(2002) Any 2002 babies?

yes, teacher specifically said cant wear japanese or korean ones ... only chinese, malay or indian. now got to go search her indian costume ...

i received a note informing us about the activities lined up for the kids that day but it did not state whether kids need to attend school in ethnic clothing. so i choose to be ignorant. :p

Joanne
School shoes because she still has to bring PE attire to change fo PE lesson leh. Ha ha I am ready that she will tear the cheongsam in the mist of changing into PE attire

Hi CL
My gal says wearing schl shoes abit orbit so shes wearing white flat sandals. Lucky no PE today but expect her cheongsam will be torn a bit coz shes not a gentle type of girl....hahaha

on 2nd thots, perhpas teacher meant must wear OWN ethnic clothes ... still, must go dig her cheong sum ...

juz checked de sch website - de yr-end exam schedule's out! haven't they juz started sch?!

Joanne,
yr gal's so obedient - willin to drink grow 6+. mine complained of bad taste when i switched last yr n since then, when i made her milk, she took an hour to finish. n even then, will leave some, sayin residue tastes extremely awful. currently givin her fresh milk. now still have 2 1.8kg tins sittin on de shelves ...

JH
you mean yours only for tomorrow? Mine have to wear today.

Mine oso first day of school got the calendar liao. End of Oct will be her first exam.

Very good mine oso wont take powdered milk. Now only take magnolia choco or strawberry. Dunno if every day 1 pack ok or not ? I feel should be ok hor last time when we young oso have that milk programme right each day oso 1 pack mah

jh
mine sometimes aso complained of bad taste & sometimes took half hr to finish! So i asked my hubby to get her to drink as my gal is more afraid of her daddy. Sometimes she aso says residue taste awful. Shes only abt 19.7kg

I noticed that the chinese characters learnt during term 3 gets very 'chim' compared to terms 1&2, quantum leap. Any mummies share the same thought?

yes, noticed that and I like the way the sch teaches them the Chinese. This will help them in future, if not the kids will always depends on HYPY for Chinese. Since my ds started their 课文(一) in Book 1A, the kids need to do 笔记 about the new words learnt in their book. They need to write out the strokes, put the numbers of strokes and also the phrases/sentences that will blend with the new word. But all these are provided by the teacher, taught during their lessons.

natellehcim - I think ur ds's teacher method is good cos they can learn more from it.

Chicken Little - i can understand cos mine oso wrong pi hua.But as long as he knows how to write I am ok.

Have anyone of you signed up for the free talk/workshop to understand how to use the model methods that is currently taught in school? The workshop is called 'Help Your Child Become A Star Performer in Maths!'

Hope I can get some tips from it cos I think my son is extremely careless when doing his maths

Hi avrilf, is there such a workshop outside on this? I find that such workshop is very helpful and good to attend. Me had attended 1 conducted by my ds' sch and had a clearer picture on how the maths is being taught. I find that such model method is very helpful for kids even up to higher pri.

Me interested too leh.. Any clue where and how to registered? Is it free? My dd's also don't care about pi hua. She said the end product look the same what. faintz...

I am keen too for the maths.

Valerie
Yours probably like mine take it like drawing. And I confirm that because she told me she draw chinese words. ha ha

natellehcim: I am also trying to use the model to teach my ds so wanna to know more abt it as his sch has yet to teach them using most of the models.

natellehcim: No pro. Anyway is FOC for everyone

Chicken Little: Sorry to hear tat. Will update u if there is any gd tips

my gal's sch's also doin wat Natellehcim's kid's sch. on top of dat, they penalise if your strokes touch or dun touch each other eg de word 'Tian' as in field. only de top n bottom strokes of de cross inside de sqaure can touch de square but not de left n right strokes! my gal lost lots of points in her mock up exams!!

My girl's chinese teacher did that too.. they hv a 笔抄本 with all strokes .. i think its really good too coz it helps them to understand the breakdown of the characters. Her Chinese teacher also uses the 字宝宝character cards, she got to write the hypy behind ..

Thou her friends are in the same school but different class, some teachers don't do that...so it depends very much on the teacher.

wow JH, I prefer the strictness on the stroke leh..
my ds teacher not so strict on that... this term changed a new CL teacher, think a very young one.

