(2002) Any 2002 babies?

ya... weekend burnt.. but only half day, can't be help bec he's in the afternoon session, by then reach home too rush for outside tuition. He's having a Maths tuition on every Wed evening.. kind of rush after school.

actually i hv set for half an hr on each subject for every morning...

for example.. 930-10am English, 10am-1030am Chinese, 1030am-1045am Reading. coz i hv to fetch my son from his playgroup at 11am.

so all in all...2hrs per subject for 5days & 1hrs15mins of reading / interaction...

is it ok ?

wow...that is quite rush and tiring for both parents and the child.

Have anyone tried learning lab b4? Thinking whether to put my son there next yr for their Maths class.

wow.. envy your perseverance. lately no more extra progs in sch due to H1N1, no need go to school earlier, my son will wake up... watch tv, then get ready for school... come home, bathe, eat dinner, school homework.. then rest awhile... almost sleeping time.

Rosylnn: It depends on ur child's concentration level and learning speed.

For me,I will spend at least 1 hr or 2 hrs revising with my son on days when I reach home early. If not, I will only be checking the homework I ve given.

natellehcim: I oso heard their fees quite steep. Thus wanna find out if it is worth.

are there lots of homework fm school daily?

my dd's hmework mostly come fm her chinese ...

english & maths are nt as intensive as mandarin..

Rosylnn,
Wah, you are very systematic.

Do you let your kids watch TV on weekday or just restrict TV to weekend? My dd is addicted to TV ... one day without it, she has withdrawal symptom like restlessness

mine have homework everyday. English at times worksheets or assessment, maths is workbook, worksheet or homework book (another type of workbook), chinese is either activity book, 好朋友 or assessement book... sure have at least one of them each day... sometimes 3 subjects together...

2 days ago my son's new CL teacher gave them 5 pages activity book and 5 pages assessment book.. then she told the kids " I know you have lots of homework, so no need hand up tomorrow, will give 2 days allowance". Then my son told me this teacher is so good, no need rush for homework... So you see... kids starts to be scared of homework liao...

I told him I believe you will vote her to be the best teacher if she says no more homework for all of you...

some teachers are really good, some really sucks..

do u think some of our children are actually from the same school?? :D

let me start the ball rolling..

my dd is in Henry Park pri school...

yes i do let her watch tv on one condition..after she finished her homework..

but usually by the time she finished her homework, it will be sleeping time liao...

so only weekends lor....

there are many good neighbourhood schools nowadays...'branded schools' doesnt means its good.. :D

it depends very much on the teachers & our children also....

Haha...cos currently it is the most popular neighbourhood sch in AMK which I am not sure why. It happened to be one of the school nearest to my place.

natellehcim, Valerie

I also feel that the importance of reading is way over-rated. My dd is a big book worm. However, her passion for reading doesn't automatically translate to good writing skills. She can't write despites reading tonnes & tonnes of chapter books!

Rosylnn

me SAHM too. But I find that I've so little time with my dd. She has CCA and enrichment class on weekday morning so two morning gone already. Left 3 morning to revise with her. I usually only managed to cover 2 subjects in one morning. So much to do, so little time! Weekends hardly do any homework because kids are busy attending enrichments, non academics ones

cookiepie

No time for TV leh. Morning of course won't allow her to watch TV since I only have that 3 precious morning to do some work with her. Evening, she's tired after so many hours in school. Usually she'll do some leisure reading or play with her sister before going to bed

Yawn Yawn

i agreed.. so much to do yet so little time!!
your dd is in p1, what cca did she join? my dd's school closed off all cca & enrichment due to h1n1.. it will resume only in aug. Once the cca starts, my dd also will be going for her Art club on every tues morning.

Yes, i also covered 2 subjects in the 1hr precious time.. & 15mins of reading/interaction!

Rosylnn

She's taking Guzheng this year. She said she likes string instruments. Told me she wants to take up pipa and badminton next year.
Badminton also string instrument?

