(2002) Any 2002 babies?

Teachers' production publications - I only heard of this this year. I think the sch only use the handwriting book for 2010.

Sch will reopen next year...must start to tune and adjust their holiday moods liao..I have been rather lax for the past one week during the xmas festive seasons (no assessments books)...now I gotta restrict their TV time, reminding them to go to bed earlier and wake up earlier. That also applies to me...ha ha..

sigh
my gal just had a fall yday and will be in cast in 1 week time. She is going to school with a full cast lasting 6 - 8 weeks

Only consolation is it is her left elbow with the hairline crack so she still have her right hand to write.

Now my problem to solve:
1.Toilet how to manage with squat toilet in her class building
2.Recess and after school lesson - how to get food
3.Carry her bag with one hand to class and after school to school bus

sigh sigh sigh what a way to start her 2010

hi chicken little, sorry to hear that. Maybe you can talk to her form teacher. I guess they will tag a classmate to help out with her. Or her classmates will sure willing to help her.

CL
sorry to hear this news. yes natellehcim has good point. Talk to form teacher, maybe extra time allowed for your girl & the classmate.

Carol, Nat
she is doing fine because the first few things she had in mind is 1. pink arm sling 2. barbie glamour jet for her bravery 3. no gymnastic for PE when school reopens ha ha

Had email to confirm if the form teacher is still the same then will follow up

Oso inform bus driver to give her the front seat.

CL
is her sch bag trolley type? It may be easier for 1 hand even to carry up stairs if P2 class is on 2nd level.

My son's trolley bag (Ben10 $40) was spoilt after 6 mth. Had been bugging to buy another one. After emphasizing not to rough handle, bought pokemon for $20+ from Popular Fest.

Caroline
Good idea. now thinking back since she was on second level. now that she is 2L likely 3rd level. oops I cannot think of how high she need to carry the bag. Hmm maybe get a cheap one which I think after dragging all over for 8 weeks it should be a gone case. ha ha

Hi CL,
Sad to hear that your gal had a fall.
Hope that she is recovering.

Hopefully, she will be completely well before the CNY.

Hi bebe75,

Yes, me too. My kids had only need to buy them this year too.

Hi CL,

Sorry to hear that. Hope she will recover soon.

Cl,
Hope your gal recovers soon. On a bright side, she can remove her cast by CNY to wear the pretty new clothes ; )

Bebe75
I also need to adjust myself. Has been lazing around too much since I took many days of leave. Haha..

Hello all P2 mummies,

How's everyone? It's the 1st day of P2 for our kids ... despite the rain this a.m., I can't help feeling excited .... time for us mummies to work hard again!

CL,
Is your gal beta now?

No Worries mummies
My gal went to school single handed and still able to carry the bag with 1 hand. So no change to trolley bag.

Already pass all her books to teacher this morning. I am actually praying for no cast when she go for review tomorrow because she can raised her affected arm.

Hee Hee I was looking at the P1 with their parents. They look so blur so can't help thinking back 1 year ago how we looked.

All the best to our 2010 P2 kiddos and let's work hard this year.

Happy New Year!

CL: Sorry to learn abt ur daughter's fall.

A brand new school day!!! Time to start our engines again :p

Yes, a brand new school day... And it starts with a heavy downpour... sigh...

Anyway, had gone to the school earlier with my kids, and there's lots of anxious parents, including me (cos I got another one in P1 this year)... Luckily, both are okay...

hi all mommies
would like to ask for your precious opinion.
my gal studying at Bukit Batok LianHua primary school , currently juz started pri2.During P1 registration exercise i intended to put het in St.Anthony, but though we stay within 1KM , still there were only 65 slots over 130 candidates!! i & my husband worried tat we might not get the place during balloting , so straightaway we put her in Lianhua.today i juz heard frm my friends tat they had transferred their kids to better schl eg: Rulang, CHIJ etc. They asked me to give a try on calling the schl.I m hesitating, do you think it's better to do so?

Ling

No harm trying I guess. May not have vacancy especially if it's a highly sought after school

I called to enquire before school holiday & before school term began. Not a single vacancy available for the school I've in mind

Hi Ling,
I oso just head from 1 colleague that his sister oso did the same and managed to get into St Nics at P2.

No harm trying. Lian Hua is new school. My niece now P4 was in Lian Hua P1 too as she did not get in with the ballot. My sil transferred her to CCK Primary from P2.

CL,
i thought about transferring my boy too. but then he'll be from a big fish in small pond to a small fish in big pond; very tough decision to make. but very keen on the affiliation. St Anthony is affiliated to SJI - want my boy to go to boys' sec sch leh.

Ling,
I read from elsewhere (forum) that there are rumours that SAPS may shift to a temporary holding venue whilst the school undergo upgrading. do you have any neighbours/friends to check this up on??

fz,
unless you have a concern with current school and if your son is doing well it is ok.

Like my sister she cannot tahan the stress in SAP schools so even with fantastic results she went to Temasek Sec and chose poly. And she fare much better than me who went to NYPS and Dunmnan High. So different pple will respond differently.

Ling,
You can give it a try. If your kid can perform, can change him to better sch. Moreover, it's nearer to your house. But agree with Fz to check about their reno plan.

dear mummies,
my boy's teacher issued warning notices to kids who forget to bring books, learn spelling etc and my boy got his first note today. 3rd notice and need to meet parent; my boy is very very upset...although a lot of other kids also receive the note. haiz...hope he don't have phobia going to class (he said this teacher is very fierce).

fz

So serious ?!

