(2002) Any 2002 babies?

luanee,
as a sahm, i prefer school days...give me a breather from the noise 'pollution' at home. :p

2galswithlove,
RE Wimpy kid
i had wanted to buy this book initially (2nd hand), but after reading some reviews from amazon, i decided not to buy for my kid. i am with those parents who worry that their kid may pick up some undesirable stuff from the book; no doubt that the stories are captivating.
there is an online version here. you mummies can check it out to see if you are ok with the book.

http://www.funbrain.com/journal/Journal.html?ThisJournalDay=1&ThisPage=1

2galswithlove,

Thanks. I will go look see & get a copy to entice my dd. She doesn't like enid blyton as there are too many words, limited pictures.

cookiepie,
does your dd like mystery?
geronimo stilton has a new series involving a girl rat Thea (i think is his sister). the new book is Thea and the Dragon code.

Hi Cookiepie,

My daughter used to love Enid Blyton. But ever since she laid her hands on this Diary of a wimpy kid, she seems to divert all her love to this book.

I guess its due to the fact that its funny, with baby talks and actions that they can really relate to? It makes her think and recall her baby days and cant wait to read more. She is rushing me to buy her the latest copy (green) but i am still waiting for the soft cover one to be released.

Hi fz,

I yet to hear anything negative about this book yet. However, i will click on the link and have a look also. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. Mummies, perhaps you like to read the reviews first?

2galswiflove

Hi, my girl just started the MPM for 2wks. She seems to enjoy it. Every lesson the kids will do half the worksheets and the other half will do at home as homework. Some qns from MPM cannot be found in the schl maths textbk as its thinking maths qns (think to make the kids think out of the box!).

fz,
I haven't let her try mystery yet. She likes those colourful books with more pictures than words from the library. I saw the series you recommended in the 2nd book store yesterday, looks interesting too.

2galswithlove,
I love enid blyton but my gal finds it a pain to read. So sad.

U may want to try storybooks fron Judy Blume or Beverly Clearly.
Recommended by one of my friend who is a Primary School TEacher. And you can get them from the library. I went to borrow for my gal and she likes it

Hi Joanne,

I saw their diagnostic paper and yes, some questions are IQ questions which i think appear quite often on recent years Math papers. I also hope my daughter can benefit from this programme. Thanks for sharing.

Just to share about MPM. My gal was with MPM almost whole year , about 11 months. She din like maths at all and initially the teacher even tell us they dunno what to do to motivate her as she is super slow and just day dream.

But after 1 months plus, she suddenly enjoyed the subject alot. And she was motivated to see all the different tools used for the subject.

So it did work for her as it has met the initial objective of mine which is let her enjoy maths and like the subject.

But when she tells me later on it is boring that she just go in there and do the worksheet, I feel it is not going to help us anymore like before.That is why I stop. I myself actually enjoy the worksheet while going through what she has done. I am a maths lover and the worksheets does me want to do more.

So no matter what just let your kiddo try it out , if it works great. If it does not , just move on and find another one

CL
ya, my gal is very excited the moment she uses the different maths tools which comes in a box. Will see how she progress with MPM coz shes aso slow and likes to daydream!

Ya so do test it out because different methods suits different kids. Plus she likes it now she oso may not like it later like my girl. So monitor, and have feedback with the teacher regularly.

Joanne for CCK, look for classes under Sock Hoon. More important to get the person who is the person in charge of getting the franchise in CCK. Though lot 1 was convenient, I went for the one at blk 28X which I cannot remember which block.

Yes, like what chicken little said, it's great if they like it... and to move on if they are not showing much progress.

Though not advisable to "hop" from programme to programme, but most importantly, it's kids must enjoy the lesson. Don't kill the interest from young. Keep the passion burning.

Project Maths to be a fun topic that is useful and applicable in their daily life (e.g. mixing syrup, baking cakes, paying for food... etc) Make Maths Fun.

