(2002) Any 2002 babies?

Hi bebe75,

Its advisable not to do so...cos if the school got to know abt it we will get into trouble....to be fair give priorty to those who have contributed.

Np
Bebe75. It is just a suggestion to just try to off load you. Ha ha I guess I better quickly go scan my NYPS test papers to exchange for the other schools one then
ha ha. Cannot be lazy to be rewarded

Thanks for the effort so far

It's perfectly fine to circulate test papers amongst parents if we are not selling those papers for financial gain or to obtain some other benefit. No need to worry. Ive checked wif a lawyer from Intellectual Property Dept from my firm.

joanne,
ya..i think it's perfectly fine for circulation among parents.
we were just worried that some merchants may disguise as parents and take advantage of our kindess.

Hi KC,

Did ICL at West Coast call you? I just received their call saying that the class is confirmed and commencing on 27 June at 1.15pm.

SSmummy, my gal is going to the main campus during the second week. What workshop is ur son attending at media corp? Some drama courses?

tottot,
Yes, they call me...also there is an orientation on 20 June for parents. But the person-in-charge emphasized to me that kids must know/recognise their A-Z well. Does yr gal the alphabet well? I dont have much time to teach my gal and she doesnt know it very well ...dont know how..

Hi KC,

For my gal, she knows almost 90% of the sounds and alphabets. They should conduct an assessment first hor. What if after we make payment then they say the child cannot join the class because they cant recognise all the alphabets ah? My nephew who is also 4 this year can't recognise all the alphabets also. When you ask him, he will anyhow hamtam. Sometimes get it right so also dunno he really knows or not. So are you going for the orientation?

Aiyohz... I'm so so busy wz 3 gals at home. No time for me to log-in. Miss chatting wz all the mommies here.

Bebe75,
Can pls email me the exam papers? My email addy is [email protected]. Many thks.

Anyone have send your kid to EduFarm - creative writing class? I would like to have some feedbacks.

Many thanks in advance.

Hi mummies, can anyone share more about this MPM math. Is it good? Any of your kids benefited from the programme? Heard that its a taiwan product. Please share. Thanks.

my gal started with MPM last year. It helps her to grasp the maths concept quite well as when I do maths with her I know she is glueless.

However after 9 months she became bored. So I pulled her out.

Now she is with My Think Tank.

anyone subscribed to the +Venture Math newsletter? there is one issue which describe Rectangle as a shape with 4 right angles.
then referring to DLS' SA1 papers, they asked the kids to find the no. of rectangles in the figure (the rectangles are actually parallelograms).

fz,
+Venture Math Newsletter, no idea where is from? Have you heard before? Yes, i remember that question, kind of tricky....so it came out fromthe +Venture Math newsletter?

+Venture in Maths is a math newsletter subscription - we got that through the school. in one of the recent issues, it define rectangle as 'a shape with 4 right angles' ie, a square is also a rectangle, but a rectangle is not always a square. a rectangle that is not a square is call an oblong. :p
so when i saw the parallelogram and the question asked for no. of rectangles, i was wondering if kids who had read the newsletter will be confused.

Hi Jolene,
Me staying in North on weekends and Far West during sch days. Anyone staying nearby me?

Hi Valerie,
I send my son to MRC instead. I have yet to explore MPM. But heard from my ex-colleague who sent her gal there, she mentioned that her gal is encourage to explore different things (work on different stuffs) at each session via the selection of the box. The teacher is there to faciliate the learning.

fz
my son did the DLS maths paper. He can get the no. of rectangles correct.

This is about visualisation, not so much on parallelogram. Visualisation includes prism, cubes, cylinders, etc. Parallelogram involves finding angles' size.

caroline3sg,
ya..my boy asked me if that shape is considered as a rectangle cos a few weeks earlier i told him that a rectangle is a shape with 4 right angles (when we go through the +venture newsletter).

My boy just finished the Catholic high english papers. i need some answers to certain questions.

Section D : Q28 and Q30
His answer : are jumping (Q28) and Get (Q30)

Section H : Q50
His answer : They are tired because they looked after Evan.

Hi Fz..
Section D : Q28 and Q30
His answer : are jumping (Q28) and Get (Q30)
I think yr son's answers are correct.

Section H : Q50
His answer : They are tired because they looked after Evan.
For complete answer, I would go for "They are tired because they look after Evan who cries all the time." But at P1 level, I think yr son's answer shd suffice. Note that he shd be using present tense in his answer, therefore to get full mark, his answer shd be "look after" instead of "looked after".

Other mummies, what do you think?

I have yet to start any revision work with my gal..she had just recovered from the big flu bug. She missed her HYPY classes twice over the past 10 days.
I'd better get her started revising b4 she accustom to napping, watching TV, playing computer games and her younger sis for the remaining of the holidays.

Hi Valerie
My gal will be starting with MPM this week..unable to comment much at this point of time. Just hope that MPM will stir her interests in Maths.

hi bebe,
thanks for the replies.
my boy's 2 weeks of off had ended on sunday, so i started him on the papers to kickstart his momentum. :p
ya..for everyday is the same..morning TV, do a bit of revision, lunch, play his lego/toys, TV, then dinner, then play again. :p only an hour of revision per day.

Today's 3pm's Okto on The Big Q (i think its a rerun) is not bad. Not sure if it is on for all the weekdays.

Hi bebe, I am still looking for suitable math enrichment/tuition for my dd. Hope to hear good news from you regarding MPM. But Chicken little said that her dd felt bored
kao_sleep.gif
after a while so you may want to monitor your dd's development as well as interest.

