(2002) Any 2002 babies?

good, caroline, you cleared our doubts.
kao_kiss2.gif

So what I heard earlier also 'sala'

To take HCL at P5, you must have band 2 in normal chinese.

Bear in mind that band 2 is 70 to 84 marks but B (change grading to A,B,C in P6) is 75 & above. So
if final score at end of P5 is 70, which is band 2(ie less than 75), you cannot take HCL in P6.

To share with you further, I have no intention to let my girl take HCL nor go to SAP sch (coz she is just average person). But TienHsia convert the P5 normal chinese to HCL (as requested by most mummies). So my girl took HCL. At P5, she had a pass and I persuade her to drop since additional subject to study & the time could be channelled to Maths. But she insisted because the sch HCL teacher is better. So I told her to capitalise on the teaching of HCL to excel in normal chinese. She feels normal chinese is easy though not band 1 (almost hitting band 1). Finally I withdrew her from TienHsia (attended only whole of P5 HCL) since it is not cheap.

caroline3sg,
thanks!! i don't think i am going for SAP too cos my boy is pretty average...i am hoping he can get at least a 240 to get into his dad's sec sch. :D

fz
Me too, if my girl can get 240 & above, I would register for St. Margaret's. My feeling is, she seems in the range of 220 - 230.

Nat yah lor, long way to go haha... but some mummies here have older kids like caroline's who is in P6. Not too sure about fz's?

luanee,
no la...my eldest only P1. for MT lessons, his school grouped kids according to their 'abilities'/performance, that's why i just want to find out what is HCL all about.

ahha....'aim' for 240 is for fun...but really hope he can get into his dad's sch...his dad has great memories there...his ex-classmate cum good friend even went back there to teach. and at times when i get frustrated over his careless mistake, i just tell myself that performance now is independent of psle performance. :p

for my son's sch, they will only start HCL in P5, unlike my niece's neighbourhood school starts in P2 liao for those higher ability in chinese.

Hi bebe75, how do the mummies send the papers to you leh?

SAP secondary schools? I mountain tortise, never heard of this before! Which are the ones?

My girl's primary school no affliation to secondary school

Talking abt HCL, I saw their assessment books at Popular and I doubt my gal can do it. I will be happy if she can strive well in normal chinese now. :p

My girl is doing higher Chinese. I bought both normal & higher Chinese assessment books, not much difference leh

think for the 1st few yrs not much diff lah.. their textbooks, although covers are diff but seems inside the topics and words learnt are same

fz - sure, no problem. I think most of the children shd finish their last test by Fri. I will try to compile and send them to you mummies before school holiday.

bebe75

Syllabus looked similar to me leh
Term 1 they also started with hanyu pinyin. Even the title of each chapter is exactly the same

normal Chinese assessment books need to write 'han zi' and count number of strokes too

all vocab in normal & higher chinese are the same. Some of the chapters are the same, just sequence different.

The only difference is, in higher chinese exam format, is mostly, if not all, comprehension. The requirements of compo is stricter too.

Though I discontinue TienHsia enrichment, I continue the compo. Because it is very good. And also as follows (this week then find out)--> read on. Sch eng teacher told the class to choose picture compo for exam, don't choose the other one which gives 2 lines as introduction and you have to continue to write the story. My girl chose the 2 lines one because she learnt before in TienHsia. So I said to her, direct translation hor? She said can't because lots of chinese phrases don't know how to tranlate to eng phrases.

bebe75/yawn yawn
no worries now to do higher chinese. Now should learn basic first (ie normal chinese). When mature (ie mid - upper pri), then consider whether want or not, if the sch start with normal chinese now, don't need to jump into it now.

'Chinese rooted' sch like PeiHwa have higher chinese from lower pri. But if you can't meet the standard, at P5 you would be asked to do normal chinese.

Does the primary school Segregate those students in band 1 and the rest? Meaning does the teacher teaches separately for those in band1?

Haiz... need to vent here. Of all things now my stupid maid (only work for me less then 1-mth) giving me probs. Haiz... keep crying.. . says want to go back Indon. Already I so stressed out coaching my gal... now gotta settle this thing too. Makes me feel like strangling her siah. *fed-up*

<font color="ff0066"> HCL</font>
I dun want my gal to take HCL cos she's juz an average student. Already she cannot cope with the current work load... can't imagine her having HCL too. *faintz*

<font color="ff0066"> Exam Papers</font>
Yes yes! I can contribute papers from DLS. Btw, who to email to yah... any mommies here compiling? Bebe75, is it to email the papers to you?

<font color="ff0066"> caroline</font>
Huh? Using picture wz chinese proverbs for use in EL Compo? *scratch head* Tat's so difficult.

Dymples
No. It is TienHsia Chinese Compo (no picture) translate to Sch Eng Compo (exam). My girl chose the eng compo without picture one. At least the story is 'conjured up' already, save time.

Happy Mother's Day to all mummies! I had an enjoyable family sunday as usual, of course includes the siblings' quibbles, parents' reprimand...

Are most of your child's school having school holiday tomorrow? Mine is, in lieu of Vesak holiday. Do all schools have monday as school holidays when the public holiday falls on a Saturday??

Dymples -
How's yr maid now? it is understandable that she will get homesick Can try asking her to try out for another 2 weeks, at least until the school exam is over? If she still insists going back, then maybe u can consider part time cleaning during the interim period?
Yes..you may email the exam papers to me for compilation.

