(2002) Any 2002 babies?

CL I guess the only way is to get her to bed earlier lor. Maybe it would help if the whole family including adults too go to bed at 9pm. Else she will surely want to stay up with the rest!

Btw any one of ur kids joining the Discovery science camp during the June holidays?
www.discovery-camp.com

hello everyone, am new here
my girl is in the single sesson school, will wake up at 6am, take her bath ,changed , eat breakfast while waiting for her school bus to pick up at 6.30am from Bt Batok to st magaret.
No SA1 exam for her only year end exam.They've been to two school outings. After sch she will go to YMCA, studentcare inside her sch and finish her homework there and then sch bus will bring her home at 6pm. She seems to be enjoying school .looks forward to going school every morning as she has many friends from YMCA , other classes and also her seniors

Hi luanee, the camp looks interesting tho got to work round the schedule..Hv u heard feedback abt it, friends' kids went before?

Hi cl, wow that's very early..but I guess am session no choice. My kids zzz abt 930pm and still can't get up at 7am. Only weekends they auto wake up by 7am bcos can play and watch tv!

Jan, yah my colleague's son went to it before and he said it's good. This time, my 2 nieces and my girl all going so I am tongpang-ing their transport hee. But they are joining the P2 camp and my girl is the P1 camp.

HI Mummies, I m so glad to be reading this thread. It helps to keep my sainity knowing that many mummies have similar problems and worries for our kids.
My kid is in the same school as luanee. I must say I m totally stressed out over the math paper which is today!
She seem so slow to understand, i m very worried even at this time while she is taking the paper...
I am not really a believer of tuition at first, I just had the feeling that I might have to send her...
Any of your kids have a very strong pride? how to break through this kind of kid? This is my biggest headache. I think if I can break through this strong pride, teaching becomes easier.
Any advice?

hi tiptactoe,
i live near Bukit Batok and my boy goes to a Bukit Batok neighbourhood school. Commuting to school is 15min in his granddad's or his dad's car and yet I have to wake up him up at 5.45am so that he can laze/sleep somemore in the living room's couch til 6.15am. he usually finished his breakfast by 6.45am and we'll laze around and chat til 7.10am before he leaves for school.
his school's curriculum is pretty basic (cos catering to neighbourhood kids) so my job this SA is to ensure he buck up on making lesser careless mistakes.

Jan u're rite. Now my colleague's son wants to go to the East camp but he is staying in the West! So transport problem liao...

Motheragain you've got PM! Yah I was quite worried about my girl's SA Maths today too. Kept reminding her to read the questions properly, show her working and count properly!! Was doing some mock papers with her yesterday but stopped when I sensed she is losing interest so allowed her to go read a storybook. Hopefully she remembers what I said, haiz...

luanee,
somehow, i dunno how to get my boy to remember what i said. before his compo paper, i had already told him the things to look out for and yet when he came home, upon questioning, he told me that he forgotten to check his tenses! *faintz*

fz, yah I also got to keep reminding my girl to stick to one tense. Not too sure if she remembers or not though, will have to wait for the papers to be returned next week. Her feedback after the EL and MT papers were so easy! LOL, I wish I am as confident as she sounds.

Hi Bebe75

I've just sent u my contribution of my son's school's SA1 mock paper for HCL.

luanee
Yesterday i lost my temper with my son. I asked him to try out some english papers ..he completed but with so many mistakes. I reckon he just wanted to finish that as fast as possible so that he can play. I also think he is losing interest in doing so much work...I give up.

tinklebell, yah I think the kids usually want to finish the work fast in order to go play. My girl also same, sigh...

Just a reminder to all mummies, rem to check ur kids' pencil cases to make sure all pencils and color pencils are sharpened and in tip-top conditions! Can't fight a battle without bullets.

BTW bebe u want mock papers too? My mock papers are actually past years' papers which are available free in http://www.misskoh.info/

Hi luaneee, thanks for advice.

ya, kids like to do fast. My ds also like that, always wanted to finish fast during class topical tests, so that he can do his own things, like school homework or reading, while waiting for his classmates. But the problem is it ended up with lots of unnecessary mistakes, eg forgot to do some qns, write the MCQ nos incomplete, spelling mistakes, etc... throwing away marks just like that.

