(2002) Any 2002 babies?

My girls book oso very giam chai one. Protective cover oso can go missing. I remember when I was young I want it very new.

Hothotmum
My girl needs to be nag but my son 3 years will auto ask for it.

hothotmum,

My girls dont do all those tasks you mentioned automatically. Still being bathed by us, waking up most of the time need to use a cane and meal time must nag for her to come to the dining table...

I tried getting her to shower on her own and watch from the side but cannot make it man... she only wash one spot on her hair, where the shampoo is.. The only choice is to cut her hair short so it will be easier for her.

my ds also came back with spelling list on monday. same as previous, 4 single words, 4 double words and 2 sentences. Going to have his first spelling this friday.

As for tingxie, no more hanyu pinyin
5 chinese words and 1 sentence (for 默写)

2galswithlove, I used to be a angry mum every morning because my dd refuse to wake up and will throw tantrum but since school reopen, she seems to change, after waking her up, she will wash hair, bath & brush her teeth (brush less than 10 sec.) No problem for showering herself and eat her meals on time. But refuse to go to bed at night by herself. Still a big baby....

Nate, my dd had her spelling yesterday. The list was given to them before school holiday. What is 默写?

Valerie
Mo Xie means have to remember the paragraph or passage by heart. Then when teacher says start you have to write everything out on your own.

My gals' spelling list is still 5 sentense i begin to worry she is realli still in honey moon while other kids here are so advance liao.

Hi chickenlittle, don't worry. In fact I prefer your girl's sentence type mann.... 默写 i find a bit too advance for P1, esp they just started learning chinese characters lah.. lucky the sentence not too chim... if i remember correctly, the sentence for the 1st tingxie is 我和小明是好朋友。

after getting my son to try on the SA2 paper from other schools.
But if based on his school standard, he might not able to do well in his PSLE.
They have not even started to write composition and i have not seen any of his assessment from school is on comprehension.

belinda,
P1 sa1 have compo and open ended compre??!!
my boy's neighbourhood sch also don't have. and the few papers that i ask him to do...i didn't see any open ended compre and didn't notice the paper 1 ie compo.

Valerie,

I think my girls are too dependent on me and the maid. She love to chat esp at night when the lights are off and will only fall asleep around 11pm or 1130pm. So waking up at 630am has always been a challenge. But i really wonder, during the whole June holiday, she could also wake up around the same time, all smiled and ready to watch her tv programme.

Brushing teeth, mine also, perhaps less than 10 secs.

valerie/2galswithlove,
my son also brushes his teeth for less than 10s...everynite got to nag at him. I think he will be happy if i dun call him for lunch or dinner.

I guess the kids hate it when their mummy nags at them especially for daily chores. Sometimes i really find myself too naggy, do not want to strain the relationship. To nag or not to nag??? Sigh.... Well, my mum did not nag at me for not brushing teeth when i was young ...

My girl can shower herself but she wants someone to watch her do it. She is afraid of going to the bathroom alone, even when peeing!

As for brushing teeth, need to nag at her to do it every night. She spend a longer time brushing after the school taught them the technique. Anyway I rem my aunt used to nag at us to brush teeth everyday too... And me as an adult now also brush my teeth within 10 secs, LOL...

Valerie
ha ha I oso cannot stand myself like a broken recorder keep asking if this and that is done

Luanee
Then in school how ? She wait till her friend goes together ?

belinda,
oops! think i need glasses....or i never expect that you guys will be starting sa2 papers revision now. :p

Hi FZ,
sorry my mistake lah.

SA1 = mid year exam paper..some school already started with compos and compre
i was so worried duno how my son going to cope with SA2. (year end exam).
Actually i also try to give him some SA2 paper already on English only.

i noticed some schools do not have any exams. not SA1 nor Sa2 at all for P1 and P2. 2 schools of my friends' kids in the eastern side are like that.

Mine will have SA2 and aiyo I think her stress will start to kick in.