Oh yes, I've seen some MPM maths questions and I quite like it... haha... it's the type of questions that sometime appears in exam papers.

the chemistry between the teacher & child is very important...if the child like the teacher they will look forward for their lesson and will excel better

CL
Ya Sook Hoon is a nice mgr. Lot 1 is convenient fr me but class size too big, 14 to 2 teachers. Her block i.e. blk 289 cck ave 3 class size abt 10 to 2 teachers. Its abt 2 bus stops from lot 1 to reach blk 289. Anyway, i paid 1mth for a trial then see how my gal progress.

my boy tried the CHIJ math paper. the standard is very high. i find that paper much tougher than DLS' paper. so bebe75, i think maybe your dd dislike math is cos it is very tough in the first place. kids not given the opportunity/time to build up on the basics and straightaway need them to do challenging sums, will kill the interest.

jolene,
for me, i feel is it depends.
tuition can make the kid reliant on the tuition teacher to spoonfeed and hence switch off from class. it depends on the kid. for me coaching my kid one to one is akin to tuition one to one, but i had prewarn my boy that he still has to pay attention in class and unlike tuition teacher, i have more 'power' over him if he misbehave or gets too reliant on me revising with him.
but tuition is good if parents wants to have someone dedicated to monitor their kids progress in school.

Hi fz

Do u also think that the maths paper is tough? Phew..that will be a relief. I thought I was the only one being paranoid. When I checked with my gal's peers, most of them were getting 80s and 90s marks..I think my gal was the only one in band 3 range. I asked the teacher who confirmed that there are others who failed the papers, and reassured that my gal is not the worst lot but she commented that she is weak and will have difficulty catching up later in term 3 and 4. And yes, their school worksheet is relatively in that standard and she performed badly in those worksheets, esp heuristic questions. She had no problem with the questions found in the workbook. That is why I suspected her sch is setting a higher standard for maths. Sigh..I used to wonder if I had sent her to the wrong sch..cos CHIJ was traditionally known for their languages and arts/dance/gym/choir..not so much on maths or science..but I prob cannot do much at this point of time..transferring her to another sch is out of the questions..hopefully like what you have said, she can build up her foundation ASAP before she loses interest incompletely..

Hi Jolene

I am not really into individual tuition at P1 level - I feel that kids shd be exposed to various teachings styles at this stage, instead of confining to one tutor, one teaching style.
I also feel that 1 to 1 tuition for P1 child is effective to the kid only if he/she has shorter attention span or weaker (I mean really really weak, below standard) foundation than his/her cohort. Some kids are just not able to perform well in big group, or they get distract easily. Otherwise I think kids at 7-9 years old would prefer learning in group, because to them they will treat it as fun/play time with friends. And i believe kids will enjoy learning (and learn better) thru playing.

have you start introduing dictionary to your kiddie yet? If so, which will you recommend?

bebe75,
Re: CHIJ paper
I found that the English paper is pretty tough for P1 but math is still ok. Maybe my boy has stronger foundation on math but not English. Asking him to do the comprehension is just like killing him. Problem is that he dun like to answer in full sentence alothough he knew the answer.

belinda
Ive bought the "My First Picture Dictionary with 2 CDs from Popular (Eng-Chinese) now on sale at $12.42. Alternatively, you can browse and order on-line thru popular.com.sg for dictionaries

Hi Belinda

For the English paper, I think it is still manageable..maybe my gal is stronger in her language. Yes, the open ended comprehension is perpectually a killer for her. She knows where to get the answer but does not know how to rephrase them. I have reminded her to use pronoun term like "They", "She" "It" or shorter sentence structure like "This is because" "This was because" etc to minimise the probability of wrong spellings and also to save time..and yet she just wanted to copy the whole chunk of paragraph. Hiaz..she hates doing OE comprehension..but like those MCQ one very much..

I bought 2 dictionaries for my girl
-Collins Primary Dictionary (age 9+)
-Oxford Colour Dictionary

I got the Collins from Carrefour bookfair last year at a steal - $5 (but not sure if they are still in stock)..out of the two, my gal prefers the Collins cos the explanation is simpler, the fonts are bigger. For me, I prefer the Oxford one cos it gives examples, and highlight the common mistakes eg usage, spelling.

She uses the dictionary only when I ask her to..otherwise I am the walking dictionary to her..I tried to get her to use it independently but she told me she got frustrated and tired of flipping the pages and searching for the word. Sometimes the word is just right in front of her and yet she can miss it. Occassionally I let her use online dictionary..it is faster but I dun encourage to use it often.

Harris @suntec is having clearance sales 20% storewide till 30 June- u may wish to visit the store and take a look.

Hi Belinda,

My gal is using Oxford Student's Dictionary Of English which I get it from Popular and my neighbour daughter who is in P3 also use this dictionary in sch...hope this info helps

bebe75,
yes my son also knew where to get the answer but just duno how to rephase them like your gal...and he is also very careless with the grammer.