Hi Luanee
Thanks for sharing the website on the exam papers. There is another one http://test-paper.info/
I have been accessing both sites since last week to download the 2008 papers for my gal to do..

Hi Tinklebell
Thanks, I have received the HCL SA1 from you.

I also lost my temper when I taught my gal over the long weekend. So many careless mistakes..and the way she answered the compre papers made my blood boil. Eg: The questions asked her how do you know Mr Li is a happy man? Her reply: Because the passage told me. (!!!!)

This morning she will be sitting for her English test..I merely reminded her the grammar rules.

And oh yes the stationery, I told my gal to prepare them ready..give her extra erasers too. Before I dropped her to school, I reminded her to READ the questions carefully and CHECK her answers before she submits.

I am not signing up any holiday camp for my kids this June holiday. Told my P1 gal that if she did well for exam, I will be bringing her to Science Centre and Snow City. Actually, I already intended to bring her there even if she did not do well.

Bebe, so she will think that she has done well regardless of her results?! Hee...

My girl asked me for a hand santizier coz she saw someone using it. I told her I would get it for her if she can score above 90 marks for her Math SA.

Hi Luanee..no lah, I will explain to her the reward is given to her because I believe she has put in her effort. To be frank, she had indeed put in effort esp for maths..she did those mock papers until 11pm at night..told her to retire earlier but she insisted to try out the problem sum. I think she knew that she is weak in Maths and has no confidence. This morning she told me "Mummy, I really try my best, and think hard, but I still don't know how to do, then how?" Aiyoh, sound so helpless and poor thing. I have recognised the fact that she is a slow learner, and cannot push too hard to excel. If she can get those basic questions right, I should be happy.

I bought the hand sanitizer for my gal to bring to school last week (hee). But I still remind that she must wash her hands with soap before and after eating. She retorted that the instruction label on the hand sanitiser said no need to use water wor..I told her you kids always like to touch this and that, and then after touching, you go and hold yr friends' hands. Aiyoh..so much germs passing around..so still must wash hand. Her daddy said I very Kia see...ha ha..I told him better be kia see than be sick..my younger gal just had gastric flu last week..refused to eat and drink cos of tummy pain..see liao also heart pain.

Do you mummies watch the 9pm show "My school daze"..I think it is meaningful so I allow my gals to watch it with me (usually I send them off to bed by 930pm).

luanee
good for you to 'strike 4D'!
fyi, compo scripts would not be returned.

I can't jaga my girl coz cannot split my attention/time on 2 children.

bebe75
thank you for the link to test papers. I have just printed 2 sets each of chinese & maths for my son who would be having the exams these Thur & Fri.

Hi Bebe,
Agree with you that the teachers should return the exercises & worksheets promptly. Like me, I can't revise with my son for his eng & maths FAs as the teachers did not return the mock tests, only class worksheets which I don't quite find them useful. A notice from the sch said will return student's term 1 assessment results in beginning of term 2 but so far i've not seen them so really don't know how my boy fares. Yesterday let him did some test papers from Misskoh website and he made some careless mistakes.

Will email you the mock test for HCL shortly.

wan wan
different sch different exam format. Even though my son's sch gave a note on exam format, it is visibly clear from the mock. He did badly for the mock because had not revised before mock.

It's been a very long long time I MIA from this forum...

To my surprise this thread is still "alive"?!!

Hi Hi again to all mummies of P1...

Hope we can learn from each other again in terms of teaching our P1 kids...

Wan Wan

We received circulars on the broad topics for exam as well as format of exam papers.
Basically must know everything taught in term 1 & 2

1 more paper (Chinese Paper 2) to go tomolo and my quarantine period will be over liaoz. Then will let my gal rest till end of the month. Later June hols start, it will be all systems go again. *faintz* I really dislike the pressure cooker system here in SG. Makes me regret immensely bringing her back from AU.

<font color="ff0066"> Drinking Milk</font>

Juz wanna check... do you all still give your P1 children to drink milk via milk bottle? I know I'm supposed to wean my gal off liaoz... but she's so attached to having her nightly feeds of Pediasure. At each feeding, she can consume up to 300ml somemore. Any advise on weaning her off? I tried giving her milk via cup before bedtime, but she prefers to "suck her milk" cos she wants to lie down. Haiz....

<font color="ff0066"> Tinklebell</font>
My gal also like tat... always rushing thru her homework and assessment papers. Then when I check her work... full of careless mistakes.

