(2002) Any 2002 babies?

bebe75
I am FTWM. Everything also needs money & expensive. Tuition is big chunk of money. How not to work?

My son PM session, start to do homework from 8pm, he can't sit still, short attention span. Next morning got to wake up early at 7.30 to go nanny's house. There he sleeps again till around 10am or so. Wed can't sleep coz nanny got dancing at CC. Can see his panda eyes when I pick him from sch bus on Wed evening.

bebe75,
oh your gal is fr CHIJ TP. I am contemplating whether to put my no 2 and 3 there. Any balloting last yr for 2B with 2km?

fz/caroline/dymples/tinklebell,

I dunno what to revise for my dd's english, so flipped through her english file and found some lists of animals sounds/youngs stuff, so I decided to drill my dd on that. But she came back yest and told me the SA didnt test them on that, chey!

Received a letter that says SA papers will be returned to parents on 21st may and must return back to school on 22nd may. I dont have copier/scanner at home. So how to share leh? See how much can I jam into my photographic memory, LOL...

Last paper is Math next Tue. Btw is everyone's school having holiday next Mon to make up for Sat's PH?

Hi tinklebell
For 2B, there is no balloting..balloting is for 2C (1-2km). Intake for last year was 210. My P1 gal will be the last batch of students in PM session. The school will commence single session next year onwards, so not sure if they will reduce the intake further.

Tinkelbell, CHIJ (TP) only conducted balloting under phase 2B for those staying out of 2km for the last 2 years.

thanks luanee/ bebe75
I hope they don't reduce the intake ... my gal is only in N1 ...so 3 more years to go before P1 reg.

Hi bebe75,
I'm not sure if my son's MT is behind or ahead of syllabus. Just noticed that every since they finished their HYPY, she make the kids go home and read the HYPY page (3pgs) consecutively 3 days to parents and want parents to acknowledge that. Then when they started on their 课文, she wanted them to start practicing the chinese characters, till now. Need to show teacher that they had done, but did not see any acknowledgement from her.
kao_confused.gif
. She told the kids, as and when she will test them for TINGXIE, so far seen once nia. But their weekly TINGXIE (which is same throughout the whole P1 level) just started chinese characters for 1-2 week nia. Their SA1 is till chapter 11, if I'm not wrong.

Exam results

My girl received her results although yet to bring the exam papers home. She meets my expectations

She didn't attend any Chinese enrichment & my hanyu pinyin standard is not worth mentioning. Surprisingly she did better for Chinese than English

No one gets full mark for English in her class. Quite a number of kids with full marks for Maths & Chinese.

Yawn yawn, congrats! From discussion with my colleagues with school-going kids, we concluded that kids nowadays are very good in HYPY.

luanee

Yes, I think Chinese teacher did a great job teaching hanyu pinyin
My girl has been correcting my 'sheng diao' ever since, said I didn't pronounce correctly

luanee
no need to return exam papers, only report book.

by the time you see the exam papers, they would have completed corrections on the paper in sch.

When is your parent teacher conference? My girl's one is 29 May (last day of sch) but I am not going.

natellehcim,
my boy also in neighbourhood school. if you dont mind, do count me in for the collation of the papers.

Caroline, oh no need to return papers? But I thot the letter said so, let me go back to re-read it..

My parent-teacher conference also on 29th May. I already applied one day of child care leave to go liao. First time mah, must act-act a bit, haha...

luanee,
my boy's last paper is next fri. my scanner is not working..i intend to use my digital cam to take the pic and then post as jpg if you all dont mind. :p

luanee
if need to return on 21st or 22nd, that means they have not done corrections. At parent-teacher conference, you bring exam papers and discuss with teacher. For those not meeting teachers, report book to pass up on designated day.

ya I've downloaded the papers fm Misskoh net.

We have been saying collating the papers but who is collating huh? :p

Hi Luanee, think you can use caroine's tactic to obseerve the teacher.
For my case hard to say leh, the teacher can speak very well as if she knows all her kids... but sometimes I find like she abit boh chap leh.. haiz.. my boy's class has this 'problematic' boy, always like to disturb classmates, esp my boy. My boy complaining to me "haiz.. this boy huh, always like to disturb people during test or lessons, and he himself score full marks!"

Nat this boy must be very good eh, keep disturbing ppl yet score full marks? LOL...

My dd also tell me there is a girl in her class who always disturb ppl, and who always doesnt get her spelling right. Let's see if she gets full marks too...

ya, beginning of the year, my boy had been complaining about this boy, and i've reflected to the teacher. The teacher explained to me that there's some 'problem' of this boy but is a smart boy. The school takes in such kind of special need kids you see. And she notice my boy is 'mature' and have good patience, so had placed him in his group and 'under his charge'... so you see? He's getting all the frustration from this boy.... After hearing such thing, I pity the boy so ask my boy to try to give in and learn how to handle such kid loh... I thought is good for kids to understand and learn that nt everyone is fortunate to be 'normal' loh... who knows.. **sigh**

Nat,
Some "problematic" kids are actually those who feel bored in class because they already learnt the syllabus outside thru' enrichment or fast learners aka gifted kids.