This week first week an next week got Chinese test

Wa, school started and looks like we mothers are gearing up speed wor!
So the honeymoon period is over in schools? heard that they usually speed up a lot more in the second half of the year?
My girl suddenly din like school... she was so anxious these few days... keep saying that she is a little afraid of going..
Have to give her so many hugs to assure her...it's only three days since school started leh...
I hope she can be adjusted again.. if not.. it's going to be tough..

mommies

Is your P1 child willing to do extra work like assessment books?

Mine whine & whine every time I sit with her to do some revision. Very grouchy. She still does her assessment books eventually but I find it very irritating that she must complain & complain for a good 15 minutes before settling down to do some pages

My ds just gotten his jab and eyes check yesterday. Think most school already have it done before sch closes for holidays liao.

For my ds he's always looking forward to school. Just gotten the registration form back yesterday for P1 registration. My dd going to join brother next yr.

Natellehcim
How nice for just 1 year age gap. Mine now only 3 years old. So gotta to wait till jie jie in upper primary.

Mine have not gotten her jab but she is a scary cat one because she was crying bucket when we went for flu jab. I saw in her schedule it is 9 - 21 Jul for health screening and I told her she started crying liao

Yawn yawn
My gal will not nag at sil place when she is asked to do. At home she like it she will just go and do, most of the time will nag and nag and say why didi no need to do etc.

Motheragain
any incident in school which make her feel this way ? Try to check if she got bully or any change of teacher or more work that deter her ?

hi yawn yawn, envy you can sit with her to do work. I do not have the patience or stamina to do it mann.... if ask my ds to do, he will do it willingly. If ask my dd to do, she will find excuses and keep saying don't know how to do, blah blah blah, need someone to sit next to her to teach... but my patience always hit the top liao when I teach... ha...ha... hence whole month school holidays seems gone to waste for doing nothing.. :p

My P1 gal is also one of neaty freaks...so her textbooks and planners are very neat (She cannot stand the sight of dog-ears)..I hope my K2 one can learn from her..her exercise books and worksheets are all crumpled like kiam chye..lucky she is the youngest one..no need to pass on her stuff to anyone.

We did not revise much during the holiday..it is hard to make her do her assessments..so I am just relying on her HYPY and MPM classes to revise her works.

She told me there is Ting Xie but I did not get to see any lists.

It has been a hectic week for me since sch reopens..I had to accompany my dad in/out of hosp and at night, I had to go thru her bags to check and make sure she did her MPM works and learn her spelling. She had forgotten her daily timetable..and I had to nag at her to get bathed, eat her lunch, pack her bag etc. Hopefully, she can do better next few weeks as I will prob have to go in/out of hosp for my dad.

I realised both my P1 and K2 gal had spurted during the holidays, esp P1 gal. I had to loosen her belt by an inch, and I need to replace her sch shoes this weekend. Her skirt looked like it had been shortened by half an inch..I am thinking of getting her new set of PE attires soon..

hi bebe75, mus be hard on your for so many things needed to be done. My ds' uniform seems to be bit loose for him ever since he attend P1. So is my girl's. beginning of this yr, my MIL just shortened her belt but 1-2inch of her kindergarter sch uniform.

yawnyawn,
my boy will do a bit, play a bit and horse around. have to threaten to take away his afternoon TV.

bebe75,
hope your dad recovers soon.
give your kid sometime to settle into the schedule.
i am doing only ad-hoc checking of bags. for his berries class, i had stopped checking if he has done his homework. he is more automatic now ever since he forgotten to do his work once and teacher wrote on his assignment to remind him to complete his work(then he knows that he can't take my checking for granted).
he is having spelling tomorrow. he said no need to revise cos teacher had gone through the spelling list and revise with them in class. let's see how he'll fare tomorrow.

Chicken Little,
As far as I can gather, no leh. Nothing changed except grouping in the class. Maybe that could be it. But I asked her, she said they have not done it yet leh. I will have to give her more time and observe....