She also like to rush when packing her school bag. Anyhow stuff her worksheets into her bag instead of putting it nicely into her clear folder. Aiyohz.... end up all her worksheets become like "kiam-chye".

<font color="ff0066"> Bebe75</font>
I've yet to receive any of the papers back. Will send to you once I have it yah. Thks.

Dymples

It's a matter of habit. Have to insist lor
I switched my girl to cup when she was 5.5 years old. Her milk intake reduced drastically, now just twice a day instead of 3 to 4 feed

Dymples
No worries abt the exam papers..take yr time.
My gal stopped her bottle slightly before 6 yrs old. She was ok with it as she began to cut down her milk intake. Now she only drinks those strawberry or chocolate fresh milk...absolutely hates the white one. She even steered clear from cheese. I was worried if that will reduce her calcium intake. But luckily she likes her green veggy. She drinks half of glass of milk daily in the morning.

My younger gal had a harder time weaning off the bottle..she was basically addicted to it. She finally relented when I told her I caught a cockroach inside her bottle. (hee)

When my P1 gal came back from school, I asked her if the English paper was okay. She refused to say anything. Then her daddy prompted her again during dinner time, she threw tantrum saying she has already forgotten everything. My guess is that she did not do well for this round. Oh well, so be it..need to move on to the next paper..she is taking Chinese paper on Thursday. Tomorrow, she has her Chinese Ting Xie. Of late, we are merely doing Maths..hardly revise on the Chinese..just now I asked her to do some mock exam papers - she was stuck as she could not read or write some of the chinese characters.

I can't wait for this week to be over...

For mummies who are planning for the coming June holiday programmes, you may check out some of the children activities held by the Nation Museum http://www.nationalmuseum.sg/nms/nms_html/nms_content_4.asp?cat=Festival

<font color="ff0066"> Bebe75</font>
hahahha... tat's a good one... cockroach in the bottle. But then.. it won't work for my gal leh. She'll just yank me to Kiddy Palace to get her a new replacement bottle. *faintz* Tink I'll slowly wean her off her morning feeds first. hhhmmm... those milk packets seem like a good idea. Will try it out! hehehehhe...

<font color="ff0066"> yawn yawn</font>
Haiz... I know gotta insist... but I'm too soft hearted also cos it's my excuse mah. Becos once my gals settle down with their bottles, it helps soothe them and they drop off to sleep berry fast. hehehehhe... But now I must wean them off. Else not good for their teeth.

luanee,
which campus r u signin up for de science camp? i'm considerin sendin to de east campus although some friends prefer de central topics. still considerin cos scared of 'swine flu' outbreak esp after families return fm vacations durin 1st wk n attend de camps durin 2nd n 3rd wks ... m i worryin too much?

dun 4get to get de grp discount since so many of u signed up.

yea! exams over! I am worried about the results though...
bebe75, My girl also say she forgot what questions liao... i think better lower my expectation...
Luanee, nice talking to you. I never strike 4D before leh... this is good.

Caroline, I also dunno why the misskoh website treats RGPS's papers so secretly. Anyway it's free to register as a member so u can get it easily.

Dymples, my P1 girl is still drinking from a milk bottle, sad to say. I tried a few times and finally gave up. She drinks about 180ml each nowadays 2-3 times a day. And she is skinny so I am afraid that she will stop drinking if I cut her off from her bottles.

Bebe, yes I watch the 9pm Ch8 show with my girl too. Keeps me sane from watching too much Barney otherwise...

JH, I have signed up for the main campus becoz it is nearest my place, hee.

And yest my girl came back from school telling me she thinks she can get 100 marks for her SA math paper (her weakest subject). I was surprised but pleasantly happy. However 10mins later, she revised the marks down to 90, then to 80, and finally to 70. Haiz....

Dymples,
Seems like it takes a longer time to wean gals off bottles!!! My p1 gal drinks fm bottle too ...been wondering how to wean her off it. Heard from other mummies too that milk intake will drop drastically or totally once we switch them to cups.

My gal's MT SA1 is this fri. Been trying to revise with her but she is not taking it seriously, whole day wants to watch disney channel ....

My girl came back with her first chinese test result and it is 44/50. To me it is quite good since she wasn't really did not prepared well for it.

