichment, not English enrichment. *sigh* Anyway, I will be stopping MPM by Mar.

The strategies courses are $481.50 each. Min 6 to start the class. Maximum 25.

I have yet to decide whether to sign up for Strategies for Teaching Writing cos my hubby said not necessary.Maybe I should ask my son's teacher for feedback. Last yr she only mentioned that he did not express his own thinking in the oral.

The workshops are on fridays thus will be held at United Square.

I have signed up for these 2 workshops:

Workshop 3 : Getting Results in Phonics and Reading (Part 1)
When : Friday, 26th February 2010, 7pm – 9pm

Workshop 4 : Getting Results in Phonics and Reading (Part 2)
When : Friday, 5th March 2010, 7pm – 9pm

Mrs Anita Wilks, headteacher at Lorna Whiston will share with you tips on how you can help your child develop reading skills through a multi-faceted approach with a functional understanding of phonics to give your child a head start in reading.

The two workshops will cover:
1) Reading big books
2) Reading and understanding sentences
3) Learning to recognise high frequency words
4) Learning to predict words from the context
5) Using the knowledge of phonics to help decode new words
6) Developing an enjoyment of books and reading for your child

Workshop 5 : Getting Results in Oral Exams
When : Friday, 9th April 2010, 7pm – 9pm

In this workshop, Mr Nick Cheadle, Headteacher at Lorna Whiston will discuss and share tips with parents on how they can prepare their children for the oral exams at home with coaching and practice.

The two workshops will cover:
1) Developing good speech techniques: a look at the influence of pitch, pause, expression, volume and enunciation
2) Tuning into note-taking and listening for gist
3) Increasing success with picture conversation and reading aloud
4) Sharing tips to prepare your child for the oral exam

Strategies for Teaching Writing
Tuesdays March 2010 : 23, 30 and Apr 6, 13 &amp; 20
15 hours to complete)
Course Fees: $450 + GST (materials incl.)
Will be held at United Square

This dynamic course will help teachers and tutors:
• Make their writing lessons more exciting and vibrant
• Develop their ability to design, plan and produce effective creative writing lessons
• Infuse drama into their lessons to help students develop ideas
• Introduce new and interactive ways to teach a rich and varied vocabulary
• Incorporate language games into their lessons to help students further develop language and
written skills

Participants will receive a certificate upon completion of their course.

For further details, please email: [email protected] or call
Julianna at 6469 2118.

Wishing all the mummies here a happy and prosperous lunar new year. May all our kids be more independent and perform well in their studies going forth.

Xue ye jing bu, wan shi ru yi!

Adding on to cookiepie's wishes,

Wishing everyone here ABUNDANCE OF HEALTH &amp; WEATLH.

May all our kids be attentive in class, obedient at home and achieve good results in the coming CA1, SA1, CA2 and SA2.. ha.. ha..

What are your P2 gals reading? Mine's still crazy over Rainbow Magic, The Tiara Club &amp; Geronimo Stilton. Maybe cos her friends are still reading them. But I thought those are for K2 and P1s! Hope she'll not outgrow these only after she finishes the whole series!!

She only started asking for Roald Dahl books recently cos her English Stella uses "Charlie and the Chocolate Factory'.

What are the P2 boys reading? Wana know so I know what to buy for friends' kids ... TIA

jh

My dd's top 2 favourite titles are 'Kira Kira' and 'Charlotte web'. Read and re-read.
She's also into Roald Dahl, Geronimos series, Enid Blyton, Beverly Clearly.

By the way, you can consider 'A Wrinkle in Time'. I think it's suitable for both boys &amp; girls.
It's science fiction, heavy reading for P2 level so my dd is reading it rather slowly compared to the rest of her story books

jh,
my boy is into non-fiction. i borrowed those short and interesting Q &amp; A books for him. so limited time for reading at home, so he'll usually choose non-fiction over fiction books when it comes to his reading time.

yawnyawn,
my boy should be needing glasses soon cos he went for his eye checkup at NHG last year.

Yawn yawn,
Who's the author for Wrinkle in time? Is it a series? my kids like Pinky and Rex. It's quite simple but interesting. Other series include Jeremy Strong's books, Animal Magic series.

Fz,
My boy also prefer non-fiction and comics. They are recently crazy on chinese comics series. I borrowed from library and also bot from Msia.

How do you know whether the child need specs?