Looks like my dd watches the most amount of TV here, from 7.30 to 9, 10 to 10.30 ..... we are trying to wean her off TV now, heehee .... I must be stricter with her.

Hi cookie,
my younger girl also. the moment she's back home fm kindergartern, her eyes on the tv from 12.45pm, till the time i reach home 7pm..... Got to wean her off if not next year P1 siao liao!

my ds sch got badminton for them to learn beginning this year, once a week but need to pay. $40 for 4 lessons.. ended up i didn't sign him up... only sign him for swimming.

my ds school do not have any CCAs for the kids open for the P1s, except chinese dancing, swimming and badminton. Got to wait till P3. DS looking forward to Wushu.

Ya, Racial Harmony Day what did your kids do in school? My ds' day as usual school day, no traditional clothes. Only brought back a worksheet, need them to choose the correct names for the musical instruments of each races. Eg, Erhu, Pipa, Kompang, etc.

I've just bought a pair of denim shorts (with adjustable waistband) for my girl but had under-etimated her size.. I'm always like that.

Wondering any mummies would like to take over this pants? It's <$10 to let go. PM me for info.

2723147.jpg

2723148.jpg

2723149.jpg

my dd's sch has cca for p1 &amp; p2s but its nt compulsory..

ecca will hv to pay thou, like chess club,golf, ice skating, wushu [by vincent ng]..

my son become so lazy after june holiday...
his CCA just resumed back this week due to the H1N1 thingy.
aiyo he came back to me and told me that he wanted to give up WuShu....can faint.
Afriad that this will become a habit once he lost his interest on it.

Ya,my dd school also resumed some of the cca,ecca &amp; supplementary class this week.

my dd is in the ART club &amp; somehow i think she find it abit bored..but i alwasy discourage her to do it 半途而费..told her no matter what she must complete it this year since this is what she choose to join beginning of the year.

she wanted to join badminton next yr &amp; is already learning it on her own now..

my son started having test...yesterday he brought back his test result...i feel so disappointed with his carelessness....told him no FB for 1 week as punishment.

What is FB? My son also careless.. not only in work but things also... lost his maths workbook again..
last term lost 1A this term lost 1B

wow your kid got facebook liao ah? my son also asked me to create for him but i don't want... bec he will keep pestering to log in check... created an email acct he always wanted to log in and check... want to wean him off from computers...

nat,
not only he has FB..my younger son also got his own account.
Of coz they need my permission to login their FB.
Using FB as motivation for him as he already sick of his PSP.
He is requesting me to get him XBox which i am very reluctant.
How to get his the console with this result?

my son not exposed to PSP yet... june holidays, my SIL passed me an old Xbox (not 360 type) but he don't seem to enjoy playing it.. so I won't get Xbox.. me went to get a DSL to let the kids enjoy the school hols.. but don't they play too much or too relax during June hol, i can see a great diff when my son go back to school after that.. find that he is like very distracted but don't know by what... mind is always not focus... scare will deteriorate his studies.. so tell him he will be banned for 1 mth at least... giving the reasons he don't know how to write all the chinese words taught in school till now.. he obeys it and did not ask for the game... then now he lost his book, i told him if you can't find, will extend 1 more mth... :p

Nat,
we have both the NDSL and PSP...lucky he lost interest on it even with new games loaded.
He is very into fb now...coz he is playing the pet society.

Nat,
I prefer the DSL than psp. More kiddy games.
PSP games can be very adult. My son was playing war games and come and tell me that he got nitemare.

BP
ha ha my girl hor. Still very kiddy in terms of PSP games. All the gal gal one.

Natellehcim,
ha ha what could be worse than my girl. Her student card is lost. I have to do a replacement.

ha... i did not let him have the student card, i kept it. He had lost and spoilt so many water bottles liao.. you see lah.. next year, my girl will be joining, so will have double headaches liao.