Hi ohohjazz, where is MRC and what does it stands for? I heard that the MPM teacher does not teach but instead encourage the children to solve the math problem by themselves. Ya.. the teacher is just there to facilitate only.

I agree with you, chicken little. My dd went for ICR when she was in K2. Although it did help her in some ways but she loses interest after 6 months and i pull her out from there since.

fz & bebe75
My son won't sit still doing the papers without me sitting next to him. So far, we have done about 3 sets of Eng & Maths. Only the Maths questions on length and mass are new, hence a learning ground. I also went through graphs from assessment book.

I have also taught him simple problem sums about multiplication.

For Eng, I teach him how to tackle cloze passage. For OE compre, still need more practice

Chinese, not touch yet.

caroline3sg,
my boy had only completed 1 set of Eng,Math and Chinese. i usually like to give him those cos i no need to guide him cos even if he doesnt know how to do, he should try given that it is a mock exam. then i'll have time to entertain my younger boy.

i had got him to memorise up to 3 times tables for the past 2 of his free week :p. now halfway through 4 times tables.

i find myself pretty weak at Mass type of questions. :p

for english, any idea if P1 has cloze passage without helping words? how to teach tackling cloze passage without helping words?

Hi fz, Caroline & bebe,
So far I only my DS only started on 1 set of Eng and Math with lotsa of complains though. Just to check for those words that they do not know, do you spell for them or just let them try?

Hi Valerie,
Not sure if your kid is interested in math or not. If she is not then I think MRC might not be suitable as it is really calculation all day long lor - doing mental sums, the effect maybe bad fired, which is a worst scenario. here the site, they do have a few outlets in singapore: http://www.mrc.edu.sg/

ohohjazz,
when i tallied the papers results and congratulate my boy for doing well, he'll go..'it's too late anyway, SA1 is over' or 'it's not real exams anyway'. *rolleyes* he is still sore over losing marks for silly mistakes during his SA1.

i usually let him try out the papers before going thru with him.

ohohjazz, from what i have observed, my dd is not interested in math, and from your description, i think i will not go for mrc. Thanks anyway.

Dear all mummies,
After my son tried out one of the schools's SA papers, I found out that his school had not been taught him those addition and subtraction more than 40.
I think it is taught in the second semester after going through the mathematics textbook 1B.
I have taught him to do the sums and he don't seemed to understand why I made him do and keep telling me that his teacher never taught him that before.

******Sigh*********

So just tell him that he will have to learn when school reopens.

yen ling,
my boy's sch has not taught mass and length yet. i teach him in advance so that he can do the papers. i just told him that it is in preparation of next term's work.

For me i only reinforce on whatever my gal has learnt in term 1&2. As for term 3 I will leave it to the school to teach when school reopens...I have some friends who are Primary School Teacher,they don't advise to teach children in advance coz for some kids once they know the topic they will tends to switch off during lessons time...

Hi caroline3sg/fz/ohohjazz/YenLing

All of you are so hardworking..I have been so lax with my gal..cannot get her to try those exam papers..so we only worked on the mock papers found in the assessment books..only did one Eng Mock papers..she die die refused to do the Composition questions..and also did not wanna do OE comprehension..only picked those MCQ and filled in the blacks questions..(Faint)..ended up I have to sit down besides her to make sure she completes the papers (except composition).

It is hard to revise with her during the holiday..lack of discipline!!! I tried to fix up a timetable..also no use..and since I have to fix up lunches and meals, do housework (house is perpectually messy whenever these 2 kids are around)..really not much energy to keep them in their room and do their work...

frankly speaking, I am also sick of staying at home for the past 2 weeks..now GSS,,feel like doing some retail therapy myself..:p

Hi Valerie
P1 gal started her first MPM lesson last evening..and she said she liked it, cos she saw 2 of her friends there. I told her Maths is fun so her friends also come in and learn and have fun together mah (hee)... She was given a toolbox with some magic ink pen..she regarded them like treasure and so proud of them and refused to let her sister uses them. After coming back from MPM, she was so eagar to complete the homework..and told me not to teach her unless she come and ask me..told hubby that finally she has taken some liking for maths and hope that it stays long ...

Hi bebe75, glad to hear that your gal enjoys the lesson. Totally understand what you are going thru at home, I am a FTWM, but during the weekend i am a Force To Be Maid Mum... Robinson is absorbing GST till Sunday, why not make a trip and relax yourself...

My gal aso started her 1st MPM lesson on last Sat. She said she likes the schl and the teachers (2teachers:10students) and aso was given a toolbox with some magic pen. So far so good so so gg for this trial for a mth and see how she progress. Ive aso given my gal some SA papers to do. As usual, ..ask her to check her work and she said ok but still so many careless mistakes. Shes weak in compre.

Hi All mummies,
I also have problem getting my gal to do revisions ....everyday after she comes home fm student care, she will on tv to watch cartoons until 11pm ++ ...attempted to teach her maths but her heart is not there ..... so much for my 'grand plan' to 'strengthen' her maths during june holidays ...she did not do well for maths during sa1....

My gal aso the same...do the SA papers fr abt half hr din check & watch playhse disney then do some art & craft and forgot to do the other SA papers until i came bk hme ard 630pm. So i scolded her and asked her to do till 1030pm...sigh sometimes in dreamland

Hihi, my dd will do the math papers when ask to but "no heart" to do corrections.. Sigh.. To be honest, i do not like marking papers also cos i find it very tedious leh.. after that still have to pester her to do corrections when she is already watching TV.