We celebrated our Mother's Day last week, as we had intended to use this weekend to coach my P1 gal. And my k2 gal was sick (having stomach flu) for the past few days, so we were stuck at home. Luckily their father volunteered to help me to teach the elder gal Maths.
He had a trying time teaching her using the previous years' exam papers from other schools. He doubted that she will pass this round, so we are actually focusing only the basic, and keep telling not to waste time on careless mistakes. It is good that we let her try out those papers, we discover that she always fails to read the instruction properly, or completely. *Faint*

I can't wait for this week to be over.

Just want to share this with all the Awesome Mummies! Enjoy the ride...cheers!

Before I was a Mom,
I never tripped over toys
or forgot words to a lullaby.
I didn't worry whether or not
my plants were poisonous.
I never thought about immunizations.

Before I was a Mom,
I had never been puked on.
Pooped on.
Chewed on.
Peed on.
I had complete control of my mind
and my thoughts.
I slept all night.

Before I was a Mom,
I never held down a screaming child
so doctors could do tests.
Or give shots.
I never looked into teary eyes and cried.
I never got gloriously happy over a simple grin.
I never sat up late hours at night
watching a baby sleep.

Before I was a Mom,
I never held a sleeping baby just because
I didn't want to put her down.
I never felt my heart break into a million pieces
when I couldn't stop the hurt.
I never knew that something so small
could affect my life so much.
I never knew that I could love someone so much.
I never knew I would love being a Mom.

Before I was a Mom,
I didn't know the feeling of
having my heart outside my body..
I didn't know how special it could feel
to feed a hungry baby.
I didn't know that bond
between a mother and her child.
I didn't know that something so small
could make me feel so important and happy.

Before I was a Mom,
I had never gotten up in the middle of the night
every 10 minutes to make sure all was okay.
I had never known the warmth,
the joy,
the love,
the heartache,
the wonderment
or the satisfaction of being a Mom.
I didn't know I was capable of feeling so much,
before I was a Mom ...

Didn't know that today is a scheduled school holiday until last friday at 7pm - received an urgent sms from the school ... scrambled for last minute childcare arrangement as I need to work today. During my time, there is no such thing ....

we received the circular quite sometime back. the school even gave us a note to fill in to inform them if we are intending to go overseas and to which country (for the H1N1 precaution).

3 full days...for revision....one day for each subject. :p very tiring....

Hi cookiepie, yah - checked with the teacher to confirm when received notice to complete holiday declaration for the 'long weekends'. You are not alone. A number of my child's parents sms to reconfirm over the weekend. Must take note - there's a designated marking day in May which is also no school day...

jan,
Does this mean that the monday following deepavali (17/10) is also a school holiday?
I didn't know there is a designated marking day in May either ....I am really out of touch with school activities these days...

Hi cookiepie, I'm also not sure that's why asking around if that's the practice. The marking day depends on individual school. My ds's has one day in end May and there's no school. Best to check with teacher to reconfirm.

Have been MIA recently and realise the thread is active again!

My ds is starting his topical tests this wk for HCL but we are not told of when the maths and english tests will be, so can't revise with him. Sigh!

As for the contribution of test/exam papers, do you need us to blanco the answers?

My ds's form teachers said will have a meet-parents session in end Apr but till now still have not met the teacher. Any of you have done the session with the teacher?

fz,
So far we have not heard from the sch, so strange because after their FAs, it would be sch holidays. Some teachers don't seem to be very organise. Just like the maths and eng FA, they are no notices from sch so how would parents know when to help the child revise their work to sit for the test/exam unlike the chinese, a notice with detailed topics, pg no. of textbook &amp; dates are given to inform us on how &amp; what the child will be tested. If the teachers can exchange best practices adopted by some teachers who are more systematic and organised, it will definitely facilitate the whole process.

So how did the session go? Any tips on what parents should look out for or ask?

My son's school only offers HCL. I am really stressed teaching him at this time. Tomorrow is the second paper for English.

May I know does all primary 1 students need to do composition? Meaning do they need to write at least 60 words os so about a picture?

Cookie pie
I have just checked MOE website and confirmed that the Monday following the Deepavali is a school holiday. You can check out here http://www.moe.gov.sg/schools/terms-and-holidays/#scheduled-sch-hols

Wan Wan
Ya..pls remove the answers before you send the papers to me. Thanks.
My gal will be having the parents-teachers meeting on 28 May. I have listed down some points to discuss with the teachers. I need to feedback that they should return the worksheets as earlier as possible so that we can revise those weak areas. Esp for Maths subjects, if the basic/foundation are not grasped properly, it is difficult for the kids to understand the later topics. Currently, the teachers only returned us the worksheet at end of the month. I find that this is taking too long, as they usually cover 2-3 topics within a month. I am struggling to go through these worksheets with her at one go.

Yen Ling
My gal had her compo test last week. She told me she was given a picture with helping words, and she was required to write 5 sentences about the pictures (need not necessary be min 60 words). *phew*

CL, NYPS very far from ur place? How many hours does ur girl sleep every day? I do hear that NYPS has a lot of homework...

Luanee
actually hor she realli do not have homework. very few occasions she will have and they are those she cannot finish in class.

She lah i have been chasing her to bed from 8.30 , 9 then now she dragged to 10 pm.
She will wake up at 5.55 from the usual 5.45 but she is quite good because she wash up , eat her breakfast, changed and we are out of the house at 6.10 to wait for bus pick up at 6.15. Then she will sleep in the bus all the way to school again leh.

Me CCK going to Bukit timah lor

But I ask her to look at her cousin from CCKPS, everyday do so much homework, wake up 5 mins later than her. Got out of house at 6.30. She oso dun want. She is just being lazy mah