But I cannot help laughing at one of the mistake. It is a picture of a dinosaur. I do not understand why she chose ying wu instead of kong long. ha ha. Just to share to lift up the atmosphere as some kiddo's exam not over yet

CL, it's this type of careless mistakes that waste all the marks... I asked my girl whether she checked her Math SA paper yest? And she said she checked 4 times. So I asked her whether she found any errors? And she said no. I wonder how she check...

wow...u guys kids finish paper liao...mine last paper..taking Maths 2day...hope my son dn't make careless mistake....&amp; make full use of his time....he told his dad tat he finishes his Cl2 paper in 10mins....siao liao,wonder how he do it???

he always take things for granted...numbers also can see wrongly.....hope he don't do 10 mins paper 2day.....

Chicken little,
Wow girl is gd in her CL2...can get high marks....dn't wat types of score will he hve with the 10 mins test...faint!!!

As for the milk bottle, 2 of my kids stop when they were 2 1/2 yrs old... but they still drink milk at least 2-3 cups per day....

9pm,show scare to let they watch....cause there are some parts showing the kids stress...run away..even bullies....later they will starting tell me too much stresssss.....with the H/W.....

June hoilday cming....how u mummies going to do with the kids....any plan???

amyamy, my girl is going to the discovery camp in June for a week. U can see the link above.

For the other 3 weeks, no plan yet. Initially supposed to go hols but now scared off due to the H1N1 thingee. My bil is thinking of going Lim Chu Kang farm stay. Anyone been there before? Good?

amyamy,
yes. i agree that the show is not so suitable for kids. there is also the part where the boy didn't go tuition and went to play badminton instead. him getting a better science score without tuition does not justify lying to the mum.

my boy having Eng Paper 2 today. now waiting for him to reach home to grill him...a bit only la. :p

luanee,
saw the discovery camp...tink too far away for me...in around clementi area... As for the Lim Chu Kang farm stay, too ex...and is in Sing...tot of going to Malacca but hubby scare of tat ....H1N1. So really dn't know wat to do...so...boring...

fz,
ya..ya...there is a part of the boy lying...aiyo, if my son see it, I die...he hve told me tat in P3 CCA, he wants to play basketball... just imagine, if he is nt doing well in his work, will he be copying the show and lie to me.....ah..better dn't let those kido to watch... ha...ha....later monkey see monkey do...

CL
I can feel the heartpain to waste marks like that..my gals also did that..very gek sim

The 9pm show not suitable for kids? I find it alright..On the boy who skipped lessons to play badminton, I told my gals that it is wrong to lie...I watch the show with them and point out the wrong ones .. the gal who needs to seek counselling due to overwhelming tuition schedule..I told them they shd appreciate me cos I never overload them with too much work (err..at least for now). The other school gal with the family problem..I dun think my gal can understand..anyway. I 've stopped them from watching this week as I want her to sleep early and have enough rest for the test.

amyamy I also staying in clementi leh haha..

Wow u all explain so much of the show to ur kids ah. I doubt my dd even understand what is happening in the show. She always request me to let her watch Barney with her kids sister... biangzz

luanee,
oh...so u going to the Main branch for the camp??
Which part of Clementi r u in??
Which sch is ur girl girl in??

Caroline,
I have not even seen the mock papers for eng &amp; maths for term 1, not sure what ds was tested then. Now dont even know have mock papers or not. Sigh. I think I will email the teachers to find out more.

Yawn2,
Yeah, have to revise all from term 1 &amp; 2 but it will be better if parents are given the mock papers or term 1 test papers to gauge the standards set for the coming FAs.

Bebe75,
Have emailed you the mock paper for HCL. Tks.

my boy said the english paper today is easy peasy. he checked thrice and spent the next 15min resting. faintz....
hope he dont make silly mistakes again or poor handwriting.
one down...2 more to go!!

luanee,amyamy
you both in clementi ? ha ha if i sell my house, I will be moving to in law place temporarily too. I will then be at 327. you ?

I have decided on the yuquan 3 days class as my son is in the same childcare. So can drop both and pick up both at same time.

Luanee
my gal oso says she checked. but hor just flipped paper means checked. Your girl RGPS ? so school bus come at what time ?

bebe75
ha ha i not sim tia but i just have to laugh. so we all send to you to collate is it ?