(2002) Any 2002 babies?

Today Singapore Race Course @ Kranji Open Hse from 5pm to 9pm. Grandstand Level 1 & 2. Special appearance Felicia Chin. Meet & greet Tweety. Take part in looney tunes colour contest, photo taking wif the club horse, free popcorn, candy floss for children wearing animal motifs, kiddy rides, inflatable bouncer, waterball activities. Puppet show, games, food & fun stalls, free balloons.

It's normal that during holiday it is even harder to get your children to do work, let alone SA papers lor. My son sch does not have sch work..hence, most time he is GLUED to TV or computer. Sigh... my only console to drag him away from TV is to bring him out to shopping in the evening. Sad right? Me not at home to monitor and track him.

Me being a FTWM, I find that I actually spent quite little time with my son even in school holiday. So far only taken 1 half day each week to bring him to zoo and bird park. sigh. Actually would like to expose him to sports more like in-line skate which can only be carried out during weekends or when my mum is over at my place to takecare of him.

hi ohohjazz, me also FTWM, have the same feeling as you. Finding myself spending little time with my kids everyday. Reach home, dinner, almost late liao... Feel worst during this school hols also whereby they stay at home everyday.
Lucky is my company having 4-day work week, hence still manage to spend a little more time on every Monday.

Hi Natelle,

I agree each day after work already like 1/2 dead, no energy anymore. But then cannot deprive of them too much right? Guess it is always hard to have a work life balancing thing especially if the company is not supportive at all.

chua yen ling
addition/subtraction up to 40 is 1B syllabus.

fz
Some schs' SA1 already have mass & length, though these topics are 1B. Remaining hols would drill mass, length (both topics already absorbed about 50-75%) & times table. Emphasis would be given to Eng cloze & OE compre. And for chinese, have to practise writing characters.

natellehcim
I notice my boy can complete eng paper at nanny's house (ie so far completed 2 papers on 2 separate days in my absence). So when I come back, going through correction takes about 15 mins.

However, he can't complete chinese paper on his own.

Maths, I think it is better to sit down together so that at that instance he can't do, I can explain on the spot.

My son will do it when told to during my absence. Only my girl will tend to be lazy, finding excuses not doing by walking around the house, and will only start to do when she hears me home... Normally after work by the time settle down after dinner, my kids will be glued to the tv. So far had not gone throught the corrections with him. Just managed to mark a few nia..

Jolene,
i am teaching my boy some of the Term 3 topics cos i intend to let him focus his time on Chinese instead - i've seen the list of words behind the textbook and nearly fainted...it's a big jump from Semester 1's standard. my ds1 is those sensible type, so i have no worries that he will fool around in class. but definitely when ds2 is due for Primary sch, i will not prepare him so much in advance cos he is the type that will not sit still if there is nothing to catch his attention or interest him.

So am I kiasu if I start teaching my son those things that are supposed to be taught in second half of the year?

I intend to go through the Chinese textbook(1B), but sad to find out that my son's teacher had collected the textbook.

So left with no choice, I made my son recognise the characters through the cards.

Wah... I left my son whole sch bag at my in-law's place didn't even bring back for sch holiday. Think I better go and browse through what's there in the book. So far, I never really flip his sch books..so clueless what he have or have not studies. Just check with my son, his sch taught him mass and length but not the addition and substrcation up to 40. think they are within 20 still.

HI Yen Ling,

I am sorry to made you feel that way coz...for my gal's character i can't teach her things in advance as i am afraid that she will lost interest when her teacher teaches her in school...and she gets bored easily if she has know that particular things...U have to guage for urself is ur child is ok...then its fine

Good go shopping at the same time boost economy
Various mall all having their individual promo/event.

I am looking for a musical box for myself also.. yet to find one. :p

My girl totally holiday mood. Just pop in & out of holiday programmes at CCs, storytime at library, had a short trip to Genting & Malacca, then 2 weeks of school holiday gone

Hmm, I must start nagging her to do some assessment books. I think very tough

holiday ending soon...
one more week. my boy went for his second sch dental treatment today.

planning to go birdpark tomorrow. any good recommendation?

fz, but i heard that the MOH may consider to extend the school holiday for another week due to the H1N1 cases. Yet to confirm though.

wa!! ya. i read the papers today...the guy who went shopping before going hospital..they should really FINE him!!

Thought the holiday extension is for those who travelled to those risk area (US, Australia, Mexico, Japan, etc)? No?

Ya..I read those irresponsible H1N1 virus carriers..if already feeling unwell, they shd stay at home. Some of them were already unwell before boarding the flight to SG, did they not realise that they are taking a risk to spread the virus?

My P1 gal is down with fever again..barely recover from the earlier flu which is less than a week ago. I am keeping her at home these few days, hopefully she can recover in time to attend my sister in law's wedding. She is looking forward to be the flower girl since last yr.

my boy only reads Geronimo stilton.
for simpler books, he goes for the Mr Men and Little Misses stories.

nothing else seems to be able to entice him to pick up to read *rolleyes*

Hi yawn yawn and fz,

do ur children pick up the book and read automatically? As my gal is not those motivated reader was wondering how can I motivate her?

jolene,
my boy only picked up the book readily if they are from the stilton series. he can sit and read for hours to complete the book in 1-2 days if he is free. can't seems to get him to show the same enthuesim for other books.

for my boy, i guess the key is to get him to like a certain character or series/author. then he'll automatically read them.