My dd made to stand outside her classroom quite a number of times last year. I thought that was severe enough.

Wow, warning letters!

yawnyawn,
dunno if i exaggerated; but it is a slip of paper with the list of 'wrongdoings'(eg didn't bring book; didn't do homework; didn't learn spelling etc) and the teacher will tick on it and then will also write if it is Warning #1 or #2 and need to get parents to sign.
haiz, given his character, worry that he may lose interest in that subject under the fierce teacher.

fz

your son's teacher quite demanding hor? At P2, I think that teacher needs not retort to issue such as warning letters. It can be quite stressful for the kids.

bebe75,
that is what i thought so too. not sure if it is because my boy is in the top few classes. had told husband that if this gets worse (ie instill fear in kids), we will request for transfer of class cos the stress is not worth it.

I think for kids that are thin-skinned one (like my elder gal)..they will be fearful of attending that teacher's class.

Though it may instill fear, it also helps to get the child to be mindful of their work. I rem during my A level years, I had this lecturer with powerful memory. She could remember which students skipped her lecture or did not attempt her tutorial work. She will mark them and test them in front of the whole cohort the next time she saw them. During my time, there were only 3 classes taking her course (and so we do have combined lessons with other 2 classes), and I was one of them that kena marked during the tutorial. Very malu but I learnt my lesson. From thereon, I make sure I did my work first attending her before her class. It helped me in one way or another. But I do admit that I hate her and the subject to core initially, I just want to prove her wrong that it is not that I could not make it. In the end, I did well for her subject to be one of the best students in her class. I still remember her teachings..without her..I doubt I can enter uni.

But then now we are talking abt 7,8 years old kids, not 17,18 years old teens...so this method could backfire in one way or another. Try monitor yr boy first..and talk to the teacher before transferring him out.

thanks bebe75,
my husband was very heartache to see my boy crying the moment he reached home from school. my boy said that he had been holding back his tears (he is the very thin-skinned type) since that incident. now i just have to ensure that i brainwash him every morning before school. :p hope he come out of this braver.

fz, felt so sorry for your boy.
My dd has a handbook where she will write down what the teachers' need for the next lesson (if any). Normally i will check and remind her. Maybe you can ask him causually is there any thing he needs to bring for the next day lesson.
In the meantime, just tells him that this is just a general letter and not targeted at him.

thanks Valerie,
think after this weekend should be able to bounce back.
but from this incident he did learn that some friends are more valuable than the others. he said that when he was very upset most of his friends (those who played with him during recess) shun him during recess (i think maybe he looked very fierce when his face is black). he thought he lost all his friends. but he said 1-2 of them tried to cheer him up by telling him jokes.

Hi Fz,
Feel bad when I heard that there is such punishment. Or maybe the teacher is using this method to let the kids be more responsible?

Try to talk to your son and tell him that the teacher is trying to help him to be a better person.

Just like my daughter(who is in P1 this year) is afraid to go to school. One of her fears was that she saw her teacher scolded other kids. So I just ask her back. Why did the teacher do that? And her reply was the kids were naughty. So I made use of this and told her that as long as she behaved, the teacher would not scold her.

FZ,
I feel that's not right for the teacher to do that. Only 8 year old. It's qt normal for a kid to forget this and that. This fear may affect the child's learning. My boy recently was made to stand during assembly. When I ask him why, he refused to admit nor explain. Sigh... He is one of the thin-skin type.

ohohajazz
my girl is oso doing such exercise over the weekend. I put it as 400 ones.

There is also another question. what is the value of 0 in 508 ?

Chua Yen Leng,
ya, explained to my son already. think he will remember this lesson for a long long time.

maisy daisy,
my boy is thin-skin too. dunno how to train him to be mentally stronger.

ohohjazz,
my ans will be '400 ones' too.

chicken little,
can say the value of '0' is '0 ten'? :p
so what is the answer?

Hi all, my answer too is 400 ones. But according to one mum, the teacher told them is 0 ones, 400 ones is wrong. Hences the kids are confused.

I suppose depend how the question is being asked and answered. I think the below answers are all acceptable.
400 = 4 hundreds, 0 tens and 0 ones.
400 = 0 hundreds, 40 tens and 0 ones.
400 = 0 hundreds, 0 tens and 400 ones.

CL, my answer is 0 tens.

hmm i remember there is a question what is the number for 45 tens and 1 ones. So answer is 451.

If 400 is not 400 ones , then it does not make sense woh. Ha ha I wont know the answer till my gal's teacher return the file with the exercise leh

Yup, now our kids are learning the positions of ones, tens and hundreds. IMHO, the questions should be rephrased as "In 400, the digit ____ is in the ones place." or In 508, the digit 0 is in the ____ place." Therefore, the answer will be ones and tens.
What do you think, mummies?

valerie,
i think that your questions are clearer.

CL,
thanks for sharing. trying to get my engine started as i am still in holiday mood. :p

CL
The ans to this question should depend on how it's ask. There could be various answers. Can share w us the right answer when you get e worksheet back?

My gal has similar questions in her worksheets last week..I also think that the answer is 400 ones and value of "0" is 0 ten. Teacher has not returned her papers..I will also post the answers once avail.