字宝宝is really good.
i bought that before she starts p1, nt knowing that they will use that in school. i bought because i find that its very useful to teach them the chinese character words...

u can get it at popular .. for p1 its 1A & 1B , only S$3.65 per box if i'm nt wrong. I also hv the 2A & 2B... hahaha..

mine havent brought also.

i like de strictness also cos gd trainin for future but at least inform parents before hand so we can monitor her instead of havin a shock durin tests

but knowin now better than knowin later durin SA2

yes i agreed with jh..my girl chinese teacher also very strict.

strict is good but nt too strict as it will demoralised the child's pride.

jh, ya true.. to know earlier better than later.. my ds handwriting is very bad.. sometimes i will make him erase the words if I find them not nice.. :p I'm quite particular about strokes, although the previous teacher didn't really penalised... this new one I've noticed got teach them the breakdown and also where the correct strokes should be starting from, an additional part in his 笔记本. So is really depends on individual teacher's style of teaching. I hope I will not any marking surprises from this new teacher for SA2 :p because SA2 carries 100% weight.

talking about this, my ds english is not so good
Not to say about vocab liao.. really envy those kids who can speak good english... since young we do not have the habit of speaking english loh... only mandarin.

i'm almost in the same boat as u.
my children mother tongue is stronger as compared to english.. thus, grammar wise can be quite tough for them.

so natellehcim, hw do u teach ur ds ?

my girl does has prob with her grammar , recently she wrote a weekly diary, teacher already said its 'past tense' but she uses all present tense .. haiz...

my kids did attend english enrichment classes but up to them pick up liao... but can see that my younger one will be having more problems..
For past tense, I make my son memorise through practise loh... In school they have those 'grammar' guidebook (which popular have similar ones also).. In school, their teacher will teach also... then at times I will print out the present tenses one and ask him to write out the past tense.. for eg, sing = sang, run = run, skip = skipped...., do a few times, more or less should be able to pick up some words.. I remember I learn that when in Pri sch also.. boh bian got to do in such way because if don't master past tense, more tenses is coming.. my ds told me their teacher tell them P2 they will learn the next column which is sing=sang=sung type...

many people says reading story books helps.. but they had read alot but till now still weak in english...
In a sentence/passage construction, the tenses and phrases most of the times make me faint... he likes to pull all his 'ideas' in but all very 'local chinese' construction one.. pengz...

i guess will hv to do more assessments then.

my dd likes to read , she read alot .... i think it does help!! REading is good... so more reading.... :D

Ya.. like my dd, can borrow 8 books from the library but only choose author like Daisy Meadow.. fairy type or some simple short stories and finish reading within the day. Ask her what's the story about, her answer is always i don't know. Words that she dose not understand, she will just skipped. And her vocabulary is very limited.. even tho she reads alot... Composition is 1 picture, i line and not the story type..

my ds' sch compo is about 3 pictures that forms a story. Then write about 4-5 sentences for each picture. Got helping words given. initially my ds never uses those words and come out his own... OMG! passage makes my blood boils (my temper no good one)
Finally managed to make him follow the helping words in future..

my girl likes geronimo stilton & the ladybird series..
now she's reading charlotte's web..
she borrows fm her school library as well...

they r really cute, sometimes they will juz answer your question w/o thinking.. but further probing , my dd will relate what she read to me.

i will ask her to write down what she has read & her understanding of the stories .. fm there, we can know whether they understand what they r reading or nt... but of coz , we muz more or less know what is the story about too..so mummies muz read too!!! :D

jh: I ve an extra seat if you keen.Originally reserved for myself and my friend but she has something on that day.

natellehcim & Rosylnn: during my time, I oso spoke more mandarin than english.

My ds' english is better than his chinese.

Reading can definately help.

my gf who is a tutor told me to study what they study first before we teach them.
for example, u hv to make sure ur grammar / vocabulary are 'fully recharged' before we guide them.

she been a tutor did that herself. she bought those verbs, nouns, adjectives books & start to do it herself,understand the concept before she teach her students.

maybe we should do that first in order to make sure that our children are learning the right thing.

ya, agree with you Rosylnn. For assessment get those that have some guidance on each topics before comes to exercises... think that helps.

yes i bought that for my dd .. esp for grammar ..coz she's weak in that.

i bought one english assessment book, parents participation are involved.. its juz like a SA paper... there r 10 altogether..which i think its quite good... that is if u hv the time to sit down & do together...

I agree with that.

Go through the examples with them 1st before they do the topic.It helps alot when I am teaching Maths and Chinese.

As for English, I leave it to my hubby and ds' teacher from enrichment class.

so at least he has tuitions over the wkends... which means no play during the wkends lor ..

i set a time table for my dd, wkends are all play & swimming lesson on sunday morning!!