I can contribute MT SA1 paper fm RS. No SA1 for eng & maths this time round.

luanee,
i think the boy who scored full marks must be very bored in class, that's why he disturb the others. :p

natellehcim,
my boy is also pretty matured. coincidentally, his partner usually gets complains of naughty behaviour. i think the teacher arranged such way to cope with the size of the class.

Ya, maybe he's a gifted child hor? So i encouraged my boy to try not to be affected by him loh... if he can score well, with his disturbance, this shows that he is good..
He is movtivated after hearing this.

Currently they have 28 kids in class. I've heard my niece P3 class (in another school) having 40kids, is it true that the higer level, the more kids?

my boy also likes to talk talk talk in class. He is bright, pick up things fast, but spelling no good. Never put heart to learn. Teacher says she has to be like a hawk keep him under her nose, very xiong. To me, she is nua, not loud type.

natellehcim
ya, my boy class also around 28 - 29 pupils. I think ideal size is less than 20.

Outside tuition class size is 10 (ie those good ones like TienHsia, Jan & Elly, Lorna Whiston, Morris Allen). Teacher can then effectively teach and students gain fair share of attention from teacher.

natellehcim

Only P1 & P2 class size at 30. From P3, class size will be 40.

I was told P3 is a good year to transfer school because usually have vacancies. For example 300 P2 kids grouped into 8 classes in P3, 20 vacancies leh

caroline3sg

That's why we must pay so much for private enrichment because of the smaller teacher-student ratio. Of course better, more attention mah

Doubt will have such small class size in a public school. GEP 25 kids while main stream 40 kids

yawn yawn
20 vacancies can be GEP class, may not be mainstream class.

If transfer to a better good, got adaptation stress. Academically also a level up if child is not kai qiao or mature yet.

Actually I wanted to get into DLS, nearer to my hse and of course a better sch. And got affialiation at Sec 1 posting.

My dd's class used to have 29 kids. Then one transferred in some time ago to make 30.

Caroline, what yawn yawn meant was 30x10 kids grouped into 40x8 classes, will get 20 vacancies in P3.

Oh today go home must rem to tell my dd that Mas Salamat has been caught. She had been so worried since the day he ran off!

luanee
today MT exam ah?

My girl yest Science exam and she said paper difficult. Today no exam. Tue Maths, Wed Eng.

Usually RGPS Maths & Science papers are more difficult than Eng & Chinese. And mid yr more difficult than yr end.

Thks bebe! But do we need to erase all the handwriting eh?

Caroline, MT was yest. Today no exam. Next Tue is Math.

luanee
it is not mentioned in the papers that he is escorted/repatriated back to SG. He was caught last month. At least he is not at large.

luanee
of course la, you don't want people to know how many marks, where get wrong right?

So got to make one copy and blanco that copy.

Can I suggest to do the same for heuristic maths? I intend to let my gal expose more of these types of questions during the sch holiday. But I would suggest to have solutions included as there there can be more than one way of deriving answers for heuristic questions. Well, another reason is bcos sometimes I can;t even figure out the solution myself. :p

yawnyawn,
yes...P3 is a good year to transfer.
how do you cope with kids who do not want to transfer?
i am also wondering...if they scrap P1,P2 exams, what will parents use for their appeal for transfer...

fz

I think must score band 1 for all subjects if intend to ask for transfer. Otherwise quite hard to convince principal to accept?

We won't be switching lah. Her school so near to our house. For discussion sake, if I need to convince her, I intend to tell her 'change school you can try new canteen food!' Who wants the same boring food for 6 years?

At principal's discretion.

If it's a popular school & many are on wait list to transfer, then what's the criteria used to select who to accept?
My guess is most likely will look at grades lor

but normally good school will look at the results one loh... plus vacancies also. If you have intension to transfer in P3, better put your name in their waiting list when your child starts P2 loh. Normally the waiting list is long.

if I'm not wrong, if kids taking HCL, will need to take 2 subj fm P5, meaning normal CL and HCL. Then PSLE got to take both papers. If pass HCL will get additional 2 points added to the total aggregated score for PSLE.

Mummies, correct me if I'm wrong.

oic...if HCL marks is lower than CL, or vice versa, they'll take the higher score to compute the psle score?

3 points for distinction
2 points for credit
1 point for pass

These points are added to aggregate score to gain entry into SAP sch (ie sch offering HCL). If you do not choose SAP sch in your choice, you can't use the additional points.