He dun have SA1 but going to have SA2...i just want to prepare him for his SA2.
He got this habit to leave blank for the answer, which he is doing now while waiting for me back home and go thru with him.

Yes...i am also like his walking dictionary.

finally got the oxford primary dictionary for my boy..although it is bit more ex than the normal but i find more easier to understand.

btw, my boy is not excited over the school reopen...

are your kids enable to catch up with the peers when they entering pri 1? as I heard some of my friends mentioned that PAP focus more on playing than acedemic. Are all your kids in good school for those from PAP Kindergarten?

hothotmum

Agree with you but it depends on which PAP PCF. Hrd tat Jurong West has 1 good PAP opp Boon Lay MRT but fees ard $200 including enrichments classes for K1 & K2. They started giving the kids spelling since k1!

hothotmum,

My gal went to church Kindergarten....I personally find that PCF has alot of muslim teachers and the group is quite big plus PCF has differnt curriculum under different locations.

mine K1 in PAP, K2 in church kindy. Not much difference in term of standard of teaching

My girl is prepared for P1 because she has been attending Kumon since 3 yo, not so much of which kindy she attended

My gals attended private kindy..we did not consider PCF as the teacher-student ratios are usu high. I think different PCF are managed by different mgt, and so teachings method varies. I have 2 nieces, each attending different PCF. One has homework daily, the other one is rather laxed, no homework except spellings (and the spellings are quite simple).

My son used to be in PAP PCF before entering P1 this year. My daughter is in a childcare centre(Going to P1 next year).

Differences are:
My daughter started Spelling and ting xie from K1.
My son only has Spelling from K1.

Me from PCF Childcare - Sparklet Tots was told that PCF PAP same circumlum as PCF Childcare. Reading from the above posting, seems not lor.
My DS was never given a book to write, no spelling, no homework. Most time art and craft, each meeting teacher session I complained and was told that it is MOE's policy that the kids are not to write a word more than 3 times on the paper. So my DS hand writing all BIG BIG one as he is used to write on A4 paper.

Belinda,
Yes..the CHIJ English is not the run-of-the-mill P1 paper. My boy missed out the penguins. :p
the part where they ask how did Cathy feel when she is lost, my boy wrote 'sad' cos he said she cry. I told him 'anxious' is more appropriate and he said he did consider that but is undecided cos anxious need not cry. :p

Hi all, finally the children are back in school.
Time files. This evening I am going to get the "Diary of a wimpy kid" for my DS to use the 20% discount voucher before it expires. He seems interested in the online reading. He just started reading - Enid Blyton last week after some pursuation.

As for dictionary, just checked it out last night, my sil got him the one from Collins.

While packing his bag last night, just realise that his 1A textbooks are all quite torn. sigh..guess boys really does not protect and takecare of their stuffs.

ohohjaz,
my son also like your boy...the 1A book so torn...i also got to replace his parents-teacher communication book.
Last friday, my boy told me that he wanted to quit school. I told him ok, but gave him alternate choice to work as a maid at home...end up he changed his mind.
I think this holiday is too long break for him. Getting lazy.

ohohjazz,
my boy's chinese books with protective cover...the plastic cover torn and book cover crumpled too. his math book quite new...the teacher seldom teach from text book.

belinda,
my boy wished that he can have the 1 week extended break and ask why we didn't go overseas this holidays to get that extra holiday break. *rolleyes*

Hi hi... how's first day of school?

It's been a busy day and ds was looking forward to seeing his friend, but I guess he missed his hols more.

haha... my son's 1A books are torn and tattered even with the protective cover. Seems like the girls are more careful in handling their books.

tinklebell
not true. my gal's chinese books wif protective cover althou not torn but v crumpled and untidy due to her big handwritings!

my boy is using the hand-down books from his cousin. Quite worn out and many scribblings when I have them, and the cousin is a girl...
. Actually intended to get new one so that next year his 'mei mei' can take over, but he say can still use, good! help me to save money. So i use new plastic wrapper to wrap it, till now he's handling them well.

I've noticed instead my girl is more of 'destroying' type. New books in her hand become "kiam chai" on that very day, and also with her 'artistic' drawings and colourings all over the new books the moment got to her hands.. **sigh** that's the world how girls had becoming now...