Jolene

I just make sure she's surrounded by books since young. She sort of got used to reading over the years. Her favourite passtime

However, she's too absorbed in reading. She's a typical book worm. Read almost anything she lays her hands on. Can read until forgot to bathe, eat, do homework. I find it frustrating, like talking to the wall, no response from her at all when she's reading

Worst, all these reading didn't translate to good writing skills. She couldn't produce a decent piece of creative writing

Hi Yawn Yawn,
Really envy that your daughter likes to read. I tried making my 2 kids read, but reading doesn't seemed interest them.

To all mummies,
ANy idea where can I get cheap piano?

yawn yawn,
i face de same prob - my gal lacks creativity when she writes. is it cos she doesn't 'notice' or remember the 'good' or interesting sentences?

like u, we surround her wif bks since young n we read to her often. now, she reads to her meimei.
she picks up everythg 2 read, fm her meimei's simple picture bks to her dad's health mags. even in ntuc, she read labels n brand names. though she's unlike yr gal who reads n forgets everythg else, she wears glasses since late last yr.

initially thot she likes de Rainbow Magic & GS series, but after a few bks, her speed of finishin a bk seemed to b longer now.

jh, I have replied ur pm.

TO all mummies who didn't do much revision with their kids during the school hols: Yeah! Me too! Haha... now left one week starting to panic panic liao, :p Wonder will MOE announce a sudden extension of school hols? If they want to do E-learning, I got to take leave liao...

My gals prefer to read princesses, barbies or fairy tales stories..lately the P1 gal had developed interest in reading newspaper..
They are used to reading since young, as we frequent the libraries and I always read before going to bed. Hence, no problem to get them reading..they even read when poo-ing..
For kids who does not like reading, you can try to get activities books or magazine to entice their interest.

YawnYawn - my gals too..they read a lot but did not do well for writing, esp compre. I guess when they read, they just enjoyed the stories and pictures.

My dd loves reading storey books but prefers short stories. But she refuses to write down any words that she does not know, instead she will skip it. And very often she will borrow very simple books like those in the range of JP of the national library). I hope she will progress to Junior range soon.

My hubby & I use to read to her since young and frequent the library very often but I have to ask her to read then she will do so...otherwise she will not automatically get a book to read....sigh....

Time files ..now is the 4th week of the break.
I am still wondering if the school holidays going to be extended or not in view of the H1N1 cases on the rise.

It have been a great PLAYTIME for DS though.

Dear Caroline,

I happened to browse thru topics and saw your post on "Enopi Math" where you gave some input. I recently signed my dd up for MPM and she will start once the school reopen next week.

After reading the thread, i wonder if i had made the wrong choice. So for you, did you finally sign you ds up for Kipmcgrath? I was also toggling between MPM and KipMcgrath but ended up signing for MPM.

Appreciate any input from mummies who know or have tried this method.

Thanking you in advance.

2galswithlove,

Hi, not too sure with Kipmcgrath though... but I've seen MPM worksheets. Seems good. Lots of non-routine questions. :) I'm hoping to put my son there though.

Hi ssmummy,

Quite skeptical after reading some mummies feedback and their thoughts about MPM. It seems similiar to Enopi math but the charges is 100 percent more.

Pls refer to topic "Enopi Math" to read on comments and input by some mummies.

Yah left one week of school hols left? Are u mummies looking forward or dreading the school re-opening? For me it's the latter coz that means I got to rush home after work to fetch my girl, nag her to learn her spellings etc... Haha, thot sch hols are meant for kids.

Hi 2galswith love

Just my opinion, there are various ways to teach Maths and so the most effective mtds for some may not be applicable to others. It also depends on the child's aptitude, teachers and teaching environments. Also I believe regardless which mtd, it takes time for a child to adapt and show the effectiveness.
My kids are currently with MPM, though I am not expecting to see miracle (her last SA was in band 3), but after attending 3 weeks, I can see that she is now more interested in the subject than before(She used to dislike it as she has no confidence).

Hi bebe75,

Its nice to hear that your kids are enjoying MPM. Guess will just go ahead and see if my girl enjoys it. Thank you very much for the info.

Would also like to share a book "Diary of a wimpy kid". My daughter had requested to get a copy of it since her school principal recommended. And even since reading the first book (she finished reading in 2 days), she has been looking forward to more books from this author. It looks more like a comic book to me but since the principal has recommended, i think it should be a good book. I think her command of English has improved ever since she started reading this book. She uses words like "drawn to the music like moths are drawn to lights" to describe situation where someone is very attracted to something. Is worth checking out. Available at Popular.

Re: Maths enrichment
My girl used to be in Kumon. Strong foundation if can tahan the drilling & massive worksheets. I withdrew her before she started P1. No time lah

2galswithlove
I saw that book before, thought it's just another comic book. Will take a second look
Thanks for sharing!

anyone can advise what kind of maths enrichment is good for my girl. she's going P1 next yr. She's the kind you teach her this moment she forgot the next min. Worst is she don't get what you are trying to tell her at all. She's attending Just education K2 lessons, but don't think she understand what's going on at all. She always anyhow 'hantum' the answers. For english, you can teach her about what is nouns, what is verbs, next moment she forgotten all. I don't know how to coach her like that.

Hi Cookiepie,

The soft cover one is about $13.90 and the hard cover $19.90.

Not really suitable for us, i feel... Cant bring myself to read on. But it really made my daughter hung on to it for a very long time. She could read it over and over again.