Assessment books
My girl also forever complaining that I give her work. she reluntantly do a few sums or pages with lousy handwriting. Then I spend time scolding her for bad attitude... hiaz...

joanne,
berries @ BB's sat's slot is very hot. a few weeks back they called to ask if i am interested to enrol my younger son in their Sat afternoon nursery programme before giving up 'my' slot to other applicants (i was 'given priority' cos my ds1 is in the same slot - very thoughtful of them). I think so long your girl is keen to attend, she won't mind the slight rush...afterall, it is us who are doing all the rushing around. :p

hi mommies

what about creative writing? can yours write compo well?

Mine can't write leh. Every week she bring home a piece of writing from her enrichment class so I thought she has been learning some writing technique. Recently she told me it's written by teacher in class, she only copy the sentences, that's why she couldn't write on her own. Faint!

Any recommendation for creative writing class?

Fz,Joanne
Mine oso at berries@BB. But on Tues pm slot. From 4th semester as I am moving and she wont be under care of sil, so putting her on waitlist for weekend am class

Hi yawn yawn,
think my ds also same leh.. in enrichment classes, he seems to be able to write quite well and alot. Because the teacher will give them some phrases and words and what them to use it for their paragraphs. But when comes to school, or home assessment, I've notice he don't seem to be able to write leh... did not come out with good vocabs like those he had learnt in the enrichment leh.... funny hor? Although he likes to create his own way of writing but all seems gramatically 'sala' deh... and i only see simple words not good vocabs.. :p makes me wonder did he really learn from his enrichment class not.. ha....

CL
My gal is on tues pm slot! Shes aso waitlist for weekend slots. Hmm saw a girl wearing RGS uniform in my gal's class on tues nite, is she yr gal?

Joanne
my gal in morning class so her class is 4.15 leh. She is from NYPS and dun wear uniform to class. Not her lah. Yours is evening class is it ? Because after school right ?

Hi Yawn yawn,

I have yet to see my girl write a decent piece of compo. Only those pic compo from assessment books. She is only able to write in simple sentences. Not very impressive in terms of her vocab. She requested that i buy her a model compo for reference during the June holiday which i did.

So, lets see how much the book can help her. Have yet to test her writing. I think i should start.

Hi 2gal, maybe you can go Popular to look out for this book by Casco "Zoom In Vocab for Creative Writing" since your girl wants reference. In this book, they have writeups of topics (10 topics), and in each topic, they will have phrases or vocab words to learn and then will have samples sentences for them to practice. Not a bad assessment book that cost about $8plus. Not sure the 20% off during the school hols still valid not.

popular 20% until 30 June

I have that book. Not effective leh. Let her tried the exercises 1st then ask her to write.
That's when I realise she really can't write!

Despites going through model answer, understanding the power words, how to apply is the problem

my ds also same. have not finished up to 5 topics till now.. :p Didn't ask him to write, because he don't seem to know the vocabs... ask him to look out dictionary then he knows.. but after that forgotten again.. wonder how to input these 'good words' into his brain.. ha..ha... kids are like that. this moment know about these words but when come to real writing, use very simple word nia, and forgotten about all the good words learnt before...

SA2 will have creative writing.

I don't see miracle happening within a few months. I don't know how to help her, stressful!

I hope she won't turn in a blank piece of writing

hi yawn yawn, don't be dismay. You would be surprise, who know she is able to write to what the school required? Because we parents normally have higher expectation on our kids thus always find they can't do well in certain thing or want them to do better than required. I believe her school and teachers will have a different expectation cater for the kids...
Some kids just won't want to do/write it for parents at home. But in school, they behave differently, with their peers around and teacher's encouragement, they are able to do it.

Don't pressure yourself. I used to be very kan cheong initially also but now don't know why seems to be relaxed a bit. Maybe after seeing so many kids cannot take pressures and commit suicide... recent one is just a quarrel with friend only and commit suicide

ya so sad after reading the news so young. We parents really very stressed as we need to ensure the study is ok/good in the same time need to mould them into good person/character. Sometimes think of it, so tired.
Nowadays, this generation kids dont know how to tackle their anger management.